Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1222 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommend! The staff is friendly, accommodating and responsive to needs. The room is a decent size and the kitchen to cook and eat in is awesome! July 10, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Absolutely The Worst! The worst stay at a SPG property, ever! The staff was not attentive and everything that could go wrong went wrong and NO ONE cared. I have to come to NYC regularly and was hoping to find a great place in the area, but I will never stay here again. July 7, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty hotel, poorly managed I vsit Manhattan once every year or so and stay in different hotels. This visit I stayed at the Element in Midtown for 3 nights in June 2016. I would absolutely NOT stay here again unless I found a VERY cheap rate. The hotel rooms, hallways and elevators are DIRTY and show a lot of wear and tear even though the hotel is fairly new. I had two serious plumbing issues during my stay which were handled poorly by staff. The first, occured in the morning when water came streaming out from under the dishwasher leaving a growing puddle on the kitchen floor. I called the front desk and told them, but no one came. I was afraid to use the kitchen sink or turn on the water to make coffee. An hour later I went downstairs and again told the front desk. They said there was no one from maintenance that could deal with it, but they would send housekeeping with towels. 7 hours later in the late afternoon I returned to my room and the towels were still on the floor soaking up the leak. I went back down to the front desk and no one knew anything about the leak, but they said they would send maintenance to fix it. They finally did. The second issue occured the following evening when I returned to my room I was met by a very loud whistling sound coming from the bathroom. This went on continuously repeating every 2 minutes or so. I called down to the front desk and they sent a maintenance person who had to do a major repair on the toilet. He was very kind and apologized and said the manager would call me. I never heard from anyone in management, and received no apologies for the inconveniences that I experienced. Two other reasons I would not stay at this hotel are the lengthy waits for the elevators and an almost constant smell of cigarette smoke coming from in the bathroom ventilation. (It is a non-smoking hotel) Disappointing stay. July 4, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just a place to sleep If you just need a place to sleep while in New York City, then this hotel is perfect. If you are looking for an experience within your hotel (restaurants, good food, nice looking atmosphere) GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. I had to nudge the toilet to the side a little more for it to work, the lobby was TIRED and falling apart. I didn't have much expectations for an Element, but I'd rather stay at an IKEA. The location was great, but there were several other hotels on the same strip. Will definitely be looking elsewhere next time I'm in NYC. May 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value, Close to Everything I enjoyed my stay at the Element Times Square West and would come back to this hotel next time I'm visiting New York. The staff was friendly throughout my stay and the front desk would give me a cheerful greeting each time I left or returned to the property. The room itself is consistent with the Element brand. Not fancy or upscale, but just functional with a green vibe. With all of the restaurants nearby, I found little use for the kitchenette, but the large refrigerator was useful to store beverages and takeout, and the supply of utensils came in handy. The complementary breakfasts and happy hours were much appreciated as well, although they tended to get very crowded. Morning meals were filling, while afternoon appetizers weren't anything too special... but they had a really nice beer and wine selection that was quite enjoyable before going out for the evening. The downstairs gym also came in handy during my stay, and contained enough equipment to permit a nice variety of workouts. Many reviewers have complained about the elevators, which led me to forgo the upper floor views. Being on a lower floor, I had no issues getting to and from my room. Finally, I'll say that the location is quite close to Times Square and many public transportation options. The street on which the hotel stands is quite ugly, however, with uneven sidewalks, roaches, poor lighting, and trash bins. It is definitely at odds with the bright and airy images on the Element website. After acclimating to a hardened New York attitude, I didn't think it was unsafe, though. May 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfeckt After 25 years of owning my Travel Agency I must say that the Element was one of the best hotels of all the 4-5 star hotels I meet. Perfect placing, friendly Personnel, very good housekeeping and the fantastic happy hour all the best. Thank You! May 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Alexis and the front desk staff deserve an award I have actually stayed at the element many many times before and have always been impressed with the five star customer service that Starwood has been known to provide to all their guests, but this ... this was special. I had stopped by the hotel very early in the morning to drop off some bags as I was in the city in the wee hours of the day and found myself back at the hotel only a couple hours later - at almost 8:30 a.m. - fully expecting to do nothing else then to drop off my book bag and swipe my card for incidentals. Alexis went above and beyond to see what her resources where and was able to not only accommodate my room request but also had me checked in immediately. I was able to fully relax that morning, have breakfast and enjoy my day! This is something that I would not have been able to do without her follow through and recognition worthy service! Having a background in customer service and in the travel industry and as a SPG platinum Pro preferred member, Alexis's efforts to go above and beyond (even to just inquire at the possibility to help a guest out in that way) is what keeps me coming back and has me singing that you're praises to all of those around me to join SPG! Thank You Alexis!! Note to the GM: Promote her! Bigger bonus! And a raise! And have her provide input on training All new employees. Make this type of service AND Attitude the NEW Element NY Standard! Please. :-) May 23, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Something is always an issue I've stayed here 3 or 4 times in the last year and every time I've had some small-to-medium issue with the room or the service. This time, I was downgraded from a King to two double beds and then after getting up to the 32nd floor (which takes awhile in their crazy slow elevator system), my key didn't work on my room. No real apology from the front desk, just a "that's strange" and then a suggestion that it was probably my fault it demagnetized for "holding it in the same hand as my phone." In the past, I've had rooms where the tv doesn't work or where they were right by the elevator and it was enough to keep you up at night. Similar responses from staff. I keep coming back because of the proximity to Penn Station, and the breakfast / evening reception food is included and legitimately great for quick bites. Leave an extra 10-15 minutes in the morning to get down the elevator from a higher floor, otherwise you will be late. May 11, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by NO HBO!!! Last minute travel, sitting here on Sunday night, expecting to watch Game of Thrones! The hotel is fine, but now I'll know to check the amenities before I book last minute again. Unbelievable. May 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Getting better with each stay In May 2016, I stayed at the Element in Times Square for the first time in over a year. I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms have been upgraded since the last time I was here, and I think the lobby has been done as well. In any event, my hotel room was great - new and clean - and it had a nice view too. The manager of the facility was a credit to Starwood; I had a work issue that required me to change my plans, and he was great about helping me do so. Thanks for a good stay - I'll be back! May 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Amazing Everything about this hotel is great! We came with a large group and the hotel staff was incredibly responsive the whole time leading up to and while we were there! They really made us feel special and like we were their only guests. The hotel was sold out the whole time we were there but that did not make them any less responsive. It was always service with a smile and even going above and beyond their normal duties. They did a great job keeping the common areas clean, even with a constant stream of people coming and going. The elevators were a little slow but that is to be expected with such a high volume of people. The cleaning staff made the suggestion to ride the elevator up and then go down. This cut down on our wait time by A LOT! Location was great as well...centrally located between the train station and Times Square! I wish I could name all of the great staff that assisted us but Liz, Herma and Nelson please relay to them how grateful we are to them for their outstanding service! April 12, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but elevators are a huge problem I like the hotel, but I won't stay there again. There aren't enough elevators for the size of the hotel. It's full of tourists. IN the morning, everyone flocks down for free breakfast. Elevators are full. Can't get on one going up or down. Had to walk down 18 flights of stairs twice in 3 days. Also, sound insulation isn't quite good enough for NYC. Street noise disturbed my sleep repeatedly. This is less of a problem at the very top of the hotel, but that's only 10% or so of the room inventory. April 8, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Basic manintenance issues I have stayed here many times in the past and its a basic Times sq area hotel. Clean and good location. However, this time around I noticed that the sink is not draining from the time I arrived last night. I have complained and still waiting while the stuff is still clogged(eeks) March 24, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad not great I've stayed at a few Element hotels and was excited to take advantage of what appeared to be a fantastic deal for a Sunday night stay at this hotel, half the rate of the nearby westin and sheraton properties at Times Square. Apparently, everyone else had the same idea. The hotel was overwhelmed with guests, who overflowed the small lobby and bogged down elevator service--more on that later. The ~hundred dollar rate eased our suffering, and we certainly weren't in the rush observed of other guests, who were really giving it to the front desk staff and anyone else that would listen. Platinum status didn't mean much. We received a room on a high floor, which is good and bad. The view was great, but the elevator wait was not. There are three serving a 40-story hotel, and they bypass all floors once they reach weight capacity...people staying on the lower floors figure this out, so they take the elevators "up" instead of "down", with the high floors bi-passed by those that have gamed the system. The waits can exceed ten minutes, and if you've got a lot of bags, forget about getting on one of the packed elevator cars. Next time I might forego the view and stay on a low floor, and just take the stairs. Except proximity and views, the location is not a "Times Square" vibe. It's safe and convenient, but not pretty. "Happy hour" is offered Monday-Thursday, which we missed. Breakfast is every day and was unbelievably crowded. People were everywhere so we took our food back to the room (see elevator wait above-not fun). The best were the ham and cheese omelets in a pita, which seemed freshly made and were some of the best "free" hotel breakfast food I've had. Since you have a small kitchen in your room, there's a great gourmet grocery nearby called Brooklyn Fare (I know, we're in Manhattan). It's full service, with a great cheese, prepared food, and wine/chilled beer selection. The "real" plates, glasses, and utensils were handy in serving our meal, but unfortunately the room lacks a table or other proper dining area to comfortably enjoy your meal. It's fine for one or two, but not great for a family of three or four. Finally, the staff was truly friendly and very professional given many guests' displeasure with the noted issues. The gladly held our bags while we were site seeing, and offered a suite which we couldn't use because there was no fold-out bed. I think that would make up for our room's shortcomings if we were traveling as a couple. So, I'd stay here again but warn you to arrive with low expectations if you've stayed at other Element hotels, which have been much nicer properties than this. March 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Go To place in NYC Just had another spectacular stay at the Element West! Two nights in a wonderful location close to there, restaurants and the arts. Great Management (especially Manager Tim Young) and service minded staff. Excellent SPG recognition, generous rooms, incredible cleanliness and maintenance, more than satisfactory breakfast, also snacks and drinks (beer and wine) free at cocktail hour, reduced rate parking. This is my go to hotel on the west side. I go the the MET pre and theaters several times a year and would not stay anywhere else. March 15, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Element one night stay I recently had a one night stay at the hotel. The hotel lobby staff were very busy but helpful. I was attending a trade show at the Jacob Javitts center. I had a room with two full beds which was reasonably priced. Although I was disappointed in the condition of the room as far as cleanliness and appropriate supplies for our stay. We had to call down to the desk to get another set of towels, wash cloth and a box of tissues. Our feet were full of dust and dirt if walking across the room and then once on the bed making it full of dust and dirt. The room was very dusty and when I asked if someone could come to room 1209 to vacuum because the floor was very dusty. The desk told me that would be a full clean and they would not come up to just vacuum. March 8, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient, but small Room is pretty small, and high floor does not have much of a view. Would not really stay here any more. The front impression is not very good. February 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it I stayed here for 5 nights. I live it. I will stay here whenever I visit New York City. He room is very nice and the staff is great. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Room in the Perfect Location! This room had everything. All the new tech for customers' convenience. Many plugs and outlets for your electronics and smart phones. A very large TV. A small kitchen...a nice bathroom with nice amenities...a heavenly bed for a great night's sleep...a fantastic view...wow wow wow...and to top it off...great service from a great staff. I'll definitely stay here again! February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Location - Great Value We stayed here on points and it was great, the breakfast was amazing, the location perfect, rooms were a good size for NYC, stayed here with my kids it was a perfect hotel for a NY vacation with the family. Only complaint is the elevators, they are terribly slow January 23, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by So disappointing In all of my travels, I have never encountered a hotel with such a gap between the high level of expectations created for the customer, and what is actually delivered by the hotel property. I am truly shocked that Starwood allows this particular property to bear its name. I suppose I should begin with check-in. This was my first time using SPG Keyless, and perhaps I don't understand the point of SPG Keyless room assignments, but I was under the impression that part of the appeal is that the customer can skip the front desk and just check in on a mobile device. That seems to be the expectation that the app leads the customer to believe will be delivered, yet in practice, this falls far short. I kept checking the app over the course of the day I planned to arrive, yet as of 5pm -- two hours *after* check-in was supposed to be -- I still hadn't been assigned a room on the app, and still had to stop at the front desk to accomplish this. Additionally, I was informed by the front desk clerk that the Keyless function wouldn't work until about 15 minutes after I had checked in, so I'd have to use an actual physical key at first. "But don't worry, you'll still get your bonus SPG points for trying it," she assured me. Okay, great, but doesn't this render the entire Keyless/mobile check-in function utterly useless? More on that later. Here's where the serious problems begin. Upon arrival in the room (3803 - 38th floor), I was somewhat appalled by a few things that immediately stuck out to me. First and foremost, the bathroom was utterly disgusting, and certainly not up to what I have come to expect from Starwood properties. The bathroom floor appeared completely uncleaned -- upon wetting a paper towel and running it across the floor, it almost immediately became completely black and covered in hairs and dirt -- and this is immediately upon my arrival in the room after check-in! I had to basically spot-clean all of the touch points in the bathroom I planned to use. Okay, so someone just forgot to clean the bathroom. Everything else will be fine, right? Wrong. Oh, so wrong. The main area of the room was lackluster at best. The white walls were filthy with scuffs, dirt marks, stains, and just general signs of abuse and neglect. Outlets? What outlets? You mean you actually need outlets, you silly traveler? Yeah, uh, outlets were nowhere to be found. Do you expect, at bare minimum, one of those traditional bedside lamps with an outlet installed in it? Nope. Element is marketing itself as a chic brand with millennial appeal, so perhaps a USB outlet hub easily accessible from the bed? HA! No way. Okay, what about a functioning wall outlet behind the night table on either (or at least one) side of the bed? Again, no. The only outlets even remotely close to the bed were entirely obstructed by the headboard, and required actually moving the entire bed to access them (which uncovered a horrendous layer of filth under the bed that I do not even wish to begin to elaborate on). The only functional outlets I was able to locate were in the kitchenette and bathroom. Hardly the most ideal places to plug in a laptop or phone if you hope to accomplish anything. That's right, not even the desk had an outlet! It was cluttered by a DVD player and other wires. This is something that even basic motels can get right, so how can a Starwood property get it so wrong? Well surely the room saved itself with technology elsewhere, right? Nah. Not in the least. The TV looked straight out of 2005. It was a 32-inch model at best, and to my dismay, it didn't even have an HDMI port -- so much for plugging in my Chromecast and watching some Netflix to unwind in the evening, as I can at virtually every other hotel on the planet. Nearly half of the channels on the provided channel list didn't function properly (all of the HD channels, presumably because the TV wasn't even capable of HD). Seriously, I've seen far better offerings in motels that cost 1/4 the rate of this hotel. So instead of my typical evening relaxation of Netflix or HBO Go, I popped a sleeping pill and hoped for dreams in which I had chosen a better hotel. Unfortunately, I then proceeded to wake up about half a dozen times throughout the night, because regardless of how low the thermostat was set on, the room temperature would stubbornly remain at 76 degrees. I eventually just turned the noisy thing off and opened the window. Yes, I opened the window in the middle of January. It was that bad. So let's proceed to Day 2 of my stay, shall we? Upon arrival back to my room on the evening of Day 2, the issues began to mount yet again. I suppose I should pause here to acknowledge something that most other reviewers mention on here as an annoyance -- the elevators. I'm on the 38th floor. There are 3 elevators. There are 40 floors. That kind of floor-to-elevator ratio number is bound to cause serious waiting times, but I guess I've grown to expect that sort of thing from New York hotels, so it's only a minor complaint for me. However, on Day 2, after waiting for an elevator and finally making it all the way up to the 38th floor, I came to realize that both the Keyless function on the app AND my actual key had both inexplicably been deactivated. This meant waiting for another elevator to reach the 38th floor, and trekking down to the front desk to fix the issue. The front desk answered with a shrug and reactivation of my physical room key, followed by the same speech as the day before, about how Keyless wouldn't work for the next 15 minutes. Lackluster customer service at best, yet again, and miles below what I had come to expect as the Starwood standard. Once I finally made it into my room again, I immediately noticed that cleaning service had "cleaned" the room (it was the same shoddy work as before, and the bathroom floor remained disgusting). Given the state of the room upon my Day 1 arrival, I wasn't too unhappy that they at least tried to do something, but they still hadn't cleaned the most repulsive parts of the room (bathroom floors, under the bed, the walls). This is also noteworthy because, upon confirmation on the app of my room preferences, I clearly stated I did NOT want cleaning service, and would instead opt for the extra Starpoints benefit awarded for opting out of such. So the room remained mostly dirty, and I would not be receiving my Starpoints benefit. Awesome. If forced to find positives about the stay, there are only a few minor details at best. I'd say the kitchenette was a nice touch. Having a medium-sized slew of appliances and cooking utensils would have made a longer stay easier to cope with, but since I was only staying two nights, I really didn't get much use out of it. The room view was decent, but comparable to almost any other hotel in the area. It's difficult to give a hotel any points simply due to the luck of its geographic location. There are far better Starwood alternatives in the area, and even better offerings from other brands. I have never been this disappointed in a Starwood property, and its existence truly makes me question if perhaps my loyal allegiance to the brand is misplaced. January 13, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the Vaue Spent the weekend here and when I first walked in the lobby smelt like an Auto Mechanic's garage. My floor was dirty the entire weekend i was there, including a 1 gallon container of cleaning agent someones reading glasses and their newspaper. In my room the freezer had left over food in it that also exploded the was never cleaned out. I'm Platinum with SPG and they didn't recognize my status and would have to stay I will never stay at this location again. January 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Exaggerated Elevator Issues The hotel is located just off of the corner to the NYTimes headquarters, and down the street from the Port Authority Bus Terminal subway stop for the ACE lines. I thought that what people wrote about the elevators was overblown -- I never waited more than 2 or 3 minutes for one to arrive. I like Elements a lot because it feels like staying in a small loft for a few days. I'll definitely be back again should I need to transit New York. January 10, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Issues with staff / operations This property needs an overhaul with the staff or perhaps they are so overworked that they need more staff? Service issues: 1) I signed up for SPG keyless and asked to check in at 4pm. I didn't receive a room confirmation. When I finally went to the front desk to check in at 9pm, the first front desk person told me that you still need to come to the front desk for SPG keyless. Then he tried to give me a regular key. When I said I wanted to use SPG keyless, he said, oh you need to wait for the manager for that. I said I did. Waited another 10 minutes for the manager who was dealing with another customer who was complaining. The manager got to me and checked me in using SPG keyless. When I asked if you needed to check in the front desk with SPG keyless, he said not necessarily. But didn't apologize. He suggested I call the front desk next time. So SPG keyless took me 20 minutes longer than needed. 2) My bill was double charged an extra $2 tourism charge. When I called to ask, the first 2 people who answered the problem didn't even bother to first look at my details. They just tried the canned response that "you didn't get charged that at deposit" and "there are 3 types of taxes". I kept mentioning that I see all the taxes, but there is a double charge for the tourism tax. Finally, the 2nd person actually looked up my account and agreed that I was double charged and needed to have her manager to remove it. 24 hours later, got an email that said the $2 charge was because my room was a suite and considered 2 rooms. Took 10 minutes to deal with a $2 problem and they're the first time a hotel charged me double for a suite. 3) No Platinum SPG recognition. Wasn't even asked about the Platinum gift choice by the first check in person. 4) Weirdly got a notice on my SPG app the next morning that I was checked out. Thankfully, the front desk people confirmed I was still checked in. January 5, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST EXPERIENCE Terrible location. Non attentive staff. Too crowded. Extremely similar to a low grade freeway stop motel. Do not recommend for anything but the breakfast and that is ridiculously crowded. The pictures provided are worthless. January 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location problem checking into our room when we arrived. Met the front desk manager Charlie who told us there was a water leak in the room and he was sorry, after a few hours we were offered a much smaller room and a discount plus 7000 spg points for our trouble. Because our trip was for a week i went along with the offer and we enjoyed our trip. The huge disappointment is regarding Charlie and his inablilty or unwilliness to fulfill his promise of my spg points . I called him four weeks after we check out and he promised me he honor his agreement. Well its 3 months later. Still no points. December 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location; good hotel; awful elevators It really is a nice hotel in a nice location. The rooms are nice and adequate by NYC standards. Breakfast and Evening Reception work well. Elevators are just plain awful. December 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overcrowed, had to wait 20 minutes on an elevator and got overcharged When I arrived, my room wasn't ready despite my Platinum status, while in parallel, dozens of students checked in and got their pre-assigned rooms. When my room finally became available, I got a warning "we're running at high capacity, and if it takes longer than 15 minutes to get an elevator, please call reception". I thought this was a joke, but unfortunately, it was the truth. Had to wait on 2 occasions over 15 minutes, on one 20 minutes to get an ELEVATOR! when my creditcard statement came through, they over-charged my credit card by one night, did not respect the rate (cancelation policy) the room was booked under, and i needed to spend nearly an hour on the phone to get some movement from their team. November 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unresponsive staff I stayed two nights this week, and the drains in my room for the bathroom sink and shower were clogged. I let the front desk staff know twice and informed the "engineering" staff once - the problem was never fixed, and I don't believe anyone even came to the room to address the situation...so, instead I stood in dirty shower water and dealt with standing water in the sink. Please address this service issue. October 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Place is a DUMP! I have stayed in youth hostels that are better than this place. The first room that I checked into the TV did not work at all. I called down to the front desk and they said they would send up an engineer. After about 40 minutes no engineer had shown up so I called down to the front desk but no one answered. So I grabbed my stuff and went down to the front desk. Upon getting to the front desk I asked about the TV. They said they had no idea when it could be fixed as they were having other issues in the hotel. I said that was unacceptable and asked to be moved to another room. They said it was past the time that they could move me to another room, whatever that meant. I then said I wanted to check out and be refunded. They said no. So this hotel was more than content in forcing me to stay in a room in which was not properly functioning. A manager then came up, the clerk told them about the situation. The manager immediately said to move me to a new room. Which they did. The new room that they gave me was a lower level room with heavy construction going on right outside my window. So no sleep after 6AM. As far as the rooms themselves, the description is very misleading. They are very cheaply appointed. Hard cold flooring. Cheap uncomfortable mattresses. I kitchenette that looks like it belongs in a slum. And a "spa like" bathroom that looks like something from a roadside rest stop. For a newer hotel the fixtures were well worn and chips were missing from furniture and cabinets. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. It is cheap, worn out and the staff do not care about you. October 9, 2015
  • 2016-09-30 T14:04:59.943-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1222, tr_1222
  • loc_en_US, sid_3361, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 42 next>>