Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

  • 250 Market Street
  • Portsmouth,
  • New Hampshire
  • 03801
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check in. Photo Identification is required at the time of arrival. Reservations will not be honored if guest can not produce proper identification at check in. Any exception requests must be directed to the property and specifically approved by hotel management via Director of Operations or Managing Director.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 435 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing We were part of a Tauck Tour Sept/Oct 2010. One of the specific reasons for joining this tour was the claimed standard of accommodation. We have stayed at a range of Sheraton Hotels World wide but this hotel did not meet the claimed Sheraton ratings. Sheraton should be very particular as to how it rates its hotels and the standards claimed to ensure confidence with their members. March 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room 437 Room dated; carpet filthy October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service and Good Food My husband and I had a 2 day stay to enjoy the Portsmouth Area. From check in to check out the staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and inviting. We really enjoyed the delicious seafood dinner in the tavern. We liked that we could order appetizers at the bar- the flatbread pesto was yummy. The Sheraton will be our go to place when visiting Portsmouth. October 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Owners need to spend a lot more money on the Sheraton Portsmouth's infrastructure The Sheraton Portsmouth has tanked in terms of service delivery and facilities. We encountered way too many operational errors during our stay. Someone is asleep at the wheel. We checked into a room with little light; the lamp was unplugged at the floor outlet (shouldn't housekeeping have checked that when they cleaned the room?). There was debris under our bed (shouldn't housekeeping have checked that when they cleaned the room?). Our room was run down; way overdue for a redo; the carpet was seedy! We asked for a (Platinum) late check-out at 4:00 PM, which could not be accommodated. Why? (? too few housekeeping staff to keep up with late, Platinum, check-outs (money saving?)). At 12:30 PM when we went back to our room, despite having been authorized to check-out at 3:00 PM, our room keys had been deactivated, why? so we had to go back to the Front Desk - - a nuisance, with no apology by the Front Desk Agent. The redo in the common areas (hallways, elevator vestibules, elevators) looks like the hotel owners have totally nickel and dimed the redo, and selected Walmart as an Interior Designer, Architect, and General Contractor. All one has to do is stand and wait for the elevator on the fourth floor, and you see a new, cheezy wall covering, old, very dated buttons and signs for the elevator (up/down lights), baseboard moldings from the 1970's, and so many layers of paint on the elevator frames, that it looks like they've been painted every year since 1970. Talk about "value engineering!" The hotel looks tacky, and in no way will be competitive with the growing hotel competition in downtown Portsmouth. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Getaway Portsmouth continues to have a Great Staff and its location is perfect for those little Getaways as well as conducting business. October 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad hotel choice Hi I made a 2 day reservation to the Sheraton in Portsmouth NH. At 4am I learned that there is a factory right across the hotel that recycle Metal and scrape metal and they have bulldozers and tractors working. And that makes a loud noise. And from 5am there was such a loud noise that we couldn't sleep. So we had 2 days with out sleep. And when we asked for the general manager. I was told that there is a new manager on site and they are not sure the name. So we got to speak to a assistant manager with the name of "Alexander Carr" and she told me that she gets this complains all the time and there is nothing she can and will do for me. And when I asked for a 2 hour extension so we can get some rest. She was extremely rude to me and refused. I am attaching some pictures taken from my room. So you see for yourself what is going on here October 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing Hotel We had reserved a room at a special rate to be on the Club level. Arrived at 2pm and was told the level is sold out. How is an entire floor sold out by mid afternoon on a Friday. TVs in the gym didn't work and satellite TV in room cut out all weekend. Food service around the hotel was very mixed. For the price we paid for the room, we would not return. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was mostly helpful but I have a concern Micah Craft at the front desk was especially helpful and friendly. We discussed traveling in North Carolina. The only issue I had at the hotel occurred when I visited the Sheraton room on the club level. The young lady working the evening of 10/22 felt it necessary to question my right to take advantage of the privileges granted to SPG members. Is it customary to interrogate everyone that comes into that room? Other than that, the hotel was great. October 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First class hotel in a great location We spent 3 wonderful days at this hotel. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the excellent valet/bellmen staff everything was first class. The hotel is in a great location easily accessible from highway 95 and all the Portsmouth historic sites and restaurants are within walking distance. The rooms are large and the beds and linens very comfortable.THe housekeeping staff maintains a high level of cleanliness. We will return. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff made the stay incredible! My husband and I can't say enough about Micah who called us before we got to the hotel and did extras for us that were exceptional! Our gold status is because of the Portsmouth Harborside hotel. I would also like to mention Vivian who goes out of her way to help and make us comfortable as well. The Valet guys were wonderful too! We will be back as soon as possible. December 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel My wife and I went to Portsmouth for the weekend and stayed at the Sheraton. I travel quite a bit and have to say this was one of the best stays I've had in ages. The staff did a great job and the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful! We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Portsmouth! October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfy Room and Valet boys were gentlemen! Very comfortable and nice room, BUT a bit crowded between 2nd bed by window and chair. Lots of room there - but not a lot of room to walk past chair when someone is sitting in it. Wasn't able to use add this stay to my SPG points, as I shared a room and we used my girlfriend's credit card. That was a disappointment. Wonderful Valet boys - every one of them - especially Brian!!! October 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Wedding Night My husband and I stayed one night for our 1st night together as husband & wife. We live locally, but wanted the night to be special. The room was very comfortable. We felt special by having access to the Club Lounge floor. We were gifted strawberries (chocolate covered) and champagne by the hotel - very nice. The view and shower were excellent. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay, good location, good staff We stayed at the Sheraton Harborside in Portsmouth on August 4. We had no problem checking in and the front desk was very attentive and polite despite how busy it was. The room was clean and you cannot beat the location of this hotel. I do have to single out one particular member of the staff. This was the club room attendant. She was very personable and polite and kept everything clean and running smoothly, she was also very professional. As we watched her interact with other guests you could see that others thought the same. We have stayed here before and experienced the same kindness. I believe that her name was "Vivian". I would recommend this hotel to others and will stay here again. August 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unimpressive stay The room furnisings need an upgrade. They were old. The fabric on the chairs/ottoman were stained and worn. The wooden mini bar and desk were heavily scratched and chipped. The countertop in the bathroom had cigarette burn marks on it (how old could this be since hotels have not permitted smoking in rooms for quite a few years?). The bathroom was not cleaned to our satisfaction ("hairs", not ours, were in the tub and the toilet clogged for no apparent reason). We've stayed at this hotel several times in the past (but not in the last 5 years). We don't remember the rooms being this run down. August 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay Enjoyed meeting your Beer Master and author Brian Aldrich. He steered us to some wonderful microbreweries in Portsmouth and his book is a great guide to all the beers of NH. Besides the beer :), the hotel is perfect and as guests we happened upon the employee celebration of Dan the Catering Mgr's 25th year at the hotel and were invited to enjoy the fun in the lobby. Portsmouth is a wonderful vacation destination! August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charges$ Excellent room, just extra charges for water yes it was in frig, parking and breakfast.Not sure if I've been charged for in room coffee that I hade.We were given a recently remodeled room which was done very nicely. As expected pillows, bed, towels all excellent and a very nice shower.Only thing was for a remodel AC was a bit loud for new(?). Didn't get to do much at hotel spent most of time away from hotel. We were greeted/ acknowledged on every exit/ return.Did enjoy 2nd floor bartender( Lynn) she was very informative. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by A rough start When checking in we were told that our reservation was for one night only which was very upsetting. Asked for early check in first room given key for was still dirty when we opened the door. Went back down to desk and was told we were mixed up with another reservation and our two night stay was ok. We were then given another room. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Place to hold your next Meeting! My company held our annual 2-day Sales kick off meeting in January 2012 at the Sheraton Portsmouth Harbor Hotel in Portsmouth, NH which included 120 + attendees. We have used other Hotels in the area for this annual meeting, but I must tell you that the Sheraton Portsmouth was by far, The Best meeting experience and hotel I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Every detail was the way I asked for it if not better, the entire staff was the best; very pleasant and professional, and the food was superior! And to top it off, the hotel was classy, beautiful and their location is perfectly located in historical NH Seacoast. They made me look great and my meeting was a great success! Thank you Sheraton for a Superb Job! We will be back! Peggy February 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Funny As a platinum member for 6 years, my wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times. As much as we have liked this hotel, the one thing that has irked us is the self-parking charge. This cost would be reasonable when using the underground parking lot (especially during winter), but this charge is also incurred when we have to park across the street in a seedy barely paved, unlit lot. We just received what we consider the funniest e-mail we ever received. To offset the daily price Iincrease over the winter rates, the hotel now advertises that they will cut the savings on the parking in half. Whereas most good hotels offer a gas card, this hotel offers a paltry offsetting charge and only if you belong to AAA. Too funny. My wife is still laughing. May 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too Expensive for what you get The staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were wonderful, with four pillows and luxurious sheets and comforters. The disappointment starts with the fact that you have to pay for parking on top of the expensive room rate. The bathroom had awful drop ceiling and no exhaust fan. The towels were rough and small and the toilet paper was the cheap one ply kind. There was not electronic temperature control; you had to play with dials and hope for the best. To top it all, no continental breakfast for the outrageous room charge. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff exceptional i travel around the world and would rank this staff an a plus. Thanks to micah i could not have had a more perfect stay/ September 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed For the price in that market, incredibly dated and the rooms on the Club level small and cramped when more than 10 people were in it. The Club itself was well staffed but only offered beer and wine for a fee. Breakfast was better. Parking was across the street, poorly marked while there seemed to be covered parking in the lower level which was never offered. My wife was disappointed with the cleanliness in the room. The common areas were much better. Worst room feature was the LOUD A/C unit. Woke us both up all night!!! July 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Club Lounge We really loved staying on the Club Floor. This was our first time staying at the Sheraton Harborside. Vivien was great. Friendly & personable. Inky was our housekeeper. What a really nice girl. Eager to please. The only complaint we "both" have is the noise. We could actually hear the TV and in the morning we could hear their alarm clock and heard the woman in the room coughing. We did not have a good nights sleep there at all. Other than that, the hotel is at a great location and the food was really good. Paula \ January 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sue's 60th Birthday celebration I have always been a fan of this property, but truly during this stay your staff went above and beyond. From the moment of check in the guest services staff asked if we were celebrating anything special? As it turned out, we were celebrating a 60th birthday! FInding this out, Sarah had a chocolate cake sent up to our room. In addition, John worked with me on the phone to sort out the rooms to be preblocked on the new renovated floor and went into the system to block adjoining rooms, which made our stay so much fun. The renovations on the second floor are spectacular and I will be coming again soon. Thank you so much Sheraton Portsmouth! August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Doubtful that I'll stay here again... I'm a handicapped veteran who travels with my service dog...she's highly trained and extremely well behaved. While I'm grateful the hotel allows pets I have to say that being on the top floor (apparent 'dog' floor) was not a treat. The rugs throughout were obviously stained and not cleaned in a great length of time. Other guests placed next to my room left their dog for hours and it cried and barked (yapped) throughout it's owners' absence...making my dog very upset; which also upset me--my sleep interrupted I left two days early...and when I complained on departure was simply told that hotel policy was to not leave a dog unattended...seriously? July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cleaning staff The Asian woman who cleaned our room was most kind as well as thorough in her cleaning. I was traveling with my son 28 who has autism. She kindly engaged him while I was out and arranged for the room to be made up at a more convenient time for us very late in the day. She not only providing fantastic customer service but seemed to really care about us in the process. Thanks. June 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This property needs review This property, while convenient to walk into Portsmouth, offered me a view of a mountain of salt, had terrible windows, noisy and leaky, a fan/blower that I could not make work, mold or mildew along the top of the shower/tub unit, no access to a fridge unless I signed out the key to the minibar, and felt like a quarter mile hike from the elevator. Now for the facility: the formal dinner function was grossly understaffed, with some being served our dinner while others had finished dessert. A practically non-existant wait staff (I think one per 3 or 4 tables) and a bar / corridor where we were herded like cattle until the ballroom doors were opened (this was incredibly tight for an hour - many left or would not enter, as there felt like no way out) I really don't think this property is adequate for our next convention. September 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not treated great as a Platinum guest Despite extensive 9 year history at Platinum level, not offered room on Preferred 5th floor, no water or proper mini-bar key, multiple visits from staff to correct these issues despite wishing to rest and relax, virtually non-functional computer/printer/fax in the louge "business center" area - clearly poorly maintained, generally poor attention to details. Good housekeeping service, nice suite on 2nd floor, good location, staff attentive when not overly solicitous. February 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Nice hotel, great location, average facilities. Disappointed with the way after hours wedding reception guests continued partying in hallways and adjacent guest room, and management did not act strongly enough to maintain the peace and quiet for other non-participating guests, and even more disappointed with how our complaints and concerns about the noise was handled. Several other nice hotels within sight of this Sheraton, I will try them next time. August 15, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
Put the world at your fingertips.
With an app for every device, and a tool for every travel need, get the SPG apps and get packing>