Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1163 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Biggest disappointment of a SPG hotel I had moderate expectations of this facility, but the hotel felt dingy, along with the rooms. Room: The floors were so hard in the room that i knocked my cell phone off the nightstand and it shattered my screen. The texture was also very odd. There were black hairs all over my "clean towels" When I would wake each morning, I would be extremely congested The blinds were broken The furniture was extremely damaged I felt dirty being in the room Hotels: The elevators - enough said. I took the stairs down everytime since I would wait over 5 minutes for an elevator to pick me up from the 7th floor. even early in the morning! The hotel over all felt very dirty. Pro: The happy hour each day - very nice addition, but use that money into renovating/fixing damage in the rooms Had I not prepaid, I would have moved. I was disgusted by the hotel and would stay at another brand before staying here again - even though I'm loyal to SPG April 27, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by not worth what i paid for have stayed in this hotel before but after the recent stay i told myself, like the raven, NEVERMORE! rude staff. they lied to me that i was the only one having problem with internet. they were ready to send a technician every time i complained but problem unsolved. it was like not having water in the room you paid for! i lost two days of work. staff promised that the manager will come see me when he arrives but never did. for the price that i paid, the service was SORELY mediocre. not worthy of the "Westin" name.NEVERMORE! April 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by An enjoyable stay At the Element Times square This is the Element Times square, the busiest area in NYC for tourists and business man, so of course the hotel is very busy and there are lots of people. Customers in this hotel range from tourists to family to business men or retired people. On check in, i was told there was no special check in for SPG platinum so i had to queue, a very long queue. There was only one agent checking in and 2 others behind the desk but they were not proactive enough to help ease the queue. I was extremely surprised i must say. So first impression, not so good, and it is usually the one that matter the most. Despite this mistake, the Staff are super friendly, and charming. The hotel is clean, nice , fresh, green and grey colour. Nice cosy lobby and nice lounge for complimentary breakfast and evening hors d oeuvres and free wine and beers. Quiete enjoyable actually, but not as chic and refined as a sheraton club lounge. More low key. Again , very helpful staff, charming people. 4 complimentary computers in the lobby as well. Romm is very nice , some of them with a kitchen, very clean, but bathroom is so tiny. However the shower is a decent size. The view from the 40 th floor is spectacular. There is a private terasse. There are not enough control of who comes and go in the hotel area ( including breakfast, 40 th floor tears, free coffee etc...), the result is that you see some bag packers who obviously are not staying in the hotel, coming inside for free food, or coffee or to go up to look at the view. This is a serious security issue who needs to be addressed before something happens. Anyone can go up the lifts. I had a very pleasant stay and found the hotel rather charming, and a good value because you save a lot of money with free breakfast, wine, snacks, coffee, gym, wifi, its all inclusive at the element time square! April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's ok The staff was friendly and informative. Room was ok, bathroom really small, mini kitchen was nice, but it had no use for it. The area is ok, I didn't like it. I may have liked the hotel better if I had time to take advantage of the amenities... breakfast, happy hour, gym, biz center. I was impressed by the photos, and I trust spg to be great, so maybe my expectation was too high, but I doubt I'll stay here again. April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Busy For Customers This hotel was a last minute stay during our trip to New York and it is not one we would stay in again. Although the night/day we were here was fairly hectic the staff seemed overwhelmed and unhelpful. The elevators were the worst though! I've stayed in NYC hotels with slow elevators before but this was the absolute worst. We had to plan an extra 15-20 minutes into our time to get anywhere because that was the minimum wait to get on the elevator. We changed hotels to the W after one night! April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and well put together Stayed 3 nights. Loved the shower setup with the soap/shampoo dispensers rather than the wasteful small bottles. Did not use the kitchen facilities but would plan to do so on a longer stay. Elevators occasionally difficult, ended up walking down from the 27th floor on one occasion. Definitly go early for the provided breakfast otherwise not enough places to sit. March 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a dump The Element Hotel near Times Square has the feel of a decrepit residence hotel that was refurbished into something that sort of looks like a decent hotel until you actually stay there. I could still feel the souls of all the people who died there. Room was small (though this was NYC, so typical). Electrical outlets were minimal. Towels sucked. Shower leaked. TV reception was poor and there's no TV guide in the room. WiFi was spotty at best. Front desk sometimes never answered the phone, despite letting it ring 100 times. Breakfast was awful, even by two-star motel standards. And on my final night, the elevator broke, forcing me to climb and descend 32 flights. The ONLY saving grace is location. It's close to Times Square, Javits, and subway lines. That, and if you really need a kitchenette in your room. I also got a great corporate rate, which is the only reason I went with it. But not again. I'd pay more to stay in a nicer place. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I get to have my puppy here ,Great extended or quickly stay I love this place , right in midtown 39&8 ave Near any and everything you could need. They have happy hour :) in the evenings for a couple hours. Food ,wine and beer. Mac computers downstairs , DVD player In room . I loved that . I can go on and on . I love this place . Nice staff and bellman. March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel has a lot of perks! The room was clean and staff were very friendly. I loved having coffee, tea and cocoa in lobby thru the day and night, especially in the cold time of year. March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel near Times Square Rooms are not the biggest but that's typical for NYC. Very clean however, and the heavenly bed is awesome as always. Close to lots of restaurants, close to Times Square. Good value for the price. Staff is very friendly. I'll definitely stay here again March 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doubt we will go back I admit the hotel in photos looks great but it was not what we expected. The computers were down the entire time while we stayed, the entire lobby must have received water damage or something because the lobby was in complete shambles, most of it was blocked off because of damage. The room was smaller, even for New York standards. We even saw what looked like mold in the shower. We used points to stay at the hotel so I felt like there was no reason to argue about the issues we experienced. We left as early as possible on Friday and switched to a different hotel (The Westin Times Square) which was needless to say the better option of the two The entire experience was not a great one and having the title of a starwood property, I do hope that the hotel improves over the next few months. February 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by All awesome, but the bed... A short time ago, I stayed in the 1 bedroom suite, and to my surprise it was actually pretty nice. Came with an amazing kitchenette. Nice view, spacious and clean. My only two gripes were that I could not get either of the televisions to work for the life of me. I'll chalk that up to user error. And probably one of the most important things to me in a hotel room, was the bed was completely unsatisfactory. There was a slight tear in the sheets, but that I could overlook, but the comfort was sub par. It had no box spring, so the mattress just sat on a raised wooden platform. It was clearly a cheap mattress after I inspected it and easily picking it up with one hand. Overall amazing room, great features and amenities, but the bed was atrocious. February 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by First Element Hotel - Won’t Be My Last! I hadn’t experienced this newer Starwood brand yet, and wasn’t sure what to expect for my stay. It was easy to access the hotel, although the lobby was quite cramped - more of a New York standard than the brand though, I believe. Checkin was easy, and I was given a one-bedroom suite on a lower floor at the end of the hallway - hence quieter. Upon entering my suite I was impressed by the full kitchen, which would b a great feature for an extended stay or if I had family with me, although as with the lobby the size was a little small. Across from the kitchen was a desk with a TV screen above it - I’m not the biggest fan of that style, as I’m usually sitting at the desk working and have to crane my head upwards to see the TV (multi-tasker), and none of the remote work. They were quickly replaced, and everything worked fine. A sliding door separated the bedroom, with another LCD TV, but this one wall mounted for easy viewing from the bed. Not the best view, but still quite comfortable for my meetings, and easily accessible by the metro. It may not be opulent, but it is a greener option, especially if you’re looking to cook your own meals! February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel - highly recommend Great location. Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast and evening snacks were a bonus. One morning, the warm breakfast items were all gone by 9:20 am - so go early. Elevators are a pain so pick a lower floor so you can just take stairs instead of waiting for what feels like forever. Even with the long elevator waits - I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again. February 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Get a little more than you pay for... The quality of the rooms is really quite good for the price and central location. Where this hotel falls down is the elevator service is REALLY SLOW. It seems as though the elevator system was under sized for the number of floors and guests. Furthermore, the internet connection is so bad I could hardly get any work done. The staff was responsive in saying they were trying to address it but they were not successful. I'm sorry, in this day an age with such a new property, there is really no excuse for slow internet. This was my first and last time staying at this Element for business. February 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel and location at a reasonable price Good rooms are well-equipped and comfortable. Location is good for Midtown West or getting around via subway. Only complaint was an issue with the shower. Maintenance staff seems to have tried a short-cut repair instead of fixing the problem. Otherwise, the staff was friendly, and I would recommend. February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't do better For a midtown/times square hotel on a Friday night and barely over $100, I was expecting little more than a shoebox with a twin bed next to a shower. Instead Element delivered a nicely-sized studio with a kitchenette, closet, king bed, and reasonable bathroom and shower. With a great view of the city and no noise! I was also impressed with the evening reception and complimentary breakfast (modest and a little crowded, but not gross). The room was also clean and updated with tasteful, modern decor. My only complaint was that the hallway was narrow and transmitted too much noise. The three elevators were always crowded, but effective. There were some chips / wear-and-tear on some room fixtures and furniture, but nothing immediately distracting or dirty. For this location and price, I think you would be challenged to find better accommodations. February 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Understaffed The hotel was rather understaffed and it took four different attempts over three hours to have the thermostat fixed. February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Goodlocation The same person who checked me in also checked me out, he never said hello and didn't welcome as a platinum member, I have stayed at this location several times and this is the first time this has happed, checkingout he didn't ask how was my stay January 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good location, good hotel met all my expectations and had a great stay in the nyc area. January 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Several stays but quality slipping I like "Element" as a concept and the location is great for Midtown/Times Sq. meetings including Javits. The rooms and design are appealing and if you're on the upper floors the view is great albeit be prepared for adjacent construction underway. Electric plugs at the desk are absent so hopefully you have a long chord or you'll be unplugging the lamps. The main issue as reported and on-going is the horrible elevators. You simply pay a price if you're on an upper floor with long waits...sometimes up to 5 minutes. The other issue that needs immediate attention is the breakfast buffet. Whilst free is nice does it also mean a lack of quality. The eggs are some of the worst I've ever had and the breakfast sandwiches make airline food appealing. The place is often overrun and dirty at peak times so plan to eat early or late. Too few seats. Service is OK at best. Hope SPG doesn't let this property slip further or the nearby Four Points with great service is my new favorite. January 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would have called the cops if I wasn't on a leisure trip Stayed here for 2 nights and was expecting a fairly average to good experience and attentive staff, especially when coming to NYC outside the peak times. However, a major incident occurred on the first day of checking in. Checked in, got to our room, and we found the toilet not flushing. Called guest services to come take a look at it while we were gone for the night. Came back from our first night of enjoying the city and when we got to our room, our door was left open.... We made sure the door was locked when we left so it definitely had to be the staff who came up to attend to our toilet. Worse yet, the toilet wasn't even fixed. We frantically searched our room to see if there was anything missing. Thank god we used the in-room safe. So this was a major unacceptable issue we were furious about so we immediately called the front desk and let them know of it. However, the bigger problem was the responsiveness of the staff. They simply acknowledged the problem and stated that they would look into it. Come the second day, nothing. I then let the front desk know in person of the issue. Person says the same thing, that they will look into it. Nothing after that and so on our third day checking out we let them know again. Now they say they will look into it and send an email about it. I hope they do because this could have been a reportable criminal offense had I decided to take further action. It's very unfortunate because otherwise, this would have been a very satisfactory stay at this place. January 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Practical Amenities Speedy, friendly and informative check in by a receptionist who should be hired to train employees throughout the SPG brand in how to get guests to their rooms quickly while also giving an overview of the hotel's amenities. The lobby was smallish but thought had been put into how to divide it up for maximum usefulness. I was upgraded to a studio (don't get too excited...this IS NYC and it was a super small studio). The room came with a full kitchen (even dishwasher) although in a room this size, I wonder how many people eat their meals in. Still, for those on a budget, it might come in very handy. Free happy hour snacks and free breakfast were also included, making this a very practical choice for budget minded travelers. As long as you keep your expectations low, you'll be OK with the breakfast. All in all I was pleased that this property offered practical and useful amenities rather than trying to present an idea of luxury without delivering anything of substance. Some picky notes...why keep linens in the hallway all day and night and why have a full kitchen in a room with no table (only a desk) on which to eat? January 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy I did not get an upgraded room. Typically, I do with my SPG status. Front Desk was not friendly. Free breakfast was terrible. One elevator was not working which made taking the two remaining elevators a joke. The wait time was ridiculous. Because of this experience I cancelled 3 separate up-coming reservations with this hotel and booked with a different SPG property. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay We had a great room with a great view. The kitchen was also great. no complaints January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel,great location for shaping,2 black from macy"S Great staff,nice hotel with great location in the hart of time squer with all the larges shaping stors and big Macy"s shaping. my Family laved this hotel. January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this hotel Everything good in this hotel and the location is great. I was enjoying walking in Manhattan in early morning and it was empty!!. I sent few suggestion to the hotel management to improving the breakfast. I hope next time I will find an amazing “healthy” breakfast. January 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love Hotel's heavenly bed and eco friendly style I was promised to have a studio room but given a deluxe room . Was I angry ? Nope Maybe I did disappoint a bit but Hotel staff was so kind , responsive and helpful . If I complain of the larger room I would be a moran. The Hotel is very eco friendly .There is no disposable plastic stuff in the room . The room itself very compacted . There is no extra or wasted space at all . And the Heavenly bed was simply awe . The bed is perfect hardness and softness at the same time . I could sleep whole days in there . If I paid the hotel to buy good night sleep it was good buys ! The only thing I want to have that room was HG TV channel . There is nice size of led TV and dvd player but there are not many channels . If I could watch HG TV on the Heavenly bed I would live in there . January 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay just long wait when checking in Great location, good quality for the money. Convenient to walk to Time Square and other landmarks nearby. Spacious room. AC was a bit noisy but very effective. So we just made the room warm enough and turned it off before sleep. Bed was very comfortable. View from high floor is great with partial Empire State Building view. Only downside was the long wait at checking in. The room wasn't ready when I got there first time, and I was told to come back at 3. However, I didn't really get the room until 4:30-5 pm I think. I understand this might be due to some guest had late check-out and I got a free upgrade as a gold member. Overall it's a great stay, staff were very friendly and location and room quality are quite satisfying. December 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend in New York Thia was a special weekend for us in New York. Doing the town and seeing Motown the Musical. This was also our first time at an Element Hotel. It won't be our last. Everything about it was first class. We tend to expect a lot from hotels and resorts that we stay in (as Starwood Owners of over 13 years). Besides the hotel, the staff was concerned about our comfort. We were especially impress with Lola, the Food and Beverage Manager. She went all out to help us have a great time. She gave us all kinds of information on places to eat, the quality of food, places to avoid, best ways to reach places. What a treasure she is. December 30, 2014
  • 2015-05-24T20:01:03.540-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1163, tr_1163
  • loc_en_US, sid_3361, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 40 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>