The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston

  • 215 Charles Street
  • Boston,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02114
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 702 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A hip hotel centrally located Love the history of this place--it's in an old jail! The hotel has kept some of the jail features, which adds to its personality: "The Clink" bar/restaurant, "The Yard" outdoor dining, and 3 floors of "Catwalks" where I imagine the cells used to be organized around a central atrium. Cool lighting, lounge furniture, and a relaxed, but polished vibe characterize The Liberty. Staff were attentive and cheerful, my room was comfortable and clean, with a well-stocked mini bar and even a separate bathtub. The bathroom was stocked with an ample supply of plush towels and a comfy robe. Loved that this place was close to everything. Highly recommend. September 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff.... Wonderful hotel. Staff was exceptionally helpful and kind. Great food. June 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location and a cool vibe My stay was fine, the room was ok ( but nothing out of the ordinary) the front desk staff and the concierge were nice and efficient on my arrival. We had breakfast at clink-food was good but the service was slow. The hotel seems to have a very nice ' vibe' and life with lots of events happening every night ( fashion show, jazz concert etc) it's bar in the lobby is always packed and lively. The only bad comment is about the bell man outside who ignored our request to get a cab to the airport as he was too busy getting people with valet parking sorted out. We had to go on the street and call one ourselves otherwise we would have missed our flight . April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by GUEST AT WEDDING Supposed to have ADA (mobility) room…shower was roll in, but that's where it ended. No room to maneuver scooter, difficulty opening door to room and maneuvering w/c in room. If I had been traveling alone, I would have ha major problems. As far as hotel food…the cooks (not even qualified as chefs!) need to learn to NOT OVERCOOK everything! They also need to learn the usefulness of salt and pepper, as well as other seasonings! also, the waitstaff needs to learn that dining guests need attention DURING the meal as swell as at the beginning and end. All things considered, I would NOT recommend the hotel to anyone else other than for the historical factor and the location. Also, when use the concierge service was very erratic as to quality. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unique property While the lobby and concept are unique, the room itself was not particularly outstanding. There were extras available of which we did not avail ourselves, and the lobby was clearly popular on Friday and Saturday evening. I know it's kind of an odd thing to comment on, but the bathroom was lovely and large with separate tub and shower. A closing door rather than a sliding one might have offered a better noise buffer and more privacy, however. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel but has some issues THE Good= Check in was awesome as front desk staff was very nice. Gym was very nice but on the small side. The BAD=Food selection was not to our liking(We thought the menu was very limited) My wife's pasta was horrible. The weather was bad so lived with it.. Elected to use bellman for luggage because room was not ready(I was more than willing to wait for an upgrade)luggage was not put in room as we were told and I didn't get a stub so we thought luggage was missing.. Dogs hanging out in Lobby was not right. I love that the hotel is pet friendly but they are a distraction when just hanging around. Was charged $7.57 from minibar and never touched it. January 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great room and decor, staff and service need improvement The decor and amenities in the hotel are unique and the suite award was wonderful. However, the service was lacking. Was told at 1:30pm that previous guests had vacated the room and the room cleaning would be made a top priority however the room was not available until 4pm and only after having to follow up with the front desk and the manager Bryan several times who repeatedly told us 10 minutes. Clearly the cleaning wasn't made a priority and as a result we hung around waiting for what we were told would be a short period but clearly was 2 hours. My expectation is the hotel stood by their time commitment and was more honest throughout the process. January 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A complete treat in every way We came with our kids for 5 nights and loved it. The staff went beyond the call of duty--they did a number of things that made our trip more enjoyable. For one they painlessly got me out of my car rental agreement once I discovered that having a car was not worthwhile (parking is expensive in this city and the T Metro is great). .They did extra favors for us, such as help me with a medical product that needed boiling everyday. Loved the location--easy walk to Cambridge right next to the T. Rooms were comfortable and the gym was good. Lots of nightlife right in the hotel. (restaurant in hotel is good but expensive).. Also--less than 15 minutes to the airport April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice Hotel Very comfortable Hotel. The front desk is borderline helpful, as compared to other great Hotels ! What will improve the clients' experience is if the Hotel puts in each room a coffee making machine (coffee-maker) so the people staying there can have some coffee in early morning.This is a "must" if you are trying to "sell" this Hotel for symposia ,meetings ,etc The second feature that will improve my experience , is if you have a dedicated place for smoking that is covered, so when it is raining the guests are protected. Most of the Hotels do have that. Also the consierge desk, some of the staff there is "inferior" to other Hotels. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Five Star Experience I loved everything about this hotel. The location and the physical structure were both wonderful but the REAL attraction to this hotel is its people. From the greeting I received from the doorman who handled my bag to the helpful young man who checked me out--EVERYONE had customer service on their minds. The biggest high-five goes to housekeeping. They were the very best I have ever experience in the United States. My room was spotless and they did it all without those big bulky carts in the halls. In a word they are amazing. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for business or vacation. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel + Great Room = Great Stay! We stayed one night at the Liberty after moving in day for our daughter at Boston University and could not have had a better stay. (thank you Jill) From check-in to check-out and everything in between the staff is the friendliest and most professional of any SPG property we've stayed at. The unique hotel is both elegant and fun at the same time. The lobby, restaurants and bars are alive and vibrant. We were upgraded to a fabulous room on the 14th floor with stunning views of the Boston skyline as well as the Charles River. The concierge Mirko (so nice and helpful) and I had spoken on the phone the week before we arrived and he was able to reserve bicycles for us (no charge for guests) We rode through town and along the Charles River esplanade which was a lot of fun. The Liberty was once a jail, but now it is a haven and our first choice for Boston over the next 4 years and beyond! September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in Boston Stayed here for 3 months (Mon-Thur) on a client project and enjoyed my time. Staff is very friendly and knew my name right away. Handled all my crazy requests (early/late check in/out, laundry, shoe shine, cleaning, etc.) with a smile and efficiency. Knew I was a platinum SPG member and treated me as such with great rooms and small perks. Cool part of town, right across from the T for convenience. Restaurants and bars are excellent and treat you well after a long work day. Only downside is the poor workout facilities. Small room with a few machines. Hard to run outside in Boston in the winter, so the workout room is essential. August 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing service at Liberty hotel The service was disappointing at best. The people at the check-in desk were not knowledgeable enough. I arrived early and had called the day before to indicate that I woudl be early. I was told that my room was not ready at 1:30 which was understandable. When I went back at 4:30, the staff asked if I had been called. I said I had not and they said my room must not be ready. I said it was past check-in time and I wanted to talk to a manager. When they went back to find manager, they returned saying the room was ready. Bell man never appeared. Apparently there are no bellmen before 7am, but no one said that when i called for one. October 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by best starwood hotel we have stayed in This hotel was the best starwood property we have stayed in. We were new to Boston and left with the feeling that the people in Boston are very nice starting with the staff. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The room was impeccable. The champagne and apples they offered were a nice touch. It made me glad we were starwood members. However, I would stay here again even if we weren't starwood members. Also, the Scampo restaurant on site was delicious and the location was perfect. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Go to Jail" Not knowing what to expect for our stay at a "remodeled" jail, we immediately were charmed by the welcoming staff and beautiful ambiance in the lobby which is carried through in the rooms. Throughout the hotel, modern and historical are blended in a meaningful way but the soul of the hotel is the staff that made our stay so delightful. Examples include C.J., "Oscar", Renee, Kevin, Steven, Sam, Heidi, John. The food at the Clink is delicious; the drinks at the Liberty Lobby Bar are delightful; the concierge is extremely helpful. August 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but... Good, but missing some of the details that communicate first class service. We opened a half bottle of red from the minibar. The wine was awful and the staff at the front desk indicated they could not do anything about it because we did not call down that evening. My spouse mistakenly did not realize that there was a built-in service charge on room service items. We ended up tipping more than 40%. Again, the front desk could not help. Great facilities, but front desk staff are more concerned about distributing the free champagne than responding to the small issues that make the difference between average and superior service. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a positive experience with a few annoying glitches The facilities are hard to beat. Our room was more than spacious, comfortable and clean. In fact, no issues with the room. Check in was a problem...a long line when we arrived with only one person on the desk. Overall the food and beverage and the service related to it was excellent with one exception. We found one cocktail waitress, Chelsea, to be rude and abrupt and also had quite a time getting her attention....I found it quite odd given the level of service we experienced elsewhere in the hotel. Special words of praise for the guys on the front door and valets who went above and beyond the call of duty on this rainy week. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Hotel Personnel were Fabulous From the initial greeting,and throughout our stay everyone was courteous, accommodating, and a pleasure to deal with. One of the valet parking people saw that we were heading to Mass Eye and Ear and inquired to make sure that everything went well. I was really touched by his concern. The SPG reception was fabulous. We can't thank you enough. It truly is a Lixury Hotel. August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by JPM 2 We stay here every 28 days as I come for cancer treatments next door at MGH. After two years it feels like home. Every now and then the rates skyrocket and we stay elsewhere. as long as they have MGH patient rates we will stay. We have been offered suite rates for less money but we both like the Liberty staff. We do wish that steady guests like us could be treated a bit better...being quoted $699 a night for a regular room, August 5,6, 2012, disappointed us, especially when we are here in the winter with few other guests. We come because of the location, and the people who staff the Liberty, oh, and the hotel is nice also.. September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful from start to finish! Hands down, this was the best SPG property I have stayed at. Upon check in, we were welcomed with champagne and a bonus 1000 SPG points as a thank you for staying with them. They hosted a wonderful SPG member happy hour with complimentary drinks and food. It was a great time to chat with some management at the hotel. Jen and Brian were so nice, helpful and accommodating. This was the only SPG property I have stayed at that does this sort of thing for SGP members. The hotel itself was beautiful and we could have spent hours just walking around and looking at it. As a remodeled prison, I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect but it well exceeded my expectations. If you like history (and even if you don’t!) you will love it here. Everyone from check in to check out was a class act. Thank you for a wonderful stay and I will definitely be back!! August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel, excellent staff! I've lived in Boston for some time now and have always wanted to stay at The Liberty. My husband and I found ourselves in need of a local hotel this past weekend and couldn't have been more thrilled with our selection of The Liberty! The young man at the front desk, Zach, was exceptionally polite and very professional. He checked us into the room quickly and made sure that we didn't need any other assistance before we walked away. We had a light dinner downstairs at Alibi, where the food and drink were both excellent! Even though there are plenty of dining options in Beacon Hill, I would suggest guests stay in the hotel! March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Would Definately Stay Again Upon arrival and checking in - we weren't happy with the room as I had asked for a roll in shower room the staff immediatly changed our room to what we needed without any quesstion. They also put a rush on it's cleanning we checked our bag and went out to lunch. When we returned our room was ready and very comfortable. Called down for our bag but it never came. Went down to the lobby and it took them a bit of time to find our bag. This was the only snag I would say we had with our stay - everyone was very professional and apoligied for not being able to locate our luggage and bring it to our room in a timely manner. August 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service, but room not ready The Liberty was very welcoming and the staff was helpful and accommodating. We loved being offered a glass of champagne upon checking in! Our only main disappointment was that we were told check-in time was 3pm. Since we were arriving for a wedding at 5:30 and needed to get ready, we arrived just before 3. We were told our room was not quite ready, but would be soon. We ended up waiting in the lobby for almost an hour. Our room was finally ready just before 4. We only had an hour to shower and get ready, and felt a little rushed. If the rooms will not be ready at 3, please do not specify 3 as your check in time! Otherwise, we had a lovely stay and enjoyed a beautiful wedding. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slice of History near Mass General The best part of the this hotel is the story. Re-purposing the dilapidated jail into a luxury hotel was genius. The convenience to Mass General is wonderful. Rooms are large and well appointed. Free bottle of spring water is a nice touch. Robes, fine toiletries, flat screen TV add to the high end feel. The use of original brick, even in the rooms, is a reminder of the history. Tub and shower in the king room. Restaurants and bars are convenient, food above average for hotel food and overpriced as usual for a downtown hotel anywhere in the US. ($12 for Medium shelf whiskey, $35 for entree on an ala carte menu) November 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellency! Being greeted by a pretty young lady handing you a glass of champagne upon your arrival starts your excellent experience. Our room was very comfortable, not overly large but the view was worth the price of the room. Our window overlooked the Charles River, the exact spot where the fireworks would be. We had originally planned on staying just one night but immediately reserved the room for a second night. The night of the fireworks spectacular over the Charles River on Independence Day. An on site restaurant,Clink, served a good brunch. My review would not be complete without mentioning one of the doormen, Moh. He always greeted us with such enthusiasm that made you feel welcome. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service, excellent accomodations, excellence from reservation to check out, we were treated to excellent service from the staff at The Liberty Hotel. Theresa at the front desk helped us with our necessary early check-in, answered my questions throughout the stay and graciously tagged and held our bags until the conclusion of the Boston Calling music festival. the room was immaculate, the bed comfortable... and accomodations luxurious. it was a short walk to the city hall plaza and very cool location to just walk around. i plan on coming back to enjoy more of what boston has to offer and plan on staying at The Liberty Hotel! Thanks for a great stay! May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved my New Year's Eve! For New Year's Eve, I purchased tickets for a Bond theme party event in Boston and booked a room at the Liberty Hotel for a place to crash afterward. I was unaware beforehand of the big celebration planned at Liberty as well... On the big night, we quickly discovered our original party plans were a bore, so we ditched that event and raced back to Liberty to join in the hotel's New Year's bash. What an amazing evening! Everyone was in festive holiday spirits, and the hotel's employees ran the busy event smoothly. The entertainers literally hanging from the rafters were a fun touch too. Bravo Liberty Hotel for rescuing our evening, and thanks for providing a tremendous celebration! January 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad view, back of another building out window. Nice hotel. We were there for vacaton, first time in Boston. We setup reservations several months in advance. We are also Gold level Starwood. On arrival we were told hotel was busy, but if possible they would upgrade us if anything opened. Our room faced a ugly back of a building. No view of anything. Best view of Boston and river was window at elevator area. If I would have know ahead about this problem, we would have stayed at different hotel. It would have been nice if the front desk would have told of this issue and helped find different hotel for us. Probably will not chance saying there next trip. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Luxury The welcome upon arrival was extremely comforting and relaxing. Taylor was gracious at sign-in, and the glass of champagne was a soothing touch. As Starwood members, we were awarded extra points and a room upgrade. The lobby is beautifully unique. Rather than the usual rush to get to our room, we lingered for nearly an hour in the lobby, seated in an armchair, sipping the champagne, enjoying the ambiance. I am sure I have never ever done that in another hotel! The hotel restaurants and bars are splendid and popular with locals. Getting away from the hotel itself, its location is excellent for shopping, attractions, restaurants, and is next door to MGH if you are receiving treatment. January 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another lovely stay. I always enjoy my stay, and wouldn't thinlk of staying anywhere else. This time, however, there was a distinctive odor when I walked into the room. The room smelled musty. I think the carpet was the issue. I noticed that the water ran out from the shower and right to the carpet outside the bathroom. It was bothersome enough that I was going to call the desk and ask for another room; however the bed wa so comfortable, I fell right asleep. This is the only reason I didn't give The Liberty all 5 stars! It was disturbing, however. I think it should be addressed. Thank you for the opportunity for feedback. February 7, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>