Hotel New Orleans Downtown

  • 333 Poydras Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 389 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lacking This hotel was lacking the basic amenities that one is accustom from a SPG property. There were no towels in the bathroom, and no water in the room. I hope this not the new SPG standard. July 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible My experience was so awful, I probably won't stay at any Starwood property again unless I have to. I submitted a complaint to the hotel manager and online already. The short time I spent in the hotel room was miserable. I was unable to work or sleep due to the drilling, sanding, scraping and banging. Our bathroom flooded, the staff was rude, poorly trained and unwilling to listen to any complaints. When I gave this feedback upon check out, I was told indignantly that I had been notified in advance. I am an event planner and needed to be in town for work during a busy time. Other hotel options were booked by the time I received the notice. The room I had was uninhabitable, not to mention not up to W's standards. They didn't offer me a single thing for my troubles except attitude and dirty looks. Sorry for expecting more! July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointing stay. Sorry, but you guys really have dropped the ball. I can say this having worked with Starwood myself... I understand that you are undergoing renovation and are changing from W to Le Meredien. However, a quality hotel (especially when remaining a part of the Starwood family) is able to operate in a way that the inconvenience for the guest is minimized. In this case, it appeared across the board that the staff really could care less, and there was no presence of management to be found... This was my 4th visit to Tales of the Cocktail, and my third stay at the W on Poydras St. Here are my comments - Arrival: - Towels in guest room had holes/tears. - Cobwebs on the light fixtures - Room was not vacuumed - Half a roll of toilet paper in bathroom - Window blinds were covered in dust. During: - Most often, no employee present in the lobby - AC & Water issues (although I was warned at check-in) - Construction noise issues (although I was warned at check-in) - Took 2 - 3 calls on avg. just to get thru to room service - regardless of time of day - no answer, nor apology for this. Departure: - Again, no-one in lobby. - Doorman sleeping/watching TV in an SUV parked in the entry. Stepped out and offered to help aftert I already hailed a cab to the airport and while lifting my own luggage. For charging upwards of $250 a night for a reservation made over a month in advance, courtesy would be to advise the guest that there is construction going on and that there may be an inconvenience, thereby giving enough time to opt for alternate accommodations. Having spent 3 nights there at a premium rate, all the Concierge offered was 5000 SPG points... That's not even half a night at any Starwood hotel... Very disappointed this time, and will look at several other options in NOLA has to offer when coming to Tales 2015. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a great W I stay at a lot of W's and Westin's and this one is not one of the best. The location is poor, the staff unresponsive and the food and drink options are meager. The main bar is basically part of the lobby and doesn't feel all that welcoming. The lounge is overly loud. Sometimes noone answered at the front desk or valet. The valet was slow. Food delivery for my coworker took nearly an hour -- for cereal. Construction, which we were told was far from our rooms, was in fact directly over our rooms. The positive of this place is the pool terrace. The gym is decent, not great. July 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice room, great staff Mattress needs improvement..... Not much support and hard around edges, sinks in middle; Also AC did not work well. I would recommend due to location, and nice room in terms of set up, bathroom... lacked in mattress July 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing experience The hotel was not as nice as I expected, but they are under renovations. Which is fine, but the hotel failed to make ANY mention of the construction prior to booking my stay or even when I checked in. From 9am to 6pm all day every day there was literally a jackhammer SOOO extremely loud above my room that I literally could not make a phone call, could not watch tv, couldn't lay in my room and relax, nothing. I cannot even express how insanely loud it was all day long every day. When I called the front desk to enquire, they essentially told me too bad. I insisted that I knew NOTHING about the construction prior to booking my stay and I most certainly would NEVER have booked that hotel if I had known upfront the condition of the hotel and the constant brain pounding noise I would have to endure the entire time. The staff made no apologies or any attempt to rectify the situation other than offering to send a beverage to my room. Absolutely unacceptable customer service and I feel like they duped me into staying there by concealing the fact that they were under full construction and my stay would be much less than comfortable. I was shocked for the W. I expected a very nice professional comfortable stay and it was a complete nightmare and I will never return, not because of the construction, but because of the complete lack of concern by customer service. July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by RM 902 1. Cost...me and a few others booked our room at the same time for the same date, however, I paid $100 more, I assumed I paid for a suite maybe so I didn't make a fuss. That was far from the truth. 2. Room Comfort...the carpet was disgusting, there was no microwave and the mini fridge did not work and held a "puddle" of water inside. The shower faucet would not shut off completely so water ran CONSTANTLY. (NOT DRIPPING, RUNNING); The AC was not working properly, it kept the room at "ROOM TEMPERATURE", the thermostat showed 68° but it felt like 79°; the sheets had several small holes that were displayed upon entering the room. 3. Staff responsiveness...after viewing the room, my husband quickly notified the manager on duty, a microwave/fridge was quickly brought up to the room, and the sheets were changed. We were told an "engineer" would come up and check the bathroom and AC...never happened. We were told nothing could be done because the room had been "PREPAID" and was given "free parking", which costed us $50!! WOW what a thank-you after spending $250 for a room that was horrible to say the least. 4.Quality of Sleep...we tried closing the bathroom door to muffle the sound of running water, that didn't work. At around 8:30a (Sunday morning), our sleep ended due to sounds of construction going on at the hotel. Maybe after the renovations this hotel will be up to par but as of NOW...STAY AWAY!! You'll be upset!! July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Eh... This hotel is currently under construction to become a Le Meridien. Good thing. I used to LOVE this hotel. But, on this visit, I noticed how crowded and closely spaced the doors are--meaning you can hear every neighbor come and go. I could hear a bit of the construction on floors above me. I also noticed all sorts of scuff marks on the walls, leaving the room to just look dirty, ill-cared for, poorly appointed. But the worst was my shower not working and my wake-up call never happening. These both could've been much worse situations. And when I called later to complain, the manager did offer a credit or points on my membership. I took the credit, because the room (and experience) was certainly not worth what I paid for it. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I thought I booked a W! This hotel is not up to Starwood standard. I knew it was being refurbished but one day it was a W and the next it wasn't. A very tired and shabby place. Reception staff were always very courteous. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by generally dissappointed I am a lifetime gold member and stay almost exclusively at Starwood hotels so my expectations are pretty high going in. When I checked in I was told that I was being provided with a freshly renovated room. What I wasn't told was that the room was not yet completed. For the most part the room was clean and fresh. But there were some glaring problems. There was not a desk chair so during my stay I had to sit on the banquette in the room to use my laptop and to eat. That alone made my stay less than a good experience. I called the front desk and asked them if they could get me a chair. They told me that the new chairs had not arrived yet, but they would try to find something I could use. They did not respond after that and no chair was brought to the room. I also had to call and ask for a room service menu, and the room did not have a personal coffee service, which I tend to expect. I would like to say that I will return to the W on my next trip next month, but right now I am not certain I will give it another shot. July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to be remodeled and rooms/bathrooms need to be updated My hotel room was not clean upon my arrival. I had to call the front desk and ask for my bedding to be changed because the sheets were stained. The bathroom was not clean. For the price of $169 nightly I would have liked WiFi in my room and continental breakfast would be nice. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfort bed Very nice and comfort bed. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Hotel for SPG Members SPG members get recognized for their loyalty at this location. Great well trained Staff. October 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was dirty and run down Our room was dirty, dingy and rusty. There were stains on the shower curtain and the carpet. The toilet made an awful high pitched screeching noise for 30 seconds every time it was flushed. Our TV remote didn't work and we had to ask 3 times for it to be fixed. The bed sheets were too small and didn't sufficiently cover the mattress so we awoke in the middle of the night lying directly on the mattress. I paid for internet on my laptop and when I called to connect with my iPad I was told I would need to pay again. Overall if was a terrible experience and I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. I have asked multiple times for compensation with no response. October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another Good Stay An ok stay. A overhaul of this Hotel is under way. Looking forward to that. This W hotel has been around for a while. It does needs a change. November 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff and Hotel do not live up to the W standards Just returned from a business trip with clients and had the worst experiance with the W hotel or any hotel ever. The Managers Kenya and Segan did nothing to accomidate our group after finding out the travel agent book everyone in King rooms instead of two twins. Segan has informed us that the hotel accross the strret could take care of us but they too were full and after asking him for my help he simply disappeared and we never saw him again. So we ended up having half the group in one hotel and the other half in this hotel andI would say the facility and rooms are not up to the normal W standard you get in other citys I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ms. Vee Great location, walking distance to everything. FREE internet should be in all rooms, when a 12 hour a day party is in the lobby. Impossible to access the internet in the W living room. July 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst hotel experience i've ever had I hardly ever fill out these surveys but my experience was so terrible I plan to fill out reviews on every travel site. My problems: 1) My first room assigned was unclean. There was hair in the bed and all over the bathroom. There was a pill on the bathroom floor. 2) The front staff charged my credit card wrong three times. First time, they charged me a rate for one night of $965 when my agreed upon rate was $189. Then the second night, they charged a rate of $265 when again, it was $189. I have complained four times to the front desk about this and it is still not corrected. 3) The four hour DJ blasting music at the hotel pool is ridiculous. 4) the construction noise is loud and the hotel did nothing to help the situation. I specifically asked for a lower floor for more quiet, and instead I was assigned the 6th floor overlooking the pool/insanely loud DJ parties. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Apparently the wrong night to stay here When I checked in the lady greeted me and was nice and explained all amenities including 24 hour room service. Later after shift change, I went to the front desk to ask for change and she told me to go get change at the bar on the 2nd floor. I went up there and was told that the front desk would have to give me change. I left the hotel for a few hours and asked a different lady at the front desk what was available to eat besides the 24 hour room service and she told me that not only was there nothing open there, but apparently there isn't even room service available tonight. This hotel sucks! They told me I could order food from a 3rd party - gee frickin thanks! Oh, and the toilet in my room runs all of the time. July 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upgraded Room wasn't much of an upgrade I travel frequently, often times 15+ hotel stays a month lately I've been trying to stick to SPG hotels. This was my first stay at this particular W, and I must say I was pretty disappointed. I've been to the hotel for various events etc, so I expected better. Usually I'm offered room/suite upgrades, I had to specifically ask this time, and they were reluctant to do so it seems, which is odd seeing that I have 40 stays with them in the last 60 days. Yet on top of the "upgraded" room (higher floor, corner room)I received the furniture was dirty, the walls in the bath room were dirty, the fixtures and furniture throughout the bathroom were rusty and the darn toilet has a problem because every 5 minutes it runs. If this is how they treat frequent loyal customers or if this is the best(or anywhere near) they have to offer I don't think I'll be staying here again. Definitely Disappointed. August 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience ever The only thing that was good about my stay was the location. It is very conveniently located. I stayed during fourth of July weekend, Thursday to Monday. Upon checkin the room i reserved (king bed) was not available and there was nothing available the entire weekend to switch to. So i was given double beds. When i asked the front desk staff what size were the beds (full or queen) she had no idea. There was a fight outside of my room in which i had to call hotel security for. The walls are paper thin. I could hear the music coming from the room across the hall from mine and anyone that passed by the door. Everything needs to be cleaned and updated. Bathroom fixtures had rust on them. Hotel frequently ran out of clean towels. The hotel is in the process of massive renovations so every morning after late nights in a town that never sleeps I was woken up at 7:30am with drilling, banging, sawing.... you name it. At one point i thought they were going to come through the ceiling of my room. This construction continued nonstop until about 6:45pm EVERYDAY!! It was supposed to be from 9am-6pm which never happened. Bar staff is extremely rude. I went to the bar in the lobby on 3 different days to ask for a cup, water, or ice (1 item on each day) and was told that I could not have it. Who wont give their guest a cup of water!! I would have gladly gone to my room to get any of the three had the elevators worked properly. On average it took about 30 minutes to get up and back down. Basically you couldn't pay me to stay here. July 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst experience I ever had HORRIBLE will not recommend this hotel to anyone the level of service has gone down July 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable I was very disappointed at the issues I had at the W. had to check out 2 days early on my vacation. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by not worth it The room was clean. That is my only compliment. I paid extra for corner room, which meant that I was sandwiched between two other rooms. It was so loud I could hear the next room snoring. It says there is extra square footage, but I think it was in the hallway. The day we checked out, someone knocked on our door at 09:00 to see if we checked out already. We didn't need to leave until 12:00. What was the point? Don't they have computers for that? To top it off, when I got home and saw the email of my receipt, there was a charge for the mini bar that we never used. September 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a real W My room was not very clean and there appeared to be blood on the chaise in the room. Hairs could be seen on the floor and my sheets had a hole in them One of my towels had dark spots on it and did not smell fresh. When I checked in I agreed to forgo cleaning for the first 2 days of my stay, but I was there 5 nights and my room was never cleaned I requested an early wake up call the morning of my departure and it never came. Thankfully it was a backup or I would have missed my flight. I have stayed at many W hotels and typically the are on the higher end side. This one was not even close. I love spg and want you guys to do well. Sorry to be so harsh. A positive was that my check in was very efficient and the room service was pretty good. March 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never stay here again I made reservations in December 2013 for July 3-7 2014. Upon arrival I was told renovations were going on. They failed to notifiy me prior to my arrival to give me the opportunity to find other hotel accommodations. The hours of renovations were suppose to be from 10 am to 6 pm daily an construction was on the 16-21 floors, but my husband and I were awakened every morning before 0900 and even at 0730 it sounded like they were above ours heads, and we stayed on the 10th floor. Mind you that this is Essence Weekend and we did not go to bed until 2 am (late concerts). I complained about not being made aware of renovations until I checked in the very next morning and was told that I could check out without penalty, but where was I to go? This is Essence Weekend and the city was sold out. The front desk director (Claire) was very rude on 2 different occasions and told me the only thing that all she could do was give me 2000 reward points. She also told me that I received an email about the renovations, and I did not. I was also told that this was on the website in December when I made my reservations, and no it was not. It was not put on the webiste until May 2014 according to Customer Service. I still have my conformation letter from where I made reservations in December. I asked to see the property manager but was told that they were in a meeting and that my information would be given to them to conatact me. To date no one has contacted me. I should not have had to pay the full price and should have been partially reimbursed for the stay because I had no say so in this matter. If I had been given given proper notice, I would have found other accommodations. I never would have booked a hotel that was under going construction. This basically ruined my vacation. I will never stay at that location again. During the day, you could not even get through the lobby for the party goers. They had day parties and the lobby is small. The parties should have been kept to the ballroom on the 4th floor. For the price, it was not worth it. There are no vending machines, front desk director rude, the rooms were filthy and full of dust, stains on the chaisse lounger, carpet stained, the bathroom was filthy, the decor dated to 1990s. The place needs to be demolished and start all over. My husband and I travel quite frequently. We have been around the world being prior military and this is by far the worst hotle that I have ever stayed in. July 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WoW...not the good kind Ever since it opened, the W Hotel on Poydras has been our HQ when we visit the Big Easy. We enjoyed the style, service and vibe of the property. But what a difference 2 years can make. Still on the ball; the valet and bell service…and well that is about it. I’ve never written a negative review and regret doing so, but hopefully other Starwood Preferred members will appreciate the blunt honesty. At check-in the desk agent was barely audible over the enlivened guests at the bar. I’m usually the one in the group that says, “hey, did you hear that?” to replies of “hear what?”, so I know it’s not my hearing. After asking the young lady to repeat herself 3 times, and then specifically asking her to speak up, she refused to do so. I’ve never been required to work that hard to check in to a hotel, even in foreign countries where I didn’t speak the language. As we checked in, our 5 pound Maltese was proudly displayed on my mate’s shoulder in his sporty, soft side, travel crate. Nothing was said about him, a pet deposit or fee. A few hours later a Pet Waiver mysteriously showed up under our room door after we’d unpacked and enjoyed a glass of wine at the bar. Uncomfortable with the late notice and what we considered to be an exorbitant fee, we immediately went to the front desk to register our concerns. My mate had a pleasant discussion with the desk agent (a different one) where she told the agent we’d be happy to pay for any damages done by our 5 pound monster (joke, he never made a peep) and was not interested in paying the $100 fee and asked that it not be charged. To which the agent replied that under the circumstances, she didn’t see a problem with the fee being waived. At that time, it was made VERY clear, that if there was going to be a problem with waiving the fee, that we were to be contacted IMMEDIATELY. This was about 5:00 pm. It wasn’t until we were checking out of the hotel the next morning at 3:45 am-ish that upon reviewing our portfolio that we found the $100 pet fee. We relayed to the desk agent that the fee had been waived, but she insisted that it be paid. We declined, citing the other agent's waiving the fee and lack of contact to the contrary and proceeded to make our way to the airport. That morning, as well as the night before we had no hot water in either the shower or the tub. Is it too much to ask the basis bases be covered; hot water, clean towels, sheets etc.? A request was made when we checked in for a few items; 2nd luggage stand, some Equal, etc., nothing exotic or excessive. We only received ½ of the items requested with no follow up on what wasn’t received. After getting back home I received an email from the hotel’s Welcome Office Talent Coach personally apologizing for the confusion and confirming the waiver of the disputed pet fee. Unfortunately, the following day the credit card used for the room was checked on line to find not 1, not 2, but 3 separate $100 charges. Upon contacting the Welcome Office manager by phone, he said that they’d basically changed their minds and were charging us a pet fee. He was very indifferent about the failings of his staff, 2 of whom waived the fee (once in writing) and indignant about his position. The bottom line is at this Starwood W Hotel, Whatever/Whenever means that they will try to charge you Whatever they want, Whenever they want. Without warning they feel free to put $100 hold or charges on your card and renege on their promises to the detriment of Starwood Preferred Guests. But don’t just take my word for it. Look at the reviews on Trip Advisor and the W’s own website: http://www.starwoodhotels.com/whotels/property/reviews/index.html?propertyID=2030&language=en_US&localeCode=en_US . Only 59% of reviewers recommend this property! Some of the other 1 star reviews from as recent as September of this year sum up some of what I too experienced but haven’t mentioned with titles like: HOT AND FALLING APART, SAD EXCUSE FOR A STARWOOD PROPERTY and STAFF AND HOTEL DO NOT LIVE UP TO THE W STANDARDS. And just to show that they weren’t just having a bad month, check out other reviews entitled The Worst W Hotel EVER, a BIG Disappointment, Terrible and Disappointed. The list continues; Horrible Stay, Guest Rooms Need to be Cleaned and Dirty Room, Thin Walls. Granted, these reviews are all 1 star, but based on years of experience at this specific property, this W has way too many 1, 2 and 3 star reviews based on its potential. SO DON’T CRY AND SAY YOU WEREN’T WARNED: IF YOU STAY HERE YOU WILL BE SORRY! There are other Starwood properties to choose from in New Orleans. Hopefully their management values SPGs and they take pride in their property’s condition and the real WoW service that W has built their reputation on. Anyone reading this review please feel free to contact me to confirm the validity of this review. I am easy going and level headed, but can only take so much abuse. November 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Well below standards Poor experience at this hotel. First room smelled like smoke, had to request a new room. Requested additional towels, had to call down several times before receiving them. Room was very noisy (pipes making noises, etc) and well below the standard of almost all Starwood properties let alone a W. Was a disappointing end to our family vacation. July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs to freshen up Hotel needs to stop trying to be so New York! It's too dark in the lobby areas - maybe not New York, but vampires?. I know you could not even read a newspaper if you had to. Black furniture and charcoal walls in rooms is just too much. But maybe the darkness is trying to hide some of the shabbiness of the furniture. Room could have been cleaned more thoroughly before arrival. Get rid of the velvet chairs and chaises! These are downright gross. And, the cloying air deodorizer in the elevator area was sickening and too strong. Again, what are you trying to hide. Staff was very nice. August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, but hotel needs some work We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for a cheer competition. The location was convenient for the venue, and also wasn't a bad walk to the French Quarter. However, the hotel itself could really use an overhaul. The beds were not comfortable, the room was small and awkwardly laid out with the door opening right into an angled wall that contained the closet. Additionally, we had staff vacuuming outside our room at 7:20 am, with absolutely no apology. The last night of our stay the bar was closed for a private event, and guests were not notified at all. Housekeeping never arrived the last day of our stay until after 6:00 pm - who wants their room cleaned then? February 25, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>