Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton Penang

  • 505 Jalan Tanjung Bungah,
  • Tanjung Bungah
  • Penang,
  • 11200
  • Malaysia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of Deluxe, Premium, or Deluxe Oceanfront rooms when shared with a paying adult.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 119 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel overall! Stayed 4 nights at Four Point by Sheraton, Penang, was overall pleased with my experience there. Upon checking in I was greeted with a nice guava juice which was a nice touch. The deluxe room I had wasn't too big, but it was modern, clean and cosy. TV channel selection was okay, and beds were very comfortable. Only some minor design flaws, such as shower water going out of the shower area, and also no door stop to hold the door when moving bags. Breakfast buffet was good, not great, however I found that some plates for collecting food were not clean. Pool was nice, and the location of being right at the beach was great. Overall a good stay and would recommend to others. Also, Danesh at the front office was very kind and did a good job. August 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Knowledged of front desk staff The hotel located in good position, I stayed only 2 nights with 2 difference booking. 1st night with room rate need to pay and 2nd night with SPG redeemtion. Upon check in I ask front desk staff for email to send the hotel confirmation to them they took for a while to find the front desk email wondering just email you still doesn't know it what about the other thing. The girl gave me and hotel card with website instead, would you like me to find email in website or what, so i asked again for email then the guy gave me his personal email. I booked 1 room for 3 person they gave me only 1 keycard, so i asked 2 more card they gave me more but it didn't work. My friend went down to front desk asked to recheck the 2 cards which didn't work, front desk staff couldn't find his name as since checked in they took only 1 passport wondering how will you who stay in each room. In my opinion it is not secure this way. Finally, the 2 new keycards still didn't work for our room 325 so we use only 1 key card. The amenities in bathroom have to call ask if you want to use it such as toothbrush and etc. there is only soap, shampoo, conditioner provided. Upon check out it took for a while for my billing. I asked one girl to check out my room number 325 but she couldn't find in the system I repeat again 325 as i stayed in there for 2 nights. I gave my name found it in room 329, gave my key card found it was 329 as well but I was stayed in 325 never went to 329, what if you saw 325 empty no reservation in system and put someone else in our room, this too, no security at all. So I asked for final bill the girl said my room doesn't have to pay anything as room redemption with SPG. I asked her what about 1st night I have to pay for it as it wasn't redemption, she have no idea so asked help from one guy. The guy check for me found my 1st night reservation was cancelled but by whom as I stayed and I didn't cancel it. So I insist to pay as I stayed and he manual charge room rate for me and said will send me the filially bill later to my email. Till now, 2days after checked out I haven’t receive and billing yet, or the invoice takes long time. one more thing, I asked front desk staff whom checked in me to enroll SPG for my friend, I complete all information needed in SPG paper and ask him to send the card to room later, I haven't receive it but got email form SPG to my mail thank you to enrolled to SPG but in my friend name instead...don't you check my profile got SPG already or check by my email, don’t you see my friend email given all every to you in the form? August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, good property & enjoyable stay A good location, near to the beaches of Batu Feringhi and also to the city. But the beach in front of the hotel wasn't that good. The rooms were well done, with a full view of the sea (beautiful sight); with a big rug but not carpeted as befitting a beach hotel. The shower stall could do with a sliding door, tho' as water tend to spill out during a shower. The coffee house staff were very good, from the F&B guy to the Cafe Manager (I know their names but won't mention here) and the service staff. Well done, J & S. Overall the staff were friendly too and made our couple holiday very good. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel on the beach The hotel provided all the quality features that one can look for in a decent family hotel. It provided relaxed atmosphere by the beach. The only thing that I would like to recommend is to add some Vegetarian dishes in the breakfast and dining menu. Barring the salad options and boiled beans, there was nothing to eat for my wife in the breakfast. However the Bar is good with good drinks variety. August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern and new My husband and I stayed for 3 nights from 29th to 1st August. While the overall experience was good there are some ares that need improvements. Our room, a suite had an amazing view of the ocean, very quiet and was kept spotlessly clean. However, there were only two mugs in the kitchen and when I requested glasses was provided with just two. It would have been much better if at least 4 glasses and more mugs were provided particularly since I had guests who wanted to see the room to decide if they would like to stay in the hotel and not another. Service was generally good. Of special mention is Siew Hoon at the front office who not only provided friendly service but was flexible, very efficient and did her best to accommodate all our requests. However, I would like to suggest turndown service for suites. A big disappointment was the buffet breakfast. The range was okay but the food was far from tasty. Moreover the nasi lemak should have condiments like cucumber, eggs, etc and likewise the Chinese porridge should have more condiments. There is a particular issue that I would like to highlight. Three days before my arrival in Penang I received the usual hotel welcome email and also a personal email requesting me to respond with any special requests and personal preferences that I would like the hotel to know such as the type of newspapers I'd like to be delivered to the room, type of fresh fruits in the room, etc. I duly responded but received no acknowledging email which to be me is a small matter. However, none of the above was provided during my entire stay which was a big letdown. If the personal email is just a PR exercise with no intention of a follow through I strongly believe that such a practice be discontinued as it only serves to set guests' expectations high. Overall, my experience at the hotel was positive and I would return to stay again should I visit Penang in the future. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Hotel Wonderful hotel, definitely met our expectations. The staffs were very helpful especially the front desk and the bar manager. I have to say Mr. Anba the bar manager did go all out and made my kids aged 4 and 8 smoothies even though it was not listed on your menu. Hats off to him. Thank you so much for the surprise marshmallow on the plate. My children was thrilled to receive it. However the beach during low tide contains a lot of shells and was not so suitable to walk on the shores. Besides that, the food served at the restaurant could be improved. We ordered dumpling soup and for RM12 there was only 1 dumpling cut into 2 pieces. Soup was bland in taste. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. Would definitely come and stay in the future July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Value for Money but guest services need improvements! Comfortable, reasonably priced hotel! However, the guest services are lacking and needs to be greatly improved. As a SPG platinum member, I must said that the services I received here are by far the worse compared to the rest of SPG hotels. 1. Lack of acknowledgement of my SPG status. Needs to be reminded and specifically request for my entitlements as a platinum member. The whole experience was just cold and not welcoming. 2. Housekeeping services are extremely slow. Untimely response to every request make. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Four Points Penang Staff services from front of house to cleaners are good and go through the mile to help. The quality of food is below expectation-I ordered a meal and waited for over 20 mins (fried noodles) and needed to remind them that I had a meeting to go to before it arrived. There were only 3 other customers in the restaurant then and they were not busy. Breakfast cooked section was limited with choice for vegetarians. In fact there were very little choice for vegetarians on the whole apart from Pizzas and pasta. In Malaysia there are lots of vegetarian ingredients that the chef can explore. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Live Band There is no live band for evening entertainment since the hotel has very nice and relaxing place after lobby. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Value for Money This hotel is refurbished with comfortable room and great environment with nice cafe and bar facing the sea August 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by New hotel which needs better management New hotel which falls short of expectations. Pros are that it is definitely new and clean. However, the rooms are so small, the doors are of such poor quality that you can easily hear people outside the room talking or opening/closing their individual room doors. The gym is just shameful. I have never been to a carpeted gym which smells badly. It is even claustrophobic and I'll designed. Lacking basic things like a TV screen or even sound system for music. It is even positioned right outside the main lift! So when I open the door for ventilation everyone coming outside the lift can see through. Extra bed at RM70 is shameful. Bed quality sub-par and I had to even request for a blanket which was initially not even given. Won't recommend and planning to cancel my upcoming advanced booking for this hotel in December. To make things worse as a SPG Platinum the management contacted me requesting for a few details on how to make my stay more cozy which I emailed to them and not one of the things requested such as fruits or newspapers were entertained. What a waste of my time to reply. Furthermore, after staying there the hotel messed up somehow and now I have lost approximately 1700 SPG points which somehow disappeared and will waste even more of my time to rectify the problem. What a painful nights stay in this hotel it has been. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by xcellent my family and i really enjoyed our stay at your hotel. the food is good. the only setback is the waiter is a bit slow in setting the table. the room service xcellent. .should have more parking space. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location in between Batu Feringgi & Georgetown The receptionist, Malcolm was excellent in handling our very late check in due to the horrendous holiday traffic. The female staffs at the Eatery was good but the some of the male staffs could have more finese, perhaps overworked due to the long holidays. Housekeeping service was good. Areas to look into are the limited carparking & the cleaniness of the private beach Overall, we enjoyed our stay especially the children. July 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed with services & food quality My husband & i checked in on the 6th July 2014 , on this same night, the electricity power tripped twice. We are disappointed that the Hotel Management didnt apologize on this unforeseen situation. We came here to relax and have a good night rest but we are awake for almost the night. 2nd - The Food in your F & B outlet "Eatery" is below expectation for a four stars hotel & the value paid - in terms of choices & quality. We have to give compliments to your Front Desk Staffs &b a staff (Eatery) for their smile & courteous. July 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Absolutely awful service Nice room. Terrible service. The longest time ever for a bag to arrive in my room....and I have stayed in many hotels. On the last night, 28th night, I asked for my room to be cleaned at 7pm, before I went out. There was no cleaning during the day as I was in the room. When I returned at 10pm, the room was not even touched! I phoned and asked them to clean it and they sent someone who basically sort of made the bed so badly. No clean towels were left, no soap, bathroom was filthy, they had removed used towels but forgot to put out new ones so we had none, mugs were still filthy from the night before, the list is endless. I was shocked! I asked for KURT to contact me the next morning, through the reception, but he did not. The service was AWFUL and anyone thinking of staying here should know that. The pool is tiny. There is one miserable restaurant where the food is good but there is no variety. July 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just an average stay... Room cleanliness : Good Reception : Check-in and check-out fast and smooth Cafe/ Eatery : Breakfast served is average. Coffee was below my expectation. Need a new coffee machine though. Staff at restaurant are not courteous enough. We walked in without anyone at the counter to receive us. We walked around looking for a place to sit and after having sat there for almost 5 minutes, no one attend to set up our table. We ordered some cappuccino from one of the staff, and she pointed to us the malfunctioned coffee maker in the center of the restaurant. We highlighted the problem to her, and was served 2 cup of cappuccino later without the spoon and small plate as the base. Bad....how to stir our coffee?? July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Four Points could be upgraded better Generally, all the environment and facilities are acceptable at the basic level. The gymroom could be better with more equipments allocated inside. Internet connectivity is poor when we used it in the room. Carpark facilities look like unsecure, as it is opened and perhaps anyone could drive in and park. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern yet comfy This hotel has a modern design and yet able to provide a comfortable stay. Highly recommended. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is very clean Overall are good, would recommend to other people July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel with the Minimium Hi, stayed there for 2 days from 26th July 2014 till 28th July 2014. Here's what I have gathered: (1) My room was clean, however, there were no paper tissue provided, I have to remove the one from the toilet to use in the room. The cable TV channels have intermittences so it was rather difficult to watch. The cabinet have sound coming out when opening and closing. (2) The GYM's equipment (specially the elliptical crossramp) was dirty, when I looked at the check list hanged on the wall, it reads last checked date 7th July 2014. Towels was provided (good), however, there isn't any bin for me to put in after usage. (3)Yoga class was not made known but you have hired an excellent coach, well done! Please look into more advertisement for such gem. (4) The staff at the lobby and housekeeping are approachable and responsive, Good training, keep it up!. (5) The shuttle bus to various locations are well planned and the drivers have made an effort to introduce to us some interesting facts as we move along. Good Job! However, please look into enlarging the capacity. (6) My disappointment came on my last day, I was at 'THE EATERY' trying to have lunch, my simple meal of 3 dishes came after only 45mins of waiting, I almost miss my check out time. There isn't much guest in the restaurant that day, (only 2 tables at most). Please look into improving of F&B staff training. (7) Transportation to Airport cost me MYR70, the normal taxi cost only MYR54.10. Please look into packaging the transport inside room rates. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable room Enjoyed my one night stay. The room was very comfortable and has a certain warm and friendly feeling. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for its price Value for money and still keep starwood standard. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good start but poor finish I was pretty impressed when a guest service manager contacted me prior to my arrival on the context to know my preferences and prepare for my arrival. It certainly was a good feeling that Four Points Sheraton Penang takes a pro-active step to understand their guests in an effort to make them feel more at home. It definitely shows professionalism and I don’t expect this from a business hotel. This property was previously known as Tg Bungah Hotel. I stayed there 10 years ago and it was horrible and dated. It has changed for the better when Sheraton took over, renovated and rebranded about a year ago. Check-in was quick, friendly and fuss-free. All done in 5 mins! Most of my preferences were met and I have no complaint except for some coffee stains (not those type that run into the china) in the mugs. Since this is not a 5 star hotel, I decided to just wash them and not make it a big deal. How can housekeeper missed such obvious stains. However, the positives were soon outshone by the negatives. On the 2nd day, I asked for an extra towel and shower gel at about 6pm. Nothing arrived and I asked again for the same at 8pm. When I returned at 12 midnight, still no sign of extra towel and shower gel. I called the operator and housekeeping trying to make the same request but no one picked up 5 of my calls which all ended up with a mailbox. I had to make a trip to the counter to ask for something so easy and simple like towel and shower again for the 3rd time. I find this appalling that this hotel cannot afford to provide extra towel shower gel within a 6 hour period. Housekeeper came with my request thereafter. Another incident also put the hotel in bad light. I was told by concierge that the bar (Best Brew) will close at 1230 am that night. When I arrived with a guest of mine at 1145pm, I was told that the bar is closed by this Indian lady who was switching off lights and preparing to pack up the place. She told me that the bar closes at 12mn and not 1230am. On one hand, I was rather annoyed that I was given the wrong information by their staff and brought a guest with me planning to have a drink. On the other hand, the mannerism of the staff at the bar who told me that it was close was simply rude. Even my guest remarked why she was so rude and that she could have explained to the guests more properly and politely. I was pretty embarrassed that I have to expose my guest to such treatment. The hotel just managed to get another person to bad-mouth the service there now. There is nothing much about this hotel to warrant a stay except if you can find good promotion. Location is not great as it not near to anything of interest. Then expect to put up with sub-standard services and rude staff. Staffs are poorly trained and they don’t seem to get their timing right. Even the waiters at the restaurant can’t seem to agree on the opening hour for ala-carte service after breakfast (Answers range from 1100, 1130 and 1140). This hotel attracts local crowd with big families. Forget about swimming in the pool as it is occupied with local families and kids. You can at most soak in the pool. July 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel's location is right by the beach On site restaurant's food quality and service needs to improve. Front desk staffs were friendly, room is comfortable. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New & clean but improvements needed. Hotel was new and the room was clean. Bed was very comfy to sleep on. It has a pretty big bathroom as well. Water pressure was decent but it has no shower door. I had to put a towel to block the water from flooding the whole bathroom. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. It has a nice deck in the lobby area over looking the sea. However, it would be great if there are lights (for night stroll) & beach chairs on the beach for relaxation. Location wise, it's fine if you have a car but if you don't, you will need a cab as it's not walking distance to any popular spots. My biggest problem with the hotel was the parking. There are 2 on going functions during my stay at the hotel (1 wedding & 1 conference). I reached the hotel at 5pm to check in but couldn't find any empty car park. After some argument, I was let to park at some reserved parking bay meant for the wedding but I have to leave by 7pm. Then, when I came back at night around 12am, I had the same issue of no empty car park available. I had no choice but to double park another car. November 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good View My room was upgraded to seaview. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very helpful staff Just to share this incident. I left my shoes behind in the room and due to the honest housekeeping staff and the helpful Ms Way Yee and Mr Malcom, they managed to retrieve it for me and sent it to me in Kuala Lumpur. Both of them were very courteous and efficient when dealing with me. Kudos to your staff. July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Rooms & Location Great But need improvement on breakfast buffet. Priced at rm50++ too high for varities on line. Quality needs improvement. Infact i informed the manager on duty about Fried Rice which was soaking in oil. Hotel staff, room & location was great. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel with Smiles! Sun! Sea! for your holiday getaway Friendliest hotel staff thus far, always greet my family with smiles. Hotel room is clean with contemporary design and fantastic sea view - totally worth the room upgrade (imagine having bright sun accompanied with unrestricted sea view greeting you the moment you wake up! Awesome!) July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Newly refurbished and re-branded hotel but still lots of kinks to work out Location is by the main road at the Tanjung Bungah resort area. About 10 minutes drive to Gurney and 15 minutes drive to Georgetown city center. Not much to do in the area around the hotel. I was assigned a room on the 4th floor facing the main road, and it was noisy. I think the glass window is NOT thick enough to block street noise. Awoke a couple of times at night due to loud motorcycle noise from the street (illegal street race?). Room decor is excellent, bed is comfy. However, my room was NOT clean. I found thrash just below the curtain (a couple of discarded sweets) and guest room wall was full of scratch. The carpet in the elevator foyer was also littered with debris when I first walk into my room for check in. Water from shower area keep overflowing onto the rest of the bathroom due to minimal incline on the shower floor. Check in and check out was rather slow. Non existent elite SPG member recognition. On the brighter side, staff was really helpful when I requested help to locate missing item in my room after check out. October 28, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>