The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

  • Per soggiorni superiori a 90 giorni, chiamate il numero +(1) 866 539 3446.
  • La prenotazione può essere effettuata con un massimo di 550 giorni di anticipo.
  • Ricontrollate le date.
1 camera 1 camere , 1 adulto 1 adulti , 1 bambino 0 bambini
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 570 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun & relaxing Best place I have ever stayed. Beautiful beach, food & service was great. July 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Summer Vacation Summer Vacation This is the third time that I have stayed at this hotel and I will be having a hard time staying at this hotel again. My wife and I were celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary and we decided to switch hotels to the Royal Hawaiian. We did get an upgrade to an ocean view suite which was quite nice. Since this was in the original hotel the air conditioning unit does not work well. The room stayed at a constant 75 degrees, which made sleeping in the room a pain. The pool and service in the pool area was good. The only problem is this is a luxury hotel and you expect no screaming kids around the pool. This pool should be only be used for adults or children over 16. There is a kids pool beside the hotel which is shared by the two hotels. July 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Concierge Desk - very little assistance in booking day trips Very little assistance with booking day trips. Attitude of desk concierge was very poor. Guest are totally on their own in locating and booking excursions. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel offers great service and location a wonderful hotel with great service and location July 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very dissapointed As a traveler who just spent the last three weeks traveling abroad and staying at SPG hotels, this hotel was the worst I experienced. The room was not ready, the customer service was poor and nothing about this hotel "shouted" Luxury like others that I have stayed at in other countries. July 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by room is small I stayed at garden view room. the room is very small. but, garden is beutiful. July 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The very lucuary hotel but one staff was the worst I have ever met I stayed four nights and we had great experience at the hotel. I really appreciate the great memories that I had at the Royal Hawaiian. On the other hand, I met the worst staff I have ever met until now. My wife was in sick, so I told her to sit on the chair in front of desk for check-in and check-out, because nobody was there. However, one of the staff who was checking in for foreign guest told us with loud voice to leave the chair, so I told her that my wife was in sick so please let her sit down for a while. But she told us to leave the chair even more loud angry voice, so I also told her my wife is in sick with loud voice. We had talked about this argument 3 times, and then her guest told her my wife is in sick so let her sit the chair. She finally let my wife sit down, but she told us very angry voice. After then we were able to check in with one of the staff who could speak Korean who was very kind with gentle voice. When we were sitting check-in chairs with the other staff, the previous staff was approached and said loud angry voice again, so I was really angry and told her to avoid our desk. I don’t know why the Royal Hawaiian Hotel hires that kind of terrible staff, when we argued about sitting the chair, the staff ignored my sayings and she even made an excuse of loud outside noise. If I were her, I would say, “I am sorry that I didn’t know your wife was in sick.” I have travelled many countries including the United States, but no one acted like her. Excluding the terrible staff, we had a great staying at the Royal Hawaiian. In fact we went Hawaii for our honeymoon. Overall, I recommend this very good place to stay because of location, kind the other staff, comfort room, and delicious foods. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional comfort The Royal Hawaiian has a reputation that is well-known to visitors to Waikiki, but we had never stayed before. The restrained luxury and comfort is without parallel in Waikiki or elsewhere in the islands. The staff worked together seamlessly to provide an enriched, yet welcoming, stay making us feel at home despite how busy our schedule should have made us feel. Always ready with a warm smile or greeting that was neither obsequious nor condescending. A wonderful place to 'come home' to. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Waikiki- you can barely tell you are so close to the hustle and bustle- as well as to anyone looking to hold a meeting or conference. July 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by disaapointed with service The front desk was not very attentive. Went to ask for new set of keys and there was only one person at the three desks. She was chatting on the phone while we wait. Have more people working on peak hours. Upon check out I noticed the discrepancies on my bill and I was told that they just FORGOT to make the adjustments. I don't usually check my bill when I stay at a Fine Hotel and Resorts place. Will not recommend to my friends. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, romantic hotel We had such a nice overnight stay! The property is so pretty! I loved the complimentary mai tai, to feel part of the scene. A little inconsistent in the room -- the remote was busted, they forgot the coffeemaker in the room, but they took care of it relatively soon. I would happily return. The staff in the Azure were terrificly personable. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by As close to paradise as you can get!! This hotel offers hospitality at it's best. We loved the location, the service, the food and the beauty. I highly recommend staying at the Royal Hawaiian. It was an unforgettable wonderful experience. Thank You xoxox June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great renovation Lovely décor, love how the heritage was preserved in the redesign, great photo ops June 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overated Stayed all over the world and We found it to be that far from 5 Star I hope the Yen stays strong for company that owns it as that will be the only way they can overcharge and under deliver We moved up the road and started to enjoy our vacation Way to late regrettably June 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and relaxing with very easy access to night life and shopping I was surprised at how relaxing and quaint the hotel was for being in the middle of Wakiki. If you want to see wakiki and want a hotel without the commotion and crowd, then this is the place. It is an old style hotel so do not expect modern. Only main down side, a Bit pricy for the value. Dan from Chicago June 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay but Not Great We choose to stay in the Royal Hawaiian due to our desire to be in the middle of the activity and the historical nature of the hotel (the last time I stayed was 25 years ago and have stayed multiple times at another hotel at one end of Waikiki but wanted to try the Royal again and be in a more central location) The hotel did meet those expectations, however, what I did not expect was the overall condition of the hotel and our room (dirty, unkempt, leis left from the previous tenant, used shampoos in the bathroom) and the lack of service by some of the staff (specifically the bar area). Registration and check in were satisfactory and the meal service at the Lanai Surf was outstanding, but the rest of the service was indifferent. My main complaint was the cleanliness of the overall hotel and our rooms in particular followed by the overall feel of luxury. Also, I had made by reservation through the hotel call system who suggested a special Starwood rate that entitled me to a 35 percent discount on food and purchases, however, it was not usable when we used it (quite a bit) on the last day of our stay....which should have been noted to us at check in. Generally, we were left with a feeling that we were not getting what we paid for. Also, I would note that the resort fee was an excessive amount - no complaints that there was a resort fee - but the amount and the things it covered that were not needed was ridiculous and the fact that there was such a point made that the Mai Tai served as part of the "free coupon" (not so free because paying resort fee) was smaller and not the same Mai Tai as the one when ordered from the paid menu (different glass, different size, no fruit) made the entire hotel look cheap and like a discounted property. Next time - I will say at another property. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2013 Family Vacation We had a family vacation at The Royal Hawaiian. The best hotel in Hawaii, and would highly recommend. Staff was great and accomodating. Concierge staff, maids, valet, bellman, etc. could not have been better. Thanks for making this vaction a memory for me and my entire family. This is my 4th year in a row at the Royal Hawaiian. See you next May!! June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PINK POWER Everything about this place, Is like "Heaven on Earth". I didn't even know I was in the heart of Waikiki. I have NEVER had such a Heavenly experience like this. Go just GO, it's was sublime.... June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant experience I have never have taken the time to do a review before but felt obliged to do it this time. I have stayed in some very nice hotels but this was the best experience I've ever had staying in a hotel. You can't beat the location at Royal Hawaiian, every place you want to go to is within walking distance. I have to give kudos to the staff's friendliness and I really appreciate how helpful everyone was. Rest assured that you have earned my business when I return to Waikiki. Thanks for the hospitality and memorable stay. Sincerely. Ray B. June 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by So disappointing 1.. Pool staff (except for our first visit) was lax in addressing customer needs 2. Bar staff was extremely accommodating-exceeded our expections (especially Susan) 3. Tower rooms reminded me of "Jersey Shore Motel motif 4. Really-I need to kill cocharoches in my room?! I have never encountered such a disguisting room amentity 5. Waited an unreasonable timeframe to get our car (even after we called ahead) 6. Nighly turndown seldom happended 7. Why no "Do Not Disturb" signs in the rooms? June 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful architecture Having wanted to stay in this historic property for many years, my wish recently came true. What a gorgeous building. The staff is very attentive and professional, with a warm and friendly attitude. There were many events at The Royal - mainly weddings, but some corporate meetings, award ceremonies, etc. during the seven days we were there. One of these events was a large production fashion show. This event significantly interfered with our enjoyment of the property. One of the breathtaking and key features of this property is to walk through the beautiful and expansive lobby and look out to Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. For two days this opening was blocked by a very large display listing all the participants and sponsors of the fashion show. What a major disappointment to not see this view the last two days of our trip. I believe that this sign could have been moved to another part of the lobby allowing the guests to continue to enjoy the view. June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great and inspiring place to stay What a great and inspiring place to stay. It is a truly iconic hotel, with great views from the sea side of the hotel, the staff were really friendly and very helpful. I would highly recommend it to anyone that want to escape the more standard hotels. From the outside it has a great rustic look and feel about it, but don't be misled the rooms have been refurbished to todays high standards. Have stayed in may international hotels and this rates amongst the top. June 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Waikiki Oasis Was reluctant to stay on Waikiki for all the obvious reasons. But the Royal Hawaiian is an absolute oasis. Close to the shops and restaurants and bustle of Waikiki, but a world away at the same time. The best of both worlds. May 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Won't stay again for price Something should be done with the adjoining doors between the rooms. The sounds from the other room comes into our room. I was kept awake at 4am from noise from the other room for an hour. Also other sounds. The window in the bathroom has a screen that does not block the view from the outside when the light is on. Self conscious about it. Smell not good in bathers elevator and other parts of hallway. Also, a restaurant in another Starwood restaurant was not a part of Starwood. Couldn't use certificate. Disappointing. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! Perfect, could not have been more satisfied. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five Star Resort When asked what was the most memorable part of my stay in Honolulu, I say The Royal Hawaiian. Thanks for the great stay May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth it This is a beautiful hotel that sadly is living on its reputation. The wait staff was VERY uncooperative and refused to have food cooked as requested. The room air conditioning is very noisy. The pool is very small and there is not enough seating. Finally, teh hotel decided that the publicity of having the Today show was more important than its guests comfort. The show interfered with the use of the facilities and was broadcast from 1 am to 4 am, which meant that we could not sleep that night. May 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This is one of the oldest hotels in Waikiki..with probably the highest expectations. Check in was seamless.We especially liked the banana bread and welcome fruit cocktail. Room was a good size facing the ocean with amazing views. I was a little disappointed with the servicing of the room with no turn down service and used glassware left for 2 days. We also had to ring for amenities like water and toiletries as these were not replaced. Poolside the staff were fantastic and I would definitely return. May 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, but our experience was mixed Overall, this was a beautiful property, and we greatly enjoyed our time there. However, we faced a few challenges checking in that left us feeling unwanted, like we were a nuisance to the check-in staff. The check in experience had its pluses - you sit down at a desk with a check-in agent, and are brought a delicious smoothie. Our check-in agent wasn't very friendly, however, and our situation presented some trying circumstances I don't feel they dealt with well. My wallet had disappeared at the San Francisco airport, so we were trying to check in without my identification. We had an AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts reservation (requiring an Amex card for payment) which my girlfriend didn't have, and only my name was on the reservation (and I had no ID). The woman checking us in needed her manager's opinion on how to handle the situation (understandable), but after returning from a conversation with him (Rick), she simply came back and said "We can't check you in without ID and credit card" in a brusk and almost annoyed manner. So, we sat there somewhat in shock - there was no solution or action plan presented. We then asked her to speak to Rick, and he came out and the three of us eventually worked out a solution. It felt very stressful to us, like we were an inconvenience and our story wasn't being believed, and we were in danger of losing our FHR rate (one night free and free breakfast). We ended up holding the reservation with my girlfriend's Visa until I could arrange for Amex to overnight me a new card. Frustratingly, Rick said he needed to hold on to our FHR benefit packet (including morning breakfast coupons) until I could get Amex to confirm my identity and provide an authorization, and he would need to change our reservation to a normal rate, because the reservation was now on a Visa - and he wouldn't be able to honor the FHR rate. He didn't make it clear that it was only a temporary measure until I got Amex to give them an authorization - we had to clarify that with him. My point in all this is that there wasn't an element of trust in us, despite our 4-day reservation made through Amex FHR, and the fact that there was an Amex card ON the reservation that would have been charged regardless if we didn't show up. It felt like he was concerned about everything but us - their policies, getting payment and authorization from us, and that he was somehow worried we were scammers. There was no empathy for the experience we had losing my wallet. We left the check-in process feeling very frustrated. After a long afternoon of frustration from the missing wallet, we were hoping to find a refuge in the hotel, and had yet to find it. In addition - we had to ask if there were any room upgrades available (not only was it an FHR reservation but I am also a Gold member), and it appeared our check-in agent hadn't checked because she then called someone to ask about availability. While a suitable upgrade was not available, If we hadn't asked, I'm not confident it would have even been checked - she certainly didn't address the upgrade without us asking as she handed us the keys and said enjoy your stay. Later that night, we were called at 9:45pm and awakened because the credit card authorization wasn't working. The problem was that Amex had changed my credit card number due to the lost wallet. I called Amex at 10pm and sorted it out. However, we had been fast asleep for an hour, as we were still on Pacific time. I do not understand the need to call us so late, and why it could not have waited until the morning. Again - the element of trust did not seem to be there. Lastly, several times over the stay, the phone spontaneously rang in the middle of the night, with no one on the line, awakening us. We called guest services, and they changed our phones - which didn't solve the problem. So I would recommend the phone system be inspected, at least for room 525. Lastly, they were filming the Today show, and were setting up spotlights two nights before. We were dining at the Azure restaurant (really nice) but the experience was marred by spotlights being shined in our face as crews were working. We all knew the Today show would be there Monday morning, but were surprised set up was happening as early as Saturday evening. The rest of the stay was great. The grounds and hotel architecture are gorgeous, the spa experience was fantastic, and access to the beach and Waikiki were ideal. We had a few problems with housekeeping (two consecutive days when our room wasn't cleaned) but Monica from guest services did a fantastic job resolving our issue (thanks Monica!). Overall - I still recommend the hotel - but I recommend the issues we faced be reviewed by hotel management and considered by anyone looking to make a reservation. It's a beautiful property and I do hope our experiences were not the norm. From reading other reviews I don't expect that is the case. May 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charge for Beach Chairs This was our fourth visit to the Royal Hawaiian, but I'm not sure we will be back. The $50 charge for a beach chair is excessive considering the room charge and resort fees. It used to feel special to walk down to the beach and ask for a chair and umbrella. Now it feels like a rip-off. May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! If you are going to Oahu look no further than The Royal Hawaiian for your stay! Best staff, wonderful bedding and the grounds can't be beat! Just Beautiful Hotel that has the charm of old world Hawaiii! I can't say enough- you will not be disappointed ! May 21, 2013
  • 2015-11-29 T07:29:32.388-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_570, tr_570
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 20 next>>