The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston

  • 215 Charles Street
  • Boston,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02114
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 720 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel + Great Room = Great Stay! We stayed one night at the Liberty after moving in day for our daughter at Boston University and could not have had a better stay. (thank you Jill) From check-in to check-out and everything in between the staff is the friendliest and most professional of any SPG property we've stayed at. The unique hotel is both elegant and fun at the same time. The lobby, restaurants and bars are alive and vibrant. We were upgraded to a fabulous room on the 14th floor with stunning views of the Boston skyline as well as the Charles River. The concierge Mirko (so nice and helpful) and I had spoken on the phone the week before we arrived and he was able to reserve bicycles for us (no charge for guests) We rode through town and along the Charles River esplanade which was a lot of fun. The Liberty was once a jail, but now it is a haven and our first choice for Boston over the next 4 years and beyond! September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Hotel Personnel were Fabulous From the initial greeting,and throughout our stay everyone was courteous, accommodating, and a pleasure to deal with. One of the valet parking people saw that we were heading to Mass Eye and Ear and inquired to make sure that everything went well. I was really touched by his concern. The SPG reception was fabulous. We can't thank you enough. It truly is a Lixury Hotel. August 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by nothing special for this hotel i stayed 2 nights in this hotel from 08/24/14-08/26/14, the hotel is a cross from metro station which is good, but there is nothing more, the room is clean but you feel it looks exactly like a cell in jail, no view ( i have called, e-mail and during check-in for high floor with view, but no one hear you) there is no coffee maker in room, you have to go to lobby in the morning if you need coffee also they said wi-fi is free but you have to choose basic is free but never worked or you have to pay 14.99 a day if you want to park your car it will cost you 47$ a day plus taxes i did not eat in their restaurant, i ca not comment on that i don't think should be more than 3 stars ( which i give it for clean room) August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful from start to finish! Hands down, this was the best SPG property I have stayed at. Upon check in, we were welcomed with champagne and a bonus 1000 SPG points as a thank you for staying with them. They hosted a wonderful SPG member happy hour with complimentary drinks and food. It was a great time to chat with some management at the hotel. Jen and Brian were so nice, helpful and accommodating. This was the only SPG property I have stayed at that does this sort of thing for SGP members. The hotel itself was beautiful and we could have spent hours just walking around and looking at it. As a remodeled prison, I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect but it well exceeded my expectations. If you like history (and even if you don’t!) you will love it here. Everyone from check in to check out was a class act. Thank you for a wonderful stay and I will definitely be back!! August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Interesting hotel, nice location The hotel is historic and at nice location. The rooms were nice with good amenities. The hotel staff was nice too. They did early check-in for me, so it was really helpful for me. The only thing, I can think is -- the restaurant needs good food options. It was ok, but having more and better options would just add the glory. Anyways, you can find nice restaurant in near proximity, just in case. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get a suite if you can The lobby and general ambience of this hotel is unique. And while the standard rooms are a bit standard, the suites are something very special with large windows, a lot of space and a wonderful view of Bosston. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best starwood hotel we have stayed in This hotel was the best starwood property we have stayed in. We were new to Boston and left with the feeling that the people in Boston are very nice starting with the staff. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The room was impeccable. The champagne and apples they offered were a nice touch. It made me glad we were starwood members. However, I would stay here again even if we weren't starwood members. Also, the Scampo restaurant on site was delicious and the location was perfect. August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by GUEST AT WEDDING Supposed to have ADA (mobility) room…shower was roll in, but that's where it ended. No room to maneuver scooter, difficulty opening door to room and maneuvering w/c in room. If I had been traveling alone, I would have ha major problems. As far as hotel food…the cooks (not even qualified as chefs!) need to learn to NOT OVERCOOK everything! They also need to learn the usefulness of salt and pepper, as well as other seasonings! also, the waitstaff needs to learn that dining guests need attention DURING the meal as swell as at the beginning and end. All things considered, I would NOT recommend the hotel to anyone else other than for the historical factor and the location. Also, when use the concierge service was very erratic as to quality. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite hotels Everything about this hotel is top notch. Whenever staying in Boston it is the first place we look at staying. Highly recommend it. The only strange feature that doesn't match everything else about the place is thier wifi. You only can have one device on it otherwise you have to pay $14.95 a day. For such a high class hotel this is really beneath them. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Go to Jail" Not knowing what to expect for our stay at a "remodeled" jail, we immediately were charmed by the welcoming staff and beautiful ambiance in the lobby which is carried through in the rooms. Throughout the hotel, modern and historical are blended in a meaningful way but the soul of the hotel is the staff that made our stay so delightful. Examples include C.J., "Oscar", Renee, Kevin, Steven, Sam, Heidi, John. The food at the Clink is delicious; the drinks at the Liberty Lobby Bar are delightful; the concierge is extremely helpful. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mixed initial reception then a wonderful stay This is a beautiful property with stunning visuals and in a great location to view Boston and to use as a homebase while getting to know the city. Valet reception was terrific and I missed his name but our very tall bespectacled valet was friendly, courteous and very helpful as we had obviously arrived from the beaches of Cape Cod. Checking in was an experience. The whole area is one large lounge and we felt underdressed having come in casual clothes from our beach trip. The 'Champagne reception' I expected and saw was not offered to us as it was to others. This made us feel more awkward. I don't think you need to be dressed to the nines to check in but business casual would do it. At least thats how we perceived things. We used suite nights for upgrades and once we saw the two suites, everyone fell in love with the hotel. Our views of the Charles River and downtown were out of this world. That night we left the hotel for dinner partially because of the initial lobby experience. We found lots of places to enjoy within a short walk BUT after a fabulous breakfast at Clink with Fabio making us feel so at home and then an amazing dinner at Scampo with Levi serving us so personably and professionally we wished we had eaten all of our meals at the hotel. Our lobby experiences with the front desk and concierge were also terrific. Thank you Stefan for being so helpful on our early departure. There is a hospital next door so you here a lot of sirens. My family loved this portion of our trip. I would recommend this hotel for families with older children and young adults. Boston is a walkable city and this location was quite accessible. Our initial impressions evaporated very quickly and would heartily recommend the hotel and the restaurants. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ambience Everything about our 2 day stay at this hotel was 5 star. The doormen were the best, making sure we had a ride each time we came out. You don,t need to pre-arrange a transfer service to the airport, they already have private drivers there. We had a driver take us to the Boston Fine Arts Museum for only 15.00 and 5.00 tip. The staff is very friendly, they pour you a glass of champagne when you check in. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most enjoyable experience wonderful staff Hotel was very clean, comfortably and the staff was the best. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel I highly recommend the Liberty Hotel. It is a wonderful adaptive re-use of the Suffolk County Jail. The rooms are fantastic. The location is superb. The bars and food and beverage are trendy and cool. Views are outstanding. Platinum recognition is superb!! August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always feel special here Staff is so welcoming, adds to the elegant feel in this spectacular setting. August 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Was Great Staff wasn't very accommodating, They had confirmed a suite award upgrade and then took it away upon arrival. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A unique Hotel The Liberty Hotel is an amazing place. The lobby with its unique design and relaxing atmosphere,made us feel at home. When you arrive you are greeted with a glass of champagne and a friendly staff. We had a room which overlooked Boston and both day and night was beautiful. If you have a chance,relax in The Yard for an after dinner drink and enjoy breakfast at The Clink or brunch at Scampo. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique hotel and great location The common area of the hotel is gorgeous, staff is very friendly, the location is simply perfect (right in fron of the red T line) and the suite is wonderful (breath taking views). I would have given 5 stars on everything except for 3 little flaws: (1) the room wasn't ready so the front desk representative (very nice to say the least) who checked us in promised she would call when the room is ready, but we never gotten the call. (2) the shower stall is really small and has a plastic basin -- odd for a classy set up like the liberty hotel (3) At breakfast, due to our platinum status, we had a great complimentary continental breakfast, which we supplemented with other things. The lady of the restaurant presented the bill and said the rest is on the house as well. We thought, how wonderful and tipped extra for the generous services. However, when we checked out, we were surprised by the charges that appeared on the bill -- we were charged the full amount. Of course, we ordered the extra food, so we should pay for it, but why would the lady of the restaurant said it's taken care of, when it is not. That was just odd... August 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good experience Overall had a good experience with the hotel. Convenient location and excellent valet manager. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Travel - April - July 2014 I stayed at the Liberty every week from April – July 2014 for business travel and, as a result, now consider this hotel a “home away from home” in Boston. The location of the hotel is ideal – at the junction of the Charles River and Beacon Hill, with a T stop across the street and a short walk to the North End – you definitely save time by staying here for its proximity to everything. Aside from its location, the Liberty has delicious (although pricy) food and drink options – Scampo is very good, often unusual Italian (try the lamb pizza!). For Platinums, I would opt for the breakfast amenity at check-in, which is served in the comfortable Clink restaurant. Check out Alibi for a drink, with its jail cell theme, but I’d recommend going on an “off night��, as it is shoulder to shoulder on Thurs – Sat nights. The hotel has lots of activity in the lobby, especially Thurs – Sun, and I’d recommend asking for a room near the top (floors 9 – 16), if you are planning to go to bed early. It can get noisy and I did have trouble sleeping some nights. The best part of the hotel is the staff – no matter who was working, they were very friendly and responsive – from their flexibility of checking in to the first / best room available (versus other properties, that require you to wait until a pre-set time), to the initial glass of Cava before heading up to the room – they always made me feel genuinely welcomed and appeared truly appreciative of my business. I had a demanding, often changing schedule for work. Despite this, the hotel was able to accommodate the dates I needed within the project’s negotiated rate. The valet team also, graciously, stored some heavy work related materials (binders) for me so that I did not have to lug them back and forth from home. They often had my “box of binders” waiting for me in my room upon check-in which was very convenient. All in all it was a pleasure staying at the Liberty and I look forward to seeing Zach, Jill, Adrienne, Oscar, and my other friends there again soon! August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely hotel what a cool venue to make into a hotel - very nice. August 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad attitude Room excessively noisy with thumping and banging from above and late night noise from Alibi Terrace below. Room not serviced or cleaned either night I was there. Dinner dishes were left, no cleaning, no nothing. Room service food (lobster pizza) arrived cold and lobster bits were hard and stale. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by VP Great stay, nicely done and will definitely stay again. We had a wonderful time! August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Night We used our SPG points to try the place out during a recent visit to Boston. We were VERY impressed with the service/staff and the hotel itself...we would easily recommend! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A hotel with with a great location Great location to get to Cambridge, West-end, North-end August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only place to stay in Boston The ambiance at the Liberty is really like no other hotel I have stayed at. When arriving to the open air lobby via the escalator, you immediately sense the vibe, which is alive and fun. The staff is top notch, the food and beverage offerings varied and executed flawlessly, and the location is the best in the city. It's the place to stay for a weekend of nightlife fun, or for an extended vacation or work trip. I can't say enough about how hip, comfortable and service focused this place is. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special The greet was fantastic, quick and personable. Jamai was our front desk attendant and poured us our champagne and got us off to our room. SPG event for the evening we were met by Brian and Nicole and they helped us with transport. Rachel knows I'm not blowing smoke, this is a great team from valet arrival to valet departure. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Concierge and Valet Staff Attention I just want to compliment the entire team at The Liberty regarding their pro-active attention to a problem that arose while I was traveling on vacation. While on Cape Cod before my visit to Boston the temporary license plates on my new car expired and I needed to arrange for replacements to catch up with me somewhere. Not only did the concierge quickly offer to help and provide the needed mailing instructions when I called them before my arrival, but they later called to confirm the receipt of the plates before my arrival and then arranged for the valet staff to install them because I did not have the needed screwdriver. They even offered to take a photo of the new plates and e-mail it to me in case I ran into trouble with the authorities on my drive to Boston from Cape Cod. I really appreciate all they did to help me address this problem in a timel fashion and to avoid any problems during my vacation! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Boston's Best The Liberty delivers from the very beginning with warm welcomes from the Bellmen to the pop of champagne corks at check-in. The rooms are modern, well-appointed, comfortable and the old jail lobby space creates a historic, yet cool vibe that's unique to any other Boston hotel. It was a great experience and great time... July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Five Star Experience I loved everything about this hotel. The location and the physical structure were both wonderful but the REAL attraction to this hotel is its people. From the greeting I received from the doorman who handled my bag to the helpful young man who checked me out--EVERYONE had customer service on their minds. The biggest high-five goes to housekeeping. They were the very best I have ever experience in the United States. My room was spotless and they did it all without those big bulky carts in the halls. In a word they are amazing. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for business or vacation. July 28, 2014
  • 2015-05-06T19:17:30.973-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_720, tr_720
  • loc_en_US, sid_3646, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>