The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

  • 100 East Chestnut
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 351 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Blah! And so very noisy! This hotel IS in an amazing location but is barely satisfactory. We stayed in a 3rd floor room that had an alley for a view. The entire stay we heard delivery trucks including one that someone was trying to start for over an hour. Car alarms and honking are the noises you will need to get used to. All of this would be ok if it was $100 a night but at over $200 it's just not worth it. There are a hundred hotels in this area. I would never stay at the Tremont again. It's also kind of falling apart but I did feel like the rooms were clean. I'm a coffee drinker and I don't like leaving my room in the morning to get it. The staff was very friendly. May 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! I recently stayed at the Tremont Chicago for one night and found it to be a great hotel. It is close to many attractions and is not overly expensive per night. The room was cozy but well kept and very comfortable overall! It is also attached to Ditka's restaurant which was very convenient for us. The food was great and very filling. Staff at both places (the hotel/restaurant) were very friendly and accomodating. Overall a great experience! August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by July 4th in Chicago This is a super old hotel with character. The rooms as nice and large (which is great). The real issues are as follows. One elevator with 15 floors means 10 plus minutes waiting and if you are on a lower floor you may have to wait even longer as the elevator only allows about 12 people. The free breakfast (platinum benefit) is super bad. Some stall bread, juice and coffee. The first day I went to look at it the server apology it was so bad and empty. The valet appears to be on call and never staffed which can mean 15-20 minutes waiting on your car (yes I called ahead and still had to wait). Noise, the street noise is pretty loud (I was on the 14th floor) and could clearly hear the street noise. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great staff but needs rennovations The hotel's facilities fell far short of my expectations from the website. Walls and carpets were shabby. The wallpaper in my room had huge bubbles in it because the plaster underneath it was falling apart (I'm guessing due to water damage to the exterior building wall). I was awoken repeatedly at night by gurgling pipes. There was no blind on the bathroom window, which made for a dry-and-dash shower (to say the least). Also, the remote control on the neighboring room's TV was keyed to the same signal as mine. So, every time that guest turned on/up their TV, mine did as well. I'd blame ghosts, but I think the ghosts would have had better TV programming tastes. May 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Updating and Better Security The entire hotel looks old, musty, dull, dark, needs repainting, new carpeting, new pain, updating. Not 21st century. Doesn't feel secure. Speaking of secure, here's how my check-in went. The first time, my keys didn't work. I schlepped back downstairs with my luggage and asked for new keys. Schlepped bags back upstairs to the room, opened the room, only to find the room was already assigned to someone else. Good thing that person wasn't in his room at the time. How scary! The front desk staff only seemed mildly concerned that they gave me access to someone else's room. Once I got to my room, which was just down the hall, I found that the tile, fixtures, carpeting, furniture, everything...was dated, dark, not inviting. At least the room seemed to be clean -- including the towels and sheets. October 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Understand What You're Getting... It's OK Now and Will Be Better Down the Road The rating is easy... Everyone knows the physical plant "Needs Improvement". As long as you know what you're getting you'll be fine. Currently, this is a residential style hotel that needs a refurb. I understand they will be getting new carpeting and such next month. But the rates reflect the current status of the hotel.... and the location is superb. I didn't experience any flaws (odors, etc.) and the front desk was friendly and willing to help in any way. Ditka's, off the lobby, was excellent. It is what it is... understand that... enjoy the excellent rates and be happy. If you're looking for services or luxury, go elsewhere. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay - great experience Staff were fabulous - They checked me in early after a miserable redeye flight from Los Angeles and that allowed me to rest & refresh. Room was clean, quiet, and comfy. Chicago was going through a horrific Jan. storm but my stay was warm and pleasant. Hotel is in the heart of the best of Chicago and is located in an affluent, safe area. Hotel is an incredible bargain - I will def. stay there again. I highly reccomend it. January 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel need total remodel! The room we stayed in had wallpaper peeling off, window shades broken, tiles missing in bathroom. Will not recommend September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location The hotel is located at head of magnificient mile, steps away from Water Tower and shoppings. You can take bus to sight seeing places and is near subway too. The bed is huge and comfy. The poor drainer in the bathtub in our room was not good, making the water running so slow. No pool though. If hotel can offer the pool in the nearby Starwood hotel, it would be great. September 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs a lot of TLC Toiled clogged. Sink clogged. No internet access, which was excused with building structure. I was unable to work from my laptop for 2 straight days due to lack of internet access. Rooms are extremely dated. This hotel is not what is once was and Starwood should considering dropping. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The BEST Bed My daughter and I stayed at the Tremont for a quick visit to Chicago. The location could not have been better, the staff could not have been more helpful, and the bed was amazing! Literally, we did not want to get out of it. The room was quite small and sparse, but the bed made up for it. The price was so reasonable. We were out and about for most of the time, so the room size was not really an issue. April 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel of the year award I must stay at least 25 hotels a year and this was the worst one I stayed at all year. It is worn out and is in need of a renovation. This cannot not be a surprise to management. On top of everything it smells of sewage. The staff are great, considering what they must put up with. Parking is a disaster as you have to wait 30 to 40 minutes to get your car. October 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to Starwood Standards This is a great location, hotel is old, wallpaper coming off wall, cobb webs in room, sheets did not fit bed, towels old and worn. I would not recommentd unless you only care about location. Dont walk up the steps, they are old and dirty. Sorry, but I would rate this as the worst Starwood property I have ever experienced. June 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday Boy The Tremont is an older SPG property; complete with its charms and areas of improvement. I emailed the hotel 2 weeks prior to my birthday weekend. My wife and I were greeted at the front desk and informed that we had a bottle of white wine to celebrate my birthday. We had a 2 room suite: one room had a nice comfortable queen bed with circular fan and new TV. The other room was a nice sitting room with new TV and small refrigerator. Later that night, I noticed the TV in the sitting room did not work. The next day the TV was replaced within half an hour. Overall the Tremont is a fine hotel, but has areas of improvement: 1. new carpeting 2. paint the rooms and hallways 3.refinish the hardwood floors 4. Refinish or replace some of the older furniture, 5. Replace some of the mirror inserts on the clothes closet doors, and 6. Spruce up the front desk area. The managers and front desk personnel are very responsive and seem to care. Hotel has a great location and could be made into a fantastic hotel. Starwood needs to spend more $$ on its renovation. April 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location vs. Condition Other reviewers suggested this facility was being renovated. While that is true, there facility is not getting any love from the management. Main elevator being upgraded..ok, understood, so we use the staff elevator which has not been cleaned or given any love since Lincoln was there. I noticed that new carpet was put down in the guest areas, but all of the trim is badly dinged and again, overlooked with no love, an incomplete job in my opinion. Starwood is known for attention to detail at every level which is why I remain faithful. But upper management needs to stay there a few nights to experience this facility for themselves. No food, snacks or even a vending machine...really?? March 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DELIBERATELY DECEIVING This is by far the WORST SPG property I have ever stayed at. the place is falling apart and looks absolutely nothing like the pictures. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty pricey, with few amenities I guess I'm used to having a room with a coffeemaker & a small refrigerator. I was in town for 2 Cubs games; too bad I found out after the fact that they had a baseball special. I was asked when I made the reservation when I would be arriving, & was told that even though it was early, my room would be ready. It wasn't, but it wasn't a big deal. Still, it would have been nice to at least change clothes. A 3 night stay cost me double of what I would have liked to have paid. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by reasonable hotel with great location Our stay at Tremont was pleasant. I was not expecting a luxurious hotel as I had reviewed feedback and hotel amenities. Rooms are small but comfortable. The bathrooms could use some updating but were clean. The front desk and lobby staff were great. My only complaint is that we were in the room when the cleaning staff came by in the morning and no one came by later to offer us clean towels, etc. The staff brought them promptly when I requested them but I was disappointed that the cleaning staff did not ask or stop by later for a quick check. I was surprised that there was no single cup coffee pot in the room as most hotels seem to offer them. Wifi was available and usually good but one night the connection was too slow to be usable. The location was fabulous for shopping and restaurants. Lobby reception room is very nice. August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great As Residential Hotel This place is not your traditional hotel. It's a small hotel without much of any services. But the location is fantastic. As a Platinum member I was lucky enough to get a nice suite upgrade. The room was excellent... maybe not very modern, and a few nicks and dents, but nicely appointed and excellent space. The bed was new and comfy. Ditka's attached is a nice plus. It's like an apartment (residence)... if that's ok, then its a great Starwood property considering the location and fabulous rates. The rates are obviously low since they realize it needs major upgrading. April 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by No service A small hotel in good location. However, service is horrible. They staff with one person at desk and you are lucky to see another person who works there. Took 15 minutes to get checked in and my room was not ready at 3pm and would not be ready until 4 even though check in is 3. We never saw a valet and had to leave the keys with the front desk. Car was still parked out front 3 hours later. No ice machines as for some and was told they would bring some up. Never happened. Rooms are small and cramped even the deluxe. Would never return. August 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful This hotel is awful. Nasty dirty bathrooms, and a staff that is rude and lazy. Don't waste your time complaining; they don't care. And don't bother to verify things with the front desk, they say one thing, and do another. Usually nothing. There was a filthy ring around the toilet. They said it couldn't be cleaned, but when I took a towel with just a little water, it started to come off. Don't bother to put the do not disturb sign on, they will knock anyway, and won't apologize. They just don't care about their guests. April 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starwood Platinum Guest Disappointed I walked into the hotel thinking this was going to be beautiful by the enterance, I was very displeased as I walked past the restaurant and lobby toward the front desk. This hotel for being a Starwood gets kudos for its location other than that everything on the inside doesn't apply to Starwood Hotel Standards and if they do its very minimal. Very old hotel, expect a longer than normal wait on valet parking and lower your Starwood Standards if you want to stay here. Needless to say for the cost of the hotel I was very disappointed. May 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by not starwood qulity The AC ran non-stop and was loud... We were told to leave it set to 50 and that would avoid the noise. If set to 70, the loud AC would return... So we froze! The bathroom has yet to be updated from 1970. The sink was clogged and missing the stopper. You could see the last guests toothpaste sitting in the clog. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it! Older boutique hotel, great location just off Michigan Ave. by the Water Tower. Starbucks right across the street and they offer a continental breakfast at Ditka's right next door for $10. And Ditka's is right next door!! I was in town for the birth of my granddaughter and I could walk to Prentice Women's Hospital easily. It is an older building, but I love those and so charming. Beds and sheets were top quality-sooo comfy. Elevator was a bit unpredictable, but staff got on fixing it right away. I would stay again. August 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Location. The rest is a disaster Location is really great, very central 2 min away from JH Tower with good connections. The hotel is old, smelly and some areas just rundown. The bed was good, but the rest of the room just outdated. The breakfast does the rest. Stay away, better options are close-by. June 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by check your bill before leaving Hotel location was great, food was as expected. Room was nice, but dated. Staff was friendly at check in, and as usual, I opted to have my bill emailed to me. I've had few billing issues in the several hundred nights I've stayed with SPG the last few years. When I received my bill, there was a $61 charge for parking, which was odd because I didn't have a car there. I called the hotel, and they told me to call back the next day when accounting was available. So I called back the next day, and "accounting" told me that they would reverse the charge. A week later, I called back again when the charge had not been reversed. They told me it would take "some time". After a month, I disputed the charge with AMEX. The hotel's response was to send the original, incorrect bill showing $61 in parking. At this point, I'm done fighting them, and they win, successfully stealing $61 from me. Not the antics I expect from a business hotel. August 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Improvements needed The room was dark - poor lighting and not enough lights. Although we had a kitchenette, there were NO utensils, plastic or otherwise or any condiments (sugar, cream,etc.) Furniture was not well placed - i.e.).end table next to bed blocked one's ability to open the closet door where the safe was (not able to access). Room was not one that you wanted to stay in for long. August 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shouldn't be on the SPG program For such a distinguished location I expected much more. One elevator, no food available and no heat! Apparently the mechanical system can either heat or cool but it can't do both. It had reached the time of year when the building engineers had decided it was cooling season. Unfortuntaely it was 42 degrees outside and absolutely freexing inside. nThe front desk took affront when I challenged them on this. The room, bed and bathroom were very nice, but one elevator for 18 floors......come on! May 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Value You can't beat the price for staying so close to Michigan Ave and Rush Street where all the action is. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is next to DITKA's Steak House Room was a bit small but very cozy. The bed was excellent. Hospitality was AWESOME!! It's in a great location and the price was excellent. Will definitely come back again. August 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>