Convento do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Évora

  • Convento do Espinheiro
  • Évora,
  • 7000
  • Portugal
  • Mapa

Quartos e tarifas

  • Para estadias superiores a 90 dias, ligue para 866-539-3446.
  • As reservas são aceitas com até 550 dias de antecedência.
  • Por favor, verifique novamente as datas.
1 quarto 1 quartos , 1 adulto 1 adultos , 1 criança 0 crianças
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 133 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic All was as planned. All staff made our stay a memorable one. The rooms were beautifully decorated and had an amazing view. The Divinus Restaurant presented fantastic service and top quality food. The olive oil, made from Convento do Espinheiro olive's was such a treat. Congratulations for such an amazing get away. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Starwood Property in the World (To enhance the credibility of this review, please allow a prelude regarding my Starwood experience.) I am a multi-year Platinum member, having been to virtually every Westin and W Hotel in the USA, and several Starwood properties abroad--totaling around 225 different locations. My top Starwood stays include the St. Regis Princeville Resort in Kauai, St. Regis in Rome, Le Meridien in Phuket, St. Regis in Aspen, St. Regis in Monarch Beach, Parker Palm Springs and the incomparable Hotel Alfonso XIII in Seville. Convento do Espinheiro not only tops all of these Starwood properties, but is easily the best place I've ever stayed (tied with Dromoland Castle in Ireland). Convento do Espinheiro--in the shadow of medieval Evora, a walled city and Unesco World Heritage site--was actually a monastery for 400 years and comes with its own historic church, idyllic surroundings, sweeping views, cistern-turned-wine-room, wine-cellar-turned-restaurant, clanging sheep bells in the distance, several secret nooks and quirky stairways, and an incredible staff. The general manager, Maria, was charming and helpful; the sommelier Christiano was a real pro; and everyone from the front desk to the restaurant was amazingly attentive. Don't miss the 1,100-year-old olive tree, the sprawling grounds or nightly tour which includes wine tasting. Convento do Espinheiro should be a tourist destination in its own right. Indeed, the property's history is the subject of a well-researched book. It is unlike any Starwood hotel in that it achieves more than just a place of rest and leisure--the resort is truly transportive. I cannot give the Convento a stronger recommendation. Stop reading this and book your reservation. November 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our new favorite Starwood property We've just returned home from 4 days at this amazing, elegant former monastery. We loved exploring the beautifully restored hotel, highlighted by the original ornate chapel within the hotel; the daily 5:00 pm hotel history tour led by Claudia; the 6:00 pm wine tastings led by Alvaro, the wonderful food; our fabulous room in the historical section; as well as the hotel's entire gracious, helpful staff. Thanks, also, to Fabio, Danio, Joao and Maria. Although we hated to leave the hotel, Evora and the surrounding area has plenty to offer: Roman ruins in the center of Evora, a UNESCO World Heritage site; 6000-4000 year old megaliths; wine tastings and tours at nearby vineyards ( we enjoyed Herdade Do Esporao); more fortified medieval castles. We didn't have a chance to enjoy the pools or spa, but we will return for a longer stay next time! November 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfull Personal This a 6 star hotel in everything. The staff deserves 7 stars. October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Oasis in our Journey Our two night stop in our eleven night itinerary was pleasantly refreshing. The setting was magnificent and the hotel thoroughly charming. We couldn't have been happier. A perfect spot to enjoy Evora and environs. Joseph and Bonnie October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience We felt like kings, as Gold members we were upgraded to a very nice Suite with a large terrace. We enjoyed this very much as we could eat all our meals on the terrace. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the tour around the Hotel which gave us a good insight about the history of the Hotel. We also liked very much other Features such as: indoor and outdoor pool, the very large garden, the wine tastings every evening which helped us to select our wine for the dinner. To give an Overall Rating as excellent is not enough, it was much better than just excellent. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by week-end in Evora The hotel is great,excellent food, the place for a long week-end September 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Delightful Getaway... Short stay in the hotel and was delighted with the attentiveness given from the staff from the time we enter right to the moment we left the hotel. Special mention to Joao Bilou for ensuring that all our needs are attended to; and also to Cristiano Santos for a wonderful exchange of conversation over the wonderful Portuguese wine during the wine tasting session! People with a warm and welcoming attitude are important and this hotel has lots of them! August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very charming place to stay more than once! The hotel is excellent, from the staff to the amenities, service, breakfast and food in general. The rooms are impeccable, very well decorated and attractive. The front desk is also one of the highlights of the hotel. It is an historic building, and an ideal place to discover the city of Évora and all the Alentejo region. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Special Place I've stayed twice. The hotel is remarkable. The staff is gracious and attentive. Fascinating historical site that has been renovated to elegance with a focus on comfort and beauty. This hotel is a favourite in a relaxing setting. We will return. Thank you. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel, great staff This hotel is a gem in the beautiful Alentejo region. Not only is the staff most welcoming, competent and friendly, the property, which is located in an old convent is really stunning. The atmosphere, quietness and food, all ver, very good. I was there for a conference in Evora and could due to time constraints not take full advantage of all the hotel facilities (unfortunately no dinner in the restaurant), but i really enjoyed my stay and will definitely try to come back. The only minor downside could be that the hotel is not in walking distance of the nice and pittoresque town of Evora, but then it is only a 5 minute taxi-ride away... July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed everything this hotel offered We stayed only 1 night but thankfully we arrived early and felt we we were there longer. The staff we're most welcoming, the pool house was a wonderful place to enjoy lunch & dinner in the magnificent, original wine storage room was memorable. It was one of the best meals we experienced during our 10 days in Portugal. We stayed in the new modern wing and the room was most spacious with a balcony overlooking the garden.. We were given a free taxi ride in to the old town of Evora, as well as being picked up at a pre-arranged time by the same driver. It was more an 'experience' than a stay and we highly recommend this hotel. June 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed Emotions The hotel did some wonderful things for us, but also did some things that left us very disappointed. Our biggest issue was with the transportation options listed on the hotel's site - we planned our trip around this. The hotel did pick us up from the bus station free of charge, as stated. However, the hotel never provided us transportation to the city. Every time we asked, the staff told us it was not available, even though their site has hours of operation for a complimentary shuttle. When we went to request transportation to the bus station the night before check out, we were told we would have to pay for a taxi. It was not until we said we were provided a free taxi at arrival and the staff saw that we were platinum that a free service was arranged. This was all such a disappointment to us. We asked the hotel to arrange a wine tour for us. After not hearing anything, we asked for a follow up. It seems as though no one had followed through. The hotel did do nice things, such as a welcome toast at check in and a bottle of wine for our room as a result of our status. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very interesting prop Every detail of this property was done with perfection. We staid in a old part of this hotel and enjoyed it every moment. Breakfast was one of the best we had in any other hotels. Staff and management very friendly and try to make all possible to satisfy our stay. The only small disadvantage was it location. After spending all day walking in Evora, the last thing I want to do was to drive back on a dark road. June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by extraordinary location modern Hotel which includes the old masonry of a former convent June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great pool Excellent hotel & spa for romantic weekend May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven might be an improvement...but I doubt it. This "Convento" Hotel is possibly Starwood's finest hotel in the entire world (having experienced Starwood's best hotels on five continents). The extraordinary personal service by everyone starting with the new General Manager as well as the previous GM, the Front Office staff, the driver and the entire Bar and Restaurant staff-- they are the best. This was our 4th visit to this magnificent hotel and I can't wait to return again. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! This hotel has a unique atmosphere, and is situated in beautiful grounds. The building is very interesting, and facilities well maintained. Staff were very friendly. Upon arrival we received a great deal of information, which was very helpfull during our stay in Evora. Unfortunately our stay was too short, but I would like to come back some day. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The place is unique, but the offer needs some fine tuning There was no SPG recognition, which I cannot understand. Even for Starwood points I had to ask... The breakfast is far from Starwood luxury collection, you should really improve that. I found it extremely basic and not healthy (orange juice was not fresh; a small toaster to service all guests; croissants heated in the kitchen microwave; ...among other things). Finally, the hotel was with a low occupancy rate, and the room that has been given to me was an old and back oriented one. I did not understand why...maybe because I used a voucher...but still it is not a good reason, I may say. The place is unique, but the offer was disappointing, specially if we are expecting a Starwood luxury collection standard. The SPA experience was very good. March 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sublime, as always Definitely an hotel where we can find a place to rest, a place where kids are welcome, where we can find the ancient history of Alentejo... at least once a year a place to go and recharge batteries. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a Unique Experience Hotel The perfect combination between the historical monument and the facilities accomadated thereon, and the excellent usage of the existing areas, along with the respect fot the orginal architecture. An excellent service foccused on the detail, and the little extras thast made our stay unforgettable. And yes, we will be back. Pitty the chappel cannot provid the mass evry sunday. February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Exceeded our expectations. Fabulous service and facilities albeit the Gym a bit small February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful historical site Close to beautiful and historical Evora with its Chapel of Bones, Roman Temple and excelent gastronomy, Convent do Espinheiro is very well restored with its beautiful church and cloisters, very helpful and knowledgeable staff well versed on restaurants and activities in the Alentejo. Our stay was wonderful and romantic. It would be nice, however, if the Spa had rooms for couples. Overall a hotel to go back to, time and time again. December 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FUN-tastic hotel Great hotel with great conditions to enjoy the stay in luxury rooms. Very nice garden, well kept. Bucolic environment. excellent spa, good restaurant. The surrounding landscape is astounding. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Service My wife and I spent three days this September at this hotel and were impressed with the room, the grounds but most importantly with the service. The reception staff went above and beyond to ensure that we are taken care of at every step and were extremely professional, warm and hospitable at all times. We will definitely be back. Thank you!!! November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely a luxury experience in a great location. Wonderful quiet location,great staff,very helpful and professional,beautiful gardens to walk around,close to Evora city,fantastic cuisine,very modern spa and once again:a very good staff. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice stay Beautifully restored and fascinating hotel. All staff were extremely professionel and doing their utmost to give us a pleasent stay. We fully enjoyed both indoor and outdoor pool facilities. View from garden room/balcony was fabulous. Not the best sleep we have had due to mosqitoes in one of the rooms and quite noisy air conditioner. Restaurant was perfect for dinner but very dark for breakfast. October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historical features are amazing. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our needs were met quickly and pleasantly. The accommodations were spotless. Bathroom was very luxurious. When we inquired about restaurants, the on-site restaurant's earliest reservation was 9:30, a bit later than we were seeking. We were then told that we could eat at the in-town restaurant run by the convent and that a complimentary shuttle could be provided. When we actually made our trip to the restaurant, the reception staff called us a taxi. We didn't choose to press the matter, but staff should be consistent with what they tell guests. We also had a tough time finding the convent. Our GPS wasn't working and signage wasn't sufficient. October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A haven of peace and tranquility. Having visited this hotel two years ago, and being very impressed then, I was looking forward to a return visit and I was not disapointed. This hotel was excellent on my last visit and I think it has got even better! It has all the facilities expected of a Luxury Collection Hotel beautifully and tastefully fitted into the original convent buildings. The church has been wonderfully restored as well as the old buildings and cloisters. The chef cooks food to die for and the staff are superb. Luxury, service, good food, great location and peace and quiet. Unbeatable! October 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A stunning hotel The Convento do Espinheiro is absolutely beautiful. It's buildings have been impeccably restored and there are wonderful features like the chapel with its organ, and the cloister where you can sit and have a delicious local rose wine. I stayed in the new wing which is tastefully done and very comfortable. The pool and the spa are perfect, set in a well-maintained Mediterrean garden of olive trees and lavender bushes. With Evora only 5 minutes away you have culture at reach. Excellent food too. September 13, 2013
  • 2015-11-27 T07:59:00.790-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_133, tr_133
  • loc_en_US, sid_1553, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>