The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 464 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has a lot of character & charm The room was lovely and very spacious. Bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff accommodating, especially the valet service. Our only complaint would be about the housekeeping service. Our room was still not cleaned at 4p and we had to be out by 5p for a wedding. We requested clean towels and they were brought to the room immediately so we appreciate that. However, the room should have been cleaned. October 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4 Days in Chattanooga The Read House was a great choice for our first visit to Chattanooga. Well situated downtown near US 27 and on the trolley route with easy acess to Northshore, the Arts District with great restaurants and coffee shop for lunch or just talk. The front desk staff (Ken & Spencer), restaurant staff (Adam & James), and valet (Roy & Taylor), provided outstanding service during our stay. Porter's is a great place for dinner, specially if you order the filet and lamb chops. October 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chattanooga Fall A great hotel to stay when visiting Chattanooga. Easy acess to the city via the free shuttle service with stop at the hotel. Porter's offers excellent food and sevice (Adam &James). The hotel staff is excellent from the front desk (Spencer & Ken) to the valet sevice (Roy & Taylor). October 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Y'all need to do some serious work Wow. This beautiful hotel needs some serious plumbing and A/C work. The noise from both is deafening and almost funny except for the lack of sleep. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by staying in downtown Chattanooga This lovely hotel is located right in the area where the IMAX theatre is, the aquarium, the Moon Pie General Store, several wonderful eating establishments, and the Southern Belle Steamboat. You will enjoy your stay there. Very clean! October 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient to downtown and trolly Upon checking in, clerk did not ask us if we wanted our extra points. (We are Starwood members). We spoke to her later that evening and told her she did not do that. She apologized and gave us a pass to the concierge lounge for free breakfast. The room was very dark. We tried to use one of the lamps by the bed and found out it was not plugged in, we could not find the plug to replug it. October 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Experience I stayed at this hotel last Friday evening and had the experience of what I would expect from a $50 hotel. The problem is - I paid $200. Here are a few of the problems: 1) I was in Room # 407. I did not realize until I was trying to sleep that the elevator was behind the wall nearest the head of the bed. Once I turned off the TV, I could hear the elevator noise all night. You need to insulate that wall or not put guests in that room at all. 2) In the middle of the night, the entire room started to smell as if raw sewage had been pumped into ventilation system. It was an incredibly strong odor that eventually dissipated or I became immune to it. 3) I am still waiting for my 6am wake up call. I could go on and on about how important it is to have a reliable system for wake up calls, but I'm assuming you understand that. 4) The bath drain was not attached to the tub. This was not the only maintenance issue, but probably the most glaring. I thought I had read that the hotel had recently been renovated. If true, they missed that room. It is old and dilapidated. 5) There was no one at the front desk when I tried to check out. When they did finally show up, they never asked about my stay - which I think is probably the root to all of your issues. Your employees don't care about guest's experience. October 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room for improvment The clerk who checked me in did not acknowledge my SPG gold membership, rushed through check in, and sent me to the wrong set of elevators. The room was just average. There was a wet spot on the carpet in front of the TV. The carpets in the corridors were very tired looking and not very clean. The valet guys were great. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has great staff great check in, great valet service helpful and friendly staff October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accommodations Had a terrific time! Loved the ghost story. October 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I am staying for two weeks. Did not have room cleaned daily but when it was, no coffee packets left,trash not emptied, and bathroom not completely cleaned. Ice machine on two closest floors don't work, no guest services book in room. Requested a book at 5:30 in lobby and told it would be right up. 1.5 hours later I call for the book ( wanted the room service menu, find out about other services, channel guide) and told "Do you just want a menu, we'll send it up" as though I was a bother to the front desk. Finally a waitress shows up with just a menu. Sent it back andwent elsewhere for dinner as I figured it would take another 1.5 hours for the food to arrive. 10 minutes later a clerk shows up with a book and apologizes and wants to give me a free coffee at Starbucks. Not what I wanted and does me no good since I leave at 5am daily. Seems as though the staff is reactive rather then proactive. Certainly felt like I was bothering the front desk. Hotel room has drywall repair halfway done, not stocked. Very disappointing for such a "Nice Historic Hotel". October 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs maintenance Age has taken its tool on the Read House. The rooms, while updated, showed their age: dirty carpets, spots on fabrics, etc. Bed sheets did not properly fit the extra-deep mattresses, which wile comfortable, were unsightly when not completely covered. Our bathroom did not feel clean, and had a loose doorknob and broken mirror, and a sloppy paint/sheetrock repair job around the sink. Dust and cobwebs had accumulated in the corners and windows of the room, and the A/C housing had mold, dirt, and more C-grade patch repairs to the surrounding sheetrock. Not recommended. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great modern features with classic look The hotel is well located in Chattanooga. It has some of the old charm of a vintage hotel with modern day ammenities. Bed was comfortable. Did not use any of the restaurant/bar but looked nice. Very happy with the place! October 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charming, but needs shuttle, etc. Great old historic hotel that has been modernized and preserved well, featuring some top-of-the-line comforts, esp. in rooms. Biggest problems are lack of airport shuttle, lack of vending machines on floors (mine didn't have an ice machine) and a front desk that seemed a little understaffed. Very pleasant and nice people, though. Great workout facility. No do-it-yourself laundry machines. Expensive to have hotel do it. Starbucks next door, but no good convenience stores ...one nearby is more of a liquor store. Only one PC and printer. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location Good location, central to Chattanooga tourist spots. Jr Suite furnishings were kind of shoddy, wood furniture worn, upholstered chairs dirty. Rooms need a 'facelift'. Maid svc did not leave towels or face cloths. Had to request bedding for third bed after we arrived. Bill was initially messed up but was quickly fixed. Staff was friendly and professional on Saturday. Sunday phone staff not so much. Room service was good as was food. Was disappointed in the room for the price. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a good staff April, who works at the hotel, was really accommodating when the hotel was booked full but I wanted to stay there using my SPG points. I greatly appreciated her help. October 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel bathroom - ick Though the area was decent and the room somewhat comfortable, my biggest complaint has got to be the bathroom. Never have I stayed in a hotel with a bathroom that was so dingy. The shower and tub were yellow and black with mold and grime, and the tile floor looked decades old. On top of that, the ENTIRE bathroom was wet after a shower. The walls (wallpaper, ew), door frame, floor, toilet, shelves etc. were covered with a thick layer of moisture following the shower. It was horrifying, and only made more sense as to why the mold existed in the shower: moisture. It's normal for a mirror or other surfaces to get somewhat foggy during/after a shower, but everything was DRIPPING wet. It was gross. If I had seen a decent photo of the bathroom before I confirmed my reservation, I would never have stayed here. Bathrooms need a serious upgrade, and until then, you shouldn't charge that much a night to stay in a room with a bathroom with mold in it. No thanks. Stay somewhere else. September 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What I Would Have Expected This hotel needs a great deal of work. The deferred maintanence is very high in the guest rooms making it uncomfortable to stay there. September 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great classic hotel Staff was prompt and kind. Hotel looks great for her age,still a classic. September 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by below average Unfortunately the bathtub was dirty and the staff was really overwhelmed with all the checking in and out. I finally got someone to clean it--but she did not speak english, she was cleaning the toilet-so I had to take the pistol grip and do it myself. she was very sweet-but!! Need more staff when you know you are going to be swamped. bed was TOOOO SOFT!!! Where is my Heavenly Bed??? Not there for sure. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great up until.... Friend booked two rooms for the weekend, somehow he got charged for both rooms after I personally went down to the lobby to check out and told them I needed MY room charged to a different card. I gave them my card, watched them swipe it and they gave me my receipt. It turns out the wrong credit card was charged. I contacted the hotel and was told a manager was not available at the time but would return my call. The manager never returned the call to attempt to explain how this error could of happened. Never called to apologize the platinum member whose card got erroneously charged twice, this kind of customer service is why I wouldn't return to this particular hotel and also advise all my friends not to. September 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Housekeeping & Maintenance needs much improvement HK: Services were deplorable! Room was NOT clean, particularly the bathroom. Sheets were NOT changed. One day there was NO service at all even though a request had been put in to have the room cleaned by 3:30pm. Hair on bathroom floor from previous guests. Ameneties were not re-stocked consitantly. MAINT: HVAC unit control did not have an off-on switch and ran constantly. Very poor control!!!! Carpet filthy! Dirt in corners. OTHER: Food tray from room service of another guest was left in the hallway > 2 days until we INSISTED it be removed. NOTE: Complaints were not addressed by desk staff until Hotel Mgr. got involved. He handled the situation VERY professionally and made amends. However the very next day my wife had another HK issue. It was very clear that there is a HUGE DISCONNECT with the HK Staff & Their Mgmt. Very Poor training, oversight & F/U by the HK Mgmt. Staff. HOWEVER: We did very much enjoy the quality of food & the Staff at Porter's Resturant. Maybe they should be held up as the Gold Std. for the Front Desk & HK Staff to follow. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely weekend trip We arrived late on Friday night and the staff got us checked in quickly, which was great since we were so tired. Upon arriving to our room, we were a little shocked at how small it was. There was not much room to move around, and from the description on my confirmation, I though it would be a little bigger (not sure we got 400 sq. ft.). Since we booked club level, they gave us vouchers for breakfast at Porters since the club does not serve breakfast on the weekends, which was great because Porters had a great spread on the buffett. The staff was extremely nice on Saturday morning, but the Sunday morning crew was a little less pleasant, as we weren't even greeted by our waiter until he brought the check. The location of the hotel was great; it was pretty quiet outside and the electric shuttle (free) was right out front and we could catch a ride to the action down on the riverfront. The history of the hotel is fascinating too, and I loved seeing some of the old pictures and artifacts in the lobby. Overall, we had a great anniversary weekend away and would love to come back again. September 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I was disappointed upon arrival to see that all of the Civil War era art had been removed from the hotel. The building is still charming but the replacement art work has no obvious theme or value. Although the staff was receptive to our service issues (hot water, elevator, wet carpet, soap, towels, cups etc), I did not feel that there was a sense of urgency or recovery response to ensure our satisfaction. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old World Charm Beautifully resored historic old hotel with modern ammenities right in the center of Chattanooga, walkable to most downtown sites. Wood panelled lobby makes you feel like you've stepped back in time and up in class. Rooms are large and comfortable. Why stay in a modern cookie-cutter motel, when you can have this beautiful old-world charm? September 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit of a disappointment We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite and thought that we would be overwhelmed. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met. The suite, even though large, was not what I would consider "presidential". The room did not have a desk or an adequate place to plug in a computer or phone chargers. The shower had much missing grout from the tiles. There was not even hooks to hang up towels in the bathroom. The a/c vent in the bedroom was dirty and appeared to have not been cleaned in a long time. In the past when I have checked in at my Sheraton destinations, we have been greeted in the room with some amenity from the hotel. But, on this stay there was nothing. All in all, a big letdown. September 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Birthday Getaway LOVED my stay at this hotel. The staff were super friendly and the day front desk gentleman on 9/7 comped me a free breakfast buffet for my birthday. I will definitely be back! September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Check In This hotel was excellent, once we got our room. Had to wait for 2 hours to get a clean room. The room was spectacular however, which almost made up for the wait! September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel bothers Was unhappy with the fact that everytime I stepped out of the hotel was approached by someone asking for money. Feel that needs to be addressed by may be having a staff member be outside to keep this from hapening. Also hallways were hot. August 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has changed. Roll-away bed that we did not order, keys that did not work, closure of the Club Lounge with no warning, A/C that does not work, room uncleanliness and other confusing issues. August 27, 2013
  • 2015-03-31T17:49:11.914-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_464, tr_464
  • loc_en_US, sid_1474, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17 next>>