Find & Book

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Please note that at most Starwood hotels, guests 17 and under are considered children. All other guests are considered adults. You will be told of any hotel-specific differences in this policy on the following page.

Dates(OPTIONAL) Calendar
Check in Check out
When?
Calendar
Where?

Our no-blackout date policy rewards the spontaneous.

Close
  • Join

Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older in order to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 966 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, but hardly green After reading the negative reviews, my expectations were quite low. This is a great hotel, but the staff are extremely green and don't exactly work together. The breakfast scene is straight out of an absurdist movie. The elevator situation is my biggest gripe. The guests complicate the matter my stuffing them way over capacity. The "green" marketing ploy is really annoying and far from authentic. Most of the staff are completely clueless as to what green means. The neighborhood is surprisingly nice, and the "strip club" next door is actually a part of the Hunk-O-Rama chain that markets to suburban heterosexual women...all quite wholesome. January 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great, but the elevator situation is pretty bad Now, I understand it is Easter weekend and the hotel is full, but 3 elevators on a 40 story building is pretty tough. Additionally the Elevators were constantly malfunctioning. I stayed on the 17th floor and watched 5 elevators pass my floor by before I was forced to take the stairs down. Additionally, twice on the ride up, (and this happend to other riders), I would press the floor button see it light up and 2 stops later it would reset, causing my floor to be skipped. In all I probably burnt close to 45 min to 1 hour just dealing with the elevator situation just in 2 nights. The breakfast was a zoo, but that is to be expected. Otherwise the stay was just fine. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a cunning hotel wonderful staff, wonderful fellow guests too. July 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for me! Room was spacious and shower was great. December 7, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Internet pictures are very misleading This is not the hotel you see in the pictures. The pictures show a modern, well maintained, attractive hotel. When you arrive in person, you see everything is quite worn and the furniture is quite cheap. It is the quality of furniture you might find in a two star hotel. Maybe not even that. The lobby couch cushions and pillows were worn and sagging. I didn’t want to touch anything or sit on anything. It just looked dingy and worn. I was shocked and disappointed when I got to my room. The color palate made the room look dingy, old and dirty. The furniture was awkwardly placed where a giant, GIANT flatscreen tv was mounted to a piece of furniture which was flush with the head (not foot!!) of the bed so if you wanted to watch tv, it could only be done by lying in bed and turning on your side and looking up towards the wall behind you. Plus, the tv was so giant and only about a foot away from the bed that it gave me a headache to have it on. The people on the tv were bigger than me and only a foot away from my face. I choose this room for a romantic evening and had planned on meeting my boyfriend in the lounge where a happy hour with light fare was promised. I was embarrassed to meet him there because the furniture was old and worn and the light “cocktail fare” was cafeteria style hamburgers and hotdogs!! That’s the kind of stuff you find in a school cafeteria. I don’t think hotdogs with ketchup make a nice accompaniment to a glass of wine. The breakfast was far more disappointing. The only hot entree choice was a sandwich on a fatty biscuit. Oh, I forgot the pancakes which were so small and thin they were actually crunchy. The only bread option was giant, stale bagels. This is NY where you should have the best bagels!! When I complained about the bread, I was told to toast the bagel and that would take care of how hard it was!! The yogurts were finished, as was the oatmeal. The milk for the coffee was empty. Apples were the only fruit choice. Smoothies were also promised but that was gone as well. There were no breakfast pastries or cheese or meats or other protein of any kind. I struggled to put together a breakfast myself when I saw my only option was a giant, hard, stale bagel. The hotel staff was so inattentive that they didn’t’ notice a homeless person was eating from the buffet. He was very easy to spot from his clothing but also because he kept slipping sandwiches into his pockets and into a paper tote he was carrying. I’m fine with helping out the homeless but this just hows how little the staff is paying attention. The shower in my room leaked. I had a flood on the bathroom floor. I couldn’t call down to the front desk because my phone didn’t work. I had to get dressed and go downstairs where I was told there was nothing wrong with my shower and that there was nothing they could do for me. Housekeeping asked me to be more careful. I asked for a change of room but was refused. The standing light in the room didn’t work. The desk light didn’t work. A few ceiling lights didn’t’ work. The remaining lights were so dark that I had to walk over to the window if I needed to see something. The signal on the elevator was so loud that it woke me up several times during the night. When that wasn’t waking me up, the woman in my adjoining room was waking me up. Why was I given an adjoining room??? I tried to get my room switched but they refused. I tried to make myself a tea in the morning, in the lobby, but they were out of the Earl Grey that I know was there earlier. I figured I would wait for it to be replenished. When I returned a half an hour later not only was it not replenished, all the other black tea options were gone as well. When i went back at checkout, only a few herbal tea bags were left. They provide a decanter of water with orange and lime slices which was really nice but it was empty except for the ice. So what was the point of that? My stay was really sad. I was extremely embarrassed when my guest arrived and I didn’t blame him. I kept apologizing to him for the hotel and the room. I would not recommend this hotel under any circumstances. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite hotel! I just stayed here on 7/13 & i have stayed here a year ago & i am always impressed when i arrive! staff is really friendly & accomodating. right in the middle of timessquare & good price! beautiful comfy rooms i will always stay here when i come to nyc July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hospitality!!! Right from the beginning, all the staff right from the Management team, Front desk, Concierge, Housekeeping staff, to the evening reception hosts were very pleasant and accommodating. Everyone made you feel very welcome and special. Our arrival was at 1 AM, and the Front Desk staff were aware of our late arrival and had our room ready. The room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping services were perfect. All the staff were very pleasant throughout the hotel. The breakfast had both hot & cold items, and were very good. The evening receptions were an excellent additional feature for hotel guests. the hosts were wonderful. I would like to thank both the Management and staff of this Hotel for the excellent service provided. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasantly surprised my 1st time at an Element. Really liked the room layout which is really more like an efficiency, happy to see it had a fridge, sink and stovetop in case I wanted to cook. It was very spacious and yet was clean with modern lines. The view wasn't great but they had good blinds/venetians. Shower pressure was fab, the bed was huge. The parking garage across the street was a plus. Close to Times Square and still a quiet place to rest at the end of the day. June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great time This was or second stay at the Element Times Square and we love this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and in a great location. Also there is a parking garage right next door with great rates for NYC. The Elevators are a little slow first thing in the morning, but other than that they aren't bad. Its because everyone is trying to get down to the 1st floor for the great breakfast (that is included in the price of the room!!) We will back!! See you at Christmas Time with the foster children we discussed with you. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected First I don't know what faults people find with the elevators. Yes there are three and one seems to be eternally out of service. But the rest move on a pace similar to any other hotel. If your on a floor above 30 it may take your 5 minutes to reach the lobby especially if there are stops along the way. Deal with it. Otherwise I was really impressed with my first stay. Clean, modern, and the free wine social is a great touch. One word of caution all rooms with an uptown view can border the elevator shafts which could impact light sleepers. December 5, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Breakfast and elevators are a mess Overall, the location, the room, the staff, were great, but the noise of the air conditionner in the room was absurd, the craziness of finding a place to eat during breakfast and serving was ridiculous and the insufficiency of the elevators (20 minutes of wait to be able to get down during breakfast rush!!!) was simply not acceptable! April 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel has bad service Good location. Fresh water and coffee available all day. The wifi did not work. One elevator was broken first day. You have to wait at least 12 minutes to take the elevator. Once I had to take stairs to go to lobby from 14 floor. Breakfast is available but it is very crowded. I could not get a table and any chairs for my family. The living room was not so clean, pictures look good on website but when you go there things are different. Parking service is not good. You can find better hotels in the area that can offer better parking services. AC is too noisy so I could not sleep well. The room was clean but there were not enough towels in the room. I had to leave hotel earlier due to family emergency; the staff provide me the wrong estimate before departure. Then, they told me that it was a misunderstanding. I asked for the Manager and one person told me that he was manager but I figure out later that he was only an assistant. He did not listen to my complains, I had the impression that he did not care. I will never recommend this hotel to my friends or colleagues. This was my own experience but other people can have better experiences there. I travel a lot for business and pleasure and I have never had a single issue with Westin before. It was one of my favorites hotel. I spoke with customer services and they tried to offer points to compensate and I said that I did not need any points. I would not like to deal with Westin again in the future. I was very happy to leave this hotel because I did not have a nice experience there. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beginning to show wear and tear I completed a one night stay here and was disappointed. While this is NYC and I have plenty of experience in hotel rooms and apartments within the city the rooms here are tiny for a short stay let alone for an extended stay. The property is less than two years old is beginning to show its age with damaged walls, scratched floors, and fixtures in need of repair or replacement. Breakfast offerings were definitely lacking in quantity and quality. While this is my first Element stay, I'm willing to give the brand another try someplace else. January 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Great Surprise `Wow! I don't often write hotel reviews, but I was really impressed by the Element in Midtown. The room was great, the view fantastic and the staff really friendly. (Am I in New York?) But it was the other stuff that impressed me. Breakfast was fantastic. The workout facilities were spacious with new equipment. And four computers in the bank that were convenient and easy to access. I think I paid $220 for the room and by comparison I thought it was a fantastic deal. The next time I'm in Midtown it's the first place I'll check. December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by elevators The elevator situation is terrible. I would never stay there again. up to 40 minute wait on elevator at busy times of day. I had to walk 25 floors sometimes. May 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, great location We love the Element. It's at a great location, close to Times Square. The staff is great. Rooms are clean and comfortable, as you would expect from a Starwood property. Having a kitchenette and a full sized refrigerator is especially helpful for us since we have a toddler with us. My only complaint is the elevator system. There are 3 elevators to service 40 floors and I think the program the elevator system is using is very inefficient. The elevator often skips floors. We wanted over 15 minutes before an elevator finally stopped on our floor. It was going up, we hopped on anyways even though we needed to go down because we weren't sure when the next one would come. April 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing for a Starwood The website says the room "is thoughtfully arranged to meet all your needs". This hotel does not. I would expect te room to have power outlets on the desk and on the bedside tables/lamps; it does not. I would also expect the room would not have a glass top desk, as a mouse won't work on it; It does. In addition, the room looked worn, even though the hotel is a year old. The bed looked like it had been sat on, and there was a sticker stuck on my door. November 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but elevators are too small and slow I have stayed at this hotel many times for business and it certainly has many positives. It is a good location, has a mini kitchen including a fridge, microwave and stove. The sell food and beverages downstairs which is nice. My biggest complaint is that the elevators are extremely slow every time I have stayed here. The last time I stayed it took me 15 minutes to from my room down to the lobby because the elevators were packed and slow. To make it worse the staff will use 1 of the 3 elevators basically making it unavailable to the customers. I finally got down to the lobby by going up from 16th to 40th so at least I was on the elevator before it got packed. I wasn't the only one doing this so by the time it reached the top there were 4 people already in the elevator. By the time we got back down to 32nd floor the elevator was full. I will probably never stay here again unless it is my only choice and then only on lower floors so I can walk down. April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place, Great Staff! My husband and I stayed at the Element Times Square Hotel in November 2013 and we could not have been happier with the choice of hotel for our 5 night stay in New York. The hotel is very well located for Times Square and other main attractions in the city and having the Port Authority Terminal only a couple of minutes walk away was great, especially after a long day of sightseeing! The staff make this hotel extra special and we would particularly like to thank Marquis at the Front Desk who was extremely helpful during our stay and always greeted us with a friendly smile whenever we passed through the foyer. I hope he goes a long way in the hospitality industry as he is a great asset! All of the staff were excellent and the advantage of a small Front Desk area is that you can get to know the staff. We were very impressed with the maintenence staff as well as we called down about a small issue in our room and a staff member was there within a few minutes and was not at all fazed when we discovered that the issue was something that was actually our mistake and there was nothing wrong with the room at all. The room was even better than we hoped for with plenty of space for a New York hotel, a very comfortable bed and pillows and the bonus of having a small kitchen was really good. We didn't actually cook a meal but it was nice to have crockery and cutlery for snacks and drinks and also a full size refrigerator as well as a microwave to heat up a take-out meal. The included breakfast was another bonus with plenty of choice and was kept continually topped up. It was crowded but we had no trouble finding somewhere to sit and we actually found the activity in the dining area each morning gave us a good start to the day. The happy hour food and drinks is a big plus as is the tea, coffee, hot chocolate and sometimes fruit available in the foyer area all day and also the pantry where we could purchase basic supplies. Such great unusual touches like this make the property stand out - obviously a lot of thought was put in when building this hotel. The roof terrace provides nice views of the city. The limited number of elevators can make for a bit of a wait during peak time but it didn't really bother us much as everything else was so perfect. We would definitely stay at the Element Times Square Hotel on any future trips to New York and have already recommended it to other people including our traval agent who will be passing our recommendation on to her clients (we actualy made our booking online ourselves). Thank you for helping make our trip to New York a very special experience! January 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Services and Poor Hospitality This hotel, or I should say this "inn" is incredible rubbish. Don't stay if I were you and I am sure I will never stay at this "Element" brand hotel within the SPG group. I booked this hotel and used a Suite Night Award for upgrading to a Suite. A written confirmation received and confirmed such upgrade, One Night Award has been deducted from my account. My terrible story was when I check-in in the morning, the front desk guy told me that the suite was not yet available, asked me to store my luggage with their concirerge and come back after 4pm, as all suite has been occupied by the "P" and "Gold member". I understood the situation as a "P" member normally would check out at 4pm so I took his advice to come back after dinner time. When I back to the hotel, the front desk people took almost 15 minutes to check-in, I felt that something wrong with my booking however they said that no problem and just kept me wait. I got a key then went to my room, I found that it is not a suite and just a "better view" room. Then I back to the reception would like to find out what was happening. The night shift people said that they do not have an upgrade in their system even though I show them my written confirmation. No solution at all and they asked me to wait for the manager to come back whose were not in the hotel. Kept me waited for another 20 minutes, the manager said that they do not participate on this Suite night award program and they gave me an upgrade to a better view room as a courtesy. She believed that was something wrong with SPG and quoted that Element / Aloft are not participating, asked me to check with SPG myself. I checked the T&C of Suite Night Award, Clause 11 stated that certain Element / Aloft are not in this program. However I think that obviously someone overlooked in a day and oversold the suites. Secondly, if they are not participating how come in the morning they said that suite would be available after 4pm for me. Thirdly, how come I would receive the upgrade confirmation and an award deducted from my account if they are not in this program. Too many unknown and I found that this hotel is refused to make it correct. I really don't understand why this hotel rated as Cat 5 hotel, to me it maximum is Cat 3. November 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin experience I had the worst Westin, worst hotel experience here. What a shame it's called "Westin." The worst experience started before checking in. I wrote on my reservation request, and called the hotel from Japan, asking if it is possible to leave my luggage for 2 days prior to my reservation date. (I arrived NYC from Chicago first but had to go to another town for a couple of days.) Traveling with a small child, this was an important issue that I didn't have to drag 2 big suitcases by myself. This was a reason why I picked "Westin." I didn't hear back on my reservation request so I called. A woman at the front put me on hold, then she said "Yes, you may!" Then when I showed up with my suitcases, everyone looked puzzled. A woman who called herself a manager showed up and said that they did not keep any luggage for hold. Then she said it was my fault. I should have gotten a name of the person I talked to on the phone. (Aren't you supposed to log all the phone requests from your upcoming guests?) She sent us back on the streets with our big luggages to go to a neighborhood luggage storage shop. I just could not believe how rude and unwelcoming she was as a manager of a Westin hotel. She asked me how many nights we were staying before making her decision about whether or not she should let her staff to help us drag our suitcases to the storage shop. She even said "this is NOT A REGULAR WESTIN so don't expect us to give you the same service." Seriously? Then this element should not carry a "Westin" label! I really wanted to change my hotel at that point but I was in transit. Also I thought it could not go worse than where we were at that point... but I was wrong. I checked in, then I had a room on the second floor. Shower did not get hot (it was so cold that my daughter was shivering after shower) and also it always leaked water outside the bathroom. Shower water was fixed the next day, but leakage was still happening. BUT THEY DID NOT CHANGE OUR ROOM! I had to put towels underneath the bathroom door every time we showered. That bathroom needs rebuilding. Unless it's fixed, nobody should pay money to stay in that room!! December 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the price, but slow elevators For the most part, I enjoyed my stay at the Element Times Square West last weekend, but there were a couple of areas that would have made my stay more enjoyable. I'll lead with the pro's... The room was relatively spacious for a taller, big city hotel. The location is just outside the main Times Square area and was very convenient for walking to Times Square and the Broadway area, and the Rockefeller Center area was also a manageable walk. The 40th-42nd Street subway station is very close by as well to get to other parts of the city. The kitchenette was great and would be even more useful for a more extended stay than my 2 days. The view ("Standard City View" on 31st floor) was good - we could see the Empire State Building unobstructed. The bed was relatively comfortable and the wireless speed was pretty typical of any other hotel (a little slow, but I'm used to it at every other hotel I've stayed at). I really liked the accommodations overall, and thought the price was very good for the location and quality of the rooms. That all being said, there were a few things that would have made my stay more enjoyable. First, there are only three pretty small elevators, and usually only two are running. Being on the 31st floor, I waited about 5-7 minutes for the elevator to even come to our floor on multiple occasions. I overheard a couple say they liked the hotel but this bothered them enough that they weren't planning to stay there again. The free breakfast was great, but it was very crowded and not set up in the most convenient fashion - people were crowding the counters, and the coffee area could be set up much better logistically than it was. Finally, we happened to be there during a big "nor'easter" snowstorm and it would have been great to be able to throw our clothes in the dryer, and I called down to ask about where the laundry room was... they said it was downstairs, so I went all the way down to the cellar level (this was also one of the times the elevator took 5-7 minutes to arrive) with our pile of wet clothes... and the laundry room was "out of service". Would have been nice to know that before I went down 31 floors! Overall though, I would probably stay at this hotel again if only for the fact that it was a good value and location, the room was clean and I slept well, and the hotel was not at all sketchy. Just wish the elevators worked better! November 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was way beyond what we expected. A++++ From the moment we checked in to the day we checked out, the Element Times Square had outstanding customer service. Mr. Lee at the front desk was extremely helpful and professiional upon check in. Throughout the week we were greeted and helped at breakfast and afternoon social by Russell. He was very friendly and helpful beyond our expectations. We even got to talk to Mr. Young the Manager of the Hotel. When we met him, he was wearing an apron and helping with the snacks and drinks. Talk about hands on....outsanding. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends traveling to NYC and we will return shortly. Thanks again. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Elevators The elevators are not working properly at Rush Hour (mornings and evenings). I suggest you look at their programmin to make them not stop at every floor when they are full. Otherwisem great experience. April 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty room and broken a/c The stay started off great with a very friendly staff. Then inarrived in the room and it was great for a nyc hotel room. It was all downhill from there. The second day of my stay the room was filthy after being cleaned. There was dirt on the A/C, the sheets were wrinkled and the bed was not made correctly. In addition the floors were also dirty. To add to it all, the A/C stopped working, but it was fixed after i let the front desk know. Given how filthy the room was, i cant imagine ever staying here again. June 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value & Good Location This hotel is good value. The complimentary breakfast and cocktail hours are cost effective ways to enjoy New York. The rooms are large by NY standards and the kitchenette is a big bonus. Near full size fridge and freezer along with a microwave. Bed is very comfortable and the rainfall shower is divine. Location is excellent as it is fairly central for those wanting to tour the lower parts of Manhatten yet still close to the Theatre District. The only negative is the 3 cramped elevator's that service the 40 storey hotel. By the 3rd and 4th day of our stay this became very annoying. Other than that i would definitely recommend this hotel. August 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Clean Hotel. Great Staff. Great Location We were kindly greeted way before check-in time by Ivory she told us where to park our car and then told us to have breakfast and not head out the door to see NY on an empty stomach. When we returned to check in everything was ready and we checked in within 5 minutes. Our room and view were amazing! We could not have been happier. The breakfast was great and the cocktail hour was amazing! Will be back within the year. July 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed with this SPG property I thought for sure I had found a gem of a hotel when I booked this. Close to my conference, good location. Pics of the rooms looked updated and nice. Really liked the little kitchenette. Once I got there I realized what the "gotchas" were. First of all the elevator situation was completely unacceptable. 3 postage stamp size elevators serving 40 floors. One stack of rooms, the 09 stack is in the middle of two elevators. Beware of that. I waited as long as 15 minutes for an elevator to come to my floor. The rooms are not well kept. They look nice as far as the facade, but you can tell its like putting lipstick on a pig. The shower was dirty and the water pressure was non-existent on the 11th floor. No room service, breakfast buffet was not well kept or even good and too crowded. The absolute deal breaker though is the fact that W. 39th is a very shady street. I left the hotel to go to the airport at about 4:30am and I was shocked to see a whole group of hookers strutting their stuff picking up johns within 15 feet of the lobby door. I could not believe it. I asked the uber driver who took me to the airport if that was normal and he said, "yes, for this street at this hour unfortunately yes." It was disgusting. SPG should have security and a deal with the NYPD to clean this block up. I could also see that down the street were a group of men who looked to be dealing drugs. Just downright scary! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by GOOD CENTRAL HOTEL Nice room, on a low floor unfortunalely. Good free brakfast and evenng reception. Good exersise facilities. Main grumble: totally insufficient elevator capacity. We waited 15 minutes for the elevator (eith luggage). The only way to get down from the 5 floor with luggage turned out to be to tak ethe elevator to the top floor. Close to many good restaurants on 9 Ave a decided plus. I can recommend Tavola, but there seems to be many other. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The little things really add up here This is a great hotel for day trips throughout the city. The free WiFi made for easy planning and the breakfasts were a must to start the day. Complementary coffee in the lobby saved us a lot of money as well! Free daily reception made for a welcome break at the end of a busy day. Great location if you don't mind the crowds of Midtown. Two down sides are: 1. The long waits for elevators (only 3 for 40 floors and they all service all floors) 2. The lobby area was always crowded and cluttered (partly due to people waiting for elevators and the over crowding during breakfast). This space could use some renovations to feel more welcoming. March 13, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 33 next>>