Hotel Marqués de Riscal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Elciego

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 74 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel with great front desk staff We arrived early for our check in and Pedro at the front desk was so helpful. We knew we were early and did not expect any service beyond being able to park our car, but Pedro spent a great deal of time with us, welcoming us to the hotel and area, giving us maps and advice for exploring, as well as signing us up for the included free tour of the winery. We also compliment the night desk person, whose name we have forgotten. As we had to leave extra early to catch a flight, he was able to prepare our bill in advance, and then gave us driving directions when our GPS couldn't locate satellites (probably because of all that titanium-as we got a few hundred yards away, the directions came right up). We mention the front desk staff but can't omit the very obvious fabulous architecture and food. Our lunch on the terrace outside the wine bar was excellent. We wish we had thought to go have a before-dinner drink in the library. And our meal at the Restaurante was all we expected. A memorable visit in every respect. So sorry we had to leave before breakfast! May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Nice retreat spot I have decided to head to the Marques de Riscal, to recover from the stress of my daily life together with my mother. We have been welcomed by the very professional Carmen at the welcome desk and then escorted to our upgraded suite by an adorable gentleman that also assisted us with our bags. The room was very stylish and provided us with very nice amenities such as a Nespresso coffee machine and a great offer of Tea Forte. The bed and sofas were very comfortable. The bathroom amenities could have been more diverse and in a bigger quantity. We experienced some issues with the air conditioning system that was not responding with changes in temperature selection, we did not address this issue and we were able to cool down the room opening the windows. We had the chance to taste the (13?) courses gastronomic menu in the hotel's restaurant and we have been impressed by the quality and the presentation of the food. The service was really nice as well. The Michelin star is definitely well deserved. Breakfast buffet was also very nice and featured many Spanish delights such as jamon iberico, chorizo, great cheese, bread, pastries, cava, juices and more. I would like to recognize the excellent customer service provided by Ester that was always attentive and was assisting us with a smile. We also met her by coincidence while visiting the small town of Elciego and she provided us with great information about the area! She really goes above and beyond :)! Unfortunately the other breakfast attendant was not that smiling and a bit rude. We did also enjoyed some treatments at the Caudalie Spa and the massages are performed by great professionals, a bit pricey though. The pool was peaceful and relaxing. I would suggest to increase the temperature of the Jacuzzi. I would like to mention the nice welcoming spirit of Malu at the reception of the Spa ! All in all it has been a great experience with a very nice service offered by a friendly and attentive staff. I would certainly consider this hotel again for a 1-2 night stay in the colorful Rioja district. April 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worthy of Starwood affiliation No chair in room Walkway to spa was outside window so needed to close drapes. Would not change room although check in was early in the day. Took three calls to have them change light bulb not working. When I asked to speak to manager was advised that he stayed off site and no manager was on duty. Staff was very polite and pleasant. Checked out after one night and stayed in other nearby hotel for two more nights in area. February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service great Service. Manager and staff are all very helpful and eager to help. Great Job! February 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic experience! The good stuff starts the moment you see the hotel - it's fabulous! Keep in mind that it looks different through the day! Hotel staff does outstanding job really to help you with your stay in the hotel and with your fun time in local surroundings. Hotel itself is just fantastic - you have fabulous options to spend great time here - from SPA relaxation to exploring local wines at the bar. Tip: get your drinks served at the library. You have absolutely to try this hotel! Outstanding!!! January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by For Wine Lovers Wonderful staff. Incredible experience. January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really nice but problem with room We were assigned a room with broken window and the heat system did not work. The staff was really nice and we were immediately changed to another room when we complained, but from my point of view a luxury hotel wouldn't have to make these mistakes. We came to the hotel for only one night, and it is annoying to pack again and switch room just some hours after you are installed. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel Best attention to customers It was for my 60th birthday. My daughter and son got a beautiful room and my wife and myself the best suite you can imagine, with direct view to the vineyard and the church at ElCiego. All staff was excellent, particularly at front desk and restaurants August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Exceeded expactation I decided to stay here for a long weekend to get away. drink a little wine and dissapear from daily chaos...it worked. The room was above and beyond with breathtaking view of the village and snow capped mountains. Views here and in the fortified village 5 kilometers up the road were spiritual. I found dining had very few options, but definately worth the trip. May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Divine in every way - would love to go back I don’t normally write such long reviews, but our hotel experience was very special. 1. Excellent service. Yahia, the doorman/bellboy/repairman, was more than amazing. In fact, there really are no words to describe how fantastic he was! For my husband and I, an excellent hotel experience includes a nice, clean room, good facilities AND great service. This hotel nailed the “service” with Yahia. He’s your first point of contact at the hotel (he helps you out of your car, taxi, etc). He is an absolute gem, and I hope the hotel holds on to him. Yahia - thank you so much for making our stay unforgettable! 2. Fully equipped rooms with a view. Not only were there top of the line electronics within the room, the bathroom was probably one of the most spacious that we've ever experienced (includes 2 closets, bathtub, shower stall with rain shower, Cinq Monde toiletries and a separate toilet closet#. Our room was in the spa wing and had a stunning view of the church and the rest of the village of Elciego. If you don’t get a room in the main building, ask for one facing the town - you won’t regret it! 3. Great food. Dinner at the hotel’s Michelin star restaurant, “Restaurante Marqués de Riscal,” is an absolute must. We had the 10 course tasting menu, and it was the best dinner we've ever had. It was creative and delicious using local ingredients. The restaurant/Chef also worked around my shellfish allergy so that I could enjoy the dining experience with my husband. My dishes were exquisite and my husband loved his too. Thank you Chef! I would also like to applaud the 5-person team that were flawless and courteous throughout the dinner service. 4. Stunning hotel. Designed by frank Gerry, I found the exterior ribbon-like architecture of the main building mesmerizing and surreal. I must have taken at least a hundred pictures of the hotel, but still feel like my pictures didn’t do it justice. Just gorgeous. 5. Other. We didn't get any spa services #Claudalie products), but the pool was really nice and the lounging area by the vineyard was relaxing. Highly recommend this hotel. Happy travels! April 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superlative in Every Aspect OVERALL IMPRESSION: Nestled in beautiful wine country with the purely theatrical back-drop of the village of Elciego and it’s impressive Church of St. Andrew, this property is calculated to WOW and it succeeds in spades and by every marker. The building is a masterpiece of modern architecture by Frank O. Gehry but its magnificence is equaled by every other aspect of the experience: welcome, service, accommodation and food service are all impeccable. SPG RECOGNITION: We were personally welcomed by the reception manager who handled our check-in and accompanied us to our room. As platinum, we were upgraded to a Grand Suite which has to be one of the finest rooms in the house with it’s full frontal view from TWO picture windows of the spectacular facade. As it was our anniversary, there was a lovely bottle of Cava chilling for us. The concierge staff is one of the most proactive I have encountered and we had several messages prior to arrival with suggestions as how to best spend our time and with offers to make all necessary arrangements. A Platinum benefit was a complimentary tour (two hours including a tasting) of the adjacent winery and this turned out to be a major highlight. THE ROOM: Spectacular modern design in a loft-like atmosphere with modern classic furnishings and fine linens. Even appropriate mood music was arranged on the in-room sound system. The marble bathroom was huge and grandiose. We loved the Caudalie bath amenities - made from grapes to keep with the hotel-winery theme. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: The Spa was elegant and beautiful with every possible feature including a great jacuzzi with a view over the vineyards. The gym, pure state-of-the-art. We opted for the five-course taster menu in the gastronomic restaurant and this was truly superb - from the excellent service to the inventive cuisine. They even recognized our anniversary with a special dessert. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: Not a single aspect of this property falls short of perfection. November 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Service, Beautiful Hotel What a unique hotel in the middle of wine country! My wife and I stayed in room 1 and had a beautiful view of the cathedral. It even gets better at night as it's lit up against the dark sky. The general manager greeted us and made us feel right at home. The entire staff was pleasant and welcoming. The tasting menu was outstanding and the wine topped off a perfect stay. We highly recommend this experience for any couple who wants a romantic getaway. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by expensive, but worth it. Unique hotel, everything you could ask for, I rated the facilities as average only because I was dissapointed that the spa and hammam were not hot on either day that I tried them, the facilities are beutiful as is the location. Do the wine tour, and eat at hector ortiz. October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A little fairytale... We arrived late at night to what appeared to be a discretely lit, anachronistic castle with, in lieu of stone walls and towers, a fantastic architecture coloured with bold, winery-inspired palette. This luxury collection hotel is unique and unforgettable, with a glass bridge connecting the two wings of the structure allowing you to breeze under Gehry's titanium ribbons. The location was lovely, with the small, characteristic town of Elciego within walking distance of the hotel and a beautiful view over the town church and vineyards from the breakfast area. Impeccable room with vineyard view and complimentary valrhona chocolate, the welcome gift as a platinum member was a locally produced olive oil we continued to enjoy at home. We visited the Guggenheim in Bilbao and, while imposing and impressive, our stay in Elciego provided us with a much more intimate perception of Gehry's work, almost as if we had been two guests in his living room, where he held his sketchbook and told us about the enchanted Basque land his imagination was about to conquer. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel in early December and everything was perfect. The rooms are large and comfortable; breakfast is delicious and with high quality produce, the bistro serves excellent food and the wine bar is the perfect place for a quick bite. The spa itself is not impressive but the treatments are quite original. I took a "skull massage" and it was very enjoyable. The Marques de Riscal winery is worth a visit (free with your stay) as it is Ysios in the nearby town of Laguardia. Above all I would highlight the service. Everybody is nice, willing to help but respectful with your privacy. The hotel has the perfect size for a luxury retreat: not too big so you don't feel anonymous, not too small so you can still go unnoticed! December 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Escape here with your favorite lover!!! Unique jewel in SPG crown. You will remember this wonderful place forever. Located at "bodega Markiz de Riscal" - winery with very tasty Rioha wine. Great rooms, great food (try Hake Nape fish - 45 euros for two persons), great one-of-kind design, great wine, warm swimming pool with aquamassage devices. Spa. Greatest place for few days with your beloved one. Highly recommend! December 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small, but incredible property in Elciego, ES The Marques has a hard expectation to live up to. From the moment you book a stay you anticipate your arrival at this architecturally stunning property. Fortunately the hotel rises to those expectations and exceeds them. I arrived in the evening to find the hotel lit up in the Spanish night. It's edges glowing and the sinuous sheen of the stainless steel and titanium cutting through the black of night. Incredible. I spent 6 nights at the hotel and found all of it's facilities to be word class. There are three restaurants, a wonderful spa, and a guest library that is the perfect place for a late night drink. Additionaly, the small towns of Elciego, Laguardia,and the surrounding vineyards are a wonderful place to run, bike, or just spend a day touring. Finally, the staff are attentive without being pushy and work hard to accommodate your every request. A true five-star experience! December 13, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great Ghery, but.... If you want to go to see Ghery architecture ok, but I was expecting a warm hotel in a countryside not a cold hotel without any feeling exept Ghery. I didn't go to the restaurant because it was very dark and unconfortable. the bed is great as usual, the room is very big and confortable, but colours are terribles! tha bathroom huge , more then huge, but the shower didn't work well. the same for the swimminpool, it was perfect! and very nice, but the shower only with hot water (it was impossible to shower!). I espect more from a luxury collection 5 star! sorry, but I prefer to go to see Ghery in Bilbao December 5, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Example of content and style The hotel is a beacon off the highway to guests. The staff is welcoming and accomidated all our needs. Had dinner at the gastronomic. It was a wonderful experience in new cuisine although if you are on vacation its better to try for the local Rioja classic dishes. Close to Logrono for more city pleasures but just up the road La gaurdia a small classic town. I would suggest that the hotel arrange a private tasting or tour just for Platinum members as perk instead of a general group one. November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1000 times thank you. All around perfekt. Thank you. this was pur fist stay at your hotel and it was great. beginning from the first contact with your concierge by parking our car until checking out with 2 vouchers for the visit of the Guggenheim Bilbao. 2 minimal critics, the bicicles are not in a great contition to go up the hills to the town. And I am a graphic designer. The design of the hotel broshures are not a 5* design. But we will definetly recomend your hotel and I will come back. Thanks July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by très joli domaine magnifique très bel endroit à visiter August 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magnifique endroit et unique experience Une experience unique combinant bon vins, endroit très original, et magnifique architecture. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Acogedor Trato muy agradable,relax, buena comida February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sin duda repetiria Es la segunda vez que me alojo con mi esposo en este hotel. En ambas ocasiones hemos elegido las mismas fechas del 29 de diciembre al 4 de enero. Sinceramente volveríamos a repetir. Las instalaciones son confortables y de calidad. Recomiendo el Spa y sus tratamientos. El trato recibido por todo el personal del hotel es exquisito. Espero en un futuro volver a este bello lugar. Gracias a todo el equipo del Hotel Marques de Riscal. January 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sencillamente, EXCELENTE Un servicio extraordinario, en un marco incomparable. Las instalaciones, perfectas, de verdadero lujo. El edificio, incomparable, extraño, bonito, no desentona en el paisaje, es un punto y aparte entre los viñedos. El paisaje otoñal de las vides, precioso. November 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel de 10 El hotel es precioso. El trato del personal es muy bueno. El spa y masajes genial como la visita a la bodega. El desayuno buenisimo, muy completo y de calidad y el restaurante Bistro 1860 espectacular. Recomendable 100%. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Una estancia para recordar Poco que decir sobre la arquitectura del edificio, habla por si misma. El resto, o sea, el trato y el servicio... sencillamente inmejorable, El personal; desde la recepción al spa y desde los camareros al guía de la visita a la bodega, tienen como objetivo que te sientas bien durante tu estancia, todo ello sin caer en el excesivo boato. Muy recomendable. November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Supero mis espectativas. Sorprendente instalaciones, trato y tranquilidad. Enhorabuena. November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magnífico hotel y magnífico personal Un hotel impresionante y un personal profesional y atento al 100% han hecho de nuestra estancia una experiencia inolvidable. Absolutamente recomendable. Volveremos, sin duda. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelencia LLevamos acudiendo a este hotel todos los años desde su inauguracion,tanto en pareja,como con la familia,y amigos,y siempre estamos deseando volver.Todo es excepcional,en especial el personal del hotel,amabilisimo y dispuesto a hacer de la estancia un verdadero placer. Un verdadero lujo September 29, 2014
  • 2016-08-25 T11:12:16.918-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_74, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_1539, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>