The Andaman, a Luxury Collection Resort, Langkawi

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 319 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a 5 star hotel experience The hotel has a great location but the experience left me feeling a little disappointed. Maybe I am being too critical though, our kids seemed to enjoy themselves and there was nothing really terrible about our stay, just lots of little grievances that left me feeling short changed. July 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelent Hotel, Staff & Location - Great Holiday Absolutely great property with amazing facilities, natural beach access 5 meters away from the pool. Staff are very friendly, professional and attentive to details - they remember your name, what drink you like for breakfast etc... Great selection of food both for adults and kids (some more spicy Malaysian would be good but for international travellers it's great). So overall, a very well managed property, showing little age but highly recommended for someone looking for a quiet holiday. July 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Internet wifi My only point in an otherwise excellent stay was a very poor wifi service that mostly didn't work or was very slow. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent features all quality. This hotel is highly recommended. The position is pristine. The facilities and service are friendly yet professional. Will definitely visit again for a longer stay. July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but rooms need improvement We were there for 2 nights. The room was not in good condition - paint peeling off the wall, wifi connectivity was not good and the shower facilities were too complicated to even turn on hot water. On the positive side, the massage at the spa was excellent. Breakfast buffet had a great spread and staff were friendly. The beach is also nice and quiet. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful hotel We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and we had a great time. All the staff, the facilities and services were top noch. The rooms were large and comfortable, the bathrooms very clean and all comforts at our fingertips, including the wifi access, DVD for the kids to enjoy and lovely outlook. The pool was a highlight to the kids where they met lots of new friends, they loved the slid so much, you could't get them out of there!. The beach stunning with its corals, its lovely long walks abundant with wildlife and stunning views. If I have only one constructive complaint it would be to have more local food available at the restaurants as I love Malaysian food and felt that it was under-represented. We would return there any time. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Vacation My family and I had the best time at Andaman. It was a true dream holiday for all of us. We love everything about it and would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice surprises having last stayed in 2009 ... Overall excellent hotel. Nice upgrades since 2009, best of all the Jala restaurant where the chef does amazing things. Stayed in a third floor Deluxe Room, nicer than our Deluxe Room in 2009 owing to a bathroom refurbishment but could have done with some more simpler improvements (i.e. replacement of knackered lamp shades etc). Only complaint really was with the dining. Absolutely loved the food we were served, particularly in the Jala restaurant, however it was quite a shame that on each visit many menu items (sides, mains, seafood from the counter) were already sold out. I found this particularly difficult to understand given we had seen only a few diners each time when we left the beach at c. 7pm, and we did not think our reservation was particularly late at 9pm. This happened to us both times that we dined at Jala and the one time we dined at the Japanese restaurant. Never before have I been to a Japanese restaurant where they've run out of salmon! It definitely put a dampner on things. Overall though, I would certainly come back again if I found myself back in Langkawi), but perhaps dine out of the hotel more regularly (also because each time we were sat in very empty restaurants - it seems The Andaman is more suited to those who like to eat dinner early ... opposite to what we experienced the one time we ate at hotel next door for example, so at least we had that benefit inc easy cross signing). Lastly, our stay was made all the better by the lovely Sri Ulina (I really hope I took her name down correctly from her name badge). Always there with a smile and good chat at breakfast and again at dinner at Jala restaurant. She was lovely, pleasant company, and really made a difference whenever she was our waitress at dinner (and also used to pop over even when she wasn't tending to our table), sort of made up for the empty restaurant! A first class service so thank you for that. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A place to relax. We had been offered an upgrade to Luxury Pool Access Rooms as a Platinum Elite Member. The room provide a private deck access to private pool which is marvellous. The hotel is surround by tropical jungle beside the beach which is quite a nice place to relax. You can see lots of wild animals like monkeys, lizards, bats, etc. July 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok good but too old,need to renew July 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoy & Relax Pros 1. Good courtesy service 2. Great private clean beach 3. Resort with good natural view 4. Good in room coffee maker and tea bag Cons 1. Poor WIFI signal in room 2. Not standardize in room amenities provided 3. Poor bathtub finishing might injured user 4. Poor Satellite TV channel June 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Location but Nothing else Meets Expectations Its a good hotel location, but facilities are largely just about 3 star standards. June 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some Pointers I really enjoyed my experience! The staff was very friendly, the hotel was clean, the area is beautiful! I would however strongly suggest that you take the time to thin the vegetation around the property! I would have enjoyed sun bathing next to the pool but, because of the vegetation round it, there were very few places to get sun. I’d also suggest that the lounge chairs around the pool and on the beach be pressure washed! I also found the food at the Jala restaurant to be very good quality but the portions were WAY too small! June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful , We had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, It is a really fantastic hotel. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel at great location Great hotel in an outstanding natural environment, with friendly staff and good food. What elso do you want? For someone who is looking for relaxing vacation, this is the place to go. On the other hand: It is not a good place for someone who is looking for party, night activites or shopping. June 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shoddy hotel, great location & staff This is a pretty unique SPG property, located in the middle of a rainforest. It’s a 30 minute ride from the airport, which cost 90MYR via the hotel. The hotel has an impressive open lobby, and I was greeted warmly as a platinum member, along with a ginger-based welcome drink. The hotel is currently renovating the entire North Wing, so half the rooms are not available. As such, suite upgrades are hard to come by. I was upgraded to a Luxury Room, which is on the first floor, with access to a semi-private (you share it with 5 other rooms) pool. It’s clean and lit up really nice at night, but as people swim by, there’s not much privacy. The room itself has a rustic feel, with a below average build quality, which was disappointing. You can clearly hear conversations from outside and your neighbors, and there was a gap in the sliding glass doors allowing bugs to get in. The front door wouldn’t close all the way without giving it a firm tug, the bathroom door wouldn’t stay closed, the shower temperature knob broke, the sink stopper was jammed, and sewage odors would leak into the room. In addition, shower pressure was extremely low. The worksmanship in the bathroom was also pretty sloppy. And the hotel says that the Luxury Room is newly renovated? If I return, I’d definitely want a North Wing room. Bottled water isn’t provided in an effort to be more “green”. Instead, there’s a clay jug that’s refilled everyday. I’m not sure how hygienic it is (are those jugs ever cleaned?), but I still would prefer the bottled water. For you city slickers, you’re in the middle of a rainforest, so you’ll have plenty of bugs to swat in your room. But don’t worry, the room has plenty of magazines! There’s also a high-pitched whine from hundreds of….some sort of insect, that got to be annoying at times. But it went away at night. The hotel has a business center (complete with mini-library), decent-sized gym that’s open 24/7, and has a tour and spa desk. There are half a dozen wildlife tours to sign up for, and tend to be half day ventures. Hiring a driver from the hotel is 210MYR for 4 hours. Breakfast can be had in the main restaurant, which opens at 7am. There is a bewildering array of offerings, but at the expense of quality. For example, the breads and pastries were stale, and noodles were overcooked. Aside from the chicken curry, I can’t say anything else really stood out. On the flip side, everything I ordered via room service was of great quality, and tasted great! I have mixed feelings about this property. While it’s in a really unique area and has a great concept, I feel that execution in general could have been done a lot better. Is it up to Luxury Collection Standards? No - the room construction is clearly subpar, although the staff are terrific. In the end, I’d recommend going for the location, and not the property. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3 Nights in Langkawi (Andaman) A great resort with excellent amenities. The service was impeccable, and every interaction we had with the staff was friendly, and professional. The F&B Manager (Teufik), also opened the breakfast buffet earlier on our departure day for us to enjoy their world-class breakfast, which exceeded our expectation, and left a great impression on my family, who had two rooms for three nights. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location, fantastic staff! We had a wonderful stay here, with many thanks to Ariyanto, the F&B Manager, and all the chefs and staff, for looking after my Coeliac children so well! Gluten-free bread was baked each day for us, as well as gluten-free cupcakes at breakfast (a first experience for my children who usually don't enjoy breakfast as it is full of food they want but cannot eat). The location is outstanding but it is the well-trained and happy staff that make it a 5-star experience. Thank You! June 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely location, unworthy of 5 star rating Not usually bothered by a few minor things missing however this added up in the end for me- to the point where it was noticeable and affected my impression of the hotel. Check in issues as my room wasn't ready (after 4.30) Waited 20 mins.No water in the room and took an hour to deliver, no bathrobe and slippers, coffee machine not working-but was quickly fixed, daily housekeeping slightly substandard as towels/washcloths and sanitary bags not replenished. Ordered fried fish as a snack at the bar and smelt a little funny- when I queried about the freshness of it the staff did check for me and advised it was fresh from the market but not from the fishermans catch. Stomach Feeling a dodgy the next day... All in all a lovely location. Beach could be cleaner although I did see staff picking up rubbish a few times, it seems to gather constantly. Staff were nice and friendly. All in all I would say that for 5 star prices, I would expect the little things to be looked after without needing to call housekeeping so often and waiting for a slow service. The room is nice- wish there was a balcony to enjoy the view. Pool opening hours too limited May 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Luxury Collection - Really? This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic setting, however, the service levels remains questionable. The issues were mainly with The Restaurant at dinner time on our first night as well as the daily housekeeping service for the room. For The Restaurant, the dinner service was disorganized to the point that the actual dinner took 3 hrs to complete. The other was that for the first 2 days, housekeeping only serviced the room after 4pm on the first day - and on the 2nd day at 5pm. This seems a tad late by any hotel in comparison globally. Perhaps what we can't understand is that during our stay we constantly reminded that the hotel was only 40% full due to the renovations at the north wing - we would hate to imagine how the staff would cope if it was at 100%. We reported this to the relevant parties and eventually all the issues were ironed out - hopefully by design and not by chance. What would have been a nice touch was that - if a senior manager could have just followed up with us to personally inquire if everything was satisfactory in the end. Instead it feels like our inconvenience was just rectified to the barest requirement by the hotel to qualify its very minimum obligation to a paying guest. On the plus side, however, the quality of the food itself and the spa -were definitely something to write home about. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great view The view at this hotel is spectacular. It is very quiet, only the sounds of waves. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Idyllic tropical retreat Hotel very clean, feels quite exclusive and isolated which is nice, great pool, great beach bar food and service, friendly staff attentive when asked for assistance. Good buffet breakfast. Very poor air conditioning in room, was set at 18 degrees C , room temp never got below 23, we complained and was given another room, but same thing! A/C not working efficiently, engineer did look at it, but not really any better. Poor wifi signal throughout hotel and room, only allows 2 pieces of equipment to log on. It's time all hotels improved their wifi facilities. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good food (Seafood) & beautiful beach It was an excellent experience with The Andaman Resort, Langkawi. From the time of our arrival until departure, we were well taken care by all the dedicated & courteous resort staff especially from reception, room service, F&B waiters & waitresses. We had a great time at the beach, my two young children had a good time building sand castle. They like the activities organised by the kid's club too. They enjoyed the water slide at the pool very much. Beautiful Pool. We would like to take this opportunity to convey our sincere thanks to the Front Office Manager Mr Hiew for solving all the minor disputes on details of the ALL INCLUSIVE Package. Most if not all our requests were met during our extended stay of 4 days 3 night. We also like to compliment on the quality and freshness of the restaurant foods. They were excellent & awesome beyond description esecally at The Jala Restaurant , We visited the Jala restaurant twice during our stay as the seafood served there are fresh from the sea daily . Japanese Restaurant, THE Resraurant & Beach Bar but Tepian Laut needs improvement on freshness. This could be due to storage or turnover of selected type of raw materials e.g. chicken wings, frozen fillet / fish, etc. On the facilities inside the hotel room, everything is excellent except the control of the temperature of water / shower. It is not so user friendly especially for the kids it may cause serious burn on the skin due to hot water. Overall, we are very happy and satisfying with the experience at The Andaman Resort, Langkawi. We will definitely return again. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel and nice staff Everything is great. I was upgraded to executive suite, which was totally out of my expectation. Hotel staff are very friendly. Everything is perfect except the internet. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you're looking for a quiet getaway A lovely resort. Although the furnishings in the rooms are a little dated and refurbishments are required, it still provides a very warm and comfortable ambiance. More importantly, it's the staffs at Andaman that works the magic and provides one of the best services in Malaysia. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location in the Rainforest We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms are a little dark due to the fact that they facing the rain forest and that the interior is pretty dark. However half of the hotel will go under refurbishment. Good spot especially if you on vacation with your kids, nice swimming pool, monkeys and other wild animals around the hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by An excellent place to get stranded on an island This place lives up to the SPG name. The room was impeccable. Small extra touches such as lighting a little tealight candle in the bathroom for our arrival was appreciated. The bed was very very comfortable. The surroundings covered by lush mature greenery was a sight for sore eyes. The beach was clean and private. The staff were always friendly and ready to accommodate. Just a thing or two which was not up to par. The breakfast buffet could do better. The food was not 5 star standard (eg the nasi lemak rice was too hard - perhaps undercooked and the roti canai tasted as if it came from the frozen pack). Worse still, there were flies hovering the food. A big turn off. As we were still having our breakfast at 10 30am, we had constant reminders from the staff that we had to leave soon as they had to prepare for lunch. I would think one reminder would have been sufficient. We also had a staff come into our room in the morning to check the fridge. We felt that was a little inappropriate as we did not enjoy the interruption. The beach itself was littered with dead corals making it not easy to walk or swim in the shallow waters. My husband and I both had cuts resulting from our attempts to wade in the sea. For this, I do not think the hotel is to be held responsible but just a note to other interested swimmers to be careful. Even so, we loved the Coral Nursery. We loved the swimming pool too which was a great compensation for the beach. It's lovely to have large trees hovering over us at the pool while we do not find many plant debris in the pool (great maintenance) Overall, we had an excellent time there. Because of this lovely experience, we are determined to try out other SPG hotels and if we were to return to Langkawi, we would definitely stay in The Andaman again. As for now, I am already showing off my pictures taken at the hotel and recommending it to all my friends at work! May 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel with great environment Overall rating of hotel is very good. Although from outside hotel would need some touch of paint. Maybe due to the humid and rain forest environment. Nice and quite environment. Great beach and forest. Really relaxing. Staff very friendly in particular one front desk manager who organized our onward stay in K/L has been very professional. The guests evening gathering and cocktail party near the beach was also great. Good initiative. Unfortunately the service in some of the dining areas was missing a little bit of efficiency. However Food was great. Your Yoga teacher deserves also a great thank. Very instructive and helpful tips in a very relaxing atmosphere. Activity program and excursions program great. Many thanks for having made our stay pleasant and relaxing. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would def go back Hard to fault this place apart from some rooms being very far from lobby. Great breakfast! May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the resort needs a mini mart I beleive ths resort need a min mart to supply ice creams/lollies packaged wine and beer.The mini bar is too expensive and not needed April 29, 2013
  • 2016-07-27 T10:50:50.206-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_319, tr_319
  • loc_en_US, sid_3528, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>