Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 1116 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good alternative for a longer stay Hotel is a 5 - 10 minutes walk from Time Square and just a 1 minute walk from a metro station. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Hotel gets quite busy. Reception area is small and hence often overcrowded. Breakfast area gets busy too especially at peak times. Food is basic (but free). Rooms have fridge and cooking which is nice for a longer-ish stay. There are only 3 elevators for 40 floors and one tends to be used for hotel-services. Lifts are a nightmare during peak hours and you will need to allow extra time to get out of the hotel. October 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by didn't receive the best rate available when my wife and I started looking to stay in ny last spring we spent a lot of time looking for the best hotel to fit our needs and budget.we were astonished by the difference in price between summer and fall,but we increased our budget and in aug. we reserved our room for 4 nights. we continued to monitor the prices and between the exchange rate and the reviews that helped us pick your hotel we were confident with our decision. upon our arrival after travelling all night on a rainy afternoon we met Ivory who gave us a lovely room on the 40th floor and lifted our spirits and made us feel special. when we looked up our room we noticed that the rate was $300 less than what our original booking was worth. because of the exchange rate we did not want to prepay the room because the credit card would cost us over $100 per $1000 we had saved the us dollars several years ago when our money had been at par that's why we paid cash on our arrival as foreign guests we feel we should have gotten the lower rate that was posted on sept. 25 I understand that our booking had restrictions if I cancelled a day before arrival but customer service is how you build loyalty we did enjoy our stay and $300 isn't going to ruin the great time we had but it is a half weeks salary which I worked hard for in the factory we did contact the elements website right away but left ny unsatisfied ref#KMM63905681V71791L0KM yours sincerely Gordon and lynn gripp September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Place for the night The hotel was perfect for the night we stayed. The kitchen aspect of it makes it ideal for those who want the option to dine in instead of eating out at every meal. The bed was heavenly. The only negative was that things were a little tight space wise, but I guess that's expected in NYC. September 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel in perfect location When in NYC, this is my base. The hotel is perfectly located and close to Penn Street Station as well as Macy's and Times Square. I brought my wife and 2 kids 3 months ago also and they really liked the hotel. Yes, the elevators are slow but who cares. The staff are very good as well. I look forward to staying here again on my return. September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is the best of the best.. This hotel is excellent in many ways. Rooms, service, location, amenities . We would definitely stay here again! Only suggestion would be a make up mirror. September 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kitchenette makes it great for travelers The stocked kitchenette and proximity to Times Square makes this a great place for tourists, especially families, who are staying in NYC for 4 or more days, in my opinion. I stayed here for business so had no use at all for the kitchenette, so for me I would have preferred other amenities like a pool, better breakfast, and faster elevators. September 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good midtown alternative Great rooms that include full kitchen and fridge. They have to work on the elevators at peak times. You have to wait a considerable time to catch the elevator in the morning. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary Customer Service I want to take the time to recognize Ivory. She was working at the front desk at the time I was checking in on September 15th. She was accommodating to a very large group of people that had come in earlier than check-in! She was helping her associate, resolving customer issues all while having a big smile on her face with a fabulous attitude. She is such an asset to your company. Customer Service like that, is what makes me want to be a lifetime customer. Please thank her on my behalf and make sure she gets the praise she deserves! September 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rebrand to "Hellement" I thought SPG was better than this. Pleasant check in was followed by nothing else pleasant. 1st morning, waited 30 minutes before deciding to descend 31 floors with a 19 month old to find old, cold, and sparse breakfast available in an overcrowded breakfast area. We were given a gift card for the restaurant next door which was not much of an improvement. Found hairs in the bed and bathroom after cleaning, frayed towels, dirty paper coffee cups. Not sure what management is doing here, but it isn't enough / appropriate. Tried talking with Jung, a manager, which seemed pointless. All he did was nod his head and agree with me. I've seen / heard of no action. Needless to say, I won't be returning to this location and will reconsider the element brand in the future. September 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location. Very good base for getting round the city. September 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by your elevators were so bad I would not stay there again you have a 42 story hotel served by 3 elevators, one of which seemed to be constantly in use by your service personel on the first day i spoke to staff about waiting for 8 minutes for the elevators while on floor 32 - way too far to walk down to the street. their response was sorry but that is just the way things work around here. over the week i lived there i was stuck every day waiting for the elevators between 5 to 10 minutes on my last day when i needed to catch a plane, the elevators passed my floor without stopping 8 times ---- all 3 elevators did that making me wait over a half hour -- almost 45 minutes, constantly pressing the down button. you staff was no help when i complained about this as i could tell this is a very common complaint in the hotel. all they could do was look exasperated and apologize. even tho i left my hotel room 45 minutes early to catch the plane based on your front desk manager telling me i needed to plan an extra half hour to get to the airport in morning traffic, i almost missed my plane because of your elevator system. i was mad the entire cab ride as traffic was packed going to the airport, which wouldn't have been an issue with a timely elevator. your management about keeping the rooms clean was great but, in my mind, my whole day traveling back home was put off to such a degree that i would never stay at this hotel again. if you tell your guests that they have to wait up to 45 minutes for an elevator on the day they leave so that their trip to the airport would take 2.5 hours instead of 45 minutes, i bet you would not have any guest stay there for a second time. September 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by slow elevator, noisy ac and bad breakfast this hotel has a good location and provides free breakfast. the window ac is noise and gave up one night. it left a lot of water on the ground. the breakfast has a very limited selection of food and was not tasty at all. the elevator was hard to reach in the morning and had to walk done the stairs from 8th floor each morning. the room was small and the decor was belpw expectation staff was respomsive but cold September 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wow- Starwoods should STOP calling this Starwoods I should provide a warning out there that anyone used to Starwoods properties should hear. THIS IS THE WORST STARWOODS PROPERTY I have every stayed at. Outside of the dirty hallway, dirty floor in the room, 'cattle call' breakfast #really, 40 floors of rooms with a lobby the size of some people's living room#... they messed up my reservation. I was booked to one bedroom suite #yes, paid $500 bucks for it# and am in a one bedroom standard room and no one even asked to change the rate or give future accomodation. Did I forget to say this is the SECOND room I am in because the first one had a BROKEN Air Conditioner. The highlight of the elevator experience is that the FLOORS GET UNSELECTED randomly as you go up flights too so you have to keep pushing the floor button to get off-- which makes the elevators packed #that happened to me three out of four times on the elevator so far#. Go somewhere else if you are looking for a Starwoods experience. September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best ever in NYC I TRAVEL TO NYC FOR BUSINESS 4 TO 8 TIMES A YEAR. THIS LOCATION IN TIMES SQUARE IS WONDERFUL FOR ME. IF YOU NEED TO MAKE COFFEE OR POP CORN OR WARM UP LEFT OVER IN YOUR IN YOUR ROOM ETC, YOU HAVE A COMPLETE KITCHEN IN YOUR ROOM ANY TIME. STAFF IS SO FRIENDLY, COFFEE, WATER, PLUS BREAKFAST AND HAPPY HOUR ARE INCLUDED WITH YOUR RATE. I LOVE THE STARWOOD PROGRAM, AND THE ELEMENT WEST HAS WON MY HEART OVER THE WESTIN, OR PRICEY W ,OR SHERANTON HOTELS IN NYC. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Book this hotel We had a wonderful stay last September in this hotel. Line E (of Element) brings you very easily from JFK. Everybody is very attentive, the rooms are complete and new. We can only confirm the other reviews… And yes, you can lose minutes waiting for the elevator in the morning… September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent all the way! We had a great stay for 6 nights. Location is fantastic, breakfast very good, the complimentary food/beer/wine between 5.30-7.00(Mon-Thurs.)is a very welcome offer, the staff is very efficient(from front desk to waiters) and the room was large and spotless. Thanks, we will be back. September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Very Nice Stay This hotel is a bit off the beaten track for Times Square fans, but don't let the semi-shabby neighborhood put you off when it comes to staying at this very pleasant hotel. It really is close to everything, the staff is great, and the room was terrific. September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great room for NYC The room was above average for New York - nicely done, good amenities. The location is great, and the staff were fine. Biggest complaint would be the elevators - very slow, and often there would be one in use by the staff, which left only two elevators to cover 30 stories. At one point I gave up on waiting and took the stairs. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel !! great staff !!! The element is an excellent hotel in the heart of New York. The staff is very efficient and friendly, very attentive to the customer! The rooms were clean and comfortable. I recommend it to everyone, hard to find better. September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, facilities under-dimensioned Price - Overall good price/quality ratio Room - Spacious for 2 guests, but too tight if you bring two children, particularly limited space for clothes. Small cupboard, no drawers. Dining - Breakfast was just ok, but dining room was far too small for the size of the hotel - problems finding a table in the morning Other comments - Only 3 elevators for 40 floors with some 8 rooms per floor, resulting in unacceptable waiting times, particularly in busy hours (i.e. between 8 and 9am) September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has nice breakfast and well located The hotel is in a very convenient location. It also has a great breakfast in the morning with good variety. September 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excelent location Best Price-quality relation ever! Very helpful crew and located one block away from subway and two from times square September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff and accomodations The staff is awesome, the rooms are great and the hotel is clean and in a great location! September 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cannot Recommend this location While the rooms are great and the overall concept is really nice and contemporary ... this hotel falls flat. The elevators are ridiculous. Heading out in the early morning (6:30 - 7:30 a.m.) was a 15 minute wait ...to an extent, you could work with it. But 7:30 to 10:30..we waited for 30 minutes and had to call the front desk to get assistance. In the evening it was just as bad. It actually became a life safety issues. We were in a hot hallway for 30 minutes on the 35th floor, 6 of us, could not get an elevator up or down. Would not even stop on our floor. If you must stay here, stay on a low floor where your health allows you to use the stairs. The breakfast included is good, but space is so crowded, the hotel comes across very cramped and lacking space in public areas. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but for one thing I hope this gets to the group that run this chain of hotels,the elevators let the hotel down surely between the hotel and the Irish bar you can invest in building a service elevator which can leave 3elevators free for patrons of the hotel canceling out the majority of complaints,the staff are magnificent ,you're letting them down and bad reviews from patrons isn't help your business much. September 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience Elevators: Incredibly slow. Rooms: Nicely updated, the kitchenette features are good and the style is modern. Staff: Not very courteous in general (a few exceptions who were gracious). In the end: After a couple of nights and days suffering the elevator delays, we decided to leave in the early evening for a better Starwood property, got dinged for that night's room and tax (understandable) AND an early departure fee (just chintzy) AND then got inappropriately charged for the following night. We will see if that gets refunded. Would not recommend, will not stay again. PS The rooftop bar is impossible to find. September 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What an oasis in a busy part of Manhattan! My daughter and I enjoyed a great seven night stay at Element. What a great find! Our room was heavenly, with a lovely bathroom and kitchen, and a fabulous city-view. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was perfect, and the Happy Hour in the evenings were really fun and a great way to relax about a busy day out! Thanks so much for an awesome stay! We will be back! September 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The location and rooms were fantastic. This was my first trip to New York City, and your hotel made the experience very memorable. The location was perfect, the rooms were very comfortable with "heavenly" beds, and your staff was tremendously welcoming. I certainly will recommend your hotel in the future and plan on returning at some point in the future my self. The only drawback was the wait time for the elevators, but still a great experience. September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing in NYC From the moment we booked until we left, the entire staff was professional, polite, and just all around incredible. The room was small, but exceeded all our needs. September 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tiny Rooms and Not Enough Elevators The initial room I was given was too small to fit the baggage we had without being the the middle of the hallway and we only had a carry on and a medium sized suitcase. I kindly asked to change rooms, since as a platinum member I'm usually given preferred rooms. It took 25 minutes for the elevator to arrive because one of the three elevators servicing 40 floors was out of service. Even with three elevators, I imagine the wait is long. The wifi (although free) cuts out intermittently and has a very weak signal. Needless to say, I wouldn't recommend this hotel especially for business travelers that are on a schedule. September 3, 2014
  • 2015-04-26T18:18:08.930-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1116, tr_1116
  • loc_en_US, sid_3361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 38 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>