Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1028 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the price, but slow elevators For the most part, I enjoyed my stay at the Element Times Square West last weekend, but there were a couple of areas that would have made my stay more enjoyable. I'll lead with the pro's... The room was relatively spacious for a taller, big city hotel. The location is just outside the main Times Square area and was very convenient for walking to Times Square and the Broadway area, and the Rockefeller Center area was also a manageable walk. The 40th-42nd Street subway station is very close by as well to get to other parts of the city. The kitchenette was great and would be even more useful for a more extended stay than my 2 days. The view ("Standard City View" on 31st floor) was good - we could see the Empire State Building unobstructed. The bed was relatively comfortable and the wireless speed was pretty typical of any other hotel (a little slow, but I'm used to it at every other hotel I've stayed at). I really liked the accommodations overall, and thought the price was very good for the location and quality of the rooms. That all being said, there were a few things that would have made my stay more enjoyable. First, there are only three pretty small elevators, and usually only two are running. Being on the 31st floor, I waited about 5-7 minutes for the elevator to even come to our floor on multiple occasions. I overheard a couple say they liked the hotel but this bothered them enough that they weren't planning to stay there again. The free breakfast was great, but it was very crowded and not set up in the most convenient fashion - people were crowding the counters, and the coffee area could be set up much better logistically than it was. Finally, we happened to be there during a big "nor'easter" snowstorm and it would have been great to be able to throw our clothes in the dryer, and I called down to ask about where the laundry room was... they said it was downstairs, so I went all the way down to the cellar level (this was also one of the times the elevator took 5-7 minutes to arrive) with our pile of wet clothes... and the laundry room was "out of service". Would have been nice to know that before I went down 31 floors! Overall though, I would probably stay at this hotel again if only for the fact that it was a good value and location, the room was clean and I slept well, and the hotel was not at all sketchy. Just wish the elevators worked better! November 6, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Internet pictures are very misleading This is not the hotel you see in the pictures. The pictures show a modern, well maintained, attractive hotel. When you arrive in person, you see everything is quite worn and the furniture is quite cheap. It is the quality of furniture you might find in a two star hotel. Maybe not even that. The lobby couch cushions and pillows were worn and sagging. I didn’t want to touch anything or sit on anything. It just looked dingy and worn. I was shocked and disappointed when I got to my room. The color palate made the room look dingy, old and dirty. The furniture was awkwardly placed where a giant, GIANT flatscreen tv was mounted to a piece of furniture which was flush with the head (not foot!!) of the bed so if you wanted to watch tv, it could only be done by lying in bed and turning on your side and looking up towards the wall behind you. Plus, the tv was so giant and only about a foot away from the bed that it gave me a headache to have it on. The people on the tv were bigger than me and only a foot away from my face. I choose this room for a romantic evening and had planned on meeting my boyfriend in the lounge where a happy hour with light fare was promised. I was embarrassed to meet him there because the furniture was old and worn and the light “cocktail fare” was cafeteria style hamburgers and hotdogs!! That’s the kind of stuff you find in a school cafeteria. I don’t think hotdogs with ketchup make a nice accompaniment to a glass of wine. The breakfast was far more disappointing. The only hot entree choice was a sandwich on a fatty biscuit. Oh, I forgot the pancakes which were so small and thin they were actually crunchy. The only bread option was giant, stale bagels. This is NY where you should have the best bagels!! When I complained about the bread, I was told to toast the bagel and that would take care of how hard it was!! The yogurts were finished, as was the oatmeal. The milk for the coffee was empty. Apples were the only fruit choice. Smoothies were also promised but that was gone as well. There were no breakfast pastries or cheese or meats or other protein of any kind. I struggled to put together a breakfast myself when I saw my only option was a giant, hard, stale bagel. The hotel staff was so inattentive that they didn’t’ notice a homeless person was eating from the buffet. He was very easy to spot from his clothing but also because he kept slipping sandwiches into his pockets and into a paper tote he was carrying. I’m fine with helping out the homeless but this just hows how little the staff is paying attention. The shower in my room leaked. I had a flood on the bathroom floor. I couldn’t call down to the front desk because my phone didn’t work. I had to get dressed and go downstairs where I was told there was nothing wrong with my shower and that there was nothing they could do for me. Housekeeping asked me to be more careful. I asked for a change of room but was refused. The standing light in the room didn’t work. The desk light didn’t work. A few ceiling lights didn’t’ work. The remaining lights were so dark that I had to walk over to the window if I needed to see something. The signal on the elevator was so loud that it woke me up several times during the night. When that wasn’t waking me up, the woman in my adjoining room was waking me up. Why was I given an adjoining room??? I tried to get my room switched but they refused. I tried to make myself a tea in the morning, in the lobby, but they were out of the Earl Grey that I know was there earlier. I figured I would wait for it to be replenished. When I returned a half an hour later not only was it not replenished, all the other black tea options were gone as well. When i went back at checkout, only a few herbal tea bags were left. They provide a decanter of water with orange and lime slices which was really nice but it was empty except for the ice. So what was the point of that? My stay was really sad. I was extremely embarrassed when my guest arrived and I didn’t blame him. I kept apologizing to him for the hotel and the room. I would not recommend this hotel under any circumstances. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel !! great staff !!! The element is an excellent hotel in the heart of New York. The staff is very efficient and friendly, very attentive to the customer! The rooms were clean and comfortable. I recommend it to everyone, hard to find better. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value & Good Location This hotel is good value. The complimentary breakfast and cocktail hours are cost effective ways to enjoy New York. The rooms are large by NY standards and the kitchenette is a big bonus. Near full size fridge and freezer along with a microwave. Bed is very comfortable and the rainfall shower is divine. Location is excellent as it is fairly central for those wanting to tour the lower parts of Manhatten yet still close to the Theatre District. The only negative is the 3 cramped elevator's that service the 40 storey hotel. By the 3rd and 4th day of our stay this became very annoying. Other than that i would definitely recommend this hotel. August 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The little things really add up here This is a great hotel for day trips throughout the city. The free WiFi made for easy planning and the breakfasts were a must to start the day. Complementary coffee in the lobby saved us a lot of money as well! Free daily reception made for a welcome break at the end of a busy day. Great location if you don't mind the crowds of Midtown. Two down sides are: 1. The long waits for elevators (only 3 for 40 floors and they all service all floors) 2. The lobby area was always crowded and cluttered (partly due to people waiting for elevators and the over crowding during breakfast). This space could use some renovations to feel more welcoming. March 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs better maintenance and a focus on the customers. We've been coming to this hotel three years in a row now from Seoul. For our family, the rooms with the mini kitchen is perfect. We do prepare a lot of meals due to kid's needs. Also, the daily complimentary breakfast and Happy Hour w wine, beer and food is really a nice touch. The complimentary hotel bikes have been a great treat when I've used it to tour around the city. Very doable! Though on this trip, the bikes never came out for use. What happened? But....the hotel has certainly seemed to have let its guard down. At the entrance, I see no one sweeping the curb and sidewalk. It is dirty and trash ridden. The hotels down the street has a guy hosing down their entrance area daily. The outdoor entry area seems to be perpetually occupied by large bins of laundry in or out - unsightly and annoying. There's a " No Smoking within 20 feet of Entrance" sign and our family seems to be wading through blue smoke to get to the front door. Nasty and illegal. Shows the hotel front desk is not paying attention. The rooms....nice design, always thought so, but they are showing wear and tear and the hotel seems to always be falling behind, last year we switched rooms because the wall socket seemed to be damaged and appeared unsafe. This year, we switched rooms as our door would not lock. Otherwise, the rooms are neatly appointed and well designed for this market. The constant complaint and grumble you hear in the lobby and the elevators is just how long you have to wait to get on one. About 440 rooms over 40 floors with three passenger/freight elevators?! - that's really a bad design. It may have given Starwood extra revenue for the rooms they crammed in per floor, but it annoys the guests to no end. As we were on the elevator the last day, we met a nice lady from Australia who said she was so annoyed by the elevators that she would never come back to this hotel. The service is ok. Most of the people should not be in the hospitality business. I do not think they were trained to Starwood standards. It's disconcerting. Upper management should really take note of this. In the end, the hotel has great ideas but is now falling short on follow through. You get the sense that the idea of an "Elements Times Square Hotel" looked great on paper between the suits at corporate but is falling short at the frontline due to lax management and lack of standards. I hope they shape up because this hotel deserves better. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay elsewhere for business travel Nice location but a property that needs some help. The rooms are in poor condition The light in the shower was hanging from wires and other ceiling drywall seams were significantly exposed. The elevators are horrible. I had to take the stairs every time, from the 11th floor, with a suitcase and back pack. The complimentary breakfast is nice, as is the happy hour but get there early, especially breakfast April 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs improvement with elevator system Had to wait MUCH too long! June 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great, but the elevator situation is pretty bad Now, I understand it is Easter weekend and the hotel is full, but 3 elevators on a 40 story building is pretty tough. Additionally the Elevators were constantly malfunctioning. I stayed on the 17th floor and watched 5 elevators pass my floor by before I was forced to take the stairs down. Additionally, twice on the ride up, (and this happend to other riders), I would press the floor button see it light up and 2 stops later it would reset, causing my floor to be skipped. In all I probably burnt close to 45 min to 1 hour just dealing with the elevator situation just in 2 nights. The breakfast was a zoo, but that is to be expected. Otherwise the stay was just fine. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has nice breakfast and well located The hotel is in a very convenient location. It also has a great breakfast in the morning with good variety. September 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fading formerly nice property...with fundamental flaws I've stayed at this property several times, so I was surprised by my stay last weekend. This is a newer concept and property and I really liked it on previous visits. I've recommended it to many colleagues and business associates. I am sad that I can no longer do so. In brief, the elevator wait times are well documented and if you are on a higher floor, very annoying. Yes you can use the stairs but that is difficult (and I'm in athletic shape) if you're lugging a bag, dressed up (especially in summer) etc etc etc The finishes in the hotel, again it's not that old, are dinged, scratched, or falling apart. I took pictures in the 2 rooms in which I stayed. The desk almost looked like an animal had been gnawing on it but it was clearly from being bumped. While there, this eco-friendly hotel, which they champion at every point, showed how eco-unfriendly it is. The nice thing is that the kitchenette comes with actual glassware. I used a wine glass for water and left it in the sink for housekeeping. Upon my return from a day out in the city I noticed the floor was all wet, and the water was soaked up into the carpet. They had used the in-room dishwasher to wash 1 glass and the dishwasher leaked everywhere. Really? One glass in a dishwasher in an eco-hotel? Add to that they were even using the heated drying feature, another energy waste. I called down to the front desk, waited 45 minutes to response and finally walked down 16 flights of stairs to show the my pictures. The good news is that I was switched to a new room without a problem. However, when we left for dinner later that evening, the agent was only then calling for maintenance to head to my old room. The following day when we were checking out, the building engineer got on our elevator, with a wet vac, on our old floor. When I asked him he said he'd just come from room 1605, our old room. So they waited at least 10-12 hours to clean up the water,that had soaked the carpet. Of course, I have pictures of all of this,. You can see the wear all over the hotel. It's a real shame because the location is GREAT but it no longer overrides all the flaws. There are many hotels with similar price points and locations (including the Four Points owned by the same franchisee) that are now preferable. A real shame. At best, even if many issues were addressed, the elevator problem will still remain. No long recommending this property. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal for Manhattan Element is an interesting brand for NYC. Some great things: 1) Free Internet; 2) Free Breakfast 3) Kitchen in room; 4) Great Time Square location This makes it very popular and therefore breakfast time can be absolute mayhem as this is a 40 story hotel. In addition, there are only 3 hotels serving all 40 stories so the wait for the elevator can be a problem at busy times. Finally, our bathroom sink usually (not always) gave warm water from the cold tap. In general, I found this to be a great way to stay in NYC at a Starwood brand. Don't forget to visit the small rooftop deck. August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our new favorite hotel We've stayed at many, many hotels in NYC and this was, by far, our favorite. The location was great, but the facility was excellent. We particularly loved the fact that the rooms were not carpeted. It made it feel so much cleaner!! The breakfast that was included was far above those offered at other hotels and the staff couldn't have been nicer! We just wished that there had been a hotel bar, because then we would never have needed to leave! August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean rooms, great location Room was new, clean, and smelled great. Located in the Garment District which is close to all the action (Times Square, Koreatown, all kinds of shopping) without being on a congested street. Staff were excellent and breakfast was good. Yes, elevators do take some time, so expect some delays, or plan to take the stairs. Would definitely stay here again. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, great location We love the Element. It's at a great location, close to Times Square. The staff is great. Rooms are clean and comfortable, as you would expect from a Starwood property. Having a kitchenette and a full sized refrigerator is especially helpful for us since we have a toddler with us. My only complaint is the elevator system. There are 3 elevators to service 40 floors and I think the program the elevator system is using is very inefficient. The elevator often skips floors. We wanted over 15 minutes before an elevator finally stopped on our floor. It was going up, we hopped on anyways even though we needed to go down because we weren't sure when the next one would come. April 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room for improvement invest in heaver window treatments. Sheer blinds are inadequate for NYC in particular, impacting comfort Clean the floors, including underneath the beds. I dropped something just at the edge underneath the bed and it was extremely filthy as if it had not been cleaned since the beds were put in place. The amt of dust, lent, etc was atrocious. May 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Breakfast and elevators are a mess Overall, the location, the room, the staff, were great, but the noise of the air conditionner in the room was absurd, the craziness of finding a place to eat during breakfast and serving was ridiculous and the insufficiency of the elevators (20 minutes of wait to be able to get down during breakfast rush!!!) was simply not acceptable! April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Very Nice Stay After seeing a great cyber Monday offering on line for the Element, I looked into it and decided to book a room. Having read about the elevator problems, I guess we were lucky to have a second floor room, so we just used the stairs. So, I cannot comment about the elevator! The room was very clean...loved the non-carpeted floors and great bathroom. The bed was beyond comfortable and as our room did not face the street, very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our only problem was the outlet in the bathroom did not work. The Fitness Center looked well equipped and I wish we had more time to use it. We will return! December 7, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but elevators are too small and slow I have stayed at this hotel many times for business and it certainly has many positives. It is a good location, has a mini kitchen including a fridge, microwave and stove. The sell food and beverages downstairs which is nice. My biggest complaint is that the elevators are extremely slow every time I have stayed here. The last time I stayed it took me 15 minutes to from my room down to the lobby because the elevators were packed and slow. To make it worse the staff will use 1 of the 3 elevators basically making it unavailable to the customers. I finally got down to the lobby by going up from 16th to 40th so at least I was on the elevator before it got packed. I wasn't the only one doing this so by the time it reached the top there were 4 people already in the elevator. By the time we got back down to 32nd floor the elevator was full. I will probably never stay here again unless it is my only choice and then only on lower floors so I can walk down. April 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but for one thing I hope this gets to the group that run this chain of hotels,the elevators let the hotel down surely between the hotel and the Irish bar you can invest in building a service elevator which can leave 3elevators free for patrons of the hotel canceling out the majority of complaints,the staff are magnificent ,you're letting them down and bad reviews from patrons isn't help your business much. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by NYC Sites Base of Operations I was initially going to roast this hotel, but then I really started thinking about its merits and some of the other stays I've had in NYC, and came to the conclusion that my stay at Element was uneventful and not noteworthy and that that is a good thing. . . no lost baggage, no snotty concierge, no rude front desk people. In fact, the front desk staff were extremely cordial, housekeeping was patient, and the hospitality staff who restocked breakfast were responsive and helpful. Everything at the hotel went right (and they even upgraded us to a studio room) and I liked it. The location was pretty much perfect for showing someone new to the city Times Square, Fifth Avenue, and Rockefeller Center, and it's a cinch to get anywhere else using the subway. If you want something a little more novel, off-beat, progressive and laid-back, and you are looking for a tourism base of operations, stay at the Element. November 17, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a good hotel for platinum members I stayed two separate times over the last 2 weeks. First time, the reward for a platinum member was a room directly across from the elevators and probably the smallest room on site. Second time, I was made aware that Platinum members do not get a guaranteed room when booking 72 hours in advanced. It is only when there are rooms available which is different than advertised. January 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Hotel *No hot water suddenly,and no contact from hotel before our complaint. *The answer did not come from the hotel manager.(Reply on compensation to the inconvenience of hot water did not come out) *Elevator does not always come. *I asked the taxi to the doorman, I was subject to negotiation of a friend of his taxi(not yellow cab!).I could not believe!!He has a different business. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Ever Had a great stay guys, thanks for the hospitality, staff were always very friendly and helpful, please give Ivory a raise, she is the best! May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location and Staff make it a winner How lucky we were to find this hotel in the middle of NYC. Within walking distance of everything, Penn station, Times Square, Shopping and great restaurants. Staff was so helpful especially Fred the bellman who went above and beyond to make sure all went well. We would definately stay here again. One minor glitch are the slow elevators in the morning rush...plan accordingly November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oasis in the Concrete Jungle The big city moves fast and the staff, surroundings, room amenities, all come together to slow is down and provide the necessary oasis to renew and rejuvenate. The Heavenly Bed, is well heavenly !!! Hors d'oeuvres and a complementary beer at 6:30 pm, and a hot breakfast at 6:30am before heading out to take on the day was terrific. Thank you for the much needed respite. August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What an oasis in a busy part of Manhattan! My daughter and I enjoyed a great seven night stay at Element. What a great find! Our room was heavenly, with a lovely bathroom and kitchen, and a fabulous city-view. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was perfect, and the Happy Hour in the evenings were really fun and a great way to relax about a busy day out! Thanks so much for an awesome stay! We will be back! September 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Suprising Room Amentities We were very pleased to discover a full size refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher, microwave and stove top.In addition,the bed was extremely comfortable and the rain shower very soothing. The roof top was a nice touch for added city views. This Hotel is clean, has a good location and morning breakfast provides hot and cold choices to enjoy. Overall a pleasant stay... August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome stay...the staff is the best! Thank you Ivory for all your help...and Charlie at the front desk. Everyone was awesome during this stay.... August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay at this Hotel My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for a week long vacation to NY. I had covertly reserved a 2nd room for a birthday surprise (her parents coming from South America). The desk staff (Adam) were great.. They did not spill the beans or mention the other room. The staff was always friendly and attentive and were constantly hustling to help guests. The only negatives to this hotel: 1) there are only 3 elevators for 400+ rooms. Getting up and down during peak times was a pain, but we knew about this prior to our stay there. 2) The breakfast buffet always had the same food with no variation. 3) The rooms were a bit small. i.e. had to squeeze between the AC unit and bed to get into bed each night. 4) PCs in the business center were slow or didn't work some of the time. Other then that, we very much enjoyed this hoel.. Location was great and within walking distance of most things we wanted to see. It was clean, quiet and well maintained. October 23, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 35 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>