Sheraton on the Park

  • 161 Elizabeth Street
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 17 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 936 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always A Great Experience As a Platinum Member I visit the Hotel regularly.Recently I booked two rooms/suite for a stay with our Son,Wife and Daughter.The service we received was nothing less than 1st Class in every way.Jodie,The manager in the lounge went out her way to make us all feel relaxed and Welcome at all times. Thank you everybody for yet another great stay.Would Highly Recommend to Everyone!! August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always excellent This stay was about my 27th or 28th at this hotel. I love it and keep coming back. The staff in the Executive Club know us by name and always welcome us and do all they can to ensure we have a great stay. Jodie, Sol, Nicole and Exec Club staff are truly a great asset to the hotel. We love the roof top pool and always make sure we get some time to have a swim. My only little complaint would be that it is often too hot in the rooms or Club lounge and the self parking is very expensive. We love the buffet breakfasts at Feast, such huge variety and really delicious. Great views and location, close to the station, shopping and Hyde Park. We will be back again soon. Thanks. May 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mini break Everything associated with our stay exceeded expectation. The seafood buffet was quality and the Xmas decorations/ atmosphere was perfect. The room was serviced to a high standard well done to housekeeping. December 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 40th Anniversary We booked a room for 5 days to commemorate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. I can't think of one single negative thing to say about our stay at the Sheraton on the Park. The staff was extremely professional, well groomed, and polite. Our room was excellent. May 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Platinum Did not deliver platinum benefits. September 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best 5 star hotel in Sydney. I had such a wonderful stay at the Sheraton on the Park. The Sheraton club was great and the service was excellent. The staff helped us get whatever we needed. The relaxation spa was also fantastic. Very professional. Also, the pool & Gym were very good. The executive room clean and well designed with a great view. It is a perfect location next to the park but also right next to the department stores in the middle of the city. The best thing however was the unbelievable Buffet on the first floor! It has to be the best in the world!!! -Thank you very much! September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place, helpful staff I travel frequently to Sydney. This is by far my most favourite hotel in this city. The location is great : easily accessible by train from the domestic/international airports for when arriving/departing during peak traffic hours (St James Station is just across the road); many good restaurants within walking distance (if the excellent seafood buffet at the Brasserie on level 1 of hotel doesn't tickle your fancy, Bambini Trust Cafe/Restaurnat is highly recommended, only a few steps away on the right as you exit main door of hotel. Another new favourite is Grasshopper, 10 minutes walk, Temperance Lane off George Street, serves casual french cuisine, Palace Chinese Restaurant just behind the hotel serves great yum cha. Chinatown is only 15 minutes walk away and great for late night food jaunts); all manner of shops within walking distance to do serious damage to your credit card (from high street to the very high end). The staff are always friendly and helpful. As SPG Platinum, I have access to their executive lounge, with all its associated benefits - very useful when travelling on business (use of boardroom, printers, wifi, etc). Evan, Christy, Sol and their associates in the Exec Lounge go above and beyond in their service and helpfulness. On occasions when I have been accompanied by my family (2 young children), the staff have always made us feel very welcome and at home. My children love the glass roofed pool on the top floor. Highly recommended whether for business or family trip. November 13, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by ZERO recognition of SPG platinum member Frankly speaking, the food, beverage and service at the club lounge are pretty good. However as the platinum member I have never been upgraded into a standard suite at this hotel, every time the front desk told me that they don't have any available room for upgrade. I booked the city view executive room this time. Since I knew I couldn't be upgrade to the suite, I requested to have a corner room which is a bigger than the normal room. the hotel even couldn't find a park view room for me. at the end I haven't upgrade to any better room as the platinum member. I travel to many cities in the world, almost every time I have been updated to a suite at other SPG hotels except Sheraton on the park. very disappointing. July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This time only 3* - Sheraton on the Park was better before I stay on a regular basis at the Sheraton on the Park in Sydney. Until now I was happy with it but this time it missed the mark and therefore only 3*. Room 1816 has a great view to the Hyde Park but is very noisy as staff elevators are next to it. SPG Platinum recognition as regular guest in the Club Lounge is poor. Breakfast and cocktail variance needs to be improved - hardly any changes during the week and throughout the year. I like oysters but do they need to be on the buffet on a daily basis? There are so many other things that could be offered for cocktail hours and breakfast. Location, room layout and cleanliness as well as gym are great. Will return in a few month and hope to give again 4 or 5 *. January 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad stay start to finish My confirmation noted an early arrival and at checkin (after 24 hours of travel from North America) was told that a Park View room had been set aside, was empty and awaiting cleaning (and listed as a 'PRIORITY' for cleaning). I went to the lounge where I sat and waited, but started enquiring about whether the room had been cleaned. After 90 minutes and completely exhausted waiting, I finally asked in ANY room was available, there was a City view, which should be more aptly names concrete view. I voiced my complaint to the front desk agent that a 90 min wait for an empty room to be cleaned is ridiculous and then she told me that there was no guarantee of time when it would clean! An email complaint to the hotel was followed up by the Manager on Duty to my Concrete View Room that she was sorry it was not communicated but it was a large hotel with a lot of business traffic and they don't guarantee times. I was quite angry at her response, esp after being told that I could have waited til the 3pm checkin I did not appreciate the tone and felt her comment was meant to chastise and filed an additional complaint. Another followup yielded no better response though after 4 hours, I was told another room was available if I wanted (I had already unpacked my belongings). I deferred and asked her to explain how long did she think was reasonable to wait for an empty room that needed to be cleaned and her response was 3 hours. I find the response pathetic. If a hotel cannot tell housekeeping to clean according to Priority (their words), then they have no business in the hospitality industry! Further, when I asked her how long one should need to clean a room and knowing it is on avg 15-20 min, and that in the time I was waiting (not including the time the room was vacated), 4-6 rooms could have been cleaned. While she understood, there was no hint that it registered why I was so upset at the lack of communication or how to make changes. The conversation ended with her saying she will pass it on to the staff. I told her that i was not willing to be a guinea pig to help them make a better hotel, esp at the cost of my enjoyment. As I had another stay coming up, I decided to move it away from the hotel after our conversations. To further add insult, I went to get a coffee from the lounge at 6:45 as I had to depart at 7 and was flat out refused entry. The inability to accommodate their guests is truly disappointing as I had enjoyed my previous visits in the hotel. March 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrace Suite Stay 07/01/14-10/01/2014 We recently booked a Terrace Suite for 3 nights but only could manage to stay 2 nights. We found the room to need quite a bit of work to upgrade it to the 5 stars the hotel claims to have. We have stayed at this hotel many times, mainly due to its location, and now can honestly say that it is well past its prime. Every part of the room is in need of repair. The bathroom had water damage to the ceiling over the shower, the architraves around door, the grout in the marble floors tiles is falling out in all of the floors and in the shower where the tiles have been cut the tile edges edges were quite sharp. The balustrade on the terrace has had wire mesh fitted the original structure with zip ties, the air quality in the room is terrible and the air-conditioning in the room was extremely noisy. The carpets are well worn and smelly. We also had a car, which we chose to use the Valet parking at $60 per day. Guest Services recommend calling 15 minutes prior to needing your car, on 2 of the 3 occasions we requested the car, we had to wait a further 10-15minutes downstairs with our 5 month baby as the bell desk never retrieved the car. On both occasions I had to go to the bell & reception desks and ask where the car was. The time from calling to arriving in the foyer exceeded 35 minutes on both occasions. The weather in Sydney for our stay wasn't very good but the room was not comfortable enough to spend the extra time in the hotel or the room. At no time did I feel that anything I said to the staff would make any difference to what was happening or our stay as after the first time the car wasn't bought up for us I made an extra request when asking for the car the last time that they have it there on time and I explained what happened previously, the car still wasn't there.The final insult to the stay was on checking out I received a printed Tax Invoice for the stay. The next day I received an Updated and Final Folio as requested (which I didn't request by the way) which had an extra room charge, an extra valet parking charge and an extra credit card charge. I had prepaid for 3 nights accommodation and only stayed for two, but somehow they charged me for last night twice as well as the valet twice and hit me for a second credit card charge for the pleasure. It took over an hour and several phone calls to get sorted but this should never have happened. Perhaps it is time for the Sheraton on the Park to spend some money where we the customers are to benefit from our contribution and a little less on the foyer and public areas where all the pictures online look great. Also, perhaps the staff service should be looked at as we are entitled to receive some upon our stays. I did have several nights in a Penthouse suite at the Sheraton Noosa booked next week which I will be cancelling. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel My husband and I spent three nights in Sydney at the Sheraton on the Park prior to embarking on a cruise, and we couldn't have been happier with our room (a spacious corner room overlooking the park), or with the restaurant. (Try their breakfast and dinner buffets; they are both exceptionally good!) The location of the hotel is ideal--right in the heart of the city. The bathroom was beautifully appointed and there was even enough light in the room in the evening--something that isn't always the case in hotels these days. Great service, too. Highly recommended. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Class Hotel Sheraton on the Park in Sydney is a perfectly located place to stay when visiting Sydney. On the doorstep are fantastic places to eat, excellent shopping or if you want to stay in, the rooms are spacious & spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast would be easily the best I have ever experienced and the concierge (Mike) organised limo transfers for me which were absolutely seamless. My wife also used Sheraton Day Spa and she was blown away by the professional & quality service she received. Seriously doubt whether I would stay anywhere else in Sydney from now on. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Daughters Birthday Treat My little girl turned 9 and all she wanted was to stay at a Hotel in the city with 2 friends. So I booked 2 interconnecting rooms at the Sheraton on the Park. They confirmed 2 days prior that I would have interconnecting rooms (I rang to ensure this would happen for obvious reasons). The rooms were lovely with lots of space and privacy even with connecting doors. The girls loved the pool (which has an amazing view of the city). Breakfast was a top notch event - girls very happy to have chocolate doughnuts and Ice cream for breakfast all in all a fabulous stay! July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor service Service levels are very poor - I called Guest Services and requested to be taken to the gym in after hours- they said they would send someone but no-one came, despite me calling up twice to check if someone was coming and being told they were 'on their way' - I was incorrectly charged and had errors on my bill- despite calling numerous times to correct this, accounts receivable failed to return my calls and follow up (Three weeks later I am still chasing this up) - Express Check Service states they will send you your bill via email however it never comes through and I have to call and follow up for it to get sent -In room dining has few healthy options October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service level high - comfort great Hi I travel every week and find that it is the little things that make a big difference. I often stay at the Sheraton on the Park and Westin in Sydney and find the service to be of the highest level I have received anywhere in the world. The comfort of the rooms is also a great feature, especially the bed and lounge chair. I find both are a great contributor to relaxing after a hard day. Thanks you December 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointing Stay Our stay at this hotel to sum up in one word was disappointing. On 4 of us arriving with suitcases we were not offered any help with our cases to our rooms. We were charged $9.50 for drinking water The rooms were not sound proof. On leaving we were not offered any help and I then had to come home and question charges on my credit card. I am a Star Privilege card holder and a SPG member and after this experience I will not be renewing my card for another year. On a positive note the breakfast at Feast was excellent and the location is fantastic. May 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing We were underwhelmed by our stay. We advised the night manager on the 2nd night our a/c was not working as the room temperature was over 25 degrees. We were moved rooms at midnight having first been advised of no spare rooms and a fan would suffice. Our next room resulted in the night technician spending a half hour in our room trying to fix our television. We wanted to eat from the buffet on the Saturday night but were advised there were no tables available until 9.30pm. All in all an expensive and stressful "quiet weekend" away. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST HOTEL IN SYDNEY Frequent visitor to SYD, and, have stayed at several other properties in CBD, SOTP is by far the best option. It has an enviable location next to Hyde Park , close enough for a stroll to AGNSW, Sydney Opera House, Circular Quay, MCA, etc. Also numerous buses stop outside for trip to Bondi for e.g and St James station across street. for SYD INTL . But even more important than comfortable beds, Executive Club, SPG perks, it's the warm, professional friendly staff from porters, front desk, EC, that make stays so memorable. Thank you December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost perfect, but... I am writing this review now because I was awaken by strong constructional drilling noise coming from next door room, And I have this disaster second day in row. Nothing about that possible inconvenience was in "Special conditions" when I did booking. This is unacceptable for such glorious hotel with such a great service to put guests in such position. All other aspecrs of my stay were almost ideal.I highly recommend this hotel, but after reconstruction noise will finishes. And management should put warning now at their website. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely value & quality Decided to have a night away from the kids (3 under 6) with the husband. We chose SHeraton on the Park because we were seeing a concert at the Hordern Pavilion. The room was wonderful. The bathtub was lovely, and relaxing. Shower was a fantastic size for two! The room was extra comfortable, and I loved the corner sofa to lounge on with a drink while chatting. Nothing worse than having to use the bed just to chill out. The staff were friendly and kind. The lobby is beautiful. Everything was wonderful. Top floor pool & viewing area was spectacular. Breakfast was delicious and I took advantage of the freshly made omelete to order! Thank you, we'll be back. October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Hotel As I have been staying there for about 20 years and keep coming back, it means I should not have to fill out this review. October 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another stellar stay at my favourite hotel I absolutely love this hotel. I have been coming here for years and it is consistently outstanding! The rooms are lovely and spacious and I especially enjoy the park views. The staff at the Executive club lounge are wonderful, always friendly and efficient and go out of their way to help with anything you may need. The food is lovely and so are the views. I stay here quite frequently and the staff always remember me by name. My last stay was a special occasion and they upgraded us to a lovely balcony view. June 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST BIRTHDAY EVER This Hotel is the most beautiful in Sydney , one in which i got married , but the level of service has certainly gone down hill . Wife booked my birthday stay with WOTIF. Got to the check in told that because we booked with a "third party" we would have to stay in a twin single room . not the king park view we booked, but if we had booked through the sheraton we would have been able to have a king room ,meant nothing that i have been a gold starwood preferred guest member for over 20 years , got the manager and after an argument he found us a king room , Room aircond was not working , so asked for them to fix it whilst we were out ,were told they did , we got back late and the aircond was not fixed . had to move to a new room at 3.30 am , new room was next to a service door ,this was slammed by uncaring staff from 5 am on . This was the worst stay in any hotel in 20 years . November 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs to focus back on five star Checked in handed SPG voucher for an upgrade which was quickly addressed and we told the assistant that we would not be back until the afternoon. Then on Saturday morning we had a letter under the door asking if we could please take the voucher down to reception at our earliest convenience. So I rang reception and explained that we had handed the voucher in on checkin. We received a call explaining that they had found it. On the Saturday we left in the morning to go out for the day and returned at 3.15pm to find that the room had not been cleaned, then asked that while we went back could the room be cleaned. We have had a long relationship with the Sheraton on the Park and feel that little things are changing not for the better, which make the difference of a 5 Star hotel compared with a 4 Star. September 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Exceptionally poor staff attention at Exec Floor Room developed a leak on rainstorm. Waited 4 hours to be moved to any kind of room. Turns out another room had been available for some time. Some exec floor club staff very efficient, others totally clueless when it comes to service. Jared of hotel management did well to try to fix things. Unfortunately knowing another friend who had bad experience this hotel not good. Now 2 of us in same circle. But if you are celebrity they seem to go out of their way to accommodate your wishes. March 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is luxury in a great location If you want comfort and convenience as well as a touch of luxury in Sydney this is the hotel to stay at. Convenient to everything such as tourist precincts and shopping and opposite lovely Hyde Park which is so relaxing to walk through. Within walking distance to Surrey Hills and Paddington as well. Room was beautiful and room service kept it lovely and clean while using a green program which was impressive. The breakfast was amazing. I can't say enough about the hotel. Fantastic. January 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, Club. everything This Sheraton has it all from a great location to a beautiful lobby, great rooms and a happening Club. December 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel for business conference I recently stayed at the Sheraton on Park for a business conference and found it one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Sydney. I could not fault any part of the experience and must say the food was excellent. Cooking a brilliant fillet steak for 130 attendees of the conference and absolutely nailing it is not something everyone can do but congratulations to the kitchen staff for pulling it off. To all concerned, well done and I will be hoping to stay there another time. February 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overcharged & Impatient Staff I booked 4 x city view rooms, for 8 people. I was told that i would not incur pre-authorisation charges, yet I did. I was also overcharged $130 for a bogus fee, that no one at the Sheraton Hotel could explain. When we checked in we were told someone had already checked in to one of the rooms, and it wasn't any of us. Our bags went missing and ended up in someone else's room, whilst another friends bags were left in the lobby for 6 hours, unattended. The front house manager, Christian, the next morning at check out was so rude to one of my friends that had been overcharged and I even had to ask him to show some patience and common courtesy, as he raised his voice at her and demanded things from her, huffing and staring her down. Unacceptable. We were not given anything complimentary for our troubles. Not enjoyable. August 29, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>