Hotel New Orleans Downtown

  • 333 Poydras Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 400 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice place to stay, extortionate prices for extras I stayed at the W Hotel for 2 weeks. The room was great, very spacious and ample space to work on the in room desk. The bathroom was a good size. Some downers, I decided not to order room service for any meals as the extras added upon the price for food are very very high. The meal nearly doubles in price. The wifi is very very expensive. I would expect a hotel of this quality to offer free in room wifi in the way many in the same area do. There is free wifi in the lobby for 30 mins however I was very shocked at the price of in room wifi. Overall, room comfort is great, but all extras are very pricey. The gym is good by hotel gym standards. The hotel is slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the french quarter however for me this was a good thing. The nightlife is in walking distance and you can also get away from it and stay at the hotel when you need. Staff are very very friendly and always helpful. February 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed in this W Hotel The room was just average. One day it wasn't cleaned for us, and when I complained, there was no apology. The bed was ok, although the bottom sheet didn't fit properly , and it kept coming undone and the whole mattress exposed, by the morning.The bathroom sink was just a small bar sink. Totally useless. It looks like the W bought an old hotel, redid the lobby and bar and that was it. It's still a tired old hotel. October 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Employees Any business is only as good as it's employees. Every one of your employees, from the lady at the front desk to the valet parking attendants, bellmen to the conciarge and the house cleaning crew were all first class and represented your brand extremely well. Congratulations on a well trained, friendly and courteous staff. My wife and I have stayed at hotels in New Orleans for 40 years - this was the best staff. January 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood property I have visited many starwood properites, W New Orleans is the worst. Not at all to the level of comfort or quality that you expect or that you pay for. The rooms small, bedding uncomfortable, room dirty. The bathroom was small, tub / shower tiles with mold and dirty. Staff was professional, lobby looked typical, but the room was just a mess! Do not stay here if you are expecting a typical starwood property. December 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice Hotel- after spending $900 no points allowed! Hotel was nice enough, quite expensive. There to attend a trade show. After spending $900 for room and valet - I discover that the SPG points do not apply if you take advantage of modestly reduced rates provided by the trade show booking agent. Not using the block of rooms reserved meant not getting a room. SPG has really disappointed me in this. Won't be trying to stay at an SPG property again! October 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I can't recommend this one. I have stayed at other W hotels and they were 5*. This one needs improvement. Don't choose to "go green"! That means no towels in your room. And the cleaning staff Will enter your room anyway! And no there was not at "do not disturb" sign in the the room .I only recommend W's in other states .Not the W in New Orleans on Poydras. So Sad..... February 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location, full service hotel. Could use an update.. Ie, bathroom looks dated, had to play with shower to get it to work, great conference rooms and food, frustrating to insert key in elevator to get to your room.. Nevere seemed like the key worked, but perhaps it's needed for security, February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hip and chic, but thin walls & annoying clientele Sadly, this is my least favorite W hotel. The walls were ridiculously thin and we could hear too much of our neighbors' conversations and . . . other activities. Security personnel were nice enough to come up at 5am and tell one set of rowdy and disrespectful neighbors to be quiet. I guess the hotel can't do much to control the people they attract, and I'm not some really uptight person, but this place draws a predominantly 20-something scene-ster crowd straight out of fraternities and sororities. They were far from pleasant and made the hotel experience less than desirable. I would not stay there again. August 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, poor noise isolation between rooms Great stay, friendly, helpful staff. Pretty hotel in need of a freshening: old tile work, tired-looking paint. Very comfortable room. Much noise travels between rooms and the doors close very loudly. I was awakened over and over again. The staff was always available and extremely eager to satisfy all questions and requests. I stayed here twice before and will likely stay again. August 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Loud You would think being on the top floor would be an advantage. But there must be a generator on the roof going 24/7 that keep me up at night. I complained about the noice and the staff was NOT accompdating to move me. I also complained about someone on the floor was smoking and they did not really seem to care. February 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed W hotel poydrus Room 707 #85617576 We were very disappointed in the W hotel on Poydrus in New Orleans. First, the Bar down stairs was out of everything. bartender was not helpful at all. He could have told us there was a bar down the hall "whiskey blues " and a Resturant upstairs to get a drink at. One of the Elevator was out of service. In the room the mini frig didn't cool off the drinks inside. Room was humid and damp. Ac wasn't up to par The tub dripped all night long King size bed sheets were not tucked in cause it had a queen down comforter bed liner that slid around. The sofa chair was in terrible shape. Cushion was deformed and stained. We Would not sit on it. After checking out the hotel billed me $100 for no reason. Had to call them back to get them to adjust bill and a reason behind why I was charged. My company discount for the W made me want to stay there. But I will never stay there again. July 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed We chose this hotel for a couple of reasons: 1.the reputation of the W of being one of the more elite stylistic hotels, and 2. for the rooftop pools. While the lobby and other public areas were very stylish (albeit worn down in some cases [fabric on high back lobby chairs near Poydras entrance]), the rooms left us very underwhelmed. Nothing stuck out as being over impressive or representative of the design culture that the W brand promotes. The second biggest issue is that the rooftop pool wasn’t heated, so in November, it was completely useless to us. While the manager was kind enough to direct us to W French Quarter for a heated pool, it added a high level of disappointment in the experience. Was not worth the $329+ nightly rate and left us sadly disenchanted. We also learned that the hotel is slated to undergo a major reno to update the interiors, so it appears that Starwood agrees that this hotel isn’t what it could be….. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite Living only a couple hours away, I've stayed at seemingly every New Orleans hotel. This one is my favorite because it's always vibrant and exciting. People bustling around. Very cool crowd. Even when there for work, I use the W. My only complaint, is I'm a frequent guest and Platinum member and have never received a suite upgrade. Seems like many others have. September 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy The staff was very friendly and the entire hotel was clean. But.... The prices were extrememly high and the level of service surely did not warrant the cost, I would never select this hotel for a personal stay because of the cost. Like most hotels - there is a very expensive mini bar in the room. My issue was that I was incorrectly charged for items I did not remove from the mini-bar after I checked out of the hotel. The best I can tell is that drinks brought back to the room from the hotel conference rooms were pulled from the trash and assumed to be pulled from the mini bar instead of doing a simple inventory. Lastly - after the last day of the conference - I tried to sleep in until about 8:30 AM in preperation for my 5 hour drive home. The hotel staff working in the adjacent rooms were talking very loud and banging things on the wall for more than 15 minutes - there was no way I could get the extra rest. Never coming back October 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel Staff was so excellent I travel a fair amount. I have not experienced this type of service in a very long time. Great job! Loved everyone they were kind warm and welcomming. Made us feel we were important and special! They were Friendly and smiled I felt as if they truely enjoyed doing their job and wanted to be there not just because they had too! Great Job! January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is in a great location I enjoyed staying at this hotel, we had the marvelous suite and the people were very friendly and nice. They were very gracious from the time we got there to the time we left. We had a few issues that were managable. Being right across from Harrah's Casino was really nice and we had a great view of the Mississippi River. April 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over Priced and Under Performed For the price I paid I would expect more. I had an unclean bathroom, a toilet that ran most of the time, cable TV that was sporadic and a cleaning crew that was anxious to get into the room (started knocking on the door at ~8am and came back every 30 minutes). I would not recommend this hotel in its present condition. February 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by No MSNBC and beware the complimentary water Staff were great in this contemporary (equals boring) hotel. The water labeled 'complimentary' in the room costs over three dollars per bottle (although nothing warns of that) and you are living in 'Fox' country on TV - no MSNBC available although you are inundated with Fox programming choices. No more W for Me! March 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by sad excuse for starwood property this is the worst starwood property ive ever stayed at. The front desk staff dont want a job and have no interest in paying customers. Complete confusion on reservations ( mine was under a misspelled name) , the checkin was delayed to 7:30pm, since room was not ready, and the staff had no sense of urgency. September 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay Hotel was very short staffed due to severe weather but those that were there did a wonderful job of accommodating us and taking care of us! Very much appreciated (the hot cocoa was a special touch)! February 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here - doesn't live up to the W brand... or any other SPG brand This is the worst spg experience I've ever had. Rooms are not clean, front desk staff needs some training and the food in the restaurant really needs improvement. It definitely doesn't live up to the category or the W brand. January 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Eh - took 20+ minutes to leave car with valet the first night - temp was never right - seemed like central heat with in-room ac? - loud door slams - other guests room service remained in hallway for extended periods of time January 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of best hotels I have ever stayed I have stayed at some 5 star hotels and the W in New Orleans rates right up there with them. The staff was great and went out of their way to help or get us what ever we needed. If you are traveling to New Orleans anytime soon you want to book your stay at the W you want be disappointed. April 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing experience at eh "W." If I had known the hotel was under renovation, I wouldn't have stayed there. The staff said the water would be shut off between 10am and 4pm. The water was still shut off at 10pm. The mattresses sunk in the middle. We had loud drunks next to us. There was a barking dog on our floor and all of these things contributed to very little sleep. From 4pm to 8pm we could hear the thumping base playing from the stereo equipment at the pool. All in all, it was not a pleasant or restful stay at the "W." June 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I was very disappointed in the condition of the hotel. Room did not have the room service menu available and it took 2 request to receive it. The shower head was broken and could not be turned to the off position. I usually love the W, but this location left me with a bad taste. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Expectations Because this was a one -night stay we were not expecting to have such Royal Treatment. We will certainly have members of our family and our friends stay at the W when returning for a visit. I thank the entire staff for hosting for me and making a short stay terriffic! January 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Very Big Let Down in the Big EZ We were so so very underwhelmed by the quality of of the expensive suite stayed in that we moved to another hotel the folowing day. Very very ceap furniture and amenities. The staff tried hard but could not, did not follow through on simple requests like exra pillows. May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff We were a large group and we had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff went above and beyond to assist us in anyway. The rooms were clean and the facilities were wonderful. The location was within walking distance to many of the city's attractions. February 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location / gym / staff The hotel is close to many New Orleans attractions including the French Quarter and Warehouse District. The staff is very friendly and the gym is excellent. The pool is a bit on the small side, but I didn't use it on this stay. April 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too Much Hype Although the main lobby mostly met our expectations for a W property, our room did not. Upon initial review, the room seemed nice enough but then we started to notice details that were very odd for a hotel of such a great reputation. The wall behind the night stand was filthy, the toilet paper holder was falling out of the wall, the shower faucet was so finicky that it took a couple of showers to figure it out (needs to be repaired), a water bottle filled with a yellowish liquid and cigarette butts was found in the closet, the over-sized chair was stained, and the best part was that ALL FOUR pillows reeked of sweaty, dirty old men. I nearly gagged. I called the front desk and while they were fast to have a young lady come up to replace them, she was obviously irritated to have to do it. The location was great, especially being across the street from Mother's, but I do not plan on staying there again. Plus $35 plus tax for parking was ridiculous, especially after one of the valets got a large pen mark on my tan leather driver's side door. Thanks a lot for that one. October 10, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>