Convento do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Evora

  • Convento do Espinheiro
  • Evora,
  • 7000
  • Portugal
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Experience Everything about the hotel is top notch. The hotel has a 45 tour based upon the interesting and rich history of the monastery. The service was incredible and the staff was very helpful. The food at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was exquisite, excellent, and delicious. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful. We highly recommend this hotel. June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best....... The Convento is one of the best hotels within the SPG portfolio. It's truly a hidden gem in Portugal. From the 2 amazing pools to the outstanding service, Evora and the Convento should be on everyone's must-list to visit. The Alentejo region of Portugal is full of adventure from the wineries, small towns, beautiful castles and cobble stone streets, we never wanted to leave. The service at the hotel is warm and inviting from the lovely General Manager, Maria to all the concierges/front deck: Ricardo, David, Luis, and Claudia; they made our stay memorable and so helpful with lost luggage/reservations/recommendations. The two pools and pool side cafe are a relaxing atmosphere to escape the "real-world" and enjoy your vacation. The nightly wine tasting was educational and friendly - I recommend going every night of your stay if you can. Divinus has delicious regional food and even the bar/pool side cafe has great food. Don't miss the 5pm tour of the hotel/church/grounds......and we loved staying in one of the older rooms with lots of character. This is a place in the world that is overlooked for Tuscany, Burgundy, Porto and Southern France.....but it should be on everyone's "must list" especially because it is less expensive, easy to get to, pure relaxation and very few tourists within Alentejo. I can't wait to come back! June 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Property Among the very best stays our family has experienced. This unique historic 5-Star hotel exceeds expectations in every way. Suites are a perfect blend of original design with top-notch modern amenities. Food and wine prepared and served at the highest levels. Staff both knowledgeable and professional. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel in this region The hotel is great to relax,excellent quality of services, the hotel team is top April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Princely To stay at this hotel is kind of a "Cinderella"dream the midnight deadline being the checkout departure. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic All was as planned. All staff made our stay a memorable one. The rooms were beautifully decorated and had an amazing view. The Divinus Restaurant presented fantastic service and top quality food. The olive oil, made from Convento do Espinheiro olive's was such a treat. Congratulations for such an amazing get away. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Starwood Property in the World (To enhance the credibility of this review, please allow a prelude regarding my Starwood experience.) I am a multi-year Platinum member, having been to virtually every Westin and W Hotel in the USA, and several Starwood properties abroad--totaling around 225 different locations. My top Starwood stays include the St. Regis Princeville Resort in Kauai, St. Regis in Rome, Le Meridien in Phuket, St. Regis in Aspen, St. Regis in Monarch Beach, Parker Palm Springs and the incomparable Hotel Alfonso XIII in Seville. Convento do Espinheiro not only tops all of these Starwood properties, but is easily the best place I've ever stayed (tied with Dromoland Castle in Ireland). Convento do Espinheiro--in the shadow of medieval Evora, a walled city and Unesco World Heritage site--was actually a monastery for 400 years and comes with its own historic church, idyllic surroundings, sweeping views, cistern-turned-wine-room, wine-cellar-turned-restaurant, clanging sheep bells in the distance, several secret nooks and quirky stairways, and an incredible staff. The general manager, Maria, was charming and helpful; the sommelier Christiano was a real pro; and everyone from the front desk to the restaurant was amazingly attentive. Don't miss the 1,100-year-old olive tree, the sprawling grounds or nightly tour which includes wine tasting. Convento do Espinheiro should be a tourist destination in its own right. Indeed, the property's history is the subject of a well-researched book. It is unlike any Starwood hotel in that it achieves more than just a place of rest and leisure--the resort is truly transportive. I cannot give the Convento a stronger recommendation. Stop reading this and book your reservation. November 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our new favorite Starwood property We've just returned home from 4 days at this amazing, elegant former monastery. We loved exploring the beautifully restored hotel, highlighted by the original ornate chapel within the hotel; the daily 5:00 pm hotel history tour led by Claudia; the 6:00 pm wine tastings led by Alvaro, the wonderful food; our fabulous room in the historical section; as well as the hotel's entire gracious, helpful staff. Thanks, also, to Fabio, Danio, Joao and Maria. Although we hated to leave the hotel, Evora and the surrounding area has plenty to offer: Roman ruins in the center of Evora, a UNESCO World Heritage site; 6000-4000 year old megaliths; wine tastings and tours at nearby vineyards ( we enjoyed Herdade Do Esporao); more fortified medieval castles. We didn't have a chance to enjoy the pools or spa, but we will return for a longer stay next time! November 14, 2014
  • 2015-07-06T14:09:50.140-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_126, tr_126
  • loc_en_US, sid_1553, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>