The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston

  • 215 Charles Street
  • Boston,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02114
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 706 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Location and Fantastic Hotel Environment The Liberty Hotel is a unique experience. It is located strategically in the heart of Boston with direct access to Cambridge, Beacon Hill and the South End. The environment in the hotel is very warm and friendly. The staff is excellent and very responsive to any inquiries and requests. The environment is dynamic with many friendly faces throughout the public areas all day and night. The rooms are totally soundproof and enable one to get a great night's rest. The Liberty Hotel is the place to stay in downtown Boston. November 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Really disappointed! OK, I won’t argue the lobby is great and it has a real fun atmosphere, it is hip and cool, however that all changes when you get up to the room. I opted for the Charles River Suite thinking the luxury would be extended to not only all rooms but especially a suite. I was sadly mistaken. 1. The carpet in the suite is filthy, stained and just looks dirty. 2. The carpet in the bedroom had a huge red wine stain right next to the bed- very visible 3. The furniture aside from being dusty, was cheap and old with many scratches and chips 4. Two bedroom chairs (you can actually see them on the hotel website)-were dirty and stained-I have seen cleaner furniture in dorms rooms- the pillows on the chairs also covered in stains 5. Bathroom floor was nice marble however there were toothpaste droppings and god knows what else…dirty 6. Bed spread had a half dollar size hole in it-again very visible 7. Shower products locked to the wall- a little cheesy- not what I would expect in a suite/Luxury hotel 8. Only one running elevator on the morning of check out- Never saw anyone working on it and watched several people mention it to the staff who all seemed to not really care??? 9. I asked for my bill at check out and they said they would email it to me- when I got the email it had a bogus $50.00+ honor bar charge- I called the hotel and they took it off without question but it seemed a little odd, almost like this happens a lot. I was told the honor bar is not electronically monitored and sometime the staff miscounts…??? 10. No mention of SPG platinum benefits- 11. Bed service never arrived (Not a real big deal, but again not what I expected with a suite) 12. Noisy, noisy, noisy- walls are paper thin 13. Brunch at Clink was good but overpriced and service was real slow to non existent Now, a couple of positive things: 1. The view from the suite is amazing and if they cleaned the place up it would be worth every penny 2. The staff I dealt with was very accommodating: The head of house cleaning came up to the room and she was great however there is nothing she can do with a stained rug and filthy second rate furniture- The night manager was understanding and did comp me back some “points” . 3. Food at Scampo was great As you can see the bad heavily outweigh the good. I will never stay in this hotel again as there are far better top level hotels in Boston that are more than just a nice looking lobby. March 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lots of Action but rooms need improvement Hotel has lots of action going on.Clinks is great for breakfast and Scampo was wnderful for dinner. The cioncierge staff was amazing, especially Yasmin. But the rooms are quite shabby. Dirt spots on the carpet and bedding. I asked for a wakeup call one morning and they forgot it. There was no turndown service. We asked for it once and they took away dirty towels but didn't replace them. Had to call 3 times to get a burnt out bulb replaced.Empty showercap box stayed there for 2 days until they finally replaced it. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, Fascinating, Historic Hotel I always try to stay at Starwood hotels, and again I wasn't disappointed. My 14-yr old son and I went on a guy's trip to Boston, and wanted to stay in something different than a regular hotel chain. Wow, this place fits the bill! Being a historic 100+ year old jailhouse renovated into a hotel, we loved the ambiance and uniqueness of this place. The staff is as good as any I have ever experienced - even the valet, after meeting us once upon arrival, consistently greeted us by name during the entire stay. The location is great - conveniently within walking distance to about everything downtown, and right next to a subway station when that was desired. We really enjoyed this hotel, and will likely stay here whenever we go to Boston again. I would highly recommend this hotel! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trendy hotel is the life of the party We held a bachlorette party this weekend at the Liberty hotel. It was the perfect location - central to downtown Boston and with a fun bar of its own. Staff was very helpful with the registration - plus the glass of cava was a nice touch. The rooms were very nice with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was perfect - large with both a tub and a shower. We ate at the bar upstairs twice and enjoyed our food both times. Added bonus - getting into the bar Alibi without standing in line! All in all a very good experience. February 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by noise A great hotel except - next time i will ask for a tower room. i was in a room off the central atrium and even with the hall door closed (though it kept opening) the noise on thursday night and then especially on friday night was really quite extraordinary and beyond anything that ought to be anticipated. the earplugs provided were a bit useful, but nothing would have been up to the task. i should have been warned on check in, as some guests might plan on staying up until 1AM and they would not mind those rooms October 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by A fallen star I have formerly always enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is showing signs of wear, and the service has been very poor. I was overcharged for my room and the situation was not resolved easily or pleasantly. I missed breakfast because the service in the restaurant was slow and I had to leave. The room was small with no coffee maker in the room. It is otherwise well appointed, and most of the staff, while not that effective, are personally friendly, energetic and upbeat, and there is a lively evening scene here. June 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Boston Hotel My boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary at The Liberty this weekend and were amazed were the history and beauty of the hotel. When we checked in, we were greeted and felt very connected with the front desk agent, Patrick. He answered all the questions we had about the hotel and city. Being a Front desk agent at the Sheraton Springfield hotel, it's very important to me to be comfortable and connected. Our view was amazing and If we come back to the area, we will definitely be staying at this hotel again. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Hotel Myself and family have stayed at the Liberty Hotel multiple times over the past few years. All of our stays have been excellent. The hotel is beautiful and the service great. It is in a very convenient location close to public transportation, walking distance to major attractions, and an easy drive to Logan Airport. I particularly appreciated the assistance of Theresa at the front desk during our visit in May. She reserved a wonderful room for us with a complimentary upgrade. What a view from the 15th floor! June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get a suite if you can The lobby and general ambience of this hotel is unique. And while the standard rooms are a bit standard, the suites are something very special with large windows, a lot of space and a wonderful view of Bosston. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cost going up, service down We have stayed at the Liberty a few times because of it's convenient location to our daughter's home. The average cost of a room has gone up, while the service has gone done. The bedding is very uncomfortable. There's nothing "Heavenly" about it. The free waters were not in the room, and neither were clean towels the next night. We had to call the desk to send someone to fix the TV and Saturday night the party seemed to be on the 11th floor. Will reserve with caution and probably avoid weekends after this. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Unique Hotel One-of-a-kind experience staying in a former jail - great to experience. Very friendly staff and lots of dining and drinking options onsite (which are very trendy and attract lots of locals too, especially on the weekends). Fun to wonder around and see the various features of the hotel and read about the history of the jail and the reconstruction to a hotel on the information panels throughout the hotel. Should be experienced by everyone at least once. River view rooms are especially nice with great views. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel over the 4th of July weekend. Staff were excellent, the location was ideal and we found the amenities to be everything that we needed. We had read previous reviews on another site that had us worried that there would be too much of a party atmosphere in the lobby and bar, but it was just fine. The lower bar had a lot of young people, but there was no noise in our 8th floor room. The lobby bar was wonderful, and we loved the bartender known as "Poppy"!. July 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NYE 2012 Stay - Excellent party but overall event/venue management a bit flawed Booked a stay for the 2012 New Years Eve party and had a friend fly in for what we planned to be a special evening. Check-in was great but did not receive Platinum Upgrade and felt that the hotel was a bit overwhelmed with the all the activity for the evening. Upon entering the floor of our quarters during a late afternoon check-in, the hallway was a mess with dishes from the previous evening and cleaning staff still fixing rooms. Party was great and well run but security was a bit pushy and directive immediately after the event was finished. Understand the circumstances but wasn't expecting such forceful demands to "clear the lobby and retreat to our room for the evening". Felt a bit too much like a teen at mom and dad's for the weekend. First time visiting and unlikely to return. January 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check In Problems & Loud HVAC We were on a tight schedule and I was hoping to treat my daughter. Our corner room was not ready at 3 pm. I was offered a non-corner room at 3 pm or the option to come back at 5 PM for the corner room. I opted to come back after 5 pm. When I returned for my room, I was told that it was not available and I would be credited 6,000 starpoints for the inconvenience. Not only was I inconvenienced for 2 hours on a short stay, I have not received the 6000 points yet. Also, the air conditioning was very loud. July 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel was nice, but I don't think we'll be back. The Hotel and staff were really nice and accomodating. Our room was nice, but average. The carpet was very wet in multiple areas from being washed. I had to keep jumping around not to get my feet wet. In the middle of the night we were awakend by the bathroom whose plumbing decided to go haywire at 2am. After 20 mins or so the toilet stopped gurling and the tub stopped making noise, but at that point we were awake. Not sure this was the relaxing evening we had in mind. For the money, I expected more. November 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to review their service standards. When my wife and I arrived at the Liberty Hotel, we were left to unpack our own baggage and bring it upstairs to the reception desk. Meanwhile at least 3 doorman stood around talking about the Bruin's game. During the course of our four day stay, the front door staff had the curtesy to open the front door for us less than 10% of the time. Very disappointing. As a Starwood Platinum guest, I was frankly embarrased to be staying there with my wife. Eventually the blatant lack of service became comical. June 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel was a disappointment. Was not given the room requested. Was moved to the high floor on my third and final night. Lobby is party central for weekend nights. Bouncers at front door did not move to let me into the front door. I was not treated as a quest. Alibi bar is not part of hotel even though is located at the first level. Prices were ridiculous. Hotel mattress had a plastic cover which they removed after the first night. Staff tried to correct the problems however I would not recommend this hotel for a relaxing night. May 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff! Housekeeping Needs Improvement. Loud Between Rooms Overalll had a great experience. Theresa at the front desk was probably the best front desk associate I have ever been across and I work in hospitality. Our room was dirty upon check in, it looked like it had been cleaned but maybe the previous guests went back in afterward. The toilet was dirty, soap was unwrapped, and there was a dirty towel on the sink. Also, the water was missing and there was leftover food in the mini bar. Theresa offered us a resolution that was much appreciated. We stayed in the jail rooms and wasn't bothered by the nightlife noise, but the space between the wall and the brick let in the sound from the neighboring room's TV like it was in our own. It was unbearably loud. I think some moulding or caulk would do a lot of good! I like the daily activities, yoga, etc. August 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unresponsive staff My husband and I spent the last two nights of our time in Boston at the Liberty before we move to the West coast and we were assured by Concierge at the time of booking that there would be something special in our room to commemorate this event but there was nothing upon check-in. No big deal but when we checked in at 3:45pm (check-in time starts at 3:00pm), our room was still not ready and we had to wait for over 45min in the lobby. It was not until I asked them again to see how much longer it would be before the hotel staff follow up with housekeeping to get an update. When we called downstairs for some Tylenol to help alleviate a migraine, we waited for over an hour and still no Tylenol so we just left the hotel in search of another and quicker remedy. Overall, stay was good but we expected more from the SPG Luxury Collection. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Concierge and Valet Staff Attention I just want to compliment the entire team at The Liberty regarding their pro-active attention to a problem that arose while I was traveling on vacation. While on Cape Cod before my visit to Boston the temporary license plates on my new car expired and I needed to arrange for replacements to catch up with me somewhere. Not only did the concierge quickly offer to help and provide the needed mailing instructions when I called them before my arrival, but they later called to confirm the receipt of the plates before my arrival and then arranged for the valet staff to install them because I did not have the needed screwdriver. They even offered to take a photo of the new plates and e-mail it to me in case I ran into trouble with the authorities on my drive to Boston from Cape Cod. I really appreciate all they did to help me address this problem in a timel fashion and to avoid any problems during my vacation! July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer service needs work This used to be my favourite hotel in Boston. Beautiful rooms and building but this stay the customer service and front desk was subpar. Firstly, the nice extras of champagne on check-in were not offered. More importantly, when my father went through the check out process and tried to pay the incidentals/valet parking on his credit card instead of mine which was the one on file, they would not let him. To avoid the work, they implied to him that everything including the valet was already paid. July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Stay! The Liberty Hotel was a very well appointed hotel with excellent staff and restaurants. Upon arrival a friendly check in and a glass of champagne, a very inviting touch to start out the stay. The restaurants and bars were very good. The 3rd floor catwalk was a great addition for guests. The room and the view were tremendous. Location, location, location. The Red line stop, Charles St. walk to the Boston Park and all of the shops close by to the Liberty Hotel. I will definitely be coming back. August 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect and fun We really enjoyed The Liberty for its character, comfort, hospitality, and it's "scene". I must say that I was disappointed with the gym situation. I understand that they were renovating but the gym option the offered down the street was subpar for a luxury collection hotel. Additionally they didn't provide transportation to it and it was freezing and raining, I would've expected passes at the equinox and a free ride. Otherwise it was a really fun time. We loved having drinks on the catwalk. December 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend visit - rude awakening Such a nice surprise to be met with a glass of champagne upon my arrival! Staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Room very comfortable. Midnight fire alarm was a rude awakening (literally), and while staff apologized, did nothing to make amends for party on 4th floor. Scampo restaurant staff were very rude, had open tables but wouldn't seat us for dinner. Finally placed us a communal table (which was fun) which never filled up. Expected better.Other than that, loved the hotel. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel I highly recommend the Liberty Hotel. It is a wonderful adaptive re-use of the Suffolk County Jail. The rooms are fantastic. The location is superb. The bars and food and beverage are trendy and cool. Views are outstanding. Platinum recognition is superb!! August 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not 'Luxary Collection Material' According to the check in associate, my room was upgraded due to my Platinum status. disappointing upgrade...standard king room with a view of the roof. The gym is pathetic and there isn't a gift shop. At breakfast at Clink, I asked for a small change to my $14 omelet (sub bacon for the feta cheese) and the waiter couldn't do it without charging me for an extra side of bacon...$20 omelet. Not a good experience overall, especially considering the high room rate. Good place for a drink... April 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent but some areas could be improved Unique, excellent hotel but lobby is getting tired. White leather chairs are worn/dirty, brown leather is scratched, carpet is starting to look a little worn (for a place as high end as this). Check in personnel are wonderful, champagne a great touch but at peak time line was long to check in, should have more operational machines/room card to allow more personnel to check in at peak time. Tower part of hotel lacks character (room 308 was the "superior" room I got) and room was small for a superior room. Turndown on night one, no one showed on night two. Compl. water you have to ask for, only one bottle in room. Doormen talk to themselves alot, drink coffee and don't jump at door opening. For hotel price the doors should be attended constantly. I was there for surgery and would have appreciated it. March 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room 208 Noise/Rude Waitress Stayed for NYE and attended party. Sitting with friends in Lobby at around 9pm when a waitress told us we had to get out of the non reserved seats. I asked why, (there was no reserve sign on them) she gave no answer as to why and repeated that we had to move. Seemed a larger group wanted to sit together. I was going to complain about it, but decided to let it go. After a couple of days I got more angry on how we where treated especially at a hotel of this stature and the money spent. If she even asked nicely it wouldn't have been a problem, but she didn't. All night and till checkout there was a loud banging just outside the window. Seemed to be caused by the wind rattling something loose on the building. I mentioned to front desk, said they would look into it. Thanks for no sleep! unHappy New Year January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite a "luxury" hotel We loved the entry and checkin - staff was extremely pleasant. Once in our room - it was just ok - stain on bedroom wall - no turn down service - we had showered for a wedding we were attending and would have appreciated new towels for the morning - also staff did not check alarm clock as previous guest must have set it and it went off a 4 am and we couldn't figure how to turn off. Just little things but these make a hotel "luxury" The wedding we attended at your hotel was just lovely. November 11, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>