The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 456 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will not return The Read House has great historic architecture, but the temperature of the building was uncomfortably warm, the lock on my room door was broken, the pool was closed for repairs our entire stay, the group I was with had varying amounts of holds placed on their credit/debit cards that were more than what was told would be placed, the catered meal provided to our business group took an hour before the food came and the menu was preselected for a set number of people, so shouldn't have been a delay. I would not recommend the hotel and do not plan to return. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Love the Sheraton We enjoyed our stay, and the clerk was very helpful. Did want to comment though, about our check in. I reserved a Jr. suite. to make sure we had a really nice room. When we arrived. Late arrival 7:30 PM. Clerk said our King size room was not available. Tried to give us a reg. room with 2 Queen beds, not a Jr. suite. I had to ask him, and let him know that we spent more points to get this. He was very nice, and did upgrade us. My issue is not with him. This has happened to us 3 times before. ?, we are beginning to believe that we are considered 2nd class using our points? April 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but be careful Double check your room when you enter! My daughter opened one of the waters (apparently you get one free) but the other was half empty. I threw it away without reporting the opened water so was charged $2.50. Now that may seem trivial to most, but I don't like feeling as though I am being manipulated. We already went the green route (by the way it means your room isn't cleaned/straightened at all), but what about one water per day? Not my usual experience at a Sheraton property. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed My most recent stay was not as good as my prior stay at this property. First, I was not offerred any type of Gold status arrival gift when I checked in. When I got to my floor, the wallpaper was bubbling and peeling off the walls in some spots. In my room, there was spilled red wine staining the wall next to the bed that wasn't cleaned up from a prior guest. The ceiling of the bathroom had spots of black and pink mold on the ceiling. The food was good. However, I had issues with coffee both days I ordered room service. The first arrived with no spoon, so I ended up stirring my cofrfee with my fork. The second day, my coffee arrived at room temperature. Overall, probably the best hotel in Chattanooga but still disappointing compared to other Sheraton properties. July 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A must stay in Chattanooga, TN! This beautifully preserved/renovated hotel is a pleasure to visit. From the moment you arrive in the stunning lobby the staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Rooms and beds are very clean and comfortable. Good coffee and tea in the room is a huge bonus. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was not available when I visited due to an event outside of the hotel's control. My first question to the kind front desk attendant was about pool hours. She politely let me know the pool was closed and offered a room upgrade. That made things all better! Stay at this hotel... December 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Initial impression great We checked in to our room on 3/16/2014 room 335. We killed a huge water bug crawling on floor made me uncomfortable but wasn't going to complain, then I find a second huge water bug crawling on my clothes in my open suite case. I then went to front desk I was moved to room 333. The room had crumbs on floor a cracker laying on the floor looks like it hasn't been clean well in sometime. My husband Robin went back to front desk so we moved to 231. Im sure the hotel is doing all it can for the bugs it's an old building but the housekeeping staff is clearly needing supervision. All 3 rooms appeared to be cleaned by a toddler. I hate to complain, but highly suggest an inspection on the cleanliness after housekeeping has been there. March 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Old Hotel, But ... The Hotel's first impression was warm and inviting, but the rooms where disappointing. The detail in cleaning the room was lacking. The location is great! November 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality lacking I had heard good things about the Sheraton hotels but my stay was below expectation. The room did not come with a fridge, the bed was not on the foundation, it rocked back and forth, the AC unit did not distribute air across the room, it pointed in the direction of the curtain and was not adjustable to below 60 degrees. The pipes were all visible under the sink, the toilet was missing bolts. The only "good" thing about this hotel is that the hotel is on the the shuttle route. We did not use the pool or fitness center but I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. August 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some work.... Hotel is in a great location and the lobby is very pretty. But the hotel needs lots of work.... The chair in our room had 7 stains (my son counted), the bath tub was cracked with the finish peeling off. The AC wasn't working - thankfully we called at 11 pm and someone came up quickly and was careful not to wake sleeping kids. The pool area was falling apart - really bad shape. Ate breakfast at Porters downstairs - got 2 cups of cold coffee. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and helpful (but had stains on his shirt). Beds were comfortable. May 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Traveler 101 I was disappointed in the hotel's overall state/condition. I grew up in this town and this hotel was one if not the best hotel in Chattanooga, TN. November 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed in cleanliness of room and hallways. Once we had time to relax in our room, I noticed stains on the comforter. When we pulled the comforter back, blood was on the sheets. We contacted the front desk. The staff came quickly to change the sheets and comforter. The last night we stayed in the hotel, one of the hotel towels provided had blood stains on it as well. The hotel is due for a major renovation. The tub is all scraped up and the curtains and wallpaper are dirty. I was not impressed by the hotel and felt it was very dirty and unsanitary. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not recommend this place I love the spg brand and would always recommend their hotels except for this one in Chatanooga, TN. The hotel is OLD, the carpets are musty, the AC does not cool the system is old and the elevators are so slow that we had to take the stairs several times even after a tiring afternoon!! September 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sad about the pool We stopped at your hotel on our way home from driving from Disney World. The main reason we stopped was for the pool. When we got to the pool the back door was open. Mind you it was December and was about 40. The pool area was pretty but was full of steam and condensation dripping down from the celling since the door was open. We could see our breath. We only stayed in the pool for about 20 minutes because it was so cold in the room and the heated pool was not heated. Very sad since we wanted to relax in the pool but really did not get too! We had dinner there too. The food was overpriced but good. Although my husband had a crab cake and had a large chunk of knuckle shell that he found when he bit down. Luckily he did not break his tooth. At least we got compensation for both incidences. Free crab cake and 2 desserts for the crab cake and a $10 Starbucks gift card for the pool incident. I would have been happier with a reduced rate on the hotel...$10 didn't even give my whole family something from Starbucks. The bed was the best part of the stay very comfortable! The hotel overall needs repair. We saw so many things around the hotel that need repair. Would not go back! December 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lost its luster A number of small things added up to my never wanting to stay here again. First of all, we were forced to wait in the lobby for 90 minutes for a room to become available - well past the stated check-in time. This is totally unacceptable. Then we discovered that one of our favorite amenities, the jacuzzi, has been removed. Then for a late-night craving, we decided to get dessert from Porter's, only to find that the two items we wanted from their menu were no longer available. For the price we paid, this experience was not up to par, and we will not be back. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Room....Bad expierence this stay...... As a former employee many moons ago at the St. Regis ( Starwood property) in Aspen, CO. I always have known the quality of your customer service etc. My first time at the Read House, I was thrilled with the ambiance upon arrival. Greeted by George at the front desk was a delight.....We did however have SEVERAL issues I'd rather speak to someone about personally, because I do know somestimes things just roll down hill. I give this Hotel a Great review....We just had unfortunate issues on this particular stay. Feel free to contact me if you really want to discuss our issues. My conf # was C265602065. I also had overcharge on my bill I just saw today. I will call tomorrow to discuss. Thank you for your concerns in this matter. V.W. June 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incompetent management and staff The worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. September 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Neat Historic Hotel This was my second time staying at the Read House hotel. The Valet are great and the staff is always friendly and professional. It is an old historic hotel and therefore the bathrooms are a bit small but I enjoyed the uniqueness of the rooms. The beds are comfortable and everything was very clean. I must say the club lounge is very bad. Both times I have been there the evening offerings were stale and soggy and looked like the same food was put out every night. Breakfast is simple and mostly pre packaged. I will stay again but not bother with the lounge September 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice People, Nice Hotel, Room Clarity Needed The Read House is a lovely hotel with an extremely friendly and helpful staff. On that basis alone, I will be back. But the hotel needs to better classify its rooms, and be able to provide the business traveler with the in-room facilties necessary to business travel. I was told given an "upgrade" to a tiny "king" room with a big bed stuffed into it. There was little usable desk space (a marble counter that in my colleague's room across the hall was the coffee bar). Such a room should not be called a "king" and should not be given to business travelers. June 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Decent but Musty I like the overall style and ambiance of the hotel. However, the musty smell is a big turnoff. It permeates the lobby, halls and rooms of this hotel. I would advise that this issue is looked into and remediation started quickly. September 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Impressed We were traveling as a family had some issues with our stay... 1. One of the rooms we were assigned was occupied when we entered. 2. We got 2 rooms for our family and they were on 2 different floors and separate wings of the hotel. 3. The complimentary water cost $2.50. 4. The taxes on the room seemed rather high. We have stayed at other Starwood hotels and been very impressed with our rooms, rates and service. We were not impressed at all with this hotel and will NOT be returning. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service The service in this hotel is superior. The valet patiently helped me unload my car (and BOY did I have it packed). Then, two days later, another valet patiently helped me repack everything. The front desk folks were super helpful. The location is great. The only negative is the super rude staff working at Starbucks and the fact that they don't open until 7 on weekends if you need to get on the road early (although this is likely a leased area and out of Starwood's control). Room is very large and clean. Bed must have been very new - best one I've had in years. Charming old hotel without feeling "old". Good location for summer concerts on Fridays 1 block away. OH - their heated pool - the ROOM is heated - the pool was a bit on the cool side..... July 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic hotel in convenient location Great example of classic hotel with modern comfort. Conveniently located to business and touris. September 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charming, but needs shuttle, etc. Great old historic hotel that has been modernized and preserved well, featuring some top-of-the-line comforts, esp. in rooms. Biggest problems are lack of airport shuttle, lack of vending machines on floors (mine didn't have an ice machine) and a front desk that seemed a little understaffed. Very pleasant and nice people, though. Great workout facility. No do-it-yourself laundry machines. Expensive to have hotel do it. Starbucks next door, but no good convenience stores ...one nearby is more of a liquor store. Only one PC and printer. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by West Wing is Not For Me Unpon check-in I was informed that I was not booked for the remodeled East wing (had requested East in reservation). I stay at the Read House roughly 20 times a year so I knew what to expect but I was tired from a long day of travel so I did not seek out another hotel. The air conditioner rattled continuously and could not maintain the room at a comfortable temperature. The west rooms are cramped for working in. I'm not staying here again in the west wing. I have a choice and as a SPG member and business traveller, I expect better. July 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to expectations This Sheraton Hotel failed to meet my expectations for the chain and the price I paid. The bed was very uncomfortable for both my wife and me. It sagged enough that both of us had sore backs after each night we slept in it. The bathroom had not been renovated in recent time. The handrail in the shower stall was not well connected and when I put my hand on it the upper end came out of the wall. The screws were exposed, with flakes of plaster. The chrome on fixtures in the bath were starting to lose their shine. Also, the outlet in the bathroom was loose and hanging with about a 1/4" gap from the wall. It worked, but you had to put your hand on the faceplate to disconnect a plug. Finally, the room lacked towel racks; I found myself hanging my towel over door knobs or on a hanger from the closet. I considered these problems unacceptable for the price of the room. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Hotel in Chattanooga We recently stayed at the Sheraton Read House Hotel in Chattanooga and had a very pleasant experience. The highlights have to be Nicole who checked us in at the front desk, location and sheer size of our room. Nicole was amazing, she made a great first impression coming into the hotel and made us feel very welcome. The lobby and building itself are pretty grand, love older hotels. The room was really large, though the bathroom was tiny and didn't have any counter space to put our overnight cases on. Very comfortable bed and walking distance to many downtown attractions such as the Aquarium, Tivoli Theatre, Chattanooga Choo Choo, bars and restaurants. The free green/electric shuttle also picks up right outside the hotel and was a great way to tour the city. March 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by We have loved it in the past... This was our fourth time staying here for our Anniversary and although we have really loved our stays in the past this time was not as great. We have always stayed in the older part of the hotel in the past but this time we were in the newer part and the room had one of those under the window air units which was very noisy and our room was extremely hot and uncomfortable and I really could not sleep which was very disappointing since I have always looked forward to staying here and having a wonderful and comfortable experience. August 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel--very clean The room was very nice & clean. The only complaint that I had was the air conditioning. I had the air set on 60 degrees but it was still not very cool. It made it difficult to sleep. Ther room was not unbearable, just not as cool as I would have liked it. There was an A/C vent in the bathroom but no air was coming out of it. This made the room very hot & muggy when taking a shower. I called the front desk but nothing was done to correct the problem. It could have been a problem that was not easily fixed. Noone told me anything. July 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room was Hot This hotel is very beautiful. But, I was very disappointed in the fact that our room would not cool down. It was very hot outside we had gone out for dinner and when we returned our room was still very warm(75degrees). I called the front desk and was told they had someone that had just checked their main unit and to just give it a bit. Well, at 9:30 at night you really dont have alot of time to let it cool down before you go to bed. So, we had a very warm night cause A/C NEVER cooled off and never quit running the enitre night. July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel, fantastic service My wife and I took a weekend trip from Altanta to Chattanooga and had the privilege of staying here. From the moment we checked in, we were greeted by some of the happiest employees I've ever seen in a hotel (Savannah and Anne) and the experience only got better from there. Our room was delightful and well exceeded our expectations. Breakfast at Porters was equally as nice and enjoyable. Even the valet drivers were friendly and cheerful. If only every hotel experience could be as memorable and fun as this one. Great job. January 14, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 16 next>>