Find & Book

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Please note that at most Starwood hotels, guests 17 and under are considered children. All other guests are considered adults. You will be told of any hotel-specific differences in this policy on the following page.

Dates(OPTIONAL) Calendar
Check in Check out
When?
Calendar
Where?

An energizing indulgence: Starpoints® Awards now includes Starbucks.

Close
  • Join

Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 916 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Ever Had a great stay guys, thanks for the hospitality, staff were always very friendly and helpful, please give Ivory a raise, she is the best! May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location We are very pleased with our stay at Element. The location is great and the small kitchenette is very helpful for a city that is so expensive. Would recommend this hotel to our friends. June 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by unacceptable To whom it may concern, We stayed at the element hotel at times square for a week over new years. I am an american but live on Australia with my Fiancé and took to the the US for the first time. We did not have hot water for four days, and one day we had no water at all. We understand that these happen from time to time, but the level of customer service was unacceptable. The staff and managers that we spoke did not perform in a professional manner in dealing with the situation. They did not try and move us to another room. and after three days of not having a shower we finally were able to take a shower in another room. This in turn effected our travel plans and our trip to new york. in summary, the staff and managers did not do the necessary actions nor any compensation whatsoever to show empathy or attempt to diffuse the situation. We will not recommend this hotel in the future. January 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blew My Mind As this was my first stay at this brand hotel, I wasn't sure what to expect. In summary, I will absolutely be returning to this hotel - soon and often. From the welcoming lobby and staff who were simply gracious, to the yummy breakfast, the evening wine/beer/appetizer social hour where hotel guests mingle and imbibe, to what was just a really cool room (where I would LIVE if I could!), this was the best overall surprise I've had at a hotel in a long time. I highly recommend staying here. You won't be let down. February 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great NYC location with even better breakfast The Element is walking distance to Times Square and Penn station. The breakfast is amazing and the rooms come with everything you need to make your own meals. Great way to save money in an expensive city. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good and a modern hotel. The view rooms on direction down Manhattan and Hudson river are great! A complete kitchen incl. The personal is very kindly and professional. Only around the breakfast time it is a chaos because tomany People in onetime. Inner 5 minutes at a subwaystation and 10 minutes from Times Square. In our view a perfect Hotel to visit for the first time New-York! June 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by not female friendly They don't have hair conditioner as an amenity at this hotel. Most women cannot use a two for one shampoo/ conditioner and have their hair be sufficiently conditioned to go to the office or out for an evening. Two for one shampoo/ conditioner is for for people with very short hair -- i.e. men. Staying at this hotel for most women means packing conditioner and having the hassle of getting that through TSA security. No thanks. The Element obviously made the (poor) decision to let their female clientele fend for themselves. Screw them! June 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very basic Room is small with very outdated air conditioning which is so noisy it impares sleep. Elevators take forever and breakfast is very limited. Staff helpfull. June 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Horrible Hotel - Requires a 15 minute wait each time you need to use the elevator - Woke up to no running water. - Staff's advice was "sorry, try again later" - Eventually moved to another room, air conditioning not working.hot hot hot. cannot sleep - Included breakfast - tastes like plastic - English muffins are not meant to look like bagels - Over crowded - Don't even bother trying to iron your shirt with their tiny ironing board Overall a blight on SPG's brand September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed bag - but overall worth a visit I think the location of the Element Hotel is great. Some people said the area between 8th and 9th Avenues is not nice at night, but I think it is fine. I stayed with a female colleague who felt equally safe. First the good points about the hotel: The rooms are nice. Adequate in size. Free internet is a plus. All of the rooms have a kitchenette. I am sure that the kitchenette is part of Element's thing, but I think there is no place that a kitchenette is LESS needed than in Midtown Manhattan. I'm sure that most guests that are staying for extended visits don't use it. The free cocktail hour in the evening and the breakfast in the morning are actually very nice. The lobby looks small from the chek in desk but it wraps around the building and there are plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink with a friend or chat with a fellow guest. The Bad: When I read reviews on another site before visiting I thought "Please. Who would take the time to complain about the elevators" but I waited at one point for 14 minutes before I could get on one to take me to the lobby! This is a new building with new elevators, and no more elevators can be added, so this is not a problem that will ever be fixed, but it does detract a bit from the stay. My biggest complaint with the hotel is not one that seems to have been shared by others, so maybe my experience was an anomoaly. I found the front desk person (a manager) VERY snobby and disinterested. When my room was not ready slightly after check in time, he said to me in a tone straight out of a movie "SIR, THIS is New York CIty. You have to expect that Platinum members will take full advantage of their late check out and your room may not be available on time." When he saw I was a Platinum member, before I said anything he said, "Just so you know, we do NOT participate in any Platinum upgrade programs. ALL of our rooms are considered upgrades." If I had read similar remarks from other customers that would be enough for me to not recommend this hotel, but one rude snobby front desk person (even if he was the manager), did not ruin an otherwise pleasant experience. Don't roll your eyes when you read about people complaining about the elevators. It is BAD at peak times (end of breakfast and at check out times). December 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay - First time in NYC This was the first time for us in NYC. The Element is centrally located, the staff VERY helpful and the room was great. The elevators can be somewhat slow during peak periods - but other than that it was a great stay. We will definitely be coming back June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by NYU Graduation We picked this location because of its location. Close to subways and uptown. Hotel is very clean and the staff went out of their way to ensure a pleasant visit. Our room was nice and we liked the fact you could open the window to let in fresh air and listen to the sounds of the city. I was not aware of the continental breakfast and this helped get our days off to a great start. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean rooms, great location Room was new, clean, and smelled great. Located in the Garment District which is close to all the action (Times Square, Koreatown, all kinds of shopping) without being on a congested street. Staff were excellent and breakfast was good. Yes, elevators do take some time, so expect some delays, or plan to take the stairs. Would definitely stay here again. May 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disapointed when we checked in to rm 1206 for 6 day stay, there was diarreha stains down the side of the toilet. the outside window leaked water first all over the sill then across floor. called bldg maint, they stacked more towells and never came back. ....from 7am to 9am elevators never stopped at 12th floor so we repeatedly walked down 12 flights stairs........from all this we decided to check out one day early......desk said they would have to charge us $150 ......got our bill today and was charged full room rate $456.88 for the day we didnt stay........all i want is not to be charged anything for the last day June 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Altough a new hotel, my worst Starwood experience The hotel is and looks brand new, vit is clean, however, the overall experience was well below my expectations. Specific issues were: 1) Elevators: Always took a LONG time to get the elevators up & down. There are only 3 elevators including service ((one always broken). 2) Room Comfort: Very noisy (oudoor noice + in-room AC + refrigerator) and the window black-outs don't cover well the oudoor lights. Bad sleeping experience overall 3) SPG privileges: I didn't get any despite being a platinum member. October 23, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by SLEEPLESS and TIRED ALL NIGHT WE COULDN'T SLEEP BECAUSE OF BAD SOUND. IN THE MORNING WHEN WE TRIED TO SLEEP, EVERY HALF AN HOUR HOUSE KEEPING STAFF STARTED KNOCKING THE DOOR. TWICE THEY ENTERED TO MY ROOM WITH THEIR KEY, THIS WAS VERY EMBARRASING. THOUGH I HAD 4PM CHECK OUT WHEN I CHECKED IN AND ALSO I TOLD THEM IN THE MORNING NOT TO COME UNTIL 4PM , WHY STILL THEY CAME SO FREQUENTLY? I PLAN TO COME BACK TO THE HOTEL ALL THIS SUMMER, NOW I HAVE TO THINK TWICE. I HAD TO WAIT 20 MUNUTES TO GET THE ELEVATOR TO COME DOWN. July 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK Spot if you have lots of liesure time Without the congeniality and enthusiasm of the staff I would right-off this hotel. There were issues in my room with DVD player, burnt out bulb in bathroom, desk chair that was so worn I felt I'd fall thru it when I sat on it and I'm a small guy. Housekeeping was average and don't change -out your sheets. And then there were long waits and issues with the elevators and had to utilize the stairs instead, which was a bit inconvienent given I was on the 32nd floor Not the kind of Starwood property I'm more familiar with June 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lying to your customer is never a good idea When I got to my room on the 17th floor at the Element, we found our room wrapped around the elevator tower. When my wife spoke to someone at the front desk she was told that the hotel was sold-out and we could not change rooms. My wife repeated that we could not stay in a room that wrapped around the elevator and she was told that they would be glad to change our room if she could but there are no rooms available in the hotel. At that time I logged into SPG.com on my phone and saw there were several rooms available in the hotel and went down to the front desk. Thank you Tebby Wafer December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel with a good location The room, staff , facilities and location are great. The breakfast is OK. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room for improvement invest in heaver window treatments. Sheer blinds are inadequate for NYC in particular, impacting comfort Clean the floors, including underneath the beds. I dropped something just at the edge underneath the bed and it was extremely filthy as if it had not been cleaned since the beds were put in place. The amt of dust, lent, etc was atrocious. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend in nyc we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would like to commend Millie Popovic whos professional and caring treatment as a receptionist was outstanding. we experienced a malfunction of the lock on our door. Ms. Popovic was able to remediate the slight inconvenience in a very professional manner turning a negative experience into a very positive one. She is a really caring and professional who made us feel welcome and valued. thank you for your service and kindness. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Before our arrival I was a bit worried since some of the reviews were not very good. The hotel was INCREDIBLE! My only complaint is that the room was a bit tight. They recently added the option of two double beds (which we took advantage of) and I believe this is the reason why we found the room tight. I have only good things to say about the staff, particularly Ivory. (Thank you Ivory.) The breakfast in the morning was not only a HUGE plus but a very generous one as well. The afternoon reception was a welcomed amenity that allowed us to relax with a glass of wine and a snack after a long day in the city. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will definitely return. Thank you to all the staff at the Element. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by elevators The elevator situation is terrible. I would never stay there again. up to 40 minute wait on elevator at busy times of day. I had to walk 25 floors sometimes. May 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay elsewhere for business travel Nice location but a property that needs some help. The rooms are in poor condition The light in the shower was hanging from wires and other ceiling drywall seams were significantly exposed. The elevators are horrible. I had to take the stairs every time, from the 11th floor, with a suitcase and back pack. The complimentary breakfast is nice, as is the happy hour but get there early, especially breakfast April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A hotel that ticks all the right boxes. The Element is perfectly located, within walking distance of many of New York's top attractions. It's close to the bright lights of Times Square, but situated on the quieter West 39th Street - which means the hotel is conducive to a good night's sleep despite being in the heart of the Big Apple. The Element is spotless and well equipped, with each guestroom coming with its own kitchen area, fridge and cooking facilities. Breakfast is provided, a rarity in a New York hotel, as well as a 'happy hour' several nights a week offering guests complimentary drinks and nibbles. A selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate are also available in the reception area at all times, on a help yourself basis. Staff at the hotel are professional and friendly, and the views of the Empire State building from the roof terrace - and, indeed, from my guestroom on the 30th floor - were breathtaking. I couldn’t fault the Element and would stay there again in a heartbeat. December 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happily Surprised I take a Girl's Theater Trip once a year to NYC & always stay at the same place. This time around, after years of staying there, VIP couldn't guarantee a suite UG. I meet my friend in NYC each year & I'm not fond of sharing rooms with anyone. It took me awhile to find Element, but I noticed that I could get 2 rooms there for just a bit more than the price of 1 room elsewhere. I was very nervous when I arrived but needn't have been. The man who checked me in was very kind, and said he'd do his best to find us nice rooms. He said both rooms were upgraded to high floors and views, but that one was a studio something. The rooms were on 21 and 22. The 1 on 21 was light & airy with hardwood floors. The view wasn't spectacular but nice, and the room had a nice comfy bed (sweet sleeper by Westin) and a shelf with a tv separated the kitchenette from the bed. The sofa faced the TV and there was a wardrobe. The room on 22 had a long entry way (using most of the square footage) and then the TV was bolted to the wall (a nice flatscreen) and the sofa was UNDER the TV. The bed faced the TV and was wonderfully comfy. But the best part was the AC unit, which was under the window. My biggest beef with most hotels is the fact that no matter how I set the AC, it's never cold enough. Not here! I left the AC running and when I returned I had a nice cold room- all the better for sleeping. In addition, people have complained about the "noisy AC" and that shocks me. We're in NYC where sirens go all night. The AC was like a fan, a white noise that blocked the outside noise from the room. I think it's the best feature. Unfortunately, even that AC didn't keep the doors from slamming at 7-8am. I don't know if it was b/c I was next to the stairs or if it was just rude hotel guests or housekeeping, but the 1 problem I have with this hotel IS the noise in the mornings. I go out to the theater at night and we plan our days so we can sleep in. It's unbelievable how BAD the noise was! When anyone used the stairwell near me the slamming door would shake my own door. The other slams were just as bad. If it was housekeeping, it was too damned early. If it was hotel guests, they need to learn some travel etiquette. I think it was both. And it goes on above and below you, too. My friend on 21 heard all the same noise. The bathrooms were small but functional. I was so sad to see there were no tubs b/c I have nerve damage to my leg and foot & need a tub. But the shower did have a nice rain forest shower head and a side/slide shower so women need not get their hair wet every shower. I used that for my foot. I didn't like the combo shampoo/conditioner b/c it's not good for your hair, but the dispensers in the shower weren't cheap looking and the shower gel was a nice touch. I always bring my own antibacterial soap for the sink & usually my own shampoo/conditioner, so I wasn't bothered by the cheap bath amenities. I was gone a lot during my 2 days there and got back late at night. Yes, there IS a strip club nearby, but it's not a bad neighborhood in comparison to other NYC areas. Next door is a wonderful Irish Pub where we ate our 1st night, and it was very good. I DO think that all SPG members, especially Plats, should receive bottled water in their rooms, but it was a small price to pay. I loved the kitchenette and if we'd stayed longer I would've used more than the fridge. IMO ALL hotels should have at least mini fridges. I used the ice trays to make sure I always had ice but there are no ice machines on the floors. As you can make your own, just do that as soon as you get to your room. Otherwise if you need ice, you have to take the elevators down to the front desk. So..elevators. It wasn't pleasant, but also not as bad as many people have written. The longest wait I had was about 4 minutes, and you just get used to it. Checking out we had the fullest elevator I'd ever been in. It stopped at so many floors but we couldn't take another person. But that afternoon I noticed that someone was holding one elevator on the 1st floor. Of course it'll be difficult if some idiot is holding the elevator for so long! Also, the employees were very kind about sharing the elevator they use. And I never saw an employee who didn't say hello or good morning to me. I liked the staff a lot. I DO think they'd get more business from Plats if they gave the full amount of points for a stay. I never understood the 250 points as a Plat gift. Why less? Another thing that would help encourage me to return would be to be upgraded to a real suite. As a Plat I had to wonder who was getting the 1 bedroom and Studio Suites. If I'd been there longer than 2 nights, I would've gone nuts in the small spaces. Not that they're smaller than the average NYC hotel rooms b/c they're not. But Plat recognition and upgrades are important to those of us who have spent money & time reaching that status. And when I asked if ONE of my rooms could be given an upgrade to a suite, it was confusing b/c I was told that 1 WAS a Studio Suite. When I phoned down to try & figure which room was a studio suite, I was told rather abruptly by a woman that neither was. But she was the ONLY person who was irritable, and she was on the phone, not in person. I know- it doesn't excuse the rudeness but I figure she was tired of the question. I would've gone down to ask but the elevator situation made it easier to call. After researching online I realized I'd been given a different type of room (my wardrobe had an extra panel with drawers while the other room had only the 2 doors.) I saw they had suites on their website for sale, so again, I wonder why not try to impress the Plats & have them return & speak well of the place? But all-in-all I liked the place. If it were located on the other side of TS, I'd stay there a lot! The cheaper rates make a huge difference when it's a vacation & not a reimbursed business trip. The room was comfortable and very clean. The bed was perfection. They had great TV channels for those of us who can't sleep, and the staff was kind. If you're looking for a reasonably priced NYC hotel, this is it. They need to work on the morning slamming that wakes people, AND I'd love more Plat perks, but for the price this was more than I'd expected. I was pleasantly surprised, and I've decided to make up my own mind and not pay attention to people who are used to luxury all the time. That used to be me, but these days I'm happy to find a great rate. To find it in NYC AND find this hotel was a good one, made my week. My advice to people who worry it won't be good enough is to at least try it. It's smaller than most but honestly, it allowed my friend and I to have our own rooms at a great rate, and to be comfortable while staying. I'm only sorry I didn't find it sooner! June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All the comforts of home! I was pleasantly surprised on my first stay at Element. The rooms are clean and modern and each feature a full kitchen! This hotel is right in the heart of Manhattan, has parking directly across the street and has a wonderful staff. It is perfect for a one night stay or a weeks-long stay! I highly recommend Element, and I will definitely be back! January 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Favorite NYC SPG hotel I spent over 100 nights in SPG hotels in 2013 - the majority in NYC. Once I found the Element Times Square, I stopped staying anywhere else in NYC. Why? First and foremost is the gracious and fantastic staff across ALL levels of management. Everyone is very professional, considerate and pleasant. Second, would be amenities - great complimentary happy hour with healthy food, and a healthy, complimentary generous breakfast, rooms with great views and practically a full kitchen. And of course, the rooftop terrace with amazing sunset views - great place for a picnic. Third, would be location and convenience (a quick walk from Penn Station and an easy walk to TImes Square Subway). But above all, its the staff. I feel I have a great second home in NYC. December 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great, but the elevator situation is pretty bad Now, I understand it is Easter weekend and the hotel is full, but 3 elevators on a 40 story building is pretty tough. Additionally the Elevators were constantly malfunctioning. I stayed on the 17th floor and watched 5 elevators pass my floor by before I was forced to take the stairs down. Additionally, twice on the ride up, (and this happend to other riders), I would press the floor button see it light up and 2 stops later it would reset, causing my floor to be skipped. In all I probably burnt close to 45 min to 1 hour just dealing with the elevator situation just in 2 nights. The breakfast was a zoo, but that is to be expected. Otherwise the stay was just fine. April 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A disgrace for spg The only good thing on this hotel is the staff, smily and trying to be helpful. For the minuses : No spa No in-room dining Laundry not working on week ends Horrible furniture Rooms connected with each others by a door (you can hear everythign in the other room and i mean everything unfortunately) 3 elevators for 40 floors with 10 rooms per floor... Rooms very close to elevator and since room are clearly not sound proof you could hear a lot Breakfast is one of the worst. similar to a breakfast i had in Budapest in a 50 euros room i took Really poor. December 19, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>