The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston

  • 215 Charles Street
  • Boston,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02114
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 736 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very unique I think this is a place where one could go several times and find something special every time. Just a wonderful Hotel. BUT-I was surprized to see so much dust in the room and trash in the bathroom. Grilled chicken was not edible and soup was cold. Such a disapointment. Those 2 things took couple of stars off of the overall rating. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable! This is the best stay we have had in a long time. Right from the Bellman we were greeted and welcomed. Rachel checked us in and she was so friendly and pleasant. She gave us a beautiful room-complimentary champagne-and told us about the history of the hotel. The room was nice and ready when we got there. The location was perfect for getting to the TD Garden for the Celtics game. It was a unique and beautiful property. We will stay there from now on when we go to Boston. February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by exp/gm The attention to detail in the liberty hotel exceeds many high end hotels that I have stayed in. Always enjoy and try to stay at Liberty when in Boston February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GLAD I STAYED DURING A BAD TIME GREAT STAFF, SERVICE A+A+ February 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by No hot water In the middle of my shower on the final morning of my stay I lost hot water. The building engineer let me into a neighboring, unmade up room to finish my shower and there too I lost hot water after 4 minutes. The front desk comped me with Starwood points. I'm not impressed and won't be staying at The Liberty again. This is not what I expect for a $299/night room. February 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Liberty What a treat to see the creative repurpose of this old prison! The accommodations were fine, just a bit small from the hallway into the living/sleeping area. The food at the main restaurant was not up to its reputation. Service was rushed, and food was undercooked (eggs). But room service was excellent! The staff were all friendly and helpful. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dr. Beautiful hotel, greeted at check in with a glass of champagne. Room elegant and comfortable. Really enjoyed our stay! February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Boston's Best The Liberty Hotel is one of the best hotel's I have ever stayed at. As a frequent worldwide traveler, I have never seen a hotel like this. You could not have created a better staff, from the valet to receptionists to the servers at the bars/restaurants. When I'm in Boston, I will always stay here! February 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very unique, great restoration, great staff This is a very unique hotel. The restoration of this old jail is unbelievable. We were greeted with champagne,very nice. Our room was very comfortable and had a great view of the Charles River and the city. We had a wonderfull light dinner at The Klink before going out for the night. Coffee bar in the morning was a nice touch. The only negative was the hair dryer that didn't work ,( a replacement was provided promptly). I would recommend staying at this unique hotel. February 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Front Desk Thanks to P. and A. for excellent service. P. game me a room with a super view. A. arranged for a last minute boot polish at 5:30 a.m. Thank you for making my staya pleasurer. February 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and Perfect! As a Mass General patient, and repeat guest at the Liberty, we find the location ideal, and all our needs and comforts are perfectly met, making our stay consistently enjoyable. February 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life saver Starting from the moment Iarrived, the doormen were great the whole time I was there. The front desk people at check-in and departure were very nice. The concierge was very helpful. The beds were super comfortable and the rest of the room was nicely appointed. The best part was when I went to get my luggage from my rooom, after a breakfast meeting across town, my wedding ring fell off my finger and on the ground. When I got to my next appointment, I called the hotel to have them check the room for me. Katelyn answered and said she would take care of it and call me back after the search was complete. Within 30 mins I received a call to confirm that you all found the ring and were going to lock it up in the front desk safe. I was able to finish my day and pick up the ring on the way to the airport. There was very good communication among all the staff because the whole transaction, to pick up the ring, only took about 3 mins. Best of all, I didn't have to tell my wife I had lost the ring that we had made special for our wedding. The only staff hickup came when myself and two colleagues went to the bar and we sat there almost 5 mins before the bartender noticed us. Once she did, though, she kept us stocked with nuts and drinks for the next couple of hours. Fantastic place. February 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay We were on a family Vacation/ looking for colleges. Our plan was for my wife to stay one night with my older daughter at the Hotel and keep on going. They enjoyed The Liberty so much that my wife and daughter extended their stay an additional night and we returned (after a short stay in VT) Sunday and Monday as well. Calvin in the Front desk is a major asset! Great , friendly, warm and smily. Great Service!!!. If I had a hotel I will hire him from your Hotel. January 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Overnight One of the best hotels I've visited. Perfect location for all of Boston's options...easy to access off HWY, easy walk to Fanuel Hall, Quincy Market, nice location access to Boston Common. Perfect hotel for visitors of all adult ages. We stayed just one night and the Concierge treated us as if we were there a week! Absolutely recommend this hotel. And SCAMPO was fabulous. January 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall great experience...just a few concerns Overall good service. There were only a couple of issues with my stay. I had some concern about the room that I thought I was getting and about how slow valet service was. Also, we lost hot water an hour before check-out. Apart from those issues, staff was always nice and polite- no matter what my concern. In addition, the bathroom was beautiful and the room was quite nice. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was appalling - however apparently an isolated case? My room was not available until 6.30pm. I was offered no compensation, worse I was told that the room would be on the higher floors so I would have an amazing view. Almost to justify my wait. I was then placed on the 3rd floor facing the traffic. The hotel was stunning from an architecture perspective. From a stay perspective, horrendous. I was tired, and alone in a city I didnt know. My friends werent expecte to arrive until the next day. I specifically wanted to come early to dine, rest and have an in room massage. All those plans vanished and all I received was an apology......... Most definately unhappy. I have recommended the hotel to friends for drinks, we returned twice to the bar. Though for staying there, I have expressed my experience. I have been told by other guests that this is an isolated experience. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The Hotel is beautiful and true to the photos on line. The check in staff were friendly and very efficient. The champagne at check in is a very nice touch. Unfortunately it starts to go down hill from there. There was suppose to be a birthday cupcake in the room ($18). It was not there so I let the front desk know. They did put it in the room later while we were out and included a bottle of champagne (we never had a chance to drink it but it was a nice gesture). We usually select a hotel by location but we selected The Liberty so we could explore this unique hotel. After going to an early play, we returned to have a few drinks in the lounge. We could not get in= all night, we finally got close enough to order one round from the bartender and drank it in the lobby (not what we had in mind at all). The next morning we went down for breakfast and could not get in. They sat us in the lobby and said they could serve us there? Really, the lobby??? Well, OK we have no choice. We sit down, we received our coffee and placed our order. Not one person came by for 45 minutes! No refills on coffee, water. Finally they bring out the order. No mention of the delay or lack of service. $65 for that????? As we were heading back to the room we stopped in the lobby to get a cup of coffee to take up to the room (no coffee makers in the rooms). We were told they had already stated breaking everything down?????? So no. We received a bed, not an experience. Too bad because it is beautiful. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Common Area The common area, bar and restaurants were great as was the food. Rooms met expectations. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time This was my second time staying at the hotel and it could not have gone Better !!!! great staff led by the GM Rachel to the front clerk Taylor. Could not have been more accommodating. Very fun place to stay, always something going on in the lobby. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star Service From the Minute You Arrive! The service from the minute you arrive at the valet, through the bellman, front desk staff to house keeping was exceptional. The hotel is so unique and beautiful that a stay here is an event in and of inself. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved this hotel stay! We did the Winter Wonderland Package and it was fantastic! It was my first time staying at the hotel and I will definitely go back (been for drinks before and enjoyed that too). The service was attentive and friendly, the room was great, and the view from the 10th floor of the city was excellent! I mentioned to Starwood it was a birthday getaway and the hotel really went out of their way to make it special with champagne and a cupcake in the room! It was just the perfect stay! January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall enjoyable. I stayed at the Liberty on Thursday, January 17th, 2013. Attentive staff, inviting common areas, and a common pride in the development of luxury hotel from a rather grim jail - but you won't be staying in a converted jail or cell, the rooms are nicely configured for relaxation. My room was spotless - the bathroom was spotless - this is important to me. The Liberty is billed as a luxury hotel, and it is, so the price is what it is. I booked directly through the hotel for one rate that wasn't available, so they offered an alternate upgraded package. It was more expensive, but in my opinion the Winter Wonderland package with full breakfast and a few perks was not a bad deal. Don't rush in and out, take the time to enjoy your stay - and you will. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few hits, a few misses My wife and I spent two night at the Liberty recently and enjoyed ourselves. Pros- The location of the hotel is perfect. Nestled next to Beacon Hill and the Charles River the hotel has plenty to offer in means of a great Boston setting. Without going into too much detail the hotel is esthetically and historically amazing. The rooms are well appointed and we even received an upgraded to a river/city view. Check in and out were fast and the staff was generally very friendly. Cons-We booked a package that came with a few items, some of which I had to ask the staff about. They acknowledged the Winter Wonderland package but left me feeling cheap having to ask for this and that. Pretty simple stuff, have everything is the same envelope don't piecemeal it together. Also on our first morning our room service order got lost. Katie (I believe# in in room dining acknowledged the problem, took responsibility etc but for us we had planned our day to get the breakfast wake up call and get moving. We ended up eating in Clink with our morning pretty much blown. My last bone to pick was the tv reception. I read a lot of reviews online and typcically laugh at folks making a big deal a light bulb being dim but hear me out. So the tv flicked annoyingly from the moment we turned it on. Changed chanels same thing. I mentioned it to someone at the front desk before going out for dinner, followed up with them upon return and was assured it was fixed. It wasn't. In short it made and in room movie memorable #not in a good way) and to make matters worse The Patriots were in the playoffs and the large tv at the bar wasn't working. The hotel staff blamed it on incoming service but that's a cop out to me. Overall the hotel was nice but a few more attention to details and it would have been better. When given the opportunity to return to Boston I'll likely stay at another Starwood property. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel- Hard to believe it used to be Jail !! We love this Hotel.This was our 2nd visit but and will not be our last. Love the fact that it is Dog friendly. Offering a glass of champagne at check in sets the tone for a wonderful stay. The staff was extremely friendly and eager to please. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Every staff member we encountered was extremely professional and warm. The check in was especially warm and welcoming. With the hospitality alone, I would come back to this hotel. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moment of Excellence I cannot tell you how impressed I was with the staff. Calvin was amazing and you can tell he truely loves his job. Give him a raise...Kaitlyn was just as nice and very friendly. EJ at the Lobby bar was so professional and guded us through the menu. Casey at the Clink was also top notch. We will definitely be back. Keep up the great work. January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel except Clink Really enjoy the hotel and Scampo is a marvelous restaurant. Clink could be fun, but the service is non-existent. It is painfully slow, long wait to order, long wait for food, dishes come out staggered so some people finish eating before others are served, and the waiter disappears in between and never says so much as a "sorry." All other service at the hotel is first rate. Calvin at the front desk is a wonderful ambassador of goodwill for the hotel. January 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Brandt was particularly empathic and kind when I told him my husband was a patient at MGH. He is very customer focused. January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the most unique luxury hotels in the country! Staff, service, facility and food was all top notch! January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel The staff was outstanding in their competence and friendliness. Their attitude seemed to be truly focused on what they could do to make our stay more pleasant-----at reception, at Clink for cocktails, then again at Clink for dinner, everywhere. While we're Boston suburbanites we've already talked about spending a weekend at the Liberty just for fun. While we're obviously enthusiastic about your hotel, please do not use our comments for advertising purposes with attribution. You should be proud of your building and staff. January 16, 2013
  • 2015-07-28T16:14:56.717-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-17, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_736, tr_736
  • loc_en_US, sid_3646, prod, sort_default
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 ... 26 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>