The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 460 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Read House The Read House was clean and he staff was accommodating. The room was larger than most but bathroom much smaller than most. $15 a day parking! That can be avoided by parking on the street (free after 4:30/before 8:00 am as well as weekends). Meters were never hard to find during the day. Restaurant is pricey. Starbucks in building is nice. Great location, walking distance or short trolley ride to many attractions and restaurants. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer service is everything. We stayed for 3 nights and loved the hotel! We would especially like to thank our valets, Roy, Danny and John.They were all so polite, informative and friendly. I don't want to forget Ken,whom we met the first night we arrived. What a great guy! The only problem we had was our rate upon checking out. We had the birth year package and we think that we were overcharged. I called the hotel when we returned home but was told to wait until we get out credit card bill. July 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by "IT SHOULD" be their motto Key cards would not work after end of 1st day and room was booked 2 nights. We had our arms loaded down with stuff & couldn't get into our room. Was told " it should" work. Had to haul everything back to desk to show ID to get new cards. Then club card wouldn't work in the morning after assuring me " it should" work. Had to call the front desk, who said there "should be" someone nearby to let me and another guest in. When I checked out, I told the desk person there was no hairdryer in our room. The response was, there "should be" one. I wish they had a microwave in the "new" building. I drink tea & coffee brewers in rooms always makes my tea taste like coffee. It was quite a ways to walk back to my room with a couple of hot paper cups in my hands. I say there "should be" some of those cardboard rings for paper cups at the very least. April 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not recommend this place I love the spg brand and would always recommend their hotels except for this one in Chatanooga, TN. The hotel is OLD, the carpets are musty, the AC does not cool the system is old and the elevators are so slow that we had to take the stairs several times even after a tiring afternoon!! September 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Horrible check in I booked my room back in Aug for a 2 queen bed. We stayed last year and had a wonderful exp. we had a late check in and my room had been given away. Tried to give me a king bed. After I became upset and produced my conf email a room was found. Plus I originally booked 2 nights. Called early in the week to change that to 1 night. They said they did not know about the change. Luckily I had that email too. Really unlike the Sheraton that I know. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked hard for GOLD status and... My first stay as gold status and no.....GIFT! Nice room though. SPG Gold members receive all the benefits of Preferred, plus three Starpoints for every eligible U.S. dollar spent, 4 p.m. late checkout, an enhanced room at check-in, access to a special elite customer service line and a complimentary Gold welcome gift at check-in - choice of bonus Starpoints, in-room Internet access or a complimentary beverage. See all Gold benefits at SPG.com/gold September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful experience! My husband and I decided to stay in Chattanooga for a weekend and the Read House made it extra special. The room was comfortable, spacious, clean and we felt like we were in the lap of luxury. The staff was friendly and very helpful. If we stay again in Chattanooga, it will be at the Read House. Thanks for the wonderful stay! The only thing I wish they had was a hot tub (it looked like it have been covered up in the pool area). Great location, too. February 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Read House Needs Massive Upgrades Bed mattress sagged causing back pain the following morning; bathroom fixtures were rusted, my Gold level status was not recognized at check in, and management decided to forego access to the Club lounge in lieu of breakfast coupons in the main dining room. This is a much slower process for business travelers & costs more for the hotel with people like me who only want coffee, yogurt and a piece of fruit! July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historical and classy I have two children attending UT Chattanooga. This hotel is a great place to stay overnight and have them come down for a nice quiet dinner or just hang out at the Starbucks located on the first floor. This hotel is convientent to the downtown activities but far enough away to miss all the tourist. The free electric trolley goes right by the front door, so leave your car parked at the hotel and hop on the trolley and ride down to the riverfront. November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Toilet Trouble I was in room 549 and was very happy with my room except for one thing- the toilet flushed so violently that it sprayed everywhere. Fortunately the first time this happened, I was getting into the shower and wasn't dressed, because toilet water literally splashed all over my legs and feet and even splashed straight up to eye level (I'm 5 foot 6) like a fountain. I learned my lesson and kept the lid shut from then on, but it still freaked me out! May 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Comedy of errors Lets start with the positive...great location, friendly staff, beautiful historic building. Unfortunately, they dont seem to have their act together any more... Remotes to TVs in suite did not function, room was completely ignored one day..came back from a long day to a dirty, unmade room...and then at checkout, they charged me full price instead of recognizing I had used Starpoints for this stay. at 10k starpoints a night, I expected more. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by guest The hotel exterior and lobby area were pretty and original to the time it was built. The room was clean and appropriately furnished for a couple. I did miss not having a small microwave since the coffeemaker doesn't make HOT coffee. Our room's view was a brick wall of an adjacent building, but in downtown everyone can't have something pleasing to look at. The staff was very pleasant and eager to answer questions and ready to serve. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recommend with a few disclaimers The Read House has some age on it--and the guest rooms need some renovation. Still gets a "Good" on my review, mainly because of the staff and my love of historical preservation. That said, the first night I chose the wrong bed of the two in the room--it squeaked and creaked every time I turned over. The second night, the other bed was fabulous! My room was directly across from an elevator--other guests talked (loudly) almost all night (men the first night, pre-teen dancers the second). The refrigerator I requested lacked some shelving--probably should be replaced. And I paid an ungodly room service price for the worst spaghetti and meatballs I've ever eaten. The staff at this hotel will do anything to take care of you and make you happy. Stay here--and ask for help if you need it. It is a lovely place and I'll stay here again every two years. April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Experience This hotel was beyond my expectations. The service at the front desk was quick and very courteous. The decor of this historical hotel was amazing. The room was comfortable, large and very well laid out. The only thing I didn't like was the halls and lobby were hot and there wasn't any ventilation when in these areas. I loved that dogs are allowed and enjoyed playing with them in the lobby. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Decent but Musty I like the overall style and ambiance of the hotel. However, the musty smell is a big turnoff. It permeates the lobby, halls and rooms of this hotel. I would advise that this issue is looked into and remediation started quickly. September 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Experience I booked this as a reward stay and was really disappointed. The lobby and staff were very inviting and friendly, but the room was sub-par. I see other reviews noting the nice rooms, but mine was far from it. It was roomy, but in need of serious updating with heavily worn and damaged carpet, peeling wallpaper, dirty table. Not what I expect from a Sheraton property. This experience was a deciding factor in not staying a second night. July 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great option! My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton as a last minute option on Christmas because my grandparents became ill the day prior. The booking of the room was extremely easy online and we had a conformation email in seconds after booking. The hotel is so easy to find and was a perfect option for us because we stayed late up on Lookout Mtn. & easily found our way back. The parking is free on the street till 8 am but we chose to valet since it was pouring rain. It was 15 dollars. The room was GREAT and the bed was so comfortable after a lot of traveling! The interior decorating and little maintences could be updated, but if you like simple this is a great pick! We loved waking up and utilizing the fitness center down stairs and the Starbucks inside afterward for breakfast! The staff was super accommodating and the hotel was quite a classy and historical stay! December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by needs to make sure all the ammenities work the hottub wasnt working and staff didnt mention it was down when i called the night before. Had a delux suite and the room never cooled down because of the ac vents are in the one side of the room and the suite has 2 areas. Living room area and the bedroom area. Had a fan brought to the room to move tha air around. Mgt refuses to leave ac on and room is on the corner of the building with the sun coming in the room and heating it. July 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Front Desk staff Absolutely the best Sheraton I have stayed in with its Southern charm throughout from the comfortable room to the classic telephone booths in the lobby. It is central to everything downtown with convenient valet parking and the terrific Porter restaurant. Special thank you to the front desk staff, Ashlee and Courtney, whose genuine Chattanooga charm made my stay pleasant as they helped me navigate around the local attractions. September 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs a bit of upgrading This hotel was located right downtown amidst a great many places to eat and things to see. That was the biggest positive. Otherwise our room smelled like it used to be a smoking room. It reeked of old smoke. The carpet, wallpaper and drapes all were old, peeling, and discolored. The cost was fairly high so I would have expected a little better quality room. AND the pool was closed for an unexplained reason. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel - Great People I've stayed at this hotel several times. It seems to get better and better with every visit! It's an older historic hotel with all the modern amenities - but no loss of the value of the history. Best beds! As good as mine at home, great food in Porter's, nice gym, pool and fabulous location! The staff do everything they can to assist and assure that your stay is just right. Only complaint - they need a few more TV channels... February 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice historical hotel The staff is what made the difference for me. They were very curteous, respectful, knowledgeable, and went above and beyond to please us. The food was great at the Potter restaurant and also James and Emily. The receptionist at the front desk named Ann Marie helped me with an issue I had and I so appreciated it. Valet men were nice and on point. The room had very comfortable beds and were nicely kept. Definitely go back. January 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs renovation The Read House is a beautiful old building ideally located in downtown Chattanooga. The staff is always friendly, helpful and efficient. BUT, the hotel rooms are in desperate need of total renovation. There are many more alternatives in this rapidly growing city and unless something is done to dramatically update this facility, I am going to be forced to seek alternatives, despite my loyalty to Starwoods. May 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice lobby The Read House has a very nice lobby. The beds are very comfortable with a nice staff. The bathrooms are old and out dated. The shower curtian was moldy and to short for the tub it would be much nicer if there were glass doors or in all honestly gutted and remodeled bathrooms. I feel like the level of guest you cater to the experience should be as nice as their home or nicer and I honestly was disgusted by the bathroom. May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The "famous" bed My first goal for my mini trip was a nice hotel, good location. Sheraton Read was both. Hearing about the great beds, advertising about buying the beds, made me anticipate a great night sleep...I wouldn't know if the bed was all that it was suppose to be because i had to get up 3x in the night to put the sheets back on! It was like a twin bed with king sheets. They kept sliding off, bunching up etc. VERY DISAPPOINTING> May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice We arrived at 3 a.m. Dennis Rhea was working at the desk. Really nice guy. The hotel software was switching over from night to day so we had to wait about 20 minutes which was a drag. But Dennis was real nice and got us checked in and into a great room at this very nice hotel as quickly as possible. A great place to stay if you are ever in Chattanooga. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chattanooga Fun! The free parking on the weekend right in front of the hotel was so nice. The free shuttle to downtown will pick up right across from the hotel. It is not a long walk downtown if you choose to walk, but expecting a baby, it was nice to have the option to take the electric shuttle. We loved being so close to everything. We felt safe inside and out. The hotel was clean and updated, yet still had a historic feel. August 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent service/ Room Needs Improvement My stay at the Read House was good. The staff were very helpful. My room 's (#517) air conditioner did work properly and did not cool the room. Fortunately, the night of my stay was comfortable because of the weather. I adjusted the thermostat but it still did not cool the room. I pointed this out to the staff the at checkout and they said they would take care of it. Other than that, the stay was very good. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Chattanooga First Upon arrival the valet service was friendly and efficent. At check-in I signed up for the SPG and they upgraded my room. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions, locations to visit and places to hike. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful location to stay. We are looking forward to our next trip and will certainly stay at this Hotel again! Thank you for a wonderful trip! March 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I was disappointed upon arrival to see that all of the Civil War era art had been removed from the hotel. The building is still charming but the replacement art work has no obvious theme or value. Although the staff was receptive to our service issues (hot water, elevator, wet carpet, soap, towels, cups etc), I did not feel that there was a sense of urgency or recovery response to ensure our satisfaction. September 16, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 17 next>>