Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 1113 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location Hotel is conveniently located just out of Lincoln tunnel. Public parking right in front of the hotel (At a NY rate, small discount for hotel passengers). Very well located close to Broadway, just a few blocks away in a calmer area. Good isolation from external noise in the rooms. Size of beds a bit small for two adults (we stayed in the 2 double bed, for 4 pax). Good breakfast, cuttlery and utensils in plastic are not inspiring and downgrade the whole experience. October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel but needs more elevators Just about impossible to get elevator during breakfast hours. Three elevators for 40 story hotel demonstrates poor planning. Especially when staff uses the same elevators. Otherwise, our stay was great. October 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay at this Hotel My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for a week long vacation to NY. I had covertly reserved a 2nd room for a birthday surprise (her parents coming from South America). The desk staff (Adam) were great.. They did not spill the beans or mention the other room. The staff was always friendly and attentive and were constantly hustling to help guests. The only negatives to this hotel: 1) there are only 3 elevators for 400+ rooms. Getting up and down during peak times was a pain, but we knew about this prior to our stay there. 2) The breakfast buffet always had the same food with no variation. 3) The rooms were a bit small. i.e. had to squeeze between the AC unit and bed to get into bed each night. 4) PCs in the business center were slow or didn't work some of the time. Other then that, we very much enjoyed this hoel.. Location was great and within walking distance of most things we wanted to see. It was clean, quiet and well maintained. October 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and quiet The room was great, breakfast very good, very little hotel noise, some outside noise. Great location. Within walking distance of many attractions October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by strong staff; ideal for individual or couple travelers i would not recommend the rooms with two beds as they are simply too tight. the staff is consistently solid. expect to wait a few minutes for the elevator. very nice to have a fridge. good facilities. October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite hotel I stay here every month and the staff is always so welcoming and are always happy to see me. October 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect hotel in perfect location This hotel is very well located in midtown. So much to see and do within walking distance. We liked the happy hour service and the kitchen in our room. October 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good sized hotel at a good location for city visit Recognized as SPG member and upgraded to top floor with good city view. Room has good facilities and well maintained daily. Good wifi internet connection. Disappointed with the included breakfast especially hot food. Lifts are slow during morning when most guests are on the move. People have to ride up in order to endure getting space. To go down. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We had a fantastic stay! We stayed for 2 nights. The front desk, concierge and bell-hops were professional and very friendly. We commend their excellent service. We like the deco, the cleanliness of the rooms and the entire vibrant atmosphere. The free wifi and happy hours definitely made our stay much more pleasant. The only negative issue we had was the elevators. 3 elevators are really quite insufficient to serve the needs of such a hotel. October 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by very friendly and comfortable The staff is very helpful and always smiling! Good! The kitchen in the room is a GREAT idea when you are tired of NY junk food! Green bikes available:fantastic ! When you are far from your home, Element provides a warmful and comfortable room. October 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great exoerience loved the hotel and the rooms. my only complaint is the lack of elevator availability in the mornings. 3 elevators only. youll find it hard to get down during peak times. October 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Complaints- Upon check in we were alerted it would cost 45 dollars every time we need our car from valet. Withing 15 minutes of being in the room, we noticed there are NO bottles of water which as a PLATINUM member we are entitled to free, when asked at the front desk, they said the water in the rooms is filtered and that we can drink the tap water. HOWEVER, the tap water was boiling hot at all times. When someone came to room to fix it, the advice was "let it run, it will get cold". Which worked once in while, we just had to deal w/ the hot water & purchase bottled water for the room. Also, the safe in the room locked out belongings in the safe. I often use the safes on my travels but never have any issues. Overall, this stay cost me 48k points, I am not at all happy with this stay. I would love to get my points back b/c this happens every time I use points for a personal trip in NYC, the hotel is always lackluster. October 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location Location is good to Times Square and getting around. Daily breakfast was good but adding additional food choices would have changed it up a little. Having to wait for long periods of time for the elevators was frustrating. Had called the hotel the week before to confirm the reservation and were told that we would be in a room that had a view of the Hudson River. When we arrived at the hotel, we found out that the room had been given out and we had a view of the back of some offices. Rather disappointed with that. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel Our stay was great. We had plenty of room, comfortable beds, clean sheets, plenty of towels, soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower as well as a beautiful view of the city! This hotel thought of everything I usually find lacking in a hotel. Plenty of trash cans, recycling cans, full kitchen, including large refrigerator, toaster, water filter pitcher, microwave, pots, pans dishes ,a stove, and a dishwasher the staff was very pleasant and helpful. I was traveling with my son and the hotel staff member went out of his way to get a cab on 8th and bring him down to the door for me and my young son. All these things helped make my stay superior to other hotels I have stayed in the city. I didn't want to leave! October 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Goodwill points elevators are a major issue October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Midtown Sweet spot Great location . Friendly staff and great Happy hour and Breafast. Rooms are quiet and well appointed for several nights stay . The elevators can be slow at peak times so plan ahead. October 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It is the little details! Broken lamp, wet dishes in the cabinet, few convenient plugs and a not so good but free breakfast. When a hotel has limited services like the Element does, it should take particular care in the way it cleans and maintains its room. Yes, it is a little less in cost but it should be because it has less to offer. I liked my first visit, but not this one. The floor lamp in the room was clearly broken and the desk and manager both gave me a "yawn" and suggested it may not have really been broken. It was fixed, but the bulb was hanging off the broken base and below the shade and no one inspecting that room saw it! When I get in my hotel room I don't want to see an engineer especially for something so obvious. I certainly don't want attitude. I am heading back to NY next month and decided to stay at a different hotel. October 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel was too dark The hotel room was clean and basically sufficient for a 3 night stay. The kitchenette was nice. The room did not have enough light. We had to turn on every lamp we could find to just barely see in the evening. Also, there was no place to put your underwear. We could hang up our outer clothes, but there were no drawers to put your underwear, so we had to keep getting into our suitcases to choose them when dressing. We also did not like the shower head. The natural shower spray is nice is you are just rinsing off, but it took longer to wash my hair because I had to use the hand-held shower wand to do so. Never felt like I was clean and rinsed properly. This is not my type of hotel. I prefer more room, more lighting and a shower head that actually spews water out. I was disappointed. October 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel - great location We enjoyed our stay at The Element. It was very comfortable and the staff were great. October 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has excellent staff Staff very helpfull, made my stay an exceptional expererience October 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value and location This is a good hotel in a very convenient location and I would stay there again. We did have an issue with there not being any cold water for two days--think unbearably scalding showers and even uncomfortable hand-washing. They said they fixed it three times, but eventually, we had to change rooms. The front line staff was very good and accommodating and was always available and polite, but we were disappointed that the behind-the-scenes people didn't get the issue resolved properly. Otherwise, we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to others. October 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel was okay We did not get the room that we reserved!!! Very disappointed. The staff after check in was very nice and helpful. The conceriges were helpful but did not go beyond what was requested. Very short and abrupt! October 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by we will come back to NY and to Element very good position, very nice hotel, visit the roof garden the view is really beautiful October 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT Hotel is close to Times square , the subway and Restaurants, Hotel room and bathrooms are clean and nice. Staff super nice helping you with inforamtion and leting you know specials or point s of interest. FRIENDLY STAFF, CLEAN AND BIG ROOMS CLOSE TO EVERYTHING!! I would deffenitely recomd this to mu clients and I would stay there from now on all my trips to The Big Apple . THNAK YOU ELEMENT!! October 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Place To Stay We enjoyed our stay from the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient to Times Square, great places to eat and the subway. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features i had a worderfull weekend in this hotel, everything perfect. October 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the points Looks like I'm the odd man out and I'm wondering if all those who gave a 5 star rating actually PAID for their room. The room was not clean. As in, the upside down ladle/spoon on the counter of the (albeit cute) kitchen had so much dust on it, I strategically poked it with my finger tip to make it look like the back of a lady bug - just for fun. Shame on us for not bringing it to the attention of management but should I really have to? The same went with the bath room - dust on the fixtures and trim. I don't expect white glove cleaning nor do I go looking for a reasons to complain - it's just kind of disturbing when the sterile white cotton pad I use to clean my face with was dirty before I had the opportunity to put it on said face. Just from placing on the bathroom counter. It was like a little pepperoni sized face Swiffer. Cute...but gross. That was the room. Now, I know the hotel can't be responsible for the behavior of the guests, but it seems like the hotel must have held the "25th North American Slobfest Convention" while we were there. When we arrived down in the lobby to check out the complimentary breakfast, we walked into a lounge area that resembled the "day after house-party" scene of a bad 80's teen flick. Half eaten food (and worse, UNEATEN food just left on plates), empty cups strewn about, spilled oatmeal, banana peels, etc....just left behind on practically every available table by people who were too lazy to take it to the trash receptacle. Not the fault of the hotel - obviously. But, unless, indeed, it was the 35th annual NASC, the staff should be ready to clean up the mess left behind by those who weren't considerate enough to clean up after themselves (which is actually a depressing statement in itself). And according to the nice young lady who was filling the hot water urn, this is not a rare occurrence. On the upside, the bed was super comfy and the staff friendly - even with the most unreasonable guests. I understand that they have to deal with all kinds of crazy from every corner of the earth and I witnessed them handling it very well. Kudos to them. I paid for this room on points but when you do the conversion of amount spent to achieve points that were used....it wasn't worth it. October 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location, good amenities location is great - close to lots of areas in NYC. Amenities were also good - but there were lots of people taking advantage. tended to be more crowded than they could deal with. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Congratulations to your front desk staff I made a mistake, completely my fault, when I made a reservation for one night for October 3, when it should have been for October 2. The front desk clerk, Ivory, along with the manager at that time, were extremely gracious and found me a room with no problems. They also refunded my points that I had used for the October 3 reservation. I was very impressed with the way it was handled. This hotel also distinguishes itself by its late afternoon service of wine and appetizers, and by its good range of food at breakfast. It was our favorite value as a hotel in New York before this experience, and the excellent service described above has only enhanced its value. October 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We had a great stay. The hotel and staff were wonderful during our stay. Ivory took care of us and was able to put our rooms on the same floor and get us into our rooms in a timely manner. This was our second trip to New York and we specifically asked out travel agent to put is back into the Element since we had a great stay a year ago. October 4, 2013
  • 2015-04-01T17:48:00.353-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1113, tr_1113
  • loc_en_US, sid_3361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 38 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>