Find & Book

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Please note that at most Starwood hotels, guests 17 and under are considered children. All other guests are considered adults. You will be told of any hotel-specific differences in this policy on the following page.

Dates(OPTIONAL) Calendar
Check in Check out
When?
Calendar
Where?

Create a signature style. Williams Sonoma has joined Starpoints® Awards.

Close
  • Join

Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 914 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel immenities Stayed in hotel for 5 nights. Had no hot water for a morning shower 3 of the days. Called and had someone check it out. The two days I did have hot water it was luke warm at best. Was not able to get internet access until the 4th night there. Also reported this to the staff. They informd me they were having issues. Heard these same complaints from several of my peers who were staying at the hotel. I will say, however, that the staff was sensitive to these issues. July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Location We were surprised to find a full kitchen. The breakfast selection met our needs well. The location was great for us to do shopping at Macy's four blocks away, movie houses within 5 to 6 blocks, and Tiems Square nearly around the corner. We were able to control the temperature in the room which being on the 35th floor had a great view of the Upper West Side. Had a king bed which would have let us accomodate a small granddaughter but no room for a separate rollaway. July 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable surroundings We visited during a busy time in NYC. The hotel appeared to be full which put a strain on the facilities, but the accomodations were excellent. We were very satisfied with the room. The breakfast was crowded but suited us well. Four of us were able to stay comfortably in the room. Very enjoyable experience but there was record cold which limited where we could go. I would stay there again on my next trip to NYC. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect hotel and location This was my first trip to NYC, the quality of the hotel and all of the Ammenities far exceeded my expectations. The staff were very friendly, and were always very willing to help with directions, suggestions on where to eat and many other things to do. The view from our room was spectacular, and also having the ability to go to the roof top gave even more views. There was never a disappointing moment during this stay. I have intentions of cing back again someday. February 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel for a minimalist The location is great as was the staff. They went out of their way to get us into our room as quick as possible (3 hours prior to normal check-in time). Being 6', 200 pounds and my mate being larger than the normal female we found the room to be to small for our needs. I stubbed my toe twice on the same chair when going to the bathroom-not more than 12" between bed and desk. I would suggest that the pillows could have been more comfortable but that is nitpicking. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised and Pleased I stayed because it was the most economical choice with combined SPG point and cash I could find after the Thanksgiving holiday. I was surprised and pleased to find a brand new hotel, excellent super service oriented staff, hot free continental breakfast and beautiful rooms with small kitchenette. Also ideally located if your stay includes theater in Times Square, business in Midtown and a side trip for lunch in Great Neck via LIRR from Penn Station, as mine was. November 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by DISHONEST STAFF! I enjoyed my stay at this hotel BUT I am really disappointed at the dishonesty from staffs. The thins is we were told that the limo from hotel to the JFK airport was $65 Including TIPS! Despite the booking confirmation we received SAYS tips is not included. We were confused and asked the staff who helped us to book, "ARE YOU SURE THAT TIPS ARE INCLUDED DESPITE SAYING ON THE CONFIRMATION RECIPE THAT TIPS ARE NOT INCLUDED?" And staff answered that YES, please ignore it. After this conversation, we truseted him but it was totally wrong. Our limo driver told us when we arrived at the airport, $65 is not included tips. They always told so customers. We felt sorry for him as well as we felt rip-off. Please do staff education strictly and hopefully any further customers will no longer have such a bad experience with dishonesty. August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Hotel Location is very convenient. loved the beds, great comfort and style overall; everything there is friendly and great, March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very enjoyable stay Enjoyed our one night stay. Staff was very friendly from young lady at reception to housekeeper on floor 12. Room exceptionally clean. Bed may have been a little soft for our taste but provided a good nights sleep. Breakfast provided was very tasty with a great selection. Hotels location was perfect for our needs. Only problem was waits for elevator on floor 12 of around 5 minutes.. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable. Hope to see you again in the future. January 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by whole family appreciated the hotel we were on the 29th floor, with a super view on the skyscrapers on side New York Times building, really fantastic ! the staff is really helpfull , hotzel well places close to Time Square, ESBuilding, Macy's, 5th avenue , !!! this hotel is really a nice place to be for some days (we were there 6 days) and we can only recommend this hotel !!! Well done !!! thanks for the direction for having consedered our requests/ expectations, really appreciated :o) October 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by this hotel is good The hotel wae very good, but it has some problems: there are only 3 small elevators and in the rush hours we had to waiy sometimes half an hour to get down to the lobby. In addition, the dining room is very small and sometimes we could'nt find a place to sit down, so we had to take the food to the lobby or to our room/ besides that, the hotel was great, the stuff was very nice and productive and the room was great. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful staff; good location; nice amenities While the elevators are an ongoing negative of this hotel, everything else about it more than makes up for the sporadic inconvenience. There aren't many hotels in NYC that include breakfast and afternoon refreshments, as well as 24 hour coffee and tea in the lobby, in the room charge! We found everyone on staff to be helpful as well as friendly. Staying in the Times Square area may not be everyone's preference but we found it convenient as well as colorful. April 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Favorite NYC Hotel Love this hotel. Great location. Kitchenette in the room is a great convenience. My only issues were the room was a bit cold, due to the bare wood floor and limited heat. And also, getting into the room was tough. I had to push and pull on the door while swiping the room card to get it to unlock. A maid walked by while I was doing this and said it was a common problem with the room locks. The people in the room next to me said they had the same issue. December 7, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed with the noise and elevators.. The check-in greeting and process was great! Staff was very friendly and personable. Was up till 1:30am first night due to construction noise even after three phone calls to the front desk with no outcome. Waited for elevator for over 6 minutes on several occasions. Had to call property to have my bill emailed to me even after requesting that action upon check in. Cleaning service did not occur until after 5:30pm second day there. November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above & Beyond My husband and I spent a week here to celebrate my 50th birthday. Unbeknownst to either of us, my daughter called them and explained our visit. A dedicated employee made sure we had a room on the top floor (40th!) When we got to our room, a birthday card and a bottle of champagne were waiting! (My daughter paid for this, but the employee went out and purchased the champagne on her behalf.) All the Staff at the hotel was so very nice, polite, and helpful. Truly, we found New York to be one of the friendliest cities we've ever visited, and the Element one of the friendliest hotels! Also, it's within easy walking distance of so many NYC sites. (Assuming that if you're visiting NY, you don't mind walking a bit.) We even walked all the way over to the United Nations from the hotel. Taxis were easy to catch as well--the doorman is happy to hale one for you. November 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The hotel has a great location, close to Times Square, Port Authority terminal, and Penn Station. Watch for long elevator wait times during peak periods. The included breakfast is good, but the hot items leave much to be desired, and the staff seemed overwhelmed by the high weekend demand. Overall, I can easily recommend this property. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern rooms, convenient location Very nice rooms and fairly spacious for such a central location. Breakfast included is a wonderful perk. February 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charles - Not In Charge The Hotel Manager / Charles was extremely unhelpful and the opposite of what I have come to expect from a Westin Hotel Manager. Charles needs some customer service training in my personal opinion. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One week stay The room was great, always clean and the bed was excellent! It was noisy at night but I could guess that no matter where you stay in the greater TImes Square area, it will be noisy. The breakfast left a lot to be desired. It's nice that it's complimentary but the breakfast sandwich was not good at all. More fruit would have been nice. Other then that, the location and the staff were fantastic! You have an excellent, polite group working for you! April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great room size with kitchen unit First time I stayed in this hotel, perfect location to both uptown and downtown districts. many Delis close buy. Room size is big for NYC standards and with daylight. Comfortable beds, well equipped small kitchen unit is a plus. Free coffe and tea around the clock a nice gesture- breakfast offer could be wider and better organized through peak hours. But it is a very good value for money with polite and very helpful staff at any time of the day. January 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 8 Nights December 2012 For the most part, this is an acceptable hotel for a vacation to New York City. The location is perfect for the frequent or first time visitor that wants easy access in a central location. However, I would not recommend this hotel for someone on business expecting to do work from the hotel room. The internet (both hard wired and wireless) is frustratingly slow in the room and at the hotel business center. Another point of note for Starwood preferred guests is that this is an independently owned property. They will recognize your status at checkin, but that is it. There are not the usual preferred perks that you might get at another SPG property. As others have mentioned, the elevators can be an issue during the busy hours, but not a major problem for me. I might stay on a floor low enough to have the stairs as an option if I stay here again. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by perfect location First time in a element hotel and it will not be my last. Usual great bed and bath, on the ball staff and cleanliness. My only comment is this hotel was very busy and getting an elevator down from the 19th floor took a while and we ended up walking more than once. The breakfast is very busy making a place to sit difficult to find but a pretty good selection for self service and it was fun to hear so many different languages among the guests. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is very good The hotel is very good. Has excelent localisation close to the port authority where you can take subwary or bus. Is close to the main atractions like times square, broadway shows and more. The only inconvinient is the elevator, it has 3 elevators, but you need to wait some minutes to take it in the breakfest time. The breakfest is good and has a special snap at afternoon with wine, beer, some kinds of cheese and a good salad. I recommend it. March 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Price, Great Place! The hotel is bright, clean, and beats price based expectations. Only complaint was that the elevators routinely skipped our floor (12th) in favor of higher floors and we ended up on the stairs. If you're not afraid of heights, request a higher floor. Also, the hot breakfast is better than advertised. Most 'included' breakfasts are bagels and a toaster, but the Element has hot breakfast sandwiches which were great. Would go back for sure! February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean,friendly and just right ! Element hotels entrance looked af first a little boring , but just five seconds later when we had the nice smiles and friendly attention from the check-in staff everything felt just right. The rooms were very clean, every day during our 7 days, lovley beds, nice bathrooms and, as a surprise, a very good breakfast. Really wonderful staff even in the very ,very buisy breakfastroom. Always helpful and lots of nice smiles - very professional ! October 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good location but not very nice neighborhood we stayed there a couple of days during our visite of NYC. close to time square, not far from subways but the neighborhood, especially Friday night is not friendly. noisy even at the 33th floor but wonderfull view. breakfast is nice (at least for the first days). elevater is often busy (and yes, I thought it is not important but when you are at the 33th floor and it stops at each level, it can be time consuming to get down). November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anniversary trip This was our first stay at the Element. We would definitely come back. The staff was always gracious and helpful. We like the fact that it was not on a "main drag", but just around the corner from all the bright lights and noise. One concern was that the hotel was very popular, to the point of being crowded. And with only three elevators serving 40 floors, there was frequently a 5-10 minute wait for an elevator. The breakfast is a plus. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost Perfect I loved our room. I was surprised how large the space felt. The kitchenette was stocked with a corkscrew and wine glasses which was a nice touch. The bathroom was great. All of the steam and heat stayed in the shower area, so the rest of the bathroom was comfortable to get ready in afterwards. The only thing I wish this hotel had was a bar, but that's it. Unlike some of the other reviews, I didn't have any trouble using the elevators. April 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! When I booked my room, I thought it would have been a typical overpriced hotel stay. The room was "complete" with a kitchenette, refrigerator, and cooking utensils. My wife absolutely fell in love with the hotel. The staff gave us directions and also some opinions of where to eat. Complimentary breakfast was above our expectations too. No brainer we will be staying at the Element again this fall and each time we visit NYC for now on. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Poor Customer Service I called a couple weeks after my stay to get a copy of my folio and "Charisma" couldn't find it in the system and basically told me tough luck and that she can't locate the reservation using just my last name..... Even after I told her I was an SPG member there was still nothing she could do. Then she transferred me to an automated reservations line that was zero help..... As I sit here today I still dont have a copy of my bill.... August 12, 2013
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 32 next>>