The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 469 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb staff at an great old hotel in need of some renovations I've stayed here a couple times as it is the only SPG property in Chattanooga. It is one of those grand old hotels that was once likely really nice but where renovations/updates have slipped a little behind it's age - nothing major but it is evident, especially with the pool area, small bathrooms, etc. The rooms are great if a little small (again, it is an older building so rooms are smaller). The staff is superb and try very hard in general and to make up for anything lacking about the hotel. Extremely convenient location with full Starbucks and restaurant downstairs and the free Chattanooga electric bus stopping directly outside (fast and free trip to the Aquarium, Museums, etc). January 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Improvement The hotel is a bit dated which is completely understandable. However, reasonable maintenance should have been considered for the guest rooms. The showerhead was very worn, rusty, and seemed to be on its last leg. The shower faucets were coming out of the wall and was difficult to turn off. I felt uncomfortable using the shower because I felt like I was about to break it. As for attention from staff, this could have been better as well. I drove from New Jersey to Chatanooga and was exhausted when I arrived. I ordered room service (blackened salmon and a chicken dish), confirmed my order with them, and had them repeat my order back to me just to recieve a call back ten minuets later informing me they were out of chicken. I ordered lamb and confirmed my order with them again. The meal arrived (a bit cold) and the salmon dish was not good at all. The salmon had no flavor, was not blackened, and the rice was extremely hard. I was exhausted from the drive at this point and didn't want to wait for another dish. At checkout, I would have liked to let the desk staff know about my experiences, but wasn't asked "how was your stay?" It would be helpful if your staff genuinely cared about their guests. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am always impressed Once again, I had a pleasant visit while spending the evening at the Chattanooga Sheraton Read. The service is always wonderful, and my accommodations are always very comfortable. January 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel This is a lovely hotel with a great location. The room was nice but the woodwork in our bathroom was really in disrepair. Also, I wasn't told when I checked in I'd be billed an addt'l $90 for incidentals that I never received -- it was a big surprise when I got the bill. Hopefully it will be removed! Also, a couple other things...the front desk clerks clothing were personal items that were dirty and unkempt. It's a beautiful hotel, but they don't represent the prices or the ambience. My tv wasn't working properly and after 1 hour waiting for someone to come up to fix it, I called another friend in the hotel who was able to help me. No one followed up to see if they came up - I had to call down down and say forget it. Although I'd recommend the hotel because of the location to downtown, it did have some "shabby" issues. January 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Elevator Shaft This hotel was charming but "we got the shaft"! We were in a room right next to the elevator shaft and we hardly slept all night! Not only could we hear the elevators we could feel them go by. Tried to get moved and nothing was available. I guess gold preferred status doesn't mean much to this hotel. Also when I complained at check out, I got an "I'm sorry sir". Didn't mean much!!! Read House won't be seeing us again soon! PS They are listed as a "Pet Friendly" hotel. For $50 they should be friendly. I think that is outragious! January 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experience - internet does not work - rooms are stinky - bathrooms were not clean - staff courtesy could improve - $15 for Valet parking was expensive December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location in downtown Chattanooga Close to many area attractions. Historical building with great charm. Staff friendly and efficient. Most helpful in changing our room from the 5th floor to a 3rd floor when discovering my grandson's fear of elevators. Even allowed our use of a back staircase for quicker access to our room. December 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Faded Glory This glorious old hotel is fading. The lobby is beautiful but the hallways and rooms are in major need of repair - peeling wallpaper, water stains, frayed carpet, and just plain dirty. I've known this hotel for 50 years and it hurts my heart to see it falling apart. Please save this glorious place. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Professionally run We stay here several times a year visiting our daughter in a local college. It is a unique property with professional staff and great service. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super beds and great service We stayed over the weekend before Christmas in the new wing on the 3rd floor. The hotel was dog friendly. The work out facility is well equipped. All the machines have TV and ipod compatible connections and they provide complimentary headsets for them. The indoor pool was the perfect temperature and has a waterfall from the wall that gives a great back massage. And who can resist the heavenly bed. Great stay overall. The hotel is conveniently located but since it is in the heart of downtown has a few sketchy characters hanging around outside. Fortunately, we used the valet and I took the dog when walking in the area. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast. Since it was the weekend, they had a buffet. The food was what you'd expect, nothing out of the ordinary. They also have an in-house Starbucks. Overall the stay was outstanding for a quick getaway. December 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by outdated rooms loved the hotel however the bed sheets were unsightly, wrinkled and old. the rooms were dark and water stains on ceilings. the pool felt unsafe due to doors open to downtown streets. the staff was great however pool complains (open doors were unheated due to lack of a dehumidifier in the pool). the main area is fabulous however one does not live there, like to see fixing the rooms and get bedsheets that one likes to sleep on. December 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sad about the pool We stopped at your hotel on our way home from driving from Disney World. The main reason we stopped was for the pool. When we got to the pool the back door was open. Mind you it was December and was about 40. The pool area was pretty but was full of steam and condensation dripping down from the celling since the door was open. We could see our breath. We only stayed in the pool for about 20 minutes because it was so cold in the room and the heated pool was not heated. Very sad since we wanted to relax in the pool but really did not get too! We had dinner there too. The food was overpriced but good. Although my husband had a crab cake and had a large chunk of knuckle shell that he found when he bit down. Luckily he did not break his tooth. At least we got compensation for both incidences. Free crab cake and 2 desserts for the crab cake and a $10 Starbucks gift card for the pool incident. I would have been happier with a reduced rate on the hotel...$10 didn't even give my whole family something from Starbucks. The bed was the best part of the stay very comfortable! The hotel overall needs repair. We saw so many things around the hotel that need repair. Would not go back! December 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Edees We loved our stay at the Read House. The room was clean, the beds are heavenly and the staff was so friendly and went out of their way to give excellent service. The history of the Read House is fascinating and the workmanship in the lobby is beautiful. December 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Discomfort... This was my second time staying at this particular Sheraton Hotel. The first time was awful. The heat in the hotel did not work so they brought a small heater to the room. Needless to say it took forever to warm up the room and after so long the heater just kept cutting off. I was there to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday which she was very uncomfortable with this room. The TV was in an ackward position in which you had to turn to the side in order to view the TV. To hear her complain throughout our stay was very dishearting considering the amount i paid for this hotel. The second time i visited chattanooga, I thought things would be better, but I was wrong. I arrived at 1am, checked in just fine and arrived to my room just to find out the heat did not work again. The furnace made buzzing noise and was blowing cold air. I called the front desk which they did switch rooms. This room was better and the TV was not in an ackward position unlike the last room. However, when I took a shower, the shower curtain was dirty. The next morning received no room service so I had to call the front desk to ask for service. I am grateful the guy who cleaned the room came promptly. The list goes on. I am highly not satisfied with this hotel and will not be staying at Sheraton Read House Hotel again. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. December 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Charming Old Hotel but needs renovation The staff were very nice at the Sheraton Read House in Chattanooga. The whole hotel needs a renovation. We were on the Club Level--large room but you can see its been nearly a decade since the last renovation (old curtains/furniture seen better days) and since it is an old building understand that the a/c & heating system as well as plumbing system are antiquated. E.G. our room on the 9th floor only had heat--too much heat and if you tried to simply lower the temp it would not get cool at all plus there was a "smell" to the air so had to sleep with no air on at all--you can't open the windows either--wallpaper peeling off and the bathroom had some mold behind the toilet. Plus found a few hairs here and there that weren't ours! Also had about 5-6 Lady Bugs in the room (so how clean is it?) The Club Level which also included breakfast and snacks in the evening also needs some attention (grapes you would not touch nor eat, drinks in the chiller that never got cold,--only had butter knives to eat breakfast food every morning- etc)--While we did not leave thinking it was a horrible place; have stayed at places like that before. Simply put upon arrival asked for a late check out on Sunday so we could relax in but instead realized it was better to just leave early instead. I hope when they do the renovation they try to keep the "feel" of the Read House---the bones of the building are great just needs some modern upgrading. It is centrally located I will say; again the staff are all very helpful and hardworking. The Sheraton brand beds are very comfortable! Porters Steakhouse inside the building is also very good. Nice place for drinks/lunch/ dinner. The Starbucks inside the lobby was a nice convenience as well. I hope that corporate Sheraton (SPG) reads these reviews and realizes its up to them to make this "historic landmark" worth staying at and not just doing a walk through the lobby tour and see how beautiful the building use to be. Chattanooga now has some cute B&Bs inside the city that have more modern conveniences---so they need to realize that the Read House being an historic building is not enough any longer. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Old Hotel, But ... The Hotel's first impression was warm and inviting, but the rooms where disappointing. The detail in cleaning the room was lacking. The location is great! November 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst hotel i ever stayed at!!!!! THE WORST OVERALL. WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!!! November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful, Stately Hotel We really enjoyed our stay at the Read House. The ambience was wonderful. The staff was attentive and helpful. The room was nicely kept and comfortable. The bathroom was small but serviceable. That's the price you pay for the building's historic grandeur. Overall, our stay was a great experience. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historical and classy I have two children attending UT Chattanooga. This hotel is a great place to stay overnight and have them come down for a nice quiet dinner or just hang out at the Starbucks located on the first floor. This hotel is convientent to the downtown activities but far enough away to miss all the tourist. The free electric trolley goes right by the front door, so leave your car parked at the hotel and hop on the trolley and ride down to the riverfront. November 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Left much to be desired The facility is located conveniently near the wedding venue, but the building was in an obvious state of disrepair. The floor I stayed on had a leak in the hallway undergoing repair. There were many poorly made repairs made in the room and hallway areas. It was obvious the hotel had seen a hard life. I would have overlooked this but the shower curtain in our bathroom was soiled as well. I believe the management needs to do an overhaul of the building and improve staff training. "No Reservations" by Todd Gothberg would be a great place to start! Nothing about my stay made this become my destination for trips to Chattanooga in the future! November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Operational Issues Loved the facility and staff. The issues were with some of the "how to's". Twice prior to check out housekeeping tried to enter, we had even been granted a late check out? On Check in my card obviously did not swipe properly and twice I was reminded that I needed to correct this. Once was enough, and I had commited to do when checking out. November 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall not worth high marks We checked into this hotel for a weekend anniversary get away. Upon arrival it looks extremely impressive, really beautiful place & the valet was a plus. When got to the counter to check in, we were greeted but felt rushed. And not recognized as preferred members. The desk rep initially gave us incorrect information about our stay & gave us NO information about the hotel. We had no clue where anything was & what services were available. Once we got to our room, a King Suite, it was clean & spacious but had no fridge. Which we needed because we had a 2 night stay. We tried to call the front desk, but the option on our room phone didn't work. We went back 2 the front desk & asked about the fridge/microwave. We were told we could have fridge brought up but there is only 1 microwave& it's in the club lounge. Which still nobody told us where this lounge was. After we settled in our room & the fridge was brought up, we went out to get ice & the machine was broken. So far this is the 1st day & we have 1 more day to go. Unfriendly staff & broken equipment. We'll see what day 2 brings. Right now this is our least favorite star wood hotel. November 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvements Needs improvements. Heating/air conditioning unit needs to be replaced. When the heat was on, it felt like the unit sucked all the oxygen out of the air. When the cool air was on; the carpet, bedding, and our clothes felt damp. The upholstered chair was coming apart at the seams. However, the beds were very comfortable. November 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by rooms need improvement The lobby of this hotel is beautiful, which increased my expectations when I walked in. The public facilities and staff were fine. However, my room was dingy and lacked sufficient electrical outlets. The bathroom was a particular problem- the hot water was not steady in either the sink or the shower, and the shower floor, although clean, was- I'll use that word again- dingy. November 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Traveler 101 I was disappointed in the hotel's overall state/condition. I grew up in this town and this hotel was one if not the best hotel in Chattanooga, TN. November 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff issues My wife had issues one night with her menstrual cycle, unfortunately making a small mess of the bed. Before leaving, we left a note of apology to the staff, exiting for the day and evening. Upon our late night return, the bed was still a mess, and my wife was forced to sleep in these dirty sheets. This she was not happy about. I contacted the staff n the morning, letting them know my displeasure. November 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Location The hotel was very classic and historic. The staff was wonderful. The club room was small and uncomfortable. The room was comfortable except for the batroom which had no room for toiletry items. Bathroom needed towel racks and hooks. I ended up using a closet hanger to hang my towel. November 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do not accept room 607! We have stayed at Read House several times. This visit, my husband and I were put in room 607. It is extremely small (half the size of other rooms we have stayed in), and is located right next to the elevators. We listened to the creaking of elevator cables and the banging of elevator doors all night. When I asked to be moved to another room, they said all other rooms were filled, and it was the type of room we had reserved. The two other couples we were with booked the same type of room and paid the same as we did, and their rooms were much larger and quieter. Moral of the story is IF YOU STAY HERE, DO NOT ACCEPT ROOM 607 OR YOU WILL NEVER GET OUT!!! (This may be true for the room ending with 07 on every floor) November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the $ I'm not sure if it's usually this expensive, but for a very small room it was over $200 for a Saturday night during the weekend of the rowing competition, which we were not there to attend. We were in town to take our engagement photos. We were required to do valet parking for $15 (included in the price above), & felt obligated to tip every time we needed to use our car during our stay. We were also looking forward to using the pool, but we found that it was closed for maintenance, which the lady at the front desk neglected to mention to us when we called to find out where the pool was located. The beds were really comfy, but the shower didn't drain well and the water pressure was light. We were also in the room right next to the elevator so we would hear it all through the night and the early morning. We were looking for a hotel that was walking distance to the aquarium area of downtown and it was the only hotel that close with vacancy when we booked. It was about an 8-block walk to that area, which was pretty convenient. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful place to stay for the Regatta The coffee pot was broken but the staff brought me a pot of coffee which I preferred anyway. all of the staff were very friendly and helpful November 4, 2013
  • 2015-04-27T19:06:35.770-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_469, tr_469
  • loc_en_US, sid_1474, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 17 next>>