The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi
  • Per soggiorni superiori a 90 giorni, chiamate il numero +(1) 866 539 3446.
  • La prenotazione può essere effettuata con un massimo di 550 giorni di anticipo.
  • Ricontrollate le date.
1 camera 1 camere , 1 adulto 1 adulti , 1 bambino 0 bambini
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 556 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and relaxing with very easy access to night life and shopping I was surprised at how relaxing and quaint the hotel was for being in the middle of Wakiki. If you want to see wakiki and want a hotel without the commotion and crowd, then this is the place. It is an old style hotel so do not expect modern. Only main down side, a Bit pricy for the value. Dan from Chicago June 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay but Not Great We choose to stay in the Royal Hawaiian due to our desire to be in the middle of the activity and the historical nature of the hotel (the last time I stayed was 25 years ago and have stayed multiple times at another hotel at one end of Waikiki but wanted to try the Royal again and be in a more central location) The hotel did meet those expectations, however, what I did not expect was the overall condition of the hotel and our room (dirty, unkempt, leis left from the previous tenant, used shampoos in the bathroom) and the lack of service by some of the staff (specifically the bar area). Registration and check in were satisfactory and the meal service at the Lanai Surf was outstanding, but the rest of the service was indifferent. My main complaint was the cleanliness of the overall hotel and our rooms in particular followed by the overall feel of luxury. Also, I had made by reservation through the hotel call system who suggested a special Starwood rate that entitled me to a 35 percent discount on food and purchases, however, it was not usable when we used it (quite a bit) on the last day of our stay....which should have been noted to us at check in. Generally, we were left with a feeling that we were not getting what we paid for. Also, I would note that the resort fee was an excessive amount - no complaints that there was a resort fee - but the amount and the things it covered that were not needed was ridiculous and the fact that there was such a point made that the Mai Tai served as part of the "free coupon" (not so free because paying resort fee) was smaller and not the same Mai Tai as the one when ordered from the paid menu (different glass, different size, no fruit) made the entire hotel look cheap and like a discounted property. Next time - I will say at another property. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2013 Family Vacation We had a family vacation at The Royal Hawaiian. The best hotel in Hawaii, and would highly recommend. Staff was great and accomodating. Concierge staff, maids, valet, bellman, etc. could not have been better. Thanks for making this vaction a memory for me and my entire family. This is my 4th year in a row at the Royal Hawaiian. See you next May!! June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PINK POWER Everything about this place, Is like "Heaven on Earth". I didn't even know I was in the heart of Waikiki. I have NEVER had such a Heavenly experience like this. Go just GO, it's was sublime.... June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant experience I have never have taken the time to do a review before but felt obliged to do it this time. I have stayed in some very nice hotels but this was the best experience I've ever had staying in a hotel. You can't beat the location at Royal Hawaiian, every place you want to go to is within walking distance. I have to give kudos to the staff's friendliness and I really appreciate how helpful everyone was. Rest assured that you have earned my business when I return to Waikiki. Thanks for the hospitality and memorable stay. Sincerely. Ray B. June 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by So disappointing 1.. Pool staff (except for our first visit) was lax in addressing customer needs 2. Bar staff was extremely accommodating-exceeded our expections (especially Susan) 3. Tower rooms reminded me of "Jersey Shore Motel motif 4. Really-I need to kill cocharoches in my room?! I have never encountered such a disguisting room amentity 5. Waited an unreasonable timeframe to get our car (even after we called ahead) 6. Nighly turndown seldom happended 7. Why no "Do Not Disturb" signs in the rooms? June 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful architecture Having wanted to stay in this historic property for many years, my wish recently came true. What a gorgeous building. The staff is very attentive and professional, with a warm and friendly attitude. There were many events at The Royal - mainly weddings, but some corporate meetings, award ceremonies, etc. during the seven days we were there. One of these events was a large production fashion show. This event significantly interfered with our enjoyment of the property. One of the breathtaking and key features of this property is to walk through the beautiful and expansive lobby and look out to Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. For two days this opening was blocked by a very large display listing all the participants and sponsors of the fashion show. What a major disappointment to not see this view the last two days of our trip. I believe that this sign could have been moved to another part of the lobby allowing the guests to continue to enjoy the view. June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great and inspiring place to stay What a great and inspiring place to stay. It is a truly iconic hotel, with great views from the sea side of the hotel, the staff were really friendly and very helpful. I would highly recommend it to anyone that want to escape the more standard hotels. From the outside it has a great rustic look and feel about it, but don't be misled the rooms have been refurbished to todays high standards. Have stayed in may international hotels and this rates amongst the top. June 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Waikiki Oasis Was reluctant to stay on Waikiki for all the obvious reasons. But the Royal Hawaiian is an absolute oasis. Close to the shops and restaurants and bustle of Waikiki, but a world away at the same time. The best of both worlds. May 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Won't stay again for price Something should be done with the adjoining doors between the rooms. The sounds from the other room comes into our room. I was kept awake at 4am from noise from the other room for an hour. Also other sounds. The window in the bathroom has a screen that does not block the view from the outside when the light is on. Self conscious about it. Smell not good in bathers elevator and other parts of hallway. Also, a restaurant in another Starwood restaurant was not a part of Starwood. Couldn't use certificate. Disappointing. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! Perfect, could not have been more satisfied. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five Star Resort When asked what was the most memorable part of my stay in Honolulu, I say The Royal Hawaiian. Thanks for the great stay May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth it This is a beautiful hotel that sadly is living on its reputation. The wait staff was VERY uncooperative and refused to have food cooked as requested. The room air conditioning is very noisy. The pool is very small and there is not enough seating. Finally, teh hotel decided that the publicity of having the Today show was more important than its guests comfort. The show interfered with the use of the facilities and was broadcast from 1 am to 4 am, which meant that we could not sleep that night. May 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This is one of the oldest hotels in Waikiki..with probably the highest expectations. Check in was seamless.We especially liked the banana bread and welcome fruit cocktail. Room was a good size facing the ocean with amazing views. I was a little disappointed with the servicing of the room with no turn down service and used glassware left for 2 days. We also had to ring for amenities like water and toiletries as these were not replaced. Poolside the staff were fantastic and I would definitely return. May 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, but our experience was mixed Overall, this was a beautiful property, and we greatly enjoyed our time there. However, we faced a few challenges checking in that left us feeling unwanted, like we were a nuisance to the check-in staff. The check in experience had its pluses - you sit down at a desk with a check-in agent, and are brought a delicious smoothie. Our check-in agent wasn't very friendly, however, and our situation presented some trying circumstances I don't feel they dealt with well. My wallet had disappeared at the San Francisco airport, so we were trying to check in without my identification. We had an AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts reservation (requiring an Amex card for payment) which my girlfriend didn't have, and only my name was on the reservation (and I had no ID). The woman checking us in needed her manager's opinion on how to handle the situation (understandable), but after returning from a conversation with him (Rick), she simply came back and said "We can't check you in without ID and credit card" in a brusk and almost annoyed manner. So, we sat there somewhat in shock - there was no solution or action plan presented. We then asked her to speak to Rick, and he came out and the three of us eventually worked out a solution. It felt very stressful to us, like we were an inconvenience and our story wasn't being believed, and we were in danger of losing our FHR rate (one night free and free breakfast). We ended up holding the reservation with my girlfriend's Visa until I could arrange for Amex to overnight me a new card. Frustratingly, Rick said he needed to hold on to our FHR benefit packet (including morning breakfast coupons) until I could get Amex to confirm my identity and provide an authorization, and he would need to change our reservation to a normal rate, because the reservation was now on a Visa - and he wouldn't be able to honor the FHR rate. He didn't make it clear that it was only a temporary measure until I got Amex to give them an authorization - we had to clarify that with him. My point in all this is that there wasn't an element of trust in us, despite our 4-day reservation made through Amex FHR, and the fact that there was an Amex card ON the reservation that would have been charged regardless if we didn't show up. It felt like he was concerned about everything but us - their policies, getting payment and authorization from us, and that he was somehow worried we were scammers. There was no empathy for the experience we had losing my wallet. We left the check-in process feeling very frustrated. After a long afternoon of frustration from the missing wallet, we were hoping to find a refuge in the hotel, and had yet to find it. In addition - we had to ask if there were any room upgrades available (not only was it an FHR reservation but I am also a Gold member), and it appeared our check-in agent hadn't checked because she then called someone to ask about availability. While a suitable upgrade was not available, If we hadn't asked, I'm not confident it would have even been checked - she certainly didn't address the upgrade without us asking as she handed us the keys and said enjoy your stay. Later that night, we were called at 9:45pm and awakened because the credit card authorization wasn't working. The problem was that Amex had changed my credit card number due to the lost wallet. I called Amex at 10pm and sorted it out. However, we had been fast asleep for an hour, as we were still on Pacific time. I do not understand the need to call us so late, and why it could not have waited until the morning. Again - the element of trust did not seem to be there. Lastly, several times over the stay, the phone spontaneously rang in the middle of the night, with no one on the line, awakening us. We called guest services, and they changed our phones - which didn't solve the problem. So I would recommend the phone system be inspected, at least for room 525. Lastly, they were filming the Today show, and were setting up spotlights two nights before. We were dining at the Azure restaurant (really nice) but the experience was marred by spotlights being shined in our face as crews were working. We all knew the Today show would be there Monday morning, but were surprised set up was happening as early as Saturday evening. The rest of the stay was great. The grounds and hotel architecture are gorgeous, the spa experience was fantastic, and access to the beach and Waikiki were ideal. We had a few problems with housekeeping (two consecutive days when our room wasn't cleaned) but Monica from guest services did a fantastic job resolving our issue (thanks Monica!). Overall - I still recommend the hotel - but I recommend the issues we faced be reviewed by hotel management and considered by anyone looking to make a reservation. It's a beautiful property and I do hope our experiences were not the norm. From reading other reviews I don't expect that is the case. May 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charge for Beach Chairs This was our fourth visit to the Royal Hawaiian, but I'm not sure we will be back. The $50 charge for a beach chair is excessive considering the room charge and resort fees. It used to feel special to walk down to the beach and ask for a chair and umbrella. Now it feels like a rip-off. May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! If you are going to Oahu look no further than The Royal Hawaiian for your stay! Best staff, wonderful bedding and the grounds can't be beat! Just Beautiful Hotel that has the charm of old world Hawaiii! I can't say enough- you will not be disappointed ! May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is truly royal in every way. I grew up here in the islands. This was my first experience staying at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. The place is really beautiful and has the feel of old Hawaii. All of the employees I interacted with were very friendly and helpful. The bed is plush and comfortable. The food is excellent both at the Mai Tai Bar and Azure Restaurant. Both overlook Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. May 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed could have been so much better I stayed at this resort about a year ago and was so impressed by the old world Hawaiiana charm of the hotel and the service was excellent. This time was not the same. At check in we were told that the hotel was very busy with the Today Show filming. It seemed as though that was the hotel employees priority. The air conditioning in our room did not cool the room. It came on all night which kept us awake but never cooled the room down. When we switched to a new room the next day due to the air conditioning we arrived at the room and our new keys to the room had not been activated. Back down to the lobby to get new room keys. I would expect better from a "luxury" hotel and for the price per night. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded My Expectations Everything about this hotel was lovely. Very comfortable and elegant rooms and grounds. I've read mixed reviews and booked with lower expectations, although I always wanted to stay here. After staying, I can't wait to come back and make a yearly tradition of a Royal Hawaiian stay to celebrate our anniversary. May 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement Hotel has a great atmosphere and location, But needs tremendous improvement. Everything I noticed was rusty and worn out. Bathroom had splatters of brown spots, balcony paint was old and chipping away, pool umbrellas are brown. Our table at lunch collapsed from being worn out. I can go on and on..... But the staff was super friendly. May 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Old Lady I love this hotel, the gardens, the wonderful beach front, and the way its old, elegant past has been preserved. Unfortunately, I had to rate it much lower than I would like because there was no "do not disturb" sign in our room, and after a red-eye flight from Tokyo we really wanted to sleep. Finally, we had someone bring us a sign for the door, but then late-night music made it impossible to sleep. After three nights at the hotel we were glad to go somewhere else to rest. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Pink Palace Stay at the beautiful "Pink Palace" in the Tower Ocean Front rooms and enjoy the magical, sensory, exhilirating and peaceful beauty of Diamond Head, Waikiki Beach and the amenities of this great hotel. Enjoy a relaxig drink at the Mai Tai Bar and dining in the Surf Lanai. A true Paradise! May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful historic hotel From the moment we stepped into the hotel the friendliness of the staff and dedication to service was apparent. The grounds of the hotel and the hotel itself are beautiful and the history of the property is well maintained. We were offered and took an upgrade in the tower overlooking the sea, a great view, but the room itself was only average. The junior suite we originally booked in the old building was very nicely decorated but really had no view at all. Still, the hotel is a great place to be - unique in Waikiki and the service is great May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just beautiful Old world luxury, like stepping back in time. Very quiet and comfortable. Our only fault was the size of the bathroom May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolute paradise We stayed in the historic pink building with a partial view of the sea. The room was elegant and spacious. The staff so friendly and the Mai Tai Bar is the best place on Waikiki beach for sunset drinks. Amazing. Lovely pool area with shade and no problem getting a lounger by the pool. Can't wait to go back. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The most beautiful experience A beautiful experience from the moment we arrived to the time we had to say goodbye. The location is convenient to everything, the room presentation is of the highest standard and the service is professional and helpful ,and above all else the atmosphere created a luxurious and relaxing place to unwind and enjoy the Hawaiian way. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We Love The Royal Hawaiian We have stayed two years in a row now, and look forward to returning next year. The Royal Hawaiian is a truly special place, an oasis in the middle of Waikiki wtih its beautiful courtyards, and most of all, the best beach area on Waikiki Beach. The staff is always friendly and accomodating; the rooms are always well taken care of, and the Ali'i Tower lanais have the great views! We just love the ambiance of it all. Great swimming and outrigger canoeing too! April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An oasis in Waikiki Approaching the property was like entering an oasis, a magical castle. It had a special energy with quite a history: "if these walls could talk", I would love to hear the stories. Happy Hour at Mai Tai Bar with pupus, checking out the beach scene was a lot of fun. Extra special talk story with a sweet staff member named Romeo, who shared a personal warmth and aloha spirit to a potentially daunting property--made us feel at home. April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nostalgic and comfortable - some suggestions below The only things I would change are to remind guests to be quiet in their rooms because the walls are not insulated, the lamps should have dimmable LED lights instead of on/off CFLs, maid cleaning products should be natural and eco-friendly, and the refrigerators should have vented doors to let the heat out, saving energy. April 29, 2013
  • 2015-07-02T14:38:29.086-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_556, tr_556
  • loc_en_US, sid_376, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 20 next>>
Tenete il mondo a portata di mano.
Con versioni per ogni dispositivo e uno strumento per ogni esigenza di viaggio, utilizzate le applicazioni SPG e cominciate a fare i bagagli>