Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort

  • Port Douglas Road
  • Port Douglas,
  • Queensland
  • 4877
  • Australia
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 342 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location but expected a little bit more Staff were wonderful and attentive but our room smelt damp and dusky. We didn't sit on the balcony as it was too dirty. Bed was clean and comfortable. Only one restaurant open when we were there but the food was very nice. Buses run every half an hour into town which was great. Overall I would rate this hotel as 3 star as it is a bit run down in hotel rooms and need new carpet painting and outside cleaning all over the resort. May 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Return to Port Douglas. My wife and I have fortunate to have visited Port Douglas and FNQ on previous occasions with our children. This time we visited during early April, 2015. This was our first holiday in 21 years without our daughters as well as our first stay at the Mirage. While we agree that the hotel is dated and in need of an upgrade, we had a wonderful time. What an outstanding venue!! Breakfast each morning was scrumptious with lots of choice. The omletts were a highlight. We had two meals at "Il Pescatore" restaurant and both were a delightful dining experience. However, the very high price of some ordinary wines needs to be addressed. Staff at the front desk were more than helpful and readily solved our questions and provided sound advice. House keeping provided an excellent service. I am an SPG member and have stayed at Starwood Hotels throughout the Pacific and the USA. Once the much needed upgrade is completed, we look forward to returning to Port Douglas and the Sheraton Mirage. Peter and Denise. May 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice . . BUT NEEDS SOME WORK spent 5 nights here in early April. Location is beautiful but the resort needs an update in the worst way. The rooms, lighting, etc are straight from the 1980s. Musty smell to the rooms didn't help at all. Pools were relatively nice as the ocean was off limits with stinger season. Service no real comment besides in general I found service to be sub-par by US standards across Australia just my observation. April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Port Douglas is the place If i think where to retire, Sheraton in Port Douglas will be my place. Yes, the hotel need a renovation phase, but the facility and location are amazing. tranquil, in style and very much Queensland style buildings. we selected to spend my collected points and to celebrate our 30 anniversary in the Sheraton. it worth-ed every little bits. staff were out of their way, with great upgrade and lovely hospitality. special thanks to Ari, the 20 Y old (young) receptionist that so lovely welcomed us, explained, helped and was simply the best of what you may think when reception it is. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible staff The staff were amazing. The service was flawless from the time we arrived until the time we left. The Head Chef and his team and the waiters paid immediate attention to my dietary needs. This included ordering the food required prior to arriving, travelling to the shops for additional supplies, and cooking special meals that were delicious. We travel frequently and know from previous experience, and from others who have similar dietary needs, attention can make or break the trip. The pool staff also did an incredible job driving back and forth to get our drinks and lunch from the pool bar - we didn't lift a finger from our deck chair. Thanks for an incredible experience. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent in all aspects From the moment you arrive you can feel the stress leaving your body. The staff are great but relaxed in a professional way and no detail is too small to be answered. A true tropical getaway to recharge the batteries. April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This hotel had an amazing location in Port Douglas. Staff was very helpful. The pool and beach access is amazing. We didn't eat at the hotel because it was so close to town. If you take away the beach and pool you are left with an outdated hotel. The rooms had a 1980's feel and when we called to see if there were other rooms that didn't look this way, they weren't too helpful. I guess all the rooms have the same carpet that smells of mold and the same pink bathrooms. I think the hotel needs an upgrade. I would recco' it for a short period of time, if you don't care about the way the rooms look. When you travel to PD, you aren't going to stay in your rooms so it shouldn't matter to most. There are fancier hotels a couple miles down the road but this is worth the price and location. You can't beat the view, the palm trees or the pool I love Port Douglas.. one of my favorite vacation spots. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff were very helpful We had a great stay at the Mirage. The staff could not be more helpful at all levels. They booked two trips for us and gave very useful information February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical Oasis This expansive property is a tropical oasis. Staff is on hand to cheerfully transport mobility impaired guests to needed destinations whenever needed. Large rooms look out onto lovely swimming "lagoons". What a treat! February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A long time favourite with my family We have been staying at this resort since the 1990s and while the resort needs a renewal in the rooms, we still love returning over and over again. The location, the staff and of course, the pools, never fail to make our holiday in Port Douglas a highlight. We hope to return and we hope that the renovations the resort is undergoing will not change the feel of the hotel too much! January 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again Your front desk gave bad service inexperienced and no knowledge of simply questions. Housekeeping did not take our plates and cutlery away left them dirty in the room on both occasion, as well as left unwashed wine glasses, Decor was below standard you should be a 3 star hotel at the most the whole place is run down and in need of refurbishment. Food prices are overpriced considering standard is quite poor. No Mirage merchandise in store. Minibar not stocked. Television poor viewing needs an update. Clock in room unable to change to correct time. Furniture and carpet throughout hotel looked ragged. Poor lighting throughout hotel inside and out. January 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The pool is great for kids to explore Our motel room was a bit outdated as expected but clean and beds quite comfortable. Awsome pool but not sure if due to school holidays extra chlorine was used but our swimmers and shirts were bleached pretty bad. Maybe goggles would have been good as well but apart from that we really enjoyed our stay. January 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Miami Vice If you are looking to shoot a Miami Vice throw back video this is the place for you. Otherwise I would probably avoid this property until they get new management and a new owner that cares. Pros... Great Location Beautiful Pool Area Friendly Staff Cons... Original 80's rooms and carpets (giant stains, nothing works, worn and dated) Food is mediocre at best (we learned early to order delivery from town when we wanted to stay in) Pools are nice but the towels are mixed and old and there are tons of kids screaming in every pool and spa? Food running out of items like napkins at breakfast and refusing to use cloth saying they are for lunch and dinner? Many more just book at your own risk January 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Perfect for family relaxation My husband, daughter and I have just enjoyed our 2nd trip to Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas. We love it! If you want the perfect family holiday with 100% relaxation at a great budget - then this is the place for you! We love the acres of pools and the acres of gardens to wander. We can't wait to go back there again next year! January 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not 5 star This came recommended as 5 star. Its is far from it..It's still in the 80's. very antiquated. Room /bath was dirty. No activities. 1 bar closes at 8pm! the other at 11pm! This is a resort! Charge for room service?? I have never had that before. The prices are very high for what you get .. Food need improving. Buffet is the same every day.. boring.. general staff friendly but mostly know very little about the hotel, the food pretty much anything. The in room safe is way too small. Not impressed. I cannot believe the rave reviews from some people January 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas time We had lovely stay at Port Douglas Sheraton everything was wonderful excluding Christmas Dinner which we paid $169.00 for! Which would have been fine for the seafood feast but I did note that I was vegetarian and was extremely disappointed that nobody arranged for anything to be made for that as it was a lot money for soup and salad. A little bit under staffed but it was the busiest time of the year so no problem there. January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing swimming pools !!! It is true that the hotel is a little bit old, but nothing bad. And even if the rooms are "regular" (but more than ok), the huge swimming pools of the hotel are just amazing !!! And this is where you will spend 99% of your time !!! January 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice stay Found this hotel to be very comfortable, with great service and very friendly staff. The room we stayed in was spacious and well furnished with quality fittings. The only down side was the seating in the foyer.Some of the chairs needed to be re sprung as they were very well used , but this did not take away in our overall pleasure December 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is out-of-date The Sheraton Port Douglas has the potential of being a great hotel. The grounds are beautiful and it is perfectly located. However, the hotel itself, including the rooms, common areas, lobby, etc is completely out-of-date and needs serious upgrades. December 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great spot I would recommend the Mirage as a family destination, the pools and the staff were great. Children were made to feel welcome and the breakfast buffet is simply the best I've seen. Only 1 negative, whilst the rooms are comfortable and clean, they are a bit dated. Good value for money, all the family enjoyed our stay and yes we would come back !! Thank you December 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Lovely Stay I have been coming to the Sheraton since the 90's for holidays, conferences and work and now my partner and I try to spend at least a week every year just relaxing and recharging there. Yes the hotel is due for a refit but it's still an absolutely splendid place to stay. Personally I prefer the less formal more relaxed vibe. The pools are incomparable - you can always find a quiet spot in sun or shade. The staff are always friendly, helpful and welcoming and it always feels like we're coming back to stay at a friend's magnificent beach house! It's a wonderful location and we heartily recommend it for a great holiday. Thanks folks - hope to see you again very soon. November 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, very nice facilities We stayed at the Sheraton Port Douglas for 4 days. It's a great hotel to combine trips to the Great Barrier Reef and the rainforest with relaxing in one of the many pools. November 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by great hotel but incredibly dated the hotel was very nice and staff was gracious, friendly and helpful. However the hotel and amenities (particularly the "spa") were incredibly and embarrassingly dated. Tarnished and dirty looking fixtures in the rooms, paired with dirty and old carpet and fixtures was very disappointing and definitely took away from the experience. A beautiful hotel that deserves to be appreciated but really needs an entire facelift to do so. November 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pools are great We have been coming for three years and have noticed a huge decline in service. The facilities in the dining room are out dated and chairs uncomfortable. We were ignored on three occasions at the pool bar when ordered drinks were not delivered. We had items delivered to our room with other guests name attached. Requests for drinks and food in the Daintree Lounge refused because they don't know how to make it or was not exactly as the menu described. No flexibility. We loved staying there as the pools are the best but doubting about returning there next year due to these issues. We had several other problems but addressed them with Doreen or other staff at the time. I feel if you stay at a resort you expect a full service. Sharon on the desk is a great asset to your staff. We are now looking for a better resort with great facilities in the same area. November 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday. As seniors we occupied a ground floor unit with a disabled shower facility which made our stay a pleasant experience. We enjoyed the close proximity of the pool surrounds with plenty of lounge chairs and shade umbrellas. The food was excellent, freshly cooked breakfasts and 2 fine restaurants. The staff were very helpful and courteous. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by thought we had died and gone to heaven as a pool lover..i must say this was my favourite holiday ever...and I travel a lot...I don't ever want to go anywhere else,needs some renos,but I can get past that........our mirage garden room (ground floor) was a secluded rainforesty delight, again needs renos but still lovely....will be returning as soon as possible... October 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slightly Dated The main feature of this resort is the pool areas which are beautiful. We did notice that the property needed some basic upkeep such as tiles fallen off the pool wall, hardwood decking had started to deteriorate so tape had been put over it to avoid splinters. The rooms would have been top notch in their day but need a refurbishment. Excellent location right on four mile beach but would recommend a car to get into Port Douglas centre. October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Port Douglas The location is excellent on the beach and has a large number of pools to compensate for not being able to swim in the surf at certain times of the year. Directions to carpark and our room were inadequate and very poorly marked so a disappointing introduction. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic Fantastic hotel servicing an absolute must see location October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relax in the Sunshine. Although the rooms are starting to show the era in which they were built, they are still marvelous. Large, spacious, great shower, (although over bath) and room to sit. Best part is the surrounds. Beautiful gardens and landscaping and acres of lagoon pools with beaches and plenty of room to laze about. Beach is close and the walk into town along the beach is long enough to be exercise but close enough to be enjoyable. October 19, 2014
  • 2015-08-29T09:35:18.674-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_342, tr_342
  • loc_en_US, sid_370, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>