Find & Book

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Please note that at most Starwood hotels, guests 17 and under are considered children. All other guests are considered adults. You will be told of any hotel-specific differences in this policy on the following page.

Dates(OPTIONAL) Calendar
Check in Check out
When?
Calendar
Where?

Design that makes an impression − Pottery Barn has joined Starpoints® Awards.

Close
  • Join

The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston

  • 215 Charles Street
  • Boston,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02114
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 672 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Impressed I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - everything about it was great. The only issue I had was the volume of the air conditioning in our room. Couldn't figure out how to leave the 'fan' on without the AC rattling on and off. Staff checked in a few times to see if we needed anything, water, mini-bar refills, etc. Great people, great dining and very classy. Had a few drinks and a bite to eat at Alibi - great quality and reasonable prices. September 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by ROOM As discussed during the reservation process I stated I was reserving a room due to my daughter needing surgery. To be put in a room across from the staff room and right next to the elevator was absolutely not condusive to a good nights sleep. This is my only negative! The greeting I received at reception upon arriving was wonderful. I just wish I knew what my room was going to be like for the night as I am sure they could have helped us. February 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellence in all areas From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out, the hotel and its staff far exceeded our expectations. Not only was the staff polite (as they should be), but they seemed geuinely nice and personable. The facility is gorgeous and clean, the breakfast we had at the hotel's resturant Clink was delicious, delivered graciously, generously portioned, and very reasonably priced. I look forward to many returns at the Liberty Hotel. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Liberty Beautiful, comfortable, ideal location. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by They Thought of EVERYTHING Sure, Agreed, this hotel is expensive. They have thought of everything for you. You need an umbrellla, they have it, Hair dryer, got it, Want to bike around the city, here you go, need to catch the train, it is across the street. Want to walk the water, oh here it is, Want to go clubbing, walk down stairs. It was the CLEANEST hotel I have ever been in. I have never been so impressed and I intend to return in the next year. Perfection. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed again I summarize our experience as "disappointed again" because it's really not a "luxury collection" hotel, although it appears to try. Room comfort is impeded by the A/C system, which kicks in/out to maintain set temp - but thermostat is right below only A/C vent in the room, so, of course, the temp is reached pretty easily, but the rest of the room does not. The vent, normally aimed right at the bed, causes a cold draft vs too warm situation. Redirecting the vent away, toward the window, helps, but still leads to extremes - too cold or too warm. We tried this hotel a second time, because we needed proximity to a specific hospital. Again, we were NOT recognized as SPG Gold - there was no upgrade of our room. It does not measure up to a category 4+ in SPG.Fitness equipment, which are not very well maintained - specifically the ellipticals, which I used. August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay in Boston Loved this hotel in every way. Trendy, comfortable, fun, restaurants were delish and everyone was wonderful. Beyond pleased and will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Boston. March 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs improvement Since the Liberty is a luxury hotel needs a lot of improvement. Most of the staff needs to smile and understand without customers you don't have a job. One lady was very good, but a majority were not.Hotel is in a very good location . The king bed is very small, and not to comfortable. Bathroom. were very nice. I guess maybe this hotel is more for the young and hip then for an old person. I will come back but not expecting too much. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't ask for more I've been staying at the Liberty for 5 years, and the service is always impeccable. The staff are consistently just the right balance of professional and friendly. I've never had a bad experience there. You will continue to get my business. The rooms are elegant, tasteful and comfortable. March 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location & comfortable rooms We've stayed at the liberty several times and love the location and amenities. We have 2 young boys, so easy access to playgrounds, food, and the T have made us return. It's time, though, for the rooms to have regular maintenance done. The iPhone doc clocks never seem to charge and the table lamp plugs don't seem to work. Several electrical plugs seem also not to hold plugs in anymore either. After being in several rooms just this year, we've realized we can't depend on these small but planned for amenities. The areas behind the dressers and tv also need a thorough cleaning... It's dusty and gross. These may seem nitpicky, but at $300+ a night, these things should be in order. The staff is wonderful and helpful, the location and ambiance can't be beat. And our kids love saying "lets go home to the jail" but we may look at other SPG properties in the future. September 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Jail Time While I have stayed here before and enjoyed previous experiences very much, there is an obvious change in customer relations. Four days before arriving, I received an email stating that I could upgrade my room to a larger corner room for an additional $20 a night. Given that I was traveling to Boston for a three night romantic weekend with my wife, this sounded like a good deal. I sent an email to the name provided and received a reply stating that because I had platinum status, I would be upgraded at check-in for no additional money. Imagine my surprise at check-in when I was told that all larger rooms were booked for a full week but that I was upgraded to a room with a city view. The room was rather small. This is not an upgrade. Please just be honest and I would understand. In the future, don't entice customers with a promise that you can't deliver on. October 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Liberty Hotel good for a Business meeting? Absolutly yes. Food was awesome (really awesome), the facilities were everything we needed, staff attentive, rooms were great and the charm of this hotel as it maintains the essence of what the building used to be is awesome. Easy-on, Easy-off from the Pike and in the city so everything is close. Only complaint is that parking, even for hotel guests is outrageous. At least give us a few bucks off if we are staying at the hotel. October 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a beautiful hotel but sleeping rooms aren't as nice as you would expect The hotel itself was absolutely beautiful and the staff was all really friendly and helpful. Based on the appearance of the hotel lobby and restaurants, you would think the sleeping rooms would be top notch but unfortunately, they seemed a little dated. The carpets were dirty and it wasn't cleaned well. Everything else was wonderful and that was my only disappointment. It's in a great location and has a really cool vibe to it. June 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Public Spaces - Room OK This hotel has really great public spaces, however, the rooms are not that great. I have now stayed here twice, both tomes I don't think my SPG Plat status was honored and the room I was given was really the worst room in the house. Not to say that it was bad, just basic and not anything special. I would visit this hotel but most likely would choose another Starwood property to say in - Westin Copley is equal for less money. May 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Interesting history The Liberty is not only in a great location in Boston, it has fascinating history regarding the conversion of the building to a first class facility. We stayed there with our British grandchildren, who loved the lobby, escalators, jail cells & food. In fact we noticed many families .the staff were very kind to young ones. It is next to Massachusetts General which we felt was a bonus too. We had a lovely vist & would return . August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Property and Staff This continues to me one of my favorite hotels in the United States. Each time I stay at this property, I am greeted by friendly and helpful staff and my expectations are exceeded. My most recent stay was no different. The room was wonderful and the bed was particularly comfortable. The bar still makes the best Bloody Marys. I highly recommend staying at this property if you're headed to Boston. You will not be disappointed. May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service We had a great stay, the hotel itself is beautiful but the staff was fantastic. We especially recommend Rachel at the Front Desk, very accommodating and friendly. Rachel went out of her way to help us and welcome us as first time guests, and now frequent guests! We also found the bellmen, other front desk staff and all the restaurant and bar staff to be interested in our stay and comfort. A very nice operation! Great job! February 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anniversary stay We were upgraded to a room with a nice view and our friends were given an adjoining room as we requested. We had a great breakfast and lunch at Clink and a wonderful dinner at Scampo. We highly recommend Scampo for a special meal. The service was excellent and the waitress was able to answer all our questions and made some great recommendations. Hotel service was great. There was a private party or fashion show in the courtyard under our window with very loud music but it stopped before 11. The rooms were clean and comfortable and water and internet were free which is as it should always be. The hotel is beautifully renovated and we enjoyed learning about the history. Great 2 day stay and we would highly recommend it. The champagne at check in is a nice touch that just instantly put us in a great mood! Lobby bar has an excellent selection of wine but it is pricy. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome stay - great recovery I rarely write reviews but the service on my stay here was so outstanding that I feel compelled. I made a reservation with my SPG points and am a gold member. When I checked in to the standard double room I reserved, I had a view into an operating room at the MGH across the walkway - needless to say, a rather off putting view for all but surgical voyeurs. After profuse apologies and a comp bottle of wine, the great staff agreed to change and upgrade my room the next day when something became available. I like everything about this hotel - the coffee in the mornings, the newspapers, the well documented historical aspects, the crazy lobby parties - they even sell iphone chargers at the concierge desk for the Apple price- no price gouging to the distraught customer who just discovered that they left their charger at the last business stop. On this trip, a good recovery is worth more than a totally smooth check-in. Kudos to whoever hires and trains this staff as they have the "customer first" mentality ( especially the bellman Mark) and the soothing words to go along. I have stayed here numerous times to visit my daughter in college and will keep coming back. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by April14 Great hotel. Love the jail and the comfort. April 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's all about the lobby! WOW! Just: WOW! The lobby is AMAZING! The designers did a fantastic job transforming the jail into a luxury lobby. I loved it. Unfortunately, beyond the lobby, I wouldn't call the Liberty a "luxury" hotel. My disappointment started at the valet (not enough staff to move cars through a small driveway). Next, the room was a major disappointment. It was bland with limited lighting, next-to-no surface space for stuff and a view of the Mass Eye & Ear ER entrance. There wasn't anything wrong with the room; it just didn't rise to the level of luxury (or even premium). The bathroom WAS super nice with nice amenities (except for the cheap hair drier). The restaurants were interesting: Food was fantastic, but all the hard surfaces of the jail made noise levels unbearable. I will be back to have a drink in the lobby; but will sleep somewhere else the next time I'm staying in Boston. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Personnel Outstanding In particular I would like to mention the outstanding personal service from Calvin at the front desk. From the moment of checkin and thru-out my ten day stay, Calvin truly exemplified what first class service is and should be. The Liberty Hotel should be very proud to have Calvin on staff....I know I enjoyed my stay and want to send my thanks along to him for making my Christmas at the Liberty a most memorable occasion! December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 12-12-12 wedding Had our wedding here and this hotel is AMAZING !! EVERY Staff member went above and beyond our wildest dreams, from the architecture, the food, the service, the rooms, the location, everything about this hotel is A+++!! There are just too Many great things to talk about in a review, if you love Boston, love romance and crave service and accommodations to constantly go above and beyond, then this hotel is a MUST STAY !! December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection We had a wonderful 3 night stay. All staff so friendly and helpful especially Calvin and both concierges . Room great---- we had a corner double room. Fantastic view of Charles River. We thought it was the best hotel room ever--- after 40 years of traveling. Scampo restaurant excellent. Loved the lobster pizza. Loved walking down Charles Street. Great restaurants on every corner. You will love it here. Great location. September 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent front desk service I'm sure many have raved about the hotel's unique architectural features and history, but I'd like to focus on the service. Check in was great, especially the offer of a glass of champagne was a nice touch. Best was one night while hungry and tired from jetlag, craving for some comfort food, the front desk promptly provided recommendation for Chinese takeaway, even escorted the deliveryman to our room. Very touched. June 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel let us down! We were looking forward to celebrating our son's 16th birthday in the hotel. We ended up with rooms across the hall. My husband and I had to stay in separate rooms with our children as the hotel did not give us connecting rooms as promised. They forgot birthday cupcake and balloon and rooms were dirty. Empty pill casing and dirty door handles on bathrooms and doors - very noticeable! This was a big disappointment! March 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by well located and well appointed tastefully and well appointed and comfortable rooms with multiple assists for the hard of hearing. Well located in the heart of Boston on the campus of MGH and Mass Eye and Ear with views of the Charles River and across the street from an MBTA station. Staff is well trained and welcoming and there is a superb restaurant attached. February 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Like a Nightspot with Hotel Rooms My stay was Thursday afternoon through Sunday morning. In the lobby during the evening, you had to wend your way through crowds of 20-somethings while loud music pulsated. I didn't see anywhere to sit down for a quiet drink or cup of coffee with friends. The room was fine, but the scale was missing a foot and didn't work. It's not that I need a scale when I'm traveling, but anything provided should be usable. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun, relaxing and romantic stay This was my first stay at The Liberty Hotel and it was very impressive. The hotel maintains a good balance between serene during the day and vibrant in their lobby, bars and restaurants at night. The rooms are quiet, clean and designed and decorated to feel spacious. The hotel staff was very welcoming and accommodating, but also discreet and professional. I would recommend to family and definitely return again. November 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as good as we had hoped As long-time Boston residents, my husband and I were very excited for our stay at the Liberty Hotel to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I’d read about the excellent service here and on third-party websites -- the genuinely kind welcome staff and the little gestures like champagne and strawberries waiting in the room. Anything of that nature would have meant a lot to us, but we weren’t even wished a happy anniversary! (Perhaps there was some miscommunication between the SPG agent who arranged our stay in conveying this information to the hotel?) During dinner at Scampo, our hostess was bordering on rude, questioning our entree choices and repeatedly prodding us to order more. The perfunctory service left little to distinguish our experience here. We had such high hopes for our stay at the Liberty Hotel, but unfortunately, this visit did not meet those expectations. May 30, 2012
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 24 next>>