The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

  • Boulevard Kukulcán Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera
  • Cancun,
  • Quintana Roo
  • 77500
  • Mexico
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 319 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel The hotel was very well maintained. Beautiful room with everything we needed. The location was great close to the airport and the mall across the street. The beach was amazing. We were very relaxed it was very quiet and stress free. The staff was very friendly. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel Just came back fro our first stay at the Luganamar. I hope it won't be our last! The van was waiting for us at the airport as promised. Our room wasn't ready but they helped us to get our bathing suits and anything else we needed out of our suitcases so we could start enjoying ourselves. Everyone was so nice and helpful; the bellboys, the waiters, cleaning crew, absolutely every person I came in contact with. The guy who runs the poolside activities is AWESOME! So funny and energetic. He really keeps things moving and everyone happy. Our Concierge, Rosy, was so helpful too. Even before we came she was emailing us to see what we needed to make things perfect right from the minute we arrived. There is a small grocery store downstairs. It has the basics. The Beach is amazing. Beautiful water, lots of chairs and umbrellas. And the pools are perfect. Huge, beautiful, great temperature, swim-up bar, slide for the kids (and me!). And the hotel is in the best location possible - directly across from the big La Isla shopping mall with lots of stores, movie theaters, an aquarium, and all types of restaurants. Trust me, that is a really big plus. The absolute only negative comment I can make is that there is a but of a push to sell time shares there. They are not super-pushy or obnoxious, but they definitely remind you about it at every opportunity. But that's ok. I'm ready to go back right now! July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay for the service This is my second review for the same stay. I wanted to make sure some staff were recognized, Fabian and Gabriel greeted us each time we walked in through the main lobby like we were their only guests, we felt special, cared for, warm, and would come back just to see them alone. Hector at the front desk always took care of my needs whether it was exchaning money, helping out with a request regarding my room, or whatever the concern, he handled everything with professionalism and great care as if I was his family. THe waitors at Viento were wonderful, THey were friendly, provided great service, and left us with a smile on our faces. Some even recognized sine we ate there like 5 times. I will be back due to where the resort is located, how clean and safe it is, the pools, but the people we met (your employees, the ones mentioned) will bring us back.They made our trip special. Thanks Fabian, Gabriel and Hector!!!! July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacation destination Gated hotel which makes you feel safe, friendly greeting as soon as you walk in, Fabian and Gabriel always made us feel like we were coming home each time we walked through the door, I would come back just to see them again, Viente provides a great lunch with super service, infinity pools looking out to the sea is a huge plus, grounds are gorgeous, every employee who spotted something out of place would stop and pick up a piece of litter or whatever to keep the place spotless, centrally located, feels like home. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel!!!! I've stayed at many SPG hotels and this has been my best experience anywhere. The location on the hotel strip is amazing...directly across from a nice outdoor mall. The beach and pools are top quality. The room was very comfortable and large. We did upgrade to a one room villa and I highly recommend doing so if you're there for multiple days. We didn't use the kitchen but it was fully stocked with supplies for cooking had we wanted to. The shower was awesome as was the bed and view. I can't think of one complaint. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a Great Place and Great Staff!!!! I planned a girls trip to the Westin last year the week before Thanksgiving. The staff was very attentive, the manager at the breakfast buffet was the best. During checking the staff was quick and very professional, and even though this hotel has limited SPG participation they recognized me as a platinum member, checkout was just as efficient as check in. You cannot beet the location of this hotel, since they are not an all-inclusive hotel I liked that I could walk out the front door of the hotel cross the main drag and in less than 5 minutes be at the main shopping area in Cancun. I enjoyed the trip so much last year I am taking my family this year for 10days around Thanksgiving!!!!!!! Great people, great rooms, and great location!!!!!!!! July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and a great resort My wife and I went for our 20th anniversary and it was a great choice. We got a room in building #1 with a great view of the beach and the resort. Quite frankly, I don't think there is a bad view for any room above the second floor. Most impressively, everyone who works at the resort was fantastic. They were all so nice and were happy to engage you in conversation. Our concierge, Judith, was wonderful, as was Violeta who helped us when we arrived. They gave outstanding advice on where to go and what to avoid. Even the food was great (don't miss the Mexican theme night). I think my wife fell in love with Alberto at the Duna sports bar. Of course, the best part is the amazing beaches and water. The pictures just don't do justice. We will be back - hopefully soon. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is the best location in cancun Hotel is located across the street from many shopping areas, bus line and restaurants. We have stayed in other resorts in cancun and the westin's service is superior to the other resorts. The staff is excellent and accommodating to their guests needs. The new spa and staff were wonderful. Looking forward to returning next year. July 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Our experience at Westin Lagunamar We stayed at Westin Lagunamar last week. In many ways, I don't think this is typical Westin. In our four nights stay, the room was serviced only one time. If that was their policy to service the room only one time a week, they should have made it clear upfront. The daily fresh towels, and small amenities like shampoo, lotion etc. had to be called in daily. It took us over three hours and three follow up phone calls to receive the fresh towels. Coffee packs, creamer, sugar for the daily morning coffee are not supplied. You have to make your own arrangement. The mini market at the Hotel sells the coffee, sugar etc. but not the coffee filter for which you have to go to downtown. When you are there only for handful days, last thing you want to do is spent over half a day in buying grocery items and throw away all the unused items at the end of the stay. Came across as very ineffective model for the guest services. Also, we found check-in process extremely slow and took such a long time even though we were about 4th or 5th in the line. We expressed our concerns during our stay with concierge desk as well as with SOV representative, but did not seem to have any action taken on our issues. We have stayed at many Starwood properties in many countries and it has always exceeded our expectation. But this was totally on the other side and makes us think, should we even consider to stay back here again? If you are travelling with family, least you would like is daily clean room and some basic amenities provided. I don't think this is too much to ask. For the standard rate Westin is charging for this property, believe me, there are many other choices where you will not have to go thru basic agony. On the plus side, the location and pool are very good. Proximity to beach is also very nice. But the overall guest experience and responsiveness of the staff requires a serious improvement. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Honeymoon Spot! Upon our arrival we were put into a room with a not so great view on the 2nd floor, and being that we were on our honeymoon and are SPGs we were a little disappointed. But Patricia at the front desk was wonderful and we were given a voucher for 2 free drinks and were told we would get a new better room the following day. We moved into a 6th floor ocean view room the next day. The room was spotless and comfortable, and housekeeping came everyday. Every single member of the Westin staff was polite, friendly and courteous. We ate breakfast twice and dinner once at Oceano - it was absolutely delicious! Real, authentic Mexican food. We had lunch and dinner a few times at Duna sports bar. They have incredible drinks and the food there is delicious as well. The Viento pool bar is great too! My husband and I had a couples massage at the Heavenly Spa - it was incredible! Best massage EVER! We enjoyed all the amenities the spa had to offer as well - sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi. It was very romantic and a great experience. The beach was clean and beautiful. The hotel is fairly close to the airport. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend the Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort - we had an amazing honeymoon vacation! July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment I recently stayed at Westin Lagunamar hotel and was extremely disappointed by the level of service. My wife and I used 40,000 starwood points combined and expected more. We began the trip with confusion over our reservation, we had to produce an email confirmation to convince the concierge of how our reservation had been made. We had also requested an early check-in when speaking with our Starwood ambassador, and when we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready and we had to wait 3 hours for our room to become available. Which was then preceded by receiving a room that was not cleaned (bed undone/industrial vacum cleaner in the closet). It took three requests to have the room finally cleaned. Next, I received continental breakfast coupons as a platinum member, which my wife. I asked the front desk, in person, if I could utilize two of these vouchers for a different day, since my wife and I would not be using them on consecutive days. They said no, we had to use these vouchers on the designated date or forfeit a breakfast, which made ZERO sense to me. Then we went to the restaurant and were informed, after we had "selected" an additional item, that it was not included in the breakfast package, which I thought was EXTREMELY rude, since it was already on my plate. Then the waiter said, "he'll let this one slide," as if he were doing me a favor. The waiters kept starring at our plates to make sure we weren't adding other items, which made breakfast very uncomfortable. My wife and I were speechless, as this transpired in front of other guests. We went to breakfast on day 3, and were informed by the restaurant upon arrival that our room (845), had a credit card issue (SPG American Express), and that we couldn't add breakfast to our tab. I asked them what could be wrong, and they said I might have reached my credit limit???!!!! Luckily I had my wallet on me so I didn't have to walk back up stairs. After another miserable breakfast, I spoke with the front desk and they apologized for this inconvenience, and said the "system" did not keep my card on file. My wife and I value our starpoints, as we travel quite a bit for work, and utilize this program to unwind. I expect more from Westin properties, and starwood in general. We have been to this property before and had a wonderful experience, which is why we decided to come back, but in general the level of service received would truly make us consider returning in the future.. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was disappointed this time We were planning this vacation with all the family for months. We raved about the villas. We were in building 900 and its needs some work. The breaker box kept clicking off when you used more than one appliance. We had ants in the bed and more cockroaches than any other visit. Toilet seat was wrong size and had to be replaced. Coffee maker was broken. My grand-son was ill and requested a thermometer and they never showed up. Floors tiles loose in 928 and 927. We plan on returning and hope our experience will be better. July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelmed Our first stay at the Lagunamar was far more satisfactory than our most recent stay. The staff this time, although very friendly, had issues remembering what was agreed to and fixing their mistakes. Resort is beautiful and bell hops and general staff is very nice. Front desk at check in needs to be re-trained to eliminate errors. Oceana buffet is not very good but their off menu food is great. Concierge needs to be more interested in helping than selling. It is ok to answer questions over the phone! July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breathtaking views / staff is extremely courteous We were invited to visit the Westin LaGunamar resort as Starwood Members. The resort is absolutely beautiful, the staff is polite, friendly and extremely helpful. Our room which was called a studio villa was a bit small [I think we would call it a lock our unit]. It had a queen bed, love seat, large flat screen TV , a small table and two chairs, a kitchenette and a lovely balcony. I cannot imagine cooking any kind of meal in the room. The bathroom was just beautiful with all of the extras. The linens and towels were wonderful and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only meals we ate at the Westin was the breakfast,. It was a bit expensive and if you do not know to ask for bacon, sausage or omelets no one will tell you. We ordered drinks and food from the outside pool bar every day, again the staff was superb. Happy hour at the pool has two for one drinks which is very nice. We had a few minor communication problems learning to navigate Cancun. It was suggested that we take the local bus and travel to Walmart to do our grocery shopping. This is definitely something that should never be suggested to any of your guests, especially people from the USA. The bus was not bad, very inexpensive and clean, but no air-conditioning and lots of stop and go. Walmart was disgusting ! It had a rancid smell, the fish and produce was sitting uncovered on a bed of ice with flies buzzing around it. We found out later from other guests that you can order groceries brought to your room for a 10.00 fee. I would rather pay more for my groceries than lose a morning of my vacation riding on a bus to go to a smelly Walmart. The tiny market at the hotel is fine for the few items that most guest will need. There is a lovely outside shopping mall across the street from the resort, It has many delicious restaurants and lovely shopping. We enjoyed the close proximity to the hotel. Thank you for the invite, It was a lovely experience. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable & fun stay Very comfortable room and staff go out of their way to be of assistance. We had a great view and access was easy on property and off the property. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel makes me feel at home!!!! This hotel is outstanding but the most beautiful treasure is the people that work there always wanting us to have a great time. I want to thank you Dora Zamora for her welcoming with talent and love at the registration, Mr. Ernesto the manager at breakfast always trying to give us the best, and a great leader for all his team. We can not forget to mention the great chef Liborio, the sweet and kind Denisse, and Henry, Jose Luis and Benito: a wonderful and a unique breakfast with all of them every day!!!!!! Thank you to Delia Hernandez and Carla at the concierge helping us with a great tour that we enjoyed very much, thank you to Miguelito with the toals at the beach, and thank you to Jesus and Eliseo that were always trying to protect us, to take care of us at the beach. And Norma at the store always eager to get the exact merchandise we needed. Thank you to all of you!!! May God bless you all as I will always bless all of you too. My only comment is that the TV channels transmission constantly fail and need to be revised. Many channels freeze its transmisssion and hinder total enjoyment. The TV channels improvement could make this stay perfect. Tray to improve the TV service please!!!!! June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Toni is an outstanding concierge We have been Westin timeshare owners for over 8 years. Of all our vacation visits using our resorts, Toni was the best personal concierge we have ever had. She went out of her way to help us with dinner reservations and excursion plans. She was outstanding in everything she did even if it was just a smile and a hello when we saw her. Her enthusiasm impressed us the most and deserves recognition for a job well done. Lagunamar seems to have the best staff, always willing to help, in the restaurants, around the pool, and at the beach. Above and beyond what we have experienced at other resorts. June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Hotel is excellent Great food, excellent staff , great location for family vacation. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful pool & beach Nicely layout Westin signature resort, heavenly bed & shower, the resort has 2 gyms and a spa, several restaurants on site. But it's amenities on-site compared to other same level resorts are lacking. Food at the restaurants are nothing to write home about--encourage to eat outside of the resort. Most beautiful is the pool area and its beaches and the ancient ruin that's almost on the resort's property. A fair-warning if you go to the spa, it's jacuzzi/wet area and relaxation room are UNISEX... So, don't be skinny dipping at the jacuzzi after your heavenly massage! There are several recommendations for improvements: 1. more hooks in the bath area. While you encouraging guests to conserve, but there's no hook for me to hang up my used towels to dry. 2. more electric outlets in the living area. There were only several wall outlets down at the baseboard level, but nothing that's convenience to plug in the phone or laptop for charging. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful customer service We just returned from a week at your resort. It exceeded all of our expectations. I would like to give a special compliment to Juan Jose. He was our waiter at the beach restaurant on the first day. The next day, he was our waiter on the beach. He remembered us by name. He made us feel appreciated and special. Juan is the epitome of customer service. He is a true asset to your resort. I highly recommend this resort!!!! June 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by great location, terrible staff this hotel has an awesome location, and has a great pool and grounds, but the staff at nearly all areas could not be more rude and unaccomodating. We were promised when we booked the hotel an "premium ocean view room", and when we checked in, we received a room with a sliver of ocean view through trees from the 3rd floor. the room was in a corner, so the next building blocked most of the view as well. When I asked for a room with a better view as promised, i was told they were for Vacation owners only. The front desk employees were rude, the concierge was cold and rude, and the door men / bell hops were also rude. i don't know why this was, as they work in a beautiful place. I booked an excursion thru the concierge,and she clearly did not know how to work the booking computer, as it took over an hour for her to run my credit card, and then she made a mistake, and proceeded to take me to the front desk to add a bother 50.00 to my room bill. unbelievable! June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Longest starwood check in process ever! This is a nice hotel. However if you are platinum and expect to be treated as a platinum guest and expect a quick check in and an upgrade look at a different hotel. I arrived at 1:15 and asked to check in. After 20 of the longest minutes they told me one room will be ready at 3:00 and the kids rooms would be ready at 4:00. I requested two joining rooms. They said it was not available because the rooms that have a common interior door is a one bedroom suite and the one bedroom. They mentioned that they could do it if I was willing to pay an additional $129 a night. My question is if a better room is available why wouldn't I be upgraded as a platinum member. This really rubbed me the wrong way. I returned around 5:00 to get my key and had to wait another 20-30 minutes to get my key because only 2-3 people where checking people other people in and I had to wait for their excruciatingly slow check in process again just to get my key. At this point I was fuming on the inefficiency of this place. Besides the fact that they give zero preference to being platinum and have the most inefficient check in of any Starwood property I have ever stayed at. The people where extremely nice. My biggest issue is the check in and the lack of platinum preference. For example no Platinum line. It appears the Westin Lagunamar's mindset is focused on the once a year vacation club people who don't travel much and don't compare it to other hotels. If it was run like a normal Starwood Property I would stay again. However, I think I would stay at the other Starwood property down the beach because they seem to recognize Platinum Status. If I was only coming for a couple day I would be concerned with the inefficient check in times. When I come to Mexico. I want to spend as little time from plane to pool. They did offer two free continental breakfast, one for each room. That also seemed strange. If my spouse and I just rented one room normally we receive two breakfast for each room. Not in this hotel. One guest per room received a free continental breakfast. Sorry kids not for you. Most other hotels will allow your children to enter the club lounge if traveling with you. No club lounge at this resort. The club Regina was wonderful at other Starwood properties. Not anyone thing was a deal breaker. If the property itself was not as nice as it is I'm sure I wouldn't stay. But even with these issues the property is beautiful and may stay again. If they fixed the check in and would actually upgrade a platinum my view would be much more favorable. Great Hotel, lousy, inefficient front desk. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay This is our third stay, still love it. Think this was the best one yet. Staff always friendly and courteous, very helpful. Pool and rooms in great shape. Really nothing bad to say except would be nice if more activities and video arcade room for our sons. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay~exceeded expectations This resort is beautiful, the pictures don't begin to show its true beauty. The resort has great features, friendly and helpful staff, and is centrally located. The food is okay, kind of pricey, but there is a mall right across the street that has a food court and great shopping. The pool is beautiful and my room had a great view of both the pool and the beach. Everything was neat and clean. We were able to trade cash for pesos at customer service. The concierge was helpful in setting up activities and guiding us around Cancun. My husband and I travelled alone this time, we will be back next year with the kids. We loved it June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cancun's Best I've been staying at Lagunamar since it was open and every time they exceed my expectations... The exceptional service, the excellent food, the great entertainment, and the most comfortable Villa makes me come back every year. Special thanks to Omar and Gustavo at the front desk they made me feel like a guest in their own home Thank you for service and doing a great job year after year. Sincerely, Jorge Portillo June 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service great beach great time! We had stayed here in Feb 2014 and there had been a minor issue but I wrote to mgmt and they responded and stated to let them know when we would come back and I did. . .and they passed with flying colors! Alberto Ocariz contacted me personally and when I arrived called to make sure everything was perfect! Thats what I call great customer service! The beach is wonderful and the pool enormous with a beautiful infinity pool. . .you never felt the pool was crowded. We would also go to the daily happy hour at Viento at the swim up bar where the service was great from joaquin, Jorge, and Edgar and co. This place also recognized our SPG platinum status so that was great! We had the daily breakfast buffet which didnt include all the "hot" items but was sufficient for our needs. The manager Ernesto always was pleasant and Tomas who served us frequently great. Overall cant complain and we would come here again in a heartbeat! June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bait and Switch Overall, everything at the facility was good. My issue was that I selected a junior suite with a ocean view/partial ocean view and I was assigned a junior suite on the ground floor. The only view I had was several trees and a slip of ocean through those trees. They told me to check to see if there was another room available the next morning but who wants to spend their vacation running to the desk to switch rooms?! And as soon as you walk in the hotel, everyone pushes you to meet "your concierge". And the reason they want you to meet your concierge is because that is the person who is going to do the hardsell on you for one of their timeshares. They offer you enticements with discounted tour activities if you agree to take a 2 hour tour of their timeshare program. To top it off, my concierge gave me incomplete information on the tour we signed up for stating "its all inclusive"..you won't need any money. All I can say is.."BUYER BEWARE". But like I wrote at the beginning, the facility itself is nice. Just skip meeting "your concierge"!!! And if you wanted a room with a view, you better confirm this!! May 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Approved!! hotel is very nice and clean.Duna bar tho isnt very good very poor quality food (hamburger meat wasnt good) service was poor BUT the other restaurants were great. Oceano tho was amazing. Buffet was great and the service by Jaime, Henry and Roberto was top notch.Not to forget the man from England(concierge) Matthew took care of me by booking my activities.. good work guys! May 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed in stay The location of the hotel is perfect. The outside grounds are wonderful. The restaurant staff was very friendly and attentive, especially the woman bartender working in Dunes on Saturday and Sunday nights. The room was fine. But there were a lot of little things that turned me off. Bed was small. Queen, Bedding smelled of bleach Bedding, towels and robe were dingy and gray. There was no recognition of my platinum status. When I met with the concierge it was more a sales pitch and less of his service. Breakfast was acceptable not outstanding May 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It didn't meet my expectations Unfortunately Pillows are not at the Heavenly Pillow standards. They are old and terrible. As a SPG gold level usually we get 2 welcome drinks as an amenity, at the front desk they told me so but in the bars they didn't honor the original offer and they only gave 1 drink. Not that I couldn't afford the drinks but if they are not willing to give them they shouldn't offer them. Another thing is the ridiculous check out time at 10.00 am. Sorry but I've never see that in my life. May 20, 2014
  • 2015-05-05T20:52:16.325-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_319, tr_319
  • loc_en_US, sid_5646, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>