Find & Book

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Please note that at most Starwood hotels, guests 17 and under are considered children. All other guests are considered adults. You will be told of any hotel-specific differences in this policy on the following page.

Dates(OPTIONAL) Calendar
Check in Check out
When?
Calendar
Where?

A cause to celebrate. Starpoints® can be donated to favorite causes.

Close
  • Join

Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 966 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 Poor Customer Service I called a couple weeks after my stay to get a copy of my folio and "Charisma" couldn't find it in the system and basically told me tough luck and that she can't locate the reservation using just my last name..... Even after I told her I was an SPG member there was still nothing she could do. Then she transferred me to an automated reservations line that was zero help..... As I sit here today I still dont have a copy of my bill.... August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by this hotel is good The hotel wae very good, but it has some problems: there are only 3 small elevators and in the rush hours we had to waiy sometimes half an hour to get down to the lobby. In addition, the dining room is very small and sometimes we could'nt find a place to sit down, so we had to take the food to the lobby or to our room/ besides that, the hotel was great, the stuff was very nice and productive and the room was great. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by location Very close to all ground transportation and Times Square. April 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good location but not very nice neighborhood we stayed there a couple of days during our visite of NYC. close to time square, not far from subways but the neighborhood, especially Friday night is not friendly. noisy even at the 33th floor but wonderfull view. breakfast is nice (at least for the first days). elevater is often busy (and yes, I thought it is not important but when you are at the 33th floor and it stops at each level, it can be time consuming to get down). November 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel was not good The hotel was clean and modern but the amenities that were a available were below acceptable. I had to wait for an elevator an average of ten minutes each time I wanted to take one and forget about getting one if you were on C level. The breakfast in the morning was unorganized and not a value. Breakfast sandwiches tasted like cardboard and you ran out of bananas two of the 6 days I was there. I will not be back as a businessman. August 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by very nice rooms hotel was situated close to times square rooms were very nice and big (even including a small kitchen) staff was very friendly, but couldn't handle all my questions breakfast was nice, but there was hardly enough seating space and most of the food was too american for my taste (too greasy sandwiches) free wifi was great and always working misinformation on the german hotel page: it said that the hotel has a pool - but it has none February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Second visit We were traveling with another couple. We all had a great experience. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Vacation Stay My wife and I went to NYC from 4/4-4/9/14 for vacation. We have been to New York a few times before and have found Times Square to be an ideal location due to the number of subway lines that are available. After looking at all of the SPG options, we decided to try out the Element. What attracted us to the Element was not only the location but also having breakfast included which we found to be excellent and convenient. We also found the afternoon happy hour M-Th to be excellent as well. Overall, for a newer SPG facility, the lobby was already showing significant age as well as wear and tear. The staff, especially the staff serving the food for breakfast was always gracious and amazing at restocking food. Their manager always greeted guests with a smile and was attentive to everyone's needs. This was probably the best part of the stay. The room was clean and the bed comfortable but the room itself and the bathroom were small. The worst part was the elevator in the morning. We stayed on the 20th floor and almost every morning, we would have to wait 20-30 minutes before there was an available elevator. I would suggest staying on floor 30 or higher to increase the chance of catching an elevator that is not overly crowded or to stay below the 10th floor and walk down. April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic stay every time Each time I stay at the Element Times Square I have a great stay to look forward to. Hotel staff is courteous, rooms are clean with all the modern amenities, and the free breakfast is both filling and covers all the bases for everyone's individual morning appetites. I stay here whenever I can and appreciate the superior accommodations and services which are an oasis in the middle of it all. No pool or spa are the only drawbacks. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by location, services and attitude This is a wonderful place to stay. Friendly and professional. Want tickets to a Broadway show? They will have the tickets in your hand in no time. You can walk to Times Square in minutes. Breakfast was a little weak but it is included. Still good. The smaller than average size of the room was made up with a refrigerator, freezer, microwave, glasses to silverware and a dishwasher are included. Awesome. I will definitely return. July 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth considering Has a lot to recommend it. Comfortable bed, clean, great shower, individual temperature controls, window opens, very nicely equipped kitchenette with large fridge, freezer, dishwasher, 2 burners, microwave and kitchen tools and plates etc. Room size adequate and big by NYC standards. Not an ideal location but not bad. May be a transition neighborhood. Staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. Free breakfast is very popular and well attended. It is a bit sugary in it's offerings but still quite nice. Guests are a real international crowd which was fun. Elevators can be frustratingly slow during busy times. I guess there are enough to meet code, but not really enough for good service when it gets busy at breakfast or check in time. Overall I would recommend the hotel and I would stay there again. Really a great find if you want a kitchenette in your room. June 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price, new, clean, good location even has a small kitchen! Came to manhattan for a 3 nights, but only had chance to stay at Elements for 1 night. That was a dumb move! Element really surprised me with the large, clean room with lots of modern amenities. It even had a small kitchen with all utensils, fridge, cookware etc..included! Only complaint would be there are over 30 floors in this hotel, and the 3 elevators seems to get overwhelmed when lots of people are checking in and out July 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great hotel for everyone The hotel personnel from the front desk receptionist , security and everyone were very attentive to answer your questions and provide assistance. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Certainly the best return for your money with strategic location and walking distance fto Times Square, Macy's , Penn Station and many more attractions. This is my hotel for future visits to the Big Apple. March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Experience, Excellent Service Overall experience staying at the Element was great. The rooms were nicely appointed and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For a true NY bagel experience that was not touristy the Concierge recommended a great place a short walk from the hotel. Used the gym one day. It was clean and the built in TV actually worked, unlike other hotel experiences I have had, just wish there were a channel guide posted near by. October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mother/Daughter Weekend Simply outstanding. The room was beautifullly furnished and super clean. The free breakfast was simple and plentiful. The location is PERFECT, just minutes from the craziness of Times Square. We will return to this hotel. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super hotel in Times Square We love this hotel! Great location, friendly and very efficient staff, rooms with a full kitchen, free breakfast, clean, sparkling throughout. We travel to NYC several times a year for a visit to the theatre and more and this hotel cannot be beat. It's location is ideal, it's prices are attractive and the accommodations are a great value. Beds are extremely comfortable and the staff goes out of its way to meet your needs. March 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We had a fantastic stay! We stayed for 2 nights. The front desk, concierge and bell-hops were professional and very friendly. We commend their excellent service. We like the deco, the cleanliness of the rooms and the entire vibrant atmosphere. The free wifi and happy hours definitely made our stay much more pleasant. The only negative issue we had was the elevators. 3 elevators are really quite insufficient to serve the needs of such a hotel. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel, amazing location I've been to New York many times and have only just found this gem of a hotel. In a word it is perfect! The location is amazing and I will never stay anywhere else after this trip. Breakfast included and free wifi... The staff are so friendly and helpful. Rooms are so clean and comfortable... The bed itself was lovely And the view from our window on the 37th floor was just gorgeous. Would recommend this hotel to everyone April 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay Nice and clean hotel. Very friendly staff, always helpful. I could bring my dog with me at no extra charge. I liked the eco-friendly approach, with natural soap and shampoo, and the green and relaxing setting. I was just a bit disappointed by the fact they use only disposable plates, glasses and cutlery at breakfast (doesn't really match the green policy found in the rest of the hotel). Overall I really enjoyed my stay! April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great option to visit New York A great option to visit New York April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location with Fantastic Rooms and Staff We stayed on the 39th floor with a view to die for. Hotel was well maintained and the staff extremely helpful and customer focused. Breakfast was provided and was just perfect to get going in the morning. Prior to arriving, we organized a wine on ice to be ready in room with extras... Loida, in guest services was a fantastic help in planning and ensuring all plans actually happened... Great Job, Exceptional Service. April 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel appearance and meals The hotel is only two years old but the enterance needs an upgrade. The space allocation and seating in the reception area must be renewed. the meals are very basic and boring we stopped going to breakfast after the third day. We had to request fresh sheets after we had extended our stay because of the hurricane and the room was not properly cleaned after the 4th day. Other than that the stay was enjoyable and good November 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst elevators iin any hotel This is a great hotel except for the elevators. There are only three elevators for 40 floors and many times the staff is using the 3 rd one leaving only two. It takes about a half hour to get an elevator in the morning. You actually have to go up to the 40 floor and then down to the lobby. Since the elevators are so backed up thief stop on very floor even though they are full. It really is unbelievable. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed my stay here Hotel has great amenities that you don't often see in New York hotels-and I have stayed in many- free breakfast each morning, Happy Hour with drinks and good free food in early evening. Room was nice, my room had good space, great view, comfortable bed and a wonderful shower like a rainfall that I was reluctant to leave-the bathrooms are very nice! Staff was friendly-especially the doorman! Would stay here again! May 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service This facility is not up to SPG standards. The staff is not helpful. When we needed a taxi at night the front desk could not find a Bellman to call a vehicle. Instead he told us to go to 8th Avenue and hail one ourselves. No apology was offered no explanation as to why in a 40 floor hotel there was only one staff member in the lobby area. The elevators are still too slow and frequently one is out of operation. August 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprisingly Spacious, Great Service The room was surprisingly spacious, especially for New York, and for the first time ever, I looked out onto Manhattan instead of onto another building's brick wall. The kitchenette with burner, microwave and fridge was great, the happy hour and breakfast incredibly convenient. Vacuuming wasn't the best, as I found a couple hair ties from previous guests on the floor, but other than that, service was wonderful. June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff! The staff were very attentive to all our needs. William checked us in on Friday and coordinated with Freddy to hold our bags til the room was ready, then made sure that the bags were in our room when we returned before dinner. Danny took care of our bags and getting a taxi on Sunday. The buffet breakfast was awesome...fresh and plentiful the whole time. Busy Columbus Day Weekend did not prevent GREAT service!! October 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK but... The hotel is just OK more like a high-rise efficiency motel, which is their idea of a euro hotel. However, we had the large "king" room and there were NO comfortable places to sit and watch TV, or read or converse, in the room, or in the public spaces either. I'd call this an "IKEA" hotel. The kitchenette is nice for long stays I guess, but this was a high turnover place from what we saw and ours looked like it was never used. I'd rather have some drawers for clothes and some more comfortable seating. The complimentary breakfast was awful #rubber foil wrapped ham and egg sandwich# and happy hour food was not much better. Elevators are a real problem - had to wait a lot, and over 15 min. at times, as we watched cars go right past our floor, one after another. All that said, the service staff was excellent #best part of the stay#, the rooms clean, and the linens soft and fresh. July 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amazing could use only two improvments My stay at this hotel with my wife was great. The hotel does seem to lack the concept of earning big bucks. Such as room service. If someone is willing to buy a ton of stuff from their store and ask to have it delivered to their room the hotel should jump on it especially if its $1,000 worth of wine. Other than that the environment was clean, the staff did not greet you which was upsetting outside of your normal check-in. They should make it a point to greet everyone that comes or leaves the hotel. The room was very clean and they perfectly timed their cleanings with your schedule without being asked. Overall I'd give it 3.5 stars out of 5. Would of been 4 if they greeted me leavings and coming at least once which they had a whole two weeks to achieve. Would of been 5 if they met 4 star final requirement and serviced me. I was offering to purchase close to $1,000 of wine cash. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Stayed for one week. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit worried that I had made a mistake. Especially when we went to check in it was apparent that there was a problem with our intended room. However the receptionist quickly sorted this out and we got a great room with a super view. No queues at all for the lifts, Breakfast was busy at times but we always managed to get a seat and the items were regularly replenished. Only one small issue in that the tables were not cleaned although I appreciate this would be difficult with the high turnover of people. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My wife said that the bed was the most comfortable she has stayed in on any of our holidays. She also liked the pillows. Again only one small minus in that there was not enough storage for clothes especially drawers. Really enjoyed the stay and would definitely use your hotel again. October 3, 2013
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20 ... 33 next>>