Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1099 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overbooked We booked (by phone via the corporate office) and PREPAID the total amount for a total of 9 days at the element in new york. We spent 100 dollars to take a car from a wedding on saturday night at 11pm to check in at the element. When we arrived, we were told that the hotel was overbooked and we did not have a room to stay in. We lost money, time, and our spirits because of this. They ended up putting us in another hotel for the night and we came back the next day. On top of that the other hotel charged my card for 2 nights even though Element was suppose to be paying for it. Now I am back in houston and still disputing the other hotel charges from many miles away. It is sad that this all happened because the actual hotel facilities were amazing. June 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Practical Amenities Speedy, friendly and informative check in by a receptionist who should be hired to train employees throughout the SPG brand in how to get guests to their rooms quickly while also giving an overview of the hotel's amenities. The lobby was smallish but thought had been put into how to divide it up for maximum usefulness. I was upgraded to a studio (don't get too excited...this IS NYC and it was a super small studio). The room came with a full kitchen (even dishwasher) although in a room this size, I wonder how many people eat their meals in. Still, for those on a budget, it might come in very handy. Free happy hour snacks and free breakfast were also included, making this a very practical choice for budget minded travelers. As long as you keep your expectations low, you'll be OK with the breakfast. All in all I was pleased that this property offered practical and useful amenities rather than trying to present an idea of luxury without delivering anything of substance. Some picky notes...why keep linens in the hallway all day and night and why have a full kitchen in a room with no table (only a desk) on which to eat? January 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable My wife and I arrived on January 12th around 4 PM, for a mixed business\pleasure trip. I had reserved a King bed room well in advance. When we arrived at our room got two double beds. We were not told this. When I called the front desk, I was told nothing could be done about it. At 6:30AM we were woken up by a WAKE UP call! We did not schedule one. Around 9 AM as we are making business calls, the fire alarm goes off for several minutes in our room. We called the front desk and were told that this was a scheduled test and that it was now over. However it continued for several more minutes. When we advised the Manager of all these issues we were told that there were King room available if we had been willing to wait. That is not what the front desk folks told us. We did get a bottle of red wine and an apology note. Unfortunately I don't think it makes up it. January 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by never again Not a hotel I would ever use again, lowest quality SPG hotel I have stayed in January 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood hotel stay since I joined in 1999 The hotel experience at the Element was terrible. The check in process was long and they have no place to hold luggage and then lost my luggage while holding it, I finallly had to find it myself. Very cramped lobby and the slowest elevators I have ever encountered. The housekeeping staff did not speak english and I could not communicate my needs. The hotel is next to a male strip club and there was tons of garbage all over the street and curbs. I was embarrased that I brought my wife here for what was supposed to be an enjoyable Saturday overnight stay . December 15, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Useless doors, pointless elevators I can't begin to say how disappointed I am with this hotel. The doors are made out of metal, which you think would be sound resistant, but it is the exact opposite. You hear every person in the hallway (and my room is in the corner) and every door slam is louder than a car next to you in a parking lot - which is especially amazing when 2 kids decided to keep hiding back and forth in each other's rooms at 730am. But the real kicker are the elevators. The first day it took 10 mins for one to come that wasn't filled, but today 4 just passed me without stopping - after 10 mins - I had to walk down 19 flights of stairs so I could make sure I didn't miss my appointment. Totally unacceptable for a real hotel - especially for a category 5 Starwood one. When I told the front desk their attitude was pretty nonchalant about it all. How can you have a hotel where you can't get downstairs in a normal manner?!? I've been platinum for years but I can assure you I won't earn another night of credit at this hotel. December 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by unacceptable To whom it may concern, We stayed at the element hotel at times square for a week over new years. I am an american but live on Australia with my Fiancé and took to the the US for the first time. We did not have hot water for four days, and one day we had no water at all. We understand that these happen from time to time, but the level of customer service was unacceptable. The staff and managers that we spoke did not perform in a professional manner in dealing with the situation. They did not try and move us to another room. and after three days of not having a shower we finally were able to take a shower in another room. This in turn effected our travel plans and our trip to new york. in summary, the staff and managers did not do the necessary actions nor any compensation whatsoever to show empathy or attempt to diffuse the situation. We will not recommend this hotel in the future. January 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend in New York Thia was a special weekend for us in New York. Doing the town and seeing Motown the Musical. This was also our first time at an Element Hotel. It won't be our last. Everything about it was first class. We tend to expect a lot from hotels and resorts that we stay in (as Starwood Owners of over 13 years). Besides the hotel, the staff was concerned about our comfort. We were especially impress with Lola, the Food and Beverage Manager. She went all out to help us have a great time. She gave us all kinds of information on places to eat, the quality of food, places to avoid, best ways to reach places. What a treasure she is. December 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel with an elevator problem I LOVE everything about this hotel, except its elevator system. The rooms are great, the amenities - free breakfast, complimentary wine and beer -- are exceptional and the staff is very nice. My room is clean and very well-appointed with a fridge, microwave and stovetop, even. But if you need to leave the hotel in the morning between 7:30 am and 9:30 am, you need to allow at least 20 minutes for getting to the lobby. Staying on a lower floor won't help - the elevators fill up and pass you by. December 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Horrible Hotel - Requires a 15 minute wait each time you need to use the elevator - Woke up to no running water. - Staff's advice was "sorry, try again later" - Eventually moved to another room, air conditioning not working.hot hot hot. cannot sleep - Included breakfast - tastes like plastic - English muffins are not meant to look like bagels - Over crowded - Don't even bother trying to iron your shirt with their tiny ironing board Overall a blight on SPG's brand September 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location Hotel was clean but small. Very busy all the time. December 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love Hotel's heavenly bed and eco friendly style I was promised to have a studio room but given a deluxe room . Was I angry ? Nope Maybe I did disappoint a bit but Hotel staff was so kind , responsive and helpful . If I complain of the larger room I would be a moran. The Hotel is very eco friendly .There is no disposable plastic stuff in the room . The room itself very compacted . There is no extra or wasted space at all . And the Heavenly bed was simply awe . The bed is perfect hardness and softness at the same time . I could sleep whole days in there . If I paid the hotel to buy good night sleep it was good buys ! The only thing I want to have that room was HG TV channel . There is nice size of led TV and dvd player but there are not many channels . If I could watch HG TV on the Heavenly bed I would live in there . January 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel,great location for shaping,2 black from macy"S Great staff,nice hotel with great location in the hart of time squer with all the larges shaping stors and big Macy"s shaping. my Family laved this hotel. January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay We had a great room with a great view. The kitchen was also great. no complaints January 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay just long wait when checking in Great location, good quality for the money. Convenient to walk to Time Square and other landmarks nearby. Spacious room. AC was a bit noisy but very effective. So we just made the room warm enough and turned it off before sleep. Bed was very comfortable. View from high floor is great with partial Empire State Building view. Only downside was the long wait at checking in. The room wasn't ready when I got there first time, and I was told to come back at 3. However, I didn't really get the room until 4:30-5 pm I think. I understand this might be due to some guest had late check-out and I got a free upgrade as a gold member. Overall it's a great stay, staff were very friendly and location and room quality are quite satisfying. December 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disapointed when we checked in to rm 1206 for 6 day stay, there was diarreha stains down the side of the toilet. the outside window leaked water first all over the sill then across floor. called bldg maint, they stacked more towells and never came back. ....from 7am to 9am elevators never stopped at 12th floor so we repeatedly walked down 12 flights stairs........from all this we decided to check out one day early......desk said they would have to charge us $150 ......got our bill today and was charged full room rate $456.88 for the day we didnt stay........all i want is not to be charged anything for the last day June 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience So, I have high expectations of SPG hotels. Each visit up until now has been amazing, and I expected nothing less at the Element. Unfortunately, my first morning shower was only cold water. I called and complained prior to showering, but it was not fixed at the time they said it would be fixed. Then, the next morning, not thinking anything of it, I go to shower. This time, the water is scorching hot. I mean, there's no cold, it's just hot water that could burn my skin. I tried showering, but it was a lost cause. I went for the towel, and the towel rack just comes off. I immediately checked out. This was by far my worst hotel experience EVER. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this hotel Everything good in this hotel and the location is great. I was enjoying walking in Manhattan in early morning and it was empty!!. I sent few suggestion to the hotel management to improving the breakfast. I hope next time I will find an amazing “healthy” breakfast. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blew My Mind As this was my first stay at this brand hotel, I wasn't sure what to expect. In summary, I will absolutely be returning to this hotel - soon and often. From the welcoming lobby and staff who were simply gracious, to the yummy breakfast, the evening wine/beer/appetizer social hour where hotel guests mingle and imbibe, to what was just a really cool room (where I would LIVE if I could!), this was the best overall surprise I've had at a hotel in a long time. I highly recommend staying here. You won't be let down. February 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by SLEEPLESS and TIRED ALL NIGHT WE COULDN'T SLEEP BECAUSE OF BAD SOUND. IN THE MORNING WHEN WE TRIED TO SLEEP, EVERY HALF AN HOUR HOUSE KEEPING STAFF STARTED KNOCKING THE DOOR. TWICE THEY ENTERED TO MY ROOM WITH THEIR KEY, THIS WAS VERY EMBARRASING. THOUGH I HAD 4PM CHECK OUT WHEN I CHECKED IN AND ALSO I TOLD THEM IN THE MORNING NOT TO COME UNTIL 4PM , WHY STILL THEY CAME SO FREQUENTLY? I PLAN TO COME BACK TO THE HOTEL ALL THIS SUMMER, NOW I HAVE TO THINK TWICE. I HAD TO WAIT 20 MUNUTES TO GET THE ELEVATOR TO COME DOWN. July 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lying to your customer is never a good idea When I got to my room on the 17th floor at the Element, we found our room wrapped around the elevator tower. When my wife spoke to someone at the front desk she was told that the hotel was sold-out and we could not change rooms. My wife repeated that we could not stay in a room that wrapped around the elevator and she was told that they would be glad to change our room if she could but there are no rooms available in the hotel. At that time I logged into SPG.com on my phone and saw there were several rooms available in the hotel and went down to the front desk. Thank you Tebby Wafer December 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just okay Element room was a bit rough around the edges. Finishes somewhat cheap. Found cracks in paint, lots of scuff marks on walls. Just wasn't up to expected Starwood standards. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Before our arrival I was a bit worried since some of the reviews were not very good. The hotel was INCREDIBLE! My only complaint is that the room was a bit tight. They recently added the option of two double beds (which we took advantage of) and I believe this is the reason why we found the room tight. I have only good things to say about the staff, particularly Ivory. (Thank you Ivory.) The breakfast in the morning was not only a HUGE plus but a very generous one as well. The afternoon reception was a welcomed amenity that allowed us to relax with a glass of wine and a snack after a long day in the city. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will definitely return. Thank you to all the staff at the Element. July 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwoods Hotel I have ever stayed in When we checked in the desk clerk was not friendly and seemed to have an attitude. When we entered our room the floor was dirty. Looked like it had not been vacuumed at all. We were given another room and the television was broken. Could not be fixed for several hours. The second night we were there our air conditioner started to leak water and in the morning the floor including the rug was soaking wet. We were told that this happens a lot because the air conditioners freeze up. The free breakfast was like a cattle call. Long lines of people and no where to sit. This hotel has 40 floors and 3 small elevators. We were on the 36th floor and it could take 15 minutes to get an elevator and then along time to get to the lobby. i would never stay at this hotel again and would never recommend it to my friends. Very disappointing for a Starwoods property. June 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy hotel Unenjoyable stay. At checkin requested a room away from the elevator, naturally given one beside the elevator. While I did not hear the elevator, I did hear the ringing when it arrived on the floor and the people congregating in front for the endless wait. Endless, well no, not endless, but probably 10 minutes per ride before one arrived that you could fit into! The room I received (studio) was nice, though the ventilation system (heat/ac) is quite loud. Perhaps this is intentional to block out the noise of the street below since the windows are not double-paned. Its New York, but c'mon, proper windows would be nice. If other hotels can do it, so can Element (and its eco-friendly). If the noise from outside wasn't enough, the maids who kept on knocking on my door asking when I was leaving (requested late checkout) was annoying. So was their screaming at the top of their lung to each other (finally a good reason for the industrial sized fan in the in-room climate control unit!) On the plus side, the afternoon snacks and breakfast are good. Reminder, if you go back to your room, bring one of the plastic trays that are used as desk drawers to carry food. If you like a view of the city and are on the North facing side, request something higher than the 14th floor as you look into the parking lot of the Port Authority area. So if you want sleep or to get to your room in reasonable fashion, try somewhere else. If you like the snacks and free breakfast, this is a good choice. May 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed bag - but overall worth a visit I think the location of the Element Hotel is great. Some people said the area between 8th and 9th Avenues is not nice at night, but I think it is fine. I stayed with a female colleague who felt equally safe. First the good points about the hotel: The rooms are nice. Adequate in size. Free internet is a plus. All of the rooms have a kitchenette. I am sure that the kitchenette is part of Element's thing, but I think there is no place that a kitchenette is LESS needed than in Midtown Manhattan. I'm sure that most guests that are staying for extended visits don't use it. The free cocktail hour in the evening and the breakfast in the morning are actually very nice. The lobby looks small from the chek in desk but it wraps around the building and there are plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink with a friend or chat with a fellow guest. The Bad: When I read reviews on another site before visiting I thought "Please. Who would take the time to complain about the elevators" but I waited at one point for 14 minutes before I could get on one to take me to the lobby! This is a new building with new elevators, and no more elevators can be added, so this is not a problem that will ever be fixed, but it does detract a bit from the stay. My biggest complaint with the hotel is not one that seems to have been shared by others, so maybe my experience was an anomoaly. I found the front desk person (a manager) VERY snobby and disinterested. When my room was not ready slightly after check in time, he said to me in a tone straight out of a movie "SIR, THIS is New York CIty. You have to expect that Platinum members will take full advantage of their late check out and your room may not be available on time." When he saw I was a Platinum member, before I said anything he said, "Just so you know, we do NOT participate in any Platinum upgrade programs. ALL of our rooms are considered upgrades." If I had read similar remarks from other customers that would be enough for me to not recommend this hotel, but one rude snobby front desk person (even if he was the manager), did not ruin an otherwise pleasant experience. Don't roll your eyes when you read about people complaining about the elevators. It is BAD at peak times (end of breakfast and at check out times). December 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Staff, Surprising Features The Element was so much more that I had expected - the doorman was extremely helpful to us negotiating our load in on a busy street, that having needed to drive into the stressful busy streets of New York, it was like an immediate oasis of stress reduction. The lobby is smart and sophisticated and the elevators were rocket fast. Entering the room, I was completely wowed. It was like walking into a state of the art Parisian efficiency apartment. Everything you needed to have a comfortable stay was there, clean, new and well thought out. The smart kitchen area was appointed with everything one needed to be comfortable - from kitchen utensils, glassware and upscale square china plates to the cool mini dishwasher and the stainless fridge with the "quick freeze" option should you decide to freeze your own ice in a hurry to make that first "de-stressing" cocktail. The bathroom was awesome with an extra large square sink and the over-sized glass shower stalls. Not to be outdone, was the complimentary 5:30 cocktail hors d'oeuvre hour in the lobby and adjoining lounges. Delicious wines and beers, along with soft drinks and a VERY nice buffet of both cold foods and culinary attended hot foods. The first night I was there we dined on flaky spanikopita, delicious spare ribs, sided with fresh greens salad, vegetables, a lovely hummus with crescent shaped pita crisps. The following morning, was a complimentary breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, assorted cereals, options of egg sandwiches (even a healthy option of egg white and spinach!) along with fresh juices and rich gourmet coffee. The staff (every one of them!) could not have been more kind and service oriented - from check in, to the food/beverage servers to check out - they were jewels to top off the stay. Loading out was as stress free as loading in - I had a huge SUV (unfortunate but necessary) and the doorman moved cars from the front of the hotel to make it easy to pull that monster up to the curb - I left feeling so well care for - Thank you Element team! May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by CI TORNEREI SICURAMENTE! Excellent hotel services, from breakfast, happy hour, the kettle in the room and tea, coffee and choccolate available h 24. The hall has a pc with info on the best attractions, there is a person assigned to information tourist and reservations without charge. The terrace enjoys a wonderful view, great location, great shower in this bathroom, comfortable mattresses and fully functional wi-fi and heatingi. The hotel, as well as a gym also has an ATM, I would say very comfortable. In the morning there is a bit 'to wait for the elevator and the breakfast is very chaotic, but is included and with a decent selection, also beautiful Christmas decorations, cleaning is sufficient, not great but acceptable and comfortable bedrooms , equipped kitchen, although not luxurious and aesthetically nothing that, but not bad. December 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A disgrace for spg The only good thing on this hotel is the staff, smily and trying to be helpful. For the minuses : No spa No in-room dining Laundry not working on week ends Horrible furniture Rooms connected with each others by a door (you can hear everythign in the other room and i mean everything unfortunately) 3 elevators for 40 floors with 10 rooms per floor... Rooms very close to elevator and since room are clearly not sound proof you could hear a lot Breakfast is one of the worst. similar to a breakfast i had in Budapest in a 50 euros room i took Really poor. December 19, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Altough a new hotel, my worst Starwood experience The hotel is and looks brand new, vit is clean, however, the overall experience was well below my expectations. Specific issues were: 1) Elevators: Always took a LONG time to get the elevators up & down. There are only 3 elevators including service ((one always broken). 2) Room Comfort: Very noisy (oudoor noice + in-room AC + refrigerator) and the window black-outs don't cover well the oudoor lights. Bad sleeping experience overall 3) SPG privileges: I didn't get any despite being a platinum member. October 23, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 38 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>