Hotel New Orleans Downtown

  • 333 Poydras Street
  • Nueva Orléans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Política de edad mínima

Para reservar una habitación o registrarse en el hotel los huéspedes deben ser de 21 años o mayores y presentar una identificación válida.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 412 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front Desk Service A complaint regarding my recent stay, I checked in on Wednesday Feb 19 on a business trip. Told the front desk mgr Lindsey that handled my check in that I would be paying with a company check for the entire stay which I did.She asked for a credit card for incidentals, which I provided. Much to my surprise, she swiped it for the entire amount for 2 nights of my stay, not $150, which she told me would be held for incidentals.As soon as I discovered this I went to the front desk.The person working at that time said they would immediately fax a letter to my bank to reverse the charge. I was assured it would be resolved that evening or the next morning at the very latest. It was not.To make a long story short, it remained unresolved. I made several visits to the front desk, several phone calls, and received several promises that a manager would call me back. I finally got a voice message from Claire at 11:35 PM saying she would call me after 10:00 AM the day which also was my check out day.I repeatedly explained to your staff my situation, I was terribly inconvenienced, could not use my card because my money was tied up, and all I was getting was "I'm sorry,I know how you feel, etc." They did NOT know how I felt. I was terribly upset, wasn't getting any help,just empty promises that someone would call me back. I know that is not a lot of money to some people,but it is to me and it was really all I had for my trip besides a small amount of cash that I had with me. So,once my classes were over that I attended in your hotel, I couldn't do ANYTHING I had planned to do in New Orleans. Finally, my account was credited at the close of business at my bank on Friday, Feb 21 approximately 7:00 PM. the evening before check out-too late to do things I had planned to do the 2 previous days. Upon check out, Claire assisted me, I went over the entire situation with her again. She said she called my cell phone numerous times, but she did not. There was only 1 missed call when she left the voice mail. She even denied saying what was said in the mail. To add insult to injury, She offered me a $20 credit for my inconvenience. That was nothing more than an insult to me. $20 to make up for not being able to do ANYTHING on my stay in New Orleans except attend the classes and walk around the city-no shopping, no entertainment, tours, etc. I can't even begin to explain how upset and dissatisfied I was with this stay. I would appreciate someone looking into this. It literally ruined my trip and was offered basically nothing for my inconvenience. I would find it very hard to consider one of your hotels ever again. February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by First time in New Orleans The staff at the W were cheery and helpful and I liked the idea of green option although I did not see the benefits of taking this on my bill! Room service was unreliable but three separate trips to reception dealt with all requests and the nice reception staff made up for the lack of people answering the phone. The food was good and I had a great steak delivered hot to the room. The location was just on the edge of everything so it was possible to be both within walking distance but far enough away to feel relaxed. I'd stay there again but it helped not to get too stressed when things like the bathroom door handle fell off (one of the trips to reception). February 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Shampoo Second day no shampoo or conditioner left in room August 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by W New Orleans Needs Improvement! This W Hotel New Orleans needs significant improvement to live up to the W brand. I have never left a negative review for a hotel before, but had a number of issues during my five day stay, and feel that management should be made aware. Any one of these issues on their own would have been forgivable, but combined have resulted in my being very unlikely to stay at a W hotel ever again. Problems started upon arrival and continued throughout the entire visit. The highlights are listed below. 1. Upon arrival I was told that I was booked in room 518, and given a card with the room number written on it. I could not gain access to the room. I returned to the front desk to report the problem and was asked several times if I knew how to use a key card/what happened when I inserted the card/did a light come on, etc. After several attempts by the desk clerk to convince me that I probably wasn't using the key card properly, she checked my reservation and found that I was actually supposed to be in room 815. She apologized, gave me a new key, and I was finally able to enter my room. 2. Upon entry, I noticed that my "nonsmoking" room reeked if cigarette smoke. Several allergy attacks ensued. 3. Upon arrival, I was advised to place my valuables in the in-room safe. Sadly, the safe did not work; the keypad was malfunctioning. 4. I performed my standard hotel bed bug check, and while I am happy to report that there was no obvious sign of bed bug infestation, I am unhappy to report that both the mattress and box spring were terribly stained. Also, the box spring was ripped enough to allow some of the springs to stick out. I also noted stains on the bed spread and dust ruffle. 5. Now to the bathroom. It was grimy. The tile badly needed a re-grout, the sink was scratched, the shower knob was very difficult to turn and the drain cover kept popping out. 6. The mini bar was not plugged in, nor was there a plug available for it. Note to staff: few people will be tempted to purchase warm beer. Free electrical plugs were essentially nonexistent in the room, and as such, I had to unplug the bedside lamp to charge my cell phone, and perform a contortion act to plug in my computer at the desk. 7. Housekeeping only did the bare minimum each day and on more than one occasion, failed to restock bath tissue or coffee kit supplies. Housekeeping did remember to give me fresh towels each day, but twice forgot to take the dirty ones away. 8. Finally, upon check-out, I was informed that I owed for a telephone call. I informed the front desk that I did not use the phone during my stay. The desk clerk argued with me and stated that it was likely my roommate (I did not have one). After my restating several times that I did not make a call, nor did I have a roommate, the desk clerk agreed to remove the charge. But, for good measure restated: "Just so you know, the only way you would be charged for a call is for someone to use your phone." I agree. Perhaps it was the housekeeper who used the phone, and was too distracted by the phone conversation to properly tidy up the room. I’m sorry to report such a negative experience, but this visit to the W New Orleans was simply unacceptable. December 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by W New Orleans I decided to stay at W because I heard great things about the chain, but I have to admit this was one of the worst hotel experiences I've had. There's nothing blatantly bad about the hotel, but I just seemed to experience one frustration after another upon arriving. First, when I arrived at the hotel to check in, there was no one at or anywhere near the front desk. There was no bell or other method of calling for assistance either. I waited at the front desk for a good 2-3 minutes before a staff member showed up. This wasn't too much of an inconvenience, but it's still frustrating to stand there doing nothing when you're exhausted from traveling. When I entered my room, I immediately noticed that the carpet was dirty. There were bits of debris around the edges of the floor, and I even found a shirt pin on the ground. If I had stepped on it, I would've complained immediately, but I figured it wasn't worth the trouble and that the room would be cleaned the next morning anyways. Inspecting the bathroom, I found that the previous guest's half-used toiletries were still in the shower. There was also no countertop in the bathroom like the ones shown on the hotel website - it was just a sink with not countertop. Unless if I'm missing something, there is no where in the bathroom to place your own toiletries. Furthermore, the sink was literally hanging off the wall; I have no doubt that the sink would break off if I leaned on it. It was clear to me that the room had not been cleaned or inspected at all. During my stay, I informed the front desk that I would be using the late checkout feature. I was told that late checkout would be complimentary since I was an SPG Gold member. On the last day of my stay, however, a hotel staff member came to my door around 2 p.m. and began knocking very loudly while I was in the shower. I had the "do not disturb" sign on my door, so I assumed it must have been important if they were knocking regardless. When I opened the door, the man seemed surprised to see the room was still occupied, and he asked me when I would be leaving. I repeated what the lady at the front desk told me: I have until 4 p.m. I found it incredibly rude that a staff member would bother me while I had the "do not disturb" sign on; even the cheapest hotels know not to do this. Unfortunately, the issues did not stop even after I left New Orleans. A few days after I checked out, I noticed that my credit card had been charged for two drinks I had at the Martini Bar. I was a given a free drink coupon at check-in, and I used it on one of the two drinks. The bartender still had me sign a receipt, but he assured me that I would not be charged for the first drink. Since the hotel accounting office is only open during the day, I now I have to find time during my own work hours to contact them. It's possible I just had very bad luck, but too many things went wrong during my stay for it to be coincidence. Based on my experience here, I don't think I'm being too harsh when I say there's something wrong with the management of this hotel. September 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible My experience was so awful, I probably won't stay at any Starwood property again unless I have to. I submitted a complaint to the hotel manager and online already. The short time I spent in the hotel room was miserable. I was unable to work or sleep due to the drilling, sanding, scraping and banging. Our bathroom flooded, the staff was rude, poorly trained and unwilling to listen to any complaints. When I gave this feedback upon check out, I was told indignantly that I had been notified in advance. I am an event planner and needed to be in town for work during a busy time. Other hotel options were booked by the time I received the notice. The room I had was uninhabitable, not to mention not up to W's standards. They didn't offer me a single thing for my troubles except attitude and dirty looks. Sorry for expecting more! July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over-Charging I logged into the WIFI system with my ipad, and accepted a charge of $14.95 for a 24-hour period. I use it for a couple of hours, then lost connection, so tried again from my cellphone. When I received the invoice by e-mail, I found out that I was charged twice the $14.95 . That is unfair and unacceptable. July 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing stay overall I have never written a negative review before. That being said, I would say that I am not one of those people that expects a lot when it comes to hotel stays regardless of price or rating. A good bed, a clean room, that's about it. I will just let the below speak for itself. Thankfully, we had a great group of girls, great food and a good reason to celebrate (my bff's bachelorette party). The hotel was our only challenge of the weekend, otherwise, NOLA did not disappoint. Again to re-iterate, we were there for a good time, were hardly in the rooms except to sleep (not a lot) and shower. 1st day check in- My 2 rooms were not ready. I had timed my arrival with check in time. Was told that platinum members were in my rooms and that they wouldn't be checking out until 4. Rooms were ready a little after 5 I believe. Didn't complain. Didn't want to start things off on the wrong foot and it was Jazz fest weekend so I knew it was busy and I figure that everyone deserves the benefit of a little margin for error. Actual room upon arrival: Shower wouldn't drain. Called front desk and asked them to address while we were at dinner. Other girls concerned about quality of carpet and room uncleanliness. I was in too much of a hurry to worry about this at this time. Second day, shower still not draining. Literally to the point of almost running over. Called front desk again to notify. Asked that sheets be changed in second room due to fact that some girls would be changing rooms when we checked into our third room for the weekend that evening. Speaking of third room, not ready upon check in time and girls had to wait. Dinner res had to be moved back significantly do to this & fact that once again shower had still not been addressed. Shower finally fixed Friday evening after speaking with mgmt mult times (over several hrs) & one of our guests actually going down & speaking with both housekeeping mgr and hotel mgmt about room cleanliness. These two staff members came to one of rooms for their own inspection and were also disappointed in cleanliness of room. Voiced the fact that they were very concerned about satisfaction of what would turn out to be 10 total guests for weekend. Was promised SPG points (these which I received) & a price reduct. to overall hotel stay. Mgmt was very nice at this point and (finally) appropriately concerned. Sheets were not changed, housekeeping argued that they had been but little did they know, we had actually marked sheets. On Saturday, we had same run in over sheets. Hate to harp on this, but I had three rooms total for weekend (which I booked on MY credit card, therefore I felt responsible for my friends disappointments & frustrations) and some of our group came for 1 night, two nights & three nights. Understandable that when one girl left for weekend & another arrived, you would want clean sheets right? I didn't really get frustrated until our second day of this when HSK finally arrived and employee stated (rudely) " I am here to change your sheets again." Sheets were marked, it was not "again." We were in hurry so I didn't say anything. I did speak with night desk person that night upon returning about our issues. She was very nice and promised to award me 8K SPG for our issues. During this long conversation, my friend was standing against front desk counter listening, near a very pretty orchid arrangement. A male staff member comes up to her, taps her on the shoulder and tells her to move and "you break it, you buy it." We, along with desk person, just kind of stared at him in disbelief. What does one say to that? Got back to our room (which we left after "again" sheet changing episode). Stumbled over something in door. Looked down. Someone (?) had returned our dirty sheets. Yes, our dirty sheets were just sitting in floor right inside door upon our return and they were not there when we left. This was a pretty big slap in the face considering no one even said anything when housekeeper came into room and was rude about changing sheets. This was approx 3 weeks ago. I stayed this past weekend in a Starwood hotel that was 1/4 of the price and was hands down a better experience. Our stay was absolutely not on par with a 4 star hotel, maybe not even a 2 star. Concierge was amazing. Hotel mgmt were very pleasant to speak to even though repeated problems were not addressed promptly. Only received discount on 1 room for 1 night and did not receive SPG points that were promised by night person on Saturday night. Again I hated to write a negative review but again I would not want others to have this experience. My family owns a business. We are only successful and able to function due to our customers. I was not treated like a customer or guest during this stay. Staff treated us like they were simply doing us a favor by letting us stay there. May 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms need updating and cleaning I stayed in the WOW suite and it was beautiful and very specious but so many things were broken and the spa tub was filthy and the décor needed updating. The sofa was in excellent condition but not comfortable. The shutters did not stay open or close correctly for the evening, the TV did not work, the CD player was gorgeous but it didn't work. The wet bar was a very nice touch and didn't need improvement at all but I tipped the Bell man $30 for five pieces of luggage and he just tossed it in my room and I asked him to get ice which he did not get. I saved the WORST for LAST. Gorgeous spa tub large enough for two was so filthy I didn't even want to shower in it much less take a bath in it, which I was so looking forward to after a long drive. I was in town for Christmas hence the many bags of gifts and large tip for the bell man who finally did bring ice but I wish I had just gotten it myself since it was conveniently located down the hall. Front desk staff was very nice at check in but that is where it ended. My phone did not work properly. I had to call the front desk from my cell phone. Lights were out in the room and I asked for maintenance and the front desk said they would send them right up but nobody showed up. There were two robes that were not the plush robes I've become accustomed to at W Hotels and one of them was so dingy and very short with frayed edges. When I asked the front desk to please replace it with the larger size long robe I had to listen to her argue with me for over 10 minutes about how they only had ONE type of robe and the robes I had were identical. I finally just said bring me another robe. When housekeeping arrived to see the ratty, dingy robe I held the two robes up to show him and he at least agreed the one robe was over a foot shorter. It was just to my mid-thighs and the other newer, robe was mid calf. I'm tall but not that tall and with my son coming over I didn’t want a mid-thigh length robe. I suppose the robe could have just been so old it shrunk but in that condition it should not be in a guest room and certainly not a suite. The gentleman from housekeeping had a nice replacement robe and he was happy to exchange the robe. The robes were decent and the exchanged robe newer but still not by any means a plush robe that I enjoy and mine is too bulky to pack so I count on a nice plus robe. Fitness center was nice but my son wanted to show me his boxing skills and unfortunately the ball was flat. Aside from that the fitness center was really nice and well stocked with towels and the pool area is gorgeous with wonderful furniture and private cabanas so it may be worth a stay in the summer. I travel with my dogs and I'm sometimes charged a nominal fee and sometimes a deposit but they demanded a $100 non-refundable cleaning deposit per day. My dogs have short hair and are well trained. Even in the rain they get walked three times a day. I do hope however they put the $100 toward cleaning the filthy bathtub. The jets were so full of mildew I used my entire tide bleach pen before showering. I figured after my attempt at the robe and maintenance it was fruitless to try and get any other service. They did provide an abundance of nice linens, which was great because I have long hair that requires an extra towel and I used a hand towel to line the bottom of the tub before my shower. I must say that room service was exceptional. I dine in because I have my dogs and I don't leave them in the room unattended and the service was excellent as well as the food. My only complaint is it was cold. It was cold outside and nothing is better than piping hot soup but this was barely lukewarm. Same with the entrees. I had fish with the special tomato type or chef special sauce that was so delicious, even cold. I just wish I could have tried it hot. The hotel was not busy so there really was no excuse. There is never an excuse period for food to be cold unless it's a salad. The final gripe I had is when my son came to visit he was asked for his room number. He gave mine but because he was only staying for an hour not overnight we paid in cash but they still charged me. In fact there were three parking charges on my bill. The front desk graciously removed them but I typically don't review my bill but this one seemed too high so luckily I caught it. I did complain to the MOD who said his name was Segan but I'm not sure because he would not spell it for me. He was so RUDE. He claimed to be the General Manager but a female General Manager signed the letter from the hotel about submitting a review. When I tried talk to him about the issues his attitude, which he had a lot of, and a very BAD attitude. It was such that I felt as if he was insinuating he was doing me some favor just to allow me to stay there. Maybe he was just upset about working on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day so I figured I would just cut my losses and stay across the street where I am Platinum and treated like a Platinum Guest. I’m only Gold at SPG but I'll make Platinum easy this year and I've enjoyed all of their properties except this one. I doubt Platinum would make a difference at this hotel nor should it. All guests should be treated with kindness and respect and I'm very respectful and generous to the staff. I've never had a problem like this at any other W Hotels other than the French Quarter, which is also run down, and nothing works, phone, lights etc. but at least their staff was incredibly accommodating. January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 3 days, no maid Are you kidding me. We stayed for 3 full days and we only had one maid stop by after we got back from a long day at about 4. We told them we were preparing to go out so not a good time but figured it would be done when we got home that night. Nope and again the next day same story except no one even stopped by. It was not convenient for us to contact the desk and have someone come lean because of the times we got in. Also the room was not as "fresh" as we expected for the king "wonderful" or whatever name they gave it. Great trip and a good location but the service for the room specifically was not even 2 star worthy much less 4 star. Don't think we will go back. January 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected I arrived late at night and was greated by a nice customer service rep. I had to ask about amentities, services, etc. My room was dirty and dusty. The TV did not work. There was no price sheet for the mini bar. I had requested they drop one off the next day, but they never did. I called down and asked for a package I had delivered to me. Upon leaving I was charged $10 for a handling fee. I was overcharged for the minibar. There was a nice complementary car service to take me to the convention center. Overall staff is nice, but does not do a good job of informing guests of serivces and charges. The hotel room was unclean. June 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by AWFUL When I checked in around 10pm I was taken to a room that someone else was seemingly still staying in and had vomit in the bathroom sink. I was put in another room where when I woke up I had water dripping down on me from a leak in the ceiling. I tried to have some clothes pressed and was told the in-house service was closed for two days and they couldn't recommend a nearby place either. My assistant in NYC tracked one down in 5 mins and they came and took my laundry since the hotel wasn't capable. I have never stayed at a W hotel and I never will again. Wasn't even offered a free drink or free night as an apology. AWFUL. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I had a bad experience The hotel lobby and outdoor area are very lovely. My room, however, was a bit outdated. There was rust on both the door hinges and shower head and rod; along with any of the areas made of metal. On top of this, there was construction every morning during my stay that prevented me from sleeping past 9am. When I complained to the concierge, they were very nice, but unfortunately they were unable to move me because they were booked. Additionally, the housekeeping service did not clean the tub until I noticed stains were still there after they supposedly cleaned it. It was not until I complained (and had to complain every other day) that someone actually scrubbed the total to remove the stains. May 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No longer a W Hotel, not that good I stayed in a new renovated room that was not finished yet. Chairs for desk weren't in the room and when one was brought it was the wrong size for the desk. If I had known that this hotel was no longer a W Hotel and was a LeMeridien I probably wouldn't have stayed there. July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Older hotel I was in town on business and had my wife along. We picked the W because it was near the busness district and the quater. The room was clean and we had a nice view of the city from our room. But i had some issues with the front desk and with one bellman from New York. In short, I ran into "The Cart Nut" when I tryed to take a baggege cart up to my room to get my bags. He jumped in front of me in the lobby and grabbed the cart and told me in no uncertain terms that I was not to use the cart and if I didnt like it. I could speak to his boss. Which I did with no help! I will not be back. PS:The overall feeling you get from the hotel is best discribed as dark and gloomey. April 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location, Great Staff, Unsatisfactory Room Features We were greeted by wonderful staff at the W and checked in without any problems. We started having difficulties after the first night. [1] every time we finished showering, the shower head would keep running with water for several minutes, stop, then re-run. [2] the toilet overflowed and flooded half of the room. The staff checked us into another room and I noticed that the new room's carpet also had many stains on it (as if there had been another bathroom flooding issue). [3] only the audio worked on the TV in the second room, but no images. Overall, I liked the hotel's location and the staff members' excellent service, but the plumbing, carpet, and TV need attention. December 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very unhappy with my stay I stayed here for over 2 months, working on a movie set. At check in, I gave my spg number and was told I would be receiving a large amount of spg points for my stay. I was also offered 500 points each time I skipped housekeeping service, which I agreed to have every 3rd day. My wife also confirmed this during her call to spg.com to make sure my spg number was on the reservation. Upon checkout, I was told I would not receive any points because my employer was paying for the room. This is ridiculous because I could have paid for the room and had my employer reimburse me if needed, but was never told that. I could have stayed at a more convenient hotel which would have awarded points and offered more perks; I stayed at the W for such a long time because of my reliance on the points and I am very dissapointed that the W did not award points for my stay that were promised to me. I will not be returning to the W on my next job there in New Orleans and will be reluctant to do my future hotel stays with SPG. July 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by good location for convention center, needs improvement Rooms are not clean, nor properly cleaned when asked for; for example bath brim, floor, lower parts of tables/desk you could write your name in dust. Room comfort: interior design and decoration is nice. Rooms on the edges are cramped, you need to step in the bathroom to enter the room. Noisy, easily (over)hear noises and conversation of room next door due to connecting doors as well as from "hall" for the 3 doors of rooms on the edges. Coffee is for free at bar during day, nice but no tea available. When asked for you sometimes are provided with tea, sometimes not. Also in room only coffee is made available, no tea. Breakfast service is moderate and relatively expensive. December 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not ideal for me The lobby and entrance of the W is very nice and tranquil. The front desk and gentleman who helped with our luggage...wonderful. But...we ordered towels twice...never received. Our coffee maker did not work which we informed the hotel of, it was never replaced. The walls are extremely thin...you feel like you are sharing your room with every guest on the floor. You heard other guests phones ringing and any guest that was loud and still wanting to party in the late night hours you had to put up with. The hotel is undergoing remodeling, so hopefully they will improve on the sound barriers between the rooms. That was the worst part, that you heard everything going on. It was the worst 3 nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. June 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Find a Different Hotel This hotel was one of my favorites for 14 years. Not sure if it was due to the change to LeMeridian Hotel or staff/management but this was my worst hotel stay anywhere! My A/C was out the entire 4 days. They had shut off the main water supply to the A/C during the repairs and never turned it back on. It took maintenance 45 minutes to bleed the air from the water line and still did not reduce the temperature. My room remained a balmy 80 degrees the entire stay. We had to prop our door open to the hallway to get cool air. The lobby no longer had a club and so the hip and trendy hotel is no more! It was filled with teenagers and "Brand New 21 year-olds that could not handle their liquor. They yelled and acted out so much it was impossible to enjoy a drink at the martini bar. I couldn't believe the manager did not ask them to leave the area. I was miserable. As a gift to us from management, we were told we would have a gift waiting for us in our room when we arrived. I still have the email but NOTHING ever was placed in my tiny room. I will NEVER, yes I said NEVER, stay at this hotel again!! And if you're smart, you'll book elsewhere, too. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old Dirty Rooms with no swagger This was my second W reservation for the same night. I booked The W French Quarter believing the pool was the W New Orleans pool. I did not relies there are two W hotel in New Orleans. The French Quarter pool did not look inviting enough, therefore I booked The W New Orleans. The New Orleans French Quarter is beautiful and clean. That is what I expect booking with the W. The W New Orleans is not what I expected. Upon checking into my room, the bathroom floor had hair on it. The chaise lounge was stained. The magazines were wet and wrinkled. The rest of the room completely tasteless. Popcorn ceilings, white walls, no style at all. The pool and cabanas were great. The host, Chelsea, was wonderful. May 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lacking This hotel was lacking the basic amenities that one is accustom from a SPG property. There were no towels in the bathroom, and no water in the room. I hope this not the new SPG standard. July 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I usually enjoy staying at W hotels, however, I was disappointed in my stay at the W New Orleans. First, two of the four stationary bikes in the fitness center were not operational and one of the two elliptical trainers had an inoperable headphone port. The printer in the business center was not working and although the front desk staff was accommodating and had me email my document to them for printing, the W email system was delayed and was not accessible within 30 minutes of the email being sent. Finally, on sending a set of documents Fedex, the front desk person did not keep the receipt with tracing number, making it impossible to track the documents. I will not stay at this hotel again. March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice room, great staff Mattress needs improvement..... Not much support and hard around edges, sinks in middle; Also AC did not work well. I would recommend due to location, and nice room in terms of set up, bathroom... lacked in mattress July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by ROOMS ARE DISGUSTING This was my first time staying at the W hotel in New Orleans. I have stayed at many other W hotels before. The staff here was AMAZING! They were so helpful. Any issues or questions I had they took care of right away. Now for the rooms..... ABSOLUTLEY UNEXCEPTABLE. I have never stayed in a room so dirty (comparing to other W hotels) The Bathroom was disgusting... dirty walls, floors shower ect. I literally laid towels all over the bathroom floor. I had huge noticeable stains on the chairs in the room. I never had my shoes off in the room, it looked like they have never vaccumed the floors. End of story they need to start getting on housekeeping and also spending the money to update the rooms. April 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by In transition -- and horrendous I had stayed at this property for work 3 years ago on about 8 different occasions. I've also stayed at virtually all of the other SPG properties in central New Orleans. This property was undergoing its transition from a W to a Le Meridien. We were notified of this change about 2 weeks before our stay -- too late to change anything, and so we figured it wouldn't be too much of a problem. But it was. As a Lifetime Gold SPG member, I was surprised to find out that 2 of the 4 rooms in my block were not available for check in...at 9pm. The reason given to us was that the housekeeping manager had not yet approved them. After waiting for 20 minutes, the front desk person offered us drink coupons for the bar. The "bartender" did not know what a sazerac was (in New Orleans, of all places), and also did not know the difference between "neat" and "on the rocks". After returning much later in the night and attempting to check in, I was given the room key to one of the 2 rooms which I had booked, and my friends sorted out the other room. After I got up to my room, the bags which were supposed to be sent to my room (since I couldn't check in earlier) were not there. The door opened 5 minutes later with my friends -- the front desk person had given them keys to the same room. After another 20 minutes, she "finds" the other room I had booked, and we go there. Every other hotel annoyance problem of course happened -- we arrived to a room without toiletries or toilet paper. Of course, the telephone was also out. After calling the front desk from my cell phone, they bring these things up after about 30 minutes. What took the cake though, was the used contact lens that was left sitting on the counter. My roommate and I didn't figure this out until the end of the weekend -- when we realized that neither of us wear contacts. In over 100 stays with SPG over the last 5-6 years, this was most definitely the worst stay I have ever had. It's a shame too, as this used to be a very good property. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I thought I booked a W! This hotel is not up to Starwood standard. I knew it was being refurbished but one day it was a W and the next it wasn't. A very tired and shabby place. Reception staff were always very courteous. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by generally dissappointed I am a lifetime gold member and stay almost exclusively at Starwood hotels so my expectations are pretty high going in. When I checked in I was told that I was being provided with a freshly renovated room. What I wasn't told was that the room was not yet completed. For the most part the room was clean and fresh. But there were some glaring problems. There was not a desk chair so during my stay I had to sit on the banquette in the room to use my laptop and to eat. That alone made my stay less than a good experience. I called the front desk and asked them if they could get me a chair. They told me that the new chairs had not arrived yet, but they would try to find something I could use. They did not respond after that and no chair was brought to the room. I also had to call and ask for a room service menu, and the room did not have a personal coffee service, which I tend to expect. I would like to say that I will return to the W on my next trip next month, but right now I am not certain I will give it another shot. July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to be remodeled and rooms/bathrooms need to be updated My hotel room was not clean upon my arrival. I had to call the front desk and ask for my bedding to be changed because the sheets were stained. The bathroom was not clean. For the price of $169 nightly I would have liked WiFi in my room and continental breakfast would be nice. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing experience The hotel was not as nice as I expected, but they are under renovations. Which is fine, but the hotel failed to make ANY mention of the construction prior to booking my stay or even when I checked in. From 9am to 6pm all day every day there was literally a jackhammer SOOO extremely loud above my room that I literally could not make a phone call, could not watch tv, couldn't lay in my room and relax, nothing. I cannot even express how insanely loud it was all day long every day. When I called the front desk to enquire, they essentially told me too bad. I insisted that I knew NOTHING about the construction prior to booking my stay and I most certainly would NEVER have booked that hotel if I had known upfront the condition of the hotel and the constant brain pounding noise I would have to endure the entire time. The staff made no apologies or any attempt to rectify the situation other than offering to send a beverage to my room. Absolutely unacceptable customer service and I feel like they duped me into staying there by concealing the fact that they were under full construction and my stay would be much less than comfortable. I was shocked for the W. I expected a very nice professional comfortable stay and it was a complete nightmare and I will never return, not because of the construction, but because of the complete lack of concern by customer service. July 21, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 next>>