The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 460 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great staff As you will no doubt see from other reviews this property is a bit long in the tooth. However, the counter to this was exceptional staff. In particular & very unexpected was an experience we had in valet with "Timmy". Wow...Starwood needs to clone this guy and move him in to training other properties. As a freq. hotel guest I have never encountered such a friendly valet team. They gave great advice on local spots and Timmy's recommendation of "Tony's" was so spot on we ate there two nights in a row. This property is a gem due to its historic nature and history in the city so I hope some serious renovations are on tap for the future. The room furniture is a bit dirty and the overall finishes are quite dated. So if you're looking for luxe this is not your place. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff It was our 30th anniversary and my boss had phoned ahead and arranged dinner for us at Porters. The resturant was very busy when she called so she spoke with April at the front desk. When we arrived we were greeted with Happy Anniversary from April. When we got to the resturant we were again greeted acknowledging our anniversary. When the meal was done and it was excellent our server was aware the meal was paid for so it all went off without a hitch. It was a great 2 days at the hotel. Thanks everyone. April 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by EllenB Very disappointed with my stay at this hotel. Bar/restaurant staff extremely rude. Turn on lights to close while we were still having a drink at 10:30pm. Yelled across bar at someone who brought a drink in instead of just asking them not to. Sheets would not stay on bed. Several friends never had there rooms cleaned. One friend had the maid come in and clean while she was still dressing. Was invited to a private continental breakfast at the Chestnut room on Sunday and the hostess was embarrassed by the lack of food. Small serving dishes of fruit, dinner sized plate of breads and coffee cakes, and a small bowl with ice of 4oz. Cups of yogurt. Not adequate for the number of people. The valet staff was great and did an excellent job of managing a very large crowd trying to leave at the same time for a wedding May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic, But That Is All The Read House is a nice historic hotel in Chattanooga with stories going back to the civil war. Its great there is a Starbucks downstairs. However, when I checked in they hadn't cleaned our rooms, and this was the afternoon of my wedding rehearsal. My out of town guests need to get to their rooms and get dressed. Also, we made boxes for all of our guests and provided multiple lists to the front desk staff. They never gave our boxes to any of our guests. Money down the drain. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Haunted This hotel is great but don't go if you are a reluctant medium. Spirits will hit you as soon as you enter the building and they will not leave you alone. I had to leave early. I know some people like having this ability but I do not and just had to get out. I did not know this place was known for being haunted before I stayed or I would have never booked a room. My review is for the hotel if you are not bothered by this sort of thing. Excellent place & great staff. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 I didn't get the rooms I reserved I reserved three club level deluxe rooms through the hotels website. When I arrived my reservation showed a preferred rate traditional room. We were put in the older section of the hotel. The walls had water damage and the heaters were coated in nasty dust. The hotel was freezing in the hallways. When I informed the front desk that the reservation was wrong, the attendant said she could not help me and charged me extra for the club level access. I called the 800# and they could not help me because I did not call my reservation in, and I was already checked in. I emailed the General Manager and never received a response. I am disappointed in lack of assistance I received. Especially as I had booked three rooms. The staff that we encountered were pleasant, I just wish we could have resolved this issue prior to our leaving the hotel. March 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great historical landmark with old world charm Although we had a rough start with reservation mix-ups, the hotel staff made things right. The rooms are nice, but don't expect any room in the single queen. There is a bed and that takes up the whole room. The double queen on the other had is very spacious. I was able to use my corporate discount which saved a lot on the nightly stay, but for the regular price they charge per night, you would think there would be a microwave and or a small fridge. The Pool and Spa had chemical issues, so we didn't use them. The smell of chlorine was so overwhelming that you could smell it as soon as you entered the building. It is a simple fix, balance the chemicals! Even with all the ups and downs, I recommend staying here. By the way, supposedly the hotel is haunted by a young lady. Look up Sheraton Read House haunted in Google. Very interesting. January 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Very much enjoyed my stay! Special thank you to the front desk staff woman at the front desk on 8/20/2014. Both women were very kind and accommodating. Shared information about the history of the hotel and the area. As a platinum member I was upgraded to an wonderful suite. Enjoyed the hotel and look forward to visiting again! Dominic August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great people. It doesn't matter how nice the hotel is if you don't have good people. The Read House has BOTH. EXCELLENT ACCOMODATIONS AND PEOPLE. From the VALET PARKING , THE FRONT DESK, HOUSEKEEPING AND THE FOLKS IN PORTER'S. Just to name a few, Spencer and April at the desk. Cory, Sarah,, Emily, and Aeron in Porters. I'm sure I have left someone out. Everyone is so great. We have stayed here 5 times in the last 10 years and we will be back. April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super beds and great service We stayed over the weekend before Christmas in the new wing on the 3rd floor. The hotel was dog friendly. The work out facility is well equipped. All the machines have TV and ipod compatible connections and they provide complimentary headsets for them. The indoor pool was the perfect temperature and has a waterfall from the wall that gives a great back massage. And who can resist the heavenly bed. Great stay overall. The hotel is conveniently located but since it is in the heart of downtown has a few sketchy characters hanging around outside. Fortunately, we used the valet and I took the dog when walking in the area. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast. Since it was the weekend, they had a buffet. The food was what you'd expect, nothing out of the ordinary. They also have an in-house Starbucks. Overall the stay was outstanding for a quick getaway. December 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by outdated rooms loved the hotel however the bed sheets were unsightly, wrinkled and old. the rooms were dark and water stains on ceilings. the pool felt unsafe due to doors open to downtown streets. the staff was great however pool complains (open doors were unheated due to lack of a dehumidifier in the pool). the main area is fabulous however one does not live there, like to see fixing the rooms and get bedsheets that one likes to sleep on. December 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hole in Carpeting - Mold in Shower For an 'elite' property that charged an 'elite' price, I was shocked to find the carpet had a large hole in it. The mold stains in the shower were a big diappointment and spoke to a lack of attention to maintenance and quality. I certainly overpayed for the "Sheraton" experience. I will return to my usual brand of hotel where I stay in well maintained facilities and enjoy free breakfast in addition to a nice room. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel - A real value! We made a last minute reservation due to being unhappy at another hotel. Staff was excellent upon arrival. The room was perfectly comfortable and very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to stay in downtown Chattanooga. I would definitely come back! August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location We booked the hotel for it's convenience to downtown Chattanooga. We were planning to enjoy the tourist attractions downtown. This is an elegant old hotel that has all the amenities of a new hotel. The suite was beautiful, functional and comfortable. It was a great place to stay and explore downtown Chattanooga. August 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired & Worn Upon arrival, we were given a room on the 6th floor, however the front desk staff never told us that we needed to take a special elevator to get to our room -- we were late for a wedding and had to ask two other staff members how to get to our room. Once inside, the room was a huge disappointment. Although the size was large, the room was very used -- bedding appeared worn out and the bathroom was awful -- stained and chipped tub, dirty wallpaper and the worst shower we've ever had. I appreciate water conservation, but this was ridiculous -- the water trickled out like an RV. Mattress on the bed was worn out, with springs that squeaked loudly with every move. The room lacked an in-room frig, local magazines, etc. Drinks in the bar/restaurant were overpriced. The best part of the hotel was the lobby. For historical luxury we will try a B&B in the art district -- only wish we had chosen one first. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! The room and staff were more than we expected. There was a problem with our toilet running, and a maintenance man was there within 10 minutes to repair it. He was curieous and efficient. We called and asked if we could get a cot around 10 p.m. and it was delivered to our room within 10 minutes, also. We will definitely stay here whenever we are in Chattanooga. February 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience The hotel is beautiful and the beds are very comfortable. I was especially pleased bu the way the staff seems to be very attentive. We received great service from Melissa and Ashley at the front desk. I also like that the valet gets you your vehicle in a quick manner. I have stayed in hotels that valet before, adn have had to wait 15+ minutes to get my car. January 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Guest The room air conditioner was not working. Moved 4 times in a 30 min span. The last room the air conditioner still didn't work. Called for someone to come and see about it. No one showed up! Room was not cleaned even when we returned at 10pm. When the staff was contacted they only sent up clean towels and did not offer to have the room cleaned. April 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvements Needs improvements. Heating/air conditioning unit needs to be replaced. When the heat was on, it felt like the unit sucked all the oxygen out of the air. When the cool air was on; the carpet, bedding, and our clothes felt damp. The upholstered chair was coming apart at the seams. However, the beds were very comfortable. November 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Have stayed in better I wasn't impressed. The rooms were tiny, bathrooms even smaller. Its inconvenient to to between rooms because you have to go down then walk across the lobby, hop on another elevator and go back up. I had the worst time booking my reservation and it didn't even get right until I complained at check out. September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great historic hotel Great ambiance and history with modern amenities. Only one suggestion: Keep water available in lobby through 9PM instead of just the few short hours available-most of us were tourists coming in from a long day out and about in Chattanooga. The fruit water would have been lovely to have all day. March 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Discomfort... This was my second time staying at this particular Sheraton Hotel. The first time was awful. The heat in the hotel did not work so they brought a small heater to the room. Needless to say it took forever to warm up the room and after so long the heater just kept cutting off. I was there to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday which she was very uncomfortable with this room. The TV was in an ackward position in which you had to turn to the side in order to view the TV. To hear her complain throughout our stay was very dishearting considering the amount i paid for this hotel. The second time i visited chattanooga, I thought things would be better, but I was wrong. I arrived at 1am, checked in just fine and arrived to my room just to find out the heat did not work again. The furnace made buzzing noise and was blowing cold air. I called the front desk which they did switch rooms. This room was better and the TV was not in an ackward position unlike the last room. However, when I took a shower, the shower curtain was dirty. The next morning received no room service so I had to call the front desk to ask for service. I am grateful the guy who cleaned the room came promptly. The list goes on. I am highly not satisfied with this hotel and will not be staying at Sheraton Read House Hotel again. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Time I just stayed at the hotel over the 4 th , the weather was awful but my room and stay at the hotel was super. George at the front desk saw to it that I had a great room to make up for the weather. He saw to it that I had a map of the city and told me of ways to get around and things to see. Thanks July 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is how you treat your members? We were very disappointed in the hotel! The front desk staff and the valet were the only good points. The floor for SPG members was DIRTY!! Wallpaper peeling in bathroom, paint chipped everywhere, cups on tables, no flowers no decoration. Upon entering room, within 5 min hotel staff came into room unannounced saying they thought they left something...Lounge key did not work, response of attendant."Mine does not work either" how about sorry for the inconvenience, let me try and fix this, care for a beverage anything!!! VERY LOUD HALLWAYS AT 2am, overall condition of hotel was worn. WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN, AM reluctant to stay at a Sheraton again. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Personal Staff was excellent, location was awesome to downtown area and events within walking distance. Dis-appointed in overall condition of hotel. Understand it is an old hotel, but keeping it maintained to Sheraton standards that I am accustomed to has not been maintained. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Stay I travel a lot for business and pleasure. The Read House Sheraton was by far my favourite hotel I have stayed at in recent memory. The room was great, the hotel had a certain charm about it and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Thank you April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes business travel feel like a vacation I have stayed at Read House more times than I can recall and it is always a pleasure. Food is first rate and the staff will strive to meet your request with speed and a smile. Looking forward to my next trip to the Read House. May 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to SPG Standards I was driving from STL to ATL with my 2 kids and we always try to stay at starwood properties. My husband book this hotel for me knowing that we had driving for 7 hours and need to make sure we were in a nice quality hotel. The staff when we checked in was friendly we went to our room and I was surprised to see the quality of the hotel, hallways and room. The hallways had chipped painted by all the baseboards and looked very dirty. When we got the room, the bathtub was so chipped up we decided against showering. It truly was unacceptable. If I was not traveling by myself I would have changed hotels but I did not have the energy with the the kids. After we went out for dinner and came back to the room, I noticed that the comforter was dirty (had food stains on it) and by the dress the carpet had a big red spot stain (that was trying to be covered up but the dresser). It was late so we did not leave but we got out of the hotel as soon as we could in the am. The room and hotel needs a GOOD cleaning and we will not be returning to that property. My parents are starwood owners and we are big proponents of starwood and have stayed at my properties across the country. This is not the quality we used to. July 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the $ I'm not sure if it's usually this expensive, but for a very small room it was over $200 for a Saturday night during the weekend of the rowing competition, which we were not there to attend. We were in town to take our engagement photos. We were required to do valet parking for $15 (included in the price above), & felt obligated to tip every time we needed to use our car during our stay. We were also looking forward to using the pool, but we found that it was closed for maintenance, which the lady at the front desk neglected to mention to us when we called to find out where the pool was located. The beds were really comfy, but the shower didn't drain well and the water pressure was light. We were also in the room right next to the elevator so we would hear it all through the night and the early morning. We were looking for a hotel that was walking distance to the aquarium area of downtown and it was the only hotel that close with vacancy when we booked. It was about an 8-block walk to that area, which was pretty convenient. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations! The Read definitely made my family feel at home. Spacious rooms, plus a dash of nostalgia , made our stay very enjoyable. We most assuredly will add this to our travel spots in the future. August 1, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 next>>