The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

  • 100 East Chestnut
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in.

Rated 3 out of 5 by 365 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Blah! And so very noisy! This hotel IS in an amazing location but is barely satisfactory. We stayed in a 3rd floor room that had an alley for a view. The entire stay we heard delivery trucks including one that someone was trying to start for over an hour. Car alarms and honking are the noises you will need to get used to. All of this would be ok if it was $100 a night but at over $200 it's just not worth it. There are a hundred hotels in this area. I would never stay at the Tremont again. It's also kind of falling apart but I did feel like the rooms were clean. I'm a coffee drinker and I don't like leaving my room in the morning to get it. The staff was very friendly. May 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Stay Perfectly located and incredible staff. Need to upgrade internet and was told it was in the works August 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Updating and Better Security The entire hotel looks old, musty, dull, dark, needs repainting, new carpeting, new pain, updating. Not 21st century. Doesn't feel secure. Speaking of secure, here's how my check-in went. The first time, my keys didn't work. I schlepped back downstairs with my luggage and asked for new keys. Schlepped bags back upstairs to the room, opened the room, only to find the room was already assigned to someone else. Good thing that person wasn't in his room at the time. How scary! The front desk staff only seemed mildly concerned that they gave me access to someone else's room. Once I got to my room, which was just down the hall, I found that the tile, fixtures, carpeting, furniture, everything...was dated, dark, not inviting. At least the room seemed to be clean -- including the towels and sheets. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and Awesome Customer Service Everyone, including housekeeping was friendly, courteous and helpful. Alyson (front desk) was beyond exceptional…always smiling, always said hello as we waked by the front desk…. I asked for an upgrade as this was the first vacation my husband and I had in 10 years…and she came through!!! I am so grateful…it started off a perfect week. Thank you…we will be back! Devi Clinton September 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great staff but needs rennovations The hotel's facilities fell far short of my expectations from the website. Walls and carpets were shabby. The wallpaper in my room had huge bubbles in it because the plaster underneath it was falling apart (I'm guessing due to water damage to the exterior building wall). I was awoken repeatedly at night by gurgling pipes. There was no blind on the bathroom window, which made for a dry-and-dash shower (to say the least). Also, the remote control on the neighboring room's TV was keyed to the same signal as mine. So, every time that guest turned on/up their TV, mine did as well. I'd blame ghosts, but I think the ghosts would have had better TV programming tastes. May 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Understand What You're Getting... It's OK Now and Will Be Better Down the Road The rating is easy... Everyone knows the physical plant "Needs Improvement". As long as you know what you're getting you'll be fine. Currently, this is a residential style hotel that needs a refurb. I understand they will be getting new carpeting and such next month. But the rates reflect the current status of the hotel.... and the location is superb. I didn't experience any flaws (odors, etc.) and the front desk was friendly and willing to help in any way. Ditka's, off the lobby, was excellent. It is what it is... understand that... enjoy the excellent rates and be happy. If you're looking for services or luxury, go elsewhere. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay - great experience Staff were fabulous - They checked me in early after a miserable redeye flight from Los Angeles and that allowed me to rest & refresh. Room was clean, quiet, and comfy. Chicago was going through a horrific Jan. storm but my stay was warm and pleasant. Hotel is in the heart of the best of Chicago and is located in an affluent, safe area. Hotel is an incredible bargain - I will def. stay there again. I highly reccomend it. January 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The BEST Bed My daughter and I stayed at the Tremont for a quick visit to Chicago. The location could not have been better, the staff could not have been more helpful, and the bed was amazing! Literally, we did not want to get out of it. The room was quite small and sparse, but the bed made up for it. The price was so reasonable. We were out and about for most of the time, so the room size was not really an issue. April 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by July 4th in Chicago This is a super old hotel with character. The rooms as nice and large (which is great). The real issues are as follows. One elevator with 15 floors means 10 plus minutes waiting and if you are on a lower floor you may have to wait even longer as the elevator only allows about 12 people. The free breakfast (platinum benefit) is super bad. Some stall bread, juice and coffee. The first day I went to look at it the server apology it was so bad and empty. The valet appears to be on call and never staffed which can mean 15-20 minutes waiting on your car (yes I called ahead and still had to wait). Noise, the street noise is pretty loud (I was on the 14th floor) and could clearly hear the street noise. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location & staff! Although this is an older hotel, the room was clean and spacious enough. Everything was working in the room--air conditioning, overhead fan, lights, tv, wireless internet, etc. Staff was helpful and friendly. Check in and check out was very smooth. Already recommended this place to a friend. Great location to the Magnificent Mile shopping! Starbucks right across the street. Bonus! I would stay here again in the future. August 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel of the year award I must stay at least 25 hotels a year and this was the worst one I stayed at all year. It is worn out and is in need of a renovation. This cannot not be a surprise to management. On top of everything it smells of sewage. The staff are great, considering what they must put up with. Parking is a disaster as you have to wait 30 to 40 minutes to get your car. October 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs a lot of TLC Toiled clogged. Sink clogged. No internet access, which was excused with building structure. I was unable to work from my laptop for 2 straight days due to lack of internet access. Rooms are extremely dated. This hotel is not what is once was and Starwood should considering dropping. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday Boy The Tremont is an older SPG property; complete with its charms and areas of improvement. I emailed the hotel 2 weeks prior to my birthday weekend. My wife and I were greeted at the front desk and informed that we had a bottle of white wine to celebrate my birthday. We had a 2 room suite: one room had a nice comfortable queen bed with circular fan and new TV. The other room was a nice sitting room with new TV and small refrigerator. Later that night, I noticed the TV in the sitting room did not work. The next day the TV was replaced within half an hour. Overall the Tremont is a fine hotel, but has areas of improvement: 1. new carpeting 2. paint the rooms and hallways 3.refinish the hardwood floors 4. Refinish or replace some of the older furniture, 5. Replace some of the mirror inserts on the clothes closet doors, and 6. Spruce up the front desk area. The managers and front desk personnel are very responsive and seem to care. Hotel has a great location and could be made into a fantastic hotel. Starwood needs to spend more $$ on its renovation. April 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location vs. Condition Other reviewers suggested this facility was being renovated. While that is true, there facility is not getting any love from the management. Main elevator being upgraded..ok, understood, so we use the staff elevator which has not been cleaned or given any love since Lincoln was there. I noticed that new carpet was put down in the guest areas, but all of the trim is badly dinged and again, overlooked with no love, an incomplete job in my opinion. Starwood is known for attention to detail at every level which is why I remain faithful. But upper management needs to stay there a few nights to experience this facility for themselves. No food, snacks or even a vending machine...really?? March 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DELIBERATELY DECEIVING This is by far the WORST SPG property I have ever stayed at. the place is falling apart and looks absolutely nothing like the pictures. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Chicago location! We enjoyed out stay at the Tremont. Location was superb, and staff was very helpful. Lighting in the room could be improved, as well as the bathroom. Nevertheless, we would select this hotel again. August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations Based on some of the negative reviews I was hesitant on booking a stay at the Tremont. It's a charming (i.e. older) property but I was very pleased with the quality of the room, the hotel staff and you can't beat the location. I look forward to my next stay. August 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I expected more A Starwood property of this category made me expect more. Upon arrival, was greeted correctly. The bellboy helped take our luggage upstairs. Upon seeing a corner room, I got excited. But upon closer inspection, I was let down - no coffee/tea facility in the room, the AC unit outside the window was incredibly noisy, the Wifi did not reach the room. When asked for a water boiler for making tea, I was told to go get it from the kitchen! Breakfast was really lackluster - was shocked to hear that they have no possibility of making eggs! In short, look around for better properties which would be able to provide basic hotel services. September 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! I recently stayed at the Tremont Chicago for one night and found it to be a great hotel. It is close to many attractions and is not overly expensive per night. The room was cozy but well kept and very comfortable overall! It is also attached to Ditka's restaurant which was very convenient for us. The food was great and very filling. Staff at both places (the hotel/restaurant) were very friendly and accomodating. Overall a great experience! August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food and Beverage I appreciate the complementary coffee; it was awkward getting the coffee but no complementary continental breakfast. I'd suggest making the continental breakfast complementary as well or separate the coffee location. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great As Residential Hotel This place is not your traditional hotel. It's a small hotel without much of any services. But the location is fantastic. As a Platinum member I was lucky enough to get a nice suite upgrade. The room was excellent... maybe not very modern, and a few nicks and dents, but nicely appointed and excellent space. The bed was new and comfy. Ditka's attached is a nice plus. It's like an apartment (residence)... if that's ok, then its a great Starwood property considering the location and fabulous rates. The rates are obviously low since they realize it needs major upgrading. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I always stay here. I need to come to Chicago 3 times a year and usually stay at the Tremont, if I can help it. Friendly, very accommodating staff who will really come forward in times of need. In December the temps went below 0 and my car wouldn't start. The staff attempted to help with a battery box and tolerated my coming an going, tracking in snow and mud. Sweet, simple rooms with a comfortable bed, I just do not need more for a one-night stay. September 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty pricey, with few amenities I guess I'm used to having a room with a coffeemaker & a small refrigerator. I was in town for 2 Cubs games; too bad I found out after the fact that they had a baseball special. I was asked when I made the reservation when I would be arriving, & was told that even though it was early, my room would be ready. It wasn't, but it wasn't a big deal. Still, it would have been nice to at least change clothes. A 3 night stay cost me double of what I would have liked to have paid. June 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starwood Platinum Guest Disappointed I walked into the hotel thinking this was going to be beautiful by the enterance, I was very displeased as I walked past the restaurant and lobby toward the front desk. This hotel for being a Starwood gets kudos for its location other than that everything on the inside doesn't apply to Starwood Hotel Standards and if they do its very minimal. Very old hotel, expect a longer than normal wait on valet parking and lower your Starwood Standards if you want to stay here. Needless to say for the cost of the hotel I was very disappointed. May 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful This hotel is awful. Nasty dirty bathrooms, and a staff that is rude and lazy. Don't waste your time complaining; they don't care. And don't bother to verify things with the front desk, they say one thing, and do another. Usually nothing. There was a filthy ring around the toilet. They said it couldn't be cleaned, but when I took a towel with just a little water, it started to come off. Don't bother to put the do not disturb sign on, they will knock anyway, and won't apologize. They just don't care about their guests. April 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nothing to write home about Lobby was average, room size was average, room needed paint job, bathroom looked like it was from 1980. One good thing was the bed very comfortable. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it! Older boutique hotel, great location just off Michigan Ave. by the Water Tower. Starbucks right across the street and they offer a continental breakfast at Ditka's right next door for $10. And Ditka's is right next door!! I was in town for the birth of my granddaughter and I could walk to Prentice Women's Hospital easily. It is an older building, but I love those and so charming. Beds and sheets were top quality-sooo comfy. Elevator was a bit unpredictable, but staff got on fixing it right away. I would stay again. August 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location--needs makeover Great location and friendly staff but the rooms need a lot of TLC. From peeling wall paper to mold in the bath area, dirty walls, spiders, broken fixtures, agonizingly slow elevator and lack of amenities it just leaves a poor impression for a Starwood hotel. September 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shouldn't be on the SPG program For such a distinguished location I expected much more. One elevator, no food available and no heat! Apparently the mechanical system can either heat or cool but it can't do both. It had reached the time of year when the building engineers had decided it was cooling season. Unfortuntaely it was 42 degrees outside and absolutely freexing inside. nThe front desk took affront when I challenged them on this. The room, bed and bathroom were very nice, but one elevator for 18 floors......come on! May 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Hotel in Mag Mile I was pleasantly surprised by the Tremont hotel, an older boutique hotel undergoing renovations right in the Mag Mile area. Furnishings are nice, rooms big, bath supplies great. Bathrooms could use some more modernization and there is construction going on down the street but its a great deal for the price and an amazing location. And for sports buffs Ditkas is attached! September 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>