Find & Book

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Please note that at most Starwood hotels, guests 17 and under are considered children. All other guests are considered adults. You will be told of any hotel-specific differences in this policy on the following page.

Dates(OPTIONAL) Calendar
Check in Check out
When?
Calendar
Where?

Design that makes an impression − Pottery Barn has joined Starpoints® Awards.

Close
  • Join

Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 966 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel but uncomfortable bed Fantastic hotel, great location, friendly staff. Overall we had a great stay and will return. Only sore point is the bed comfort and elevator service at breakfast rush hours. The bed was not of the quality I expect from Westin or a Starwood property. It was quite hard and you could feel the sides.The hotel has 3 elevators and under normal ciircumstances this is sufficient however during breakfast either you wait 10-15 minutes (really) for an elevator or you take the stairs....I suggest they lengthen the breakfast hours to spread out the rush. 9:30am week and 10am weekend is too early for people on holiday. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel In NYC Great hotel very close to everything! Very nice room with a comfy bed which is very important after long day of walking in the city. The breakfast is very good but get there early because it will be crowded. The only complaint we had the whole week we stayed there was the LONG wait for the elevators. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blew My Mind As this was my first stay at this brand hotel, I wasn't sure what to expect. In summary, I will absolutely be returning to this hotel - soon and often. From the welcoming lobby and staff who were simply gracious, to the yummy breakfast, the evening wine/beer/appetizer social hour where hotel guests mingle and imbibe, to what was just a really cool room (where I would LIVE if I could!), this was the best overall surprise I've had at a hotel in a long time. I highly recommend staying here. You won't be let down. February 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Top Quality hotel ! Perfect location to subway, TImes Square, and Theaters. Rooms have high quality beds, sheets, towels, kitchen, shower fixtures etc. Super clean and comfortable-even for 2 adults and 2 teens. Breakfast offered plenty to choose from-but was always crowded and had limited seating. Guests should just eat-not take up a seat drinking coffee and reading the am paper! I had to switch rooms-A/C was broken and took 3 phone calls and 1 mechanic visit, but new room was perfect. July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fading formerly nice property...with fundamental flaws I've stayed at this property several times, so I was surprised by my stay last weekend. This is a newer concept and property and I really liked it on previous visits. I've recommended it to many colleagues and business associates. I am sad that I can no longer do so. In brief, the elevator wait times are well documented and if you are on a higher floor, very annoying. Yes you can use the stairs but that is difficult (and I'm in athletic shape) if you're lugging a bag, dressed up (especially in summer) etc etc etc The finishes in the hotel, again it's not that old, are dinged, scratched, or falling apart. I took pictures in the 2 rooms in which I stayed. The desk almost looked like an animal had been gnawing on it but it was clearly from being bumped. While there, this eco-friendly hotel, which they champion at every point, showed how eco-unfriendly it is. The nice thing is that the kitchenette comes with actual glassware. I used a wine glass for water and left it in the sink for housekeeping. Upon my return from a day out in the city I noticed the floor was all wet, and the water was soaked up into the carpet. They had used the in-room dishwasher to wash 1 glass and the dishwasher leaked everywhere. Really? One glass in a dishwasher in an eco-hotel? Add to that they were even using the heated drying feature, another energy waste. I called down to the front desk, waited 45 minutes to response and finally walked down 16 flights of stairs to show the my pictures. The good news is that I was switched to a new room without a problem. However, when we left for dinner later that evening, the agent was only then calling for maintenance to head to my old room. The following day when we were checking out, the building engineer got on our elevator, with a wet vac, on our old floor. When I asked him he said he'd just come from room 1605, our old room. So they waited at least 10-12 hours to clean up the water,that had soaked the carpet. Of course, I have pictures of all of this,. You can see the wear all over the hotel. It's a real shame because the location is GREAT but it no longer overrides all the flaws. There are many hotels with similar price points and locations (including the Four Points owned by the same franchisee) that are now preferable. A real shame. At best, even if many issues were addressed, the elevator problem will still remain. No long recommending this property. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy hotel Unenjoyable stay. At checkin requested a room away from the elevator, naturally given one beside the elevator. While I did not hear the elevator, I did hear the ringing when it arrived on the floor and the people congregating in front for the endless wait. Endless, well no, not endless, but probably 10 minutes per ride before one arrived that you could fit into! The room I received (studio) was nice, though the ventilation system (heat/ac) is quite loud. Perhaps this is intentional to block out the noise of the street below since the windows are not double-paned. Its New York, but c'mon, proper windows would be nice. If other hotels can do it, so can Element (and its eco-friendly). If the noise from outside wasn't enough, the maids who kept on knocking on my door asking when I was leaving (requested late checkout) was annoying. So was their screaming at the top of their lung to each other (finally a good reason for the industrial sized fan in the in-room climate control unit!) On the plus side, the afternoon snacks and breakfast are good. Reminder, if you go back to your room, bring one of the plastic trays that are used as desk drawers to carry food. If you like a view of the city and are on the North facing side, request something higher than the 14th floor as you look into the parking lot of the Port Authority area. So if you want sleep or to get to your room in reasonable fashion, try somewhere else. If you like the snacks and free breakfast, this is a good choice. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything you could ask for! Great staff--concerned, pleasant and knowledgeable. Clean and comfortable rooms. Kitchenette with refrigerator was ideal. It was wonderful to have a coin laundry in the building. The only mild criticism was the slow elevators during peak times in the morning--other times were no problem. Otherwise, everything was fantastic! Excellent location for subway entry. We would recommend this hotel for others wanting to explore downtown NYC. June 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Element, Times SQ - This hotel is very loud, you can hear elevators all the time form your room. - The pantry selection is bad, they only have junk food in the pantry. - Its crowded and cramped as it is a small building and they pack it to capacity. - The breakfast selection is bad, they only have junk food (biscuit sandwiches and tater tots). No healthy options. - The breakfast is mostly out of stock. - The staff is very responsive and helpful. April 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Horrible Hotel - Requires a 15 minute wait each time you need to use the elevator - Woke up to no running water. - Staff's advice was "sorry, try again later" - Eventually moved to another room, air conditioning not working.hot hot hot. cannot sleep - Included breakfast - tastes like plastic - English muffins are not meant to look like bagels - Over crowded - Don't even bother trying to iron your shirt with their tiny ironing board Overall a blight on SPG's brand September 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful hotel I stayed in this hotel for 3 days and had a very positive experience. Most of all, the front desk staff are very nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal, just a few blocks from the Time Square. The breakfast is exceptional. I will definitely stay again. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed bag - but overall worth a visit I think the location of the Element Hotel is great. Some people said the area between 8th and 9th Avenues is not nice at night, but I think it is fine. I stayed with a female colleague who felt equally safe. First the good points about the hotel: The rooms are nice. Adequate in size. Free internet is a plus. All of the rooms have a kitchenette. I am sure that the kitchenette is part of Element's thing, but I think there is no place that a kitchenette is LESS needed than in Midtown Manhattan. I'm sure that most guests that are staying for extended visits don't use it. The free cocktail hour in the evening and the breakfast in the morning are actually very nice. The lobby looks small from the chek in desk but it wraps around the building and there are plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink with a friend or chat with a fellow guest. The Bad: When I read reviews on another site before visiting I thought "Please. Who would take the time to complain about the elevators" but I waited at one point for 14 minutes before I could get on one to take me to the lobby! This is a new building with new elevators, and no more elevators can be added, so this is not a problem that will ever be fixed, but it does detract a bit from the stay. My biggest complaint with the hotel is not one that seems to have been shared by others, so maybe my experience was an anomoaly. I found the front desk person (a manager) VERY snobby and disinterested. When my room was not ready slightly after check in time, he said to me in a tone straight out of a movie "SIR, THIS is New York CIty. You have to expect that Platinum members will take full advantage of their late check out and your room may not be available on time." When he saw I was a Platinum member, before I said anything he said, "Just so you know, we do NOT participate in any Platinum upgrade programs. ALL of our rooms are considered upgrades." If I had read similar remarks from other customers that would be enough for me to not recommend this hotel, but one rude snobby front desk person (even if he was the manager), did not ruin an otherwise pleasant experience. Don't roll your eyes when you read about people complaining about the elevators. It is BAD at peak times (end of breakfast and at check out times). December 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable stay. This hotel has a great location. Rooms were clean & comfortable. Staff was very helpful whenever we asked advice. Would I stay again? Absolutely! July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disapointed when we checked in to rm 1206 for 6 day stay, there was diarreha stains down the side of the toilet. the outside window leaked water first all over the sill then across floor. called bldg maint, they stacked more towells and never came back. ....from 7am to 9am elevators never stopped at 12th floor so we repeatedly walked down 12 flights stairs........from all this we decided to check out one day early......desk said they would have to charge us $150 ......got our bill today and was charged full room rate $456.88 for the day we didnt stay........all i want is not to be charged anything for the last day June 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Altough a new hotel, my worst Starwood experience The hotel is and looks brand new, vit is clean, however, the overall experience was well below my expectations. Specific issues were: 1) Elevators: Always took a LONG time to get the elevators up & down. There are only 3 elevators including service ((one always broken). 2) Room Comfort: Very noisy (oudoor noice + in-room AC + refrigerator) and the window black-outs don't cover well the oudoor lights. Bad sleeping experience overall 3) SPG privileges: I didn't get any despite being a platinum member. October 23, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by SLEEPLESS and TIRED ALL NIGHT WE COULDN'T SLEEP BECAUSE OF BAD SOUND. IN THE MORNING WHEN WE TRIED TO SLEEP, EVERY HALF AN HOUR HOUSE KEEPING STAFF STARTED KNOCKING THE DOOR. TWICE THEY ENTERED TO MY ROOM WITH THEIR KEY, THIS WAS VERY EMBARRASING. THOUGH I HAD 4PM CHECK OUT WHEN I CHECKED IN AND ALSO I TOLD THEM IN THE MORNING NOT TO COME UNTIL 4PM , WHY STILL THEY CAME SO FREQUENTLY? I PLAN TO COME BACK TO THE HOTEL ALL THIS SUMMER, NOW I HAVE TO THINK TWICE. I HAD TO WAIT 20 MUNUTES TO GET THE ELEVATOR TO COME DOWN. July 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs improvement with elevator system Had to wait MUCH too long! June 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Late July Weekend Stay The hotel rooms were nice, but be prepared to wait a very long time at the elevators. My wife and I had a room on the 34th floor. Around 9AM daily (during hotel breakfast hours), we had to wait an average of 15 minutes for elevators. The three elevators, even after you press the elevator button, will pass your floor several times before letting you in. I'm not sure what programming logic the hotel or the elevator manufactures applied to this equipment, but I don't think this was an accident, albeit it was very surprising as my wife and I considered whether the elevators were malfunctioning. Basically, I think the elevator runs on a first-come, first served basis, and it only stops at a limited number of floors during each of its runs. A second disappointment was housekeeping. My wife and I returned from a day in the city late afternoon (around 4PM) on a Saturday, but our room wasn't cleaned yet. While relaxing in the room around 4:30PM, housekeeping arrived, so they couldn't clean the room since we were in it. When we left the hotel at 5:30PM, I stopped by the front desk and asked them if they could please send housekeeping to our room since we were leaving,but that didn't happen. A positive attribute of the hotel is its relatively close distance to Time Square, subway stops, the High Line, and other attractions. Everything you need seems to be within a mile. The bathrooms are nice as well. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lying to your customer is never a good idea When I got to my room on the 17th floor at the Element, we found our room wrapped around the elevator tower. When my wife spoke to someone at the front desk she was told that the hotel was sold-out and we could not change rooms. My wife repeated that we could not stay in a room that wrapped around the elevator and she was told that they would be glad to change our room if she could but there are no rooms available in the hotel. At that time I logged into SPG.com on my phone and saw there were several rooms available in the hotel and went down to the front desk. Thank you Tebby Wafer December 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great NY experience... I don't usually write reviews but I have to thank Lynn for providing outstanding service during our stay. The hotel is a great find in NYC. Well priced, clean, and great staff. I asked about the elevators and would recommend a room that is a little lower and it does get a little busy during breakfast but it was manageable and not an issue for us during our stay. I would stay here again. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed... The room was very nicely furnished but was super small. We had a water leak in our shower the whole time we were there where the water leaked out of the shower and covered the floor with water. Although maintenance was prompt and arrived quickly to remedy the problem, the problem wasn't fixed and housekeeping never came up to clean up the water, so maintenance came back to do the clean up and we threw towels down the other times. But the hotel was nice and front desk staff was super friendly and accommodating. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for family with children Booked this hotel and requested for 2 double beds for my family of four. Unfortunately they were fully booked and ended up with a kingsized bed and my 14-yr old slept on the small sofa. Moved the chair so she can extend her feet even when she's just 5ft tall. Room is nice but space is just tight for our family of four. We're not big people -- I'm just 118lbs and my husband is 135lbs. Elevator is small so during peak hours, line is long and elevator is packed and slow. Suggest get lower floors where you can use stairs. This is a good place for one or two people. Design is sleek and place is earth-friendly. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Before our arrival I was a bit worried since some of the reviews were not very good. The hotel was INCREDIBLE! My only complaint is that the room was a bit tight. They recently added the option of two double beds (which we took advantage of) and I believe this is the reason why we found the room tight. I have only good things to say about the staff, particularly Ivory. (Thank you Ivory.) The breakfast in the morning was not only a HUGE plus but a very generous one as well. The afternoon reception was a welcomed amenity that allowed us to relax with a glass of wine and a snack after a long day in the city. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will definitely return. Thank you to all the staff at the Element. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A hotel that ticks all the right boxes. The Element is perfectly located, within walking distance of many of New York's top attractions. It's close to the bright lights of Times Square, but situated on the quieter West 39th Street - which means the hotel is conducive to a good night's sleep despite being in the heart of the Big Apple. The Element is spotless and well equipped, with each guestroom coming with its own kitchen area, fridge and cooking facilities. Breakfast is provided, a rarity in a New York hotel, as well as a 'happy hour' several nights a week offering guests complimentary drinks and nibbles. A selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate are also available in the reception area at all times, on a help yourself basis. Staff at the hotel are professional and friendly, and the views of the Empire State building from the roof terrace - and, indeed, from my guestroom on the 30th floor - were breathtaking. I couldn’t fault the Element and would stay there again in a heartbeat. December 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by All the comforts of home! I was pleasantly surprised on my first stay at Element. The rooms are clean and modern and each feature a full kitchen! This hotel is right in the heart of Manhattan, has parking directly across the street and has a wonderful staff. It is perfect for a one night stay or a weeks-long stay! I highly recommend Element, and I will definitely be back! January 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It met all our needs. Great location and service. The breakfasts were ideal and the free wifi was perfect. Rooms are small but we spent very little time in the room. The rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable. July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A disgrace for spg The only good thing on this hotel is the staff, smily and trying to be helpful. For the minuses : No spa No in-room dining Laundry not working on week ends Horrible furniture Rooms connected with each others by a door (you can hear everythign in the other room and i mean everything unfortunately) 3 elevators for 40 floors with 10 rooms per floor... Rooms very close to elevator and since room are clearly not sound proof you could hear a lot Breakfast is one of the worst. similar to a breakfast i had in Budapest in a 50 euros room i took Really poor. December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Favorite NYC SPG hotel I spent over 100 nights in SPG hotels in 2013 - the majority in NYC. Once I found the Element Times Square, I stopped staying anywhere else in NYC. Why? First and foremost is the gracious and fantastic staff across ALL levels of management. Everyone is very professional, considerate and pleasant. Second, would be amenities - great complimentary happy hour with healthy food, and a healthy, complimentary generous breakfast, rooms with great views and practically a full kitchen. And of course, the rooftop terrace with amazing sunset views - great place for a picnic. Third, would be location and convenience (a quick walk from Penn Station and an easy walk to TImes Square Subway). But above all, its the staff. I feel I have a great second home in NYC. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Congratulations to your front desk staff I made a mistake, completely my fault, when I made a reservation for one night for October 3, when it should have been for October 2. The front desk clerk, Ivory, along with the manager at that time, were extremely gracious and found me a room with no problems. They also refunded my points that I had used for the October 3 reservation. I was very impressed with the way it was handled. This hotel also distinguishes itself by its late afternoon service of wine and appetizers, and by its good range of food at breakfast. It was our favorite value as a hotel in New York before this experience, and the excellent service described above has only enhanced its value. October 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel Desk CLerks are TERRIBLE I have stayed at Hotel Element Twice!.. and the First time was going great until it was time to departure. Element Transportation got into an altercation with a yellow cab service. I was Forced to be driven to Airport with Hotel Transportation, where they Over Charged me for an 8 Mile drive to Lagaurdia airport $85... Hotel Element promised to Give me a Free Compt Night my 2nd Time.. And Once AGAIN Hotel Desk Clerks LIED to my Face about room being Compt 1 night.... Then I called the MANAGEMENT and he showed NO Concern or Sympathy to my Issue!..He Replied Come Back Next time for a Free Room!!. Yea Right!..Worst Hotel By Far*** October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than we expected! The front lady was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and bed was SO comfortable. The breakfast was more than we expected. We stayed over for the weekend and the place was quite full. There are 3 elevators but we had to use stairs for a few times. That is the only thing we didn't like much. Over all, we loved this hotel! July 22, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>