Convento do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Evora

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 159 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay The hotel is excellent with great rooms and big bathroom. The pools are great, the both outdoor and indoor! The restaurant is very nice. And the staff are so great!! July 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Experience Everything about the hotel is top notch. The hotel has a 45 tour based upon the interesting and rich history of the monastery. The service was incredible and the staff was very helpful. The food at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was exquisite, excellent, and delicious. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful. We highly recommend this hotel. June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best....... The Convento is one of the best hotels within the SPG portfolio. It's truly a hidden gem in Portugal. From the 2 amazing pools to the outstanding service, Evora and the Convento should be on everyone's must-list to visit. The Alentejo region of Portugal is full of adventure from the wineries, small towns, beautiful castles and cobble stone streets, we never wanted to leave. The service at the hotel is warm and inviting from the lovely General Manager, Maria to all the concierges/front deck: Ricardo, David, Luis, and Claudia; they made our stay memorable and so helpful with lost luggage/reservations/recommendations. The two pools and pool side cafe are a relaxing atmosphere to escape the "real-world" and enjoy your vacation. The nightly wine tasting was educational and friendly - I recommend going every night of your stay if you can. Divinus has delicious regional food and even the bar/pool side cafe has great food. Don't miss the 5pm tour of the hotel/church/grounds......and we loved staying in one of the older rooms with lots of character. This is a place in the world that is overlooked for Tuscany, Burgundy, Porto and Southern France.....but it should be on everyone's "must list" especially because it is less expensive, easy to get to, pure relaxation and very few tourists within Alentejo. I can't wait to come back! June 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Property Among the very best stays our family has experienced. This unique historic 5-Star hotel exceeds expectations in every way. Suites are a perfect blend of original design with top-notch modern amenities. Food and wine prepared and served at the highest levels. Staff both knowledgeable and professional. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel in this region The hotel is great to relax,excellent quality of services, the hotel team is top April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Princely To stay at this hotel is kind of a "Cinderella"dream the midnight deadline being the checkout departure. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic All was as planned. All staff made our stay a memorable one. The rooms were beautifully decorated and had an amazing view. The Divinus Restaurant presented fantastic service and top quality food. The olive oil, made from Convento do Espinheiro olive's was such a treat. Congratulations for such an amazing get away. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Starwood Property in the World (To enhance the credibility of this review, please allow a prelude regarding my Starwood experience.) I am a multi-year Platinum member, having been to virtually every Westin and W Hotel in the USA, and several Starwood properties abroad--totaling around 225 different locations. My top Starwood stays include the St. Regis Princeville Resort in Kauai, St. Regis in Rome, Le Meridien in Phuket, St. Regis in Aspen, St. Regis in Monarch Beach, Parker Palm Springs and the incomparable Hotel Alfonso XIII in Seville. Convento do Espinheiro not only tops all of these Starwood properties, but is easily the best place I've ever stayed (tied with Dromoland Castle in Ireland). Convento do Espinheiro--in the shadow of medieval Evora, a walled city and Unesco World Heritage site--was actually a monastery for 400 years and comes with its own historic church, idyllic surroundings, sweeping views, cistern-turned-wine-room, wine-cellar-turned-restaurant, clanging sheep bells in the distance, several secret nooks and quirky stairways, and an incredible staff. The general manager, Maria, was charming and helpful; the sommelier Christiano was a real pro; and everyone from the front desk to the restaurant was amazingly attentive. Don't miss the 1,100-year-old olive tree, the sprawling grounds or nightly tour which includes wine tasting. Convento do Espinheiro should be a tourist destination in its own right. Indeed, the property's history is the subject of a well-researched book. It is unlike any Starwood hotel in that it achieves more than just a place of rest and leisure--the resort is truly transportive. I cannot give the Convento a stronger recommendation. Stop reading this and book your reservation. November 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our new favorite Starwood property We've just returned home from 4 days at this amazing, elegant former monastery. We loved exploring the beautifully restored hotel, highlighted by the original ornate chapel within the hotel; the daily 5:00 pm hotel history tour led by Claudia; the 6:00 pm wine tastings led by Alvaro, the wonderful food; our fabulous room in the historical section; as well as the hotel's entire gracious, helpful staff. Thanks, also, to Fabio, Danio, Joao and Maria. Although we hated to leave the hotel, Evora and the surrounding area has plenty to offer: Roman ruins in the center of Evora, a UNESCO World Heritage site; 6000-4000 year old megaliths; wine tastings and tours at nearby vineyards ( we enjoyed Herdade Do Esporao); more fortified medieval castles. We didn't have a chance to enjoy the pools or spa, but we will return for a longer stay next time! November 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfull Personal This a 6 star hotel in everything. The staff deserves 7 stars. October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Oasis in our Journey Our two night stop in our eleven night itinerary was pleasantly refreshing. The setting was magnificent and the hotel thoroughly charming. We couldn't have been happier. A perfect spot to enjoy Evora and environs. Joseph and Bonnie October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience We felt like kings, as Gold members we were upgraded to a very nice Suite with a large terrace. We enjoyed this very much as we could eat all our meals on the terrace. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the tour around the Hotel which gave us a good insight about the history of the Hotel. We also liked very much other Features such as: indoor and outdoor pool, the very large garden, the wine tastings every evening which helped us to select our wine for the dinner. To give an Overall Rating as excellent is not enough, it was much better than just excellent. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by week-end in Evora The hotel is great,excellent food, the place for a long week-end September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Delightful Getaway... Short stay in the hotel and was delighted with the attentiveness given from the staff from the time we enter right to the moment we left the hotel. Special mention to Joao Bilou for ensuring that all our needs are attended to; and also to Cristiano Santos for a wonderful exchange of conversation over the wonderful Portuguese wine during the wine tasting session! People with a warm and welcoming attitude are important and this hotel has lots of them! August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very charming place to stay more than once! The hotel is excellent, from the staff to the amenities, service, breakfast and food in general. The rooms are impeccable, very well decorated and attractive. The front desk is also one of the highlights of the hotel. It is an historic building, and an ideal place to discover the city of Évora and all the Alentejo region. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Special Place I've stayed twice. The hotel is remarkable. The staff is gracious and attentive. Fascinating historical site that has been renovated to elegance with a focus on comfort and beauty. This hotel is a favourite in a relaxing setting. We will return. Thank you. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel, great staff This hotel is a gem in the beautiful Alentejo region. Not only is the staff most welcoming, competent and friendly, the property, which is located in an old convent is really stunning. The atmosphere, quietness and food, all ver, very good. I was there for a conference in Evora and could due to time constraints not take full advantage of all the hotel facilities (unfortunately no dinner in the restaurant), but i really enjoyed my stay and will definitely try to come back. The only minor downside could be that the hotel is not in walking distance of the nice and pittoresque town of Evora, but then it is only a 5 minute taxi-ride away... July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed everything this hotel offered We stayed only 1 night but thankfully we arrived early and felt we we were there longer. The staff we're most welcoming, the pool house was a wonderful place to enjoy lunch & dinner in the magnificent, original wine storage room was memorable. It was one of the best meals we experienced during our 10 days in Portugal. We stayed in the new modern wing and the room was most spacious with a balcony overlooking the garden.. We were given a free taxi ride in to the old town of Evora, as well as being picked up at a pre-arranged time by the same driver. It was more an 'experience' than a stay and we highly recommend this hotel. June 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed Emotions The hotel did some wonderful things for us, but also did some things that left us very disappointed. Our biggest issue was with the transportation options listed on the hotel's site - we planned our trip around this. The hotel did pick us up from the bus station free of charge, as stated. However, the hotel never provided us transportation to the city. Every time we asked, the staff told us it was not available, even though their site has hours of operation for a complimentary shuttle. When we went to request transportation to the bus station the night before check out, we were told we would have to pay for a taxi. It was not until we said we were provided a free taxi at arrival and the staff saw that we were platinum that a free service was arranged. This was all such a disappointment to us. We asked the hotel to arrange a wine tour for us. After not hearing anything, we asked for a follow up. It seems as though no one had followed through. The hotel did do nice things, such as a welcome toast at check in and a bottle of wine for our room as a result of our status. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very interesting prop Every detail of this property was done with perfection. We staid in a old part of this hotel and enjoyed it every moment. Breakfast was one of the best we had in any other hotels. Staff and management very friendly and try to make all possible to satisfy our stay. The only small disadvantage was it location. After spending all day walking in Evora, the last thing I want to do was to drive back on a dark road. June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by extraordinary location modern Hotel which includes the old masonry of a former convent June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great pool Excellent hotel & spa for romantic weekend May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven might be an improvement...but I doubt it. This "Convento" Hotel is possibly Starwood's finest hotel in the entire world (having experienced Starwood's best hotels on five continents). The extraordinary personal service by everyone starting with the new General Manager as well as the previous GM, the Front Office staff, the driver and the entire Bar and Restaurant staff-- they are the best. This was our 4th visit to this magnificent hotel and I can't wait to return again. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! This hotel has a unique atmosphere, and is situated in beautiful grounds. The building is very interesting, and facilities well maintained. Staff were very friendly. Upon arrival we received a great deal of information, which was very helpfull during our stay in Evora. Unfortunately our stay was too short, but I would like to come back some day. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The place is unique, but the offer needs some fine tuning There was no SPG recognition, which I cannot understand. Even for Starwood points I had to ask... The breakfast is far from Starwood luxury collection, you should really improve that. I found it extremely basic and not healthy (orange juice was not fresh; a small toaster to service all guests; croissants heated in the kitchen microwave; ...among other things). Finally, the hotel was with a low occupancy rate, and the room that has been given to me was an old and back oriented one. I did not understand why...maybe because I used a voucher...but still it is not a good reason, I may say. The place is unique, but the offer was disappointing, specially if we are expecting a Starwood luxury collection standard. The SPA experience was very good. March 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sublime, as always Definitely an hotel where we can find a place to rest, a place where kids are welcome, where we can find the ancient history of Alentejo... at least once a year a place to go and recharge batteries. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a Unique Experience Hotel The perfect combination between the historical monument and the facilities accomadated thereon, and the excellent usage of the existing areas, along with the respect fot the orginal architecture. An excellent service foccused on the detail, and the little extras thast made our stay unforgettable. And yes, we will be back. Pitty the chappel cannot provid the mass evry sunday. February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Exceeded our expectations. Fabulous service and facilities albeit the Gym a bit small February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful historical site Close to beautiful and historical Evora with its Chapel of Bones, Roman Temple and excelent gastronomy, Convent do Espinheiro is very well restored with its beautiful church and cloisters, very helpful and knowledgeable staff well versed on restaurants and activities in the Alentejo. Our stay was wonderful and romantic. It would be nice, however, if the Spa had rooms for couples. Overall a hotel to go back to, time and time again. December 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FUN-tastic hotel Great hotel with great conditions to enjoy the stay in luxury rooms. Very nice garden, well kept. Bucolic environment. excellent spa, good restaurant. The surrounding landscape is astounding. December 17, 2013
  • 2016-08-29 T12:46:15.902-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_159, tr_159
  • loc_en_US, sid_1553, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>