Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Astir Palace, Athens

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 114 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Lifelong Love Affair There is no place I'd rather be than the bungalows at the Astir. They are perfect: perfectly sited for privacy, light, views and trees; beautifully appointed with marble, wood and glass; light filled and elegant; seamlessly blending indoors and out; and the historic black and white photos of Greece in the 1950's are enthralling. Nothing else really matters with so much beauty, But the beaches are gorgeous too, whole resort is wonderful. Also a quick trip to Athens. Just go! August 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Obnoxious management staff Booking and general management with very bad attitude unwilling to take care repeated customers on issues that should be very easy to being taking care of like postponing a booking date or asking for a late checkout . This shows the unprofessialism of the upper management and the attitude of don't care that most of the public servants are well known in Greece How sad!!! After years of loyalty on the hotel my future bookings will be in the Grand Resort in Lagonisi. August 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location but the stuff doesnt even know what is SPG The hotel has the most spectacullar location - close to the airport but you can really feel like on a paradise island. But the stuff..... Im a platinum Spg member- at the check in the reception guy had NO IDEA what it is and what kind of service should provide. I had to fight for everything from a good room, free internet or lounge access...Finally someone came who had more information about the company rules they work for. It was totally depressing. Rooms in the main building are big but the decoration is super dark and dated- you feel rather like in an airport lounge than a greek beach hotel. I can recommend the bungalows- the decoration is white - lovely - staying in one of them you can feel holiday mood. At the end - i enjoyed my 6 days stay- needed quiet relaxing time and Arion is perfect for it. June 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible, disgraceful from start to finish - AVOID THIS HOTEL The Arion hotel is anything but 5 star. It doesn't even deserve 1/2 a star. It should be clearly advertised that the hotel is 90% closed outside of sumemr - I redeemed points to stay here and feel robbed at having done so. There was utterly nothing to enjoy at the resort outside of the dreary room. The staff was ill trained, if at all. There was no concierge service and getting a question answered was an exercise in futility. The room was mediocre, at best - they skimp on towels and robes, the pillows were lumpy and flat, there was no in-room coffee service. The TV was so small, there would be no point to watching anything on it - not to mention it had no decent channels anyway. The food was tasteless and the menu uninteresting. Only one restaurant was open and otherwise the front desk staff actually said, just eat in your room. Because who doesn't go on a 7 day vacation to just eat in their room?! No staff member could suggest a restaurant in the nearby town and we resorted to Tripadvisor in lieu of conceirge services. If the weather is inclement, there isn't a single, solitary, decent place to sit outside of one's room. The lobby is shabby at best and in need of serious refurbishment - the lobby bar is tacky and uncomftable. The Arion was like indoor camping and we felt as though we were stranded on some inhospitable peninsula. What should have been a beautiful vacation for my family was an utter nightmare. SPG would be better served to close the place down and make some serious upgrades to every single element of the property, from the pool to the front desk to the room to the staff. I couldn't even get a late check out and it is the OFF season. This is because the hotel is in the business of catering to business conferences, not 5 star vacationers. I will demand a full refund of my 120K points that were utterly wasted on this disgusting property. Arion RUINED my family's vacation and it is not something that I take lightly. I have traveled the world over and stayed at some of the most well known and highly rated resorts in fabulous locations. The Arion will go down as the worst "luxury" experience I have ever had the displeaure of having to endure. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent hotel - but service only so-so We just checked out of the Arion after a three night stay. This was our second stay at this hotel. While the location is superb and the platinum suite was great (we got a deluxe suite on the top floor), the service was far from five star worthy: Not much greeting from the door men, club lounge service is poor and the waiters at breakfast are ALWAYS busy clearing tables - and not once offered us refill of our coffee etc. Also. if there is a convention going on, other guests are easily overlooked. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel stay I was disappointed by the offer of type of food on the restaurant of the hotel. I was expecting to find the real typical Greek kitchen, not Italiane ! In the excelsium floor, the food was a bit poor and not well followed, once at 9 am there was no more food at breakfast, and once at 7.30pm the same happened ! October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Go to this hotel I booked 2 rooms for 5 nights here. In my opinion, the hotel has a fantastic location, away from the noise and business of Athens, but still allows for convenient access to the city by shuttle. As an Athens hotel, its a great value and to be honest, I think we still could have enjoyed our entire visit by staying in the hotel and the local area. It was hard to leave. I read all of the reviews before coming, Some of the negative comments about the facilities are really very silly. The rooms are very traditional with high quality wood furnishings. Each room comes with a very spacious balcony. The building is quite mature, but is well laid out. Enjoy the view and the fresh air. We liked the food and spent some time walking around the area. If I had more time, I would have rented a car from the shop next to the hotel and drove to Sounion for a day. Maybe next time. October 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, poor service Wonderful location - very nice area, wonderful views, good rooms, proximity to airport and Athens, good food choices. But... Staff seemed to be very unmotivated and party even unfriendly, which almost destroyed the good experience. Some examples (and there are more things to complain about): - As platinum member, I sent an email in advance with some requests. No answer received - I had really a hard fight to get a late check out, though every room category could still be booked in the hotel - no one noticed me as I approached the desk with my suit cases to make a check out, though 4 people were staying behind the desk - the well known hellenic hospitality was simply not there - little things like a smile of the front office personnel were missed Would not go there again... September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Island feel in Athens Excellent location. Fantastic views, ...lovely staff. Nice grounds, spacious room, great comfy bed, clean linen and towels. Lovely SPA. Definitely relaxing stay. A Greek Island feel but in Athens. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Auugust 2014 stay great location, very comfortable rooms and attentive staff August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Weekend We had a fabulous weekend! Our room had been upgraded to a suite upon our arrival which made us much more happy and satisfied. It was a great surprise. Nevertheless we faced a behavior which we found strange for this hotel category and high rating hospitality. That we faced was Ignorance of the front desk staff on 07/26/2014 at 21:00 about the agreement on the time of departure and unacceptable behavior. That, I repeat, was little bit strange as we had everything in writting and in the morning they had assured us for the late departure. Any way next day the lady in the front desk had arranged everything as per our agreement. Finally we left satisfied and of course we'll come back. Many Thanks August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful location This hotel is beautifully situated a short drive from the city of Athens. Food was authentic to the culture and varied. Service was excellent - from the front desk to the restaurant staff. It was a lovely experience overall. The ability to have a change in scenery by visiting the neighbouring Westin, enjoying that property, made it the perfect combination. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful staff We stayed at this property for two days while visiting Athens. The location is perfect as it is on the beach out of town, but close enough for excursions. The staff is excellent and we found them very accommodating. We received an upgrade with my Platinum status, and in general were treated very well by the hotel staff. The front desk went out of their way to reschedule a ferry trip for us, arranging tickets to be delivered direct to the hotel. July 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs better customer service We were very disappointed in the service to guests and also the resort. The beach in the morning was littered with cups from the day before. Towels were not easily accessible to guests. You had to get them from the bar? We found the staff except for those that worked on the Starwood preferred floor not very friendly. The property is beautiful and we enjoyed our stay but I don't think we will be returning. When choosing a hotel service is most important to us. We did not feel this resort lived up to our expectations. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My stay at Arion This hotel is definitely one of the top hotels I have ever stayed at. I have stayed here twice in the last 8 months and have found both visits unforgetable. The hotel is situated in the most beautiful location with outstanding views of the sea.ThePool and beach were amazing. The restaurants were also amazing at the hotel and the surrounding ones(definiely go to Ithaki restaurant and ask for Mihali and tell him you were recommended by Jimmy from Chicago, you will thank me!!) just a 5 minute walk away were the best of the best that Athens has to offer. Most important of all the staff at the Arion, from the general manager, to the front desk, to the pool attendants to house keeping is simply phenomenal. They are the most helpful, courteous,accommodating, nice and friendy people you will ever come across. I want to also take a moment to thank Mihali(yes another Mihali) the pool attendant for finding my lost watch which I left at the pool the evening before. Thank You, Thank You for an Amazing visit!! Hopefully i will see you in a few months again. July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired hotel. Arion used to be a wonderful 5* resort hotel in a truly breathtaking spot in Athens. Sadly, today Arion is only the shadow of its former self. We spent our weekend there and we were very disappointed to discover just how tired the hotel looks and feels. We had read the reviews but hadn't realised we 'd be paying a high three figure amount night for a torn bungalow tent, a sunbed cushion with big holes, rusty gutters and an old deck full of bird crap. The deck hadn't even been swept before our arrival - it was full of pine needles and dirt. Worst value for money ever, and most certainly the worst experience we've had in a Starwood hotel. The scenery is of course majestic, the food (both room-service and Nobu) is outstanding, but for the duration of the weekend we couldn't help thinking that had we known the hotel's terrible condition we would have opted for another resort. Finally, as far as service is concerned - most of the staff were wonderful: super-polite, helpful and kind. Two exceptions: the receptionist that was chit-chatting for a personal matter with his assistant for the duration of our 10' checkout and a waiter that instead of assisting my husband carrying his breakfast to the table, he practically shoved him so that he'd go through the door first. (!) Dear hotel management, please don't respond with the customary "we are sorry we failed you" canned response; if you were indeed sorry you 'd have heard feedback from dozens of travellers before us and you 'd have managed to improve the resort. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above expectations In one sentence the hotel is above expectations, facilities and personnel July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs facelift Nice staff, good facility but it is showing its age and needs a facelift. I stayed on SPG points, and when informed upon arrival that it would cost me about $500/nt if I chose to pay instead, I stayed with the points. No way ...... Overall not bad but it really does need some work. June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Aspires to Luxury, Misses the grade The bungalows are near perfect in design & comfort. Could not ask for more. However, with the exception of a really good breakfast, the "Italian" and "Greek" restaurants are a big disappointment. First is the very small number of selections on the menus. Next, the portion sizes are way too small. Then, the prices are way too expensive for what you receive. Sunday night dinner on 22 June 2014 saw 3 out of 5 selections not available. The one fish item was a very meager serving. Giving the "Greek" restaurant one Michelin star is a joke. June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good gateway Nice time for a very short time June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel - Fabulous Location Stayed with my family for 5 nights, thoroughly enjoyed our stayBeautiful Island , very friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms with view though we had garden view rooms. This was our first visit to Greece. enjoyed Athens with Astir Palace experience. Restarant chef was very helpful making vegetarion special request dinner at very shot notice on first day May 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful place The hotel's location is really wonderful April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Far away from the noice of Athens.... If you want to spend a few nights, in Greece, near Athens but in a nice, luxury and very confortable hotel... That's the place to be April 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel could be exceptionnal but.... Location is fantastic, breakfast is great but premises are old, the beach is extremely dirty, there was no service at the pool at all, no towels service neither. That's not the service of a 5stars hotel I'm afraid! all in all the staff is nice, specially at the bar, but the food in the main restaurant is really not at the level, that's a shame because all the recipes to be a 5 stars are present April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous location - great hotel Staff were great. Really helpful and friendly. Had a lovely stay. Just wish the Excelsior lounge had been functioning - no warning on website that it is only open during high season. Food/drinks were brought up to us there but it's not quite the same as it all being laid out and available but I guess you didn't feel there were enough guest staying to warrant it. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marvelous! My wife & I stayed here for a 1 week in February & thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It couldn't have been better! Many thanks to all the staff for making our visit so enjoyable March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best view, best position close to the sea I have stayed to Arion a few times. I believe is one of the few hotels close to a big city, that staying there, you feel like you are in vacations, in a beautiful island. The staff is very frendly, the view from the rooms magnificent and everything is in perfecr harmony. A true Luxery Collection Hotel. March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relax This is the best hotel to relax if I know. For me to relax in the hotel, for my husband to go with the hotelshuttle to Athens. March 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful , professional caring staff First time in Europe, So happy I chose this hotel, actually it was not planned, I found it driving by with my dear friend who was born & raised in Greece. I was staying at a boutique hotel near by which was lovely but I needed more. This hotel fullfilled my every expectation. The staff were friendly, professional and accommodated all my requests. It was a much needed get away for me from the states. so peaceful !! I love the hotel and the staff included BRAVO BRAVO March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feb-14 Wrok Conference Everything is wonderful.... February 15, 2014
  • 2016-08-22 T10:15:42.667-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_114, tr_114
  • loc_en_US, sid_1984, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>