Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton Penang

  • 505 Jalan Tanjung Bungah,
  • Tanjung Bungah
  • Penang,
  • 11200
  • Malaysia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of Deluxe, Premium, or Deluxe Oceanfront rooms when shared with a paying adult.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 175 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel room was unsatisfactory this hotel used to be my choice of stay but lately the service and rooms were a big disappointment. The aircon, fridge, electric kettle and bathtub wasn't in good working condition and the room service sucks! And the guest service officer was arrogant as well. February 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still in learning process The room and hotel facilities are within the expectations of similar competitors but there seems to be lack of staff and current staff maybe still going through learning process (which is understandable as the hotel is new). The staff in general are trying their best to help. I mentioned lack of staff because, firstly, I waited for a long 15-20min before being served for check-in. Secondly, when I tried to call room and guest services to order food, nobody picked up for 5-10min. I have to go all the way down to the restaurant to order food for room delivery! The indoor area of the restaurant was rather smoky for the 3 nights we were there (something wrong with the exhaust?) although the guests could always eat outdoor. The room is okay in terms of size and quality - ie. average of similar hotel brand. SPG recognition was bad (again, could be due to inexperience). No recognition during check-in such as asking what is the guest preference for the benefits (although I also forgot about it because too tired waiting to be checked-in). Requested for the Green Choice for the next day but somehow not registered and did not get the bonus Starpoints as a result. Overall, the service could improve and hopefully will improve. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Amazing hotel. Great service, great rooms, staff were top notch amazing!!! I was travelling a 3 year old alone and a week. The staff were so sweet and attentive to my child. One day, I left my iPhone at the pool and the service man returned it to the desk. Most people would have taken it and all my picture for this trip would have disappeared. Love the pool and lobby. Staff being the best. feed backs are-sink is really high. Im 5'4 and I was struggling. So my 3 year old had to climb up on the counter. Nothing you can do, no big deal. Another thing is room service. Breakfast is so amazing. All the food is prepared perfectly, taste so authentically and yet room service is sub par. None the less. This hotel will always be my go to from now on. Great job!!! February 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by customers satisfaction I've requested for non smoking room but were given a smoking floor with an excuse all rooms were fully booked.Room rate per night is very high with no free breakfast.overall the room is very clean and the view is superb. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New & clean but improvements needed. Hotel was new and the room was clean. Bed was very comfy to sleep on. It has a pretty big bathroom as well. Water pressure was decent but it has no shower door. I had to put a towel to block the water from flooding the whole bathroom. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. It has a nice deck in the lobby area over looking the sea. However, it would be great if there are lights (for night stroll) & beach chairs on the beach for relaxation. Location wise, it's fine if you have a car but if you don't, you will need a cab as it's not walking distance to any popular spots. My biggest problem with the hotel was the parking. There are 2 on going functions during my stay at the hotel (1 wedding & 1 conference). I reached the hotel at 5pm to check in but couldn't find any empty car park. After some argument, I was let to park at some reserved parking bay meant for the wedding but I have to leave by 7pm. Then, when I came back at night around 12am, I had the same issue of no empty car park available. I had no choice but to double park another car. November 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but still a lot have to improve This is my first time staying at Four Points Penang after its opening on October. Pros: 1. The lobby is always blow by a breezy wind. 2. Beautiful and sandy beach. 3. Clean and tidy room. 4. Good location (reachable by public transport from Penang jetty, and it is quite near to Batu Feringgi and Gurney Drive if you have own transport.) 5. Simple and nice lobby. 6. FREE and STRONG internet connection (I still can connect to the wifi even i'm at the human-made island which is quite far away from the hotel). 7. Very nice room decoration. 8. Extremely nice and comfort beds. Cons: 1. The housekeepers is much more friendly than the front office staff (at least the housekeepers greet me every time I encounter with them) 2. The car park lot is really a big trouble for this hotel, serves only not more than 50 parking lot for total 220 guest rooms. 3. Although the window is double-glazed, the noisy from roadside still can be heard. 4. Another problem for car driver is the hotel is just by the roadside and traffic light, it is very difficult to exit from the hotel if there is a traffic jam. 5. The room is quite small especially the bathroom. 6. The glass to seperate the shower area in the bathroom is quite useless. 7. UNCONTROLLABLE air-cond controller. 8. The passenger lifts are small that can only fit maximum 7 persons. Suggestions: 1. Solve the car park issue as soon as possible. 2. Change the glass in the bathroom with other thing which can really avoid water splash out. (for example curtain or build a door to separate it completely) 3. Add more channels to the tv listing. November 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by RECYCLED / LEFT OVER FOOD for BREAKFAST! Hotel service is rubbish - not what you would expect from a big-chain hotel. 1) Slow and delayed check-in... arrived at 3.45pm and fully settled in room at approximately 7.00pm! 2) Park at your own risk! - not enough parking at hotel, guests asked to park across the street on the roadside of housing estate . Especially dangerous at night! 3) Valet service for parking with reported incidence of joy-riding in your car! 4) Hotel restaurant serves RECYCLED / LEFT-OVER food in the most unsafe way. January 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service, Superb Rooms Checked in to a suite here, a welcome note with a cute plate of candies were waiting for me on the table and it was very heart warming. Hotel is very new, hence I suppose some of the very minor issues can be forgiven. First, I realized for a suite I only had one trash bin in the bathroom. There was none in the bedroom, living room and kitchen at all. So every time I need to throw away something I had to walk all the way to the bath room. Then, I realized there was no bottled water at all after searching the entire suite but a call to the front desk and everything is sorted. Both the TV sets in the living room and bedroom isn't working but again a quick call to the front desk and it was sorted in a short while. Then, I ordered in-room dining and wanted a can of Coke to go with it. Then room service called back and said they do not have any canned drinks at all and if I wanted a Coke they could only serve the 1.5L large bottle Coke which I thought it is a little too much for my one person consumption. I have an eye for details, and I can't help but realizing the time on the bedside radio clock was way wrong as well as it was showing 7 am while the actual time is almost midnight. However those are really minor issues. The room quality is absolutely up class and bed lives up to the standard of Four Points. The front desk staff is very attentive and actually took a personal interest in what I do and the reason why I checked in to the hotel. I asked for some directions to a location for an early meeting I need to be tomorrow morning, and they immediately arranged a taxi for me and double checked it with me in the very same hour so I do not need to worry about it and can have a peace of mind. Absolutely world class attentive service. I know where I will check in to the next time I return to Penang. October 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay at Penang 4PM We stayed for 2N at the sea view suite and the view was great. The front desk staff was friendly and I received help from the concierge on getting around, as well as arranging a paid limo service to our town hotel. The hotel offers free shuttle service to nearby Batu Ferringi night market and the shopping mall which are very good. However, on the night market return ride, the shuttle driver made a illegal turn into the exit and tried to drop us off not at the hotel entrance, I had a close shave with a vehicle getting out of hotel . This was the only glitch at this stay. Overall, We enjoyed our stay and will likely return. April 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by New hotel New hotel with friendly staff. Constant loud thumping sound from kids running upstairs and sound from hallway disrupts a good nap. For driving guests, be prepared for a healthy walk after parking your vehicle at housing neighborhood opposite. Scenic sea view from room is a plus point. Hey, you get to linger around the lobby area longer for it might take awhile for the checkout to be done. December 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks and what a little gem After reading the reviews posted for this newly opened hotel we were not too sure what we would encounter. But when you think that this property is a Cat 1 the very few minor things above can be forgotten. At the helm is Kurt, who rose out of his way to make us comfortable, and his smiling pool boy who we3nt out of his way to make these funny fruit cups for the boys. Dont hesitate to have a week here, the beach and pool are excellent, the breakfast more than suitable and the staff trying so hard to be the best. Look at your purse, and smle for what value you got and allow this hotel to climb and grow, Thanks Kurt, well be there again next year. From the Coffen famiy adelide January 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location and value for money Some of the low ratings given seem unfair to me. This is an SPG Category 1 hotel, not a Category 3 or higher. Yes, if you drive there (we didn't) parking could be an issue; yes, the design of the shower isn't very good - why put the towel rail within the shower area? However, the beach location is excellent; the staff friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. My SPG status was recognized at check-in with an immediate upgrade. The room itself is well-designed, light with good seating space. The bed was very comfortable. There's a regular (and very cheap) bus service which runs past the hotel into Georgetown. There's a local food court within easy walking distance for those who like to sample local food (which we do); a Tesco shopping mall with inside restaurants and a food court is also a 15 minutes walk away. We used the hotel car service for pick up from the airport and return to the coach station (we came from KL). These services were smooth and efficient. My wife and I had a wonderful stay, and certainly hope to go back again. February 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is top notch Not coming to Penang in a long time I desided on Four Points as beeing Starwood Platinum. I was pleasently surprised with the hotel; especially with the very friendly, attentive and funny staff (especially thanks to Jamillah, Sabrina, Munshid in the bar... you know why:)). I will be this year Platinum for life so I have seen a few Starwood hotels and I think that the staff in Four Points (especially the bar) is one of the best! Otherwisw, hotel is clean, rooms are very nice (I got Platinum recognition upgrade to suite) with sea wiev. The beach is not so good for swimming but pool/pool area is nice. Bar terrace ideal for late afternoon/evening sunset and gin tonics. Will come again for sure. January 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Awesome location but restaurant!!!!! Awesome location, but restaurant not upto SPG standard I would say and same goes with the bar. Would be a very good hotel if they improve on restaurant food quality. October 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Sea View. Hotel was not well maintained! Service staff not up to expectation. February 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What started as a pleasant Valentine's Day getaway... When I arrived at Penang Airport, I was greeted by a friendly driver Prabu who gladly helped me and my missus with our luggage and welcomed us to Penang. He started to introduce Penang to us and told us where to go for good food as the main objective of our tour, as we've told him, is to experience the local delicacies on offer. That is perhaps the only nice thing I can say about our trip, our friendly driver Prabu. On the 2nd day, we wanted to book a car to travel around the island and were told that the car will arrive at 1.15pm. At 1.15pm, we were then told that the car was delayed as they were misinformed about the car's dropoff and we have to wait till 3.30pm. This being the only day we are spending in Penang until we check out the next day, we had no choice but to hire a driver at a higher cost. On the day of checkout, we decided to sleep in and dine at the local restaurant sitting by the poolside, we were initially told that the outdoor deck has been booked by the group and to move to the seats by the glass windows separating the indoor area and the outdoor area which we accepted. Upon taking our orders, we were then told that this was booked as well and we were moved the cafe and made to sit under a beach umbrella which was totally inappropriate for dining. When I wanted to go back to the room, the hotel keycard did not work despite the front desk staff agreeing to our late check out and we had to go back to the front desk to get it reactivated. I feedback to the manager, a Chinese gentleman whose name I cant remember and all he said was he will investigate but did not bother to write me back despite my details being made available to him. I have had many SPG stays since June last year due to my requirement to travel for work and I recently signed up for the platinum challenge of making 18 nights in 3 mths and I made 19. This is by far the most unpleasant stay I had by a long mile and will not recommend this SPG hotel to anyone until the level of service is improved. February 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ultimately Dissapointed, Banned for 2 yrs. The hotel has opened for 1 month by the time I stayed in the hotel. In fact, I do not expect much from a newly opened spg category 1 hotel. However, the hotel simply perform very bad, among the worst in my life. Obviously, the hotel is under-staff heavily. You do not see many hotel crews in the hotel. I, at once seeing the GM delivering room amenities all by himself. Car park is another big issue, it is simply not planned properly in prior. As SPG Platinum member, they do not offer any welcome amenities during check-in until I purposely go remind the receptionist. Overall, I feel very very disappointed in the SPG Recognition aspect. In the end, the root cause of such lousy services is most likely due to improper management & training. Most of the staff is trying hard, apparently like other reviews, they are lacking direction. So, I would recommend whoever wanted to stay at the hotel. Please come back again in another 2 yrs. Otherwise, it will ruin your confidence in Starwood hotel and your SPG status. November 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Value for money but don't expect SPG recognition Value for money considering it's located quite a distance from George Town. Room doors are too hollow and thin, and noise and commotion along corridors can easily be heard. Room service was slow and forgetful. No SPG recognition in terms of upgrade, no dedicated queues for SPG members. But management deserves an applause for their dedication and sincerity, but needs to fine-tune the remaining team to sing the same tune. Proximity to Gurney and complimentary transport to certain venues in Penang, but reservations must be made 24hrs in advance. November 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another stay Surprised with the turn down service. Nice touch! February 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed with services & food quality My husband & i checked in on the 6th July 2014 , on this same night, the electricity power tripped twice. We are disappointed that the Hotel Management didnt apologize on this unforeseen situation. We came here to relax and have a good night rest but we are awake for almost the night. 2nd - The Food in your F & B outlet "Eatery" is below expectation for a four stars hotel & the value paid - in terms of choices & quality. We have to give compliments to your Front Desk Staffs &b a staff (Eatery) for their smile & courteous. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel My husband and I (from the US) stayed here with his parents (from India). The hotel is situated in a lovely location right on the beach. Apparently the water is not always in a "swimmable" state, but there is a large outdoor pool if you want to cool down. The hotel staff was exemplary, especially one young lady at the front desk, Ms. V. Chew. She made some excellent restaurant recommendations and tried to accommodate our every need. The hotel breakfast, which was included in our package, was extensive, with western, Chinese, and Indian selections suitable for brunch. The rooms were large enough and well appointed. The bathrooms were a tad small but with excellent water pressure and temperature. Overall a very well located, comfortable place to stay in Penang March 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by outstanding value for money the view in my room is awesome. most of the staff very helpful. what i am not satisfied with : 1. lack of food labels in the restaurant. For eg. i had to taste three white fluids to find soy milk. 2. the dept arranging transport screwed up my bookings several times during the stay. 3. main door in my room very small and heavy to open and close. Overall, i think the above shortcomngs are common amongst newly open hotels. It should be ok after a while. I will be back after six months. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the quality and service Just returned from a wonderful 2-week stay at the Four Points Penang. Upon arrival was warmly greeted by bell-hop and front desk staff and was given an upgrade to a nice ocean-view suite on the 5th floor, thanks! Suite was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable. I especially enjoy watching sunrise over the ocean every morning from the large picture windows. The hotel serves an extensive buffet breakfast spread which was complimentary for SPG Plat. Hotel is conveniently located close to Gurney (shopping and food) and Ferringhi beach and there’re daily shuttles from the hotel to both locations, although I wish it was more frequent (ended up driving instead). Hotel staff is warm and friendly. Special kudos to Ms Vernisse Chew, whose exceptional hospitality and professionalism made our stay enjoyable. Thanks for all your help and recommendations! May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It worths the price with the category I was pretty surprised when I saw the review rating is so low for this hotel and there were so much complaints from others. Well, i think most of them forget that the expectation should match to the price that you pay for. It has been meeting my expectation although I used to stay 150 nights/ year at 5 stars hotels across the world for the past 3-4 yrs. The scene is pretty good, fair swimming pool, cheap and good food and the most important thing is the stuff is friendly. I do agree the car park is not enough but they do offer stuff to park the car for you. I believe they are trying hard to meet customers requirement although they are still lacking of experience and I am pretty sure I will still coming back as the only SPG hotel in Penang. Do keep your friendliness and politeness while facility does take time to development/ invest. Thanks... February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Getaway! My family and I enjoyed our 3 nights stay at 4P as it fulfill all our needs. Everything were great with the amount we paid. It was money well spent. The only minor flaw is the glass in the shower. I really think a glass door would be perfect to stop the water from splashing out. Parking have been solved with the assistance from the valet staff. Overall, we would (and have) recommend it to our friends and relatives. We love it! June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great getaway i would highly recommend this hotel . December 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for family with young kids Combine beach and swimming pool gives the kids much pleasure enjoying both. Room was clean and staff are responsive. However, breakfast was below expectation probably due to too many good food in town. It's far from town but it takes u to the other side of Penang with less hustle and much relaxation. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by service with a smile Though overall the hotel is relatively small, the room is just perfect. The staff are hardworking, friendly and never fails to greet you with a smile which has made my short stay a memorable one. Keep it up. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Affordable beach getaway Despite being outshone by its more popular neighbors in being a beach destination, the beachfront at Four Points managed to give my little toddler an experience he'll remember for a very long time. June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel with a fantastic view from the room. We stayed there from 15th to 17th in the Executive Ocean Suite and the room's view was fantastic! The breeze at the ground level was also really cooling during the early morning and evening times! Staff were professional and quick to respond even with maintenance staff coming in minutes, service was excellent! Reception staff at the ground level was polite and had good service ettiquette. Bedding was good and sleep was comfy. The hotel was only 10 minutes drive away from Georgetown and Gurney plaza which was great! The only thing that needs improvement was that the cafeteria food can be improved further in terms of variety. Great hotel! June 19, 2014
  • 2015-03-29T17:51:02.645-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_175, tr_175
  • loc_en_US, sid_3947, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>