Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 837 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic accommodations Nice family vacation, enjoyed the surroundings and atmosphere. Would highly recommend, great staff. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay The MS had great everything - location, facilities, food and service. We will definely return. August 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not great I was somewhat disappointed with my stay here in August. I had booked a banyan room however ended up in the Diamond wing which is somewhat run down and needs a renovation to meet Starwood expectations in my book. For what i paid I did not feel I received the service and quality usually provided by a starwood property. But overall a lovely stay. August 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staying at this hotel makes me feel like royalty. At this hotel we always experience customer service at it's best. Can hardly wait for our next stay. August 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overall not a good experience. The room was so small you only had enough room to get around the bed. This is not comfortable for me and I will not plan to stay at this hotel again. The housekeeping service was inconsistant and needed to call for the things that should have been replenished daily. Valet was slow, they quoted 10 minutes and it was 30 every time. The front desk was slow and unfriendly. The two things we liked were the historical features and the central location but not worth it for comfort. August 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Family Hotel Great beach amendities, staff very attentive. August 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed My first trip to Hawaii and what a disappointment this hotel was. I paid for an ocean view room that was blocked by a tree, s beautiful historic tree...but a tree. I asked to be moved 3 times and no one followed up with me to the point I had to keep going to the front desk. At one point i was told i would be able to "see through the tree when the sun came up". Breakfast buffet was wonderful. The service in the casual restaurant was AWFUL. Long waits for greats and food and had to get up to get my own refills. We ate their twice, both times....BAD! Asked for a late checkout (again I had to follow up multiple times, no one called me back). which wasn't available due to capacity, it wasn't until we got our bags from the bellhop that he told us. The best part of my experience was my interaction with the bellman and valet people, I will go back to Hawaii but not to this hotel. I travel a lot ( i have diamond,and platinum status at two of your competitors and Starwood gold 6 years in a row) this is the first unsatisfactory review I have ever written. August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Very disappointing. Bed arrangements booked through travel agency apparently not "confirmed" by the hotel. My friend and I were given a room with one bed instead of the two doubles we had requested months earlier. One of us slept on what the hotel called a "day bed" which was really a window sill with a cushion. Tower city-view rooms are in dire need of updating and cleaning. They are well-worn and certainly not "luxury" rooms. Front desk staff is slow and inconsistent. Another friend was told she could have late check-out confirmed; others were told that none was available. Wait time at the front desk can exceed 20 mins. Lobby is noisy and cramped. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Birthday Staycation My wife and I recently stayed for my birthday. We had a fabulous time. The staff was courteous and friendly. We especially liked spa and afternoon tea on the Veranda. We strongly recommend this hotel to both locals and visitors. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful & pleasant We had a lovely time at the Surfrider & we will stay here again. The service was exceptional & the decor & location were just right. August 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Moana The service I come to expect from Star Woods was lacking at this property. For example a room booked for two beds several months ago was unable to be fulfilled. We were told there wasn't a bed available. Several phone calls later they were able to locate a rollaway bed to put in our room. Next, the bathroom has mold in the shower. Another issue the air conditioning did not work properly. Then we go reserve an umbrella and there isn't one available. We tried to reserve one at 8 am still not available. We had a $10 umbrella credit. So we tried to apply it to the beach chairs we Rented. Unable to do that!! Then we get over billed for those!! August 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful old lady of Waikiki glad we stayed Despite this being a lovely hotel we were not advised of the presence of the spa especially, nor other facilities, eg the gym, on checkin which I think is just a common courtesy. We found the gym by looking briefly in your info book in our room. Was a little disappointed you charged to watch DVDs and the selection quite limited. The room was amazingly quiet given that it looked over busy Kalakua Ave, great soundproofing and double glazing, but the bathroom was poorly designed with water running straight out of the shower onto the floor and out the door into the room, we had to pile towels across the floor to stop it and prevent slipping on the wet floor, there is no ridge by the shower stall to prevent the water, a safety issue to look at and no place to put your toiletries and incidentals in the bathroom, a small 6 inch shelf which was occupied by your hotel hairdryer was all.... In short, poor design. Our room was 3501 if you wish to check this. I did report the shower issue to your concierge on July 28 as we checked out. We asked for 2 beds in the room when i booked this hotel for my daughter and me and only one was available on arrival. They brought in a roll away but it completely filled the room, virtually nowhere to walk and dress without sitting on a bed or squeezing between a bag and room door. Couldn't get near the mirror after that, Room was not made up by 6pm on first night we found when we arrived back exhausted after a day out and about and had to ask for this to be done. Pool totally occupied by kids all day, and a little small and uninspiring in its design really, however, the service and the beach access made up for it but the beach is free to all....i was mainly disappointed about not being advised about your charging policy with those random charges to cover a possible dud credit card. I had to call your hotel from Sydney twice (nobody called me back) to get an explanation when i found this on the emailed version of your bill, which i had paid in full, at the Moana. Surely these are checked for validity upon checkin. I dont work in the hospitality industry so not familiar August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific time We stayed here to celebrate a special anniversary. We were treated royally! August 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Moana Im going to make this brief. I am a Kamaaina and wanted a stay cation with my daughter. I thought the Moana would be perfect. I was wrong. I checked my luggage in early and told them that the ice in the cooler will melt and leak so be careful. When my luggage showed up at my room, my suitcase was wet because they hung the cooler above my suitcase and so were my clothes. The porter didn't apologize and called someone then told me she was on the phone. I did not get a call back from anyone. I blew that off then something else happened. I was out and my parents were watching my daughter. The hotel key card I gave them didn't work. My parents gave front desk my last name and room number because they had to put my 5 year old daughter down for bed. They needed an id. Long story short, I had to leave where I was to show my id and get a new key. They said it was for security reasons but anyone can go up in the elevators and roam the hallways. The staff wouldn't think outside the box to let a 5 year old go to bed. Instead she was sleeping in the lobby because she couldn't go up to her own room to sleep until I got there. There is no ALOHA at the Moana. The staff there are like robots. They don't smile at you or say Aloha, they just do their "job" minus the feeling behind it. The Moana is the oldest hotel and it should be top notch but I was not impressed with the staff. The hotel is beautiful! Last time I stayed here was 20 years ago and after my recent experience I do not want to stay here again. August 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by AVERAGE HOTEL IN PRIME LOCATION starwood member not given a starwood room or upgrade August 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Great location and public areas are fantastic but other than that, just average! Restaurants are very expensive - cheaper and better options are a few hundred yards away. Room was tiny and very noisy; shutters left the room very light at night. Not great al all August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming with a cool vibe and first class treatment What a great place to wind down a vacation in Hawaii. The staff was attentive and served our every need. The location was fanastiic! The modern amenities and old world feel made for an unforgetable ambiance and really cool vibe. July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding The great Moana Surfrider is the most outstanding hotel on the island! My husband and I stayed at the hotel for the past four years, in which we celebrated our daughter's wedding, and most recently, our 30th wedding anniversary! Our experiences have been exceptional, and we carry that feeling with us until our next stay at the Moana! July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Great, best Mai Tai,,fun. July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hawaii with my Dad for the 1st time... Only room complaint was it overlooked the busy and noisy street. The carpet was old and needed updating. The staff was excellent at the front desk and valet/bell stand. One waiter at the restaurant wasn't nice and gave us bad service and attitude. This caused us to not eat or partake in any of the activities at the hotel. When I made reservations, I requested that the concierge book me a car with Hertz (as I'm a Gold member) if they were near by and they immediately said they weren't and was booked on Budget. Well, the Hertz booth was next door to the Budget and I found that lame as I lost on my privileges. I'd stay there again, but I know what to expect and what to make of it. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location and atmosphere All staff were friendly and welcoming. Loved the charm of the original Hotel foyer and the Banyan tree court yard. Location excellent. July 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel This Hotel was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Keep in mind that this is a hotel right in the middle of all the action of Waikiki. So if you don't like noise and lots of constant activity then do not stay here. We read reviews and we knew what to expect and it was great. There was free music every night and lots of things to do in the hotel. We enjoyed having the city life next to us and a beach just outside of our room. When we wanted a quiet beach, just hop in a car and drive up the road. The pool was a little small but you are in Hawaii, I don't think we would have used it much anyways. July 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this is our favorite hotel. outstanding and friendly. July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fantastic setting but standards have really slipped at the Moana Surfrider This was our third trip to the Moana Surfrider and, until now, it has been our favourite hotel and retreat. The Moana was actually my hotel of choice at the end of 2011 to celebrate my recovery from cancer. This particular visit was meant to provide our family with a chance to relax before heading home after a hectic 2 week trip around California. Sadly, though, we were quite disappointed by some of the changes we experienced at the Moana this time. The first blemish appeared on check in but a number of others followed from that point on. The service level and standards we experienced during this stay at the Moana were a marked decline to that from our previous two stays and definitely not of a standard appropriate for a Westin hotel. The problems / issues we encountered are noted below: 1. On check in we noticed the carpet in our room was still quite dirty with chips and crumbs etc and there was a large wet and fresh coffee stain.Housekeeping had always been a strong point for the Moana but not this time. I alerted housekeeping on day 2 and this was eventually addressed. 2. I noted the reduced amenity supplies in the bathroom: just shampoo, conditioner and body lotion supplied. No shower cap etc. which, in itself, is not a huge issue but still, at $600 per night, it was noticed. Smaller, 3 star hotels in the Mojave desert on our trip had offered more supplies than this. 3. The next issue we picked up on was at breakfast. I always choose the cereals and fruits from the continental menu. Offerings here previously had been, as one would expect from a 5 star hotel, Bircher muesli, poached and dried fruits, and yoghurt etc. This time I only had packet cereals to choose from. I don't find this acceptable for a Westin hotel. So, the following morning we ate cereal on our balcony, that we purchased from the ABC shop across the road for less than $3, whilst looking over the beach and up towards Diamond Head. 4. Another point we noted and were most disappointed with was the changed bar food menu and this was not a change for the better. The offerings were reduced in variety, fewer and of poorer quality and presentation than we were used to at the Moana. Previously we had chosen to spend many a pleasant evening dining in the Banyan tree courtyard and watching the sunsets. We tried a few bar food items but soon gave up and chose to dine at the 'Royal Hawaiian' for lunch on our last day instead. There were some other issues we picked up on with some less than acceptable attitude and service from some wait and pool staff which just added to our overall disappointment. I did present to the Concierge part way through our 4 night stay to inquire whether there had been any significant management change at the hotel. I found it hard to understand how such a broad based decline had evolved in just 18 months. She pressed me for my details and I reiterated I wasn't making a formal complaint but she still asked if it was 'ok' to pass these comments on to the manager. I agreed to her request and said I'd be happy to discuss my observations with them. One might scoff and laugh at these 'first world' type problems here but when a hotel has a reputation and price point that it trades on then I believe that certain standards should be met. This is just simple business sense. The Moana Surfrider has fallen well short of its previous standards and of that expected by this category of Westin hotel. Prices have gone up about 20% since our last visit but service and standards have gone down by about 50%! I believe that the Moana is still the most beautiful and grand building along Waikiki and best located for the beach, shops and restaurants. I would dearly love to return here again at some point in the future but I will have a hard time convincing my husband to pay these prices for this hotel again based on this service level. July 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too Loud and run down!! The lobby is beautiful but that was it! Very slow service. Too many people at the pool, beach, food service areas. The old windows make it very noisy inside the room from early morning 6:00 am until 4:00 am the next day. Cleaning of the room was not well done. This place was a tourist factory. Glad I saw the lobby but would never stay again. July 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay was not very nice The room had ants and it took multiple trips to the front desk to get the room treated. While we were offered to be moved it was not practical for our final day. I was very disappointed with the room we were assigned. Our reservation made with SPG points was made 6 months in advance and we expected a better room than third floor, facing the street and accross from the elevator. The pool and pool deck is not sufficient for the number of rooms that you have. There is a very limited number of available lounges, and many are "saved" by towels throughout the day when guests are absent. Overall the stay did not meet the standards we have found in many stays in Westins. July 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 21st Wedding Anniversary Our recent staying at Moana Surfrider was celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary. Front desk staffs were polite and very helpful. Moana Surfrider retains the same high quality of services and has provided excellent environment to hotel guests. Our Ocean Front one King bed suite was amazing. 180 degree view of the Waikiki beach and Diamond Head was on our left side. Each morning, I could see the blue ocean through the living from my bedroom. Amazing! Hotel room and living room are clean and well maintained. Breakfast at Veranda at Beach House was incredible, our table was right by the beach with full view of the blue ocean. Resort photographer did an amazing job, he took hundreds of excellent pictures for us. These pictures will definitely bring us lots of memories. Our recent stay at Moana Surfrider had given us an absolutely unforgettable experience and we definitely will return to Moana Surfrider Resort and Spa, Honolulu, Hawaii in the near future. July 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room was very small and view was poo We arrived at the hotel and our room was very small and we ask fior and upgrade. We couldn't even pass by each other in the room without running into each other. The bathroom was very small and only had a shower. Only room for one person at a time. We couldn't get a moved to another one of the resorts hotels even on another island!! We didn't want our money back we just wanted to be moved. So we decided to just pay for another hotel on another island. All was not lost you did have a great spa!! I just hate that this was our trip that we save for and we were very disappointed!! Thanks July 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel The staff was outstanding. Great hotel and views. Had tried to use the platinum suite upgrade, but unable to accommodate. Still had a very nice room. July 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room was too small for 2 people Disappointing stay, room too small and situated on a floor that was very loud with staff coming and going. was disappointed to be a SPG and be put in such a room that was like a shoebox for 2 people. very disappointing experience for such an amazing hotel. July 4, 2013
  • 2015-10-10T06:25:48.699-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_837, tr_837
  • loc_en_US, sid_374, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 29 next>>