The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

  • 6 Kai Ala Drive,
  • Lahaina
  • Maui,
  • Hawaii
  • 96761
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 332 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room dirty and not impressive, very pushy sales staff We stayed in a studio from 6/1/13-6/6/13. We are owners of a different timeshare and were curious to see what kind of facilities are available through Starwood. We arrived around 3 pm and check in was very disappointing. Just a few employees to handle a throng of guests and the lines were not moving due to the number of people with room problems that needed solving. Many people around us were very upset there was no SPG separate check in as had been promised. We were assigned an ADA room unfortunately, which would not have been too big of a problem, except that the room was very dirty. There were stains on the blinds, couch, and red stains on the sheets. The shower head was also broken. After watching a number of people turned away at the desk with no resolution to their problems we decided to make the best of it. We did report our shower head problem which was fixed the same day. Otherwise room was decent, fair amount of room, comfortable bed, refrigerator and stove big enough to be useful. The air conditioner seemed to be working but never got the room below 78 degrees no matter what it was set at. Location was very nice, excellent beach for swimming and snorkeling, but they charged for beach chairs (?!?) Grounds were decent. Building layout a little odd but upkeep seemed good. Pools looked good from a distance but were shallow and dark which made them look even dirtier. Only ate at oceans grill. The food was surprisingly good and the service we got from a waitress from Fernley, NV was excellent. We were "encouraged" to attend a timeshare presentation while we were they, being promised that it would not at all be pushy. Our mistake. Our agent Brian was very condescending and repeatedly insinuated that he was not sure why we were offered the presentation that we were probably beneath the level of traveler who would buy their program. He also gave a lot of information that seemed very sketchy and did not stand up to a cursory internet search once we were done. After this was done Juan came in to an exit survey. He asked "was everybody professional?" and immediately circled a 10 on his sheet. When I started to mention how condescending our agent had been he just laughed and moved on. When we mentioned the condition of our room to the sales staff they assured us a manager would be contacting us, and of course no one did. Overall there are much better properties in the area. Unless you are specifically looking for a large villa and can avoid the sales staff, I would choose another hotel. June 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't book it! As a SPG Gold member it troubles me to write this review. I have stayed at Westin hotels from St. John to San Francisco and all in between. When I booked this hotel several months ago I read the reviews and was truly unsure if I should. I decided to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt, and I was sorry. Upon arrival my first night we walked into a hot steamy room in which the AC was broken and wasn't repeair until the following day. I could tolerate this as I understand things do happen. My issue with the hotel goes much deeper. After a few days of enjoying fun in the sun things went down hill, fast! As I am getting ready to take a shower I notice the tub is partially filled with what looks to be black sewage! I immediately call the front desk and they send someone to repair it. I was unable to shower the entire night and dinner was ruined. The following day a repeat of the exact same happened and I again called the front desk and reported it. At my request we were moved and they offered me $30 off my stay a night. I felt like this was completley inadequate and almost made things worse. I am not the type of person to write reviews or feed negative comments, this was just needed. Be safe and book elsewhere. June 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by some diappointments while our room was excellent, we found the food to be overpriced and mediocre, especially the italian place. my wife's eggplant dish tasted like olive pudding, while my spaghetti and meatballs were quite bland. have had much better at olive garden we are both retirees, so to us the place was quite boistrous with so many small kids. a beautiful setting and grounds would recommend it to friends with small kids June 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2013 Maui Vac Place was amazing the bellmen are so nice they make you feel like your family. Thank you Kacey and Angel (you both go above and beyond). Not to take away from the great experiance (Dee Dee) at check in could use some training on talking to customers. I'm willing to discusse my experiance with managment. May 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Buyer beware. SPG Ms. Schmid, My husband and I came to the Westin Ka'anapali Resort a year and a half ago and fell in love with the place. After attending the seminar and meeting with you, we opted to make monthly payments and rebook a year later to bring the rest of our family back to see if we would like to proceed with purchasing a property. During this seminar we were told by several people, yourself included, that we could book this room and then get an add on using cash and points giving us a big enough living area for us and our two kids. We were very upfront with the end result we wanted - two connecting rooms. What a mess this has been! We booked our Explorer Package #19-13225 in October of 2012 for this June. After booking the package, we were told that we had to call another number to book the additional room using cash and points, which we did. At that time, they told us we would have to call back as the date approached to get the rooms together. We have placed over 10 calls and have been passed around too many times to count. I did finally speak with someone wonderful who was able to explain to me that in order to have connecting rooms, the explorer package should have been booked as a one bedroom. There are no one bedrooms available now and there is no waiting list. They have made a note in our reservation to try to get the rooms as close together as possible, but as you can imagine we are beyond frustrated. The entire point of a family vacation is to vacation together. Now, my husband is going to have to stay in a room with one of our children and I'm going to be who knows where in a separate room with our other child. This is NOT what we wanted. I am so very disappointed in this property and can assure you that we will not be purchasing anything from the Westin/Starwood Preferred or staying at another Westin/Starwood property ever again. Although we may just be one small family, we will make sure that everyone we know is aware of what a disappointment and misleading experience this has been. Sincerely, Pat and Tracie I would like to add the hotel staff have been very helpful where they can be. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing confort and great service We enjoyed the time at the resort, it will be my hotel for our future Maui's visits. May 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by good but not great I expected something extraordinary since this was a Westin. The hotel room was awesome, room cleanliness and maintenance was fantastic. But that was the end of the greatness. Pool is too small for such a large complex; service at the pool was atrocious (2 service people for about 100 people that I saw). Breakfast was pretty bad and stale. We went to the Sheraton everyday since we had coupons that could be used either place. Location is pretty far from many activities, but right on kaanapali. Traffic can be a killer for any activities in south or central Maui. Parking is not free, it is $10 per day. May 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nicely Manicured Hotel Grounds with Poor Service and Snobby Atmosphere While the location and look of this Westin Resort was impeccable, the feel of it did not meet out expectations from the minute we walked onto the property until we left. Upon arrival, the front desk neglected to share several critical details with us regarding internet usage, parking fees, markets in the area, shuttle services, etc. As implied, this led to much confusion when it came to our bill at the end of the week as well as activities that we participated in. In addition, the front desk staff was repeatedly rude to us, showing no sense of customer service on any given day of our trip. Every employee we interacted with at the front desk was unhelpful and uninformative, which greatly impacted our Starwood experience. Furthermore, the resort as a whole projected a very snobby attitude, with owners acting as if they were better than any other guests and employees acting as if the villas were better than any other Westin. I will never again stay in the Villas, as the service and room conditions were significantly better at the Westin hotel down the street. In addition to the front desk staff issues, the poolside restaurant staff were are uninformed and led us in the wrong direction in terms of where we could find certain food options on the resort. Beyond the staff, we were also incredibly surprised by the room setup and late departure lounge offered to guests. The studio sized rooms supposedly contained a usable kitchen - yeah, right! This kitchen has literally no counter space and was awkwardly positioned in the room. Also, the microwave and oven was combined into one appliance, leading to poorly cooked food. This is not a usable kitchen at all, nor are the grills onsite effective (as over half of them would not start up, requiring us to share a grill with other guests - only 1 of whom was humble enough to share with us). Obnoxious! Finally, most guests depart Hawaii later in the day based on flights and time zone differences. As a result, the Westin Villas provided a heinous late departure lounge, which was located in the basement with no windows and next to the workout facility. The lounge was hot and humid, and it forced guests to use the workout facility's locker rooms to shower and get ready after a day at the pool. These facilities were neither clean nor convenient, as they were located outside of the lounge, did not have mirrors, were out of shampoo/body wash, and so forth. Moreover, the lounge did not contain any refreshments or sense of comfort or privacy for guests. All other Westin Hotels have had immensely superior hospitality rooms. I can't believe I ever even considered buying into the villa properties with Starwood after this experience. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pool Liked the pools,location and service niv Ce staff May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing and renewing vacation Room was beautiful with wonderful view of gardens and pool areas. Restaurant staff could not have been sweeter -- we were so warmly greeted by old friends (like family!) and welcomed by new ones. Pools and hot tubs were so relaxing and refreshing (although it was a little competitive to get a pool chair with shade). We saw a whale (beyond the end of the season!), preying mantis on door (coolest thing according to the 5-year-old), tadpoles in the ponds and froggies hopping across the lawn at dusk. We also saw wonderful stars, planets and full moon in the sky. Our wonderful vacation calm aura stayed with me over a week after returning to my hectic job. Perfect! May 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay but not the service you normally get at a westin !!! We have just recently stayed at the resort on a westin 5 day package and although we were upgraded to a "ocean view" room it was hardly a peak thru the trees at best and we were staying on the 5th floor. Our sons had pre arranged for a fruit plate ($ 46) to be delivered at 8:00 am on Mother's Day and by 8:30 it was still not there. When they phoned to find out what was wrong they were told that they were to busy and would have to bring it later. When we returned from our days events they showed up with the plate covered in plastic and I really have to wonder why this could not of been there that morning for a wonderful surprise. After about and hour trying to get ahold of the manager on duty Iam was told they would remove it from my sons credit card. I guess that makes everything alright in there eyes. Any how I really am not one to complain about insignificant things but I just found the overall feeling staying at this westin not like any others I have stayed at. This in my opinion is below the standards westin has set. They have a great location nice beach to lay on and water is good for snorkelling (coral no sand in water) rooms were comfy and roomy. On site pool bar restaurants are mediocre at best. If you are going on the package great but I would not book a week here and would check out the other SPG resorts in the area or others. May 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not What We Thought... After a long deployment, my wife and I decided on a vacation in Maui and thought we would stay at the best and reserve the best room they had available. We reserved an Ocean View 1 bedroom villa but we got a 1 bedroom pool view villa. We paid almost $400 extra to receive the ocean view room, but when we inquired about the room we were told this was the ocean view room???? Really, where?? May 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy in Kaanapali We had read many reviews before going on our trip and they gave us a little trepidation in going. Thankfully, we were very pleased with our stay. We did not ask for a certain room or a certain floor. We had a semi-ocean view from the bottom floor. Noise from the pool area was not an issue at all. We found the hotel and staff to be very pleasing. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, the grounds are kept up beautifully. We would definitely go back there. May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing! My sister and I travelled to Hawaii for a holiday, we had never had the pleasure of staying at such a well equipped resort. The shuttle service was particularly helpful! Would love to come again but next time bring the family from Australia!! May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is great but I felt this location and hotel overall was great but to charge for beach chairs and umbrellas. If you were a group of 4 the cost per day would be $60. really May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, kamaina friendly hotel Great hotel, beautiful grounds, awesome rooms, great food :) May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Resort is Shangri La Villas have everything needed and are clean and premium quality. Staff are there for you and happy. Property, including, right out your villa snorkeling, is unmatched on Maui. On site eating is great. Fitness classes offered by Corby and others are excellent. Hard to find such a complete vacation experience. May 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anniversary Celebration Nice room. Printer and business center were not available for printing boarding pass. May 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Resort with Something for Everyone The Westin Villas make you leave all your worries behind. This is where a vacation truly is a vacation. The management aims to please, and succeeds. May 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Enjoyed the stay, but... Since we were invited to consider purchasing a timeshare option, I was surprised to see that the room we were given did not encourage purchase - uneven lighting and a/c in the room, ripped upholstery, a beautiful view of the parking lot, and upscale appliances that did not have helpful instructions. Was not impressed enough to plunk down any more cash. May 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best value for your money We were on the Explorer package ($2500) and were given a room off the pool that had NO view and NO balcony. And the timeshare sale tries to tell me that we had a good value? I was also charged for parking a rental car each day of our stay whether parked in the lot or not. After leaving the Westin, we stayed at a different 5 star in Wialea....that is a much better value value for the money spent. April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good experience - 2 criticisms Hi We just completed our vacation at the Westin Ocean Villas. The facility was outstanding for families, with spacious and clean rooms, great cleaning staff and pool attendants. We have two areas of concern in terms of a returning trip. 1. We booked an Ocean view room. The room we were assigned (2110) would certainly not qualify. We met another family in the same situation. We were both given different (much better) rooms for our 2nd nights (through departure). The hotel should be a lot more careful about how it represents these rooms. 2. Food and Drink: The menus at the poolside facilities leave a bit to be desired. In particular, the drinks (cocktails) were TERRIBLE (weak) to the point that I believe the bad is watering down the spirits. The staff explained that the weakness was due to Hawaii law (laughable - other hotels are much better). Secondly, the wait staff (with a few exceptions) were slow and even unemotional. An opportunity for improvement. We would not eat at the facility much if we were to return. Thank you April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing vacation spot Kaanapali villas where amazing. The hotel was very clean, above our expectations. The heavenly beds where great. The hotel is very clean and staff where great. We are already makings plans for our next vacation there. Aloha the Morrows April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel but not ocean view as promised We booked an ocean view room but our view is really garden view. You have to stretch your head out to see a glimpse of the ocean. Plus we are on 2nd floor, 2 big compressors were outside our window and we have to shut our window every night to sleep, which is a pity. Otherwise, the hotel, location and rooms are very nice. I wish there are some basic cooking items, like oil, salt and pepper in the kitchen. April 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Treatment by Staff This is a beatufiul hotel, wonderful rooms, but the pool staff is severely limited. Not even close to enough servers or bar tenders. On multiple occassions after staff had either never come around or had gotten my order wrong they then turned around and argued with me. Not a fan of the pool staff at all. April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice The rooms and amenities are top notch but the staff is what makes a hotel great and this one is FANTASTIC. No disappointments at all. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, a wonderful family vacation! My husband and I vacationed here in November 2011 and couldn't wait to come back and bring our kids, ages 3 and 11. We were able to book for Spring Break, Mar 28-Apr 4, 2013. Overall, our stay was great. Our studio villa was nice and our kids enjoyed the room, with the exception of the sofa bed, which was extremely uncomfortable. Next time, we will request a rollaway to see if that is any better. The housekeeping services were excellent. We enjoyed the pool and frequented the Ocean Pool Bar and the Pailolo Sports Bar and Grill. The pool chairs seemed to be "claimed" first thing in the morning, which was often frustrating, but the watersports staff was on top of any chair left vacant more than 60 minutes, so that was great. My only complaint regarding the restaurants is that, with the exception of 2 dining experiences, we had to tell our waitstaff that our daughter was 3 and shouldn't be charged for her meal. In my opinion, if there is even a question, the waitstaff should ask about this PRIOR to bringing the guest a bill. It was always awkward when I had to ask that the bill be adjusted. And, one particular waiter at the Ocean Pool bar questioned me by saying, "wow, she is big for 3." It was almost as though he thought I was lying, which was very upsetting. I offered to bring her birth certificate to him, since I had it with me. We had him as a waiter again on another evening, so I reminded him that she was 3 and got a very odd look. This is not okay. However, 2 of the times we had breakfast, the waitstaff asked how old she was, and for that, we are thankful. During this trip, we also became owners at this beautiful resort and are looking forward to our next trip here! April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it!! we travel there every year in the summer. Everything meets or exceeds our expectations on each visit. we have taken 4 other couples on different trips and everyone loves it, location, amenities, staff, activities, etc...........we have never had a bad experience..........the rooms are great, large very comfortable and well equipped.........we have never lacked for anything. April 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great beach! Spent 6 days at the Westin K'aanapali Ocean Villas starting 3/27/13. Great location with historical Lahaina nearby. Best snorkeling, no need to travel elsewhere. Saw huge turtles! Pools are average but perfect for younger children. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. Only a few restaurants which are reasonably priced considering it's Maui, but some top restaurants closely that the concierge can help with reservations. Would have liked to have been greeted with a lei and heard more Hawaiian music on the facilities to complete the Maui experience. Will definitely go back! April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Already Planned Return Trip... I almost do not know how to begin this review. This resort was the nicest I have stayed at my entire life. Upon arrival, they valet'd our car for us complimentary since it was the first time, and brough all of our luggage/groceries up to the room, on the house. The check-in guy was able to give us insight on the resort, and local area while checking us in, which was information we valued our whole trip (7 day stay). Our room was amazing upon entrance. We had a small 1 bedroom ocean front villa on the 6th floor (top floor), directly over the pool, bar, and hot tub. Out room had a 2 person jacuzzi, as well as a large walk in shower. The full size kitchen was nice as well because we were able to save money by grocery shopping at costco on the way in, and keep our lunch meat/drinks cool and fresh. The pool at this resort was outstanding - it had multiple sections, dividied by rocks and another hot tub. This made it nice because the side with the basketball goal usually got crowded with children, so we were able to go to the other side and enjoy peace and quiet, with our drinks from the bar. It was also great being able to sit in the hot tub outside and see the pool, as well as the beach, as well as the whales! We saw countless whales while sitting at the pool. It was more than we could have asked for! We did a couples massage (Lomi lomi massage) one day we were there, and it was the best massage either of us had ever gotten. Granted, it was an expensive treatment, it was well worth it and we would both take part in it when we make a return trip. The location of this resort is probably the best we could have asked for. It was 1-2 miles from the middle of Lahaina town, where the stores were, front street, and a great breakfast place called LuLu's. It was also within walking distance from the other resorts such as the Westin Maui (Where we had our Luau). Overall, I would rate this resort as an 11/10. It went above and beyond our expectations, and we will definitely return soon. April 3, 2013
  • 2015-04-17T17:54:04.430-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_332, tr_332
  • loc_en_US, sid_1406, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>