The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff exceptional! Our stay was very nice, the front desk staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant. I requested a room away from the elevator and Ashley checked until she could find something and she ended up finding a room that was a suite. We were very happy with the upgrade and especially pleased with our treatment from Ashley. Everything else was fine, with the exception of breakfast, which my husband and friends said it wasn't all tasty. October 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay My wife and I stayed at the Read House one Friday this summer. We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't anything great. We got a very good deal compared to other nice hotels in the area. The staff was very helpful. The location in downtown Chattanooga was great. The lobby area was beautiful. The room was nice but nothing special. It seemed clean overall, but my wife noticed some fruit loops partially under some of the furniture, and I stepped on what appeared to be a chicken bone, which I suppose is not easily vacuumed. Nothing was wrong with the bathroom, but I expected it to be nicer. Overall we did enjoy our stay. June 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst hotel i ever stayed at!!!!! THE WORST OVERALL. WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!!! November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally Very Good All aspects of this hotel were fine with the exception of the quality of breakfast and afternoon food in the Club Floor lounge. In our Starwood experience, the Club Floor lounge serves a nice balance of hot and cold breakfast items and serves them well. Food items and serving items were not sufficiently present to meet the need of the guests present. No tea was available for us, and had to be brought up by the person in charge. Overall, the choices of food as well as the silverware, glasses, cups, etc. were minimal. There was plenty of fresh fruit however. Also, no complimentary wine or beer were available in the afternoon - unlike almost all of our previous Starwood experience. April 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location downtown the staff was ill informed, regarding directing guests to their room location. with two towers, it would of been very useful if the front desk would of shared with the guest which elevators to use to arrive at the correct floor. Since all elevators were different. October 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel customer service is not at all satisfactory Our toilet overflowed 3 times within a 6 hour period. A very angry acting man came to the room and brought a "snake" (tool) to unclog it the first 2 times. The 3rd time a nicer man came and unclogged it with a plunger. It overflowed again afterward, and each time the water went through to the carpet and floors outside the bathroom, which can cause extensive damage. When I called the 3rd time, when we were about to check out in the early afternoon, they offered us a free breakfast!!!! lol, which they can of course write off in taxes. And no wonder there is a strange odor in the hall and rooms....nuff said! February 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Foul smelling bathrooms Our bathroom smelled foul. Front desk sent someone up with a spray bottle...he immediately said you need to be moved to a new room this is coming from under the floor. Front desk called and said it will be a while we are full. At Midnight they told us we have a new room and brought us the keys to our smelly room instead of keys to the new room. We called back, they said sorry go to the new room and we will meet you with keys. We did and stood in the hallway for 15 min before the keys arrived. By 12:30am we got to the new room. They did discount the room by $30 and give us breakfast vouchers. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb staff at an great old hotel in need of some renovations I've stayed here a couple times as it is the only SPG property in Chattanooga. It is one of those grand old hotels that was once likely really nice but where renovations/updates have slipped a little behind it's age - nothing major but it is evident, especially with the pool area, small bathrooms, etc. The rooms are great if a little small (again, it is an older building so rooms are smaller). The staff is superb and try very hard in general and to make up for anything lacking about the hotel. Extremely convenient location with full Starbucks and restaurant downstairs and the free Chattanooga electric bus stopping directly outside (fast and free trip to the Aquarium, Museums, etc). January 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Big Dissapointment I have had the pleasure of staying in Sheraton's in a couple parts of the world. Usually very satisfied. This stay I was not. 1. The room felt damp. The carpet felt damp, the sheets felt damp, furnishings felt damp. No matter how much I increased the Air Conditioning it blew out dampish cold air. 2. The sheets had a strange smell, could have been because they were damp. 3. The bathroom had mold and rusting fixtures. 4. The outside noise was extremely loud at night, could here people laughing. I will not recommend this hotel at all until they do a remodel of the rooms. September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to SPG / Sheraton standards As a member of the highest level (Platinum) of the SPG loyalty program, I have some experience with SPG properties....not impressed. Poor reception staff experience, below standard room condition, food quality poor and club lounge was shameful. We tried the lounge two out of three mornings...both days the food was gone, dirty tables and floor, dishes stacked up, had to ask the attendant to make more coffee but then no cups to drink it....not even paper cups. After twenty minutes still no food. Housekeeping walked into our room at 8:30 am while I was in bathroom and my wife sitting in chair. Housekeeper said "I was just checking the room"....no apology. My wife said she never heard a knock. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk Staff is very helpful Hotel has the old charm that you want when visiting Chattanooga. My friends and I stayed there because of the ghostly stories. Last year we captured a shadow figure picture in the 3rd floor hallway. Intrigued we stayed on the 3rd floor this time. We did not capture any shadows but we did leave our room to go to dinner and when we returned we got a surprise. Our clean, unused towels were in the toilet and the bathroom trash can was knocked over. Ghostly or not, we don't know. But it was enough to validate the stories we have heard. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel is beautiful. I will stay again! June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Wife and I stayed in Chattanooga for business/pleasure...The Read House is one of those hotels that have a "Rat Pack" ambience....It has a very large mahogany foyer and a smell of coffee and antiques. The facility was built in 1925, but is as clean as a pin. The hotel is in excellent condition. Overall, service was EXCELLENT, ( we are Gold SPG). The staff all went above and beyond to help. Breakfast was excellent, room was spacious and clean and bed was soft as a feather...Parking was easy and location could not be better for downtown nightlife...We loved it. I wished I could stay here for a week. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Home Away From Home My son lives in Chattanooga, TN, so when I visit him, I always stay at the Seraton Read House. It really is my "Home away from home." I can always depend on the Seraton from the beginning to the end of my trip. Beginning with courteous boys who park my car and bring my luggage to the wonderful staff who remember me to my extra comfortable room (no pillows as comfortable anywhere) to the hot, strong shower to the club room to the restaurant downstairs with white linen table cloths and wonderful food to the free Internet to the spotless, impressive lobby. I'm already looking forward to my next visit! September 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff issues My wife had issues one night with her menstrual cycle, unfortunately making a small mess of the bed. Before leaving, we left a note of apology to the staff, exiting for the day and evening. Upon our late night return, the bed was still a mess, and my wife was forced to sleep in these dirty sheets. This she was not happy about. I contacted the staff n the morning, letting them know my displeasure. November 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by horrible visit Unfortunately my wife and I had a horrible experience. Our room was par but it was very very noisy. we heard every door close and every siren throughout the day. On the last evening (3:42am) someone pulled the fire alarm and of course we were down on the streets until the event was over. But the worst part of the whole trip was the knocking of my door 4 times from 9:14 to 1:01 by various people asking me if I was leaving. For some reason they did not talk to the front desk for I asked for a 2pm late check out. Needless to say we received very little sleep that night and the following morning. April 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Loved the historic character We loved the historic character of the hotel. The staff seemed a little unsure and confused about the details and amenities of the hotel. Our reservation was slightly screwed up by rep we booked with and it completely threw off the onsite desk clerk. They have a major key issue with the swipe card keys. We had to go back to the desk several times to get keys that would work in our door. October 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I have stayed at this property many times in the past. It's never been exemplary in any manner but my most recent stay was ridiculously unacceptable. First, as I checked into the hotel, there was only ONE desk clerk when there was a line of 4 people waiting. Then the clerk made me stand and wait to be checked in while she dealt with an airline representative who was dropping off luggage for a guest. Once I was finally checked in and I went upstairs to my room, I was shocked to find the room not cleaned. There were empty soda, beer and liquor boxes and other trash left in a closet. Also left in the closet was a foil pan with fried chicken and baked beans, obviously left over from a party. The next morning, upon pulling back the shower curtain, there was hair in the floor of the shower stall. Long, dark, quite obvious if the housekeeping staff had bothered to look in the shower to see if it needed cleaning. September 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs a Renovation I wanted to like this old hotel, but for a number of reasons I cannot recommend it. Firstly, I arrived late evening and was surprised that to find for a central city hotel, there are surprisingly few amenities nearby. The hotel restaurant and bar closed at midnight, and the only food & drink within walking distance was a dinner at another run down motel across the street, the hotel had no store for convenience items, food or drink, other than a table laid out with a selection of candy bars in the lobby, Secondly, the property is in quite rough shape, the carpets were extremely worn down, the elevator old and made many creaking noises, and the windows in the club room were clouded glass that one could not even look out to see the view. The jr Suite that I had smelled extremely musty and I had to dig under the bed to turn on the power strip in order to get the clock to work. One of the two phones in the room was dead and the bathtub was yellow stained. Lastly, the stack of newspapers in the club room were from the day before and when pointed out to a staff member, while he did offer to go find me a current one, he said that they often forget to bring fresh papers up there. All in all, the staff was pleasant, but this didn't make up for the shortfallings of this hotel. Properties like this put the Sheraton reputation on the line. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous stay I could not have been happier with my stay at the Sheraton Read House! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the club King room I stayed in was perfect. The bed was so comfortable, and the amenities were noticeable and appreciated. The front desk clerk (a very nice young man) upgraded me to a club room. I hope the management reads these reviews and recognizes their excellent staff that was working on 8/15/13 (around 10pm) -- they have won me over to staying at the Sheraton for my business trips to Chattanooga. This hotel far exceeds their competition in the Chattanooga market. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our plus and minus experience We had two rooms. Arrived after dark. Rooms were very nice. Ordered room service. Excellent. Great sleep. Somewhat disappointed in the club level breakfast. Only problem I had was the housekeeping people knocking on the door to see if we were checking out. They valso did this to out daughter and granddaughter. Daughter was in the shower, and granddaughter who has some medical and very real security issues was asleep. This also happened a week before, Oct 9-10 at the Sheraton Atlanta Perimeter North. Only this time they did not stop at just asking my daughtr if we were checking out, they persisted and wanted to know know "when" and "how soon". Very rude and unprofessional. When I reported it I was assured this was not routine procedure. When I told the front desk I was probably going to cancel our rservations for the return trip she begged me not to do so. I have yet to receive a request for a review of that stay. First time ever I have never receive a request for review. I realize we forgot to put out the do not disturb sign, but whatever happened to the front desk notifying the housekeeping staff that someone had checked out, rather than the staff intruding in on the guest and being rude? October 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great up until.... Friend booked two rooms for the weekend, somehow he got charged for both rooms after I personally went down to the lobby to check out and told them I needed MY room charged to a different card. I gave them my card, watched them swipe it and they gave me my receipt. It turns out the wrong credit card was charged. I contacted the hotel and was told a manager was not available at the time but would return my call. The manager never returned the call to attempt to explain how this error could of happened. Never called to apologize the platinum member whose card got erroneously charged twice, this kind of customer service is why I wouldn't return to this particular hotel and also advise all my friends not to. September 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unusually disappointing stay This was not the first time my husband and I had stayed at the Read House. Our previous experience was wonderful. However, this year we arrived and had to wait to check in, our bathtub didn't look like it had been cleaned, there was a used washcloth still hanging from the shower rod, and we never were able to get a cool enough temperature to sleep well. Fortunately we were there for a soccer tournament and did not spend much time in room, so we did not complain. I hope very much this is not the usual experience. September 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing I booked three of us at this hotel for a business trip. The lobby area is lovely and full of historic charm and the staff was friendly and welcoming. Then we got to our rooms. The entire wall behind the shower surround in my room was rotting out and there was significant water damage in the ceiling above the bed. I believe that a drip of water actually hit me in the head during the night. Then, in the morning one of my co-workers reported that the sheets on her bed were not clean and she had had to call for new sheets prior to going to bed. The report from our third party was that they had unsightly stains on the cloth headboard and the ceiling in his bath was rotten. We had all hoped for a better experience. July 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by One night lay-over on a long driving trip from Tampa, FL to Chicago, IL We targeted Chattanooga as a one night lay-over as we drove from Tampa, FL to Chicao, IL. The Hotel was really great. The Valet recognized we had driven all day with two sick kids. They helped load up the lugage cart, and voulenteered to park the car nearby, in case we needed an emergency trip to the emergency room. The club floor was great, oodly it closed for breakfast at 9:00 AM which seems to be an hour earlier than most. The room was great, large and comforatble. We had a King with a pull out sofa, the sheets seemed to be wrinkled but clean. Unfortunately we had to hit the road early so we did not have time to see the sights or enjoy to gym or pool We would definitely stay there again, next trip to FL. January 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for the price We were definitely happy with the location and the price we paid. The double rooms were overbooked so we were put in a Jr. Suite. There were four of us, two adults and two children but only a king size bed. I spoke to the staff and they brought a roll away bed. They couldn't have been any more helpful. I wasn't thrilled with the cleanliness or the space in the bathroom. That's my only complaint. It was very awkward for four people trying to shower and get ready with absolutely no counter space. We also went to the pool the first night. My daughter absolutely loved it and it's very nice. My only complaint here is that my eyes were on fire afterward from the strong chlorine fumes. Fantastic fitness center though! June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Love the Sheraton We enjoyed our stay, and the clerk was very helpful. Did want to comment though, about our check in. I reserved a Jr. suite. to make sure we had a really nice room. When we arrived. Late arrival 7:30 PM. Clerk said our King size room was not available. Tried to give us a reg. room with 2 Queen beds, not a Jr. suite. I had to ask him, and let him know that we spent more points to get this. He was very nice, and did upgrade us. My issue is not with him. This has happened to us 3 times before. ?, we are beginning to believe that we are considered 2nd class using our points? April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable, Quiet, Practically Perfect! We booked a stay at this Sheraton at the last minute and being gun-shy about our previous night's stay in a different Sheraton (horrible experience), we weren't sure what to expect. The Sheraton Read House surpassed our expectations in every way. The room was clean and very comfortable, especially the bed. I experienced the best night's sleep I ever have at a hotel (thank you!!!). The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered room service as we got in late and the food and service both were excellent. The valet staff was equally as friendly and I can only say that we are 100% plus pleased with this Sheraton. We picked this location at random due to our change in travel plans but we will be returning to Chattanooga in the future and will most definitely be staying at the Read House again. Well done Sheraton! Thank you for restoring my faith in your brand name. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grand Old Hotel Stayed 1 night for a medical conference. Got upgraded to a junior suite (thank you!). Very comfortable hotel -- old but very comfortable. Quiet. Had room service breakfast and dinner, both excellent. The French fries for dinner were some of the best I've had in years, and breakfast was hot and very nicely prepared. This is an excellent place to stay and even accepts dogs < 60 pounds. October 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will not return The Read House has great historic architecture, but the temperature of the building was uncomfortably warm, the lock on my room door was broken, the pool was closed for repairs our entire stay, the group I was with had varying amounts of holds placed on their credit/debit cards that were more than what was told would be placed, the catered meal provided to our business group took an hour before the food came and the menu was preselected for a set number of people, so shouldn't have been a delay. I would not recommend the hotel and do not plan to return. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A must stay in Chattanooga, TN! This beautifully preserved/renovated hotel is a pleasure to visit. From the moment you arrive in the stunning lobby the staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Rooms and beds are very clean and comfortable. Good coffee and tea in the room is a huge bonus. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was not available when I visited due to an event outside of the hotel's control. My first question to the kind front desk attendant was about pool hours. She politely let me know the pool was closed and offered a room upgrade. That made things all better! Stay at this hotel... December 17, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 next>>