The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston

  • 215 Charles Street
  • Boston,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02114
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 716 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by April14 Great hotel. Love the jail and the comfort. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL OVERNIGHT From the moment my friend and i were met at the front door by the friendly staff, I knew this was going to be a great overnight of relaxing and fun. Everyone was very professional, the room was comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast in the CLINK was very tasty as well as our hot toddies the night before. i loved the atmosphere of the hotel and hope to come back soon. Thank you April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome stay - great recovery I rarely write reviews but the service on my stay here was so outstanding that I feel compelled. I made a reservation with my SPG points and am a gold member. When I checked in to the standard double room I reserved, I had a view into an operating room at the MGH across the walkway - needless to say, a rather off putting view for all but surgical voyeurs. After profuse apologies and a comp bottle of wine, the great staff agreed to change and upgrade my room the next day when something became available. I like everything about this hotel - the coffee in the mornings, the newspapers, the well documented historical aspects, the crazy lobby parties - they even sell iphone chargers at the concierge desk for the Apple price- no price gouging to the distraught customer who just discovered that they left their charger at the last business stop. On this trip, a good recovery is worth more than a totally smooth check-in. Kudos to whoever hires and trains this staff as they have the "customer first" mentality ( especially the bellman Mark) and the soothing words to go along. I have stayed here numerous times to visit my daughter in college and will keep coming back. March 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great design and staff, lacks maintenance I love this hotel. The design and feel of it is amazing, but there are a few issues, here are the bullet points -The room service is quite disappointing (it is pretty bad). -The staff are very friendly but they seem understaffed because a lot of requests were left unattended to. -Shower was very week. -TV is quite amazing -Lounge is amazing -Mood and feel of the hotel is unique -Walls are quite thin -The service is slow - A lot of things aren't working well (scale, phone, safe, power outlets) -The rooms are modern and very clean March 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay in Boston Loved this hotel in every way. Trendy, comfortable, fun, restaurants were delish and everyone was wonderful. Beyond pleased and will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Boston. March 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Troyboy1 We checked into the hotel early 4/21 after arriving from Nashville for a MGH medical conference. It took several days to realize why our room 1109 had no counter space; it was a handicappped room. We did not request a handicapped room and were not asked if this was satisfactory. Reservations were made several weeks in advance and our early arrival insured that a regular king-nonsmoking room was available. By not being informed that we may have had a choice of rooms, I am disappointed that I was not informed of this upon checkin. March 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Letting some of the little things go coffee maker in my room was broken, shower leaked gallons of water onto the floor - great hotel but not attending to the details March 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The good and the bad This hotel has character, but there are some watch outs. You are greeted with champagne and can purchase packages. The staff is friendly but the front lacks control when you need a cab or your car. Although our package included an extended check out, the maid still kept knocking. Also, the walls are paper thin so you can hear it all!! March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room Size on "King Deluxe" (up-grade room) The hotel was fabulous, the dinner was wonderful and the lounge area was really fun! Upon checking in we were offered a complementary glass of champagne..nice touch! My only question was I reserved the "King Deluxe" Room and was a tad disappointed... the size of the room was small. Would have taken the regular room and saved the "$" Other than that it's a great hotel! March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ULTIMATE HOTEL EXPERIENCE I CANNOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS HOTEL, IT'S STAFF AND REPRESENTATION EVEN BEFORE WE ARRIVED!! OVER THE PHONE WE MET MN BRIAN! YOU ARE A DOLL AND PUT US AT SUCH EASE COMING TO A NEW CITY. UPON ARRIVAL I MISSED THE NAMES OF CHECK IN STAFF BUT I THINK BELLHOP SAID JASON? WAS FANTASTIC SHARING ABOUT THE CITY RECOMMENDING THE PARAMOUNT! FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE AND THEN TALKING WITH MARK AND ALL THIS KNOWLEDGE AND HIS JUST PLAIN OLD GENUINE CARING ABOUT US HAVING A GREAT BOSTON EXPRIENCE. THEN KNOWING HOW WE LOVE THE BRUINS HOOKED BOB UP WITH KRIS AND THEY TALKED SPORTS AT GREAT LENGTH. KRIS SHARED SO MUCH AND I THANK YOU FOR THAT BECAUSE BOB KNOWS MORE ABOUT THE BRUINS AND THE OLD AND NEW PLAYERS AND HE ACTUALLY FOUND SOMEONE EVEN MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE AND ABSOLUTELY CARES ABOUT AND LOVES THE MIGHTY B AS MUCH AS WE DO. THE HOTEL ITSELF IS A FOUNT OF RICH HISTORY, COMFORT AND HOSPITALITY - CLEAN - COMFORTABLE - QUIET ROOMS AND WONDERFUL RESTRAUNTS AND ATMOSPHERE WHEN YOU WANT THEM:) WE HOPE TO RETURN SOON! I LOVE YOUR CITY AND LONG TO MAKE ANOTHER TRIP TO LEARN MORE OF OUR EARLY AMERICAN HISTORY! YOU MADE THIS SPECIAL TRIP FOR MY BOB TO BE IN BRUINS LAND AT THE HOME ICE -HIS LIFE LONG DREAM - P E R F E C T:) I CANNOT THANK YOU ENOUGH! LOVE TO YOU BRIAN - YOU ARE A TREMENDOUS ASSET THE LIBERTY HOTEL AND I DO HOPE WE CAN KEEP IN TOUCH:) March 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by noise from next door It is the first time I spend time writing hotel review. Rooms do not have good sound proof. We could hear adult screaming from next door 2am at night. Also, not paying attention to our request at reservation, the front desk gave my 2 children a king bed instead of double. We have to call in from room to complain then move to another floor after we already settled our luggage. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't ask for more I've been staying at the Liberty for 5 years, and the service is always impeccable. The staff are consistently just the right balance of professional and friendly. I've never had a bad experience there. You will continue to get my business. The rooms are elegant, tasteful and comfortable. March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay! Everything from the staff to the decor was amazing! Keep up the good work everyone!! March 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great time We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Liberty Hotel! I came for my birthday weekend - and I didn't tell the Liberty - but they surprised me with a nice birthday gift. Attention to details was fantastic! March 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Underwhelmed I've been staying at the Liberty for a couple years and I have to admit the standard of service keeps getting worse and worse. Two cases in point. First, the internet was extremely spotty during not only my most recent stay but also the last time I had stayed there. I tried to use both the complementary service as well as the paid service and both were very slow on multiple devices that I used. I had called Services and they mentioned that they were switching to a new wi-fi network and to "keep trying". Really? You need to do more than that. Second, i realize it is a perk but one of the nice things about the Luxury Collection is the complementary shoe shine. On my last stay there, I had called Services the night before and asked to please pick up my shoes. They indicated that they would pick it right up. However, in the morning, the shoes were there, still dirty. Not a huge issue, just surprised. Both of these things are minor issues but they seem to be a sign that the Liberty is slipping somewhat. There is a premium to stay there and for me these types of services are worth the premium. If not, there are many other Starwood properties in Boston to choose from. February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed Very impressed with quality February 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by interesting design interesting jail concept. happy we didn't check in friday or saturday night once the club scene starts!! Beds could have been more comfortable for a 4.5 star hotel and toilet made noise after every flush. view was beautiful on city side but our room was close to elevator so you could hear it running. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent facilities....minor nits to pick... Excellent facility and rooms. The dining choices are very good. Smooth arrival and departing job by the door staff....Nice touch offering the champagne when you do make it to the check in desk. During peak periods management needs to have more people on the front desk for check in. I waited much too long for check in. While my Platinum status was acknowledged, I was not upgraded as far as the room goes. Also, room did not have an in-room dining menu. Whose Idea was it to remove the chairs from the reception lobby bar outside Clink in the evening causing patrons to stand? Not a fan. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beutiful, Centrally Located, Perfect Situated on the Red Line for quick access to Boston, Harvard Square and Cambridge, this AMAZING Hotel is right in the center of it all. The Old Charles Street Jail transformed into a luxury hotel. The exposed brick and cast-iron decor, the jail cells in the bar, and even a jail-cell as a hotel room, you will NOT be dissapointed with your stay at the Liberty. The staff is beyond helpful, catering to any wish you may have. The drinks at Alibi are amazing, and the people watching at one of the top night spots in Boston is perfect...This is a MUST stay in Boston. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Liberty is excellent We took my daughter here to walk the freedom trail- we are so happy we stayed in such an incredible hotel. Staff if lovely and friendly. Hotel architecture is incredible- what vision to turn a jail into a hotel that is beautiful. We loved the alibi with mug shots of célèbre ties and drinks named after movies with people who went to jail. Rooms are so clean & excellent views and location- made our weekend even more special. February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some shortcomings The bathroom was uncomfortable...toilet should be "comfort height " . This one was so low that I pulled a stomach muscle sitting down and getting up . There should be safety bars in bathtubs and showers to prevent falls on slippery surfaces. Ther should be hooks to hang towels, pant etc while showering. Water pressure was too strong in shower and could not be adjusted and the shower head was too high...should be adjustable.the breakfast room was too cold (Clink ) had to change table and still was freezing. Mike's Coffee was too bitter and the only bagel offered was tasteless and bowl of oatmeal was too large for the average appetite. The 2 nd floor lobby was also too cold in the evening because too much cold air sweeps in from the main entrance. The restaurant Scampo was superb and exceeded my expectations.Thanks February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by well located and well appointed tastefully and well appointed and comfortable rooms with multiple assists for the hard of hearing. Well located in the heart of Boston on the campus of MGH and Mass Eye and Ear with views of the Charles River and across the street from an MBTA station. Staff is well trained and welcoming and there is a superb restaurant attached. February 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay I stayed at Liberty Hotel for one night because of its proximity to TD Garden. The location was perfect as well as only a short walk to the Common and Charles St. Shopping. The room was comfortable, bathroom great, and the staff goes out of their way to meet your needs. I will definitely stay here again when in Boston. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trendy hotel is the life of the party We held a bachlorette party this weekend at the Liberty hotel. It was the perfect location - central to downtown Boston and with a fun bar of its own. Staff was very helpful with the registration - plus the glass of cava was a nice touch. The rooms were very nice with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was perfect - large with both a tub and a shower. We ate at the bar upstairs twice and enjoyed our food both times. Added bonus - getting into the bar Alibi without standing in line! All in all a very good experience. February 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another lovely stay. I always enjoy my stay, and wouldn't thinlk of staying anywhere else. This time, however, there was a distinctive odor when I walked into the room. The room smelled musty. I think the carpet was the issue. I noticed that the water ran out from the shower and right to the carpet outside the bathroom. It was bothersome enough that I was going to call the desk and ask for another room; however the bed wa so comfortable, I fell right asleep. This is the only reason I didn't give The Liberty all 5 stars! It was disturbing, however. I think it should be addressed. Thank you for the opportunity for feedback. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful in every respect! There is nothing about this hotel that was not perfect. From the acknowledgement of my SPG status to the glass of champagne for me and sparkling lemonade for my daughter. The staff was wonderful, the room was perfect and the food in Clink and Scampo were oustanding!!! February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved this hottel This hotel has everything you would want or need, it fills all your needs. We loved it !!! February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive lobby The Liberty Hotel has unique architectural details. The service at this hotel is outstanding from the moment you exit your car right up to the time you check out! We can't wait to plan our next visit in warmer in weather. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by everything was perfect! could not have had a better stay anywhere else! Thank you Liberty! January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Luxury The welcome upon arrival was extremely comforting and relaxing. Taylor was gracious at sign-in, and the glass of champagne was a soothing touch. As Starwood members, we were awarded extra points and a room upgrade. The lobby is beautifully unique. Rather than the usual rush to get to our room, we lingered for nearly an hour in the lobby, seated in an armchair, sipping the champagne, enjoying the ambiance. I am sure I have never ever done that in another hotel! The hotel restaurants and bars are splendid and popular with locals. Getting away from the hotel itself, its location is excellent for shopping, attractions, restaurants, and is next door to MGH if you are receiving treatment. January 23, 2014
  • 2015-04-24T18:27:46.857-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_716, tr_716
  • loc_en_US, sid_3646, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 25 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>