The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston

  • 215 Charles Street
  • Boston,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02114
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 695 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful place to stay My significant other and I decided to stay at the Liberty for our trip to Boston and it was the right choice. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were clean and modern. Management was extremely helpful, answering our questions prior to our arrival and then greeting us with amenities above our expectations. We also enjoyed our time at the hotel restaurant Clink, where we experienced impeccable service from their staff for each day of our stay. Overall I would highly recommend the hotel not only for its amazing facilities but the great service. August 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great design and staff, lacks maintenance I love this hotel. The design and feel of it is amazing, but there are a few issues, here are the bullet points -The room service is quite disappointing (it is pretty bad). -The staff are very friendly but they seem understaffed because a lot of requests were left unattended to. -Shower was very week. -TV is quite amazing -Lounge is amazing -Mood and feel of the hotel is unique -Walls are quite thin -The service is slow - A lot of things aren't working well (scale, phone, safe, power outlets) -The rooms are modern and very clean March 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Troyboy1 We checked into the hotel early 4/21 after arriving from Nashville for a MGH medical conference. It took several days to realize why our room 1109 had no counter space; it was a handicappped room. We did not request a handicapped room and were not asked if this was satisfactory. Reservations were made several weeks in advance and our early arrival insured that a regular king-nonsmoking room was available. By not being informed that we may have had a choice of rooms, I am disappointed that I was not informed of this upon checkin. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall enjoyable. I stayed at the Liberty on Thursday, January 17th, 2013. Attentive staff, inviting common areas, and a common pride in the development of luxury hotel from a rather grim jail - but you won't be staying in a converted jail or cell, the rooms are nicely configured for relaxation. My room was spotless - the bathroom was spotless - this is important to me. The Liberty is billed as a luxury hotel, and it is, so the price is what it is. I booked directly through the hotel for one rate that wasn't available, so they offered an alternate upgraded package. It was more expensive, but in my opinion the Winter Wonderland package with full breakfast and a few perks was not a bad deal. Don't rush in and out, take the time to enjoy your stay - and you will. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Daughter's 21st Birthday Gave our daughter a night at the Liberty Hotel in Boston with friends for her 21st Birthday. I had a number of emails between the reservations professional and the Manager of CLINK. This was just a little overnight for my girl but Liberty treated every question and request with respect. She had a wonderful time, and the staff treated her and her guests to complimentary champagne to celebrate. I was a little jealous I was not part of the fun. Looks like my husband and I will have to make a reservations for ourselves! Thank you Liberty Hotel!!! February 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Washington's Bday Weekend at the Liberty This was our fourth stay at your hotel--so obviously we are fans. We love the staff and the location is perfect for our needs. We have stayed there twice this year already. I have noticed a few things that I think could be improved upon. In our very technological world I think the guest rooms could use a few more outlets. And depending where you stay in the hotel some of the rooms have the natural light blocked by the hospital buildings. So additional sources of light should be considered. With these improvements it would be an amazing place. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent except for one instance of bad service - still not sure if it was Liberty or SPG Excellent except for one instance of bad service - still not sure if it was Liberty or SPG. Booked my stay so I could be close to Mass General while my husband had heart surgery. Everything was wonderful until i tried to extend my stay because my husband wanted me with him. I was given the run around by one or both Liberty and SPG about using my points and someone not wanting to give me my fifth night free. I had just had the most stressful week of my life and I they wanted me to do a conferance call to get it worked out WELL lets just say I am sure this could have been handled without invoving me. so i chose to pack my bags and go home to NH and commute for the last 3 days of his stay at MGH - Can you say inconvenient?!!!! Thanks for nothing. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is great for a getaway from your busy life. Great Hotel-Best fun-Great location. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A+ Service! This was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The hotel it's self is gorgeous. The history is so interesting. It's so convenient. Literally right next to the subway. The staff is what really made it amazing though. The first Teresa we met at the front desk was friendly and welcoming. The second Teresa was so great!!! What customer service!! We felt like Princesses. They gave us Cava when we arrived and made sure we had everything we needed. The valet and baggage guys were so nice and helpful. The Concierge, (short blonde hair) was very helpful and knowledgable about Boston. The bartenders and waitresses were great too. The staff is obviously hand-picked to perfection. It was a wonderful experience. I wish we could have stayed longer! August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service, room could use some work I was so thankful to Jeremy at the front desk who was overly helpful in finding us a great room. In addition- Prince was very kind to show us to our room and make sure we were fully satisfied. I noticed, however once we settled in, that the room was terribly dusty on basic surfaces like the desk and the night stand. It was evident the surfaces had not been cleaned in quite some time which was a bit concerning. I had booked the room for a client so I ended up just wiping down the surfaces myself so they could have an enjoyable experience. May 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun experience Really unique hotel!! This was our 4th stay. We are always amused by the night life scene in the Lobby. There was a bouncer at the entrance to the Hotel. When we got back from a Concert he checked us us to be sure we were worthy to enter! A little intense for a Hotel guest, but understandable since there were hundreds of drinking people milling about. The dining serving staff is a little uninformed and not too willing to ask the chef about the menu regarding specific allergens and ingredients, that was surprising that I had to insist! November 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just like old times at the jail I am a nurse who decided to try the Liberty Hotel because I had to be back at work early in the am after working late into the night. Really I just wanted to sleep. There was a live rock band playing in what used to be the Citadel. I got a very generous discount that I truly appreciated. My room was right off the Citadel and very noisey. I didnt fall asleep until until afer 2am because of the band, dish clean up, other patrons near my door discussing plans of the evening. All in all not worth the discount for me and will not be back. September 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by jailhouse hotel was interesting, but service was lacking didn't get offered any help when pulling into valet, or when we used or car in between. for $47/ night valet fee, I expect more service than that, and a greeting by name like the four seasons. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reunion Event We stayed at The Liberty during my college reunion. The entire stay was an outstanding experience: from check-in to check-out, the staff was unfailingly courteous and attentive, the public spaces were striking, the rooms and food wonderful. One note I particularly appreciated was when I needed to get to the Back Bay at 7 pm, and no taxis were available, I was offered a ride in one of the hotel's cars, which promptly brought me to my appointment. I would strongly recommend The Liberty to friends, and I look forward to returning. June 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel was one of the best I've seen! What an amazing time we had celebrating our 40th birthdays and we owe it all to the staff at the Liberty Hotel in Boston. From check in with a warm greeting from Brian and Thomas (and a glass of champagne) to check out with Jennifer, we were treated like we were old friends and they genuinely cared if we were having fun and took care of our every need! I have been traveling and managing hotels for many years and this is one of the best hotel staff I have encountered in some time. They are very professional and really friendly which made us feel comfortable and right at home. Kudos especially to Brian who kept me updated via email on an amenity I asked him to place in my friend's room. I never expected these extra touches and it was very much appreciated. We also dined in Clink and were a large party and they took very good care of us there as well. Thank you all for making our 40th a weekend to remember!! And we'll be sure to tell our friends that this is the hotel to stay when in Boston! June 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor quality Long check in lines (30mins plus), rooms mediocre, food and service well below expectations. Expensive for this type of hotel. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPG platinum does not mean anything to this hotel The liberty hotel is a great place for a drink or to meet friends or to just hang out in the beautiful lobby. But the hotel rooms (for a luxury hotel) are not up to snuff. As a platinum member I was not upgraded (at all!) and put in a room with a wonderful view of the back of a building. When I mentioned this to the staff they sort of shrugged and told me there wasnt anything they could do about it. I had to wait twice at check in counter (as there wasnt anyone around) and I was not at all satisfied with the value for money. October 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service!! Hotel was great! Excellent service from everyone including the concierge, doorman, front desk, conference planners, etc... Food was also very good! My only issue was the "business center". It consisted of 2 old black & white printers and monitors. Took 10 mins just for the monitor to warm up. Needs updating badly. Appreciated that they didn't charge for the copies I needed. Other than that - great place for a meeting. June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel The staff was outstanding in their competence and friendliness. Their attitude seemed to be truly focused on what they could do to make our stay more pleasant-----at reception, at Clink for cocktails, then again at Clink for dinner, everywhere. While we're Boston suburbanites we've already talked about spending a weekend at the Liberty just for fun. While we're obviously enthusiastic about your hotel, please do not use our comments for advertising purposes with attribution. You should be proud of your building and staff. January 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by One night stay Hotel was quite good on most accounts. Staff was accommodating if a bit slow at check-in. Value can be good if you keep an eye out for last minute deals. June 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice historic bldg and location Love the historic building, got a room in the new wing so it was nice and quiet. Amazing view and great bathroom. Staff was very friendly and got us a difficult last minute reservation, with a great table. Bed was not as comfortable as our heavenly bed at home and seemed smaller than a regulation king, not sure if that's even possible. Otherwise room was great. It is definitely a "scene" on weekend nights so be ready for that. We got a good deal on rates so I would come back, but probably not for the typical room rates. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is amazing Jill really went out of her way to make my weekend stay with friends amazing! I honestly couldn't have expected a better welcome and more pleasant stay. Even when Jill wasn't available, she made sure everything was taken care of and it was honestly one of the nicest experiences I've had staying anywhere. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Location and Fantastic Hotel Environment The Liberty Hotel is a unique experience. It is located strategically in the heart of Boston with direct access to Cambridge, Beacon Hill and the South End. The environment in the hotel is very warm and friendly. The staff is excellent and very responsive to any inquiries and requests. The environment is dynamic with many friendly faces throughout the public areas all day and night. The rooms are totally soundproof and enable one to get a great night's rest. The Liberty Hotel is the place to stay in downtown Boston. November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trendy hotel is the life of the party We held a bachlorette party this weekend at the Liberty hotel. It was the perfect location - central to downtown Boston and with a fun bar of its own. Staff was very helpful with the registration - plus the glass of cava was a nice touch. The rooms were very nice with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was perfect - large with both a tub and a shower. We ate at the bar upstairs twice and enjoyed our food both times. Added bonus - getting into the bar Alibi without standing in line! All in all a very good experience. February 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Really disappointed! OK, I won’t argue the lobby is great and it has a real fun atmosphere, it is hip and cool, however that all changes when you get up to the room. I opted for the Charles River Suite thinking the luxury would be extended to not only all rooms but especially a suite. I was sadly mistaken. 1. The carpet in the suite is filthy, stained and just looks dirty. 2. The carpet in the bedroom had a huge red wine stain right next to the bed- very visible 3. The furniture aside from being dusty, was cheap and old with many scratches and chips 4. Two bedroom chairs (you can actually see them on the hotel website)-were dirty and stained-I have seen cleaner furniture in dorms rooms- the pillows on the chairs also covered in stains 5. Bathroom floor was nice marble however there were toothpaste droppings and god knows what else…dirty 6. Bed spread had a half dollar size hole in it-again very visible 7. Shower products locked to the wall- a little cheesy- not what I would expect in a suite/Luxury hotel 8. Only one running elevator on the morning of check out- Never saw anyone working on it and watched several people mention it to the staff who all seemed to not really care??? 9. I asked for my bill at check out and they said they would email it to me- when I got the email it had a bogus $50.00+ honor bar charge- I called the hotel and they took it off without question but it seemed a little odd, almost like this happens a lot. I was told the honor bar is not electronically monitored and sometime the staff miscounts…??? 10. No mention of SPG platinum benefits- 11. Bed service never arrived (Not a real big deal, but again not what I expected with a suite) 12. Noisy, noisy, noisy- walls are paper thin 13. Brunch at Clink was good but overpriced and service was real slow to non existent Now, a couple of positive things: 1. The view from the suite is amazing and if they cleaned the place up it would be worth every penny 2. The staff I dealt with was very accommodating: The head of house cleaning came up to the room and she was great however there is nothing she can do with a stained rug and filthy second rate furniture- The night manager was understanding and did comp me back some “points” . 3. Food at Scampo was great As you can see the bad heavily outweigh the good. I will never stay in this hotel again as there are far better top level hotels in Boston that are more than just a nice looking lobby. March 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lots of Action but rooms need improvement Hotel has lots of action going on.Clinks is great for breakfast and Scampo was wnderful for dinner. The cioncierge staff was amazing, especially Yasmin. But the rooms are quite shabby. Dirt spots on the carpet and bedding. I asked for a wakeup call one morning and they forgot it. There was no turndown service. We asked for it once and they took away dirty towels but didn't replace them. Had to call 3 times to get a burnt out bulb replaced.Empty showercap box stayed there for 2 days until they finally replaced it. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, Fascinating, Historic Hotel I always try to stay at Starwood hotels, and again I wasn't disappointed. My 14-yr old son and I went on a guy's trip to Boston, and wanted to stay in something different than a regular hotel chain. Wow, this place fits the bill! Being a historic 100+ year old jailhouse renovated into a hotel, we loved the ambiance and uniqueness of this place. The staff is as good as any I have ever experienced - even the valet, after meeting us once upon arrival, consistently greeted us by name during the entire stay. The location is great - conveniently within walking distance to about everything downtown, and right next to a subway station when that was desired. We really enjoyed this hotel, and will likely stay here whenever we go to Boston again. I would highly recommend this hotel! April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend visit - rude awakening Such a nice surprise to be met with a glass of champagne upon my arrival! Staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Room very comfortable. Midnight fire alarm was a rude awakening (literally), and while staff apologized, did nothing to make amends for party on 4th floor. Scampo restaurant staff were very rude, had open tables but wouldn't seat us for dinner. Finally placed us a communal table (which was fun) which never filled up. Expected better.Other than that, loved the hotel. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by noise A great hotel except - next time i will ask for a tower room. i was in a room off the central atrium and even with the hall door closed (though it kept opening) the noise on thursday night and then especially on friday night was really quite extraordinary and beyond anything that ought to be anticipated. the earplugs provided were a bit useful, but nothing would have been up to the task. i should have been warned on check in, as some guests might plan on staying up until 1AM and they would not mind those rooms October 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by A fallen star I have formerly always enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is showing signs of wear, and the service has been very poor. I was overcharged for my room and the situation was not resolved easily or pleasantly. I missed breakfast because the service in the restaurant was slow and I had to leave. The room was small with no coffee maker in the room. It is otherwise well appointed, and most of the staff, while not that effective, are personally friendly, energetic and upbeat, and there is a lively evening scene here. June 14, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 24 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>