Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

  • 789 Nanjing Road East
  • Shanghai,
  • Shanghai
  • 200001
  • China
  • Map
Rated 4 out of 5 by 282 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel with Not so great food The staff was exceptional!!!! It is worth saying they are extremely attentive. My Only complaint is the food in the lounge, the lounge didnt have enough quality food for happy hour. Breakfast was a little better but still could have used more. Very clean, Room I got was suite and its a smoking room. I dont smoke and I couldnt tell that its a smoking room. Everything you need for a pleasant stay. Being SPG Platinum usually doesnt get me much recognition, here I asked for the upgrade they smiled and said of course. November 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistent star in Shanghai Returned after just over 7 months from my last stay, some familiar faces and some new staff but same consistent excellent and personally tailored service. Very good SPG recognition, including an upgrade to suite. Club lounge access a real benefit, staff attentive and Chef Peter still makes the best omlette in Shanghai! Central Puxi location with easy access by taxi, metro and walking remains a key advantage. Minor comment door staff require better filtering of guests as some local ladies are findin their way into the lobby lifts all too frequently August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by New SPG Policy for 2013 I spent the past month in Asia at several SPG properties and all of them including Le Royal Meridien Shanghai confirmed that SPG Platinum members don't get the best room in the house as it was in the past, but now it is very precise technical wording that translates to how much you pay for your booking and if you are a 50 night SPG-P or a 100+ night SPG-P who has concierge privileges. The hotel business is tough, but I suppose one needs to spend all 365 days of the year at a SPG property to get any special treatment! SPG is no longer what it used to be. Greedy corporate management will ensure its ruin. Thanks for changing the program for 2013. Great benefits to the franchisees and owners of the hotels, but all SPG members got screwed. April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in Shanghai I stayed here twice during my latest trip to China. Service was top notch, and I was upgraded to a spacious Junior Suite on my first visit. I inquired about a Deluxe Suite, but was told that they were unavailable. A quick check online once I got to my room proved that to be true. A full breakfast is offered downstairs to plats, so I was advised by the receptionist to take the 500 point amenity. A plate of fruit and container of cookies were already in my room, along with a welcome letter from the manager. A solid, clean, quiet, room. No issues with Internet speeds. The location of the hotel is perfect. Just a few minutes to the People’s Square metro station on Line 2, and at the end of Nanjing Lu street. The executive lounge serves afternoon tea from 2:30pm-4:30pm, and starts serving over a dozen types of light finger foods and snacks from 5:30pm – 8pm. If you’re not terribly hungry, you can definitely make a meal of it. Soft drinks are available free all day. The gym is one of the largest I’ve seen, with a huge complement of cardio and weight machines. There’s also a large pool available. My room’s heater was broken, and when I got back to my room later that day, it was fixed. The breakfast here is the best I’ve ever had in a hotel. I’m not just saying it – it actually knocked my previous favorite hotel’s breakfast down to the #2 spot! March 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel staff are impolite 1) bfast - hotel staff show sour face when i request for plastic fork n spoon, long waiting time, never provide paper bag till i request 2) when i park my car, the 1st floor parking assistant at the ground floor also being very rude and ask me must go park at the shopping mall car park 3) when i order room service, the staff pick up phone gave me feeling of reluctant to take my order, and i waited ~45mins for that, i got to make 2nd phone call to follow up, and ended up i got to sleep late due to that long waiting time September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by View, location and service My wife and I spent five days at this hotel in October. The location is fantastic and we were able to walk to many of the sites. We thoroughly enjoyed the pedestrian mall and the shopping it provided on our doorstep. As a platinum member, we appreciated the upgrade to a very pleasant suite. We made very good use of the Club Lounge where beverages and snacks were almost always available. The staff here were always very attentive and pleasant. The view of the Pudong Skyline was to die for. November 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Busy Was not aware that the facility was tied to the Shanghai Grand Prix the weekend I chose to stay there. Perhaps there should have been a notice posted to those checking in. As well, came back to my upgraded room at 4 pm to rest after sightseeing to find out that it was not yet cleaned by housekeeping. When I called, I was redirected 4 times before someone could help let alone speak english. I went to the Lounge to lodge a complaint and the Asst Front Desk Manager came by and offered the apologies. Room was cleaned within the hour. April 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay but a little bit unintelligible Regardness of great location and good room condition, services are a little bit uncomfortable to me. First, hotel gave me welcome card to thank me to revisit and congratulate my "third" anniversary. Yes, I noticed to hotel my "anniversary", but it is my first one. My wife is kidding me with whom was here, but it isn't able to understand what Meridien does. Last, on the way of check out, staff gave me invoice that is 20 yuans more charged as I knew. It is quite small amount of money, but staff has not given any reason for that. April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Banquet Service On March 7th we (MPK Group) had press conference in your Hotel (9F) at 18:30. However, banquet facility and service were terrible. We have ordered Chinese kaoliang spirits (liquor) but glasses delivered very late. Nothing was prepared nearby banquet room. Most importantly, we could not fine the manager so we ordered wine through banquet server and it took 45 minutes. The wine order was requested by our CEO and it delivered very late so we (MPK staffs) had hard time because of that. Basically no cooperation on your side -.- March 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Your SPG Gold does not earn you any worthy Recognition This is my 3rd encounter with a Bund View room with bad air quality, the room smells like some smoker has been staying and smoke all day !! The breakfast area in the restaurant was very crowded and it is worst if it rains, as the open space is wet. Being a SPG Gold does not get any gold treatment in this hotel besides the SPG elite check in and out counter. There is no difference being SPG gold even for breakfast as you get to sit in an over crowded area, NO GOLD member sitting arrangement in this hotel !! September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Declining? I have stayed at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai several times in the past. It is in an excellent location for trips to Shanghai. However, this time I was disappointed in the room and the food from room service. The room ventilation was frequently unable to provide the cooling/dehumidification required for comfort. A technician did come to investigate, turning the vent fins down to blow on the room occupant sitting at the desk. But after that, the ventilation only worked the one evening and went back to "stuffy, warm" mode (even with the thermostat set at 18C). The result is that the room was always a bit muggy even though the weather outside wasn't too warm. Room service needs to look up recipes for French Onion soup. Typically, it is more than just onions and water. October 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service I always stay in your hotel in the last 2+ years. Most of the visit is good except this one hence the feedback. Following my room booking confirmation, I then book via email business center meeting room however on the day of meeting nothing was planned for me. On my check-out, there is no proper queue process. It's frustrating seeing other guest jump queue. When I report to female attendee, she just asked me to continue waiting. I am in a rush to the airport. My payment only takes 5mins. October 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Overall Experience I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something a little bit different to your regular business hotel. The room layout is fun and different whilst still being functional. The staff are friendly and the facilitaties great. December 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Hospitality Great hotel, very clean room, friendly staff with an excellent hospitality. Highly recommended. December 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and Superb hotel Very nice hotel located in an excellent place in shanghai. The ambience, staff and the rooms were really good. Strongly recommend this hotel for business and leisure guests. You won't regret it. December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks! I've been spoiled by the comfort, service, and attitude of Asia's Starwoods hotels that it makes it hard to stay at other hotels. Le Meridien Shanghai is one of the hotels I stay the most frequently, and a major reason I feel the above. Thanks! December 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by State of the room this time This room is right beside the corner suite, a bit small but still acceptable for me, staying on my own. but the carpet and the condition of the walls need to be looked at. I could see clearly that the carpet has not been cleaned properly especially the perimeter. The walls are OK but the special paint effects made it look dirty and the wall switches were poorly mounted... One more thing is that there was no power outlet for the hairdryer in the bathroom, I had to plug it into the power outlet at the desk. October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Feeling The reception is warmly and upgrade to a comfortable room December 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by You can spend less and get more. For the price we paid, we expected more. The staff were friendly and tried to help, but did not always deliver. When we arrived, our room was not ready, and they offered me a soft drink coupon. Soft drink...really? At $275/night, I would think the least they can do is buy me a beer! The room layout was strange with a large swiveling TV in the middle; and they called that a junior suite. Perhaps a stretch. There were other indications that our room used to be different and they added the proverbial veneer to modernize it (I.e. the adjoining door was mostly blocked by our closet). I saw another junior suite layout that was considerably nicer with bathtub views of the city. The 789 bar was nice and the manager who ran it gave us some excellent advice on local restaurants and things to do. October 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by restaurant food i have now stayed at this hotel many times but i am still disappointed with the quality of the food in the main restaurant...the French restaurant is fine. Both breakfast and dinner fall someway short of 5 star markings. I have only experienced dinner twice in the main restaurant and both occasions were extremely disappointing ...buffet and A La carte. For breakfast, the food is always not sufficiently heated and the lack of potato/tomato/mushroom choices for the Western ingredients is astonishing. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Property with Just One Comment This is an absolutely beautiful property in the heart of Shanghai! Frankly, I thought all aspects were excellent except one. I was on a business trip and basically had to start my day in the hotel retaurant for breakfast. Like the rest of the hotel, all aspects were excellent: food quality, service, and variety. However ..... the buffet was nearly US$40. Even for a top end experience, this seemed very high for breakfast. I would have rated it excellent Value for Money anywhere at US$20 or below. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay I have definitely appreciated my stay at your hotel, the room was great even though I did not get a suite upgrade as usually with Starwood. The staff was friendly, food great, and the lounge very trendy. One improvement for the concierge staff handling the taxis, need to improve either their English knowledge or locations knowledge "garden hotel" should be an easy destination to understand, knowing that there is only one in shanghai. But globally it was a great stay, the best in shanghai so far. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service Arrived, noise level REALLY loud in lobby from Sunday brunch music. No room upgrade offered despite status (front desk staff even admitted later that hotel was not busy). Day 2, I came back to the room at 1:15, still not made up. I called for makeup, staff arrived 2 hours later! Day 3, I put "Please Makeup Room" sign out at 8am, but room still not made up at 10:15am... Brunch OK, but one section was little used, and eggs (Benedict?) and cut meats looked as if they had been there a long time. October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel overall Winter package is great. Hotel is modern and super nice. Room has good view and very convenient. I think it is listed as one of top 5 hotels in Shanghai. One thing I would like to mention specifically is their service. I had trouble with my computer screen during last visit, hotel staff took extra step and found HDMi cable for me and connect my computer to TV monitor. They took whole back penal of TV off to install it. Really appreciate their effort to make customer feels like at home/office January 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but... When coming back to hotel at late night, it is very annoying to find several girls at L floor, jumping in the elevator and offering massage. One night, I also went to complain to the front desk about it, and it was very surprising that the receptionist told me he had no idea about these girls and their behaviours. This is really surprising, since I have found such girls every night of every stay... Looks like hotel is fine with that. But I found a lot of customers annoyied about it. July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service at this Hotel I can safely say that the hotel and the service surpassed all my expectations. I stayed at the hotel on 4 separate occasions during my trip and treated royally each time. The staff in the Club lounge went above and beyond duty and made each stay enjoyable. Only negative comment would be the air conditioning in the rooms, limited to 18C as a low and never reached that number, the room always felt warm. Will I stay again, most definitely, currently planning my next trip for Sept. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Considering the 4th time return~~~maybe It is my 3rd time return to this hotel and this time I stayed for a week. Although my shedule is really tight n not so much time to enjoy the facilities within the hotel, I could still experience that the staff at the greeting areas around the lobby and elevator assess are more proactive then the previous times with a standard greeting and customer could feel they are really welcoming people. Some training must be done! Good job. Would expect the check-in staff be more friendly to their customer instead of always making their guest feel they are wrong by an accussing attitude. You are here to assist guest in a Starwood property and representing the hotel by creating a first impression to all different enthical of people. Also, the Cafe female (manager? in black suit) stiff face & eye-sight every morning on the floor ( same person of all my 3 times of stay), seriously I don't feel welcome at all for breakfast, that's why I seldom choose to have breakfast during this time of stay. I'm sure this could be my major consideration of chossing my next stay in Shanghai. Besides this, thanks for the GM follow up and guest card. December 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay to enjoy a shanghai experience great location, very nice facilities, very nice staff, nice to enjoy a stay there... though, still a bit tough to have to pay -in 2013- for wifi/internet access, even when enjoying a redeem points night ! very nice staff in general...though not very nice to be put in a complete empty restaurant area because we have kids, when the ambience and the beverages were located in a more convenient area! overall, a great stay and a very nice place, close of everything you need in SGH ! February 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and service Great hotel and servce. Although I would like to suggest that platinum members who are given access to the lounge be put in floors 40 and above so they have direct elevator access to the lounge. I was put on 38th floor and had to change elevator to get to the lounge, a bit of a trouble. May I also suggest that light snacks and fruits and beers be served at all times outside of meal service for the benefit of guests who arrive late. Overall had a great experience at the hotel December 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bleh My non-smoking room was recently smoked in. Insufficient staff (no staff in pool / spa area at all). English sub-par. Had to re-magnetize my keys 3 times. Lots of problems with cosmetic upkeep (not painted, floor panels are wobbly, etc etc etc) V - December 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>