Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1024 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by this hotel has good rooms but unpleasant and unprofessional management The food at breakfast & happy hour is good unless you are a vegetarian as no choice other than salad at tea & bagel/cereal even though it states hot breakfast. The rooms are clean and well laid out but check your invoices as on 3 separate occasions( Robert & Elizabeth) I was told different room bills and when the time came to pay & spoke to Mr Kim the hotel manager he said it was my fault, he would look into it but am still waiting the promised reply even though I left the hotel nearly 24 hours ago & have since returned to the UK, he was almost calling me a liar & this was over $20. He was unsymaopthetic & when I said I was unhappy he said sorry & will e mail me. The rest of the waiting staff, bell hops & room maids were great. I would not recommend this hotel for the management appreciation of customer service & attitude to its guests March 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by modern yet needs more elevators and staff this hotel has more space the actual room than most NYC hotel rooms but they need more elevators, I was stuck waiting several times for 5-10 minutes during my 2 night stay. Also the iron burned my clothes and the ironing board would not stay open. There also needs to be more staff I had to wait in line for over 5 minutes to check in and out of the hotel. overall the hotel is nice, its clean its modern but it needs more elevators, staff and a better ironing system. September 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Location We were surprised to find a full kitchen. The breakfast selection met our needs well. The location was great for us to do shopping at Macy's four blocks away, movie houses within 5 to 6 blocks, and Tiems Square nearly around the corner. We were able to control the temperature in the room which being on the 35th floor had a great view of the Upper West Side. Had a king bed which would have let us accomodate a small granddaughter but no room for a separate rollaway. July 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location Hotel is conveniently located just out of Lincoln tunnel. Public parking right in front of the hotel (At a NY rate, small discount for hotel passengers). Very well located close to Broadway, just a few blocks away in a calmer area. Good isolation from external noise in the rooms. Size of beds a bit small for two adults (we stayed in the 2 double bed, for 4 pax). Good breakfast, cuttlery and utensils in plastic are not inspiring and downgrade the whole experience. October 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel immenities Stayed in hotel for 5 nights. Had no hot water for a morning shower 3 of the days. Called and had someone check it out. The two days I did have hot water it was luke warm at best. Was not able to get internet access until the 4th night there. Also reported this to the staff. They informd me they were having issues. Heard these same complaints from several of my peers who were staying at the hotel. I will say, however, that the staff was sensitive to these issues. July 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel for a minimalist The location is great as was the staff. They went out of their way to get us into our room as quick as possible (3 hours prior to normal check-in time). Being 6', 200 pounds and my mate being larger than the normal female we found the room to be to small for our needs. I stubbed my toe twice on the same chair when going to the bathroom-not more than 12" between bed and desk. I would suggest that the pillows could have been more comfortable but that is nitpicking. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised and Pleased I stayed because it was the most economical choice with combined SPG point and cash I could find after the Thanksgiving holiday. I was surprised and pleased to find a brand new hotel, excellent super service oriented staff, hot free continental breakfast and beautiful rooms with small kitchenette. Also ideally located if your stay includes theater in Times Square, business in Midtown and a side trip for lunch in Great Neck via LIRR from Penn Station, as mine was. November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect hotel and location This was my first trip to NYC, the quality of the hotel and all of the Ammenities far exceeded my expectations. The staff were very friendly, and were always very willing to help with directions, suggestions on where to eat and many other things to do. The view from our room was spectacular, and also having the ability to go to the roof top gave even more views. There was never a disappointing moment during this stay. I have intentions of cing back again someday. February 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by DISHONEST STAFF! I enjoyed my stay at this hotel BUT I am really disappointed at the dishonesty from staffs. The thins is we were told that the limo from hotel to the JFK airport was $65 Including TIPS! Despite the booking confirmation we received SAYS tips is not included. We were confused and asked the staff who helped us to book, "ARE YOU SURE THAT TIPS ARE INCLUDED DESPITE SAYING ON THE CONFIRMATION RECIPE THAT TIPS ARE NOT INCLUDED?" And staff answered that YES, please ignore it. After this conversation, we truseted him but it was totally wrong. Our limo driver told us when we arrived at the airport, $65 is not included tips. They always told so customers. We felt sorry for him as well as we felt rip-off. Please do staff education strictly and hopefully any further customers will no longer have such a bad experience with dishonesty. August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very enjoyable stay Enjoyed our one night stay. Staff was very friendly from young lady at reception to housekeeper on floor 12. Room exceptionally clean. Bed may have been a little soft for our taste but provided a good nights sleep. Breakfast provided was very tasty with a great selection. Hotels location was perfect for our needs. Only problem was waits for elevator on floor 12 of around 5 minutes.. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable. Hope to see you again in the future. January 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good and central Very good hotel close to transport. Like the rooms with little kitchen and refrig. June 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful staff; good location; nice amenities While the elevators are an ongoing negative of this hotel, everything else about it more than makes up for the sporadic inconvenience. There aren't many hotels in NYC that include breakfast and afternoon refreshments, as well as 24 hour coffee and tea in the lobby, in the room charge! We found everyone on staff to be helpful as well as friendly. Staying in the Times Square area may not be everyone's preference but we found it convenient as well as colorful. April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent option in Times Square area My first time at an Element property was a great experience. A suite night award was not confirmed, but the staff was able to upgrade me upon check-in. The living room with a kitchenette was tastefully appointed, and the bathroom and bedroom were both very comfortable. The location is very convenient to a number of Subway options, and the hotel also is located mid-block and isn't as noisy as other properties. April 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Favorite NYC Hotel Love this hotel. Great location. Kitchenette in the room is a great convenience. My only issues were the room was a bit cold, due to the bare wood floor and limited heat. And also, getting into the room was tough. I had to push and pull on the door while swiping the room card to get it to unlock. A maid walked by while I was doing this and said it was a common problem with the room locks. The people in the room next to me said they had the same issue. December 7, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by whole family appreciated the hotel we were on the 29th floor, with a super view on the skyscrapers on side New York Times building, really fantastic ! the staff is really helpfull , hotzel well places close to Time Square, ESBuilding, Macy's, 5th avenue , !!! this hotel is really a nice place to be for some days (we were there 6 days) and we can only recommend this hotel !!! Well done !!! thanks for the direction for having consedered our requests/ expectations, really appreciated :o) October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfy room, good service, great location Just few minutes walk to Times Square, Room and furniture are new, well maintained, equipped with necessary kitchenware. Attentive hotel staff. June 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I booked this hotel since double beds were not availabile (?) per the SPG Preferred reservation staff clear anywhere else close to midtown- Looked nice on the web page but the surrouding area was marginal (Hulk Mania was next door)- The staff was nice and the room clean- The water in the shower and sink was extremly hot- we had to run the cold water 5 minutes before we could shower- not very eco friendly- The "free" breakfast was a joke- I've seen better layouts at cheap hotels We never ate there but the coffee in the lobby was nice I was glad to be on the 5th floor as the elevators took forever- We walked to our room most of the time I realize this was peak season in NYC but it was not a pleasant stay considering the price charged- I have stayed in numeruous SPG properties throughout the US and Caribeean and this was my first disappointment- December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel to visit NYC The hotel has a good location, close to the Port authority hub (coaches and subway) and Times Square (5 min by walk). The room was nice: clean, comfortable, spacious and includes a kitchen interesting for those willing to cook. In addition, there are multiple breakfast choices, good to start a day to discover NY. To finish with, there were happy hours from Monday to Thursday with beverages and some foods. In conclusion, really good choice !! January 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great room size with kitchen unit First time I stayed in this hotel, perfect location to both uptown and downtown districts. many Delis close buy. Room size is big for NYC standards and with daylight. Comfortable beds, well equipped small kitchen unit is a plus. Free coffe and tea around the clock a nice gesture- breakfast offer could be wider and better organized through peak hours. But it is a very good value for money with polite and very helpful staff at any time of the day. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One week stay The room was great, always clean and the bed was excellent! It was noisy at night but I could guess that no matter where you stay in the greater TImes Square area, it will be noisy. The breakfast left a lot to be desired. It's nice that it's complimentary but the breakfast sandwich was not good at all. More fruit would have been nice. Other then that, the location and the staff were fantastic! You have an excellent, polite group working for you! April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 8 Nights December 2012 For the most part, this is an acceptable hotel for a vacation to New York City. The location is perfect for the frequent or first time visitor that wants easy access in a central location. However, I would not recommend this hotel for someone on business expecting to do work from the hotel room. The internet (both hard wired and wireless) is frustratingly slow in the room and at the hotel business center. Another point of note for Starwood preferred guests is that this is an independently owned property. They will recognize your status at checkin, but that is it. There are not the usual preferred perks that you might get at another SPG property. As others have mentioned, the elevators can be an issue during the busy hours, but not a major problem for me. I might stay on a floor low enough to have the stairs as an option if I stay here again. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by perfect location First time in a element hotel and it will not be my last. Usual great bed and bath, on the ball staff and cleanliness. My only comment is this hotel was very busy and getting an elevator down from the 19th floor took a while and we ended up walking more than once. The breakfast is very busy making a place to sit difficult to find but a pretty good selection for self service and it was fun to hear so many different languages among the guests. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is very good The hotel is very good. Has excelent localisation close to the port authority where you can take subwary or bus. Is close to the main atractions like times square, broadway shows and more. The only inconvinient is the elevator, it has 3 elevators, but you need to wait some minutes to take it in the breakfest time. The breakfest is good and has a special snap at afternoon with wine, beer, some kinds of cheese and a good salad. I recommend it. March 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Price, Great Place! The hotel is bright, clean, and beats price based expectations. Only complaint was that the elevators routinely skipped our floor (12th) in favor of higher floors and we ended up on the stairs. If you're not afraid of heights, request a higher floor. Also, the hot breakfast is better than advertised. Most 'included' breakfasts are bagels and a toaster, but the Element has hot breakfast sandwiches which were great. Would go back for sure! February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean,friendly and just right ! Element hotels entrance looked af first a little boring , but just five seconds later when we had the nice smiles and friendly attention from the check-in staff everything felt just right. The rooms were very clean, every day during our 7 days, lovley beds, nice bathrooms and, as a surprise, a very good breakfast. Really wonderful staff even in the very ,very buisy breakfastroom. Always helpful and lots of nice smiles - very professional ! October 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anniversary trip This was our first stay at the Element. We would definitely come back. The staff was always gracious and helpful. We like the fact that it was not on a "main drag", but just around the corner from all the bright lights and noise. One concern was that the hotel was very popular, to the point of being crowded. And with only three elevators serving 40 floors, there was frequently a 5-10 minute wait for an elevator. The breakfast is a plus. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above & Beyond My husband and I spent a week here to celebrate my 50th birthday. Unbeknownst to either of us, my daughter called them and explained our visit. A dedicated employee made sure we had a room on the top floor (40th!) When we got to our room, a birthday card and a bottle of champagne were waiting! (My daughter paid for this, but the employee went out and purchased the champagne on her behalf.) All the Staff at the hotel was so very nice, polite, and helpful. Truly, we found New York to be one of the friendliest cities we've ever visited, and the Element one of the friendliest hotels! Also, it's within easy walking distance of so many NYC sites. (Assuming that if you're visiting NY, you don't mind walking a bit.) We even walked all the way over to the United Nations from the hotel. Taxis were easy to catch as well--the doorman is happy to hale one for you. November 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost Perfect I loved our room. I was surprised how large the space felt. The kitchenette was stocked with a corkscrew and wine glasses which was a nice touch. The bathroom was great. All of the steam and heat stayed in the shower area, so the rest of the bathroom was comfortable to get ready in afterwards. The only thing I wish this hotel had was a bar, but that's it. Unlike some of the other reviews, I didn't have any trouble using the elevators. April 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! When I booked my room, I thought it would have been a typical overpriced hotel stay. The room was "complete" with a kitchenette, refrigerator, and cooking utensils. My wife absolutely fell in love with the hotel. The staff gave us directions and also some opinions of where to eat. Complimentary breakfast was above our expectations too. No brainer we will be staying at the Element again this fall and each time we visit NYC for now on. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Very comforrable and well kept hotel. Staff is friendly and accomodating June 6, 2014
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20 ... 35 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>