The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

  • 100 East Chestnut
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in.

Rated 3 out of 5 by 307 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Budget Hotel in Downtown Chicago You can’t go wrong with this hotel if you want to stay just off Michigan Ave in downtown Chicago. This is a simple, quaint, budget hotel. If you’re looking for a more full-service hotel, it would be best to select another SPG property in the area. Two aspects of hotel I enjoy: 1) Price: You can’t beat the price (value) for the location. Rooms are small. Décor is dated. But it’s clean and acceptable for the price paid. 2) Location: You’re 1 block off of Michigan Ave and 3 blocks from the CTA Red Line (subway). Small tree-lined street that is quiet and easy to find. One area for improvement: 1) Toilets: toilets in the standard rooms are very low to the ground and are very antiquated. Hardware needs to be refreshed—otherwise the toilet runs constantly. I would have to lift the back of the toilet off to “fix” the issue each time I flushed. Ref Rm 1408. Also, a note for SPG elites, I’ve had excellent luck with room upgrades at this hotel. Suites are enormous with separate living room, entryway. September 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by GREAT location...cool building...but old and dirty... The hotel lobby is very nice - floor to ceiling dark woods, nice atmosphere, warm fireplace for Chicago winters, and Ditka's restaurant is attached to the hotel for convenience. There is only 1 elevator which serves all 15 or so floors of the hotel and it is so slow. There were many times that it would come to our floor and be completely full. It wasnt uncommon to wait multiple minutes for the elevator. The hotel also has no vending machines what so ever and I was told by the front desk, no ice machines either. The rooms are decorated tastefully, but the decor in general is old and furniture was bruised and broken all over the place. Tiles were broken in the bathroom and the baseboards all over the room were also busted up and broken. The worst of all was the tub drained very very slowly which meant standing water in the tub while showering. The first day we ran the shower to check it and the hair and grossness that came up from the drain was disgusting. I asked the front deskk to fix the problem, but it never got any better. December 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Location! Right off Michigan Avenue, the Tremont offers guests the ability to enjoy the Gold Coast without the use of taxis. Dinner at Ditka's was fabulous and believe it or not, can be quite economical when sharing meals. January 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not SPG Quality This hotel has a great location for high-end shopping on Oak St and Michigan Ave, however it really doesn't live up to the quality that I would expect out of an SPG hotel. This hotel hit its prime in the 80s and is desperately in need of a renovation. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location! This hotel is in a great location. It's very close (a few blocks) from the red line and a stone's throw from the Hancock building and Michigan Ave. Definitely great to end the day in the Sky Lounge in the Hancock. Dickas restaurant is attached to the hotel and is really yummy. Try the pot roast nachos and bloody mikes. My only complaint is that the HVAC in the rooms are off. I was real cold the first night and the room thermostat didn't do anything. We will definitely stay here again though just because of the location. The beach was also walking distance (big plus) June 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Updating and Better Security The entire hotel looks old, musty, dull, dark, needs repainting, new carpeting, new pain, updating. Not 21st century. Doesn't feel secure. Speaking of secure, here's how my check-in went. The first time, my keys didn't work. I schlepped back downstairs with my luggage and asked for new keys. Schlepped bags back upstairs to the room, opened the room, only to find the room was already assigned to someone else. Good thing that person wasn't in his room at the time. How scary! The front desk staff only seemed mildly concerned that they gave me access to someone else's room. Once I got to my room, which was just down the hall, I found that the tile, fixtures, carpeting, furniture, everything...was dated, dark, not inviting. At least the room seemed to be clean -- including the towels and sheets. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay - great experience Staff were fabulous - They checked me in early after a miserable redeye flight from Los Angeles and that allowed me to rest & refresh. Room was clean, quiet, and comfy. Chicago was going through a horrific Jan. storm but my stay was warm and pleasant. Hotel is in the heart of the best of Chicago and is located in an affluent, safe area. Hotel is an incredible bargain - I will def. stay there again. I highly reccomend it. January 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Understand What You're Getting... It's OK Now and Will Be Better Down the Road The rating is easy... Everyone knows the physical plant "Needs Improvement". As long as you know what you're getting you'll be fine. Currently, this is a residential style hotel that needs a refurb. I understand they will be getting new carpeting and such next month. But the rates reflect the current status of the hotel.... and the location is superb. I didn't experience any flaws (odors, etc.) and the front desk was friendly and willing to help in any way. Ditka's, off the lobby, was excellent. It is what it is... understand that... enjoy the excellent rates and be happy. If you're looking for services or luxury, go elsewhere. November 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location vs. Condition Other reviewers suggested this facility was being renovated. While that is true, there facility is not getting any love from the management. Main elevator being upgraded..ok, understood, so we use the staff elevator which has not been cleaned or given any love since Lincoln was there. I noticed that new carpet was put down in the guest areas, but all of the trim is badly dinged and again, overlooked with no love, an incomplete job in my opinion. Starwood is known for attention to detail at every level which is why I remain faithful. But upper management needs to stay there a few nights to experience this facility for themselves. No food, snacks or even a vending machine...really?? March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The BEST Bed My daughter and I stayed at the Tremont for a quick visit to Chicago. The location could not have been better, the staff could not have been more helpful, and the bed was amazing! Literally, we did not want to get out of it. The room was quite small and sparse, but the bed made up for it. The price was so reasonable. We were out and about for most of the time, so the room size was not really an issue. April 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel of the year award I must stay at least 25 hotels a year and this was the worst one I stayed at all year. It is worn out and is in need of a renovation. This cannot not be a surprise to management. On top of everything it smells of sewage. The staff are great, considering what they must put up with. Parking is a disaster as you have to wait 30 to 40 minutes to get your car. October 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to Starwood Standards This is a great location, hotel is old, wallpaper coming off wall, cobb webs in room, sheets did not fit bed, towels old and worn. I would not recommentd unless you only care about location. Dont walk up the steps, they are old and dirty. Sorry, but I would rate this as the worst Starwood property I have ever experienced. June 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday Boy The Tremont is an older SPG property; complete with its charms and areas of improvement. I emailed the hotel 2 weeks prior to my birthday weekend. My wife and I were greeted at the front desk and informed that we had a bottle of white wine to celebrate my birthday. We had a 2 room suite: one room had a nice comfortable queen bed with circular fan and new TV. The other room was a nice sitting room with new TV and small refrigerator. Later that night, I noticed the TV in the sitting room did not work. The next day the TV was replaced within half an hour. Overall the Tremont is a fine hotel, but has areas of improvement: 1. new carpeting 2. paint the rooms and hallways 3.refinish the hardwood floors 4. Refinish or replace some of the older furniture, 5. Replace some of the mirror inserts on the clothes closet doors, and 6. Spruce up the front desk area. The managers and front desk personnel are very responsive and seem to care. Hotel has a great location and could be made into a fantastic hotel. Starwood needs to spend more $$ on its renovation. April 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful This hotel is awful. Nasty dirty bathrooms, and a staff that is rude and lazy. Don't waste your time complaining; they don't care. And don't bother to verify things with the front desk, they say one thing, and do another. Usually nothing. There was a filthy ring around the toilet. They said it couldn't be cleaned, but when I took a towel with just a little water, it started to come off. Don't bother to put the do not disturb sign on, they will knock anyway, and won't apologize. They just don't care about their guests. April 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs renovations Have stayed here many times over the years and keep hoping for updates, especially in the bathrooms. Many of the smaller boutique hotels within a few blocks have done so and although I prefer The Tremont location, I will more than likely not be returning. May 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DELIBERATELY DECEIVING This is by far the WORST SPG property I have ever stayed at. the place is falling apart and looks absolutely nothing like the pictures. February 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just ok Not bad but not great. One elevator which is really slow. Toilets don't flush or take really long to do so. My room was clean though and bed was comfortable. June 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great As Residential Hotel This place is not your traditional hotel. It's a small hotel without much of any services. But the location is fantastic. As a Platinum member I was lucky enough to get a nice suite upgrade. The room was excellent... maybe not very modern, and a few nicks and dents, but nicely appointed and excellent space. The bed was new and comfy. Ditka's attached is a nice plus. It's like an apartment (residence)... if that's ok, then its a great Starwood property considering the location and fabulous rates. The rates are obviously low since they realize it needs major upgrading. April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starwood Platinum Guest Disappointed I walked into the hotel thinking this was going to be beautiful by the enterance, I was very displeased as I walked past the restaurant and lobby toward the front desk. This hotel for being a Starwood gets kudos for its location other than that everything on the inside doesn't apply to Starwood Hotel Standards and if they do its very minimal. Very old hotel, expect a longer than normal wait on valet parking and lower your Starwood Standards if you want to stay here. Needless to say for the cost of the hotel I was very disappointed. May 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it! Older boutique hotel, great location just off Michigan Ave. by the Water Tower. Starbucks right across the street and they offer a continental breakfast at Ditka's right next door for $10. And Ditka's is right next door!! I was in town for the birth of my granddaughter and I could walk to Prentice Women's Hospital easily. It is an older building, but I love those and so charming. Beds and sheets were top quality-sooo comfy. Elevator was a bit unpredictable, but staff got on fixing it right away. I would stay again. August 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by bmcks With the exception of the slow elevator*,(* being fixed) I completely enjoyed my stay, and will definitely recommend it to others. The staff, from doormen to desk staff*, are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Your location can't be beat! *Almost forgot! Technical staff excellent too! Sophisticated air conditioning system we Europeans don't 'get', he was up there in 5 minutes explaining it. We had a laugh! Nothing wrong with the system; it was me! May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shouldn't be on the SPG program For such a distinguished location I expected much more. One elevator, no food available and no heat! Apparently the mechanical system can either heat or cool but it can't do both. It had reached the time of year when the building engineers had decided it was cooling season. Unfortuntaely it was 42 degrees outside and absolutely freexing inside. nThe front desk took affront when I challenged them on this. The room, bed and bathroom were very nice, but one elevator for 18 floors......come on! May 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Starwood needs to update this hotel As platinum members, we were upgraded to one of their largest suites, which was nice because I hear their rooms are typically quite small. However, the hotel in general was a little run - down, and not in the cute, boutique/historical way. There were lots of cracks in the walls, and the elevator was very slow. (16 floors, one very slow elevator.) Would not recommend the brunch, (even though it was free for platinum members) as it had very few options. My biggest complaint was the thinness of the walls. We could hear the neighbors like they were right next to us. They made several noise complaints against us (We had a 4 people talking with inside voices) and the hotel threatened to kick us out if they had to call us again, which was very rude. Probably will bite the bullet and spend more to stay at the Westin nearby next time. However, great location and has potential. Hoping Starwood can turn this into a cute luxury boutique hotel in the future. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicago's best Chicago's best kept secret of hotels. The perfect location and a great staff. Quiet and comfortable and always my first choice when staying in the city. March 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not so much good location, some nice staff. May 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why you should avoid this hotel The Tremont was a beautiful hotel years ago so I decided to stay there again. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. This hotel has seen better days. There was mold on the AC vents, the carpet was frayed, paint was chipped, holes and cracks in the walls. When I returned from dinner with friends, I did something I have never done. I packed up my suitcase and switched hotels. I could not bring myself to sleep there. January 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but needs a renovation I didn't feel this property lived up to the standard I expect from SPG. The room was very small and it appeared the bathroom had not been renovated since the 1970s. The ventilation in the bathroom was not adequate, and the result was a strong odor of mildew in the room. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by AVOID AT ALL COSTS !!! The building is old and tired and so is the staff. This hotel should NOT even be allowed in the Starwood brand portfolio. Only one elevator, an often unattended front desk and phone operator make this property a frustrating experience. The breakfast they offer only adds insult to injury. The location IS perfect, but certainly NOT worth the hassles and dilapidated decor and horrific service you will encounter. March 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Location excellent / bed was great / pillows were like hockey pucks Location was exactly what we were looking for. The room was on the SPG prefered guest level but did not meet our expectation. The room was so small that it was very difficult to walk around the bed. My wife and I thought someone was on the other side of the elevator as there was a constant knocking as the elevator moved - kind of creepy! The continental breakfast at Ditka's was not interesting at all. We left and went to the coffee shop across the street. The TV was not working properly and the attempt to repair it by the front desk did not last - the engineer was gone for the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful, I feel bad as the staff are taking the brundt of all the bad reviews that are not in their control. They are doing the best they can and really do try. At this hotels current state we would not return. If major renovations were complete we would surely come back. May 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A hidden jewel right off Michigan Ave This hotel was perfect for 3 sisters and a niece who met in Chicago for the weekend. It is right off of Michigan Ave close to the Looking Glass Theater and all the shopping and eating you would ever want to do. The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. We will definitely use this hotel for our future trips to Chicago. January 14, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>