The Read House Historic Inn & Suites

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar

Crianças por quarto

Esta informação nos permite identificar os quartos que acomodarão melhor o seu grupo e nos preparar para sua chegada.

Consulte os termos e detalhes do quarto para obter informações sobre encargos por cama dobrável e/ou pessoa extra.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 456 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel, fantastic service My wife and I took a weekend trip from Altanta to Chattanooga and had the privilege of staying here. From the moment we checked in, we were greeted by some of the happiest employees I've ever seen in a hotel (Savannah and Anne) and the experience only got better from there. Our room was delightful and well exceeded our expectations. Breakfast at Porters was equally as nice and enjoyable. Even the valet drivers were friendly and cheerful. If only every hotel experience could be as memorable and fun as this one. Great job. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has nice features & is well located in the downtown business $ entertainment district. The Read House is the last of the Grand Old Hotels of Downtown Chattanooga, TN. The remodeling and upgrades to the hotel were completed trying to maintain the grand old essence of the building. The rooms are nice however the entrance to the bathrooms are a little hard to navigate as there is a step up into them you have to used too. Porter's Steak House is very nice and the food was excellent, we would recommend it to anyone. Overall this a very nice place to stay and the staff went out their way to make us feel welcom March 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Charming Old Hotel but needs renovation The staff were very nice at the Sheraton Read House in Chattanooga. The whole hotel needs a renovation. We were on the Club Level--large room but you can see its been nearly a decade since the last renovation (old curtains/furniture seen better days) and since it is an old building understand that the a/c & heating system as well as plumbing system are antiquated. E.G. our room on the 9th floor only had heat--too much heat and if you tried to simply lower the temp it would not get cool at all plus there was a "smell" to the air so had to sleep with no air on at all--you can't open the windows either--wallpaper peeling off and the bathroom had some mold behind the toilet. Plus found a few hairs here and there that weren't ours! Also had about 5-6 Lady Bugs in the room (so how clean is it?) The Club Level which also included breakfast and snacks in the evening also needs some attention (grapes you would not touch nor eat, drinks in the chiller that never got cold,--only had butter knives to eat breakfast food every morning- etc)--While we did not leave thinking it was a horrible place; have stayed at places like that before. Simply put upon arrival asked for a late check out on Sunday so we could relax in but instead realized it was better to just leave early instead. I hope when they do the renovation they try to keep the "feel" of the Read House---the bones of the building are great just needs some modern upgrading. It is centrally located I will say; again the staff are all very helpful and hardworking. The Sheraton brand beds are very comfortable! Porters Steakhouse inside the building is also very good. Nice place for drinks/lunch/ dinner. The Starbucks inside the lobby was a nice convenience as well. I hope that corporate Sheraton (SPG) reads these reviews and realizes its up to them to make this "historic landmark" worth staying at and not just doing a walk through the lobby tour and see how beautiful the building use to be. Chattanooga now has some cute B&Bs inside the city that have more modern conveniences---so they need to realize that the Read House being an historic building is not enough any longer. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel and location I read all the reviews before our stay and was a little worried. I have to say Sheraton did not let us down. The Hotel is historic so don't expect it to be new. We had 2 rooms for 3 nights and they were clean and the beds are the best. Pool was closed the first 2 days but they gave us a pass to use another hotels pool. It opened the last day and the kids got to swim. Location is great and we felt safe walking downtown at night. We will vacation here again! July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A stylish hotel This hotel has the charm and style of older hotels in contrast to the "modern," more stratified decor of newer hotels. The room was big with sleeping and living areas, however comfort was diminished a bit by a very small bathroom. The Starbucks coffee maker was down in the morning, no apologies given. The hotel skimped on staff, making check-in difficult with no concierge to assist. Wi-Fi in the room was much appreciated, and apart from the above criticisms, it was a good stay. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was wonderful! Thank you to the staff of Read House Hotel in Chattanooga for making things easy for me, a grandmother traveling with 5 grandchildren. From my first phone call you were attentive and provided excellent personal attention. Unlike your competitors, who could not guarantee ajoining rooms, your staff understood the importance of my needs and delivered! The bathrooms are a little out of date - which is why I gave you a good on room cleanliness. The beds were super comfortable! Room service was excellent and I love that the person you spoke too was almost always the one who took care of your needs. For instance, kudos to the bellman/valet who spoke to me about retrieving a phone charger from my car and hand delivered to our room within 10 minutes! Thanks for a great stay! August 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement The room was very nice. The hotel overall needs improvement. I had to go to 3 different floors to find an ice machine that was working. Going from floor to floor to find ice I noticed that the stairwells were very unsightly - dirty linens thrown in corners, food trays setting on one floor that appeared to have been there for several days, floors dirty, etc. I had made reservations for the restaurant a week or so in advance but we still had to sit in the bar area. It took forever to get hot water in the shower. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Read House The Read House was clean and he staff was accommodating. The room was larger than most but bathroom much smaller than most. $15 a day parking! That can be avoided by parking on the street (free after 4:30/before 8:00 am as well as weekends). Meters were never hard to find during the day. Restaurant is pricey. Starbucks in building is nice. Great location, walking distance or short trolley ride to many attractions and restaurants. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel This is the third time we've stayed in this hotel but the service is better every time. The bed and linens were great, size of the room was exceptional and customer service was fantastic. Only slight annoyance was asking for extra bath linens a second time before receiving but the hotel was at capacity so I expected some delays. Overall it was a wonderful experience and would recommend them as THE hotel to stay at in Chattanooga. Plus this hotel oozes historic charm so if you enjoy that, this hotel is a must!! January 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Wife and I brought our newborn daughter to Chattanooga for a one-day trip. We reserved the Aquarium package which included 2 tickets to the Aquarium, 2 tickets to the I-MAX, and a $10 voucher to Starbucks. The room was top-class, the staff was very friendly, and the location was ideal, right in the middle of downtown Chattanooga. My favorite part of our stay was the king-size bed. It was the most comfortable mattress that I have ever slept on in my entire life, every muscle relaxed as soon as I laid down on it. March 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Offering cold showers at the Sheraton! We entered the hotel lobby and was immediately impressed. Gorgeous lobby area. There was one person at the counter, even with three couples in line. We booked the romance package and asked to have the sparkling wine and strawberries to be delivered immediately. We were excited about our room. The junior suite had a great layout and a super comfy bed. However, there was no running hot water, so we had cold showers! If anyone has long hair and knows what is involved with cleaning said long hair, understands my pain. My husband went downstairs and noticed there was a maintenance man walking the hallway with a toilet plunger. I believe there were plumbing problems with this hotel. The a/c unit leaked so the floor under it was wet. After 2 1/2 hours, our strawberries and sparkling wine never showed up and we left for dinner. By the time we got back to the hotel, there they were hanging out by the door. The next morning we left the hotel, again after another round of cold showers (I do mean cold, not even a hint of warm water), disappointed by our experience. Would I stay here again? No. August 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy & Smelly! The doors on our hallway slammed really hard on their own as guest come & go. But when housekeeping throws the security latch to keep the door from closing, then leaves and enters the room more than 5 time in less than one minute letting the door slam, it's very disturbing when you are trying to sleep. We would definitely not want to stay on that wing again. It is the wing accessed by the elevators in front of the Fitness Center. The Fitness Center area also reeked of chlorine because of the swimming pool. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Experience This hotel was beyond my expectations. The service at the front desk was quick and very courteous. The decor of this historical hotel was amazing. The room was comfortable, large and very well laid out. The only thing I didn't like was the halls and lobby were hot and there wasn't any ventilation when in these areas. I loved that dogs are allowed and enjoyed playing with them in the lobby. July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location. Overall accomadation was good. I would suggest a microwave/refrigerator for rooms and some type of complimentary snacks or beverages for guests. The hotel offers nothing for guests too "look forward to!". Finally, I would have liked to completely close the curtains in my room. I don't like light shining in the room while I'm sleeping and feel that my privacy is being invaded after bathing. The white sheers are light and transparent. Get your pool repaired! Inconvenient going to other hotels! Thank you. June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel - Good Price This hotel is nice, especially for the price. The staff is wonderful. My only complaint was the bathroom. The tub needs resurfaced, and the bathroom ceiling leaked from the room above me. I assumed it was from the person taking a shower, as if happened about once a day. However, the hotel is quite charming, the room was very nice, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. For the price, it was a good stay. Plus, there is a nice little diner across the street, and the hotel is located close to the water. November 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good Experience Overall, the room was good. I do love staying at Sheraton Hotels because they have the most comfortable beds. At this facility though, we first had trouble locating our room because there was no room number outside. The receptionist said they have problems with people stealing room numbers. Why don't you think about a way of attaching room numbers so they can't be stolen? Then we had trouble figuring out how to turn on the shower. Yes, you fill like an idiot calling down to the receptionist and having them explain that you have to pull down on the spout for the tub to activate the shower. A small sign in the bathroom directing people to do that would probably help. The staff, with both of these minor problems, were more than friendly and helpful. The valets were especially courteous. June 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Read House Needs Massive Upgrades Bed mattress sagged causing back pain the following morning; bathroom fixtures were rusted, my Gold level status was not recognized at check in, and management decided to forego access to the Club lounge in lieu of breakfast coupons in the main dining room. This is a much slower process for business travelers & costs more for the hotel with people like me who only want coffee, yogurt and a piece of fruit! July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Hotel was great except for the A/C My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a romantic getaway. We booked a suite and paid for the romance package which offered champagne and chocolate cover fruit. It was very nice all the way around. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The only complaint that I have was the A/C unit in the room was very noisy I made a high pitched squeaking noise he entire time it was running. The only thing that made it stop was shutting the vent off completely. June 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is not up to expectations. I've stayed in Read House before and found the accommodations much better before I became a 'preferred guest'. This trip, after one night I moved to another hotel. The annexed sections, by the pool, are in need of complete renovation: walls are stained, paper peeling, ceilings have water stains, carpet in my room needed replacing, tub desperately needed reglazing and bathroom needed updating. For a hotel with the reputation and cost of Sheraton, this particular facility was very disappointing. March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Over the Top Service from Front Desk A rare ocassion to bring all the family together and we chose Chattanooga. Hotel is about a one mile walk to the river, aquarium and best dining areas but we enjoyed the walks. Room cleanliness was not what it should have been (food crumbs in corners, clothing left in sleeper sofa) but was easily overlooked because of the great treatment we received from Kevin, the front office manager, and Joshua. Both were extremely helpful to take care of all our needs and questions. We plan on returning. March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Sheraton Read House Exceeds All Expectations As I first walked in the hotel, I was taken aback by all the ornate decor.There was much time taken to restore the historical integrity in the lobby.The rooms are also well designed to provide both comfort and style.Excellent service was delivered by every member of the staff we encountered.Porters, the restaurant on site, served the highest quality steaks and cuisine that one could find.Having frequented other luxury hotels,I can honestly say that the Sheraton Read House ranks among the finest. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice We arrived at 3 a.m. Dennis Rhea was working at the desk. Really nice guy. The hotel software was switching over from night to day so we had to wait about 20 minutes which was a drag. But Dennis was real nice and got us checked in and into a great room at this very nice hotel as quickly as possible. A great place to stay if you are ever in Chattanooga. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of character! great downtown location. food was good. parking convenient. make sure you dont get the haunted room :) August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charming Excellence This historic hotel warms the soul. Sheraton quality - comfy beds and baths. Know this is a historic building and rooms are not cookie-cutter, set your expectations accordingly. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice staff great beds good food This property's best asset is the staff. Everyone that we encountered was very nice and attentive. The room was adequate except that wi if was not available in the "newer" part of the hotel. We had to leave the room and go to the lobby in order to check out restaurants or driving directions. The bathroom was extremely small but functional. The overall decor of the room was dated. The beds were very comfortable. If you are looking for function this room is fine. Valet service was very good . Everything is within walking distance but some attractions are a long walk away. On a funny note, every evening at 5:30 the cover to the heating and cooling unit would pop off onto the floor. I presume it was one of the legendary ghosts that wonder this property. Porters is very good for a special occasion the food and service were great! May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel This hotel is excellent! I loved the old school hardwood throughout the lobby and the friendliness of the staff. This is definitely a great place to stay and is located in a nice part of the city. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this place I come to Chattanooga about 4 times a year and I always stay here . The staff is so polite and helpful. I love the location and everything about the hotel !! It's beautiful !! Its a wonderful location for the whole family !! August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Definitely not worth the price The room I initially reserved online was not available when I arrived, the hotel overlooked. I was offered another, smaller room, which was fine. I was a little surprised to learn that the smaller room was charged st the same rate as the initial room. The money was not a big deal, but I wouldn't be writing this review if the Read House had given us even a $10 break as acknowledgement. At 11:00 pm, we also awoke to find the air conditioner was broken, so we spent s hot sweaty night. It was apparently out in our whole wing of the hotel and even the corridors were 80+. The pool was gross, cloudy water and unsupervised children everywhere. Staff was really really nice, though. Valet guys were super, even though they were busy. A waitress st Porter's went out of her way to make my six year old son feel at home. May 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellence in Chattanooga We have stayed at the Sheraton Read House in Chattanooga before and have never been disappointed. The location is the best and the staff is beyond accommodating. From check-in to picking up our car from valet parking at check-out, everything went very smoothly. We could not ask for more from a hotel. It is a beautiful, older building with all the modern amenities we need. We so enjoy staying at the Sheraton Read House and will definitely be back when we return to Chattanooga. May 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location Good location, central to Chattanooga tourist spots. Jr Suite furnishings were kind of shoddy, wood furniture worn, upholstered chairs dirty. Rooms need a 'facelift'. Maid svc did not leave towels or face cloths. Had to request bedding for third bed after we arrived. Bill was initially messed up but was quickly fixed. Staff was friendly and professional on Saturday. Sunday phone staff not so much. Room service was good as was food. Was disappointed in the room for the price. October 6, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 16 next>>