Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton Kingston

  • 285 King Street East
  • Kingston,
  • Ontario
  • K7L 3B1
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 156 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wedding day This hotel was not ready for the wedding that was planned in advance. The lobby was to be completed by the date of the wedding and it was not ready. We were on the 7th floor and due to the long wait for the elevator, as one was down, we used the stairs, however once we got to the bottom level there was no way out, the house keeper had to show us how to get out. There was no directions or signs to the wedding, it was very disorganized. When we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready, they knew we were coming for a wedding at 3:30, they told us the room would be ready at 3pm, which they say is normal check in time, they should have informed us of that when we reserved. The bed in the room was not attached to the head board so when you sat on the end of the bed it flipped up, amusing, but not acceptable. The elevators had writing on the walls and there was no ATM at the hotel. I would not recommend anyone have a wedding or any other function here. January 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Stay here often. Great location for restaurants & relaxing. January 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by My evening stay. I am sorry to say that I was completely disappointed with my stay at your hotel. I was not told ahead of time that your hotel was under renovations and we were visiting town for a volleyball tournament. All the boys were looking forward to an evening swim after a long drive and again we were not told ahead of time that the pool was unavailable. We were also not told ahead of time of your parking and that there was additional cost. Also due to the renovations, we were unable to access the elevator at our parking level and had to carry our luggage down a flight of stairs to access the elevator. Finally upon leaving, the warning of the floors unavailable on the elevator had been removed leaving me to believe we could access P1 only to have the doors open and be all taped off and not able to exit the elevator. I hope your renovation goes well, but in the meantime, I would advise you tell your potential guests of the inconveniences, I experienced. Thank you. January 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by On the decline I have stayed at this hotel several times. While they finally have wifi in the rooms, it does not work very well and had to delete all browsing history before I could connect my IPad and even then it would not stay connected. The housekeeping was also lacking as a significant amount of last guest's hair on bathroom floor and balcony glass so dirty you could barely see through it. Despite having 2 guests, housekeeping only provided one bottle of water each day. The location is great and the only StArwood Hotel in Kingston so I will stay again, but hope they address the cleanliness and wifi issues. September 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most comfortable and pleasant hotel We have stayed at the Sheraton Four Points for many years. Quiet clean, well appointed rooms, nice views, with very comfortable beds and fine bathroom - all excellent, make this hotel our home away from home when we regularly visit our son and family near Kingston. The a la carte breakfast is well-prepared and a notable improvement from past years. Staff are always most courteous and helpful. We travel frequently and having a good night's sleep in a spacious, clean, quiet room with excellent beds as in the Four Points by Sheraton Kingston is our reason for returning year after year. October 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shower extra? I've stayed before and the rooms are lovely. BUT with a timeline to meet there was no water coming out of the shower!! I called and asst mgr had no idea what was going on. Discovered boiler to part of hotel was under repairs...at 945 am on a Wednesday morning. No solution offeredr. I suggested possibly to use the shower in the pool area - yes water there...but new wall dispensers in the room mean no portable toiletries. Public shower with foam wash and no shampoo, washcloth or conditioner. I asked about possibly going to another room in the hotel that had hot water to shower but was told NO and offered a 25 percent discount. NOT impressed this time, No time to argue, had to check out....yes, I'm venting. August 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Four Points standards. This hotel is in an excellent location and the front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. However, the hotel is looking quite shabby and is not up to the standards of a typical Four Points. We've stayed at Four Points in other locations and chose Four Points Kingston because of the bed system - yet there was no Four Points by Sheraton Comfort Bed in our room. The room was clean but basic, bland and uninteresting. The beds were adequate but not up to the standards of Four Points. It was handy to have parking, however, getting to and from the parking lot from our room was a chore: The elevators were small and old, and did not amply serve a hotel that was very busy on the weekend of our stay. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a wonderful location Our Junior Suite had a lovely large bathroom. The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Kingston; we were able to enjoy both the Farmers market on Saturday and the Antique market on Sunday. My morning 5km jog revealed a beautiful, clean and safe city. After a full day walking the city the price of (2) coffee's in the hotel restaurant was very expensive. For morning breakfast we decided to go to Morrison's (1 block away) but it was fairly tasteless food and a disappointment although it looked like it was favoured by the locals; their service levels were spectacular. June 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by First visit to this hotel Front desk was very friendly when we arrived and very helpful with what was in the area, close to the hotel. We found a leftover pair of socks in the room from a previous guest. The remote for the TV did not work and required 3 calls before someone came to replace it. The door key doesn't work on the pool door regularly and this is known by the staff because they didn't seem to surprised. Someone did come and open the door for us, however the lock should be replaced if this is a known issue. Hotel is very central to the town of Kingston and the waterfront. September 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by renovation planning Saturday Dec 22 2013 had freezing rain through much of eastern Ontario and the GTA. We were heading to Ottawa with a planned overnight stay in Kingston. Because the storm we were late arriving and much of Kingston was without power. The hotel had power and we got into the underground parking. But elevators to the lobby were not working. Up the stairs to the front desk and check-in. We discover the hotel is under renovation and you must take more stairs to the 2nd floor to get an elevator. The room is great and we are very tired. We call for room service and find that the restaurant is under renovation as well, therefore no room service. We had some gin and tonic in our bag so I went looking for ice. 2 of 3 ice machines were out of service. We left the next day very disappointed with the Four Points by Sheraton in Kingston. We have stayed there many times and always enjoyed the stay. Not this trip. Regular rates, most services and amenities not available. December 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This is not a Category 4 hotel The hotel was ok and the staff was pleasant, however this is not a category 4 hotel. At the most it is a category 3 or even a 2. Do no waste 10000 points staying at this hotel. The rooms are newly renovated; poorly renovated and basic. The hallways are noisy and with rooms with adjoining doors you can easily hear your neighbours December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by EVerything went smoothly Location just by Ontario Street was excellent. There was a blues festival and Sunday flea market in the square just steps from the entrance. City hall within 2 min walk.- Check-in was straightforward- previously discussions (e.g. special requests) called in previously were noted on the record. Rooms were adequate - bed could have been more comfortable but werent too bad. - Little touches like the coffee in the morning, and the fresh cookies in the evening were appreciated. Did not use any of the facilities or eat at the resto, so could not speak to those. August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was disappointing. We stayed in a Queen suite - the pull out couch was not comfortable. No additional blankets provided - had to ask for them. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Beautiful spacious junior suite. The staff was great and the restaurant at the front was great! Thanks January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Girls Weekend With Our Daughters I saw a lot of good reviews about this hotel so I contacted the hotel directly and explained that my friend and I were bringing our daughters to Kingston for an early Christmas celebration, dinner out, shopping etc. The hotel put together a wonderful package for us. The rooms were lovely, clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We ate in the restaurant twice, once for dinner and once for breakfast. Both meals were amazing. The girls had fun swimming in the pool and remarked on how nice the new pool liner was. This hotel is close to everything you need downtown. It's handy to just park your car and walk to restaurants and shopping downtown. We will be back. We are already talking about a March break trip. December 7, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by No warning of pool closure and renovations Dear Mr. Holmes, I emailed you twice before posting this review, but have not recieved a response. I booked a stay for New Year's Eve at your hotel through SPG.com. The most important feature was the pool for my kids. Through SPG there was no indication that the hotel was under renovations and that the pool was closed. My confirmation and reservation gave no indication. We checked the hotel website the day before and clicked on pool and facilities and there was no note. It was very disapointing to arrive and see the hotel under construction and the pool closed. The hotel smelled like cigarettes at times as well, perhaps from construction workers. The desk person was very apologetic. I asked if your hotel had made arrangements with another hotel for pool use and he said no. In the past, other Starwood hotels I have stayed at made arrangements in this situation. It was too late for us to switch hotels. I checked your hotel website again on January 1, 2014. On the left there is a small note about the pool. This should be linked to the facilities page and be bolded or as a banner. The best option is to have a pop up show when anyone goes on your website and have a short note about construction. This way all potential guests are alerted. The SPG site usually sends a pop up if you are booking at a hotel under construction. It does not for yours. You need to click on special conditions. There is no reason why one would do this, but if you do, the note says the pool is closed only until Nov. 31, 2013. I reccomend that you update your website with a pop up stating the conditions and have SPG do the same. IThis is my first negative review on any hotel site. I do not like how hard it is to remove a review, particularly ones without merit. This is not fair to hotels and restaurants. I rarely complain and always alert the Manager first to see if the problem can be fixed for future guests and to see if a reasonable refund or points bonus can be given. I am from Kingston and do not want a poor review to harm a downtown Kingston business. Nonethelss, I have emailed you twice with no response. Thanks for your response. Best wishes, Hugh Langley January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Suites - Location Central - Fabulous Staff Spent a Saturday night here (1st time) and had a great experience, particularly with Front Desk staff (Thanks Troy!) In advance had a room upgrade provided, and great service at check-in. Junior Suite was an ideal room layout, for our family of five. Two TVs, fully divided bedroom with a nicely updated bathroom with two doors in. Cot was excellent, but pullout sofa had a bit of a flimsy mattress. Very quiet rooms. Good housekeeping services. Only shortcoming - small elevator lobby; very busy (place was full on a Saturday night.) September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by exceeds expectations all hotels serve the same purpose. accommodation and pricing are relative of course. but our stay at 4-points kingston was beyond what we expected. an unplanned wednesday-friday stay at 4-points in kingston was quite a surprise indeed! i cannot say more about the staff from rebecca, who took our booking to our check-in with christine and rob with another lady (i'm sorry we did not catch her name) to our chambermaid and the server at sizzles --- they were just the lovliest people we have ever met. we don't want to spoil your stay at 4-points in kingston ontario. you must book at 4-points and meet these people and i'm sure you too will have a pleasant surprise. hint: you get the room you ask for and complimentary attraction tickets! oh, and free internet too! July 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by entry level SPG property, awesome restaurant No SPG lounge, pool area not clean. Hot tub not working, floor covered in rust, mud, dirt. Not enough towels in pool area. Pool liner hanging off wall, made a dirty area look more gross. Stairs to pool also needs much cleaning. Chunks of 70's shag ceiling falling down. No bill provided, staff didn't ask the usual questions, e.g. do I need a late check out, what do I want for an amenity, etc. However very nice and accommodating when asking for things. Restaurant best part of stay, pleasant surprise. Went there with kids. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value, graet location Stayed 4 nights for family vacation. Had to request for platinum upgrade and no one mentioned status on check in nor any welcome choice for benefit - although my welcome bonus points did appear in my account. Second through fourth night of my stay we were upgraded to Jr Suite after requesting my Platinum upgrade. This gave us all the room we needed for our stay as a family. Pool was great, restaurant great, room clean and spacious, staff responsive to service requests. Good value for $ for an awesome location. On par with expectations relative to other FourPoints properties I've stayed which are always a step below most of the other Sheraton/Starwoods properties. Made for a great home base to explore the 1000 Islands area. Would stay again and recommend. Thanks. July 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by hotel is a mess Lobby in total construction....concrete floors,no pool and rooms are tired. This is NOT even close to a category 4 Starwood hotel! I used 10,000 points for this place and am appalled. Not sure how you guys figured this is a category 4........maybe when all renovations are completed and even then I would question it?? December 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great services Even when undergoing renovations, the hotel provided the expected service. I cant wait to go back and give it full marks! December 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good stay This hotel is wonderfully located in downtown Kingston. It tends to attract business travellers so that you can avoid some of the junior sports teams that regularly visit Kingston and stay at other nearby hotels. The view is nice and there is good quality for your money. Unfortunately, the days that I was there the restaurant was closed. It poured cats and dogs one night and we could really have used that convenience. Notwithstanding, there are numerous wonderful restaurants right near the hotel. September 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected more We stayed at this facility before. We expected four-star quality for its facility and service. We were disappointed. First off, the ambient temperature in the lobby was cold, very cold. We got to our room and it was also very cold. It took a long while before we could get it to a comfortable temperature. Throughout our visit, we found the lobby staff to be short-staffed. The restaurant has now turned into a fast-food outlet. Again, not up to the standard expected and previously experienced. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond Staff Not only was our room extremely clean and very comfortable, but every staff member with whom we came in contact was the perfection of friendliness, from the housekeepers to room service (very reasonable prices!) to the adjoining restaurant staff. The icing on the cake however was the Front Desk Manager, Luke. He came to the rescue after we had the unfortunate experience of having the window of our rental car smashed in (not at the hotel!) and some items stolen. Since I had to drive the car 3 hours to Toronto with an open window and my young daughter, Luke found some cardboard and duct tape and set about taping up the window for us. He made sure we helped ourselves to the complementary coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby and was a genuine doll. Thank you for your help, it was extremely appreciated! November 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I can't believe that I paid $300 for that We booked in for a weekend in September, but only suites were available. That is fine, but the accomodations were spartan and the room was no bigger than a nice sized room at any other hotel, except that it had a wall separating it into two areas. Moreover, the main bed was a double (they tried to tell me it was a queen - but that was not possible). I was astounded that they felt they could charge $300 for that. Next time I will stay at a marginally worse place for half the price. October 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It is ok.... The hotel is central to Kingston, which makes it very convenient to everything downtown. We were disappointed with the overall state as it was tired and looks in need of a renovation. We requested a king bed and I appreciate the suite upgrade but the upgrade actually gave us a queen bed instead of king..and they were sold out of king beds. A little disappointing. Suite was very small and not very functional. For the price of the room, we were disappointed. August 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is well located but dated The biggest issue is with this hotel is the fact that it's older and not very soundproof. I could hear the gentleman in the room next to me snoring at 1:30 AM and it actually woke me up. So the biggest issue is the soundproofing in the rooms. However the bright side of this hotel is it's restaurant Sizzler had great staff, great food and great service. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is well located in the heart of downtown Kingston. January 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 4 Points Kingston Hotel lobby is totally a mess....under construction. Pool is closed........no heads-up from them that the hotel is a mess right now!!!! Not fair. December 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel review Everything was excellent. the only downfall was that the hotel was under construction for renovations and so none of the health facilities were available. I was not advised of this before my stay or it would have impacted my decision to stay somewhere else until the renos were completed. November 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>