The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

  • 100 East Chestnut
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in.

Rated 3 out of 5 by 372 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicago We enjoyed staying at the Tremont, our room was very comfortable, clean, and was beyond our expectations.The location was perfect. The staff made us feel like we were long time guest, dining at Dikta's watching the Bears on Sunday was great.. I give the rating a perfect 10. September 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs renovations Have stayed here many times over the years and keep hoping for updates, especially in the bathrooms. Many of the smaller boutique hotels within a few blocks have done so and although I prefer The Tremont location, I will more than likely not be returning. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A true Chicago Experience It's an old hotel in exactly the right location! It has an charm that grows on you after several visits. The staff seems to be long-term and they have gotten to know me. Ditka's excellent resturant is right down stairs and the crowd and beer are most ameniable. December 12, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired rooms This hotel is not up to the Starwood standards. Rooms are in desperate need of remodeling. Drain in my room's shower didn't drain properly. Finally drained 15 minutes after I left the shower. Could have been the heaviest hotel door I have ever seen. I won't go back. May 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for business travelers Hotel is very old, internet slow, and rooms are small. I would not recommend this hotel for business travelers. For leisure... perhaps, but the hotel needs infrastructure improvement. June 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Work in progress Hopefully this property will eventually meet SPG standards, but right now, it is a less than stellar experience. Rooms are very old, but clean. Elevators need to be refurbished. Locationis top drawer. December 7, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst SPG experience The hotel definitely needs improvement. I could not open the door when I returned after my work travel. I am so tired and I just want to eat and sleep. The engineer needs to come down and fixed the door... April 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is small, yet hospitable Thr rooms were a little small, but the staff was very helpful and responsive. November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Stay The staff was very friendly and the room was very comfortable. I liked that it was accessible to everything, but not directly on a very busy street. Would stay here again. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicago's best Chicago's best kept secret of hotels. The perfect location and a great staff. Quiet and comfortable and always my first choice when staying in the city. March 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I expected more A Starwood property of this category made me expect more. Upon arrival, was greeted correctly. The bellboy helped take our luggage upstairs. Upon seeing a corner room, I got excited. But upon closer inspection, I was let down - no coffee/tea facility in the room, the AC unit outside the window was incredibly noisy, the Wifi did not reach the room. When asked for a water boiler for making tea, I was told to go get it from the kitchen! Breakfast was really lackluster - was shocked to hear that they have no possibility of making eggs! In short, look around for better properties which would be able to provide basic hotel services. September 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Starwood Standards Allison was wonderful on the reservation and this is a hotel that truly needs work. Mold in the shower, TV remote that didn't work. Below average breakfast quality, no coffee in the room or in the lobby. Come on, have one or another!!! With just a little effort, this could be a nice hotel. When we said something to the front desk personnel, they stated that they'd tell the General Manager with no true feelings. I have booked this hotel for a conference in March and will be looking at cancelling my reservation. As a Starwood Platinum, this is not close to the standards you'd expect. The funny thing is, with a little focus, it could be wonderful. On last thing, when they cleaned the room, they left no shampoo. It's the little things that would make this hotel tuly wonderful!!! November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic hotel really good location for sightseeing and shopping. staff are nice and helpful price is low classic furniture breakfast a little expensive January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Genuine Appreciate the genuine welcome from clerks and Joe! Updates look great! January 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by terrible hotel front desk person was surly. no coffee in room. uncomfortably small room. November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by always stay here when in Chicago!! Close to everything. Love this hotel!!! August 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cheap for a reason...needs major renovation Let me start off with the good - the location is wonderful and the rates are very low. That's about it. This hotel is in need of major renovation. Old carpeting, old furniture, old heater/AC (it hit -30 degrees outside one night I stayed and the heater didn't fully work), old decor, etc. And this stuff is not vintage old. Old as in it smells funny and looks dirty. Random crumbs and stains throughout the room and hallways as well. Honestly, given the price maybe this is within expectations. But given my mostly favorable experience with the Starwood brand, it's kind of shocking that they would have such a rundown hotel in their portfolio. January 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location but hotel needs serious updates Great location. This was once a great hotel but it needs serious upgrading. I was upgraded to a huge corner suite on the top floor. Big windows and lots of light. An old elevator. My first time in it, I thought it would fall apart. Later that night it broke down. The only other elevator was the service elevator around the corner. It didn't go up to the top floor, so you had to get out and walk up the last flight through an unlit stairwell on the top floor. Elevator got fixed later the 1st night, the. Broke again on the 2nd night for the duration of my stay. Rooms need new carpets and updating. Definitely not the usual starwood standard. November 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Hotel for Decent Price The front-desk staff was cordial and professional, the location is good, the price is decent. The hotel itself and the rooms are showing their age. In my room, the TV went off twice for no reason, one light did not function, and there were numerous dings and blemishes. All in all, an average experience. November 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Ready for SPG Prime Time Great location - and a rate in retrospect that was too good to expect more, I suppose. However, when assigned my 'upgraded' room (a corner King), I was really surprised that when I entered it, the smell was very (and I mean VERY) unpleasant. It was 77 degrees, and smelled of serious mildew. AC was inoperable. Wallpaper peeling from the wall in the outdated bathroom. Sheetrock was rotting near the marble floor. To say it had seen it's day is putting it mildly. Amazingly enough, the hotel does have its charms. The exterior is pleasant. The lobby/living room is nice, albeit dark and in need of a spruce-up. Staff works at keeping the property clean, but it is really beyond the cleanup stage - needs some remodeling. Also, the staff are all very friendly - and were accommodating in moving me to another room which was cooler and smelled better. However, the staff levels are de minimis. In terms of the room, there are no real amenities. No movies to rent - no coffee to brew - no space to speak of. They are all very small. Elevators (two - one for service although that is widely used by guests) are slow, small, and stuffy. Breakfast is continental at Mike Ditka's steakhouse next door. Starbucks, mercifully, is across a not-so-busy street. Location is fantastic - about 200 paces from the Mag Mile and Water Tower Place and John Hancock Center. Starwood must have seen a diamond in the rough when it bought this property. Trust me - she still needs polishing. June 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Surprised and disappointed, actually. As a Platinum Starwood member, I stay in a lot of SPG properties, but this one was a complete surprise. The list of deficiencies is a page long but the two most striking are the bathroom facilities and kitchen. The fact that the bathroom was actually two rooms (toilet in one and sink/shower-tub in the other) wasn't too bad until you realized that the only place for towels was in the toilet room and there wasn't even a hook to hang a towel in the sink/shower room! What's with that?? Add to that the moldy ceiling, cracked sink with no stopper, broken shower knob, rusty shelf unit and ineffectual fan that sounded like mid-day on the tarmac at O'Hare - you have a real experience! If I was paying $40 a night in some out of the way motel - okay. I would expect this. But not in a Starwood property half a block off the high-end of N. Michigan! I am running out of space, but you get the gist of what to expect with the kitchen stories! On the plus side, the staff were nice, the location great and the water pressure amazing! November 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment After arriving at the non-air conditioned reception area at 1:00ammy colleague and I were greeted by a receptionist who was surrounded by loudly blowing box fans. We were then instructed to exit the building, 'walk past the dark alley" and enter the building on our right. The building was old and decrepit. The rooms were what we believe to be old apartments that had not been renovated in 50+ years. The bathrooms were in desperate need of updating. The elevator was old and rickety. We were not told upon making the reservation that we would be in a different building, no less in an undesirable location. All-in-all, a sub-par experience. May 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old and Tired -- The Hotel We stay there twice in the last two years during the early Christmas season. We chose The Tremont principally for the proximity to Michigan Avenue and the good price. The hotel is old and needs a general spruce-up, especially on the so-called Starwood Preferred Floor. We had issues with the TV reception, internet/wireless service was spotty, the in-room safe was locked and could not be opened and it took four stops at the front desk to have someone come up and fix the connection on the telephone.These were all minor annoyances, but annoyances none the same. We may choose the Tremont again for our own reasons but have difficulty recommending it to anyone. December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Service The bellman watched as two women (myself and another friend) lug all the suitcases into the building while our husbands looked for parking. The husbands assumed that the bellman would handle everything. Once we got everything inside the building and were waiting for the elevator the bellman came and acknowledged us. They said they had to take all the suit cases through the freight elevator. Not once did they offer to help us get them in the hotel or even hold the door open while we were struggling to get them inside. Amazing how they were ready to do the easy stuff! Also, there were never any ice bucets available. They kept giving us ice is plastic bags. July 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service especially for a hotel that costs way too much for what they give *HORRIBLE Customer Service. This hotel does not assist in booking a room. I called several times, including leaving phone messages (for Chantel) and not ONCE did the hotel return calls. You'd think they would want to return calls to make sure you get a room? I had to call an additional service, the Starline Booking number to make reservations and the only reason I did that was because of going there for a wedding party staying there. If the entire wedding party hadn't been staying at this hotel, I would not have bothered due to the many phone calls and frustrating experience in even trying to book a room! The reservation hotline is also not much help because they seem to know nothing about the hotel, area of town, or features. *Plain Jane, bare minimal decoration rooms. For a hotel that charges $349 a night - $349 a night on up! They sure do have some basic, ugly rooms. Everything is very plain, the room wasn't even stocked with toilet paper or kleenex - we had to go ask for some, the rooms are brown carpet, brown headboard, white towels, white bedding. Plain and ugly. *Doorman/ bell hops - they were friendly and nice but paid no attention to taking care of luggage! Luggage cases were dragged out of taxi with very little care and dragged across the sidewalks and into the hotel - scraping up the luggage until I noticed! Our luggage had wheels on them - they were dragging the suitcases down sidewalk and through lobby without using the wheel side - thank you for scraping and damaging my new luggage. If I could give this hotel 0 stars, I would, but unfortunately you can't click 0. The customer service at this hotel is terrible - they all seem in a fog or haze, running through the motions of their job without paying attention to the care of the customer nor customer's things - and they don't even fully perform their job. For a hotel that is so expensive, I guess they assume people will stay there based on their location - but their service is horrible and not worth the trip. The one good thing about this hotel is that the beds in the rooms were extremely comfortable, that is it. I will not be staying there again, even if there is another wedding party staying there. July 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Falling apart at the seams...literally We thought the Treemont was going to be a great little boutique hotel in a great location. It turned out that this Gold member got a room with a ceiling that is falling. AND THAT IS ON THE SPG PREFERRED GUEST FLOOR. We booked at the pre-paid rate and they still charged us more telling me that they didn't take enough deposit when we pre-paid weeks ago. The blankets have holes in them. (DID WE MENTION THIS IS IN CHICAGO WHERE ITS COLD???!??!) It's also very weird that the toilet faces a corner. It's like you are being punished for going to the bathroom. The only saving grace is that Ditkas restaurant is attached and you can get yourself a stiff drink to numb the feeling that you wasted money on a crappy hotel room that has the Starwood name. February 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old But great location This Hotel is Old, small elevators that run slow. BUT - the location is great. Just North on Rush are a lot of restaurants and Bars. You can easily walk to the Pier [Walk down Magnificent Mile - N. Michigan Ave.] If you are staying 3 days get the Trolley / bus pass. You can get on and off. Also, it was too cold for us but the pier has lots of boat tours that looked great. The hotel has free coffee in the Ditkas restaurant downstairs. Unless you need Starbucks across the street. Around the block on Pearson is Einsteins bagels. The staff at the Hotel was super great and helpful! Have patience with the elevators [use the freight elevator too!]. Enjoy your visit May 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Experience Ever! I understand the Tremont Hotel is historic, however, I can not accept the fact that my lights kept turning on throughout the night and I would have to get up to turn them off. My fan would also turn on full blast and shake the entire room..SPOOKY! When I called at 2am the first night I stayed with them the staff member acted as if she had never heard of it happening before but couldn't do anything about it because they were completely booked and the engineer didn't come in until 6am. Came to find out my coworker staying in another room had the same things happening..coincidence, I think not! I will never stay here again after paying for two sleepless nights! May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location Excellent location but the heat was not working properly. November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Second time visitor Because I had such a positive experience 4 years ago, I booked at the Tremont again. Good choice. Efficient, friendly, clean, comfortable, responsive - all I could wish for. The only small problem was getting knocked off wifi. I was in room 304, which was quiet and private with a view out onto Chestnut, but the Tremont wifi was very weak there. One night I walked down the hall, re-connected, then went back to the room. When I mentioned it, the person at the desk offered to give me another room, which I declined. Next time (I certainly hope there will be a next time) I'll check the wifi before unpacking and settling in. Thank you for another happy experience. March 28, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>