Hotel New Orleans Downtown

  • 333 Poydras Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 385 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel in Transition, need more focus on providing base services The Hotel is currently changing from the W to the Le Meridien. In the change, they have lots of construction going on, which happens starting at 8a each day. If you are on a higher floor (new room), you get to deal with the construction most of the day. After a night out in NOLA, the last thing you want to hear is a drill at 830 in the morning. At the same time, they are still in transition of services, house keeping was lax, they did not provide all of the standards I expect from any Starwood hotel. In the end, I would go to the Westin or Sheraton while they are converting and hope they will improve once the conversion is done. July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unhappy Customer This hotel is going through a much needed renovation. However, this is no excuse for the poor condition of my room, nor the poor customer service from the front desk staff. The carpet in my room was grimy, the chaise lounge was stained and sprinkled with food crumbs, there was no chest of drawers to store my belongings, the ironing board cover was stained, the phone did not work, and after the first day, our Bliss products were switched out with some other brand. On a good note, the rest of the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Overall, my experience was unacceptable and far from what I know of the W Hotel brand. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wait until renovation is over I booked this hotel assuming that it was still the W Hotel. It was not. While they were able to upgrade me to a renovated room for my inconvenience, I was still dissatisfied. Why? They were doing renovations in the TWO rooms next to mine, the vent cover in the room was not secured well which made me very uncomfortable and the shower rod fell on me when I went to get into the shower because it had not been secured. I wish it had been a better stay. When renovations are going on, go elsewhere. July 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by You've been warned...we didn't listen We reserved a room several months ago, but didn't really read the reviews before reserving. We have stayed at many W's and know their reputation. We've never been disappointed by this hotel chain, so why would we think this one would be different. After reading the reviews, learning that it was a bit dusty, but was getting a well deserved renovation, we started looking at different hotels in the area. We waited too late because most of the hotels were booked, due to the Essence Music Festival. Our corner room was ready when we arrived. So, the first thing that I did was inspect the room and do a quick "once over" with my own wipes in the bathroom and drawers. The dust was apparent, but the room didn't look dirty per say, just dusty and old. We knew that going in. Right away, we could hear the pretty constant tapping from the hammers and drill sounds. After a couple of hours of turning up the volume on the tv, we called the front desk to see if there was a quieter room and were told that you could hear it from anywhere in the building through the pipes. We were disappointed, but again, knew that there was construction going on prior to arrival. We were excited to see the city, so we unpacked and went on our way. We arrived back at our room around 3 a.m., on the 4th of July, but didn't manage to go to sleep until around 4. Yep, you guessed it, the workers woke us up before 8 a.m. with the hammering and drilling!!!! We just knew that at least this one day, the 4th, would be quiet. We called the front desk and were unapologetically told that they work seven days a week. We couldn't be mad with anyone but ourselves because people on TripAdvisor and SPG warned us!! So, since we couldn't sleep, we got up to take our showers and hang out. I walked into the bathroom to turn the shower on and noticed debris in the tub and the vent in the shower had a gap wide enough for us to see "daylight" inside. As a girl, my fear was, if I could see out, someone could see in. We called downstairs again and were told that they were sending someone up to clean the tub and fix the vent. All the while, we could still hear the noise from the workers. Four people came to work, including clean, in the bathroom and while doing so, I heard stuff fall from the ceiling into the tub and one of the men said, "I'm not breathing this mess." Well, why would we want to breathe it? A little while later, a lady, cleaning the tub, sneezed. Someone said, "Bless you. It's this stuff from them working up there. They knocked stuff in." I knew at that moment, I had no desire to continue breathing God Knows What! We asked to move, but were told there wasn't anything immediately available, but she said that she would try to find something. A little while later, something "came available." We were offered a newly renovated room, which we gladly accepted. Sadly, it was room by the elevators, where you could hear every single conversation, every single elevator ding, etc. However, we gladly stayed so we wouldn't get stuck in the bad "air" room. It was nicely renovated, except there aren't any towel racks to place moist (after shower) towels on, the sink makes a loud dripping noise if you don't keep the sink stopper closed at all times, and the water from the shower manages to seep underneath the shower door and get the bathroom floor wetter with each person's shower. I didn't complain because the room was nice and clean and I know that these are simple issues that will, at some point, be rectified. One last thing, the noise was still very noticeable and very annoying, but wasn't as unbearable as the first room. If we'd taken heed to the warnings on TripAdvisor and SPG, we certainly would have stayed somewhere else. You've been warned! July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Handling the Transition Poorly I got an email that the hotel was being transitioned over to a Le Meridian from W Hotel Downtown - NOLA. I was put in a room that received insane drilling noise starting around 7 or 8. The TV was broken. The room wasn't cleaned one day. One of the lights were broke. It was pretty awful. Told the management and they comped dinner. No reduction in the stay for the above mentioned conditions. I'd recommend this hotel for people that enjoy comically bad customer service and money pit style hotel conditions! July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by W - New Orleans Canal Street Rooms were worn down and unkept - didn't feel clean. Bed was very uncomfortable. Lobby was nice... rooms were not. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible My experience was so awful, I probably won't stay at any Starwood property again unless I have to. I submitted a complaint to the hotel manager and online already. The short time I spent in the hotel room was miserable. I was unable to work or sleep due to the drilling, sanding, scraping and banging. Our bathroom flooded, the staff was rude, poorly trained and unwilling to listen to any complaints. When I gave this feedback upon check out, I was told indignantly that I had been notified in advance. I am an event planner and needed to be in town for work during a busy time. Other hotel options were booked by the time I received the notice. The room I had was uninhabitable, not to mention not up to W's standards. They didn't offer me a single thing for my troubles except attitude and dirty looks. Sorry for expecting more! July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a great W I stay at a lot of W's and Westin's and this one is not one of the best. The location is poor, the staff unresponsive and the food and drink options are meager. The main bar is basically part of the lobby and doesn't feel all that welcoming. The lounge is overly loud. Sometimes noone answered at the front desk or valet. The valet was slow. Food delivery for my coworker took nearly an hour -- for cereal. Construction, which we were told was far from our rooms, was in fact directly over our rooms. The positive of this place is the pool terrace. The gym is decent, not great. July 16, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>