The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

  • 2259 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • USA
  • Landkarte
 

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 502 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel, Horrible Service, and Bad SPG/Hotel allignment ---Summary--- Though the managers were polite and empathetic in all dealings with me, they frequently were insulting in the content of their gestures, and unable to take action to correct both mis-understandings as well as gross negligence. The hotel's reservation system is apparently completely mis-aligned with the SPG website and availability shown cannot be trusted, and the valet gave my car to someone else without checking ID. I recommend skipping the property all together--a good Sheraton or Westin would easily be better, and a lesser hotel would provide a better guest experience than the Royal Hawaiian, "a Luxury Collection hotel." ---Some Detail--- It's a rarity for me to take my family on a business trip, but my kids were out of school this past week and I had meetings in Hawaii. My family dropped me off at my business meeting and continued to the Royal Hawaiian to check-in. I set this up with the SPG support line, and was ensured this would be alright by putting my wife's name on the reservation, providing my SPG number, and sending her with my first-born child. Upon arrival, my wife was told she could not complete check-in, or discuss Platinum Room upgrades without the SPG Platinum member present. While my family waited, I was forced to take 20 mins out of my business meetings to call the hotel and talk about room upgrades. I checked online if there were any Junior suites available while on hold for the first 5 minutes of the call--and there were. I was put in contact with the Manager right away, who told me that there weren't any upgrades or jr. suites available. We discussed the disconnect between what I could book online (SPG.com), and she said the website was frequently wrong. After about 10 mins of being told there weren't any suites but SPG suite-night Awards are always honored (mine were declined), she told me that their solution was to offer me their nicest suite for a LARGE amount in addition to my reservation... We had planned for a fun day traveling around Oahu on the 4th of July-- When I didn't see our car at the valet, they apologized for giving another guest my car 10 minutes earlier. THATS RIGHT, they gave my rental car including my kids CAR SEATS to another person without checking ID or asking any questions. The manager suggested a cab, and that they would pay our return fare after our first destination--so we could see if our ACTUAL RENTAL CAR had been returned yet. We left for Breakfast about 45 minutes after I directed them to contact the registered guest they had given my car to. I usually tip the valet guys... I didn't. Nothing was easy with this Hotel. I spent over 3 hours during my stay talking with staff about simple things like checking in, and late checkout availability. I recommend going to a different SPG property. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with amazing views We loved our 6 night stay and can't wait to go back. The hotel was top notch and treatment was fantastic. Anything you asked they deliver and now questions or hesitation. Don't expect extreme cleanliness though, you need to just relax and realize your in Hawaii and they likely don't have the same obsession with cleanliness that we do in the states. Not dirty just not spotless. Can't wait to book again !!!! August 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our stay at this hotel was the worst experience ever at SPG properties Like the review title, our stay at this supposedly "LUXURY" hotel was possibly the worst experience we've ever had at SPG properties. We arrived in Hawaii around 2 pm and proceeded to arrive at the hotel at around 2:45 pm. The check-in process was uneventful, but the person checking us in told us that they don't have the room ready until 4 pm. This is unacceptable as we had 2 very young children who just got off the plane and needed to rest and clean up. But no, the room which was suppose to be ready at 2 pm wouldn't be ready until 4 pm. That same night at around 9 pm we got back to our room, but noticed that there was loud music and noise coming from the Mai Tai Bar. I'm not sure how the hotel managed to mess up the sound proofing of the building...this is a luxury hotel...you should have great sound proofing from outside noise or inside noise. The music and noise were so loud that we couldn't sleep. My children were miserable because they couldn't sleep and in turn they made us miserable. The rooms were fairly nice and the banana breads were a nice touch; but I have to say the rooms are showing their age. There were instances where the coffee table had paint scraped off, carpet dirtied, and bathroom with muggy smell. Again, this is a luxury hotel and we were totally underwhelmed by the room. I mean, come on, we are paying over $500 a night at a luxury hotel and we expected luxury rooms. Lastly, the staff at this hotel just didn't perform up to par. The check-in staff we interacted with showed little interest in helping us and resolving our problems at the hotel. Even when a manager was called, it felt like he was just trying to get rid of us...we just didn't feel like we are valued as paying customers during our stay. One bright spot thought...we have to commend Michelle, who was the manager who took care of us and really showed that she cared about our stay. The rest of the staff was sub-par and not worthy of mentioning. Thank you Royal Hawaiian hotel for making this one of our worst vacations in our life time. Oh, and make sure you tell your guests what your resort credit could be used on or could not be used on. You need to be more clear about this. December 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Bag Fantastic service from the staff! Azure was wonderful. Mai Tai was good. Bedroom was adequate. Bathroom was way too small. Toilet logistics were challenging. Robes too small. One size does not fit all. Resort fee annoying: we did not have a car; we had our own phones; we had no children w/us; internet was unreliable. 'Pool' area was laughable. Why is there no charge for sunning by the pool and a charge at the beach. If I am by myself at the beach, why do I have to pay for two chairs? Aren't we being charged enough for the room? Or shouldn't the resort fee include chaise lounges at the beach? February 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed could have been so much better I stayed at this resort about a year ago and was so impressed by the old world Hawaiiana charm of the hotel and the service was excellent. This time was not the same. At check in we were told that the hotel was very busy with the Today Show filming. It seemed as though that was the hotel employees priority. The air conditioning in our room did not cool the room. It came on all night which kept us awake but never cooled the room down. When we switched to a new room the next day due to the air conditioning we arrived at the room and our new keys to the room had not been activated. Back down to the lobby to get new room keys. I would expect better from a "luxury" hotel and for the price per night. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Experience I stayed for 5 nights as a vacation to celebrate my birthday. It was an outstanding experience. The hotel has the best loocation on the beach, is secluded from the noise and foot traffic on the street and has elegance and charm. I love staying in the historical wing. Had room 271, an ocean junior suite. Huge room, geat view and nice room amenities. Free bottled water and a refigerator to keep things cold. Loved the pool chairs and umbrellas. Yes there is a charge now, but it is never full and you can always get a good spot. Great food, great drinks at the Mai Tai bar and the staff greets you by name every day. This was all in all a great experience and I will stay here on my next trip to Honolulu. November 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great beachfront hotel If you want to be on the beach in Waikiki, this is the place to be. Excellent staff ready to meet whatever requests you have. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by THINK PINK FOR LUXURY! I have stayed at 5 star hotels within the United States and Europe…I have never received the quality of personal service that I enjoyed during my stay at the iconic "Pink Palace." I also love the boutique feel of the hotel, rather than the monster size of other respected establishments. The hotel is steps away from decadent shopping sprees and entertainment. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipping I remember my first first to the RHR 6 years ago. I was most impressed with every single thing (valet, bellman, front desk, etc.). This year I returned was most DISAPPOINTED. No greeting or assistance from Valet, Bellman (until my husband asked for assistance). No welcome from front desk, no pink lemonade was offered, wasn't able to extend a late check out. The first welcome we received was from House Keeping as we approached our room. In fact, all of the housekeeping staff was very friendly. Beach Boy Micah was AWESOME. Not sure I will stay at RHR next year, as when you promise to provide exceptional service and then you don't, then it is expected every single time. This time you just didn't measure up. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once again, a great stay at the Royal Hawaiin As a local resident of Oahu, I like to spend a night or two every month in Waikiki with my girlfriend to go out for dinner and do some shopping. I have stayed at all four Starwood properties in Waikiki and none of them is better than the Royal Hawaiian. As Platinum SPG member, I always get special treatment and recognition but this time, the management went above and beyond and put me in the Royal Hawaiian Suite which was spectacular. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back soon. To the staff, guest services manager, and General Manager - Mahalo, a hui hou malama pono! October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Delivered on all expectations and then some!!! 10 x better than the Sheraton...if u need to choose between the 2 no doubt pick the Royal!! July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing experience I have over 500 SPG nights and travel to Honolulu on business regularly. The wait to check in (20 minutes) was not pleasant as I was the only person in line at the time. The process takes way too long. I was given an "upgrade" which happened to be garden view, across the hall from the maid's closet and service elevator. The room had a tiny bathroom and the furniture was out of the 1960's. Very, very disappointing, although the guy who parked my car was really nice. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historical Charm The Royal Hawaiian brings you back to yesterday when Waikiki was much different. If you are looking for a modern high rise then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for historical ambiance of a by gone era with modern amenities, then this has no equal. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet and relaxing Hotel proved a relaxing experience,ideal for older people..Staff excellent at accomadating our needs.We did find the beach facilities expensive(chairs and parasol)we never have to pay this in europw. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Familiy Vay Cay Great, iconic hotel. A couple of disappointments. Took 2 phone calls to fix the room safe, had to call to get a shower curtain installed and have the shower head moved to accomodate someone over 3 feet tall !! The Royal is a great hotel, superb location and an oasis amongst the hustle of Honolulu. My issues are nit-picking for sure but this is a 5 Star Hotel at a 5 Star price, we had 40 hotel room nights booked for our family (multiple rooms) and expect close to perfection (devil is in the details) !!! We did have a great time and the staff were terrific !!! We will be back. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, very good!! Would surely recommend the hotel for Waikiki visitors, great location. A couple of issues may be the loud A/C which can be fixed if they really tried, and the small sink in the bathroom which is a structural issue so may not fly. In any case, good job! to the whole staff. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE STAFF We come to the Royal hotel at least once a year and we love the Hotel for its elegance and beauty but the main reason is the staff….Avis is always the first person we see and what a delight…she is infectious….Gerrard and Allan at the car/cab area…Randall and Cam are the most wonderful staff in the breakfast areas and we all love Heidi she is so thoughtful and kind….Chuck and Tomoko are sensational, meeting all our needs and more poolside and Nelson is my kids favourite with the surfing lesson, he is a wonderful young man….and then there is Kui and Shane and Cheryl at the Mai Tai Bar, fantastic staff and our last favours are Romeo and Francis who looks after our room so well….we love them all….Jo and Paul Peers-Barlow November 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can I move in permanently? I had such a wonderful time at the Royal Hawaiian. The staff were always operating at 110%. Having valet parking is a must in Waikiki and they were always prompt with our car. The room was GORGEOUS! The products made me run downstairs and buy sets for all of my friends. I also went home with more hats from Newt's than my honey was expecting. I must have been a sight in the airport with all of my hat boxes! The Mai Tai bar was perfectly situated and was one of the best people watching locations on the island. After staying here,my new goal is how often I can come back. February 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort in busy Waikiki Beach My husband and I celebrated our two year anniversary at the Royal Hawaiian and absolutely loved it! The hotel rooms and lobby are beautiful. We stayed in the historic building which had an elegant charm to it with the lavish decor. The restaurant food and service was great. Fantastic mai tais at the mai tai bar! Most importantly, it was quaint and felt like a mini getaway from the really, really busy Waikiki Beach. The walls in the hotel and the grounds really made us feel secluded and special. Highly recommend for a couples only getaway! It is truly a royalty treat! October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4 Days in the Pink Palace We take a yearly sojourn to the Royal Hawaiian - we just finished our 12th or 13th trip. 3 nights/4 days of peace and bliss. And being taken care of by an outstanding staff. Over the years the property and menus have changed but the quiet, beauty and friendliness has remained superb. The Royal Hawaiian is a slice of peace and tranquility inside the hustle and craziness of Waikiki. Life doesn't get much better than a day spent lounging under an umbrella on the sand followed by a sunset dinner and live entertainment at the Mai Tai bar. We will return again and again. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location The location and proximity to the beach, shopping and dining can't be beat. July 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by only average The hotel is beautiful - as expected (except for the tiny pool). However the service was average at best. the pool/beach staff that the hotel prides itself on were only minimally helpful and generally aloof and focused on talking to each other. The restaurant food was wonderful (breakfast) but the service was also average - forgetting items, not repairing a wobbly table, not having enough menus available and a general lackadaisical attitude about service. we stay at numerous high end hotels around the world and this was not impressive. April 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Delta Diamond No Crossover = lame As a Delta Diamond with Crossover benefits, I am always greeted with great charm at every starwood hotel in which I stay. This time, I was taking my family for a weekend in one of the supposedly most prestigious hotels in Hawaii only to be treated terribly by the check in staff and embarrassed in front of my family. Besides the host, the food service was terrible and the waitstaff was equally as rude. I will never return to this hotel, nor recommend to anyone else. It's old and needs some serious renovations as it's way past its prime :) April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Waikiki Wonderland We recently stayed at the Royal Hawaiian for three nights. We arrived to a very warm welcome by amazingly friendly staff. Right for the start we knew the staff cared. We got an early check in,which just made our day. The facilities of the resort are fantastic. Our two girls (12 and 13) loved the playground pool. although it was busy, it never seemed overcrowded. The cocktails by the pool were amazing, you must try the Lava Flow! We loved the proximity to the shops on Waikiki. Two almost teen girls loved how close it was to them and that they could walk across the beautiful green grass to Forever 21. We loved the proximity to great restaurants and to the Royal Hawaiian Centre. The hotel was decorated for Christmas and was truly gorgeous. I love pink and was inspired by all the pink decorations. Our only concern was the size of the room. With two teen girls and two adults the room was tight squeeze. The bathroom although beautiful, was small. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to couples wanting a smaller more intimate hotel experience. So glad we stayed there for the last three nights of out holiday. Mahalo to the Royal Hawaiian, we would definitely be back again. December 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Much lower level of service compared to last year While the hotel staff was very welcoming, and the room are great, there are a few things that took be aback. In particular, I was shocked to discover that the hotel started charging USD 40 for an umbrella and a chair on the beach, which is outrageously expensive, and a big downer compared to be previous stay at that hotel a year earlier. C'mon, this is absolutely ridiculous. And plus the beach staff was not very pleasant at all. The hotel should increase the USD 36 resort fee by a few USD to include the use of chairs and umbrellas at the beach. The rooms are also more loud than I remembered, especially in the morning. The location, however, cannot be beat, but this should NOT be a reason for taking advantage of their customers. January 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hard to find the location of the hotel I drove to find the hotel at night, but could not find it for the first time. Although I used my GPS, but it also did not tell me where the hotel was located. I drove around the area for about 20 min and finally find it after asking a question to some walking people. If there is a big traffic sign to be noticed easily at night, it will make easier for people to find the hotel and get the hotel more attractive. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Personalized attention One of the most impressive aspects of our stay at The Royal Hawaiian was the name recognition from the staff. Each day whether leaving or entering the hotel your staff addressed us by name with well wishes. A very welcoming environment that showed geniue appreciation for our business. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our visit to the Royal Hawaiian Hotel If you are in the mood for a splurge in Waikiki then the Royal Hawaiian Hotel is the place for you. The grand old "Pink Princess" is still beautifully maintained and all the staff make it a point to welcome you daily and do a fine job of sharing their aloha. The pool area is a bit small and there is a charge for the loungers on the beach, which seems like an excessive charge given the resort fees over and above the room rate but other than that we loved our stay and can't wait to return. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience in an iconic hotel! We spent a few days at the hotel bookending a trip to Kauai. We could not have picked a better spot. The hotel is beautiful and sits on a prime spot on Waikiki. Situated next to the Sheraton Waikiki, the hotel's facilites, accessible to all guests, covered all of our needs from great pools for our young children to beachside cabanas for weary parents. Check-in time was great on the front end and yet took longer our second stay. Staff flexibliity to minimize guest check-in wait time should be enhanced. That said, we had a wonderful stay. January 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Summer Vacation Summer Vacation This is the third time that I have stayed at this hotel and I will be having a hard time staying at this hotel again. My wife and I were celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary and we decided to switch hotels to the Royal Hawaiian. We did get an upgrade to an ocean view suite which was quite nice. Since this was in the original hotel the air conditioning unit does not work well. The room stayed at a constant 75 degrees, which made sleeping in the room a pain. The pool and service in the pool area was good. The only problem is this is a luxury hotel and you expect no screaming kids around the pool. This pool should be only be used for adults or children over 16. There is a kids pool beside the hotel which is shared by the two hotels. July 24, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 18 next>>