Hotel New Orleans Downtown

  • 333 Poydras Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 423 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ms. Vee Great location, walking distance to everything. FREE internet should be in all rooms, when a 12 hour a day party is in the lobby. Impossible to access the internet in the W living room. July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost great Pros-Nicest Staff. Cannot say this enough. Pretty lobby.Comfy beds. Cons-No outlets except in bathroom. Had to charge ipad, phone, and nook balancing on top of a toilet. Air conditioning was not circulating air enough and had to bring in a fan. Big desk was useless space with no drawers or outlet underneath. Lobby was striking but impractical as far as sitting down comfortably (painted picnic tables are cool and funky, just not meant for hanging too long.) June 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little shabby The W in NOLA on Poydras is in an excellent location, especially to some of the music clubs, but the room showed a bit of wear and tear and seemed a little small. Recognizing that hotels in New Orleans are bound to take a beating, our room was still very comfortable and clean, given the few missing bathroom tiles, wall scuffs, and couch that needs replacement. Staff was amazing, as always, but room quality makes me cautious about recommending this hotel. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mix-feelings Whilst I received outstanding support (pre and during stay) with some special requests such as receiving packages, there were some things that makes me hesitant to come back. First is very difficult to find an spare electricity plug in all the room plus a lot of cables and circuit board not properly storage. It was all over between the bed and the furnitures. Room cleaning is carried out very late (around 5-6 pm) on weekends. None SPG recogntion at all. May 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent hotel but few issues to improve I did inform the general manager that two issues did "pollute" our stay at this very nice hotel. Being upgraded was very nice and we did enjoy but laundry service and housekeeping did not fulfill our standard expectation (one time as promised job). Communication between front desk staff and housekeeping is clearly the reason for the errors. In the same time jacuzzi tab did not work. Staff at ZOE restaurant have various efficiency (Chantal was excellent) January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff From the minute that we arrived at this hotel, the staff was nothing but exceptional! They were courteous and very helpful! I would def recommend staying here and in fact I will NOT stay anywhere else when I head to NOLA! If you go, please ask for travis (concierge) and kevin (does everything, including entertaining us while driving us around in the hotel acura)! These two guys made our trip very enjoyable and def the best one that we have had in NOLA! October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hipster Hotel The staff at this hotel is exceptional. Very friendly; attentive; well-organized. They know and love their city! I think this is a great place if you are in the mood to party. This is NOT a good hotel for business. I traveled to NOLA on business and found the hotel to be a bit too noisy for my taste. Thin walls; noisy guests (even after I moved to another floor). If you're there to party, this is the place. If you're there for business, go elsewhere. November 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing experience The hotel was not as nice as I expected, but they are under renovations. Which is fine, but the hotel failed to make ANY mention of the construction prior to booking my stay or even when I checked in. From 9am to 6pm all day every day there was literally a jackhammer SOOO extremely loud above my room that I literally could not make a phone call, could not watch tv, couldn't lay in my room and relax, nothing. I cannot even express how insanely loud it was all day long every day. When I called the front desk to enquire, they essentially told me too bad. I insisted that I knew NOTHING about the construction prior to booking my stay and I most certainly would NEVER have booked that hotel if I had known upfront the condition of the hotel and the constant brain pounding noise I would have to endure the entire time. The staff made no apologies or any attempt to rectify the situation other than offering to send a beverage to my room. Absolutely unacceptable customer service and I feel like they duped me into staying there by concealing the fact that they were under full construction and my stay would be much less than comfortable. I was shocked for the W. I expected a very nice professional comfortable stay and it was a complete nightmare and I will never return, not because of the construction, but because of the complete lack of concern by customer service. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great experience We went for Mardis Gras which was absolutely amazing. The W was a disappointment. Two days in a row there were no towels in the room (apparently there was a shortage). The restaurant wasn't open throughout the day and when we went for breakfast they only had one server working. We paid a premium to stay during this time and were really let down. I would not recommend this hotel for anything other than its location in a very special city. March 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This should not be called a W Just returned from a stay at the W New Orleans, and was extremely disappointed. I have stayed at numerous W brand Hotels and have been consistently impressed with the level of service and quality of the rooms, but I was shocked from the moment we arrived that this hotel was a W. Our room was dirty with stains on the walls, bed linens, even the back of the desk chair had a stain. Carpet in our room was frayed and spotted with more stains. Sink and shower did not drain properly, and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been properly cleaned before our arrival and even had what looked to be mold on the rim of the toilet. We called down twice for towels which never arrived. The location was wonderful, but unfortunately the cleanliness of room was in no way up to W standards. Overall I was extremely disappointed and I cannot recommend this hotel. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is dirty On a positive note, the sheets and bed were comfortable. With that said, the room was dirty. Some examples being the following: Coffe spills on walls and doors Bathroom floor dirty with dark spots Sink rusty and dirty Sink and tub were clogged Carpet was dirty Stains on bedspread Walls and doors have splatters of many kinds Hotel could use some updating such as paint and new bed covers. I've stayed in much cleaner hotels for much cheaper. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel Needs Refresing I always enjoy staying at this hotel. It is more understated than most in the chain and is quite comfortable. It is, however, starting to show its age and could use a refreshing. Gym is quite nice, pool is small but pleasant. Staff is friendly and efficient with the notable exception of the valets, who changed my radio stations, rifled though the car numerous times and were painfully slow even at low occupancy. CBD location can't be beat. December 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by W only by name Where to start? When I arrived the trash in front of the hotel door was overflowing and the staff was having a good time talking amongst themselves instead of cleaning up. When I mentioned this during check-in it seemed that the staff did not care. As a platinum member I was upgraded to a suite (thank you). However they are on the last floor and with the machinery of the hotel on the roof it looks that we are aboard of a plane while taking off--very very noisy! I requested a change and the staff was nice and efficient in giving me a regular room few floor below. The room was clean but the bathroom had seen better days--nothing to do with a W hotel brand, leaking faucet in the bath tube, small holes on the wall.. Luckily for me I know what to expect from a W hotel, this one has the name and a very high price but none of the quality of the brand. April 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by RM 902 1. Cost...me and a few others booked our room at the same time for the same date, however, I paid $100 more, I assumed I paid for a suite maybe so I didn't make a fuss. That was far from the truth. 2. Room Comfort...the carpet was disgusting, there was no microwave and the mini fridge did not work and held a "puddle" of water inside. The shower faucet would not shut off completely so water ran CONSTANTLY. (NOT DRIPPING, RUNNING); The AC was not working properly, it kept the room at "ROOM TEMPERATURE", the thermostat showed 68° but it felt like 79°; the sheets had several small holes that were displayed upon entering the room. 3. Staff responsiveness...after viewing the room, my husband quickly notified the manager on duty, a microwave/fridge was quickly brought up to the room, and the sheets were changed. We were told an "engineer" would come up and check the bathroom and AC...never happened. We were told nothing could be done because the room had been "PREPAID" and was given "free parking", which costed us $50!! WOW what a thank-you after spending $250 for a room that was horrible to say the least. 4.Quality of Sleep...we tried closing the bathroom door to muffle the sound of running water, that didn't work. At around 8:30a (Sunday morning), our sleep ended due to sounds of construction going on at the hotel. Maybe after the renovations this hotel will be up to par but as of NOW...STAY AWAY!! You'll be upset!! July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not great hotel Arriving at the hotel was confusing because the motor court entrance is really not very inviting or very visible. The parking attendants and check in staff were very helpful as was the concierge. The rooms were good but the thermostat did not seem to be accurate as we kept it at 63-64 and it seemed to be more like 70-71. Housekeeping did a very good job and was very friendly, however, first day had 4 packets of sugar, second day 2 and third day no packets of sugar, cream or sugar substitute at all so did not have coffee. Water controls were confusing and our second room did not have towels 2 days in a row and when Rick called the front desk told him they would let the style manager know . What? As this was mt first W hotel experience, I was a little disappointed. Also the orchids in the lobby needed attention. If they cannot be kept perfect, get rid of them! March 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfort bed Very nice and comfort bed. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't Clean Room Didn't half clean room and one day had to call 3 times to get them to come and finally at 5pm they show up with an attitude. Had two Board of Directors with me in two different rooms and they did not clean the rooms for the entire stay, had to ask for towels each day down hallway. Mangement didn't seem to care and the staff in general doesn't seem to care at all. No closet space and no drawer space. Bathroom could only hold one person. February 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by STAFF IS EXCEPTIONAL AT W NEW ORLEANS The staff at the W New Orleans surpassed my expectations during my recent stay. Although my convention was at another hotel, we wanted to patronize an SPG property. The hotel is centrally located in Downtown New Orleans close to the casino, Bourbon Street, and the convention center. The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The property's SPG Liaison, Christie, made us feel welcome and appreciated. She continued to recognize us by name throughout our stay, and made extra effort to surpass every need. It's rare that I would desire to recognize numerous staff, but the exceptional guest service warrants recognition. Danny at the concierge's desk, Crystal at the front desk, Darrin the Acura Driver, and Crystal at Zoe Restaurant all contributed to one of the most pleasant stays I've had with the entire SPG Network! February 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by In transition -- and horrendous I had stayed at this property for work 3 years ago on about 8 different occasions. I've also stayed at virtually all of the other SPG properties in central New Orleans. This property was undergoing its transition from a W to a Le Meridien. We were notified of this change about 2 weeks before our stay -- too late to change anything, and so we figured it wouldn't be too much of a problem. But it was. As a Lifetime Gold SPG member, I was surprised to find out that 2 of the 4 rooms in my block were not available for check in...at 9pm. The reason given to us was that the housekeeping manager had not yet approved them. After waiting for 20 minutes, the front desk person offered us drink coupons for the bar. The "bartender" did not know what a sazerac was (in New Orleans, of all places), and also did not know the difference between "neat" and "on the rocks". After returning much later in the night and attempting to check in, I was given the room key to one of the 2 rooms which I had booked, and my friends sorted out the other room. After I got up to my room, the bags which were supposed to be sent to my room (since I couldn't check in earlier) were not there. The door opened 5 minutes later with my friends -- the front desk person had given them keys to the same room. After another 20 minutes, she "finds" the other room I had booked, and we go there. Every other hotel annoyance problem of course happened -- we arrived to a room without toiletries or toilet paper. Of course, the telephone was also out. After calling the front desk from my cell phone, they bring these things up after about 30 minutes. What took the cake though, was the used contact lens that was left sitting on the counter. My roommate and I didn't figure this out until the end of the weekend -- when we realized that neither of us wear contacts. In over 100 stays with SPG over the last 5-6 years, this was most definitely the worst stay I have ever had. It's a shame too, as this used to be a very good property. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy room & Parking Costs Overall impression was great! However, there was a constant vibration in our ceiling that was rather annoying but did not feel the need to complain. The sofa in the room had some type of stain on it. The music audio device had quite a bit of dirt on it and did not work. The parking costs are absolutely ridiculous. Other than that; my stay was fantastic. Thanks! May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by filthy the hotel was dirty beginning with the lobby and my room was unacceptable. There was candy stuck to the floor, shower curtain was stained as was the bed skirt. The sink was never cleaned and it was impossible to get anyone up to the room to take care of it. there was rarely any one at the desks and the one time she was available, she had no knowledge of the area or how to print boarding passes, a service they offer. March 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by SHAME TO BE CALLED "w" As a platinum guest and frequent W hotels guest I was upgraded to a WOW suite . Thats where my story ends. The room caroet smelled/ bedsheet had Plastic on it / dirty martini glass from t he previous guest /disgusting batroom / toilet leaking / popcorn celing . This Hotel NEEDS a serious upgrade and should stop taking guest in ASAP. SPG corporate do something.!!! The Staff on the other hand was delightful . Checked out early . August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Staff - Poor Bath The staff was great! Hotel is fine, expecially if you like the signature W dimly lit lobby/hallways. I'm not a fan of the lighting, but maybe I'm just not "cool" anymore. My biggest (and really only) pet peeve is those darned tiny wash basins in the bathroom! To make matters worse, the faucet is directly in the way. How does anyone wash their face or shave without making a big mess?! Not cool - bad design on the face bowls. April 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable I was very disappointed at the issues I had at the W. had to check out 2 days early on my vacation. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mediocre Property in New Orleans This hotel does not represent the W brand well. During our stay we had to repeatedly call for towels because the maid told us the hotel was "waiting for a delivery." Of towels? During our stay, the hotel also ran out of bottled water. This is not a terrible inconvenience but seemed strange. We had poor customer service, especially considering the standard set by W hotels. The rooms are fine and the beds are comfortable. The lobby area is clean and well kept up. There are multiple spg properties in New Orleans I would recommend but this is not one of them. I was so put off by my last stay that I will likely not return to this property. For those who choose to stay here, it is in easy walking distance to the Canal Shoppes, the French Quarter, and multiple restaurants. The property is conveniently located and, if they could fix "deliveries" and customer service, may be a nice hotel. April 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst experience I ever had HORRIBLE will not recommend this hotel to anyone the level of service has gone down July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love the services the hotel provides I love the complimentary Acura experience. I also love the pool area "Wet." My fiance and I thought it was very sexy. The workout room is updated and very nice, which is very important to me, because I try to stay fit. I thought my room was very cozy with a great view. My only dislike was the bathroom. I would prefer a much bigger bath tub, so next time I think I will get a suite. My overall experience was great Thanks!!! August 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointing stay. Sorry, but you guys really have dropped the ball. I can say this having worked with Starwood myself... I understand that you are undergoing renovation and are changing from W to Le Meredien. However, a quality hotel (especially when remaining a part of the Starwood family) is able to operate in a way that the inconvenience for the guest is minimized. In this case, it appeared across the board that the staff really could care less, and there was no presence of management to be found... This was my 4th visit to Tales of the Cocktail, and my third stay at the W on Poydras St. Here are my comments - Arrival: - Towels in guest room had holes/tears. - Cobwebs on the light fixtures - Room was not vacuumed - Half a roll of toilet paper in bathroom - Window blinds were covered in dust. During: - Most often, no employee present in the lobby - AC & Water issues (although I was warned at check-in) - Construction noise issues (although I was warned at check-in) - Took 2 - 3 calls on avg. just to get thru to room service - regardless of time of day - no answer, nor apology for this. Departure: - Again, no-one in lobby. - Doorman sleeping/watching TV in an SUV parked in the entry. Stepped out and offered to help aftert I already hailed a cab to the airport and while lifting my own luggage. For charging upwards of $250 a night for a reservation made over a month in advance, courtesy would be to advise the guest that there is construction going on and that there may be an inconvenience, thereby giving enough time to opt for alternate accommodations. Having spent 3 nights there at a premium rate, all the Concierge offered was 5000 SPG points... That's not even half a night at any Starwood hotel... Very disappointed this time, and will look at several other options in NOLA has to offer when coming to Tales 2015. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement Very disappointed in the cleanliness at the W. The shower had hairs on the tile, on the coffee table was items from previous person. I threw those items away. As far as the hair on shower walls, I went downstairs and told the staff and they said they would have it recleaned. It never was. Hair was there when I went back to room later in the night.. Also they did not do a good job of cleaning the vanity in the mornings. February 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor customer service We called to order room service and never received it. We called to the desk and the receptionist said she would call us back and let us know if the order was received and when our breakfast would be coming. Never heard back or received a breakfast. Complained at the front desk and the receptionist only response was that he would credit our account for a breakfast that we never received. That should be an an automatic! Another complaint was that our room keys never worked right. Once I had left my purse and only had my room key and got locked out of the room with no ID etc. My husband had left the hotel and his name was on the room and they would not let me back into the room because I had no ID. My purse was locked in the room and of course once again the key was not working. We have stayed at this hotel and many others but I would rate this overall experience as bad and frustrating. March 11, 2014
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15 next>>