The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 453 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing experience We and another couple booked rooms at this hotel for the last night of a week long road trip. I did some research and selected this property because it seemed to have character, historic roots and a great location. Although there have been updates there is still work to be done. While the room was spacious, the bathroom was very small, and the institution style toilet, with no lid was jarring - and yet another element misjudged -(with so little space in the bathroom every horizontal surface needs to be able to be utilized effectively. Having no lid on the toilet leaves a gaping pond for things to fall in...) A/C seemed to be overwhelmed and unable to keep up, although the day leading up to the evening we checked in had been overcast and unseasonably not excessively hot. The thermostat was set on 64 when we entered the room - which was a chilly image, not proven by the actual room temp - we ended up lowering the LED display to 60 by nights end - and noticed little change in the cooling, although the unit seemed to run constantly. Starbucks coffee and bottled water were a nice touch - and I was looking forward to my morning in room coffee - but the little coffee machine had a leak in the reservoir, which I didn't discover until after it went through the brewing process, and I ended up with a moat filled with water around the maker and a sludgy undrinkable concentration of coffee. OK now the really unsavory part- After opening the curtains on the sunny Sunday morning after we had gotten out of bed, our bed linens were thrown back with the underside of the comforter facing up - I heard my husband say "Gross!" and turned to look at what he had noticed - a huge yellow edged stain stain across the bottom section of the exposed comforter - approximately 20" by 40" from what we could see - we did not touch or open up the comforter any further as we felt unsettled by the thought of having just slept in the bed that had such a huge visible stain - and wondered what else we had slept on in that bed that we hadn't seen. YECH. We all had the breakfast brunch at about 0930 1000- and apparently the sterno had run out or had been forgotten as the sausage was cold, and the french toast was maybe tepid. A server was rather frantically opening up multiple sterno pots on the bar when we entered. The selection of fruit was very good, as was the juice and coffee. I can't speak to the biscuits and gravy as I do not eat them. We did wish for some yogurt and granola to build our own parfaits. Disappointing way to end our little trip and I felt a bit responsible as I had suggested that we stay at the Read House and I believe the other couple paid more that we did for our room - and they had even more A/C issues than us, and were unhappier about the breakfast. On a positive note - when I checked out I mentioned some of our issues of comfort, the huge bed stain - and our unsettled feelings about the cleanliness of the room to Bethany at the front desk - she didn't apologize but did deduct our valet parking charge and half of our room cost - which was something. Not in a hurry to rush back to a Sheraton... August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Surprise in Choo Choo My first stay at this hotel. I just checked in. This a very nice surprise. This hotel is stately and maintained well. This hotel is better than a category 2 hotel and a great deal for using points. I got upgraded to a junior suite which is very nice and spacious. Ok, the bathroom is not very large, but that is expected at a historic property. So far people are very friendly and service is good. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful, even though I checked in after midnight. I am on a short business trip and this is exactly what I needed. Book it with confidence! September 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel - A real value! We made a last minute reservation due to being unhappy at another hotel. Staff was excellent upon arrival. The room was perfectly comfortable and very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to stay in downtown Chattanooga. I would definitely come back! August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grand Old Hotel Stayed 1 night for a medical conference. Got upgraded to a junior suite (thank you!). Very comfortable hotel -- old but very comfortable. Quiet. Had room service breakfast and dinner, both excellent. The French fries for dinner were some of the best I've had in years, and breakfast was hot and very nicely prepared. This is an excellent place to stay and even accepts dogs < 60 pounds. October 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Stay I loved the 2 room set up in the suite. There was plenty of room for the two of us! The hotel is in a great location. I would have liked a refrigerator/microwave for my doggy bag food from nearby restaurants. They had room service, but not a restaurant other than the expensive steak house attached. I do not like eating in my room so we had to go out. We also had to go to other evening venues since the bar closed at 11pm. They had a great pool and service was fine. Bed was a little soft for my tastes, but comfortable with all of the coverings. I had difficulty preparing my contacts with no flat surface near the sink. Shelving was dangerously placed over the toilet and carpet/furniture needed a good cleaning. September 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is how you treat your members? We were very disappointed in the hotel! The front desk staff and the valet were the only good points. The floor for SPG members was DIRTY!! Wallpaper peeling in bathroom, paint chipped everywhere, cups on tables, no flowers no decoration. Upon entering room, within 5 min hotel staff came into room unannounced saying they thought they left something...Lounge key did not work, response of attendant."Mine does not work either" how about sorry for the inconvenience, let me try and fix this, care for a beverage anything!!! VERY LOUD HALLWAYS AT 2am, overall condition of hotel was worn. WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN, AM reluctant to stay at a Sheraton again. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable, Quiet, Practically Perfect! We booked a stay at this Sheraton at the last minute and being gun-shy about our previous night's stay in a different Sheraton (horrible experience), we weren't sure what to expect. The Sheraton Read House surpassed our expectations in every way. The room was clean and very comfortable, especially the bed. I experienced the best night's sleep I ever have at a hotel (thank you!!!). The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered room service as we got in late and the food and service both were excellent. The valet staff was equally as friendly and I can only say that we are 100% plus pleased with this Sheraton. We picked this location at random due to our change in travel plans but we will be returning to Chattanooga in the future and will most definitely be staying at the Read House again. Well done Sheraton! Thank you for restoring my faith in your brand name. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location We booked the hotel for it's convenience to downtown Chattanooga. We were planning to enjoy the tourist attractions downtown. This is an elegant old hotel that has all the amenities of a new hotel. The suite was beautiful, functional and comfortable. It was a great place to stay and explore downtown Chattanooga. August 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Elevator Shaft This hotel was charming but "we got the shaft"! We were in a room right next to the elevator shaft and we hardly slept all night! Not only could we hear the elevators we could feel them go by. Tried to get moved and nothing was available. I guess gold preferred status doesn't mean much to this hotel. Also when I complained at check out, I got an "I'm sorry sir". Didn't mean much!!! Read House won't be seeing us again soon! PS They are listed as a "Pet Friendly" hotel. For $50 they should be friendly. I think that is outragious! January 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great staff As you will no doubt see from other reviews this property is a bit long in the tooth. However, the counter to this was exceptional staff. In particular & very unexpected was an experience we had in valet with "Timmy". Wow...Starwood needs to clone this guy and move him in to training other properties. As a freq. hotel guest I have never encountered such a friendly valet team. They gave great advice on local spots and Timmy's recommendation of "Tony's" was so spot on we ate there two nights in a row. This property is a gem due to its historic nature and history in the city so I hope some serious renovations are on tap for the future. The room furniture is a bit dirty and the overall finishes are quite dated. So if you're looking for luxe this is not your place. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff It was our 30th anniversary and my boss had phoned ahead and arranged dinner for us at Porters. The resturant was very busy when she called so she spoke with April at the front desk. When we arrived we were greeted with Happy Anniversary from April. When we got to the resturant we were again greeted acknowledging our anniversary. When the meal was done and it was excellent our server was aware the meal was paid for so it all went off without a hitch. It was a great 2 days at the hotel. Thanks everyone. April 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Upon check-in we found the rooms had no refrigerator as was confirmed when booked, and they found one old one to bring up. Shower Curtain was 8-10 inches short, allowing water to flood the floor during every shower, caulking missing in several area's of the tile, toilet flapper leaked water, bathroom door didn't close properly, requested extra towels and weren't left, we had to go to front desk to retrieve them ourselves, Sunday morning the Club Level breakfast room was advertised to be open early, and when we went, it had a sign stating they wouldn't be opening early after all! Then Sunday night we arrive back, to find 10-12 cars blocking the drive thru, drop off, and no valet to be found! When I question the front desk, he said they had issues, and when I question why I was paying for valet service if it's an issue, the manager Jim G. came out, and stated I could park on the street as the parking was free till 8 a.m. the next morning! Keep in mind I paid for the service, and now I'm on the street, and have to get up, and put money in the meter by 8 or face getting a ticket! By far the worst stay I've ever had with a Sheraton property! Room 1010 September 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by EllenB Very disappointed with my stay at this hotel. Bar/restaurant staff extremely rude. Turn on lights to close while we were still having a drink at 10:30pm. Yelled across bar at someone who brought a drink in instead of just asking them not to. Sheets would not stay on bed. Several friends never had there rooms cleaned. One friend had the maid come in and clean while she was still dressing. Was invited to a private continental breakfast at the Chestnut room on Sunday and the hostess was embarrassed by the lack of food. Small serving dishes of fruit, dinner sized plate of breads and coffee cakes, and a small bowl with ice of 4oz. Cups of yogurt. Not adequate for the number of people. The valet staff was great and did an excellent job of managing a very large crowd trying to leave at the same time for a wedding May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic, But That Is All The Read House is a nice historic hotel in Chattanooga with stories going back to the civil war. Its great there is a Starbucks downstairs. However, when I checked in they hadn't cleaned our rooms, and this was the afternoon of my wedding rehearsal. My out of town guests need to get to their rooms and get dressed. Also, we made boxes for all of our guests and provided multiple lists to the front desk staff. They never gave our boxes to any of our guests. Money down the drain. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Haunted This hotel is great but don't go if you are a reluctant medium. Spirits will hit you as soon as you enter the building and they will not leave you alone. I had to leave early. I know some people like having this ability but I do not and just had to get out. I did not know this place was known for being haunted before I stayed or I would have never booked a room. My review is for the hotel if you are not bothered by this sort of thing. Excellent place & great staff. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great people. It doesn't matter how nice the hotel is if you don't have good people. The Read House has BOTH. EXCELLENT ACCOMODATIONS AND PEOPLE. From the VALET PARKING , THE FRONT DESK, HOUSEKEEPING AND THE FOLKS IN PORTER'S. Just to name a few, Spencer and April at the desk. Cory, Sarah,, Emily, and Aeron in Porters. I'm sure I have left someone out. Everyone is so great. We have stayed here 5 times in the last 10 years and we will be back. April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service, and a great room too I arrived at the Sheraton Read House very late, without a reservation. I was accommodated quickly and efficiently by the front desk agent, and was upgraded without asking because of my Preferrred Member status. In addition, I required a late checkout because of a business commitment. As the meeting I was involved in ran long, I went beyond my late checkout time. The staff accommodated me wonderfully and allowed me to use the room until the meeting had completed. Everyone I encountered was cheerful, friendly, and courteous. Now, for the room. Wow. I was upgraded to a very nice suite, with a Jacuzzi (which I sadly didn't get the chance to use), and plenty of room to stretch out and take care of the things I needed to deal with while there. I also noted the proximity to many activities and restaurants in the area. Without a doubt, if I must return to Chattanooga for business, or if I choose to visit for leisure, I will definitely book my room at the Read House. Thanks for an excellent, albeit short, stay. September 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 I didn't get the rooms I reserved I reserved three club level deluxe rooms through the hotels website. When I arrived my reservation showed a preferred rate traditional room. We were put in the older section of the hotel. The walls had water damage and the heaters were coated in nasty dust. The hotel was freezing in the hallways. When I informed the front desk that the reservation was wrong, the attendant said she could not help me and charged me extra for the club level access. I called the 800# and they could not help me because I did not call my reservation in, and I was already checked in. I emailed the General Manager and never received a response. I am disappointed in lack of assistance I received. Especially as I had booked three rooms. The staff that we encountered were pleasant, I just wish we could have resolved this issue prior to our leaving the hotel. March 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great historical landmark with old world charm Although we had a rough start with reservation mix-ups, the hotel staff made things right. The rooms are nice, but don't expect any room in the single queen. There is a bed and that takes up the whole room. The double queen on the other had is very spacious. I was able to use my corporate discount which saved a lot on the nightly stay, but for the regular price they charge per night, you would think there would be a microwave and or a small fridge. The Pool and Spa had chemical issues, so we didn't use them. The smell of chlorine was so overwhelming that you could smell it as soon as you entered the building. It is a simple fix, balance the chemicals! Even with all the ups and downs, I recommend staying here. By the way, supposedly the hotel is haunted by a young lady. Look up Sheraton Read House haunted in Google. Very interesting. January 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super beds and great service We stayed over the weekend before Christmas in the new wing on the 3rd floor. The hotel was dog friendly. The work out facility is well equipped. All the machines have TV and ipod compatible connections and they provide complimentary headsets for them. The indoor pool was the perfect temperature and has a waterfall from the wall that gives a great back massage. And who can resist the heavenly bed. Great stay overall. The hotel is conveniently located but since it is in the heart of downtown has a few sketchy characters hanging around outside. Fortunately, we used the valet and I took the dog when walking in the area. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast. Since it was the weekend, they had a buffet. The food was what you'd expect, nothing out of the ordinary. They also have an in-house Starbucks. Overall the stay was outstanding for a quick getaway. December 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to SPG Standards I was driving from STL to ATL with my 2 kids and we always try to stay at starwood properties. My husband book this hotel for me knowing that we had driving for 7 hours and need to make sure we were in a nice quality hotel. The staff when we checked in was friendly we went to our room and I was surprised to see the quality of the hotel, hallways and room. The hallways had chipped painted by all the baseboards and looked very dirty. When we got the room, the bathtub was so chipped up we decided against showering. It truly was unacceptable. If I was not traveling by myself I would have changed hotels but I did not have the energy with the the kids. After we went out for dinner and came back to the room, I noticed that the comforter was dirty (had food stains on it) and by the dress the carpet had a big red spot stain (that was trying to be covered up but the dresser). It was late so we did not leave but we got out of the hotel as soon as we could in the am. The room and hotel needs a GOOD cleaning and we will not be returning to that property. My parents are starwood owners and we are big proponents of starwood and have stayed at my properties across the country. This is not the quality we used to. July 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by outdated rooms loved the hotel however the bed sheets were unsightly, wrinkled and old. the rooms were dark and water stains on ceilings. the pool felt unsafe due to doors open to downtown streets. the staff was great however pool complains (open doors were unheated due to lack of a dehumidifier in the pool). the main area is fabulous however one does not live there, like to see fixing the rooms and get bedsheets that one likes to sleep on. December 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unusually disappointing stay This was not the first time my husband and I had stayed at the Read House. Our previous experience was wonderful. However, this year we arrived and had to wait to check in, our bathtub didn't look like it had been cleaned, there was a used washcloth still hanging from the shower rod, and we never were able to get a cool enough temperature to sleep well. Fortunately we were there for a soccer tournament and did not spend much time in room, so we did not complain. I hope very much this is not the usual experience. September 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Big Dissapointment I have had the pleasure of staying in Sheraton's in a couple parts of the world. Usually very satisfied. This stay I was not. 1. The room felt damp. The carpet felt damp, the sheets felt damp, furnishings felt damp. No matter how much I increased the Air Conditioning it blew out dampish cold air. 2. The sheets had a strange smell, could have been because they were damp. 3. The bathroom had mold and rusting fixtures. 4. The outside noise was extremely loud at night, could here people laughing. I will not recommend this hotel at all until they do a remodel of the rooms. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hole in Carpeting - Mold in Shower For an 'elite' property that charged an 'elite' price, I was shocked to find the carpet had a large hole in it. The mold stains in the shower were a big diappointment and spoke to a lack of attention to maintenance and quality. I certainly overpayed for the "Sheraton" experience. I will return to my usual brand of hotel where I stay in well maintained facilities and enjoy free breakfast in addition to a nice room. December 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired & Worn Upon arrival, we were given a room on the 6th floor, however the front desk staff never told us that we needed to take a special elevator to get to our room -- we were late for a wedding and had to ask two other staff members how to get to our room. Once inside, the room was a huge disappointment. Although the size was large, the room was very used -- bedding appeared worn out and the bathroom was awful -- stained and chipped tub, dirty wallpaper and the worst shower we've ever had. I appreciate water conservation, but this was ridiculous -- the water trickled out like an RV. Mattress on the bed was worn out, with springs that squeaked loudly with every move. The room lacked an in-room frig, local magazines, etc. Drinks in the bar/restaurant were overpriced. The best part of the hotel was the lobby. For historical luxury we will try a B&B in the art district -- only wish we had chosen one first. October 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Interesting Directions to the hotel were excellent. However, information about restaurants outside the hotel was very poor. Starbucks was extremely disappointing--I am accustomed to a good assortment of food items at Starbucks and this was definitely not true of this Starbucks. September 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Check In we came for a convention and waited 2 1/2 hrs to get a room, not what I expected from a Sheraton. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience The hotel is beautiful and the beds are very comfortable. I was especially pleased bu the way the staff seems to be very attentive. We received great service from Melissa and Ashley at the front desk. I also like that the valet gets you your vehicle in a quick manner. I have stayed in hotels that valet before, adn have had to wait 15+ minutes to get my car. January 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! The room and staff were more than we expected. There was a problem with our toilet running, and a maintenance man was there within 10 minutes to repair it. He was curieous and efficient. We called and asked if we could get a cot around 10 p.m. and it was delivered to our room within 10 minutes, also. We will definitely stay here whenever we are in Chattanooga. February 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>