Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego

  • 8110 Aero Drive
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92123
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 532 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not family friendly We arrived for a week long stay during the holiday week. While the facilities were nice, the room doors were heavy and slammed when they closed, causing loud noises during the evening and early morning hours. We were especially disappointed in that this property is listed as family friendly, but they have a policy against any external devices being connected to their TVs. Our kids brought their gaming system to play and watch movies, but the staff only apologized half heartedly and explained they do not allow this. December 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, simple, no frills hotel This Four Points Sheraton is a simple hotel. It seems they have done some interior upgrades as the building itself seems older. The interior is nice and simple. The room is also. There 3 floors and I was placed on the 3rd floor. The room is simple. The bathroom seems upgraded as it was clean, simple, and newer. It had marble sink, newer tiles, newer bath/shower. The entryway has nice laminate floors which leads to the room with newer carpet. Other reviews mentioned noise, but my stay was quiet and uneventful. However, I can imagine how noise can potentially be a problem as this building has very open public space. Any noises out there can potentially amplify and be heard from in the rooms. Other reviewers also talk about how this properties isn't as nice as others, however they don't seem to be specific what other properties they are comparing to. This is a Four Points. It should not be compared to a Westin, W, and the like. From a Customer Service and Check in point of view, it is good like it usually is. My only complaint would be the mattress. Personally, I think it is an old mattress as it is extremely soft. I doubt there is such a thing as "super soft" new mattresses. I'd give up any extra niceties for a perfectly supportive bed for a good night's sleep. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are using points as it is a Category 2. As of this writing, the rate was around $90, so you may potentially do better at another Starwood property in San Diego for that rate. The location of this property is outside of downtown San Diego (under 10 miles from the airport). December 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by DOES NOT MEET SHERATON'S QUALITY This hotel looks totally ran down. No way it represents the name and quality of Sheraton hotels. Our room's drape/curtain never opened. we were able to open drape about 12 inches and it got stuck. Our view was the next strip of rooms and they seem to be vacant with broken windows. The hotel is screaming for the need of new exterior paint. From the outside the hotel looks old, duty and cheap. Out of the two elevators, only one was working, and the biggest problem was that hotel maintenance and room service employees with their tools and carts were also using the same elevator along with guests. First time I ever see this. It was extremely uncomfortable and annoying. I think that with a minimum investment by Sheraton, this could become a better hotel. I just don't know if it is the company or management the one to blame for the neglected circumstances of this hotel. At this time I don't think I'll ever go back. August 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Four Points I generally do not enjoy Four Points, but this is a pretty solid Four Points. The pool area is very nice. The rooms were spacious. The workout facility could be a bit larger, but it got the job done for me at least. The shuttle service is excellent. They will take you to and from airport and other main spots as well. April 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement I liked the way the concierge personally showed the features, and I enjoyed the pool, the hot tub, bar, espresso shop, and food. My room however was very dated and old. The sink was clogged, no water would go down. The air conditioner cover would not stay on making it hard to turn it on and off. The shower was very difficult to turn on and the water would not fully turn off. It was near impossible to get internet access the WHOLE week. Our conference rooms did not have AC for most of the week. The gym had dirty floors and some of the machines were broke. I was not impressed. On a good note, every time I had a problem the staff was very responsive and helpful in taking care of things. I think the hotel just needs to be updated. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highest Overall Rating We stayed at 8 hotels during this trip and my husband and I both agreed that your hotel scored the highest in OVERALL rating. Great amenities, 24-hour laundry room, room service, and spacious parking. We felt safe with the secured entrance from the parking area. We ordered room service twice and the American Breakfast was awesome and well worth it. I appreciated the follow-up phone call after breakfast; it shows that guest satisfaction is a priority. Complimentary paper in the lobby is also a plus. Providing shuttle service is definitely a service that we utilized. We received great service in 'Citrus' and the booths were not closely situated allowing for privacy. We would definitely recommend this place. The staff is very friendly. November 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relief at a great experience After reading some reviews here, we were concerned to book our one week vacation at this property. Adding to this concern was the lack of response when I emailed the hotel to inquire about the status of wifi in the rooms (based on the complaints in the reviews). The "contact us" email was sent to "sales" and they never responded. Because the location was ideal for us, we decided to take a chance. Fortunately, we had a very good stay at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego. Check-in was smooth and uneventful. Due to my Platinum status, I inquired about an upgrade, and was told I was assigned to an SPG room. I inquired about the availability of an upgrade to a suite and was told none were available. When I inquired whether one might be available during our stay, the lady who checked us in suggested that one may become available on the last 2 days of our stay, and that if it became available, she would upgrade us. Because we had booked our reservation on starpoints, I did not push the issue. The SPG room we were assigned was a renovated room at the back of the hotel (the quiet side away from the bar/lounge), and was adequate, although the bathroom was small. On the plus side, there was a small bar fridge and microwave in the room. Indeed, there was not very good wifi signal in the room; signal was intermittent and slow. However, ethernet use was fine. After a couple of nights, and starting to feel cramped, I decided to check online to see if a suite was available for reservation for the remainder of the stay at this property. When I discovered that a suite was available for booking, I went to the front desk and inquired about an upgrade. The gentleman at the Front Desk checked, and when it was confirmed that a suite was available, we were immediately given a key to a suite, where we stayed for 5 nights. (I don't know why the original person who checked us in said no suites were available until much later into our stay.) The suite we were assigned was extremely spacious, and consisted of a bar/living room area, with a separate bedroom. The bathroom was HUGE, with a shower and hot tub. Although it looked like the suite was not yet upgraded, and it did not have flat screen TVs, we like this room more than the SPG room, because it was so spacious. Unfortunately, wifi signal was actually even worse in this room, and I could not get the ethernet to work (whereas it did when we were in the SPG room). Overall, we enjoyed some time sitting by the pool, and had their breakfast buffet a couple of times (coffee needs to improve). As we stayed for one week, we also discovered to our delight that there was a small laundry room with coin-operated machines. Very convenient. Staff was always friendly, and they try to be accommodating. Even coming back to our room at night on the weekend nights, we did not encounter noise issues like others had mentioned in their reviews. We had rented a car, but if you do not have a car, the location may be less convenient than other Starwood properties in San Diego. Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this property based on our experience here (unless you depend on internet access). May 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by TRIP TURNED NIGHTMARE The rooms are worn, torn, and somewhat dirty. The AC is outdated and noise. Lighting is very uncomfortable because use too many CFL bulb. One of the glasses lamp shade was cracked could cut my hand. The plumbing make very loud noise woke me up at 2:00am in the morning and I had call them to take look, but they could not fix it and told me I am not only one complained. So I had two nights doesn't sleep much since the noise came on at 2:00am to 4:30 am every night. Prices are somewhat high for the quality. December 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Starwood Preference The facilities and location are excellent!! However, I was disturbed by management's seemingly lack of acknowledgment of the Starwood Preferred Guest Program. I am a life time Gold and long time Platinum member and although the hotel was far from full (empty rooms all around me), I was never offered a premium upgrade and spent my week in a room with two double beds - while larger/junior suites were left empty. It would have been a great time to give "Preference" to a long time customer. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff is the highpoint This is a comfortable, relatively average, business hotel. However, the staff goes out of its way to be of service, which makes all the difference. From the shuttle drivers, to the front desk people, to the restaurant staff and the housekeepers, all are friendly and attentive. A special shout-out to Alejandro, though each and everyone of them deserves kudos. May have something to do with the owner's presence in the lobby and restaurant most of the time. Quite a character. April 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location, clean, friendly Though I'm a Starwood employee, I will be objective. Second time I stayed at this hotel on personal travel: one BIG difference from previous stay-staff is much friendlier and more helpful! Especially nice were front desk staff Alejandro, who checked me in and John, who gave me directions to a nearby shopping area. Room was clean and nice. Love the bathroom-lots of area for my stuff. One minor ding: mattress may have been sagging a bit perhaps? Overall: excellent! March 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel with friendly staff Initial room had noise from street side and the lounge. We were accommodated immediately and moved to the back side of the hotel. Refrigerator overheated and we lost our food that was stored there. The hotel again accommodated us by refunding the cash equivalent of the food cost and brought up a new refrigerator. Room was comfortable and clean. Not a huge variety at the restaurant on property and a bit expensive. Good breakfast offering. April 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! I can't tell you how pleased I was while staying at the Sheraton. The hotel registration was so pleasant and I was given such great treatment, plus directions on where to go, etc. My bill was explained, etc. I was even given a voucher for the bar. Then in the bar, the female bartender - I think her name was Cassidy - but not sure - was INCREDIBLE. She was such a great server and was extra special to me and other guests in my party. January 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel! Beyond expectations! I stayed at this hotel for 2 days and my family and I were actually home sick when we left. The staff was so friendly and helpful.The WiFi was GREAT! I always stayed connected and I was on at least 8 hours each day. There are 2 amenities that are not highlighted and that is FREE PARKING and in room MICROWAVE. That made are trip better and more affordable' Lastly, I used " Stairpoints" and was treated the same as all other customer! Oh yeah, a special thanks to housekeeping, a group of very nice people, very helpful and attentive!!!! May 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Staff, Can't wait to return! Entering the hotel we were greeted by smiling front desk staff, and that is how all employees are, truly a delightful place to stay. Room was comfortable, nice big tv, hot shower, comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet great deal for the dollar, fresh fruit, pasteries, breakfast cereals, made to order pancakes and omletts, and eggs, potataoes, sausages, and bacon. Coffee and Juices included for only $15.00. We had a minor situation, but the hotel took care of it and the only reason I mentioned it is because how fast the manager took care of the problem, and our entire stay was perfect. Bricks, stone, cement, make up the building but the employees make the difference in how your stay goes, everyone on the staff made us feel welcomed and comfortable. We give this property five stars, no better deal in the entire city. No parking fees, close to everything in the city. I look forward to our next visit. February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by some items overall we really enjoyed ourselves and glad we became part of the green team by allowing our beds not to be made. thanks for letting us use a knife.. we stayed 5 days and made many of our meals in the room and you were kind to give us an apple when we needed one or some milk.. and whewn I asked about the noise out in the pool within about 5-10 minutes you had a worker locate it and shut it off.. it had something to do with the AC unit. When I asked about the filtered water being emptied in the locker / exercise room it was replenished quickly. I wish there was a way to make the sheraton more sustainable, more green as in composting food scraps and waste, more energy efficient (the halls ways leading to the pool were eradic, one days all the doors were open allowing the heat to come inside and other times they were closed letting the cool air NOT inside the hotel (confusion? clearer energy efficient policies?).. an explanation about your rabbits on the property would have been nice. If there were more "green" policies of the hotel it would have been good to have a way to educate us about them.... I inquired about the room rentals fr gatherings as in a film screening and you wanted $300 for whether it was an hour or all day.. and when I said no way jose there was not any manner of coming back with some other options. as I walked around the hotel I saw many rooms that could fit the 30 people I declared and they were sitting vacant.. that is just downright silly, assuming you want to make money... February 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfied My room was not completely Stocked. I did not have the Fully stocked bathroom items that are normally left. I travel on business from out of town, I do not bring unnecessary items such as shower caps or cutips because they are provided normally. I even called the front desk and asked for one and never received . I have stayed here two weeks in a row and so far I am not satisfied as a matter of fact I am highly disappointed. I stay at Starwood hotels all over the country and this has been the worst by far. Last week The front receptionist Maria was very rude and unhelpful as well. If this is how I will be treated and the environment I will be staying elsewhere from now on! May 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by All Good Not sure why everyone has complained so far, but for the price everything was great. I got a room for the epic fighting MMA competition and was allowed free-roam of the facilities while watching the fight. This was a good deal and I appreciated the staff's attention to my needs. December 8, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Never again. This hotel is in need of updating. Wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom, carpet is old, sheets were scratchy with limp pillows. It was sad that my 5 year old even commented that the bathroom was "nasty." I was disappointed. The staff also directed me to the wrong room, and when I notified them my keys did not work, I was told I read the woman's handwriting wrong and should have known she writes her 7's and 1's very similarly. Strange response, when an apology would have been appropriate. Also, when I asked for a reccomendation for a local restaurant, none of the three employees at the front desk could refer me to a single restaurant. Very disappointing. Wouldn't stay here again! August 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staycation Comfortable and quiet with easy access to surrounding attractions and downtown.Could use a hairdryer and safe in each room. Minimal business facilities. July 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No hot water There was no hot water and no maintenance to fix this problem. Only solution given was to run the hot water for 3-5 min. After 30 min still no hot water. January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth more than a single night We only stayed one night (late flight) before heading to our destination the next day. Wonderful breakfast to get us started. September 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent for the price/points per night We booked this hotel for family coming into town because it was cheaper than the other SPG hotels. However, it doesn't "looK' or "feel" like a hotel in the Starwood network and the staff certainly doesn't have the same training. If you are looking for an okay place to stay, with clean rooms and free parking, this is it. However, if you are looking for a place that will meet or exceed all of your expectations as a guest (like most Starwoods do) then I would prefer another Starwood in San Diego. Overall, I would recommend it as it is clean and comfortable and easy access to all places in SD. April 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by One little problem This 4 Points location is an above average facility. One little issue, I was checked into a nice room that had no hot water. I let the desk staff know and they insisted that maintenance was taking care of it. Ok, Im resourceful, took a hot "shower" in the jacuzzi and went to sleep. Unfortunately the problem was not fixed by mornin when I had to wake up and get ready for meetings. Let the staff know, took a cold shower. Ended up waiting over 24 hours for hot water...my patience only lasts so long. The staff was understanding but nothing was even offered to make up for the problem. February 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Hotel, Could be Great Hotel This property has good bones but needs work, especially in the pool, hot tub and fitness area. Hot tub was roped off with caution tape tied to lawn chairs, pool was dirty and never clean and the fitness building had broken equipment, worn free weights and dirty towels scattered on the floor. There are numerous small issues that need to be dealt with.The entry, sleeping rooms and basic grounds are fairly good but need to be spruced up, ie. I reattatched all the shower curtain hangers as all were open or bent. The location is reasonable and the easily accessed from major highways. April 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I've stayed in many Sheratons as a Starwood member, and this one falls short of the Sheraton standards. The facility was drab, the room showing its age in stains and peeling walls in the bathroom. The bathroom door was completely opaque, allowing bright light in the room when the door was closed. This is very disturbing for multiple guests. The weight room also left a lot to be desired. The only positives were that the hotel location was conveniently close to many attractions, free wifi was offered in the rooms, and the room came with both a sizable mini fridge and a microwave. June 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience, will never return I stayed one night for a business trip and things started badly and ended badly as well. - We arrived about 5:00 pm and there were 4 people waiting to get checked in, 2 people at the desk. It took 20 minutes for me to check in. I have never experienced such a slow process to check in. - While checking in, someone called from a room about no hot water. The Clerk told them that Maintenance was working on it and the hot water would be on shortly and to let the tap run until it warmed up. - Unfortunately I left my key in the room when we left for dinner, so back down to the line to get a second key. Three people were waiting to check in and ... you guessed it, over 15 minutes to get a 2nd key. - The wireless router continuously dropped coverage and I finally quit trying to use it. - 6:30 wake up and go to the shower, and can't figure out the shower handle to get warm water, and then have that "oh no" moment when I realize there just isn't any hot water. So a cold shower it is. Mind you that a warm shower is one of the 2 reasons I get hotel rooms (the other is a comfortable bed). - I call the desk about the water, very unhappy, but very kind to the poor clerk. I explain I expect some accomodation on the bill. She offers me a free breakfast, which I am not interested in. She says she can't make any adjustments to the bill until she talks to a Manager, and one isn't in unti 8:30. REALLY, the major check out time window for your major group of customers and no manager is on site !! - I wait for 3 people to check out in front of me, as I truly expect a billing adjustment and 10 minutes later I give up and leave the key cards on the desk and walk away. - HOWEVER, while waiting in line, a customer calls about the Hot water. The Clerk says "Yea, I know, maintenance is working on it and it will be back on shortly !! Slow, dishonest, and truly didn't care about the customers = Never Returning The hotel was full. I expect that they would have had Maintenance and a plumber working through the night to resolve the issue. I also expect that knowing the problem they had, a Manager would have BEEN ON DUTY. Shocking Business hotel that is poorly managed !! They never really made an effort to make things right. If people complained, they offered breakfast. February 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Customer Service My girlfriend and I recently took a vacation to San Diego and chose to stay at Four Points by Sheraton. The reservation was for Friday, August 30th - Monday, Sept 2nd. We chose the hotel because of the location and the great room rate. Two weeks before our scheduled trip, I had some business issues come up and didn't know if I would be able make the trip to San Diego. To be proactive, I wanted to see if I wasn't able to make the trip, if I could be given a hotel credit of some sort. I left a voicemail for the front desk manager, Carlos with this inquiry, and later received a voicemail back that said it was a non-refundable reservation and a credit could not be given. Since I hadn't said I was officially canceling, I didn't think that anything else needed to be done, after all, I had only asked a question. The week of the trip, I was able to resolve the business issues in time, therefore, I would be available to go to San Diego. I called the hotel to put my girlfriend's name on the reservation since she would be arriving before me and was shocked to find out that my reservation had been cancelled. In no way, had I asked Carlos to cancel my reservation and I hadn' t even received an email notification that it was cancelled. I asked if I could speak with Carlos to clear up the issue but he had left for the day. There began, one of countless voicemails the next day and a half with no return phone call and no resolution to my cancelled hotel reservation. I turned to the corporate office and spoke with Donna hoping that she could intervene. Unfortunately, she was also unsuccessful, leaving numerous voicemails for Carlos and did not receive a return phone calls from him either. I continued to call the hotel throughout the day over the course of the week, hoping to speak with Carlos since our trip was fast approaching. Then I received an email that my reservation was cancelled and that I would be refunded the money. I was outraged. Not only did Carlos never return my phone calls, but there were things being done without notifying me first. This was completely unacceptable since I didn't want the room to be cancelled in the first place and by this point it was too late to make reasonable accommodations elsewhere. It wasn't until 2 days before our arrival that I called the hotel and the front desk clerk told me Carlos and reinstated our reservation. I also received a phone call from Rex who apologized on behalf of Carlos' actions and poor communications and offered an upgrade to our room (if it was available) and a free breakfast for one person for two days. Knowing that Rex wasn't to blame for what had happened, I decided to just accept the apology and not pursue the issue further. Upon arrival, my girlfriend checked in at 3 pm and the room was not available. She was told by the front desk that they would call her when the room was ready; which they never did. When I arrived around 6 pm, I told the front desk clerk that my girlfriend had previously tried to check in and that the staff never called her to let her know when it was ready. She didn't even apologize or acknowledge what I said; instead she hurried to the back office to have Carlos process our reservation since it was "locked." Since Carlos was checking us in for our reservation, I thought that he would come up to the front and apologize for the poor communication, no return phone calls, and other mistakes--but he didn't. The "upgrade" to our room was more of a downgrade. The only thing that really stood out was that instead of a garden view room, we now had a pool view room. Otherwise, the size and accommodations were exactly the same as our original reservation. Also something to note was that the sink and the bathtubs were both clogged the entire time we were there. All in all, I was completely dissatisfied and disappointed with my hotel experience and found Carlos and other hotel staff to be incompetent, inconsiderate and lacking professionalism. I had to continuously take time out of my day to call Carlos to try and resolve this problem, left countless messages, but never received a return call or an apology from him directly. From there the customer service from the hotel staff continued to decline from not notifying my girlfriend when the room was ready to the poor "upgrades" to compensate for this inconvenient experience. This was an entirely unpleasant and frustrating experience. I will not stay here again, nor will I recommend others to stay here. September 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is not what it seems Booked this hotel for family to spend one night, glad it was only one night. The layout of the hotel appears like a converted office complex very confusing to navigate lacked access from the outside to rooms, no stairway near outside acces and only two elevators at other end. Staff was not very helpful with questions, room did not come with any perks at all, restaurant onsite was way overpriced and not much variety available nearby. No continental breakfast, very few ice machines or any kind of vending onsite. Would NOT recommend this hotel for family to stay at. July 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Internet This hotel really doesn't have any nice feature to warrant its Starwood hotel brand. The bed is too small, the bathroom is too old, the room is stuffy with bad ventilation. Worst of all is the so called "free" internet, which has been a pain in rear end to keep connected. My family will not come back to this place. December 2, 2014
  • 2015-03-28T17:55:12.248-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_532, tr_532
  • loc_en_US, sid_671, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>