Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1028 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value for NYC First time stay at Element.. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms(although very small) and priced competitively. Only complaints would be about how slow the elevator system operates when hotel is at capacity and how chaotic the breakfast experience was on a Sunday morning. I would definitely recommend the property to my team and will most likely stay there again in the future November 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Complaints- Upon check in we were alerted it would cost 45 dollars every time we need our car from valet. Withing 15 minutes of being in the room, we noticed there are NO bottles of water which as a PLATINUM member we are entitled to free, when asked at the front desk, they said the water in the rooms is filtered and that we can drink the tap water. HOWEVER, the tap water was boiling hot at all times. When someone came to room to fix it, the advice was "let it run, it will get cold". Which worked once in while, we just had to deal w/ the hot water & purchase bottled water for the room. Also, the safe in the room locked out belongings in the safe. I often use the safes on my travels but never have any issues. Overall, this stay cost me 48k points, I am not at all happy with this stay. I would love to get my points back b/c this happens every time I use points for a personal trip in NYC, the hotel is always lackluster. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Do not disturb There was no Do Not Disturb tag in the room. At 10am housekeeping came and knocked heavily. I was in bed sleeping and asked them to come back. In the next 10 minutes this happened 3x. It all could have been avoided if the door hanging tag was in the room. Very annoying! In addition, there were no spare tissues and the box in the room was quickly out. It's not a bad hotel. January 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location First time stay in a hotel in Times Sq, location was perfect! The studio was a bit tight but ok for 2. Appreciated comp breakfast & happy hr, laundry, free room wifi & workout room. Stayed 2 nights, but if longer would have used the well equipped kitchenette. Staff was outstanding & friendly. Had a great stay at the Element and totally appreciate its efforts to be Eco-friendly. May 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Layout of room The room was clean and the bed was great. TV was fine as was the bathroom. The room was small but the worst feature was the location oif the arm chair which was not in position to view the TV. The desk chair leaned back at a 70 degree angle, was dangerous and should be avoided. The refrigerator made too much noise but worked.The staff was outstanding as was the free breakfast. February 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Good and the Bad Staff are professional and friendly. We visited during the Christmas break, and the hotel was at full capacity. The staff were able to handle the many demands placed on them with grace and good spirits. The rooms are clean, well lit, and the bathrooms are modern. Only complaint - only shower no tub. There is not much storage for clothing. The hotel offers free breakfast with fruit, coffee, tea, pastries, prepared breakfast sandwiches, scrambled eggs. Quite a feast. In the evening Monday through Thursday, they offer finger food and free wine and beer. I am always surprised that the guests do not offer the staff a small gratuity when being served a drink. The bad: there are not enough elevators to service the building. There are no service elevators, so the staff must bide their time to bring laundry up and down. We were on the 22nd floor, and walked down to breakfast several days because of the interminable wait. January 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Stay at the Element We had a very nice stay at the Element Times Square. Our room was a corner studio on the 24th Floor with a nice city view. The room was quiet, clean and the bathroom was large with a wonderful shower. It was nice having the refrigerator, microwave,glasses, dishes and utensils in the room to heat up leftovers from the restaurants we visited on our trip. Everyone we encountered at the hotel, especially Ivory at the front desk, were professional, cheerful and helpful. The only thing needing improvement is the elevator situation. There are not enough elevators to serve the 40 floors of the hotel and the wait can be very long. My athlete daughter made the trek up and down the 24 flights of stairs in the morning to fetch our free breakfast from the lobby due to the long wait for the elevators. Otherwise, the hotel is a good value, walking distance to everything in Midtown/Times Square and has a lot going for it. April 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has fantastic features I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting New York. The staff were over the top friendly, the rooms were beautiful and clean, the food was amazing. The only issue we did have was the elevator wait time. Sometimes it took 20 minutes for an elevator; and sometimes the elevator would pass right by our floor. Other than that, the experience was fantastic. May 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel assessment I really like the hotel from its location to breakfast to responsiveness of the staff....the only complaint is going down in the elevators,,,many times the elevator does not stop at your floor. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Hotel Great rate for a ny hotel. The room was spacious, included a sink, dishwasher, fridge etc. My only complaint with this hotel is the lobby experience and the amount of people. Upon arrival I felt like I had entered an international hostel. The lobby is VERY small, has a very low ceiling and overall reminded me more of a low budget hotel tourist trap vs. a starwoods property. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel I was extremely impressed by this hotel. The location is central to everything, the staff was extremely friendly, and the room was huge (by NYC standards). Others had remarked about the elevators being slow, but I had no trouble over 6 days with them. I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here in the future! Plus, there was a free happy hour with wine and beer! October 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and very roomy for NYC hotel Very nice modern hotel that has a very professional staff that were all courteous! Location was great, close to all the major NYC sights, yet far away where the noise was not a problem. Room has a huge fridge, kitchen (for a NYC hotel) and work area. Only issue if that the closet was positioned next to the king sized bed which made it very hard to open and get clothes out. August 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel we're returning 5'th time You can't beat the location, comfort , cleanliness, staff politeness , kitchenettes in the rooms, rooftop patio!!!! Open breakfast with great options from low fat & whole wheat to plain meals . Fresh Fruits and huge varieties of teas offered 24 hrs in lobby on 1 st floor just unbeatable!! Awesome , environment designed like a SPA make you just RELAX!!!! We LOVE ELEMENT!!! April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel very comfortable for recovery suchas disaster harricane victim like me and my two pets I enjoy and feel myself together with my two small chihuahuas a lots better since we enter to Hotel after SANDY Harricane. We soon be recovered by staying in this peacefull Hotel and do non want to move to another so comfortable we are here. Thankyou very much to all who offering for us temporary wonderfull life. THANKS A LOT OF TO ALL STUFF DOING THEIR EXCELENT JOB DUTY January 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great room for the price My wife and I have stayed at this hotel three times recently. The rooms are well laid out with a small kitchen. The bed is comfortable. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and quickly recognize SPG status. While the block the hotel is on is not nice, it is in a convenient location and seems safe. The rooms are a bargain for New York and we prefer it to many others. January 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has potential but falls short in some places. Most things, including the breakfast fare, were very good indeed. The comfort of the room was fine. The elevator functioning was annoying in that call buttons often did not work, cars passed by floors without being full, and internal buttons sometimes did not work. The water temperature in the shower was annoyingly difficult to regulate-ranging from scalding to icy cold. November 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean and Quiet in a Great Location Great location within walking distance to Broadway theaters and many restaurants on Ninth Ave. Called ahead for restaurant recommendations for our group, the concierge gave us some good options on Ninth Ave. Room was a little tight, but clean and quiet. I stayed on the 15th floor with minimal noise from the street. The weekday happy hour was a nice touch. Breakfast had surprisingly a lot of options for being free. Get there early, it becomes zoo-like towards the end, with lots of people and messy counters/tables. I read the reviews about slow elevators so I expected it. Didn't have too much of problem until Sat morning, I waited a good 7 minutes trying to get down to the 1st level. Also their location isn't the best for catching a cab, it was kind of hit or miss, our group ended up having to walk all the way to our destination one morning. Overall, a good, clean hotel in a great location. Would stay there again. April 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location with a view, comfortable, easy for business travel The Element Times Sq. is very convenient to the Javits Center, especially if you are working in the North end. The hotel appears clean and has a great little kitchen which is stocked with real plates and glasses. Great if you want to eat leftovers or have wine in your room. Breakfast and evening snacks with beer and wine is included and time saver! It's not gourmet, but it is fine. My only complaint was that I did not have much luggage (and I had a lot) assistance in (or out) and that the shower smelled of mildew and there was water damage below the A/C heat unit that looked bad. Made me think that it was time to have the rooms deep cleaned. I don't like that the floor is dark because you can't tell if that is clean either. But for a New York hotel, it's pretty nice. It is very much do it yourself though. They did have a few bikes you can borrow too, which is pretty cool, but I did not have the time to try that out. August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall this hotel was great Overall this hotel was great. The bed was very comfy and the shower was outstanding. Everyone of the employees I interacted with were polite and helpful.The breakfast foods were fresh with a great variety, something for everyone. The staff keep the food coming and no easy task given the number of guests. I love coming home to NYC for a visit and I will stay here again. May 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean, comfortable, modern, reasonably priced. The entranceway off of the street could use a facelift, but once inside, the hotel is very nice. Moden, eco-friendly design, nicely appointed compact "kitchen" area, bathroom fixtures all have a new look and feel. The bedding is vey comfortable, and I love the shower & bath fixtures! Convenient to Javits Ctr, walking distance. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Shower Really nice and quiet inside. But if you are from a place with little street noise, bring ear plugs. There is no way to eliminate the street noises in NYC at any hotel even on the 37th floor. The room was comfortable, had everything I needed. Nice breakfast & snacks. Loved the shower hand held as I am short and don't always want to wash my hair when I take a shower. June 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rooms, Staff and Location!!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I booked for a long weekend (Thur. - Sun.) and had the best experience from check in to check out. Kady checked me in and was very nice. I asked for a room on a lower floor due to other reviews about the the elevators being slow...I stayed on the 39th floor and NEVER had any problems getting an elevator within a couple of min. of pushing the elevator call button. This hotel is located within a block of the NYC subway system and a couple blocks from Times Square and lots of Broadway shows. The beds were very comfortable, the showers had super hot water and the small kitchens came in handy for storing food (complete with utensils and dishes for a small snack or glass of wine). The staff was always polite and professional and really made my stay enjoyable. The views from the rooms are really nice and their roof top deck area is a treat. Again, I would recommend this hotel to anyone! April 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Last minute overnight stay Highly recommend. We needed a single night stay near Times Square, and near subway station for luggage transfer. I booked online and hoped for the best. Super clean, with a wonderful king bed and even a surprise view of Empire State Bldg. Room seemed smaller than I expected but very functional. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Exceeded my expectations. August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing customer service Very disappointed with customer service at front desk. Upon arrival our credit card was charged over $1600 without authorisation (even though full payment of accommodation had already been made). We tried numerous times to have this rectified and had to explain the situation each time. It was only upon our checkout that we received any type of apology and 2 days after that (almost 2 weeks after we first advised them of the error) we were repaid the money that was stolen.. Lucky we were not relying on that money for the remainder of our honeymoon. Overall we didn't let this hamper our honeymoon although waiting up to 15 minutes at times for lifts started to get frustrating. I would recommend this hotel to others due to location. Improvement is needed in their check-in process to ensure guests aren't charged incorrectly. I would advise guests to make sure they allow plenty of time to go anywhere as lift delays are common. January 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good inexpensive choice in midtown manhattan an unexpected staycation was a pleasant experience at the element times square. check-in was efficient and the room was very clean and bright. the rooms here are very small - but it is not an issue as long as you know that in advance. there is a small kitchenette and refrigerator which is great for a multiday stay. the hotel was extremely busy with tourists , as the breakfast bar was packed every morning. still a great value. the best kept secrets of this hotel are the rooftop terrace with great views of NYC, the Hudson, and NJ as well as the huge gym in the basement - check both of them out! the hotel furniture in the lobby is very well used (see above), and it appeared it was starting to show its wear - may be time for an update. the shower in the room also had settled, and there was a water pooling issue that was just a minor annoyance. overall a good hotel at a great value - seems to be popular with the foreign crowd. June 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly, Helpful Staff is Hotel's Best Feature Front Desk, Bell and other staff members were all so friendly and welcoming no matter where you saw them in the hotel. That helped to create a pleasant environment for our stay, making it feel more homey. Overall the property is in good shape and well maintained, with only minor issues like a missing light bulb or a loose drawer pull. The kitchen was fully functional and the A/C did a great job keeping the room cool during a heatwave, though the unit kept making noises like a barking dog from time to time. Two things that could use improvement...we often waited 5 minutes or more to catch an elevator down from the 20th floor, especially with one elevator always seeming to be out of service for public use. The other is I never received any kind of Gold recognition from the front desk when checking in nor was I offered the standard Gold welcome gift choice. Perhaps this is because I used SPG points for my stay, not certain. July 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great surprise! I have never stayed at an Element hotel before but decided I would give it a try. The rates were low but the facilities and amenities were great! In fact, better than some more expensive Starwood properties I have stayed in. For example, the Element has free wi-fi, some of the bigger, more expensive hotels will charge for that! I also loved having the kitchenette in the room, plenty of closet space and the bathroom was very nice. I always use the fitness facilities when I travel and the gym was fine. Nothing fancy, no views (it is in the basement) but they had several treadmills, some weights and machines and area to stretch. But they also had towels, headphones, etc. available which was awesome b/c I had forgotten my iPod and was not looking forward to my run with no music. But the nice Life Fitness treadmills had TV built in and I took the free headphones, problem solved! I would definitely stay at this hotel again in NY. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly the right amenities... Spacious gym with great equipment & free loaner headsets; 24 hr snack center with beer/wine for purchase (think corner store prices and not minibar prices); free breakfast (including hot breakfast sandwiches & not just cold cereal) & free wi fi. The room was comfortable and I appreciated the emphasis on the environment. I also had an amazing view of Manhattan. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is always the staff. In the hospitality industry, amenities, menu, site location, etc. all fall short in importance of factors for of excellence. The most critical element of a hotel is its...PEOPLE! The ELEMENT HOTEL NYC has obviously paid attention to that. The ELEMENT staff, at all levels and breadth, were truly excellent. I will go back to the ELEMENT...because of its PEOPLE. April 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient location This is the first time I stayed in a Elements Hotel. I noted the modern-est of the hotel and the great location. Good value for money considering the location and the buffet breakfast included every morning. Simple, basic and good for people on business and on the run. Free internet is great too, considering that it is now a necessity for all travellers, leisure and business alike, The kitchen facilities are very nice too with a mircrowave although i wonder if there is a need for a dishwasher for such a location in New York. I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the room - There were food crumbs on the floor when I checked on and the mug has coffee stains. Also, the hotel is supposed to be a green hotel but I noted that the one coffee mug that I used was washed in a dishwasher after housekeeping. Maybe there is a more energy efficient way to do this. Lots of potential for the property though if these details can be fixed. October 29, 2011
<<prev 19 20 21 22 23 ... 35 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>