The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique Hotel, Wonderful Experience This hotel is terrific. Everything you want in a unique hotel and in close proximity to everything in Chattanooga. It was a fabulous weekend! April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful! This lovely old hotel had it all, friendly staff, great location, fabulous indoor pool. We didn't opt to eat at the restaurant but there were many great choices near by. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great visit Always enjoy staying at this hotel when my business takes me to Chattanooga. Great hotel with a lot of history. Comfortable room and good workout facilities. February 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very enjoyable hotel I have stayed at this property on several occasions. I must say that the location is one of it's main strenght. Located downtown and within walking distance of a lot of restaurants/bar and even Tennessee Aquarium. I particularly like the hotel's Old World feel. The decor in the lobby and the brick look of the building takes me to what I imagine life in the early 1930's would be like. Now to be completely honest, it sould use a little remodel to freshen up the hallways and the rooms. I would also like to recognize April from the front desk who truly made an impact as she worked hard to accomodate our late request for a specific room on a full house that night. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memorable moments This hotel has a lot of interesting history that I enjoyed hearing from the friendly staff that works there. Thanks for making my visit a memorable one! June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super friendly From check in to check out it was an enjoyable experience. Desk clerks, valet, bell hops were very friendly and helpful. Excellent dinner at Porters. February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved the historic building We loved the ambiance and the history of the building. The staff recognized our SPG card status and gave us a nice upgrade. We enjoyed our stay. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful place to stay for the Regatta The coffee pot was broken but the staff brought me a pot of coffee which I preferred anyway. all of the staff were very friendly and helpful November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway We had a wonderful time in your city. The staff, the room, the location of the hotel were all perfect! Looking forward to a return visit. March 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What I Would Have Expected This hotel needs a great deal of work. The deferred maintanence is very high in the guest rooms making it uncomfortable to stay there. September 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Lobby The lobby was very nice. The beds were nice. The pool is only 4ft deep and there is no hot tub they covered it with a strange floor. The shower did not work and the bathtub was difficult for a 6ft 2in man to use. The walls were peeling and some areas it looked like they were just painted over the peeling paint so it looked pretty bad. There is 2 areas of the hotel the old part were the lobby is and you see in the pictures of the hotel and the addition that looks like your in a different building that is white. Loud door slamming all night long. Walls very thin I could hear people talking next door. The steakhouse in the hotel was wonderful. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent staff The rooms were clean, bathrooms could use a little more attention, nothing degrading but maybe a little more upgrading. The Porter restaurant, we only ate breakfast there..could have been a good experience but the scrambled eggs were nasty...I had forgotten there is such a thing as 'powdered' eggs, but was quickly reminded when I ate the scrambled eggs...OMG!!! Have I said NASTY already...The garage attendees were perfect!! Took care of our luggage immediately, took care of my car and even had great tips for visiting the area..and very enthusiastic guys...worth every cent of their tip!! Even wished me a Happy Mother's Day on our departure!! May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by P E R F E C T ! Great staff, excellent room (with 2 HD TVs) and super comfortable mattress !! December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has great staff great check in, great valet service helpful and friendly staff October 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wouldn't Pay Full Price I was on government business and got the govt rate, which I'd say is the limit of what the hotel should charge ~100 a night max. We were in a wing that was also being used as student dorms, with an aged hall, a window that looked onto a brick wall, a stained chair, loud elevator noise, etc. I was ok to deal with this since I wasn't paying full price on govt business, but if I'd been traveling for vacation not business and had paid 180+ a night I'd have been furious about the terrible accommodations. That said the location is nice, and the bones of the old hotel are pretty. October 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by None Lovely but needs to pay attention to the details. June 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely stay--again! Thank you for a lovely stay. My room was so comfortable. I really like your "green policy" which gives your guests a $5.00 coupon for the Starbuck's cafe in the hotel in exchange for the green choice of not having the room cleaned for that day I look forward to seeing you next year and appreciate your booking for me this year the same room I had last year. It's a lovely suite! November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed The heat/ac was loud and ran continually until we turned it off. We both took our showers in standing water because of a slow drain. The curtains to block light from the room (814) would not block out all light, one would not slide more than half way. 8 blocks from a pharmacy yet nothing but aspirin available at the Sheraton. Suddenly hit with cold/flu symptoms and no in house medicine available. The room had no back up kleenex box and after using 10 -12 tissues the box was empty. My expectations for a Sheraton Hotel had been so much higher. Even the physical condition of the bathroom was lacking; bubbles and air pockets in the wall paper and waffled walls in areas, the door itself was splitting, cracked and looked in poor repair, especially at the base of the door. The sound of the toilet flushing was loud enough to break the sound barrier too! We were staying there for a wedding, the reception was held there. Yet we could not get an early check in and the wedding was across town at 3:00 PM. Signage in the lobby was poor. It took too much time to find the restroom so I could change and go to the wedding; we drove to Chattanooga from Knoxville, an early check in would have been greatly appreciated. I can't believe we could not be accommodated with an early check in since the reception was being held at the hotel following the wedding! I doubt you will publish this review but I would hope that our concerns are considered. Thank you for your ear and your time. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by disappointed Everything was great except for some things in the room. It was nice to be upgraded to a room with a sofa and easy chair. The room was very comfortable, with the following exceptions. The first thing we noticed was the lack of lighting. Then the bathroom was tiny like a closet. There was no space to put any of the things we needed in there. When I went for ice, I noticed that the usual "tongs" were not attached to the ice bucket, nor any where in sight. When I went to make a note, there was also no pen in the room. Some of these are little things, but I would expect more from the Sheraton. The small bathroom was the biggest complaint. We had to call to have someone come and adjust the water in the heating system, as the air was too hot, and we needed cooler air. The evening staff in the club lounge was very good and friendly. And kept the items well stocked. And the same with the morning lady with the breakfast items. But the evening gal really gets a star plus. If I had business in downtown I would stay here again, But for someone just passing through, I would reconsider. To park in their garage, you must use Valet Parking at a cost of $15 per day. Which means tips for the valet guys and also the bellman. Again, the staff was very friendly. Personally, I do not like to use Valet staff for my car - but here there was no choice. The bed was very comfortable which I would expect, along with the other furniture in the room. December 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good enough The suite was beautiful. The beds and pillows are super comfy. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff efficient and helpful. We were disappointed to find that they hotel's movie selection did not include anything of an 'adult nature'. We did have a loose panel in the closet that was creepy (it led to a crawl space)- the staff fixed it, but it meant I had to hang out in the room for an hour while they worked- awkward. When I booked I asked about the pool and hot tub and came prepared to spend time int he hot tub on my anniversary trip. When we arrived- the hot tub/spa was out of service (and had been for some time). I should have been told this when I asked about it. The pool itself was very pretty. The club level breakfast was only ok (bread and pastry was dried out all three days) and was only from 7-9. The hors-d-ouvres were decent, but they cancelled it one night because of low occupancy- it made me feel like I wasn't important enough to receive that service. The attached restaurant is FABULOUS! A couple of times I stopped by the front desk and no one was there to help me.When I mentioned these things to the front desk upon check out- my concerns were pretty much dismissed and I was told "we were busy" and "it happens". For what I paid..it should not have happened. The valet guys were fantastic! Helpful, polite, didn't rush us- tip them well! All in all it was a positive trip, but I may try a different hotel next time. November 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the money There's no parking except valet which is a flat rate charged to our room. Plus tips of course. We got a jacuzzi room and there was standing water around the top of the tub and mildew. The bathroom door knob was broken and wouldn't latch. Our remote didn't work and I called they sent a man up who changed the batteries and it sill didnt work after that. The furnishings and linens where top notch. I believe that there are some maintenance and housekeeping issues that could be improved. The breakfast which was packaged into our purchase price was a buffet. The biscuits were hard as a rock literally. Very disappointing for $ for 2 people. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleasant Experience This is a very nice hotel. It has beautiful decor and historic ambiance. It's well located in downtown and seems to be very well maintained. However, internet service was flaky in my room -- had a hard time connecting to the wireless but that could have been a security setting in my laptop. Didn't try the restaurant but bar service was marginal at best. Seemed to be inconvenienced by having customers. Early morning front desk crew on the day of my departure did not seem terribly concerned about taxi's not arriving in time to make flights. I would stay there again but would address these issues with management up front upon check-in. August 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lobby is the only area up toSheraton quality The lobby and main floor is the only updated area and clean. The room levels are a disgrace to the Sheraton name. The carpets in the hallways are thread bare, rooms and bathrooms need a complete overhaul. our bathtub had a brown dirt ring and the soap scum was so thick I wrote my name with my fingernail hoping that would force them to clean it. the building itself is beautiful and the lobby is beautiful and modern. Be sure to ASK what elevator to use. We carried our luggage up the elevator in the lobby and found out that we needed to use the one all the way down another hallway. Front desk seemed surprised that we didn't know!? July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by my stay Hotel room not quiet up to quality of better Sheraton's. A bit small and room temp stability was a challenge. Cleanliness was good. Carpet worn and torn in room. Marble vanity has paint specks from last painting. Hallway to room not impressive. Staff excellent, nice lobby. Elevator in shabby condition. As the parent of a child performing at the Tennessee music teacher's convention, I was told of special rates. However, I was not offered the rate because due to long travel, I was checking in one day prior to the convention start. You could have, and should have, offered me the promised rate, but did not. I will not use Sheraton again if there is an option. April 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping walked in without knocking My husband and I were placed in a room that was supposed to be ready - 15 minutes after we arrived in our room, housekeeping walked in without knocking in order to put towels in the room that they failed to complete prior to indicating the room was ready. The front desk staff weren't really sympathetic to the fact that they had walked in. After we arrived home, I found my credit card had been charged for the room - we pre-paid our room at the time of reservation in order to obtain a better rate. Have not been able to get in touch with management onsite - spoke with corporate customer service, and pending a response to the issues. March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historical magnificence. Accommodating staff. ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: My family and I checked in on a Thursday, I booked three Jr. King Suites. Upon arrival to the property, I was promptly and professionally greeted by the valet (of whom we later grew to better know as "Timmy"). Timmy promptly unloaded our baggage and delivered them to each of our 3 rooms. As I checked in I was assisted by the desk agent Ken who was exceptionally courteous and well mannered; [we had a minor setback after one of the sets of room keys failed to work, however Timmy the Valet rushed to assist by informing Ken of the issue. I went down to speak with Ken regarding the key issue, he offered his sincere apologies and explained they were currently in a transition with new room key devices. Ken kindly treated us to a couple cups of coffee and issued new working room keys.] After checking in, I briefly toured the first and second levels of the lobby. The architectural design and features are simply magnificent. The history of the Read House is quite interesting and makes for an exciting stay. ROOMS: As I mentioned, I booked 3 Jr. King Suites. 302, 404, 509. Each room was very clean, had excellent climate controls and appeared to have recently been updated. I was concerned that the rooms would be humid, unclean, and worn due to past reviews I had read which was the reason I decided to book the Jr King Suites (with the hopes that the suites would be better maintained.) The hotel is downtown so the views are pretty much a typical downtown view, nothing impressive when in Chattanooga, TN. I was pleased with our overall stay. Overall Property: As our rooms were in the newer wing of the hotel, I was curious to investigate the older wing. I went to the 4th floor in the older wing and walked the halls. It was noticeably worn and less kept than the rest of the hotel, there was even a dismantled, broken down a/c unit hanging out of the side of the hallway, it appeared as if it had been sitting in that condition for years . I am extremely glad I booked the Jr. King Suites and put myself in the newer wing. The Porters restaurant was great. The fitness center was above expectations and very well kept with all of the equipment functioning properly. The pool was not much to boast of, the waterfall was not on and appeared to be non-working, there was chlorine odor which was a bit strong for the pool area. I could not find a hot-tub anywhere. The club level was great, they offered a decent variety of snack items during dinner hours and a small breakfast during the morning hours. The climate in the club area was rather humid during mid-day but cooled down to a comfortable temperature during early morning and evening/night. Overall, prior to my arrival I had low expectations for this Sheraton property as I am accustomed to staying at Westin properties, however I was pleasantly surprised! I would absolutely stay at the Sheraton Read House again and again over any of the nearby hotels. For a Cat 3 hotel, they are above par in my opinion. May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience While we didn't get to fully enjoy the hotel due to car trouble that got us there late and in a tizzy to attend a wedding. The weather wasn't very cooperative as well..having car trouble in bad weather is never fun. The hotel accommodations were fabulous and certainly made up for our troubles in reaching our destination. Rich in history and charm, the hotel is supposedly haunted.. Apparently the ghosts are as friendly as the employees. Hats off to the valet guys...they were the best! Love the Starbucks downstairs. The location could not have been better. We will definitely go back and stay longer to enjoy this beautiful hotel. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Week-end My wife and I enjoyed a week-end in Chattanoooga recently. WeI wanted to stay downtown so I booked us here. The staff was very welcoming as well as informative about places to go and directions. The room was super. We enjoyed the HUGE garden tub and the room was very nice, large, and inviting. I enjoyed having a table to sit at, drink my coffee, and read the Sunday paper. The sofa and desk were very nice as well. Some have bemoaned the size of the bathrooms, but ours was very nice, had two sinks, and was well stocked with products, from mouthwash to shampoo. The room was very clean, very comfortable, and we will come again! April 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Are you kidding me for this price? The city of Chattanooga needs help improve this place, it is in the center of the downtown and is an embarrassment to a great city that we visit often.This place is beautiful when you enter the door, but the rest of it was a huge let down. The rooms are dark due to poor lighting, the walls and carpeting are very dated and have had some very poor repairs and upkeep done on the them, the carpet was worn out in the 80's and I'm not sure why it hasn't been changed. Then we went down to the "best steak house in Chattanooga" stood at the hostess stand for 10 minutes and couldn't get waited on. Stay somewhere else!!! July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Stay I loved the 2 room set up in the suite. There was plenty of room for the two of us! The hotel is in a great location. I would have liked a refrigerator/microwave for my doggy bag food from nearby restaurants. They had room service, but not a restaurant other than the expensive steak house attached. I do not like eating in my room so we had to go out. We also had to go to other evening venues since the bar closed at 11pm. They had a great pool and service was fine. Bed was a little soft for my tastes, but comfortable with all of the coverings. I had difficulty preparing my contacts with no flat surface near the sink. Shelving was dangerously placed over the toilet and carpet/furniture needed a good cleaning. September 17, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 17 next>>