The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 464 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by A lot of potential The bones of this property make it an interesting place, but also make it a challenge for me. Generally appears forlorn and tired and sorely in need of a renovation. Small touches like leaving linens for a pull out couch in the room could help improve the customer service level. December 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekly traveler - welcoming hotel I stay at the Read House every week and the staff couldn't be more welcoming. From Diana's welcoming smile and helpful service at the front desk to Beth friendly banter in the bar at Porter's, the Read House team makes my weekly trek to Chattanooga a very pleasant experience. The hotel itself is in an historic downtown building that could use an update, but the age isn't a real drawback. The frayed edges add a bit of charm as nearly every room in the original building is laid out a little differently. The basic rooms have more than enough space while the junior suites and up offer open accommodations with the usual amenities in this price range. The on-site restaurant, Porter's, is a typical private high-end steakhouse offering excellent steaks and other meats at premium prices. All in all, this a is a solid hotel and I'll continue to stay here for the foreseeable future. Renovations are about to begin and the hotel is in the process of rebranding, but given the location and building, the Read House should surely have a bright future. December 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Expectations I expected for Thanksgiving not to see an area marked off and under repair. I expected my daughters fold out to be cozy, clean and comfortable with more than one thin blanket. I expected not to have to request this bed be made regardless of the final product. I expected not to hear all night long, for two nights, the song from Frozen in our room from the street below. I expected towels in the pool and not having to use our bath towels. I expected the heat in the exercise room to be lower than 78 - 80 with some air flow. Otherwise, the staff was excellent and we came and went with ease. Cheers December 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sad To Say I have stayed at this hotel on several other occasions and was very satisfied. The particular room we stayed in this trip was just not up to our satisfaction. The bathroom was beyond small, with nowhere to place toiletries. Some of the furnishings were well worn. The room was clean so that was wonderful. However, the bed sheets were ill fitting so several times during our visit we had to readjust them. I believe the hotel experience should be seamless and when it is not, you begin to notice things with even more discernment. Because the bathroom was so small and there were only two bath towels, not the usual four ( this was a junior suite,) and then there was no attempt to even replace the towels with fresh ones, or make even our bed , my frustration grew. I was very disappointed. Although this hotel has been my go to when in Chattanooga, I will be trying a new hotel when I am there in May. :( November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful! This lovely old hotel had it all, friendly staff, great location, fabulous indoor pool. We didn't opt to eat at the restaurant but there were many great choices near by. November 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is a "dump" I cannot really think of one good thing to say about this hotel...Badly in need of a renovations...literally everything in the hotel is dated, worn and dirty. Also, clearly the hotel suffers from a lack of leadership and direction. We were with a group of 20 and attention to our requests was pitiful. Meeting room was not set up on time nor were the specifications requested met. Nearly everyone in our group had complaints about room...temperature, shower, dirty etc. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely stay--again! Thank you for a lovely stay. My room was so comfortable. I really like your "green policy" which gives your guests a $5.00 coupon for the Starbuck's cafe in the hotel in exchange for the green choice of not having the room cleaned for that day I look forward to seeing you next year and appreciate your booking for me this year the same room I had last year. It's a lovely suite! November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spacious room We booked a standard room and received a junior suite at a late night check in. The lobby has some historical stuffs which we enjoyed a lot. The staff at the counter is friendly and helpful. The only drawbacks are that the AC is really loud at night and the restroom is quite small compared to the room. November 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location downtown the staff was ill informed, regarding directing guests to their room location. with two towers, it would of been very useful if the front desk would of shared with the guest which elevators to use to arrive at the correct floor. Since all elevators were different. October 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel experience ever Never have I experienced a room as dirty and poorly kept as I have at the Sheraton Read House. I so highly anticipated my stay at the Read House. I flew into Chattanooga for the wedding of a young lady who is like my daughter. She planned to stay there with me the night before her wedding. Wanting a nice place for her to get ready in the morning of her wedding, I booked the junior suite. We were both so excited. That excitement ended when I opened the door to the room. My first impression was a vague disappointment. The room was poorly lit. The furniture, wall coverings and carpet appeared to be old and worn. As I took everything I thought, well, it is an historic hotel. That's okay. So I made my way into the bedroom. The first thing a noticed is a broken and stained chair. Right behind it was a floor lamp that was tilted with a light bulb hanging out by the wires. Next, I made my way to the extremely small bathroom. My first thought was how small it was for "junior suite." Then I saw the dirt and grime on the back of the magnifying mirror that was attached to the wall. From there, I opened the shower curtain to find a dirty shower and bathtub with chunks of I-don't-know-what on the walls. I made my way back out to the bedroom only to see a layer of dust so thick on the walls, it appeared to resemble a popcorn ceiling. That same dust coated the curtains in the room. At that point, I phoned guest services who stated she could have someone come up to clean it. I explained that the room needed more than a quick cleaning. I asked about switching rooms. She stated that they were booked full, but would have the manager call me. I waited for 30 minutes with no return call. I called again, but when I got the same response that she would have the manager call me. Instead of waiting I took my luggage and went down to meet with someone. There was only one person working at the desk. I had to wait another 20 minutes to get her assistance. She then somehow found another room even though they were booked. I asked if I could look at the room first. She gave me a key, so I went up to take a look. Although better than the first, it appeared to be in a long line of dorm rooms. Dorm rooms??? Anyways, although it was visually more appealing than the original room (minus another stained chair), the smell inside was revolting. The windows were wide open, as apparently they knew something was wrong, and they were trying to air it out. Needless to say I did not stay at the Sheraton Read House that night or any other night as planned. I politely but assertively asked to be let out of my reservation, and the lady at the desk complied. I quickly made my way out the door without looking back. It was an incredibly disappointing experience. October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Review I stayed at this hotel for a meeting taking place there. The staff was very friendly and did bring towels and other things when asked. The room was ok, and the bed was comfortable. I did have to turn water on in the shower and let run for 15 minutes before it got hot. There were cobwebs in the corners of the closet, and seating area of the room and what appeared to be dirt or mold on the HVAC vents. There are many defects in the landscaping, slate tile outside and ceiling in hallways. October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs a Renovation I wanted to like this old hotel, but for a number of reasons I cannot recommend it. Firstly, I arrived late evening and was surprised that to find for a central city hotel, there are surprisingly few amenities nearby. The hotel restaurant and bar closed at midnight, and the only food & drink within walking distance was a dinner at another run down motel across the street, the hotel had no store for convenience items, food or drink, other than a table laid out with a selection of candy bars in the lobby, Secondly, the property is in quite rough shape, the carpets were extremely worn down, the elevator old and made many creaking noises, and the windows in the club room were clouded glass that one could not even look out to see the view. The jr Suite that I had smelled extremely musty and I had to dig under the bed to turn on the power strip in order to get the clock to work. One of the two phones in the room was dead and the bathtub was yellow stained. Lastly, the stack of newspapers in the club room were from the day before and when pointed out to a staff member, while he did offer to go find me a current one, he said that they often forget to bring fresh papers up there. All in all, the staff was pleasant, but this didn't make up for the shortfallings of this hotel. Properties like this put the Sheraton reputation on the line. October 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff exceptional! Our stay was very nice, the front desk staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant. I requested a room away from the elevator and Ashley checked until she could find something and she ended up finding a room that was a suite. We were very happy with the upgrade and especially pleased with our treatment from Ashley. Everything else was fine, with the exception of breakfast, which my husband and friends said it wasn't all tasty. October 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our plus and minus experience We had two rooms. Arrived after dark. Rooms were very nice. Ordered room service. Excellent. Great sleep. Somewhat disappointed in the club level breakfast. Only problem I had was the housekeeping people knocking on the door to see if we were checking out. They valso did this to out daughter and granddaughter. Daughter was in the shower, and granddaughter who has some medical and very real security issues was asleep. This also happened a week before, Oct 9-10 at the Sheraton Atlanta Perimeter North. Only this time they did not stop at just asking my daughtr if we were checking out, they persisted and wanted to know know "when" and "how soon". Very rude and unprofessional. When I reported it I was assured this was not routine procedure. When I told the front desk I was probably going to cancel our rservations for the return trip she begged me not to do so. I have yet to receive a request for a review of that stay. First time ever I have never receive a request for review. I realize we forgot to put out the do not disturb sign, but whatever happened to the front desk notifying the housekeeping staff that someone had checked out, rather than the staff intruding in on the guest and being rude? October 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel need improvement. The bathroom in Room 411 needs improvement. The floor was gray and dirty looking. The shower/tub tiles looked like black mold was growing between the tiles. It also smelled like sewage. October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wouldn't Pay Full Price I was on government business and got the govt rate, which I'd say is the limit of what the hotel should charge ~100 a night max. We were in a wing that was also being used as student dorms, with an aged hall, a window that looked onto a brick wall, a stained chair, loud elevator noise, etc. I was ok to deal with this since I wasn't paying full price on govt business, but if I'd been traveling for vacation not business and had paid 180+ a night I'd have been furious about the terrible accommodations. That said the location is nice, and the bones of the old hotel are pretty. October 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Loved the historic character We loved the historic character of the hotel. The staff seemed a little unsure and confused about the details and amenities of the hotel. Our reservation was slightly screwed up by rep we booked with and it completely threw off the onsite desk clerk. They have a major key issue with the swipe card keys. We had to go back to the desk several times to get keys that would work in our door. October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grand Old Hotel Stayed 1 night for a medical conference. Got upgraded to a junior suite (thank you!). Very comfortable hotel -- old but very comfortable. Quiet. Had room service breakfast and dinner, both excellent. The French fries for dinner were some of the best I've had in years, and breakfast was hot and very nicely prepared. This is an excellent place to stay and even accepts dogs < 60 pounds. October 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Upon check-in we found the rooms had no refrigerator as was confirmed when booked, and they found one old one to bring up. Shower Curtain was 8-10 inches short, allowing water to flood the floor during every shower, caulking missing in several area's of the tile, toilet flapper leaked water, bathroom door didn't close properly, requested extra towels and weren't left, we had to go to front desk to retrieve them ourselves, Sunday morning the Club Level breakfast room was advertised to be open early, and when we went, it had a sign stating they wouldn't be opening early after all! Then Sunday night we arrive back, to find 10-12 cars blocking the drive thru, drop off, and no valet to be found! When I question the front desk, he said they had issues, and when I question why I was paying for valet service if it's an issue, the manager Jim G. came out, and stated I could park on the street as the parking was free till 8 a.m. the next morning! Keep in mind I paid for the service, and now I'm on the street, and have to get up, and put money in the meter by 8 or face getting a ticket! By far the worst stay I've ever had with a Sheraton property! Room 1010 September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable, Quiet, Practically Perfect! We booked a stay at this Sheraton at the last minute and being gun-shy about our previous night's stay in a different Sheraton (horrible experience), we weren't sure what to expect. The Sheraton Read House surpassed our expectations in every way. The room was clean and very comfortable, especially the bed. I experienced the best night's sleep I ever have at a hotel (thank you!!!). The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered room service as we got in late and the food and service both were excellent. The valet staff was equally as friendly and I can only say that we are 100% plus pleased with this Sheraton. We picked this location at random due to our change in travel plans but we will be returning to Chattanooga in the future and will most definitely be staying at the Read House again. Well done Sheraton! Thank you for restoring my faith in your brand name. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service, and a great room too I arrived at the Sheraton Read House very late, without a reservation. I was accommodated quickly and efficiently by the front desk agent, and was upgraded without asking because of my Preferrred Member status. In addition, I required a late checkout because of a business commitment. As the meeting I was involved in ran long, I went beyond my late checkout time. The staff accommodated me wonderfully and allowed me to use the room until the meeting had completed. Everyone I encountered was cheerful, friendly, and courteous. Now, for the room. Wow. I was upgraded to a very nice suite, with a Jacuzzi (which I sadly didn't get the chance to use), and plenty of room to stretch out and take care of the things I needed to deal with while there. I also noted the proximity to many activities and restaurants in the area. Without a doubt, if I must return to Chattanooga for business, or if I choose to visit for leisure, I will definitely book my room at the Read House. Thanks for an excellent, albeit short, stay. September 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Check In we came for a convention and waited 2 1/2 hrs to get a room, not what I expected from a Sheraton. September 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Interesting Directions to the hotel were excellent. However, information about restaurants outside the hotel was very poor. Starbucks was extremely disappointing--I am accustomed to a good assortment of food items at Starbucks and this was definitely not true of this Starbucks. September 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Handi cap Do not like riding in freight elevator to get to meetings. Tub had a grab bar but was difficult to climb over high side and was dangerously slippery when wet. September 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Stay I loved the 2 room set up in the suite. There was plenty of room for the two of us! The hotel is in a great location. I would have liked a refrigerator/microwave for my doggy bag food from nearby restaurants. They had room service, but not a restaurant other than the expensive steak house attached. I do not like eating in my room so we had to go out. We also had to go to other evening venues since the bar closed at 11pm. They had a great pool and service was fine. Bed was a little soft for my tastes, but comfortable with all of the coverings. I had difficulty preparing my contacts with no flat surface near the sink. Shelving was dangerously placed over the toilet and carpet/furniture needed a good cleaning. September 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unusually disappointing stay This was not the first time my husband and I had stayed at the Read House. Our previous experience was wonderful. However, this year we arrived and had to wait to check in, our bathtub didn't look like it had been cleaned, there was a used washcloth still hanging from the shower rod, and we never were able to get a cool enough temperature to sleep well. Fortunately we were there for a soccer tournament and did not spend much time in room, so we did not complain. I hope very much this is not the usual experience. September 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incompetent management and staff The worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. September 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic hotel in convenient location Great example of classic hotel with modern comfort. Conveniently located to business and touris. September 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Decent but Musty I like the overall style and ambiance of the hotel. However, the musty smell is a big turnoff. It permeates the lobby, halls and rooms of this hotel. I would advise that this issue is looked into and remediation started quickly. September 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not recommend this place I love the spg brand and would always recommend their hotels except for this one in Chatanooga, TN. The hotel is OLD, the carpets are musty, the AC does not cool the system is old and the elevators are so slow that we had to take the stairs several times even after a tiring afternoon!! September 3, 2014
  • 2015-03-30T18:46:33.402-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_464, tr_464
  • loc_en_US, sid_1474, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>