The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 464 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Are you kidding me for this price? The city of Chattanooga needs help improve this place, it is in the center of the downtown and is an embarrassment to a great city that we visit often.This place is beautiful when you enter the door, but the rest of it was a huge let down. The rooms are dark due to poor lighting, the walls and carpeting are very dated and have had some very poor repairs and upkeep done on the them, the carpet was worn out in the 80's and I'm not sure why it hasn't been changed. Then we went down to the "best steak house in Chattanooga" stood at the hostess stand for 10 minutes and couldn't get waited on. Stay somewhere else!!! July 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommend but be forewarned SPG means nothing here! Nice historic hotel in a nice location because of the city provided shuttle. Business people close to the Convention Center. Families close enough to aquarium etc. because of the free shuttle. Has a swimming pool. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel Great hotel the staff is very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was the rooms don't come with a microwave or a refigerator. Overall had a great time and will come back to visit. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel and Great Staff This hotel is a classic from the moment you arrive in the lobby to the comfort of the beds.....everything was outstanding. We have stayed here many times and have always been impressed and would never stay anywhere else when visiting Chattanooga. The staff tended to all of our needs like we were the only ones there. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Impressed We were traveling as a family had some issues with our stay... 1. One of the rooms we were assigned was occupied when we entered. 2. We got 2 rooms for our family and they were on 2 different floors and separate wings of the hotel. 3. The complimentary water cost $2.50. 4. The taxes on the room seemed rather high. We have stayed at other Starwood hotels and been very impressed with our rooms, rates and service. We were not impressed at all with this hotel and will NOT be returning. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs updating We were very disappointed in the cleanliness and the quality of the facilities. There were large stains on the furniture, the mattress was very worn, and the sheets were so stretched that they did not stay in place. It was so uncomfortable that we only stayed one night instead of the two that we were scheduled to stay. July 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I read the reviews and experienced the problems I read most of the reviews from the past 2 years on this site and couldn't believe what I was reading. I could not imagine a Sheraton hotel being reviewed so poorly, so I had to see for myself. It was worse. The problems started as soon as I tried to check in, the line was quite long, no special check-in for Gold or higher members and only 2 staff working, and one disappeared. When I finally made it to the front, they had my reservation but it was not correct. I had reserved a package including bkft and tix to the aquarium, but there was no record of it. The front desk clerk said he could not help so I asked to speak to the manager. I explained the situation to him and he asked where I made the reservation. I replied the SPG website and he stated that the rates on that site are usually incorrect and that my package would cost more. When I showed him my written reservation he finally agreed. Securing brft vouchers was not a problem but he stated he did not have the tix for the aquarium but would have them for me tomorrow morning (want to guess whether they were there the next day?). This process took over 20 minutes. When I arrived at my room, it was an upgraded junior suite but had a king sized bed. I specifically asked for 2 queens. So back to the front desk I go and wait on line again. Room corrected. The room was large but tired, as many other reviewers had stated. There were many problems in the bathroom, way too many to mention here. Suffice it to say way below the standards I am accustomed to at a Sheraton. The bed was comfortable, but the a/c was not working right. Luckily it was a cool evening. The next morning bkft was a disaster. There was only 2 tables occupied and it took over 5 minutes for the one waiter to come over. Our bkft took over 10 minutes to arrive, (we only ordered eggs) and the order was incorrect. When I asked for jelly for my toast the waiter brought honey. When I asked again he took almost 5 minutes to bring it and then threw a few plastic packages on the table. There were more problems but you probably get the idea by now. At checkout, the line was long with only one employee working. And yes, you were correct, there were no aquarium tix, but the desk clerk said she would immediately call the aquarium and have them waiting for me at the will-call (want to guess whether they were there?) You guessed right, they weren't so I called the hotel and after a lengthy conversation to both me and to management at the aquarium I finally received the tix. It certainly wasn't easy. How management at the Sheraton allows this poor service to continue is beyond me, and why Corporate doesn't intervene is also a mystery. Perhaps someone at Sheraton can shed some light on this for me. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed My most recent stay was not as good as my prior stay at this property. First, I was not offerred any type of Gold status arrival gift when I checked in. When I got to my floor, the wallpaper was bubbling and peeling off the walls in some spots. In my room, there was spilled red wine staining the wall next to the bed that wasn't cleaned up from a prior guest. The ceiling of the bathroom had spots of black and pink mold on the ceiling. The food was good. However, I had issues with coffee both days I ordered room service. The first arrived with no spoon, so I ended up stirring my cofrfee with my fork. The second day, my coffee arrived at room temperature. Overall, probably the best hotel in Chattanooga but still disappointing compared to other Sheraton properties. July 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Read House Needs Massive Upgrades Bed mattress sagged causing back pain the following morning; bathroom fixtures were rusted, my Gold level status was not recognized at check in, and management decided to forego access to the Club lounge in lieu of breakfast coupons in the main dining room. This is a much slower process for business travelers & costs more for the hotel with people like me who only want coffee, yogurt and a piece of fruit! July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Read House The Read House was clean and he staff was accommodating. The room was larger than most but bathroom much smaller than most. $15 a day parking! That can be avoided by parking on the street (free after 4:30/before 8:00 am as well as weekends). Meters were never hard to find during the day. Restaurant is pricey. Starbucks in building is nice. Great location, walking distance or short trolley ride to many attractions and restaurants. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel History and architecture beautiful - Responsive staff - Comfortable beds and great shower! July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This hotel was a wonderful place to stay. I had the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel room! The room was clean. The valet staff were wonderful! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice downtown hotel We celebrated our anniversary at the Read House. Overall, it was very nice - our room was a little warm/air conditioning didn't work all that well. It would be nice if the Club Level rooms had robes for us to use. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to SPG Standards I was driving from STL to ATL with my 2 kids and we always try to stay at starwood properties. My husband book this hotel for me knowing that we had driving for 7 hours and need to make sure we were in a nice quality hotel. The staff when we checked in was friendly we went to our room and I was surprised to see the quality of the hotel, hallways and room. The hallways had chipped painted by all the baseboards and looked very dirty. When we got the room, the bathtub was so chipped up we decided against showering. It truly was unacceptable. If I was not traveling by myself I would have changed hotels but I did not have the energy with the the kids. After we went out for dinner and came back to the room, I noticed that the comforter was dirty (had food stains on it) and by the dress the carpet had a big red spot stain (that was trying to be covered up but the dresser). It was late so we did not leave but we got out of the hotel as soon as we could in the am. The room and hotel needs a GOOD cleaning and we will not be returning to that property. My parents are starwood owners and we are big proponents of starwood and have stayed at my properties across the country. This is not the quality we used to. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very, very nice The staff was helpful from the moment we pulled into the garage. We had two dogs with us and the front desk gave us two rolls of doggie bags when we checked in. The bed was spectacular and we all had a great night sleep. The hotel it self is beautiful and very well decorated. We will be staying at the Sheraton from now on! July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel and location I read all the reviews before our stay and was a little worried. I have to say Sheraton did not let us down. The Hotel is historic so don't expect it to be new. We had 2 rooms for 3 nights and they were clean and the beds are the best. Pool was closed the first 2 days but they gave us a pass to use another hotels pool. It opened the last day and the kids got to swim. Location is great and we felt safe walking downtown at night. We will vacation here again! July 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lobby is the only area up toSheraton quality The lobby and main floor is the only updated area and clean. The room levels are a disgrace to the Sheraton name. The carpets in the hallways are thread bare, rooms and bathrooms need a complete overhaul. our bathtub had a brown dirt ring and the soap scum was so thick I wrote my name with my fingernail hoping that would force them to clean it. the building itself is beautiful and the lobby is beautiful and modern. Be sure to ASK what elevator to use. We carried our luggage up the elevator in the lobby and found out that we needed to use the one all the way down another hallway. Front desk seemed surprised that we didn't know!? July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worthy of the Sheraton name Front desk staff inattentive and inexperienced: Both keys stopped working one full day short of departure, apparently coded incorrectly. While my wife and two kids (one 2 years and the other 3 months) stood in the hallway I went to the lobby where there was a line 5 parties deep at the front desk. Stood at the Gold/Platinum SPG line while the two front desk people processed the other line without interruption; meanwhile - still standing at the Gold/Platinum line - called hotel main number, and hit "0" - call rang and rang with no answer until it went back to the main menu. This was repeated three times. Since Gold/Platinum line is ignored at this hotel, I moved myself over the the main line - wife and kids still standing in the hallway upstairs - and finally made my way through the line. Me: "Do you just ignore the Gold/Platinum line?" Reply: "We usually close that one down at night." Me: "Since there was no Closed sign I stood there for quite awhile." Reply: "Oh. Sorry." On checkout day, ironically, the Valet Parking guy was the only one who asked how my stay was. The front desk did not care enough to ask during checkout. Maintenance: The mattress was worn out. You can hear the springs making 'spring' noises and the bed was extremely lumpy on one side. The absolute worst "Sweet Sleeper" bed ever. And Sheraton's beds are my absolute favorite. Better even than the ones at "the competitor" - the one with the dial (reluctant to post the actual chain name for fear of having my review suppressed). The door to the room did not close on its own; when we first arrived the door was already open. And to top it all off - there was no hot water on the last morning. My wife, myself, and my son all took cold showers that morning. Kudos to ONLY: The in-house Starbucks - best licensed Starbucks I have ever seen; and Valet Parking - very good service. (And it's interesting that the Parking people appear to be a contracted company that's separate from the hotel-managed people.) Avoid this hotel. Many other options in the vicinity. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Chuck2300 Nice Hotel. Old historic building with great charm. The building has an interesting history which was fun to research. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic Charm If you're interested in staying in a historic venue, this is the place for you. The rooms showed some wear, but the bed was comfortable. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to SPG / Sheraton standards As a member of the highest level (Platinum) of the SPG loyalty program, I have some experience with SPG properties....not impressed. Poor reception staff experience, below standard room condition, food quality poor and club lounge was shameful. We tried the lounge two out of three mornings...both days the food was gone, dirty tables and floor, dishes stacked up, had to ask the attendant to make more coffee but then no cups to drink it....not even paper cups. After twenty minutes still no food. Housekeeping walked into our room at 8:30 am while I was in bathroom and my wife sitting in chair. Housekeeper said "I was just checking the room"....no apology. My wife said she never heard a knock. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappy Experience many problems with room r July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel with Great Food and Rooms Enjoyed my stay in the mini suite. Nice beds and pull out was perfect for my stay. Ate at the Steak house and had a wonderful hamburger with onion rings. Service was great. Would stay again. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accomodating Being an SPG member I was upgraded to a great room. The staff from valet, to check in, to room service, to housekeeping was extremely accommodating. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful visit with out of state family As usual, it was an elite experience. My step daughter and family told us where they were staying on the way back through. We told them what a treat they were in for as it is our go-to place in Chattanooga. Needless to say all was enjoyed. Wish the silver ballroom was unlocked as it is one of the gems of the gorgeous property. June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Hotel was great except for the A/C My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a romantic getaway. We booked a suite and paid for the romance package which offered champagne and chocolate cover fruit. It was very nice all the way around. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The only complaint that I have was the A/C unit in the room was very noisy I made a high pitched squeaking noise he entire time it was running. The only thing that made it stop was shutting the vent off completely. June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's just ok Outside of location, there's nothing really exciting about this hotel. The building/rooms seem pretty dated and I struggled with the AC (either too hot or too cold) all during my stay. If my training class wasn't being held here, I would have stayed somewhere else. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by historic hotel historic hotel with all the features and comforts of a new nondescript hotel . character and class. June 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by conference The minute I step in the hotel it was terrible. My room was dirty and the sheets on the bed had stains. My check-in process was not great. We had mailed in a corporate check to pay for the room and we were still had our credit card hold for the full amount of our stay.The first excuse I got was we had an employees call out. They believe no expectation needs to be met because we are short hand. June 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by How Embarassing!!!! I used My Starwood Points to Gift this room to my Brother and his two preteen daughters. He called me to let me know that the room was a disaster. The toilet leaked all over the bathroom floor, it was difficult if not impossible to flush, and the room was Dirty! The girls didn't want to sit on the furniture, much less sleep on the bed, but it was very late and they had been on the road for 11 hours. they decided not to ask to be moved, What gauls me though is this, My Sister, also stayed there, AND PAID for the same kind of Run Down, Tired excuse of a Hotel room!!! This Hotel needs to be removed from the Sheraton chain. I will be copying and pasting this review to Trip Advisor if someone from Sheraton doesn't contact me in person, in the near future. June 23, 2014
  • 2015-03-31T17:49:09.276-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_464, tr_464
  • loc_en_US, sid_1474, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 next>>