The Read House Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 452 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good enough The suite was beautiful. The beds and pillows are super comfy. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff efficient and helpful. We were disappointed to find that they hotel's movie selection did not include anything of an 'adult nature'. We did have a loose panel in the closet that was creepy (it led to a crawl space)- the staff fixed it, but it meant I had to hang out in the room for an hour while they worked- awkward. When I booked I asked about the pool and hot tub and came prepared to spend time int he hot tub on my anniversary trip. When we arrived- the hot tub/spa was out of service (and had been for some time). I should have been told this when I asked about it. The pool itself was very pretty. The club level breakfast was only ok (bread and pastry was dried out all three days) and was only from 7-9. The hors-d-ouvres were decent, but they cancelled it one night because of low occupancy- it made me feel like I wasn't important enough to receive that service. The attached restaurant is FABULOUS! A couple of times I stopped by the front desk and no one was there to help me.When I mentioned these things to the front desk upon check out- my concerns were pretty much dismissed and I was told "we were busy" and "it happens". For what I paid..it should not have happened. The valet guys were fantastic! Helpful, polite, didn't rush us- tip them well! All in all it was a positive trip, but I may try a different hotel next time. November 30, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incompetent management and staff The worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. September 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the money There's no parking except valet which is a flat rate charged to our room. Plus tips of course. We got a jacuzzi room and there was standing water around the top of the tub and mildew. The bathroom door knob was broken and wouldn't latch. Our remote didn't work and I called they sent a man up who changed the batteries and it sill didnt work after that. The furnishings and linens where top notch. I believe that there are some maintenance and housekeeping issues that could be improved. The breakfast which was packaged into our purchase price was a buffet. The biscuits were hard as a rock literally. Very disappointing for $ for 2 people. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleasant Experience This is a very nice hotel. It has beautiful decor and historic ambiance. It's well located in downtown and seems to be very well maintained. However, internet service was flaky in my room -- had a hard time connecting to the wireless but that could have been a security setting in my laptop. Didn't try the restaurant but bar service was marginal at best. Seemed to be inconvenienced by having customers. Early morning front desk crew on the day of my departure did not seem terribly concerned about taxi's not arriving in time to make flights. I would stay there again but would address these issues with management up front upon check-in. August 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvements Our room was lovely, spacious, and accommodating, mostly. The air conditioning unit did not work properly - it was already set on 60 degrees before we arrived but we guessed the temperature never made it below 78 degrees. There was no iron or ironing board in the room, no hair dryer, and no "please do not disturb" sign to hang on the door. The bed was quite comfortable and the pillows were AMAZING, but we only slept with the sheet over us because of the temperature in the room. August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by my stay Hotel room not quiet up to quality of better Sheraton's. A bit small and room temp stability was a challenge. Cleanliness was good. Carpet worn and torn in room. Marble vanity has paint specks from last painting. Hallway to room not impressive. Staff excellent, nice lobby. Elevator in shabby condition. As the parent of a child performing at the Tennessee music teacher's convention, I was told of special rates. However, I was not offered the rate because due to long travel, I was checking in one day prior to the convention start. You could have, and should have, offered me the promised rate, but did not. I will not use Sheraton again if there is an option. April 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping walked in without knocking My husband and I were placed in a room that was supposed to be ready - 15 minutes after we arrived in our room, housekeeping walked in without knocking in order to put towels in the room that they failed to complete prior to indicating the room was ready. The front desk staff weren't really sympathetic to the fact that they had walked in. After we arrived home, I found my credit card had been charged for the room - we pre-paid our room at the time of reservation in order to obtain a better rate. Have not been able to get in touch with management onsite - spoke with corporate customer service, and pending a response to the issues. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not recommend this place I love the spg brand and would always recommend their hotels except for this one in Chatanooga, TN. The hotel is OLD, the carpets are musty, the AC does not cool the system is old and the elevators are so slow that we had to take the stairs several times even after a tiring afternoon!! September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historical magnificence. Accommodating staff. ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: My family and I checked in on a Thursday, I booked three Jr. King Suites. Upon arrival to the property, I was promptly and professionally greeted by the valet (of whom we later grew to better know as "Timmy"). Timmy promptly unloaded our baggage and delivered them to each of our 3 rooms. As I checked in I was assisted by the desk agent Ken who was exceptionally courteous and well mannered; [we had a minor setback after one of the sets of room keys failed to work, however Timmy the Valet rushed to assist by informing Ken of the issue. I went down to speak with Ken regarding the key issue, he offered his sincere apologies and explained they were currently in a transition with new room key devices. Ken kindly treated us to a couple cups of coffee and issued new working room keys.] After checking in, I briefly toured the first and second levels of the lobby. The architectural design and features are simply magnificent. The history of the Read House is quite interesting and makes for an exciting stay. ROOMS: As I mentioned, I booked 3 Jr. King Suites. 302, 404, 509. Each room was very clean, had excellent climate controls and appeared to have recently been updated. I was concerned that the rooms would be humid, unclean, and worn due to past reviews I had read which was the reason I decided to book the Jr King Suites (with the hopes that the suites would be better maintained.) The hotel is downtown so the views are pretty much a typical downtown view, nothing impressive when in Chattanooga, TN. I was pleased with our overall stay. Overall Property: As our rooms were in the newer wing of the hotel, I was curious to investigate the older wing. I went to the 4th floor in the older wing and walked the halls. It was noticeably worn and less kept than the rest of the hotel, there was even a dismantled, broken down a/c unit hanging out of the side of the hallway, it appeared as if it had been sitting in that condition for years . I am extremely glad I booked the Jr. King Suites and put myself in the newer wing. The Porters restaurant was great. The fitness center was above expectations and very well kept with all of the equipment functioning properly. The pool was not much to boast of, the waterfall was not on and appeared to be non-working, there was chlorine odor which was a bit strong for the pool area. I could not find a hot-tub anywhere. The club level was great, they offered a decent variety of snack items during dinner hours and a small breakfast during the morning hours. The climate in the club area was rather humid during mid-day but cooled down to a comfortable temperature during early morning and evening/night. Overall, prior to my arrival I had low expectations for this Sheraton property as I am accustomed to staying at Westin properties, however I was pleasantly surprised! I would absolutely stay at the Sheraton Read House again and again over any of the nearby hotels. For a Cat 3 hotel, they are above par in my opinion. May 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Decent but Musty I like the overall style and ambiance of the hotel. However, the musty smell is a big turnoff. It permeates the lobby, halls and rooms of this hotel. I would advise that this issue is looked into and remediation started quickly. September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience While we didn't get to fully enjoy the hotel due to car trouble that got us there late and in a tizzy to attend a wedding. The weather wasn't very cooperative as well..having car trouble in bad weather is never fun. The hotel accommodations were fabulous and certainly made up for our troubles in reaching our destination. Rich in history and charm, the hotel is supposedly haunted.. Apparently the ghosts are as friendly as the employees. Hats off to the valet guys...they were the best! Love the Starbucks downstairs. The location could not have been better. We will definitely go back and stay longer to enjoy this beautiful hotel. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Week-end My wife and I enjoyed a week-end in Chattanoooga recently. WeI wanted to stay downtown so I booked us here. The staff was very welcoming as well as informative about places to go and directions. The room was super. We enjoyed the HUGE garden tub and the room was very nice, large, and inviting. I enjoyed having a table to sit at, drink my coffee, and read the Sunday paper. The sofa and desk were very nice as well. Some have bemoaned the size of the bathrooms, but ours was very nice, had two sinks, and was well stocked with products, from mouthwash to shampoo. The room was very clean, very comfortable, and we will come again! April 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to SPG / Sheraton standards As a member of the highest level (Platinum) of the SPG loyalty program, I have some experience with SPG properties....not impressed. Poor reception staff experience, below standard room condition, food quality poor and club lounge was shameful. We tried the lounge two out of three mornings...both days the food was gone, dirty tables and floor, dishes stacked up, had to ask the attendant to make more coffee but then no cups to drink it....not even paper cups. After twenty minutes still no food. Housekeeping walked into our room at 8:30 am while I was in bathroom and my wife sitting in chair. Housekeeper said "I was just checking the room"....no apology. My wife said she never heard a knock. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic hotel in convenient location Great example of classic hotel with modern comfort. Conveniently located to business and touris. September 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but be careful Double check your room when you enter! My daughter opened one of the waters (apparently you get one free) but the other was half empty. I threw it away without reporting the opened water so was charged $2.50. Now that may seem trivial to most, but I don't like feeling as though I am being manipulated. We already went the green route (by the way it means your room isn't cleaned/straightened at all), but what about one water per day? Not my usual experience at a Sheraton property. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally Very Good All aspects of this hotel were fine with the exception of the quality of breakfast and afternoon food in the Club Floor lounge. In our Starwood experience, the Club Floor lounge serves a nice balance of hot and cold breakfast items and serves them well. Food items and serving items were not sufficiently present to meet the need of the guests present. No tea was available for us, and had to be brought up by the person in charge. Overall, the choices of food as well as the silverware, glasses, cups, etc. were minimal. There was plenty of fresh fruit however. Also, no complimentary wine or beer were available in the afternoon - unlike almost all of our previous Starwood experience. April 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay My wife and I stayed at the Read House one Friday this summer. We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't anything great. We got a very good deal compared to other nice hotels in the area. The staff was very helpful. The location in downtown Chattanooga was great. The lobby area was beautiful. The room was nice but nothing special. It seemed clean overall, but my wife noticed some fruit loops partially under some of the furniture, and I stepped on what appeared to be a chicken bone, which I suppose is not easily vacuumed. Nothing was wrong with the bathroom, but I expected it to be nicer. Overall we did enjoy our stay. June 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst hotel i ever stayed at!!!!! THE WORST OVERALL. WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!!! November 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel customer service is not at all satisfactory Our toilet overflowed 3 times within a 6 hour period. A very angry acting man came to the room and brought a "snake" (tool) to unclog it the first 2 times. The 3rd time a nicer man came and unclogged it with a plunger. It overflowed again afterward, and each time the water went through to the carpet and floors outside the bathroom, which can cause extensive damage. When I called the 3rd time, when we were about to check out in the early afternoon, they offered us a free breakfast!!!! lol, which they can of course write off in taxes. And no wonder there is a strange odor in the hall and rooms....nuff said! February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb staff at an great old hotel in need of some renovations I've stayed here a couple times as it is the only SPG property in Chattanooga. It is one of those grand old hotels that was once likely really nice but where renovations/updates have slipped a little behind it's age - nothing major but it is evident, especially with the pool area, small bathrooms, etc. The rooms are great if a little small (again, it is an older building so rooms are smaller). The staff is superb and try very hard in general and to make up for anything lacking about the hotel. Extremely convenient location with full Starbucks and restaurant downstairs and the free Chattanooga electric bus stopping directly outside (fast and free trip to the Aquarium, Museums, etc). January 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk Staff is very helpful Hotel has the old charm that you want when visiting Chattanooga. My friends and I stayed there because of the ghostly stories. Last year we captured a shadow figure picture in the 3rd floor hallway. Intrigued we stayed on the 3rd floor this time. We did not capture any shadows but we did leave our room to go to dinner and when we returned we got a surprise. Our clean, unused towels were in the toilet and the bathroom trash can was knocked over. Ghostly or not, we don't know. But it was enough to validate the stories we have heard. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel is beautiful. I will stay again! June 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great old hotel with character Great old hotel with character.. Air Conditioning does not work.. My room was at least 85+ and the staff was not concerned.. I received a box fan to put beside my bed! August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Wife and I stayed in Chattanooga for business/pleasure...The Read House is one of those hotels that have a "Rat Pack" ambience....It has a very large mahogany foyer and a smell of coffee and antiques. The facility was built in 1925, but is as clean as a pin. The hotel is in excellent condition. Overall, service was EXCELLENT, ( we are Gold SPG). The staff all went above and beyond to help. Breakfast was excellent, room was spacious and clean and bed was soft as a feather...Parking was easy and location could not be better for downtown nightlife...We loved it. I wished I could stay here for a week. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Home Away From Home My son lives in Chattanooga, TN, so when I visit him, I always stay at the Seraton Read House. It really is my "Home away from home." I can always depend on the Seraton from the beginning to the end of my trip. Beginning with courteous boys who park my car and bring my luggage to the wonderful staff who remember me to my extra comfortable room (no pillows as comfortable anywhere) to the hot, strong shower to the club room to the restaurant downstairs with white linen table cloths and wonderful food to the free Internet to the spotless, impressive lobby. I'm already looking forward to my next visit! September 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed My most recent stay was not as good as my prior stay at this property. First, I was not offerred any type of Gold status arrival gift when I checked in. When I got to my floor, the wallpaper was bubbling and peeling off the walls in some spots. In my room, there was spilled red wine staining the wall next to the bed that wasn't cleaned up from a prior guest. The ceiling of the bathroom had spots of black and pink mold on the ceiling. The food was good. However, I had issues with coffee both days I ordered room service. The first arrived with no spoon, so I ended up stirring my cofrfee with my fork. The second day, my coffee arrived at room temperature. Overall, probably the best hotel in Chattanooga but still disappointing compared to other Sheraton properties. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed in cleanliness of room and hallways. Once we had time to relax in our room, I noticed stains on the comforter. When we pulled the comforter back, blood was on the sheets. We contacted the front desk. The staff came quickly to change the sheets and comforter. The last night we stayed in the hotel, one of the hotel towels provided had blood stains on it as well. The hotel is due for a major renovation. The tub is all scraped up and the curtains and wallpaper are dirty. I was not impressed by the hotel and felt it was very dirty and unsanitary. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff issues My wife had issues one night with her menstrual cycle, unfortunately making a small mess of the bed. Before leaving, we left a note of apology to the staff, exiting for the day and evening. Upon our late night return, the bed was still a mess, and my wife was forced to sleep in these dirty sheets. This she was not happy about. I contacted the staff n the morning, letting them know my displeasure. November 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by horrible visit Unfortunately my wife and I had a horrible experience. Our room was par but it was very very noisy. we heard every door close and every siren throughout the day. On the last evening (3:42am) someone pulled the fire alarm and of course we were down on the streets until the event was over. But the worst part of the whole trip was the knocking of my door 4 times from 9:14 to 1:01 by various people asking me if I was leaving. For some reason they did not talk to the front desk for I asked for a 2pm late check out. Needless to say we received very little sleep that night and the following morning. April 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I have stayed at this property many times in the past. It's never been exemplary in any manner but my most recent stay was ridiculously unacceptable. First, as I checked into the hotel, there was only ONE desk clerk when there was a line of 4 people waiting. Then the clerk made me stand and wait to be checked in while she dealt with an airline representative who was dropping off luggage for a guest. Once I was finally checked in and I went upstairs to my room, I was shocked to find the room not cleaned. There were empty soda, beer and liquor boxes and other trash left in a closet. Also left in the closet was a foil pan with fried chicken and baked beans, obviously left over from a party. The next morning, upon pulling back the shower curtain, there was hair in the floor of the shower stall. Long, dark, quite obvious if the housekeeping staff had bothered to look in the shower to see if it needed cleaning. September 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will not return The Read House has great historic architecture, but the temperature of the building was uncomfortably warm, the lock on my room door was broken, the pool was closed for repairs our entire stay, the group I was with had varying amounts of holds placed on their credit/debit cards that were more than what was told would be placed, the catered meal provided to our business group took an hour before the food came and the menu was preselected for a set number of people, so shouldn't have been a delay. I would not recommend the hotel and do not plan to return. June 23, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 next>>