The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Islas Vírgenes
  • 00830
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa
 

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Política de edad mínima

Los huéspedes deben tener 18 años de edad o más para reservar una habitación.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 206 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by The value just is not there. The room was not thoroughly cleaned upon arrival...bugs in kitchen, silverware and dishes were dirty, as well as shower in mstbed. Not enough closet space, could not hang standard hanger in guest room. Room was a long way from pool and lodgenet was out 1/3 of our stay. Spa facility was substandard, yoga cancelled twice, despite 8am start, no prior notice and we were charged $45 per day? Tried to attend SuperBowl party, too many people, not enough seats/tables and $18 per plate for hamburgers and hot dogs? This is suppose to be top resort, fell well short. We will not return, nor recommend and we are Starwood Owners! Very disappointed! February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful trip The hotel was beautiful, wonderful beaches, good food, great service. July 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin St. John - Hotel Rooms The fact that this hotel is located on the island of St. John is wonderful. It is also nice to stay in a place that has the option to go to the pool, hotel beach or drive/taxi to another beach on the island. This is our third time at this resort and will probably not stay here again. We first came in 2004 and back then, the hotel rooms were out of date. They have only gotten worse over the years with more wear and tear and no updating. The pictures on the website are very deceiving, most of these are of the villas, not the hotel rooms. The hotel rooms do not have updated bathrooms. The sink in our room was mauve with stains from over the years. The walls, tub and caulk were all also very old. No matter how clean the bathroom truly was, it just felt dirty because of the upkeep. The staff was nice and friendly, however the service was slow. Including shuttle service and requests to fix problems in our room. The food, spa and drinks were expensive, but this was expected at a resort. This trip we rented a car at the St. Thomas airport and took the car ferry from Red Hook. This allowed us to avoid the frustruation of the Westin Breeze (Ferry) that we had in the past. This also allowed us to explore the many beaches on the island. November 28, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed We have stayed many times at the Westin in St John and have always enjoied it. Last year we really noticed that the rooms had major wear and tear and smelled of mold. This year we thought we would try again and request one of the renovated rooms. Our renovated room was gross and not what I would consider a Westin standard. The cement walls are painted so many times there is thick sticky shinny paint in terrible colors. The renovated tile is lathered with grout right up to the paint and the corners are filled with dirt and grime. I am disappointed again. We checked in and were expecting with Gold status that we could have an early check in, that was not granted (traveling with an infant that was hard) then the ground floor accommodation we expected from our reservation was not granted either. Then we called the staff three times to let them know or disappointment and nothing was done to rectify the situation. They did offer to move us the second morning but were not being very realistic considering we traveled with two children. Basically was glad to get out of the hotel. Grounds looked nice and the staff aside from the front desk and management were friendly. Over all very upsetting. Hotel upkeep terrible. October 26, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Off season or renovation? Not a pleasant stay We stayed here mainly for the proximity to the USVI national park and it's a Starwood chain. I've had many pleasant stays at other Westin resorts or hotels and We've always enjoyed it but this resort definitely fell short to our expectations. Instead of lengthy essay I'll summarize the pros and cons: Pros: -Nice beach, not overly crowded (maybe it's off season) -Water sport rental service is good -Vacation desk staff is knowledgeable -Plenty of Jeeps in the car rental (you'll need it for unpaved, hilly and bumpy roads in the national park) -The ferry service to/from airport is convenient Cons: -No luggage rack in the room - had to ask for it -The faucet in the sink is rusted and it splashes on us every time we turn it on - talked to service and it's improved -Pool is under renovation. The only full service restaurant for dinner is beach cafe as they closed Cruz Bay Prime (seasonal?). Mango Deli is another food choice but during vacation we really wanted to eat in a restaurant instead of a deli - we've done enough during work days -We ordered dinner to our room and the beer came in a bottle. No bottle opener in the room or on the tray. Had to call them again to open it -Long wait at the vacation desk (30 mins) Since it's off season, I recommend going out to Cruz Bay for dining, even though some are closed too, plenty of good ones are available and have no wait. You can find menus at the vacations desk and ask them to make reservations for you. October 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by What spa? So let me start by saying that often times while on vacation, my wife and I will take an entire day as a "spa day." when we booked this trip, I spoke with Matt (spa manager) and booked a spa package for both myself and my wife. We booked a three hour package that with tip totaled almost $900. Matt informed me that prior to, and after our treatments we would have use of the "facility" for the day. I figured as with most high end spa's that there would be the expected amenities available. When we arrived to the spa, we discovered the spa was located in the back hallway of the workout room. There are three treatment rooms, and literally a closet where nails and feet are done. You walk into a locker room that is reminiscent of a 1980's high school locker room. There is a toiled and a bench with lockers. No amenities to be found. While our actual treatments were okay, the facility was not remotely up to par. The rooms have the signature Heavenly Bed, which is by far the best thing about the hotel, and they did not disappoint in this area. The bathroom is a seperate story. The caulking was coming off of the tub, there was mold on the shower head and the grout, and the fixtures were coming off from the wall. The bathroom was so unacceptable I took photo's and sent them to Starwood. January 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin St. John lacks customer focus I posted this review on another site & received a response by the manager in which I emailed per the response. I expected at least a response acknowledging receipt of my email & have given it ample time so I am posting here as this is another example of where the Westin St. John really needs to improve their customer focus. Here is my review: We just returned from a trip & 4 night stay to the Westin St. John. The island of St. John's beauty and beaches made this vacation stellar. I have done my fair share of traveling & stayed at a variety of different level properties over the years & the Westin St. John has been the most disappointing travel experience I have ever had. We read reviews prior to booking, but in the past few months as you can tell by increasing number of issues and poor reviews here that the quality has dramatically slipped. Our stay there compelled me to write this review to help other travelers planning a trip to this amazing island. PROS Well maintained grounds Ferry Service to & from STT (included with our package) Heavenly Bed & Good Linens Taxi availability CONS Food--both cost & quality Customer Service Construction (It is very loud in buildings 14, 15, and 16) Renovated rooms don't show signs of upgrades Exorbitant & Misleading Resort Fee ($40 per day resort fee) ROOM ISSUES & FRONT DESK SERVICE: While I know room requests aren't guaranteed, I had called when I booked the trip months ago & also two days before to request a king bed room with a balcony for my party of 2. I confirmed they had my request noted. The resort handled all your luggage from the airport all the way to your room. We arrived on a full shuttle, so we were without luggage for several hours while they unloaded and delivered it to the room. When we arrived to our room, we were greeted with a ground floor room with double beds. The room itself was nothing special & the fridge leaked so the carpet in front of one of the beds was wet. These rooms were supposedly renovated already but didn't appear to be refurbished in the slightest. I then went to talk with the front desk about changing rooms & accommodating my original request of a king bed, second floor. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice & said we would be moved the following day & to have our luggage ready by 11am which we did. We spent most of the day out of the resort but upon our return that evening, we received room keys to our new room at the opposite end of Unit 16 on the first floor again but with a king bed. Upon entry to our room, we noticed the ice machine & service closet right next to it. The door didn't close properly & the adjoining door to the next room had about an 1 inch gap underneath which transferred a lot of noise in between the rooms. The following day we woke up to the ice machine, construction, and gardening power tools-- the resort was noisy starting at 7 AM and lasted all morning long. I went back to the front desk to see what else they could do. I was greeted by the front desk manager with a resounding "There are no other rooms we can move you too". Frustrated by this, I proceeded to call Starwood directly to complain. In doing so, a few hours later, we were told that there were rooms to move us to but we would have to wait until the next morning to be moved again. We decided at this point that we were too tired to move, pack up everything again. We had alleviated the noise situation ourselves by placing towels in the gap between the rooms. They also sent someone from engineering to fix the door closing issue but it still didn't seal properly even after doing so but did close & lock. On the last night, we wanted to take advantage of the resort fee we were being charged & kayak the next day before heading home so we called for a late checkout. I was told that someone was checking into our unit early & it couldn't be accommodated. I called the following morning & was able to get 1 hour extra despite the putout attitude of the "Service Express". TIP: If possible, go for a room on the spa side to avoid construction. Bring a change of clothes in your carry on if possible so can you head to a beach or the pool in case there is a delay with your luggage. (You can not take it to your room yourself getting off the boat). RESORT FEE: This fee is advertised that all "non motorized watersports" equipment is included. We found out at checkout that we were billed additionally for our snorkel gear rentals without being told by the staff in advance that this was an additional cost. The rental staff acknowledged that the confusion happens frequently. Snorkeling in St. John is a must and extremely easy to do. We would have rented regardless, but disclosure is an issue. TIP: Buying some higher end snorkeling gear online and bringing it with you is cheaper and much better than the rental gear. There is a dive shop in town that has a larger selection. FOOD: "Our experienced culinary staff brings the color and robust flavors of Caribbean cuisine alive." A $15 burnt hot dog, some condiment packets, & chips should give you some indication of the markup, quality, and their definition of "Caribbean cuisine". TIP: Make sure to visit the St. John Market right outside of the resort. Buy some fresh fruits from town and bring it back with you while you are out. Room service should be used as a last resort. FREE WELCOME GIFT: It is a silver tone plastic starfish that is a knockoff Tiffany's design & not worth the time spent on the sales pitch to receive. They made you fill out your email and personal information & try on something before you can look at it. Extremely disappointing. THE GROUNDS: The landscape and resort looked beautiful. St. John as an island can't help but be a tropical paradise. There were plenty of natural fauna and wildlife both in the bay and scattered throughout the resort. Everything is connected through a pedestrian path that was shared with the staff riding around in their golf carts. The carts are often swerving about as people scramble to figure out which side of the path to walk on. There are shuttles that will pick you up and take you anywhere in the resort. Many of them are dedicated to giving sales tours for timeshares. FERRY SERVICE: Since this was our first time in St. John, one reason I chose the Westin was because of the transfers to & from STT being included in our package from Delta vacations. TIP: When checking for travel deals, be sure to take in to account the $40 resort fee per night & $60 each way per adult transfer costs. Expedia & Travelocity didn't offer those included but Costco Travel & Delta Vacations did. There is also a public ferry you can utilize. The Westin deals on the Starwood site never worked out to be any savings when I was researching rates even with offering a free night. TRANSPORTATION: There was always a taxi available & we had no issues getting to where we wanted to go. For those who want to explore more cost effectively & don't mind the hilly roads, a jeep could be rented on site at resort. It seems this hotel has stopped trying to deliver a quality experience for its guests. I expected more from a Starwood Hotel, especially one with these rates. Despite the Westin, I thoroughly loved St. John & all it has to offer. Everyone we spoke to raved about the service & how accommodating they were at another resort, so they will be where I go next time. Room Tip: Try to get a room near the spa side while they are still doing construction. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding & BY far best Carribean Location to go My wife and I travel every november to a new and exciting tropical location to celebrate our anniversary, We stayed here last november for 8 days, we commpletely fell in love with this place for everything from the amazing beach, outstanding staff, excellent food, gorgeous landscaping, perfectly clean rooms & outstanding views in every direction. We are returning again in 2 weeks from now to do it all over again, only this time were bringing friends with us. This is the 1st time were returning to our previous location, we could not help ourselves. Only this time we will be seriously considering purchasing a timeshare. I cannot thank the resort and staff enough for providing us with the perfect anniversary trip. As for anyone considering this location, dont put too much thought into it, you cannot go wrong here. Take the time and book the bad kitty excursion to go to the baths in the british west indies virgin gorda, ABSOLUTELY AMAZING DAY See you in 2 weeks. October 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonderful island, friendly staff but poor attention to guest problems We loved St. John and the Westin does provide a comfortable base from which to explore. However we encountered two problems not acceptable at this level of hotel service and price. We had a maintenance issue in the bathroom that, despite promises, was never attended to. But worse, there was renovation occuring in the room just below us; the use of wall-shaking power tools early in the morning was absolutely unacceptable. We did receive, after insisting, some minor financial compensation but the front desk staff seemed unconcerned with what was a major problem for a Caribbean "peace and quiet" vacation. February 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Honeymoon Experience... I would like to start by staying that as a SPG Platinum member for 3-4 years, this is my first bad experience. I chose this destination for my honeymoon after endless reviews online and searching around for other options. I also liked that fact that as a SPG Platinum member, I ALWAYS am upgraded and have first-class treatment. I used points for the first five nights of my trip and paid out of pocket for the next two nights all in a King bed, garden view room. The SPG Platinum agent stated that it should be a problem getting upgraded (based on availability at the time) and I called the hotel two days prior and they also said I should be upgraded. Upton my arrival at the hotel, I was told that an upgrade was not available ant to try back the next day. This went on for the next couple days until I realized that it was not going to happen. If I wasn’t assured an upgrade, I would have just purchased a villa or suite to hopefully have an enjoyable honeymoon. Look, I understand the terms and conditions but no one went out of the way for us during our stay for ANYTHING. Besides the above, here is the laundry list of items wrong with the room we stayed in the “22” group of rooms: -Toilet didn't work, called to have service done on it. Had to call again to ask when he was coming. Finally came and when custodian left it still ran the same way. - Too many golf carts on the grounds -Was charged a $40 a day “Resort Charge” fee that was not stated anywhere when I purchased the room. When asked about this, I was told that this was for the “courtesy transportation onsite, fitness center, WI-FI” and other things that are outrageous especially for a Platinum member. -Mold in closet -Dead bugs/fleas in light fixtures in bathroom -Called for fresh bath towels to be delivered had to call about them twice before they brought them and once they did it was over an hour from the first time we called -We were offered beer and pretzels and cheese and wine upon our arrival at check-in... They never delivered it and we had to call to ask about it on a daily basis (don’t offer things if you can’t remember!) -We were also offered $10 per day at the Mango Cafe and were told the $10 would automatically be taken off from our room bill per day - this was not the case we had to call twice to have them remove it. - Room was unpleasant to stay in - not "five star" quality. -We could hear both neighbors on either side of us, one through the joining door the other through the vent in the bathroom. -We were told we would get two bottles of water per day for being platinum members, this service was only provided on 2-3 of the seven total nights stayed, one time we called and asked for the delivery another couple days we never got the water. Overall, I would give our entire stay one of five stars and that is only because of the location. The grounds were great and the people were nice, but there is a LOT of room for improvement at this hotel. For the entire trip, I did not feel like a SPG Platinum member and am second guessing my decision to choose a Starwood property as my honeymoon destination. January 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Buyer Beware... I had heard tons of great things about St. John in general and some good things about the Westin specifically. It's in a great location on a relatively uncrowded island with fabulous beaches. However, the rooms are very tired and the minor Westin touches (i.e. Heavenly bed, shampoos, etc) don't go that far when the rooms are so outdated. Staff doesn't really care that much about SPG status, so don't book a lesser quality room hoping for a free upgrade, it likely won't happen. The restaurants and bar on the property are very expensive compared to the local spots in Cruz Bay or on other parts of the island. Lastly, I don't know if it was the time of year or what, but my boyfriend and I got bitten so badly by bugs that it looks like we both have chickenpox. We mostly got bitten at night in our room, which is disturbing (FYI, it was NOT bed bugs...we checked), but wished we had been warned. Needless to say, it was impossible to relax when you were constantly scratching and worrying about bug bites. Maybe the hotel should've offered complimentary bug spray (which ultimately did not help, despite the $12 price tag in the dive shop). It's too bad we didn't have a great experience because the island seems really beautiful...we just didn't get to enjoy it. December 14, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Although Forewarned, Disappointing Property Hopefully you’ll find our review helpful…. About a month before going on our family's winter break vacation, I finally read many of the recent reviews about the Westin St. John Resort & Villas and was somewhat surprised about some of them. I wish I had looked into them earlier when I was booking our trip months earlier, we probably would have booked elsewhere. Unfortunately, the property met our *much lower* expectations. First let me point out that we are SVO owners at Cancun, Maui, and Kauai. We have a good frame of reference on what a Westin resort should be. To that end, the Villas were relatively new and up to the Westin standards. But other than the “Prime” restaurant (the upscale on-site restaurant), most other things were not to Westin standards. We unfortunately could not get into the Villas during our scheduled week (Presidents Day week) and booked a “deluxe” 2-bed, pool/patio view room. The rooms are showing there age are not well maintained. We had mold growing in several areas of our bathroom and cobwebs on our ceiling. The back patio door handle was almost falling off (when we reported it, they sent an engineer to simply tighten the two Phillips head screws to fix it). On the 4th day of our stay, the in-room refrigerator broke and spoiled the food we had it in (it actually got hot inside). If our disappointment was limited to just the hotel room then our stay would probably have been more positive… it wasn’t. It seems that about half of the staff do not have a positive attitude. For certain, some were great. Unfortunately, many seemed not to care and were inattentive (beyond blaming it due to them being on “island time”). Food service at the main restaurant was consistently slow from arrival to departure. Our last breakfast was totally “comp’ed” due to a total breakdown of service. Forty-five minutes after we were arrived, simply breakfast food was served to my wife and two daughters. Drinks were delivered about at the 30-minute mark to them. I opted for the standard $26 Westin breakfast buffet – it was up to the usual standard. When the rest of my family’s food arrived, the waitress commented that I could get my buffet meal. I informed her that I had already finished a while ago but was *never* received my coffee and no longer wanted it (we were checking out and had to catch the ferry back to St. Thomas). I asked for the check. She seemed very surprised. Unexpectedly, she came back a couple of minutes later to say that we did not have to pay for the meal at all. I suppose a gracious gesture for the horrible service. The last comment about the main restaurant is a rather limited, boring food selection. In contrast, the “Prime” restaurant was fantastic and highly recommended by us if you still stay at this property. On a separate note, as expected, the Kid’s club staff was excellent with our kids and kept them wanting to return (great news for our future visits to other Westin properties). To sum it up, we didn’t have a "bad" time but I’m *very* glad I read the reviews from others warning us about this property – my expectations were tempered greatly. Unfortunately, the Westin St. John Resort & Villas simply does not meet the standards of the other Westin properties we own or have been to. We do not plan to return any time soon and do not recommend it to others – there are better choices within the SPG network (much less competing resorts). March 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic grounds, nice rooms - but some issues Last time I visited was 10 years ago. Location is great. Grounds and buildings have been updated, the pool-view room (1214) was very nicely appointed, clean, bed was great. The beach and pool are very well-maintained and lovely. The amount of equipment you can rent/borrow for watersports is fantastic, and thankfully the process is painless. I really like this resort but I'm going to be tough on it because it could be even better. First, it was often difficult to walk around the property on the brick-paved roads because there was constant traffic from staff driving golf carts, morning-noon-night. There aren't many walkways so you have to step on to the grass and move for the carts. Even with ongoing construction, it seemed excessive and should be addressed. Staff didn't seem overly concerned with forcing guests on to the grass, either. Some other minor things: I tried room service one night, "whole-wheat linguine with basil" and it was terrible, pasta tasted microwaved and was so salty I could barely eat it. One day the maid service replaced towels but didn't make the bed (they were probably confused because I pulled the sheets up before leaving?) Could only take hot showers in the room, no cold water (?), two separate concierge weren't very helpful making restaurant reservations and there was no mention of a SPG Gold room upgrade (or attempted upgrade) at check-in. Besides the minor annoinances, this property is a solid option on St. John and I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay on the island. July 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfortunate Very dirty room. A dead cockroach in the bathroom, mold in the floor and shower tiles, dirty floors. We reported it to no avail. The wait staff at the pool bar treated us like we were a bother. The resort restaurant was closed for repairs - something no one told us (not even the website) when we booked. Free watersports sparsely available so we could never use. Straw that broke the camel's back - finding bloody tissue in nightstand on day we were leaving. Room had clearly not been cleaned. We expected more. February 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Big Expectations, Big Disappointment Waited 8 years to finally get a week in St John's. I'll flip past the part where we had this reservation for 8 months, spent $3,500 in airline fees, when Starwood notified us that the pool would be closed approximately one week before our departure. I'll also skip the part where I called Starwood and was promised free tickets to Trunk Beach for my family and advised another pool would be available to order food and drinks something the kids look forward to....this part is not St John's staff fault. We arrived on Saturday, at check in I asked for what was verbally promised and was told my requests are not St Johns problem call Starwood. I was given the number to call by a nice gentleman at the front desk and he did send a email to Starwood. The girl working with him at the front desk was completely rude and refused to even go out of her way to help us understand the situation. Sunday was the only pool day for us, our 4 adult kids had tons of fun playing volleyball with the other guests and getting drinks at the bar, how this vacation was suppose to be. Only downside, with the prep for the pool closure, the area was somewhat dirty and not well maintained. Sunday we visited Ashley at the concierge desk who gave us our gifts and the lay of the land. She also gave us a discount card but most places did not accept the card or there were additional rules attached, we never received any discounts. Ashley also gave us the activity sheet and explained the beach equipment was free if it didn't have the motor. Monday we rented a car and drove to Trunk Bay. In the evening we headed to the "happy hour $5.00 drinks and appetizers" on the activities sheet. We were told since the pool was closed happy hour was at the Beach Bar. Arriving at the Beach Bar we told there were no $5 appetizers and happy hour was over.....nobody even cared or helped explain the mix-up, we finally walked away. We headed to Snorkels the bar set-up on the beach which was open until 6, it closed and 5:35 with us still sitting there, no last call or notice. When we complained about the situation we were given a new activities sheet with all the happy hours removed. We were also charged for the "free"snorkel equipment. The front desk said they resolved but when we checked out the equipment was on our bill? The mid week cleaning was haphazard and not completed, my husband had to go ask for shampoo and my daughter finished making her bed, the kitchen wasn't cleaned at all. I won't go on.....very very disappointing and avoided with better communication and more people that cared at this resort. BTW There were some really nice people working at the resort, its too bad a few ruined it for the rest. Still waiting for Starwood to return my calls on the pool closure notice. October 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, beautiful and friendly propery We stayed here over New Years 2012 & were pleasantly surprised. We were staying on points and got upgraded to an amazing villa!! Thank you Westin!!!! Our unit was updated and very clean, we even had daily maid service. It was wonderful not to have to hurry in from the beach and shower to go to dinner, we BBQ most of the time. There is a nice starfish market 5 minutes down the street by cab. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews written. The property was just as clean & beautiful as it was 15years ago. The beach was nice and clean with plenty of chairs. We were a bit concerned w/ complaints about staff not being top notch but everyone we had contact w/ from the front desk to the pool bar to the snorkel gear was extremely friendly. Also the car rental on property was helpful in getting us a jeep for the day ( the island was sold out of Jeeps 2 months ago). My only complaint was the BUG BITES.. I had read on trip adviser ahead of time about this & did use bug spray but obviously not enough. By mid week I had 105 bites!!! OUCH.... We think most of them came from the early evenings when I would go out to the pool to BBQ. My family got very few bites & they seldom came out to the BBQ :-) The computers on the gym equipment didn't work to well & took a while to get started. We use the Westin Ferry from the airport & it was worth every dime!! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resort Stayed 6/19 to 6/24. Upgraded room based on plat status. Came in on Westin ferry which was worth the extra expense. Beach better than the reviews, but water did get murky in afternoon with all the boat traffic. Cruz Prime was very nice and had great food. Rented a car through O'Conner rental which was convenient and worth doing. Cruz Water Sports was also convenient for small boat rental for beach hopping we did one day. Would go back, so highly recommend June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good family vacation spot We stayed here for 5 nights in July. The hotel itself is very nice, although still under renovation. The rooms were very nice and had been recently redone. The pool was great for our young kids. The hotel also had lots of kid friendly activities daily. The only negatives were the constant pressure from staff to attend a 90 minute "property tour" aka time share pitch and the sometimes un-attentive staff. Other than that, great resort. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Terrific Service We have visited this property three times, and once again enjoyed a wonderful stay. We encounted a few "hiccups" as the resort is under construction (which I was aware of when I made the reservation). That said, the resort staff & in particular, Carlos at the Front Desk, stepped in personally, responded to my issues and made sure that we were comfortable (checking in with us several time throughout our 10 day stay). St. John is a beautiful island and the Westin Resort will be even more beautiful when the rennovations are complete. Our family had another wonderful Starwood vacation and I am grateful to the Westin staff for thier wonderful service. We are looking forward to our next visit! June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still outstanding Aside from the beautiful landscape and views from the hotel, the ever-friendly staff makes the difference. Very friendly and accommodating. Beach and pool rooms just renovated. The pool is now open 24 hours. Food at Cruz Bay Prime was the best meal we had on the island. Stay here once and you will be back. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and location for adventure I was very pleased with all the staff I came into contact with. Very nice, friendly and accommodating to your needs. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Spring break 2012 We are owners at both St. John and Kaanapali (Maui) so we are big Starwood fans. I can tell you that the service at Kaanapali is much better and more responsive than St. John. Although we will always come back to St. John because we love the island, I'm hoping that property management will heed all the concerns being raised about this resort. We paid a pretty penny for our Bay Vista property and we entrusted Starwood to make sure that we had a requisite experience. Overall we love the resort and setting which is what brings us back. However, here are a list of issues that we experienced when we visited this past March: 1. Service is extremely slow and in some cases non-existent. Guest Services is a waste of time mostly. There is a communication breakdown between guest services and the staff wandering the resort actually deilvering the service to your room. On at least 3 occasion we had to confront guest services to get rolloway bed which we had reserved months in advance of our stay. After the second day, the rolloway arrived. Everytime we spoke with guest services they told us that the bed was on its way and would be there any minute. 3 days later..... 2. The property didn't have basic kitchen tools. Appliances were broken (coffee maker, etc.). You have access to a complex of outside grills but no utensils in your room to carry out your operations. Seems like the cleaning staff should always check the rooms to make sure they have all the items required to function before new guests arrive. Just a recommendation. There's always something missing in the kitchen like spatulas, salt and pepper, cookie sheets, etc. These are basic items that a room should have. We have those items in our Maui units. Why can't we get them here? We have to call guest services and you know what happens then. 3. Service at Beaches is painfully slow. Prepare to be there for an hour or so. Food is good but very expensive. I typically have to get up and go to the waiter station to get service or our bill. 4. The gift shop at the snorkel shop is always out of merchandize or they have an abundance of the wrong stuff. The staff there has no clue as to when new shipments will arrive or even if they will arrive. Don't really care either. Just there to punch the clock. 5. No one seems to know what's going on and the front desk was often times not helpful. We felt like they were telling us what we wanted to hear so we'd stop bothering them. It seemed as though we only got what we were needing after repeated attempts and heated discussions with the staff. During on eof my visits to the front desk trying to get service, I overheard another guest who was chewing out a front desk employee because they he had been requesting clean towels for his roon fover over a day and had yet to receive them. Service, service, service!!! 6. Staff members at the Fitness Center were nice but didn't even know how to make simple adjustments as to treadmill operations. Apparently no training as to all the bells and whistles on the equipment. 7. Another big problem I have is the extra charge for riding the Westin Breeze. It has become more expensive each year. I think the resport should stop charging their guests separately. In fact, if you own at the resort, you should get a no charge or discounted charge for the ferry, or simply add some nominal transportation tax to your bill. Stop trying to make the ferry service a profit and loss center. Make your money by sticking to your knitting and improving customer service at the resort which will translate into greater revenue for the owners and guests. Bottom line: Improvemtns in management efficiency and customer service are mandatory or this resort will start losing business to other resorts. We love this place and resort and really want to see it improve. We will continue coming because we love the island and its beaches and restaurants. We hope to see noticeable improvements on our next trip. With a few improvements, this resort could be a really nice experience for its owners. June 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Another Disappointing Stay My family along with my in-laws were at the resort this past February to celebrate my MIL's retirement and a wedding anniversary. It is too much to cover in one review, but the majority of the stay was a disaster. Before I go into some of the details, I want to say up front, the staff itself is wonderful and very nice but the Management is incompetent. We were placed in the incorrect accommodations and were told different stories and reasons as to why from multiple “managers” on site (we were never moved to the correct accommodations) and the Villa that were placed in was in awful condition. Items such as the ceiling fan, dishwasher, and microwave were broken or barely usable. In addition, the filth in the room was so bad, that there were piles of dirt in the bathroom. In fact, the Director of Rooms commented that the room would fail inspection since it was in such bad condition. After 4 days of being unhappy and complaining FINALLY our issues were addressed as our Villa was used as an opportunity to train the staff at the resort on how to ensure a room is ready for a guest to use. I was embarrassed for the resort that they could do this to a guest. This was a very special vacation which was ruined by incompetence at the resort and since I had a similar issue back in 2011, we will never return to the resort again. March 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a real resort First of all, having to wait 3 hours before the ferry picked us up in St. Thomas caused us to lose an entire day of our vacation. Once we found our room, we had to wait 3 more hours for our luggage to arrive and when it did my suitcase was broken and is now in the dumpster. The small private hotel beach is surrounding by houses in the hills and the construction noise was awful. The private beach water is murky because of the boats allowed close to shore and the construction; this hotel property is not part of the national park so the waters and surrounding area are not protected. On my last day I decided to get out to the hotel beach early in hopes of getting one of the few beach chairs that had an umbrella. There was heavy machinery on the beach combing the sand, there was construction noise from the hilltop and a fire in one of the rooms near the beach. Everything is overpriced, like the $6 glass of orange juice in the casual dining cafe. The spa is ridiculously overpriced for the sparse and outdated facilities provided; I had to bring a face cloth from my hotel room to use in the spa shower. Some of the hotel staff are completely rude. The best thing about this property is that is it within driving distance of the other beaches that are part of the national park. We took a taxi to the other beaches and had a great time. Will visit St. John again, but will not stay at the Westin "resort". November 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the most beautiful places on earth I first visited St John as a young adult 27 years ago, and stayed at what was then known as the Virgin Grand St. John (now it's the Westin St John). After my first visit, I concluded that St, John had to be one of the most beautiful place I'd seen. 27 years, 35 countries a dozen Caribbean islands later, my opinion hasn't changed: St John is the one of the most beautiful places on earth. The Westin is in great shape. They're still working on renovations, but the guestrooms are brand new and the pool is fantastic. But it's the PEOPLE that turn a hotel stay into something special, and it's here that the Westin excels. What trick do you employ to remember guest's names? It's magical! And how do you get your people to constantly SMILE? The staff at the front desk, the friendly people at the Mango Deli, and (most especially) SUE at the pool hut who helped us with our Cabana rentals. It would simply not be possible for Sue to have been more warm, genuine and helpful. It's so clearly obvious that she loves her job and her life, and her spirit is infectious. A few very minor constructions issues aside, my only real (but slight) disappointment was in the hotel's beach. While it looked pleasant, the seaweed made swimming a bit dicey. However, we spent several glorious days at Trunk Bay, a beach that has few peers, so we didn't really need to use the beach at the hotel. Based on some reviews that I read before the trip, I was really expecting to be charged extortion pricing for food and drink. I was pleasantly surprised to find that F&B pricing was in line with what you would expect to pay at any island resort. It is an ISLAND after all, and practically everything has to be shipped in; higher prices come with the territory! My family & friends have made it an annual tradition to vacation at the Westin Maui in Hawaii, but we're rethinking that tradition; alternating between Maui and St. John seems to be the new plan.See you in 2016! June 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need a little work Everyone was very nice, certainly no one was anything but polite. Place is very clean. Landscaping nice. Some things I would consider to improve: 1) I ate ate your restaurant one evening. It is not an inexpensive place. Apparently there were specials which no one advised us. When I inquired about something I saw on another table, after I received meal, I was told it was the special. ? 2) if you charge rates as you do, I should not have a bathtub that looks like it was caulked by a child. Very sloppy. 3) As an Amex Fine hotel.... member I received breakfast coupons which seemed to confuse everyone. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular stay in a 3-bedroom pool villa Seven of my family members just returned from a five-night stay at the Westin St. John. I was a little concerned ahead of our visit since there are mixed reviews here, and while I was there I kept thinking that I can't imagine any complaints when staying at such a special place. And I am a person who has stayed at several hundred hotels in the past decade and can be picky about them. We had a three-bedroom pool villa, which was spacious and comfortable with the Heavenly beds and perfect for our extended family. We could have never left the villa and been totally happy, although we forced ourselves to get out and enjoy the rest of the resort and the beautiful island. I have two small children (4 and 2) who could have swam all day in our private pool at the villa. My husband grilled our main course for dinner every night while my sister cooked up the sides in the full kitchen complete with everything we needed for meal preparation. There is a market in close walking distance to pick up groceries. We loved the parking right at our villa and the friendly security at booth welcoming us with smile and wave, providing 24 hr monitoring of who comes on villa property. My children loved the playground, the iguanas roaming around, the main resort pool and the beach as well. As other reviewers have noted, the beach here is not as clear and pristine as the natural beaches along the island's north side. But it was so convenient to walk over and we were all happy to lounge there. My older son loved the Kids Club the one morning we sent him and also enjoyed sundaes and other activities by the pool. He was thrilled to win the grand prize at bingo! I appreciated the friendliness of the morning crew at Mango Deli who made my iced lattes and the staff at the towel check-in. Loved that there was the little book and magazine exchange there and the freecycle shed by our villa -- we picked up some beach chairs, a baby float, sand toys and tin foil that we put to good use. And when we left we returned the items there for another user, along with other things we didn't want to haul back home. The grounds and landscaping were lovely and the renovations that were going on were not too disruptive. We didn't use the Westin transport from STT since it would have been so incredibly expensive for our group and instead took the very easy and much more inexpensive public ferry, which I would recommend to other travelers. One suggestion for the management: We loved that the main resort pool had the little shallow section for babies, but what would make it even greater would be an umbrella to cover that section. Babies don't need a suntan, and the families there were often kind of crowding in the corner that was covered from an umbrella on the side. Also, it would be helpful if somewhere on your Web site or in an e-mail to villa guests you could list all the amenities that are available in them, since there is so much provided. There were lists in the room of what we had in the kitchen or could request if needed, but it would have been very helpful to know that before we arrived when we were packing. Thank you for a wonderful vacation! May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience this is my favorite place on the planet. they really treat you well and you are relaxed the minute you get there. July 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No SPG Recognition First off I am a Platinum member and did not recieve a gift or even bottled water in my room. I booked four nights at the Westin St. John two with Resort Rewards and two with my SPG points. First they created two seperate reservations which was a nightmare to try and combine. They put me in two different rooms for the stay and I asked three months in advance to be put in one room and not moved. The room was very dirty there was brown mud or something on the wall and the floor had not been vaccumed. I was traveling with another family and they were put in a better/larger room even though they booked after me and did not have status. There was no additional bennefits for having platinum status and the staff seemed annoyed that I asked to have my room switched because we were near a very noisy ice machine on the first floor. I love St. John but would not go back to the Westin November 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded our expectations My wife, three kids and myself stayed in one of the three bedroom hillside villas during the Thanksgiving week. These condos look brand new and a great place to stay for a family. Three bedrooms (king, queen, and two doubles), and three bathrooms. Kitchen, full size dining table, small living room, and a washer and dryer. The rooms were spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable. The Westin transportation to and from the resort from St. Thomas was flawless and made the trip hassle-free. This resort covers a large area and the hill-side villas are a bit further away from the center of the resort than the hotel rooms and requires a fair amount of walking or waiting for hotel staff to drive us to different areas of the resort using a golf cart. We rented a Jeep from O'Connor car rental which is on the Westin property. We would spend the days driving to the different beautiful beaches on St. John and come back in the late afternoon so the kids would have time to play in the nice pool at the resort. The beach at the Westin is man-made and not nearly as nice as the beaches on the rest of the island, but the Westin was a great place to come back to when we were finished exploring the island. We took an excursion out of the Westin dock to the Virgin Gorda Baths which was one of the highlights of our trip. The only slight negative was the service. Everyone was nice and helpful, but almost too laid back, although the same is probably true at most Caribbean resorts. December 5, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>