Hotel New Orleans Downtown

  • 333 Poydras Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 392 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel in Transition, need more focus on providing base services The Hotel is currently changing from the W to the Le Meridien. In the change, they have lots of construction going on, which happens starting at 8a each day. If you are on a higher floor (new room), you get to deal with the construction most of the day. After a night out in NOLA, the last thing you want to hear is a drill at 830 in the morning. At the same time, they are still in transition of services, house keeping was lax, they did not provide all of the standards I expect from any Starwood hotel. In the end, I would go to the Westin or Sheraton while they are converting and hope they will improve once the conversion is done. July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unhappy Customer This hotel is going through a much needed renovation. However, this is no excuse for the poor condition of my room, nor the poor customer service from the front desk staff. The carpet in my room was grimy, the chaise lounge was stained and sprinkled with food crumbs, there was no chest of drawers to store my belongings, the ironing board cover was stained, the phone did not work, and after the first day, our Bliss products were switched out with some other brand. On a good note, the rest of the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Overall, my experience was unacceptable and far from what I know of the W Hotel brand. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No longer a W Hotel, not that good I stayed in a new renovated room that was not finished yet. Chairs for desk weren't in the room and when one was brought it was the wrong size for the desk. If I had known that this hotel was no longer a W Hotel and was a LeMeridien I probably wouldn't have stayed there. July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Water cut off at 8:00 am I stayed here before when the hotel was the W and had a pleasant experience. Unfortunately, during this trip we were notified late on Wed evening that the water and AC would be cut off starting at 8:00 am due to maintenance. If this had been disclosed earlier, we would have stayed elsewhere. Nothing like having a vacation day and a rare chance to sleep in interrupted by an inconsiderate staff. While I fully understand maintenance requirements, this could have been communicated before check in so we could have made a better hotel choice. July 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Find a Different Hotel This hotel was one of my favorites for 14 years. Not sure if it was due to the change to LeMeridian Hotel or staff/management but this was my worst hotel stay anywhere! My A/C was out the entire 4 days. They had shut off the main water supply to the A/C during the repairs and never turned it back on. It took maintenance 45 minutes to bleed the air from the water line and still did not reduce the temperature. My room remained a balmy 80 degrees the entire stay. We had to prop our door open to the hallway to get cool air. The lobby no longer had a club and so the hip and trendy hotel is no more! It was filled with teenagers and "Brand New 21 year-olds that could not handle their liquor. They yelled and acted out so much it was impossible to enjoy a drink at the martini bar. I couldn't believe the manager did not ask them to leave the area. I was miserable. As a gift to us from management, we were told we would have a gift waiting for us in our room when we arrived. I still have the email but NOTHING ever was placed in my tiny room. I will NEVER, yes I said NEVER, stay at this hotel again!! And if you're smart, you'll book elsewhere, too. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by In transition -- and horrendous I had stayed at this property for work 3 years ago on about 8 different occasions. I've also stayed at virtually all of the other SPG properties in central New Orleans. This property was undergoing its transition from a W to a Le Meridien. We were notified of this change about 2 weeks before our stay -- too late to change anything, and so we figured it wouldn't be too much of a problem. But it was. As a Lifetime Gold SPG member, I was surprised to find out that 2 of the 4 rooms in my block were not available for check in...at 9pm. The reason given to us was that the housekeeping manager had not yet approved them. After waiting for 20 minutes, the front desk person offered us drink coupons for the bar. The "bartender" did not know what a sazerac was (in New Orleans, of all places), and also did not know the difference between "neat" and "on the rocks". After returning much later in the night and attempting to check in, I was given the room key to one of the 2 rooms which I had booked, and my friends sorted out the other room. After I got up to my room, the bags which were supposed to be sent to my room (since I couldn't check in earlier) were not there. The door opened 5 minutes later with my friends -- the front desk person had given them keys to the same room. After another 20 minutes, she "finds" the other room I had booked, and we go there. Every other hotel annoyance problem of course happened -- we arrived to a room without toiletries or toilet paper. Of course, the telephone was also out. After calling the front desk from my cell phone, they bring these things up after about 30 minutes. What took the cake though, was the used contact lens that was left sitting on the counter. My roommate and I didn't figure this out until the end of the weekend -- when we realized that neither of us wear contacts. In over 100 stays with SPG over the last 5-6 years, this was most definitely the worst stay I have ever had. It's a shame too, as this used to be a very good property. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by You've been warned...we didn't listen We reserved a room several months ago, but didn't really read the reviews before reserving. We have stayed at many W's and know their reputation. We've never been disappointed by this hotel chain, so why would we think this one would be different. After reading the reviews, learning that it was a bit dusty, but was getting a well deserved renovation, we started looking at different hotels in the area. We waited too late because most of the hotels were booked, due to the Essence Music Festival. Our corner room was ready when we arrived. So, the first thing that I did was inspect the room and do a quick "once over" with my own wipes in the bathroom and drawers. The dust was apparent, but the room didn't look dirty per say, just dusty and old. We knew that going in. Right away, we could hear the pretty constant tapping from the hammers and drill sounds. After a couple of hours of turning up the volume on the tv, we called the front desk to see if there was a quieter room and were told that you could hear it from anywhere in the building through the pipes. We were disappointed, but again, knew that there was construction going on prior to arrival. We were excited to see the city, so we unpacked and went on our way. We arrived back at our room around 3 a.m., on the 4th of July, but didn't manage to go to sleep until around 4. Yep, you guessed it, the workers woke us up before 8 a.m. with the hammering and drilling!!!! We just knew that at least this one day, the 4th, would be quiet. We called the front desk and were unapologetically told that they work seven days a week. We couldn't be mad with anyone but ourselves because people on TripAdvisor and SPG warned us!! So, since we couldn't sleep, we got up to take our showers and hang out. I walked into the bathroom to turn the shower on and noticed debris in the tub and the vent in the shower had a gap wide enough for us to see "daylight" inside. As a girl, my fear was, if I could see out, someone could see in. We called downstairs again and were told that they were sending someone up to clean the tub and fix the vent. All the while, we could still hear the noise from the workers. Four people came to work, including clean, in the bathroom and while doing so, I heard stuff fall from the ceiling into the tub and one of the men said, "I'm not breathing this mess." Well, why would we want to breathe it? A little while later, a lady, cleaning the tub, sneezed. Someone said, "Bless you. It's this stuff from them working up there. They knocked stuff in." I knew at that moment, I had no desire to continue breathing God Knows What! We asked to move, but were told there wasn't anything immediately available, but she said that she would try to find something. A little while later, something "came available." We were offered a newly renovated room, which we gladly accepted. Sadly, it was room by the elevators, where you could hear every single conversation, every single elevator ding, etc. However, we gladly stayed so we wouldn't get stuck in the bad "air" room. It was nicely renovated, except there aren't any towel racks to place moist (after shower) towels on, the sink makes a loud dripping noise if you don't keep the sink stopper closed at all times, and the water from the shower manages to seep underneath the shower door and get the bathroom floor wetter with each person's shower. I didn't complain because the room was nice and clean and I know that these are simple issues that will, at some point, be rectified. One last thing, the noise was still very noticeable and very annoying, but wasn't as unbearable as the first room. If we'd taken heed to the warnings on TripAdvisor and SPG, we certainly would have stayed somewhere else. You've been warned! July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very unhappy with my stay I stayed here for over 2 months, working on a movie set. At check in, I gave my spg number and was told I would be receiving a large amount of spg points for my stay. I was also offered 500 points each time I skipped housekeeping service, which I agreed to have every 3rd day. My wife also confirmed this during her call to spg.com to make sure my spg number was on the reservation. Upon checkout, I was told I would not receive any points because my employer was paying for the room. This is ridiculous because I could have paid for the room and had my employer reimburse me if needed, but was never told that. I could have stayed at a more convenient hotel which would have awarded points and offered more perks; I stayed at the W for such a long time because of my reliance on the points and I am very dissapointed that the W did not award points for my stay that were promised to me. I will not be returning to the W on my next job there in New Orleans and will be reluctant to do my future hotel stays with SPG. July 26, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>