Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1174 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Just back from a short break. Hotel in a great location for all New York sights. Close to Times Square and sub way. Staff very helpful and friendly, hotel excellent, very comfy bed. Good breakfast. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel A quality hotel, centrally situated. The staff are exceptional. the bed is the most comfortable we have slept on. Good value. September 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by modern yet needs more elevators and staff this hotel has more space the actual room than most NYC hotel rooms but they need more elevators, I was stuck waiting several times for 5-10 minutes during my 2 night stay. Also the iron burned my clothes and the ironing board would not stay open. There also needs to be more staff I had to wait in line for over 5 minutes to check in and out of the hotel. overall the hotel is nice, its clean its modern but it needs more elevators, staff and a better ironing system. September 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to sights Element hotel is very close to Times Sq and other sights such as the Empire State. Very clean room , great to have the small kitchen , refreshments in lobby a bonus. Only downside the lifts take too long in the mornings. September 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Commom areas nice and roomy We stayed two nights. The second night we came back to the room to find nothing had been touched. We were out all day. Our bed was umade and towels still on floor. Called the front desk and were told housekeeping closed. They did bring us a pile of clean towles. Not a welcome room to come back to after a long day. We were not happy! September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best part: the staff! The staff was super helpful from the time I arrived early and asked them to hold my bag to the point where I was having problems printing some memos for a meeting. They were friendly and more than willing to help. Really appreciated it. September 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great front desk staff, lousy housekeeping I stayed in room 207 next to the housekeepers who make a point of shouting at each other all night and day. They also keep all of their extra linen in the hallway instead of in a room so I had to pass through the piled high carts of sheets and towels each time I entered my room. It felt like I was in a basement instead of a hotel hallway. The front desk put me in a corner room and told me it would be great because of the extra size. Notsomuch. Beware of the shower, it floods into the bathroom each time you use it and the housekeepers did a poor job of cleaning up I like Westin but this isn't a hotel I would return to when I come back in December. Not for whats available for a similar price in Manhattan. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect hotel in perfect location Can't rate our experience at the Element highly enough. We paid a few dollars extra for a high floor and were lucky enough to be allocated a room with a picture postcard view of the Empire State building and the Hudson river. Amazing! The room was just to our taste - a decent size for New York, modern but homely with a big comfortable bed, big bright bathroom and the added bonus of a kitchenette. Needless to say, eating out is so good in New York that we were never tempted to cook, but it was a real luxury to have a full size fridge freezer to keep our drinks ice cold. Unlimited free wi-fi in our room was invaluable for planning our itinerary and we also used the guest computers in the reception area. Our advice is not to be put off by the Expedia reviews about busy breakfasts and long waits for the lift, unless you are on a tight schedule or a business stay. Yes, breakfast can be a bit chaotic, but how many hotels in New York include a decent breakfast in the cost of your stay? We found there was a good choice, including hot sandwiches, various breads, muffins, cereals, fresh fruits, juices and hot drinks. We always found somewhere to sit, even if it was among the guests who has spilled out of the dining room into the reception area, which was perfectly comfortable and good for watching the world go by first thing in the morning! As for the lifts, for most of our 5 night stay, we did not have to wait at all. Being in holiday mode, the odd occasion we had to wait a few minutes was not an inconvenience. We found it understandable for a busy hotel with 40 floors and worth it for the view when you get to the top!! The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, right from check in to storing our bags and even help with printing our boarding cards on the last day. The concierge provided great help with tours, attractions, transport and directions. The free drinks and buffet food provided Monday to Thursday evenings between 5.30 and 7pm was a really nice touch. Don't expect a full meal, but there is certainly a generous supply of hot and cold nibbles with a choice of wine, beer and soft drinks. We didn't trouble the gym, but should you be so inclined, there is a good choice of modern equipment and you are likely to have it pretty much to yourself! But for us, we didn't want to waste a minute of our time in the Big Apple and burned off the holiday calories by pounding the streets instead! Take your walking shoes and enjoy every second that New York has to offer. You couldn't find a better base than the Element Hotel, with all the main attractions within easy reach - no taxis required! If you get a little weary, just jump on the subway - the nearest stop is just a couple of minutes away. You also can save a packet on your airport transfer by taking the shuttle from the Port Authority bus terminal, just around the corner from the hotel. We won't think about booking anywhere other than the Element when we next visit New York......can't wait!! September 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect place with perfect staff This hotel is very well located in midtown. Breakfast is full of lots of things. Rooms are big enough and very well equiped (kitchen..) Bathroom are modern Cleaning is done every days. Staff is attentive and very helpfull We haven't seen any negative point in this hotel September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Labor Day Getaway The Element is located in an fantastic location. So much to see and do within walking distance. Close to the end of Time Square. The hotel provided great choices on breakfast buffets. Our room were very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the roof! I definitely plan to return to this hotel on our next trip to NYC. Great staff! This was a Labor Day getaway for my husband and I. September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BEST STAFF THE EMPLOYEES HERE ARE THE BEST. THEY ARE MORE THAN HELPFUL. NO MATTER THE QUESTION THEY HAD THE ANSWER. THE ROOM WAS GOOD WELL LAID OUT AND HAD A GREAT SHOWER THE HOTEL ITSELF IS VERY CENTRAL TO EVERYTHING -- SUBWAY WAS ONE BLOCK AWAY -- YOU CAN WALK TO TIMES SQUARE -- FIFTH AVENUE -- GARMENT DISTRICT-- ROOF TOP IS A MUST SEE AT NITE September 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by not the best Staff is nice, place is nice nothing special. good location. September 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by One prob that seems to be getting worse The elevators...it ssems that there are one too few, and the three that do work are very slow and seem to skip floors randomly, menaing that if i am on the 9th floor and i see the elveator is at 15th floor, it will go past me on way to lobby, and this happens A LOT. i never got an elevator in less than 5 min of waiting. September 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great amenities! We really enjoyed our stay! The views from the rooftop patio were spectacular. With a fully-equipped kitchen, this is THE place to stay in NYC if you have an extended stay and want to do some of your own cooking. The breakfast buffet was OK, but there were not enough tables in the dining area. September 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel - but no water The hotel was great. Very clean, friendly, and roomy for a NYC hotel. We stayed 4 nights and had trouble with the water everyday. It was either cold, scalding hot, or had no pressure at all. It was a holiday weekend and it was clear they were having trouble getting the water issue corrected. If it hadn't been for that, I would have given them 4 to 5 stars. September 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cute, but not impressed. The rooms were comfortable and cute. It's a great hotel if you need a kitchen, and it's affordable. We had numerous problems with the shower and sink- both on multiple times would only put out scorching hot water so we couldn't use them. The walls are very thin- heard slamming doors all morning, every morning. Elevator took forever- and constantly skipped our floor to where we would be waiting more than 5 minutes for it. Did not feel like a category 5 SPG hotel. Makes me question that category. September 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Horrible Hotel - Requires a 15 minute wait each time you need to use the elevator - Woke up to no running water. - Staff's advice was "sorry, try again later" - Eventually moved to another room, air conditioning not working.hot hot hot. cannot sleep - Included breakfast - tastes like plastic - English muffins are not meant to look like bagels - Over crowded - Don't even bother trying to iron your shirt with their tiny ironing board Overall a blight on SPG's brand September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff needs better customer service training. I am a bit disappointed with some of the staff's customer service. It is not up to the standard that I had come to expect from Starwood as my previous stays with Starwood hotels had always been pleasant. The hotel staff were not very communicative about the hot water issues they were experiencing. I spoke to them in the morning about the issue and they assured me unapologetically it would be fixed very soon which was not a problem as I know systems do break down. So a cold shower it was in the morning However, upon arriving back to the hotel after a full day out, the hotel staff did not even notify me that the hot water system had not been fixed when I spoke to them on the counter. When I called the front desk, they told me the same thing that the hot water will be fixed soon without providing solutions or alternatives. Only after complaining, I was allowed to transfer to a room with working hot water system. This kind of service is just not good enough. The hotel itself is great - good location and clean. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great time This was or second stay at the Element Times Square and we love this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and in a great location. Also there is a parking garage right next door with great rates for NYC. The Elevators are a little slow first thing in the morning, but other than that they aren't bad. Its because everyone is trying to get down to the 1st floor for the great breakfast (that is included in the price of the room!!) We will back!! See you at Christmas Time with the foster children we discussed with you. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice clean hotel I good location Our stay at the element was very enjoyable. First of all we were able to check in early and got an upgrade to a high room with a very nice view which was greatly appreciated. The room, while small had a kitchen, was very clean, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was quite adequate as well. We had an issue with the tv which was quickly fixed, and we also had a damaged blind that they also attended to. The location was good and the staff and breakfast were also very nice. We would definitely stay again and would recommend to others . September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overnight stay My 7 yr old daughter and I decided to go to nyc overnight from dc to see Wicked on Broadway. The proximity to Penn station and Times Square can't be beat. Spg recognition s fantastic. Friendly workers and the breakfast s great! This was our 2nd visit. Last time we were there a week. We will be back!!! September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anniversary trip This was our first stay at the Element. We would definitely come back. The staff was always gracious and helpful. We like the fact that it was not on a "main drag", but just around the corner from all the bright lights and noise. One concern was that the hotel was very popular, to the point of being crowded. And with only three elevators serving 40 floors, there was frequently a 5-10 minute wait for an elevator. The breakfast is a plus. September 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not recomend Front desk said i would have a room away from the elevator. I got off the floor and my room was directly across from the elevator. AC in unit is too loud. When I tried to turn it to higher temperature the heat turned on. Shower water was not hot. I couldn't even stay long enough in there to really enjoy it. Elevator is SO slow. Ridiculously frustrating. Waited at least 15 min for elevator to come. Breakfast area not enough seating. Haven't ever experienced a hotel breakfast area that was so busy before. Overall would not recommend. September 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent position Walking distance from Times Square Spacious and modern rooms Excellent and helping staff Breakfast area too busy so difficult to find place to sit Wait at the elevator too long (sometimes up to 10 minutes) August 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Midtown is just right This is a great location for exploring midtown and grand central park. We went with our 2 boys and they had a great time seeing the big city. When we got back to the room, we were able to prepare a simple meal in the kitchenette and they watched a movie on the DVD player. Then we went to a show and were able to walk everywhere. August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, slow elevator The hotel was nice. Room was clean. For those most interested in managing your room's temperature, the AC works so well! There is a mini kitchenette which is really useful for longer visits. We were told that breakfast was served until 10:30 but turns out it was only until 10am. We managed to get some leftovers that were still out. Elevators are pretty slow so expect to wait and/or take the stairs. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bright and clean space close to everything! This is my second time staying at the Element and I found it just as great as the first! The room and faculties are very clean and bright. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is just steps from the heart of Times Square and very easy to get around. And the breakfast buffet and free wifi are just added touches that make it what will now be our go-to place to stay! August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hair in the shower, elevators are a train wreck So, in general, this is a nice hotel. But, but, but, the elevator situation is so bad that I would not recommend anyone stay here unless they have a lot of time to spend standing in the hallways. I've stayed at the hotel multiple times and something is clearly wrong. It's not just that the elevators are slow. They actually don't seen to work well. Very often, elevators pass our floor going down without stopping. A staff member suggested that this was beause the elevator was full. Frustrated, we tried grabbing one on the way up so we could then ride it down (after 10+ minutes waiting). Even so, the elevator passed us up. I think, in fact, that the elevator is so slow that the staff are now commandeering the elevators so they can get from room to room... further compounding the really, really horrible situation. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Functional and simple If you want a nice place that is clean and has friendly staff and lots of international guest this is a great place. We liked the morning service and happy hour service. Not too far to Times Square. The staff all smiled easily and made us feel welcomed. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oasis in the Concrete Jungle The big city moves fast and the staff, surroundings, room amenities, all come together to slow is down and provide the necessary oasis to renew and rejuvenate. The Heavenly Bed, is well heavenly !!! Hors d'oeuvres and a complementary beer at 6:30 pm, and a hot breakfast at 6:30am before heading out to take on the day was terrific. Thank you for the much needed respite. August 23, 2013
  • 2015-07-30T21:23:18.980Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-18, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1174, tr_1174
  • loc_en_US, sid_3361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20 ... 40 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>