Trovare

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Nella maggior parte degli hotel Starwood, gli ospiti al di sotto dei 17 anni sono considerati bambini. Tutti gli altri ospiti sono considerati adulti. Sarai informato riguardo le differenze di politiche relative all'età degli ospiti tra i vari hotel nella pagina seguente.

Date(FACOLTATIVO) Calendar
Arrivo Partenza
Quando?
Calendar
Dove?

Un motivo per fare festa. Gli Starpoint® possono essere devoluti alle cause che stanno più a cuore.

Chiudi
  • Iscrizione

The Liberty, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Boston

  • 215 Charles Street
  • Boston,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02114
  • United States
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 687 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Highly recomended The atmosphere was great. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GLAD I STAYED DURING A BAD TIME GREAT STAFF, SERVICE A+A+ February 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location, but... The Liberty is located very well for accessing the "T", Beacon Hill, MGH and the Esplanade. However, there are not that many restaurants in the immediate area as compared to the Back Bay or near Faneuil Hall. Room was much smaller than expected. At check-in, the clerk got me confused with another incoming guest with the same last name who was only staying 1 night so we had to spend extra time getting that sorted out (champagne was a nice touch, BTW). Clerk also led me to believe that we had been upgraded to a bigger, better room but the only thing that was probably different was the view was maybe better. It was a quiet location, however. Housekeeping did not get to our room until 2 PM (after I called the front desk about it) which is inconvenient if you want to take a nap after lunch (we had left that day at 10:30 AM). Continental breakfast was small, and not that good with a limited choice compared to the price. However, the service and drinks in the Alibi Bar were super! And the bellmen were also very nice and helpful. BTW, it is unclear how to check out on the TV (I had to call down to let them know we were leaving) and a burned out light in the bathroom was never replaced although the maid should have seen it (I forgot to report it). And why is there no room safe? August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life saver Starting from the moment Iarrived, the doormen were great the whole time I was there. The front desk people at check-in and departure were very nice. The concierge was very helpful. The beds were super comfortable and the rest of the room was nicely appointed. The best part was when I went to get my luggage from my rooom, after a breakfast meeting across town, my wedding ring fell off my finger and on the ground. When I got to my next appointment, I called the hotel to have them check the room for me. Katelyn answered and said she would take care of it and call me back after the search was complete. Within 30 mins I received a call to confirm that you all found the ring and were going to lock it up in the front desk safe. I was able to finish my day and pick up the ring on the way to the airport. There was very good communication among all the staff because the whole transaction, to pick up the ring, only took about 3 mins. Best of all, I didn't have to tell my wife I had lost the ring that we had made special for our wedding. The only staff hickup came when myself and two colleagues went to the bar and we sat there almost 5 mins before the bartender noticed us. Once she did, though, she kept us stocked with nuts and drinks for the next couple of hours. Fantastic place. February 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jail House "Rocks" Loved the look & feel of the Hotel...beautiful & tastefully done...the combination of old & new is wonderful & the atmosphere lively but not crazy. Except for the "ole" jail cell bars, cat walk etc. you would never know it had been a jail/prison...convicts never had it so good. The staff were professional & helpful. Three of us stayed 5 days in a deluxe room with double beds...COMFORTABLE & QUIET. Although I would have loved to have at least 2 chairs with a small table in the room. There really wasn't an area to place "things" or to have more than one person sit at a time...there was only one DESK chair to sit in after each day of travel or for getting ready in the AM; talking etc.. We solved the problem by staying out late enjoying the town, showering & going to sleep. In the AM as each of us awoke, we cleaned up & waited in the lobby for the others while sipping complimentary coffee & reading the variety of newspapers then sitting down for a wonderful breakfast in the Clink. The night life in the hotel was great; they have things happening different nights of the week such as; Jazz, art displays, fashion night etc. If you drink; there is a bar or the "cat walk", Like to eat? There is The Clink & restaurant Scampo. Liberty truly is more than a place to stay it is an Enjoyable Experience. April 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel has gone down hill We had to call the front desk because we did not get towels. We were told that they were on a reduced service plan and the room would be cleaned every other day rather then every day (We were in the hotel for a week). On Friday evening a dog was barking in the room next door. When we called the front desk we were told we were on a 'pet friendly floor' We had to coach the manager on what to do. She could move us but only to another 'pet friendly' floor. We were not told when we checked in that we were on a pet floor. I suggested she move the guests with their dog which she said she could not do. Security took the dog out of the room and subsequently the guests were gone. We should not have had to spend 20 minutes or so arguing about what should happen. It is too bad the hotel has gone down hill in service, we like the location but when on business travel we need our accommodations to be problem free, clean and quiet. We probably will no longer be using Liberty or Starwood hotels. The actual response for service is usually good and the public spaces are great as are the restaurants and room service. The staff is friendly and courteous too. The manager was apologetic regarding the dog issue but should have been responsive more quickly and I would assume would gain more confidence with experience. October 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding Reception Disaster That Staff Made Right I booked a corner king suite for the weekend as part of a surprise trip for my fiancé's 30th birthday. We were very happy with the room, the staff, our dinner at Scampo, drinks in the lobby, etc. The bar scene in the lobby is pretty loud and raucous, but we knew this before arriving and were prepared for it. What we were not prepared for was coming back to our room Saturday evening after a wonderful dinner to find our room literally shaking from the music being played in the wedding reception the floor above us. The light fixtures in the bathroom were shaking, water in a glass was rippling, and we could very clearly hear even the lyrics from the music being played at the reception. A couple of calls to the desk established that the reception was going to be running long, and due to the noise, my fiancé and I weren't able to sleep until it wound down, after midnight. Many kudos to Adrianne and Kate for making matters right regarding the lost sleep and the noise from the reception above us. They acted quickly and decisively in order to make the matter right. We understand completely that not every experience is within a hotel, etc.'s, control and the way they responded to the problem was outstanding. We'd definitely stay here again, because the hotel and the location are fantastic - we're just going to make sure there isn't going to be a wedding reception above us on future stays. April 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, But Not LC Level I enjoyed my stay and the accommodations were quite nice, however it really does not come up to the level of a Luxury Collection hotel by any means. Wall mounted soap dispensers that didn't even work properly contained very nice product (MB) but left a very tacky impression. Basically all the appurtenances such as the vanity case, desk blotter, etc. were plastic 'fake leather' fabrications from China. The welcome glass of champagne was a nice touch, but with no executive lounge and high priced F&B the entire hotel came across as more of a money grubbing tourist attraction than the peaceful and luxurious retreat in the heart of the city I had expected. The staff was very friendly, but the bellmen constantly had their hands out for tips even when they didn't really do anything. For example, every time I walked out of the hotel with my hands empty they jumped to open the door for me, but if I had my briefcase in one hand and a cup of coffee in the other they were no where to be seen. This was consistent throughout the three days I was there, so did not seem to be a simple coincidence, particulalry since three times they clearly saw me coming with my hands full and made no attempt to hold the door. Would I stay again? Perhaps though more likely I will try someplace else next time. Would I recommend it to others? Yes, but with plenty of caveats, and mostly because the location is fantastic. April 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Glam lobby and restaurants but rooms leave something to be desired. I was very disappointed in this hotel. I was very excited to stay at the Liberty, after seeing all the glamorous pictures of the lobby and reading about the upscale bars/restaurants, but the actually experience of staying there was not glamourous at all. The lobby is amazing in photos, but not so comfortable for sitting (chairs and furniture is hard and not made for lounging), and many times they had tables 'reserved' so you could not even sit down. The lobby overall has a 'nightclub in the daytime" vibe to it - not cozy or comfortable for daytime eating/drinking/working really (which is something i enjoy). The king room I was in was small and decorated in dark tones that only made it seem smaller. I was moved to a better higher floor view - but i was looking directly at hospital employees in their offices. very claustrophic. Also had a major issue with the design of the bathroom - while the overall size was fine, the shower stall was too SMALL (and I am just over 5') with a crazy giant showerhead and water pressure that literally hurt, throwing you against the wall! I called engineering about it because I also noticed after a shower, water was leaking through the wall into the front hall and the rug was always wet. I ended up leaving the hotel early and moved to the Westin Copley. Enjoyed that much more. This is definitely not for families, btw - wrong vibe and not kid friendly decor or food options. September 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Lobby / Poor Rooms When you walk into the hotel you think to yourself this is gonna be a cool place to stay, however once you start staying there, it turns out to be just a really cool place to come and have a drink late night but that is about it. I expected way more for a Luxury Collection hotel and the number of stars it was rated. The rooms are cheaply furnished, small and laid out odd. As platinum I was told I was upgraded and I did get a room with a view of the charles and downtown on a top floor and that was nice, but everything in the room was cheap. The ipod dock radio didn't work with my iphone, and there was cheap product bolted to the shower. The shower is small and cramped with a cheap plastic bottom even though there are tiles on the walls. Turn down service didn't happen one night. The Alibi bar had the most boring yet expensive drink menu ever. Limited wine list. The lobby bar however had good choices and good pours so A+ for them. Went to have breakfast at Clink and was underwhelmed. Waited for 5 minutes and no one came to wait on us and after looking at the menu which was utterly boring and basic yet expensive just got up and left and went down to Charles street. I've stayed at both Westin's in town and the W and their menu's were much more creative and worth the money. All of those properties above have much, much nicer rooms as well. My recommendation would be to stay at the W and go to the Liberty for a drink but don't stay there. June 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by New Years I had booked the Liberty Hotel for me and 3 friends to enjoy the NYE celebration. I booked it through the Platinum Concierge and they said that there wasn't going to be a problem and even called the hotel to check and they said it was fine. There was an issue when I checked in solo, the person who was holding the NYE wristbands when I asked for the 3 others. He refused. He told me that there was only 2 per room. I said that would be a problem since I had booked a total of 4 people in my room. He said that I would have to buy additional tickets at $85.00 each guest. I said no problem as was willing to pay cash on the spot. He next stated that they were sold out and that I should look on Craig's List where people were selling tickets. I told him that I wasn't since I nor my guest (who were coming in from Vermont had a computer and were on the road already) He said that we were at an impass. Rather then causing an even bigger scene becuase this manager wasn't understanding the SPG policy. I had to call my guest who were over half way down from VT that they couldn't attend. I have never had an issue where this has happened except at the Liberty. I am a Platinum member and not a 20 something year old kid looking to pull a fast one. I spend quite a bit of money as well as tip well to the people that help me and this guy was not giving great customer service. Too bad that this guy is working at the hotel, and it set a poor example of of customer service. January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The Hotel is beautiful and true to the photos on line. The check in staff were friendly and very efficient. The champagne at check in is a very nice touch. Unfortunately it starts to go down hill from there. There was suppose to be a birthday cupcake in the room ($18). It was not there so I let the front desk know. They did put it in the room later while we were out and included a bottle of champagne (we never had a chance to drink it but it was a nice gesture). We usually select a hotel by location but we selected The Liberty so we could explore this unique hotel. After going to an early play, we returned to have a few drinks in the lounge. We could not get in= all night, we finally got close enough to order one round from the bartender and drank it in the lobby (not what we had in mind at all). The next morning we went down for breakfast and could not get in. They sat us in the lobby and said they could serve us there? Really, the lobby??? Well, OK we have no choice. We sit down, we received our coffee and placed our order. Not one person came by for 45 minutes! No refills on coffee, water. Finally they bring out the order. No mention of the delay or lack of service. $65 for that????? As we were heading back to the room we stopped in the lobby to get a cup of coffee to take up to the room (no coffee makers in the rooms). We were told they had already stated breaking everything down?????? So no. We received a bed, not an experience. Too bad because it is beautiful. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great property - service was lacking I booked an $800 room at this hotel for a business meeting. My check-in was set for 3:00PM with the meeting scheduled for 6:00. After flying all day, I got to the hotel at 3:00, but they informed me the room was not ready. They checked my luggage, and took my cell phone number with a promise to call when my room was ready. I went to the lobby restaurant and ate a late lunch. As I finished my meal, I noticed many other people were getting room keys at the front desk. At 4:00, after paying my food bill, I went to the front desk to get a key - but they said my room was still not ready! It was my suggestion to put me in an inferior room if that would speed up the process. Yes, they did have a cheaper room and gave me a key - and a promise to send my luggage right up. (By the way, I was not credited in any way for willingly moving to an inferior room). Well, I waited in the room another hour until 5:00 before I finally called the front desk looking for my luggage. With apologies, they promised to send it right up. By 5:30 I went down to the front desk to look for my luggage. After some debate, the guy at the front desk finally goes into the back and personally retrieves my luggage. However, he doesn't want to give it to me; he wants me to wait while he finds a porter to carry it up for me! At this point I was about to lose my temper. I told him I have a meeting in 15 minutes and have no time to wait. Just give me my damn luggage. So, in summary, the hotel is beautiful but the service level is severely lacking for such an expensive property. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Hotel The Liberty Hotel was a great place to stay - the hotel itself is charming and has great amenities. Scampo's Restaurant is awesome. The check in experience was very nice, they gave us a glass of bubbly upon arrival which was a lovely touch and I am happy to see the hotel had free internet. I had used points and am a Gold SPF member so I got a really nice and roomy corner room that had a nice view of the city. Next time I will ask for a much higher room than floor 4 because there was a lot of noise from the street and the train. Also the curtains did not block ALL the light and I was waking up earlier than I would like on vacation! I need the room really dark and wish hotels would make sure that the curtains do this. The only other slight negative was that the carpet had some wear and dirt on it in spots. The location was very near Beacon Hill and Boston Commons and the North End but it was a bit more out of the way than when I stay at Copley square so it is a trade off on nicer hotel or better location. Although the train was right next to us, the red line didn't go many places and you pretty much had to transfer so walking was sometimes a better option overall. We had tons of closet space and drawers, the bathroom had a lovely tub (albeit the drain was not great even after being fixed) and good shower. Nice thick towels and bathrobes. Of course, bed and pillows were awesome. One other little thing that bothered me was the housekeepers tapping on the doors with their keys ... I find that awfully annoying. Other luxury collection hotels I have stayed at have not done that. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Waiting For My Next Protective Custody My wife and I enjoyed our mid-week stay at the former Charles St. jail to celebrate a belated 25th anniversary. SPG did a great job of restoring this former jail into a classy hotel while still leaving many of the original jail details intact. Calvin at the front desk is a great ambassador. He greeted us with champagne/refills, and later freely offered to take pictures of my wife and me. A personalized greeting card and complimentary bottle of champagne also awaited us in our room. The restaurant(s) were classy, but the food was pricey and somewhat exotic for our own personal tastes, although breakfast at Clink's was always satisfying. The hotel will store your bags for you on your day of departure to allow for more sightseeing before you depart Boston, and the water bottles placed in our vehicle by the valets upon our departure were also a nice, unexpected touch. On the downside: Although no ice machine is available in the prison wing, the concierge was prompt in having some delivered to our room; An adjacent room's dinner tray/plates lay in the hallway un-retrieved all day, and the carpet in the room in which we were staying was somewhat dirty and a bit tattered along the window edge. The liquid bath soaps while adding a nice touch for some, were a bit difficult to use (sticky plunger on the soap) and too perfume-like for my open personal tastes -- give me a lightly scented bar of bath soap any day. Next to Mass General Hospital and the MBTA green line so while the area can be somewhat noisy, Boston is completely/easily accessible (check the T destinations BEFORE hiring a cab!!) . Bellman couldn't locate our stored bags when we returned to depart in late afternoon requiring us to wait ~15 minutes until they were located. All told though, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next. February 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few hits, a few misses My wife and I spent two night at the Liberty recently and enjoyed ourselves. Pros- The location of the hotel is perfect. Nestled next to Beacon Hill and the Charles River the hotel has plenty to offer in means of a great Boston setting. Without going into too much detail the hotel is esthetically and historically amazing. The rooms are well appointed and we even received an upgraded to a river/city view. Check in and out were fast and the staff was generally very friendly. Cons-We booked a package that came with a few items, some of which I had to ask the staff about. They acknowledged the Winter Wonderland package but left me feeling cheap having to ask for this and that. Pretty simple stuff, have everything is the same envelope don't piecemeal it together. Also on our first morning our room service order got lost. Katie (I believe# in in room dining acknowledged the problem, took responsibility etc but for us we had planned our day to get the breakfast wake up call and get moving. We ended up eating in Clink with our morning pretty much blown. My last bone to pick was the tv reception. I read a lot of reviews online and typcically laugh at folks making a big deal a light bulb being dim but hear me out. So the tv flicked annoyingly from the moment we turned it on. Changed chanels same thing. I mentioned it to someone at the front desk before going out for dinner, followed up with them upon return and was assured it was fixed. It wasn't. In short it made and in room movie memorable #not in a good way) and to make matters worse The Patriots were in the playoffs and the large tv at the bar wasn't working. The hotel staff blamed it on incoming service but that's a cop out to me. Overall the hotel was nice but a few more attention to details and it would have been better. When given the opportunity to return to Boston I'll likely stay at another Starwood property. January 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent service and lobby; rooms are not for business or families I stayed at the Liberty for a Thursday to Saturday stay because my normal business hotels in Back Bay or Downtown were booked. I combined a 2-day work trip with a few Red Sox games with my 13 year old daughter. The hotel had fabulous service, but it does not have my highest rating as a business hotel or family hotel. It would be a fantastic property for a conference, a reunion, or a romantic getaway. First, the really positive things. The service was simply outstanding. From a phone call before my stay, to the check-in process, to a glass of champagne at check-in, to the service at the restaurant, to the bell staff finding an umbrella during the rain, the whole staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. I spend more than 120 nights a year in a hotel, and the service at the Liberty is among the top 3 or 4 hotels that I visit each year. Another plus of this property is its unique history, architecture, and location. The lobby and restaurants were very interesting. The location is also very nice. It's in the Beacon Hill area, so it's near lots of shops and fairly close to financial area and government center. It is also not too far from Cambridge and Harvard. Being less than 50 yards from the Red Line (Charles/ MGH) makes it close to everything in Boston. As some of the other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are not as large as you might expect, and they are not designed for business. The electrical plugs on the desk were blocked by a fancy digital phone with lots of features, but the extra wires attached to the phone meant that it couldn't be moved. That meant that I was not able to charge my laptop at the desk. The desk chair was acceptable at best, and there was not much seating in the room. The bathroom was huge, but the large bathroom took up space from the bedroom making it small for a family or for business meetings(s). On the other hand, the room would have been wonderful for a romantic trip with my wife. Breakfast in the Clink was outstanding during our first morning (Friday). The pastries and fruit was great the first day, but the fruit was brown and not fresh on Saturday (maybe it had been kept over from the previous day). The service and good coffee made up for the fruit. I think that I've stayed in all of the Starwood properties in Boston except the W. I would return to the Liberty if I were attending a conference or on a weekend trip with my wife. It would be my third or fourth choice among the other Starwood properties for a solo business trip or a trip with my family. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worthy of luxury collection NOT WORTHY OF LUXURY COLLECTION UPON ARRIVAL WE WERE TOLD NO GOLD UPGRADE AVAILABLE, CONSEQUENTLY WE RECEIVED A ROOM WITH A VIEW INTO THE HOSPITAL ACROSS AN ALLEY LOOKING DIRECTLY INTO PATIENTS ROOMS. THE ROOM WAS A DECENT SIZE SAME FOR THE BATHROOM. LIKE OTHER GUESTS WE ENCOUNTED THE DREADED SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER FASTENED TO THE SHOWER WALL IN PUMP ACTION BOTTLES THAT DON'T PUMP LEAVING NO WAT TO GET THE CONTENTS OUT AS THE BOTTLES ARE SECURLEY FASTENED TO THE WALL.! THE CHECK IN WAS REASONABLE ENOUGH, NO REAL RECOGNITION FOR BEING A STARWOODS GOLD MEMBER AND NO DEDICATED CHECK IN DESK. WE REQUESTED A LARGE ICE BUCKET FOR A BOTTLE OF CHAMPAGNE AND WAS RUDELY TOLD BY 'CALVIN', "THERE'S ICE IN YOUR ROOM". I POINTED OUT THAT THE TINY ICE CONTAINER WOULD NOT HOLD A BOTTLE. IT TOOK THREE REQUESTS BEFORE THE ICE BUCKET ARRIVED AN HOUR LATER. A FREE GLASS OF CHAMPAGNE IS OFFERE AT CHECK IN, WE DECIDED TO TAKE OUR GLASS LATER IN THE EVENING. I ASKED THE ABOVE MENTIONED CALVIN AND RECEIVED A CURT DIDN'T YOU TAKE IT WHEN YOU CHECKED IN? SAD BUT MY WIFE KNOCKED HER GLASS OVER, I WENT BACK TO CALVIN TO EXPLAIN TO WHICH HE ASKED "WELL WHAT IS IT YOU WANT, ANOTHER GLASS"? I SAID THAT WOULD BE NICE BUT WHAT WE REALLY NEEDED WAS A CLEAN UP, THE CHAMPAGNE HAD 'PUDDLED' ON A STOOL. CALVIN DID NOTHING, I EVENTUALLY ASKED A PASSING WAITRESS, SHE USED A COCKTAIL NAPKIN, I FINALLY JUST TURNED THE CUSHION OVER FEARING SOME ONE WOULD RUIN CLOTHES BY SITTING ON IT. LATER I SAW CALVIN HUGGING AND CHATTING WITH 'FRIENDS', (NON RESIDENTS). AS MANY HAVE OBSERVED BEFORE ME THE FRONT LOBBY IS A NOISEY BAR/CONCERT HALL, FORTUNATELY MY ROOM WAS HIGH ENOUGH NOT TO BE AFFECTED. NO ONE IN THE HOTEL WEARS A NAME TAG SO IT'S HARD TO IDENTIFY PEOPLE WITHOUT ASKING NAMES, HOTEL 101, WEAR IDENTIFICATION. WE DID DINE IN 'CLINK' AND HAD A VERY GOOD MEAL SPOILT ONLY BY A NON COMMUNITIVE WAITER WITH ZERO PERSONALITY, AGAIN NO NAME BADGE. ON ONE OCCASION WE LEFT OUR ROOM AT 8:30 AM FOR A DAY SIGHTSEEING, ARRIVING BACK AT 4:15 FOR A MUCH NEEDED REST ONLY TO FIND OUR ROOM HAD NOR BEEN SERVICED. I CALLED RECEPTION AND WAS TOLD THE HOTEL WAS VERY BUSY HAVING OVER TWO HUNDRED ROOM! HELLO. I WAS THEN OFFERED A COUPLE OF CLEAN TOWELS. IT . I REFUSED AND WE WAITED UNTIL 4:45 BEFORE SOMEONE CAME TO CLEAN THE ROOM. THIS HOTEL CERTAINLY IS NOT WORTHY OF BEING IN THE LUXURY HOTEL CATAGORY OR FOR THAT MATTER A STARWOODS HOTEL. VERY POOR MANAGEMENT HAS LED TO SURLEY UNHELPFUL STAFF WITH MUCH ATTITUDE, I ONLY WISH WE HAD STAYED ELSEWHERE. Please contact SPG June 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel or something else ? We stayed here for one night for an early morning meeting next day at the MEEI August 31 2012. We arrived in the afternoon. We had to wait 10 minutes before somebody actually was ready to serve us there was nobody in front of us yet there were 3 ladies doing more important things. and 3 people behind us in line. We checked in after we had to ask two times to repeat what the agent was telling us. Articulation was a foreign word for her. We were told that there would be a fashion show that evening whether we would want to go was the question. We had to work so no. Went to our room, television remote was broken and we called for a repair. It was too funny for words but the person I spoke to used words I can't even remember all but we noticed they were apparently instructed to do so because we heard the incorrect use of the word "folio" several times for the invoice and when we left the room for dinner we were apparently "unregistered" haha. The repair guy never came he went to the wrong room ! When I found downstairs I said I knew there was something wrong jokingly which was followed by a sneer by the person that screwed up. This is all minor compared to what came next: The fashion show was basically a loud pop music event to fry your inner ear hair cells so you turn deaf prematurely. We could not believe it, the noise level in the room at the 9th floor was ridiculous. Called reception well I tried because it is not clear which number to dial. In the end I succeeded through several numbers, and I was told they would start to turn it down at 10:30 or so.... We could not go to bed before 11:15 when it finally stopped. I am not exaggerating one bit to be clear it was bad really bad. And then the second major flaw with this hotel: the general attitude of the personnel with exception of the restaurant waiters at breakfast (not the table girl she was more arrogant than well than what ? she is probably the Queen of arrogance) and the valet parking guys these were great service oriented people. Reception, phone people etc are incredibly snobby and not service oriented at all. All they do is walk around in pretty clothes wearing ridiculous shoes and you never know whom you have talked to because they do not wear nametags. Anyway we travel a lot for business and pleasure but this is not a good hotel overall. The reason we gave two stars is that the entry of the hotel, the old prison is very nicely done and breakfast was good quality except the coffee bitter and piping hot. Although (sorry!) at 17:00 o'clock they turn the bar into a loud music place as well, the bar is across from the front desk. Rooms are good, better than your usual US chain hotel but a bit small. Taken all together the price does not make sense, too expensive. And we kept wondering is this a hotel or an entertainment hall? Finally we talked with somebody at the MEEI/MGH and visitors that stayed at the hotel had a general complaint about the attitude of the people. So we are not alone I guess. I come to Boston often but will not stay there anymore. Starwood hotels take action until further notice you will not get our money anymore. The Liberty hotel is next to a major hospital MGH make it a hotel please. Room Tip: Ask whether there are any pop concerts, fashion shows and what have you planned before booking September 11, 2012
<<prev 20 21 22 23 24